• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jun 7, 2011
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 708 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 708

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 5, 2014
    9
    One of the best sequels ever! It still manages to be different without leaving it's roots of what made it a great game in the first place. Take notes, CoD.
    PROS:
    +I am sorry for being so opaque on pros, but I really can't say anything more than everything Infamous did well this game does just as well: the choices, the writing, etc. Sorry for not being able to go into detail - because you
    should/have to play the first one first.
    CONS:
    -People who didn't play the first game won't understand what's going on. A small complaint, because if haven't played the first one you're clearly some form of demon-spawn.
    Expand
  2. Mar 26, 2014
    0
    This game is all hype. The game play is boring and repetitive and I got sick of it in 4 hours. I was shocked to just find out it was single player only even though it was known months ago. This game would get a ten if it was on Xbox one. This is how stupid you fan boys sound. Just thought you should experience it for yourselves.
  3. Mar 25, 2014
    7
    InFamous 2 is without a doubt an improvement over its predecessor... but that's not saying much! The story is much better and the morality choices play a much more prominent role. However, the biggest problem i still have with this series is that they make you out to be some unstoppable force that you just aren't. This series has so much potential and I honestly can't wait to get my hands on Second Son because i feel that that game will be the answer to all of my complaints! Expand
  4. Mar 22, 2014
    8
    This was a very good game. I was always an Xbox fan boy but i got a PS3 and I loved it. This game was very well done. What gets me mad now are fan boys who make accounts just to give it a bad review. I can say I am pumped for Infamous Second Sun
  5. Mar 20, 2014
    10
    One of my favorite PS3 exclusives, I can't wait for Second son! The gameplay is fantastic, and the story is pretty cool along with the morality system making this a great, must have Ps3 game.
  6. Mar 1, 2014
    7
    Hmmm. Disappointing to have what is otherwise an outstanding game, so damaged by the unrefined control mechanism.

    Cole wants to tightrope walk every bench, guard rail and planter box. But try and land on a catwalk from a rail... annnnnnnnnd, nope! Falling to the ground, thanks. Jump to a ladder? Nope. Jump past the ladder, annnnnnnnnnd fall to the ground, thanks.

    It seems the
    control scheme is always thinking opposite of the player's action. When you want it to be precise, no "auto grab", or "auto balance", or "assisted movement" to be found. When you're in a hurry to move somewhere, Cole becomes fascinated with every parkour object in the environment right next to him, making for easy pickins by the enemies.

    There are at least several ways this could be easily addressed, with one being a "grab" button, or "grab" toggle to help the logic differentiate between what the player's general movement plan for Cole was. With a little more effort (like, are there NPC enemies shooting at me?), adaptive movement could have been built in, making this a virtually flawless gaming experience. Look to Nathan Drake on how to do game movement right.

    So, to recap: Game elements and general concept a 9 for 50%, game control a 5 for 50%, average rating a 7.
    Expand
  7. Feb 24, 2014
    7
    Here's a review of inFAMOUS 2 in my opinion. BTW I didn't check for typos and grammar.
    I'm assuming you have already read up on what this game is about, so let's get to it. First off the story in the game is following the amazing story of the first game. In this game the story is more complicated. Cole must defeat the beast, cleanse the world of the plague, and confront a new enemy,
    Bertrand. Unlike the first game, the story is more messy, unrealistic, and not everything is explained or makes sense. But that doesn't mean it isn't really good. Bertrand is a prejudice man who hates conduits, and want to kill everyone of them. He formed a militia to protect New Marais from conduits. Any conduit is considered evil to him. The game's map design shows a much brighter, happier place than Empire City. This seems to also reflect on the characters. Cole is back, this time w/ a new voice actor. The voice fits enough and you'll become used to it as the game goes on, and even like it more than the old voice. I think Zeke is awesomer in this game. Showing both a deeper emotional and comedy side to him. Other characters such as Dr. Wolfe and Kuo have great acting and characters. My biggest problem w/ this game is the character Nix. She is a swamp dweller who has fire powers. She is kinda evil, but she seems more crazy, like a psychopath. Later in the game her only cause for occasionally doing good is that she has swamp monsters that she thinks are her babies. Nix is an overall stupid character that doesn't fit w/ the other well acted and done characters in the game. I never felt like I should actually choose Nix's choice. The story seems too complicated and too silly compared to the tone of the first game at times. No spoilers, but the game has two different endings, both show the true peak of the brilliance of this game. Both are very emotional and extreme and they outcome that you may think would happen. This is where the amazing acting really shows as you see how the character's relationships have evolved over the course of the game because of your choices.
    The karma system is more black and white than it was in the first game. The choices don't seem as hard, expect for the final one.
    The powers are very fun and gameplay is always new and challenging. The upgrade system let's you have a wide expanse of fun powers to use. The new melee weapon the "amp" is much better than punching guys in the first game, and is quite fun to smack people to death.
    The game is open world and is fun to explore and find collectibles, do side missions, and mess around. The game has a lot to keep you interested after you finish the story on each side. There is the addition of user created missions, which can be fun but aren't as good as what comes on the disc, kinda just an extra thing to mess with.
    I have a lot of small problems w/ the game, things it's predecessor did better, but yet I think the game is one of the best ever made.
    I have become a huge inFAMOUS fan and loved the crap out of this game!
    Play this game, but play the first one first. If you don't own a PS3, buy one to play these games!
    Good job again Sucker Punch.
    Expand
  8. Jan 29, 2014
    10
    InFamous 2 is simply the best. It's just one of the PS3 Exclusive blockbuster. I'm very hyped about the new upcoming In-famous Second Son, i heard the critics said alots of good things about it. Can't wait to buy it on PS4 :D
  9. Jan 27, 2014
    3
    Really a tough job to finish the game. One of the most boring game on PS3 I ever played.
    My feeling about the game is just spot as described in "deathsmiles"'s review. This game is just about running from a checkpoint to another and repeating beating similar gangs again and again in a very bland and lack-of-interactive small town. You even never expect combat inside buildings except in
    some shabby factories.
    These gangs are just stupidly standing on the corners of streets and waiting for you coming to trigger their script like robot.
    The idea of open world simply does not work in the game because such a flat city(sorry, a small town) will not ignite your any interest to explore, such as just crust of crap buildings no way to enter, only 3-4 very outdated car models also no way to drive, NPCs lack of emotion, meaningless side missions... All these give me a feeling that this town is like a piece of .
    Another thing makes me very feel wired is that the art style of the city seems like sth from a hybrid of med century and industrial era (but after all, it is a bit confusing that what the hell the era is the town in. The minimum is that the town is really shabby, lack of reality and diversity)..., but does the story happen on a modern era? This is too contradicted, isn't it?
    Yes, I know, because designing a more sophisticated and based-on-reality world needs more efforts on inspection in the real world like what Rock Star have to do, and also needs much more art and engineering job to digitize elements into game, lazy first for infamous' developer.
    Expand
  10. Jan 25, 2014
    9
    Infamous 2 raises the bar in almost every way from its predecessor offering better exploration more choices a better combat system and a better plot. If you liked the original you will like this.
  11. Jan 3, 2014
    9
    Infamous 2 succeeds the first in very high regards. The campaign is worth while, and side quests will keep things running. The graphics are among the most impressive on the PS3 showing off the system's hardware. The combat is fun, and all fits well. The UGC (User-generated Content) is the main reason you will come back to the game. Creating these missions are hard, but playing other peoples is a great deal of fun. If your a strong action gamer or gamer looking for UGC, Infamous 2 is a worthy checkout. Expand
  12. Dec 26, 2013
    9
    When I first played infamous 2 I regretted purchasing it ,since I outplayed the first one...until I got new powers which just automatically got me hooked with the included User generated content you'll get tons of hours playing this game it never ends....can't wait for Infamous Second Son
  13. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    Infamous 2 is my second favorite game of this generation. It's gameplay and story work so well that it makes you want more. Makes me extremely excited for Infamous: Second Son on the Playstation 4.
  14. Dec 18, 2013
    7
    The first game was very good, using the powers was great but there was still room for improvement. There needed to be more variety in everything: buildings, game world, enemies, missions...
    Although the story feels a bit better here and there is a bit more variety, the game hasn't changed much. The minor control/camera issues the first one had are still here too. And a new annoyance has
    arrived to: water. There's so much water in this world (Cole gets electrocuted when falling in water) it can get frustrating. You never loose much progress but still it's not fun.
    So I give this a 7 because there's not much improvement and it's actually a lesser game then the first in some ways. If you really loved the first game and can't get enough I do recommend it though.
    Expand
  15. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    inFAMOUS 2 is an absurd evolution in relation to the first game, in terms of Gameplay, Graphics, Storyline. inFAMOUS 2 defenily have to be played for all people who played the first game of this amazing series
  16. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    Only one thing can describe this game, excellent. The world is great, the story is great, the side missions are great, everything is polished and exemplary.
  17. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    Supera en todo al primer Infamous,es una compra obligada si o si,por jugabilidad,por los enemigos,por la diversion,porque te engancha desde el principio...en fin muchas cosas,como por ejemplo,mas poderes,mas graficos,un guion perfecto y una historia mejor que la primera,si jugaste al 1 y te gusto este t dejara sin palabras y mas visualmente con sus graficos y colores visuales,simplemente un juegazo!! Expand
  18. Nov 14, 2013
    8
    Graphics: Environments looked great, so did the character design, although some characters look decent, and some of the environment looks decent. 8.
    Sound: Good voice acting, nice soundtrack, but rarely does anything ever stand out. 8.
    Gameplay: The gameplay is as fun and challenging as the first game. There are new powers besides lightning such as ice. The game feels a little too
    similar to the first game but with some newly added features. The gameplay is mixed up a little, adding puzzles and different types of missions. Overall the game is excellent, and challenging. The boss battles were really fun, but I’d still say the first infamous had a much better last boss. 9.5.
    Story: The story is about getting enough power to take on the beast. There are still good and evil choices throughout the game, this time companions are in the mix, making it more interesting. The overall story isn’t as impacted as the first game but it still keeps your attention. 9.
    Lasting Appeal: The game is worth it if you bought this game expecting to do everything. I’d still recommend a play through of this game, and it does have more replay value for a second play through making different choices. 10.
    Overall Score: 8.9 out of 10.
    Expand
  19. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    best super hero game ive play so much fun having just slogged my why through another mindless COD game Ghost this has been an amazing game. The free flowing movement around the city and super powers combined with open world setting works perfectly.
  20. Nov 6, 2013
    8
    This game was really fun, not groundbreaking by any means, but it is a lot of fun to run around an sandbox style city doing whatever you feel like. Graphics are pretty good, gameplay is really good, plot is good, but not as good as the first installment. Overall, I would say this game is on par with its predecessor.
  21. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    If you don't like Infamous 2 it is hard to believe you like video games at all! It is awesome. Can't wait for Infamous Second Son!!! Sucker Punch is a Masterpeice
  22. Nov 2, 2013
    7
    Infamous 2! The action game that everybody seems to love on the Playstation 3! And it is a good game indeed. I was coming in expecting more of the same from Infamous 1 with a new story and setting and I was right. There is little new in the action department and you are basically doing the same thing from start to finish, what keeps you going is the ability to break away from the over-serious story with silly characters and basically bring the New Orleans rip off of a city to it's knees with your awesome lightning powers! Destroying everything in sight and even using the new abilities that are introduced in the game is very fun and satisfying which is to say is my favorite thing about this game. The story is okay, but I feel that it takes itself too seriously and it is just a tad ridiculous at times but what can you do. I mean just like some other action-adventure games and movies out there you are playing as a bad guy masquerading as a good guy and it doesn't really matter if you go for the good or evil endings, Cole basically acts the same way. He doesn't really care about the people he protects, and even as good he really only cares about power. He is an anti-hero at his core no matter what; Zeke provides some good comic relief here and there on the other hand. I think that the first provided a better story with better fleshed out characters and combat all around; by the second half of the 2 game the combat in particular is lacking to say the least. You've got these monsters, ice guys, and the militia all fighting you and whoever came up with the idea that flood town would be a good idea for players to have fun in needs to be forced to play in it for 24 hours because it really is not that fun, it is more annoying. Overall, it is an enjoyable game despite being more of the same, the story is engaging but lacking in my opinion, but it is fun and that is what matters. Expand
  23. Oct 27, 2013
    7
    Boring gameplay, a lot of good ideas but... Boring
    The story is... Boring and designed for teens
    Characters are cliches, open world and good graphic
    Not enough for me
  24. Oct 2, 2013
    8
    I really enjoyed the first game, so most of the same pros and cons apply for this review. Imma make this short and sweet. If you liked the first game you'll like this one too. Some changes come in the form of setting and combat. For some reason someone decided to use a "battle stick" where you can conduct your electricity into it, while a cool concept, I still wouldn't pick it over your normal electric powers. The new setting is welcomed but it feels kinda blend compared to the original. One of my major problems is that cole has a new voice actor. I don't know why this happened but I didn't like it. other than that the design in this game just doesn't feel as good as the original but still as fun as the original. Must play. Expand
  25. Sep 23, 2013
    10
    Can't stress how much i loved this game. First thing i must mention is that they gave Cole a personality this time around, he isn't as stiff and quiet as he was in the first game. The voice actor change was definitely for the better and Zeke is still one of my favorite secondary video game characters. None of that stereotypical superhero BS, he drinks and swears like a human turned power freak would still do. The games ending is one of few that actually got to me emotionally. Expand
  26. Sep 14, 2013
    8
    I was surprised how epic the campaign was. Some missions were pure filler, but the high points felt like a real superhero adventure. The presentation impressed me, in awe of the lighting-effects. Overall, it was a fun ride. The music almost singlehandedly pulls the score up from 7/10 because it fit the feeling of the superhero so well. I didn't make sense of the story until after it ended, because parts of it are revealed in collectibles. It was fun to try some user-generated levels, and even easily make my own surreal level. I'd say it's a great game if you expect a true 'American' superhero adventure, especially you like the idea of jumping around to scavenge collectibles in a city, which I found was good fun after the campaign. Overall, engaging and very well made entertainment. Not a system-seller of a game, but grand scale fun nonetheless. Expand
  27. Sep 9, 2013
    10
    incredible game! love it so much you truly feel like you are controlling a badass suiper hero. the powers you unlock flow together beautifully for all different types of destruction. highly recommended series
  28. Sep 7, 2013
    9
    One of the best PS3 exclusives, the only reason I didn't give it a 10 was because of slight repetitiveness, but overall a great game... You are Cole Macgrath, delivery boy turned superhero (or villain). This is a game based on a moral choice system and over-the-top super powers... You progress through the game by doing Story Missions and Side Missions, and depending on your actions you will either become more good, or more evil... You enhance your powers through XP points, killing enemies, capturing the alive or sucking their soul out through their faces, it's up to you, but you get rewarded XP points for whatever you choose, which you can then use on upgrading powers, or getting similar powers, such as a more powerful lighting bolt attack... The game is full of interesting comic-book-esque cutscenes, and "dead drops" which are audio recording strapped to birds' necks, which are optional, but very interesting. inFamous 2 is a direct sequel to the ground breaking game inFamous 1, but there are many changes. The main character is modeled differently and has a different voice actor, and in game you have a new melee weapon called the "Amp" which is a dual pronged lighting rod device that you use to cave in the heads of many henchmen... Other than a few minor technical bugs, such as pop in textures, and sometimes a glitchy enemy, this game run very good. This game is very repayable and enjoyable from start to finish, I would highly recommend this game to anyone with a PS3. Expand
  29. Jul 22, 2013
    9
    If you loved inFamous 1, then you'll love #2. If you didn't, then shut up; the inFamous series does not suck. The gameplay feels quite the same, but that's a good thing. You have the powers from inFamous 1, plus a ton of new ones. If you thought the story in #1 was awesome, wait till you see this one. This game holds a special place in the PS3 collection. (9.1/10)
  30. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    I may be in the minority, but I actually liked Infamous 2 better than the first one. You start off the game with more powers, and I think the character and environments are more interesting.
  31. Jun 27, 2013
    7
    While I don't like the changes that they made to Cole, this is still a really good game. The secondary characters are better than in the first and the gameplay is still just as addictive.
  32. Jun 19, 2013
    7
    I hated it very boring and mindless agreed with @deathsmiles.Its like the new saints row coming out to much magic its like where did the game go....Sleeper game.
  33. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    An improvement on Infamous 1 game-play, and character wise. Story wise Infamous 1 triumphs. It has a great ending unlike the first one, and now I cannot wait to play Infamous Second Son. I would recommend it to anyone who has a PS3.
  34. Jun 3, 2013
    9
    I'm not entirely sure how you can't like inFamous 2, unless you are basing your review on the demo. It is by far the best open-world game I have played in all time. The way its story and world both react to your decisions is outstanding. The original inFamous didn't punish me for choosing the bad route, inFamous 2 does. It punishes you in terms of guilt, not power, which is very clever and really makes you feel as awful for choosing the quicker route to gaining the power to destroy the beast. I love this game. Especially its world which is full of dynamic events and user-generated content to keep you invested for longer. Expand
  35. May 23, 2013
    7
    better than original but still too much unoriginal boring TPS gameplay.
    The powers could use some tweaking to be more fun
    boring boss battles and enemy design in general
    After a 12 hour SP campaign (with side missions) there is nothing else to do in the game world.
    some balancing issues like after finishing everything there is still not enough xp to buy all the powers and random one
    hit ko on easy setting. Expand
  36. May 21, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nothing exists in Infamous 2 just because, and that's something developer Sucker Punch should be commended for. When combined with how well-executed just about everything in the game is, the overall package is one of PlayStation 3's best and a must-play for fans of the first game. Expand
  37. May 20, 2013
    8
    It's still a good game. The graphics have significantly improved but everything's still the same. It's a different look for sure but it's still the same gameplay. It's still fun, though.
  38. May 9, 2013
    2
    Bad game with bad story, worst graphics ever... The characters dont make sense.
    In portuguese i hate the dubbing, so horrible. I cant believe so many people like this game. The frist was worst.
  39. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    This game took everything that made the first game so great and made it better. You have new powers, new places to explore and new unlockables. The only thing I'm not a fan of is the occasional wonky camera. However if you loved the first game, you'll love this as well.
  40. Apr 7, 2013
    5
    My wife & I loved the first game great blend of sandbox with a compelling story. inFamous 2 is way too much of the former, not enough latter. It seems like, hours later, I'm still in a tutorial, getting-to-know-you phase. I might now play long enough to get out of it.
    As "fathergod" said, it seems you just collect shards, do the minor side missions, and that's about it. Plus, the game is
    super buggy. Audio hasn't seemed to work properly the whole time I've been playing; cutscenes have frozen/crashed; and spots to activate missions often don't trigger the mission.
    How could a great company and a great franchise go this wrong in its second effort? And how could reviewers love it so much? I'm very disappointed. I may give it another try, but its time in my PS3 is numbered.
    Expand
  41. Mar 18, 2013
    7
    I just finished inFAMOUS and then played inFAMOUS 2, and after a while it started to get very repetitive. Although I love both games, the side missions could've been more interesting as after a while they started to feel like a chore.. but that's now if you want to platinum your games like me!
  42. Mar 6, 2013
    8
    While inFAMOUS 2 has some shortcomings, they are dwarved by the exciting story, diverse powers and gripping gameplay. You won’t find any open world superhero sandbox as good as this, let alone many games in general as good as this. At about 15hrs per playthrough and with all the user levels, this game has huge replay value. Sucker Punch have outdone themselves, and I cannot wait to see what they have in store for the ever growing popularity of Cole McGrath.

    Trophy Difficulty
    Easy Medium

    Story 8/10
    Gameplay 9/10
    Graphics 6/10
    Sound 7/10
    Lasting Appeal 9/10

    Read my full review at: http://playstationgamereview.wordpress.com/2012/07/23/infamous-2-revi-3/
    Expand
  43. Mar 2, 2013
    8
    inFamous 2 is an enjoyable game as long as it lasts that is It's a game that gets many things right yet feels a tad hollow at the end of it all One of the contributing factors to that is a lack of variety in the game Sure combat gets interesting and fun as the game progresses but you wish the same could be said about the side quests as well The plot is intriguing and quite good to be honest though the open world structure of the game doesn't quite compliment the plot very well and it somewhat dampens the sense of urgency that the plot so desperately relies on Still I'm going with a 7 out of 10 for Sucker Punch's inFamous 2 It's a game that you're unlikely to remember once you've seen the end credits through But it's a fairly enticing ride while it lasts Expand
  44. Feb 25, 2013
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. The music, graphics, story, and gameplay are great. So missions aren't very memorable, but for the most part they are. This game is much better than the first, but I recommend you play the original first because it's also a great game. Keep it up Sucker Punch!
  45. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    Come, on. If Yahtzee, a Game-Critic who rips popular game apart like Metal Gear Solid 4, can even place InFamous 2 on his Top 5 Game of 2011, what have you got to lose? I got it, and I cannot agree more. 1. Graphics is more polished than the already brilliant InFamous 1. 2. Side-Characters are excellent, very good development. Zeke rulez! 3. Ending is superiorly satisfying. 4. The RPG Element is very diverse.

    5. Sandbox element is just...damn good!

    gO GET IT NOW!
    Expand
  46. Nov 29, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Playing with Cole again was a nice way to record how amazing was playing the first game. This game didn't lost quality it also gained. Choosing between Nix and Lucy Kuo was hard and in the when they revealed their real inside. The ending was so surprising who would say that Cole dies on the ending? I don't really like when a hero die in the ending, because it could end the series. Let's see maybe inFamous 3 would exist, who knows? Expand
  47. 4DI
    Nov 18, 2012
    9
    Fixes a'lot of issues the original had, and increases the voltage meter 10 fold.
  48. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    First game i bought with my Ps3 and it was just glorious.
    Despite not offering a "real" sandboxworld like GTA 4 its just great to run or better fly tjrough the streets and going on full ramapge.
    The game itself offers a great and deep story with actual choices that matter in the end.
  49. Nov 10, 2012
    8
    inFamous2 is way bette r than one, even though 1 is fun. 2 has more powers and different karma have different powers. I would sujess u to buy infamous 2 instead of 1. but right now they had 3 combined together which is infamous1, 2 and Festival of Blood. and gonna be cheap if u buy the edition pack. the other 2 score that i didnt give is because i wasnt expecting Cole would die so i have to take 2 scores away.....Good Job Cole we will remember u Expand
  50. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    This game is muchhhhhhhhhhhh better than infamous 1. The graphics, the history, are a great evolution, and i liked too much. Its not in the top-level of open world games, but its a very good experience
  51. Sep 17, 2012
    9
    Was really excited for this game. The game gives new interesting things to do and powers. The area still looks like a abandoned city which looks really bland sometimes but nevertheless great game.
  52. Sep 13, 2012
    7
    This game has improved alot from the original, but somehow, I like the first one better. Combat is big improvement, very smooth and fluent. Story is fine. This game has lost the feature of "parkour" and platform. I really liked the idea of jumping around on buildings, gave me very exciting moments in the first game. This game also has a little enemies. The bosses are not interesting. For me, the first game is actually way better. This is not as good as the first one alright, but still it is a good game you should play. =) Expand
  53. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    I loved this game so much and still dom it is fun if not a bit short ill admit but i would highly recomend to anyone it has a great UGC mode that is easy to use but very fun so the fun never ends it takes about 8 hours for the story and they story is very powerful.
  54. Jul 8, 2012
    9
    Brilliant. Just brilliant. Even though the story wasn't as strong as the original, what it lacks in story, it makes up for in the gameplay. The gameplay is identical to its predecessor with some minor tweaks but many more powers. New Marais looks and feels great as an open-world city for Cole to roam around in and the graphics overall are fantastic though some objects could have had better textures. Cole earns new powers/abilities as the game progresses and it all depends on what type of person you want to be, good or bad. By the end of inFamous 2, i was left craving more. Expand
  55. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    This Game was absolutely AMAZING!. 100 times better than the first!. The first was an amazing game. The things in this game are much better, the melee(Which is really badass), The variety for Powers like ice and fire and electricity. The story was compelling and has 2 Twists that made me go ":O" One after the Behemoth boss fight, and the evil ending. The city is way different then most sandbox games which is refreshing. The city isn't a nice little friendly town. No. It's a dangerous, dark, yet full of life and colors. Creepy looking buildings and churches and a clocktower. All surrounded by a swamp. with these swamp monsters, ice monsters, and Militia and the Human Purist Bertrand. Overall This game if Fantastic! Expand
  56. Jun 27, 2012
    8
    Cole MacGrath is really cool. For this, the game deserves an 8. The graphics have nothing very special, but the lightning effects, blur, explosions and stuff deserve 8. The sound and soundtrack amuse me. That's a 9 for the audio. The gameplay is good. Being an overpowered fella, being able to use eletricity in your favor and to choose between good and evil feels okay. But the side missions just sucks. They're quite always the same (not including the CGU online missions). Roaming free in New Marais gives nice possibilities to be good or evil, but picking blast shards is just boring. Big 8 for gameplay. Overall, inFAMOUS 2 is a nice game. It has nice characters and a fair story. It's a very original game Sucker Punch delivered for PS3 costumers. 8 for this game. Expand
  57. May 30, 2012
    9
    This game was absolute mind blowing. Can point out multiple improvements since the first one, but can't exactly point out flaws. Those who give this game 0 have nothing better to do than look for attention. If it's not your type of game, then don't comment or at least give the game some credit for effort. If your a fan of the first game, then this is an absolute must buy. 9/10 since no game is perfect. Expand
  58. May 21, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. inFamous 2 is a masterpiece. It's hard to top the engaging, surprising story of the first inFamous, but this game comes very, very close with a story just as engaging. The game takes a very different and interesting turn by having you work together with other conduits, which I thought was really creative and it ultimately made for an awesome story in my opinion. The controls and mechanics again are stellar - the mechanics being even more tight than the first. The graphics in inFamous were already nice, but they went above and beyond and made the graphics absolutely pop out of the screen. I would recommend this game to anyone, it's great fun. Overall, this game took everything that inFamous 1 did right and improved even more on it - graphics, controls, mechanics, fun, all of that. The only thing that inFamous 2 came short on for me was the story. The story was very enjoyable and interesting, but inFamous 1's story was just a complete mind blowing experience towards the end. Expand
  59. May 18, 2012
    8
    Great game. It can get repetitive like the first one, but they've made very fun additions to the game play (like being able to lift a car and throw it). Strong story, with strong characters. I liked how how you can create your own missions concept, because there really isn't much to do after you've beat the game.
  60. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This here is one of the best games ever made so far. infamous 2 joins the play station 3 line up to make it even greater and also joins the group of the most underrated games ever ,mi have played both infamous 1 and 2 and i can easily recommend the second over the first because simply it is better in every way its a huge improvement with much more powers and now the choice between being good or evil gives you totally different powers to use and the variety of the enemies makes this game an exciting experience from get go . the story is really good iv seen some people complaining but that'r not true sucker punch know what they are doing here with the story . in infamous 2 there's more focusing on characters and allies as u can find a different ally when you chose between good karma or evil karma and both powers are amazing and fun and unique .
    i highly recommend this game for any super hero games fan and it pains me to see this game getting this score only it deserves much more since u can beat it twice with totally different missions so this game has 2 great stories and 2 great different styles to play. and it has the best boss fights ever.
    Expand
  61. Apr 24, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The bluray/bluray game play functionality broke on my PS3 and of course the warranty was up. So I had to grab another one. I got Infamous 2 with a package deal. On my first run-through it seemed like a lot of fun. However, it does still have many of the same issues and bugs from the first one. I know developers can't read your mind, but when you are trying to run away from something (or a hoard of things) or are just on a timed mission, Cole constantly tends to grab on just about everything. At first it wasn't too annoying, but when the battles get more difficult with mobs that can kill you in one hit, it can be frustrating to latch onto a power line pole when trying to avoid a deadly projectile. The game scoops you in from the beginning and morality is started at the first mission. There are some loopholes for the fanatics of this series to nitpick, but the game play is still pretty fun. There is nothing like throwing a car at an enemy or using tether to leap large distances. As for the ending, I found the "bad" ending to be much better than the "good" ending. I have to give it to the developers on one thing, though. At least they didn't follow the new "2" Ex style push-a-button-for-your-fate-regardless-of-what-actions-you-took-to-get-there. Which seems to be more abundant in other games lately. Other reviewers say that it is contradictory in several ways to its predecessor, and it is in many ways. There are many loopholes and plot pieces that are just thrown in. It also doesn't have the same mystique as the first game. All-in-all, since I got it for free, it was a pretty good game. However, if you are on a tight budget, you might want to consider buying it used or borrowing it from a friend. Expand
  62. Apr 24, 2012
    0
    It's disappointing and overall very frustrating experience! It's also copy and paste nothing really new! Just disappointing...It didn't make me finish it...
  63. Apr 23, 2012
    8
    Infamous 2 does the original a lot of justice. The gameplay and graphics are much improved over the original. New Marais offers has a great amount of detail in it. Cole also feels a lot more powerful this time around. The story is strong and picks up right around where the first game left off. The ending should leave you satisfied. All in all, one of the best PS3 exclusives.
  64. Apr 12, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ok, Let me start off on why I hated it.....

    Story Line:
    Ok, the Story line makes no sense what so ever! It was good at first and exciting but died when you got into the second city. And why was Sabastain wolf not mentioned in the first game, it is as if he was made up and he was! Not only that, but the ending sucks!!!! The beast is 10 times easier to beat than kessler was, and why is it that Sabastain would make a device that would kill all conduits, That makes no sense what so ever. And there is also a problem with conduits in that game, first off, Swamp creatures and Ice soldiers are not conduits, they were created by Joseph Betrand who is a conduit and that does not make them nesisarly conduits. So if Cole died, they would still exist! Hear is another thing, If they were conduits, do you know how many conduits there would be in that small area, there is more Conduits in that area than there are on earth!!! I mean really, there wern't even mentioned in the first game. And here is another thing, the ending was rushed and you can easily tell. I write and I know what it is like to rush something. Not only that, but how the hell is john the beast, Kessler didn't know that and if he did, he would have just killed john just to make sure the beast wasn't even made, and the beast was made by kessler since he created the ray sphere which cole destroys and that is what creates the beast, so how does that make sense. And another thing, the plague, the plague was created from the ray sphere and was not ment to spread, and how could it, even when everyone died at empire city and it was under Bio Contempt! And why would kessler want that!

    Game play: Ok, the game play was ok but was not fun. All power ups were just recreated or upgraded and there were only like a couple things and that was better thrusters, picking up cars, lightning tether, and Iconics. Not only that, but IGN gave it like 8.3 out of 10 since they said that the controls are messed up when you do melee, and they are! Not only that, but there are like millions of insta kills in that game and you can't even upgrade your health like in the first game! So it is just bad! And you can't really do anything about karma, there are barely any moments in the game where you can alter it accept for attacking people Trophies: Trophies are not as good as in the first game. Trophies in the first game made sense, fun, and explained, but in the second game, you just get them as you go along, and some are just stupid. One I was pissed at was beating the game on hard, first off, they only tell you to Finish it on Hard and yet they "Forget" to put in that you can't change the difficulty setting, so now I have to play the game all over again just to get it when I should have gotten it first!

    Overall, this game sucked and was a mockery of the first, I am just hoping that the comic makes more sense since they are making a comic book based on it!
    Expand
  65. Apr 7, 2012
    9
    inFamous 2 is better game than the first one, gameplay wise. Unfortunately, the story can not compete with inFamous and the characters presented in inFamous 2 is boring as hell. The Story is not bad at all, but the whole story surrounding Cole in the first game, how he got the powers, what he wanted to do with them, was a engaging story, while the story in this game doesn't seem to get to you that much. All this being said, this is still a fantastic game and a worthy follow-up to one of my favorite ps3 games. I have beaten the first numerous times, but the 3 cities all looked like each other, which was extreamly frustrating, because it felt like you ran around the same locations all the time. This time around though, Sucker Punch have only made 2 big cities, but they look nothing alike. If you liked the first one, don't miss out. Expand
  66. Mar 18, 2012
    9
    inFamous 2's improved combat and momentum, emotionally satisfying story, and increased number of set pieces make it much improved over it's predecessor. The game isn't flawless, but it is definitely worth a purchase.
  67. Mar 15, 2012
    9
    Improves on the predecessor in nearly every department. The plot, the gameplay, the environments and the features make a very solid and much improved entry to the inFamous series, which I hope goes on from here to become the household name I know it can be.
  68. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    InFAMOUS 2 is a very good game! , I cant believe how some people gave this game such low scores! Its an AWESOME! game.. I recommend this game to every "REAL" gamer out there.
  69. Feb 27, 2012
    6
    The ign review sold me on this game. It seemed to do everything I wanted in this kind of game, and mechanically - it comes quite close. However like prototype and the original infamous, this game is repetitive and mindless more than it should be. And this makes the experience drag. In the end, it's just not all that special. The editor for user created content is a stroke of genius - however it's never really been used all that imaginatively either. The world design is probably the biggest highlight, as it's far less plain than prototypes extremely simplistic city - however it's very small and mostly a single visual note. The framerate in this game is also very choppy and removes some of the flowing momentum that you should be feeling. Expand
  70. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    LMFAO @ xbox fanboy rating this AMAZING game 0 , This is an Amazing sequel! It Improves over the original. It The 2nd BEST game series this gen (Uncharted is 1st).. A little underrated too, i mean how can a game like this get an 7 or 8 while a **** game like call of duty gets a 9 or 10 , believe me.. you MUST buy this game.. Its really fun, the story is also AMAZING! You will really like Cole as a character.. I highly recommend this game to everyone with PS3! Expand
  71. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    Amazing sequel! Improves over the original. The 2nd BEST game series this gen (Uncharted is 1st).. A little underrated too, i mean how can a game like this get an 7 or 8 while a **** game like call of duty gets a 9 or 10 , believe me.. you MUST buy this game.. Its really fun, the story is also AMAZING! You will really like Cole as a character.. I highly recommend this game to everyone with PS3!
  72. Jan 15, 2012
    10
    Insanely fun game, lots of action, great graphics, astonishing physics and a good mission variety. For me, besides the God of War series, this is the game to make owning a PS3 worthwhile.
  73. Jan 14, 2012
    8
    It's a fun game and I did feel like a superhero for the most part; Playing with all the powers was very cool. I would love to see this studio tackle a Spider-Man game or maybe an X-Men game.
  74. Jan 9, 2012
    9
    A very solid sequel with some much appreciated changes. Remember the awful sewer levels from the first game and the make-or-break platforming? Yeah, that's all gone now. Instead, the focus is more on the combat. Shimmying up buildings has also been made loads easier with electrified poles, boosting powers, and the tether which makes you feel like Spider-man but with lightning. I also really liked the reworking of Zeke's character from bumbling, annoying sidekick to someone who is actually useful. Also, hunting down blast shards is MUCH less obnoxious with the new Blast Shard Sense power. Basically, it's the first game but with new powers, a better story, and much more exciting combat. Expand
  75. Jan 8, 2012
    8
    this game is so much better than the original i have played a couple minutes of the 1st one and yet i still say this is better why because he does not squeak everytime he moves now! the 1st one i could not play because his pants or his bag or something would be squeaking everytime you move him. now im going to get on with my actual review this game is pretty good when it comes to graphics,gameplay and the variety of missions the only thing i had a problem with was the voice acting it was pretty good but for gods sake could they not have found people that could speak properly i mean a couple of the main characters have really bad slurrs which can be annoying but wont make me stop playing the game all in all its great and worth it for most gamers i say this because there are some that will give up on this because there are parts that can be a little bit chalenging Expand
  76. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    Finally got this game and WOW I can't believe this is what I have been missing. So many improvements over the original. I'll mention the new camera tweaks first. It makes running and melee much more cinematic and intense! I love the effect it adds to gameplay. Yes it can get in the wrong places sometimes because nothing is perfect, and in an open world game like this the camera is bound to get hung up on something. easy to fix and to those complaining, don't you know the right stick moves the camera for you so you can manually fix it on the fly. Now gameplay. very similar but not a bad thing. if you played the first you can hop right back in and you have a good amount of your powers from the first game to get you right into the action. You new powers are awesome and they only get cooler and more powerful as the game progresses. I love the quick select menu for switching powers on the fly too, took a little while to get enough powers to use it and then a bit to get used to it, but once you do between different enemy types you will have your favorite ways to defeat them and you will be switching back and forth quite a bit. minor things I had to adjust to was your force push "blast" power doesn't deflect or throw back grenades/rpgs as easily. at first I thought it didn't work because you have to actually aim and hit them instead of just blasting away like in the first game. but traversal is just as fun and the new elements only help you move around the city faster! I hope for the next game though they adopt some sort of free run button that you can just hold like in AC because mashing x does get tedious and old. Graphics are better but not by huge margin. The world is designed better this time around and as a result is much more fun to explore, things like rpg smoke trails, explosions look improved and other things, like tentacle bug pods as an example, look great!. npcs/enemies look nicer too this time around, just about as dumb but look nicer. which brings me to enemies. I love the new ones. Nice variety with many different attacks and fighting styles, from guns to spit, from militia to monsters they are bigger, better and much more fun and challenging to fight! Way more diversity than the three gangs in the first game. Story is good and a list of new characters make their debut. The presentation and development of new characters is much better than the first I feel, but still not the best in the open world genre. They are good though don't get me wrong, not bad at all. Side missions are varied a bit more and I like how they added the good and bad side bits you can just walk up on and do really fast. those ones are repetitive with only four or so different ones depending on your karma but they are so fast and easy you don't mind doing them over and over. so story overall did it's thing and I enjoyed it, but not as much as I enjoyed just messing around in the really fun open world environment of New Marais. User Generated Content, AMAZING! now granted you will play cruddy or frustrating levels in UGC but it's made by people and so you have hundreds of new opportunities for different missions. The best part, you can make your own missions!! I am such a big fan of this type of stuff, from tony hawk in the old days making parks to LBP and LBP2 and now this!! I love creating my own characters and scenarios, this just adds to the replay value so much that I will be messing around in this game for a long time. The tools to make your own missions have learning curve, but if you are willing it is to me one of the best things an open world game has ever done! So in the end this is a must have for your collection and Sucker Punch has made the right choices for this series. Expand
  77. Dec 4, 2011
    9
    More powers. Not a bad story. More enemies. UGC will keep you hooked. Quite the game; go get it.
    It says I need 150 characters to submit a review so I'm just going to type random letters now: hfjdskfhjsadkgfaskjdfhaskjd gfhaskdjfhkjsadfasjkdfasdjkfhasklj
  78. Nov 29, 2011
    9
    Infamous was my second first PS3 game, (my first being the force unleashed) and boy was I hyped up for it, and did it deliver? Hell yeah. It in fact became my favourite game of all time and when I finished it I naturally became hyped for a sequel, and when it was announced I screamed with happiness. The second it came to store shelves I went there and bought it, platinumed it. And how do I feel afterwards? Well now I'm really hoping fora sequel all right, but I think the developers (sucker punch) will do the same mistake like they did with infamous 2 and infamous 1, not in the game itself, but advertising it. They just gave away too much and it really made me go "meh" when I could have gone "Woah" if they wouldn't have said so much about the game in interviewes and all sorts. What I think lacked is that how many opportunities they had but they didn't fully use every single one of them. They could have made some groundbreaking moments in the game that would have really made the gamer excited to see what was coming but unfortunately they don't try as many risks as they did in the first game, and I think video game developers tend to do this a lot, the first game has to be groundbreaking, fresh, new so the public will like it, and when it comes to the second game they can't really risk it due to it might anger some people in the community, like how they decided to change Cole, fans went furios. But that's really what makes infamous 2 not be a masterpiece, it lacks that element of hard work, sweat and teers that the first game had. You felt like you were really playing "the start of something" when you were playing infamous 1, so sadly this really disappoints me. However, I still think this game is one of the best out there and a real refreshment for people who want to try out something new. A must buy from PS3 owner

    Infamous 1= 10
    Infamous 2= 9.5
    Expand
  79. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    Really just a great game overall. I mean whants better than shooting lightning stuff outta your hand??? NOTHING I love this game I played it at my cousins its just brilliant!
  80. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    Infamous 2 is one hell of an experience. Sucker Punch manages to nail almost everything from the combat, to the graphics and story. The gameplay is very similar, but just enough has been added (or removed, depending on previous quality) to make it original yet familiar. The story this time around is phenomenal, especially the ending which I would never spoil. Both endings for good and evil pack an enormous emotional punch, and one can tell that Sucker Punch really invested their writers' talents to produce the drama. The only downside is Cole ironically enough. His voice and appearance have been changed for the worse. While SP did modify him after the E3 rage, he doesn't look like the Cole I knew from the first game; Tattoos on his arms are ugly, and his voice was much better in the last game. Overall though, Infamous 2 is a fantastic game, and you owe it to yourself to pick it up if you have a PS3. Expand
  81. Nov 13, 2011
    8
    Recommended for fans of the original and / or super hero / action adventurer lovers. inFAMOUS 2 is a great action game that splices in elements of third person shooter and RPG story decisions. Sucker Punch does a good job improving the games fluent movement allowing players to travel smoothly in the game and definitely adds more depth to the characters this time around. My biggest issues with the game come from 2 things. The first being that while having the option to choose good / evil outcomes, the main character still comes off confused over his own personality. Even if you play 100% good, some cut scenes depict your character worrying about people, the next acting like a bad ass renegade who is better then everyone. It leaves a bland feeling that your story choices aren't having the effect you assumed they would. My second issue is with the bosses. The first game had power house type bosses unique to the game that felt like a Super Hero vs Super Villain fight. This game however recycles the majority of bosses over and over again in side missions and random encounters without changing or improving the fight mechanics of said enemy. Expand
  82. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    A good addition in ps3 library.I enjoyed it more than previous game.Its more polished than previous one.The only problem that some times u feel same repetitive game play.But its OK as i m used to with Assassins creed which is also a kind of repetitive but good game as well.
  83. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I had a blast playing through this game. The concept is the same as the first one but yet it pushes forward on the typical superhero genre by bringin a charcter who outside or a cartoon series would not be though of as an interesting character. The powers you get are amazing and the story is very well driven and captivating. It is a must for anyone who would consider themselves a superhero nerd or fans of open world games Expand
  84. Nov 8, 2011
    3
    This game was honestly a disappointment. I don't want to say it was horrible, but it was not good enough for me to finish it. The first Infamous was one of my favorite games, but this one just couldn't come close to comparison. Visually, it looked ok, what I'd expect. The music was also ok. The plot, was weak and poorly explained however. It seemed as if the characters were super shallow, as if somebody tried to give them personality but failed. In Infamous 1, the characters were non-existant, which was frankly better. Overall, the presentation was........eh. Game play wise, I think it was somewhat less than average. There was hype about feeling powerful, but I didn't feel powerful at all. The controls were a bit sticky but passable. I didn't like the boss battles either, they were very generic and uninteresting. Lastly, Cole moved too fast, and I found it difficult to control him properly. The game was one of the biggest disappointments ever. Expand
  85. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    InFamous 2 was an amazing sequal to the original game. There are many new upgrades and special powers to take down bad guys. The lightning strike is my favourite and it smashes it up! The story is much more thorough and both the good and bad story is great. There are many more enemies and different baddies to take down. I definatly reccomend this to anyone with a Playstation 3!
  86. Nov 6, 2011
    8
    I had a great time playing Infamous 2, if you are a fan of the first one, then you will enjoy this one too. Same game-play strategy, just a few new powers, and a pretty cool new story. The User-Generated Content missions can be fun as well, and get you some experience points for unlocking powers. If you haven't played the first one though, I would recommend that you do, or else the story in inFamous 2 might get confusing. Expand
  87. Nov 4, 2011
    6
    They have a great concept to start with, but they didn't really take advantage of it. They could've really designed some creative, challenging missions using the powers and physics, but like most modern developers, they took the easy route and just filled their game with repetitive, mindless fighting sequences. Dozens of fighting missions just don't add up to a satisfying game for me. I guess I just need to accept that this is the norm for video games now. Every game these days has to be dumbed down for 10-year-olds. The days of challenging games are over. Games no longer make you think or use strategy. The video game industry has devolved into a state of mindless button mashing.

    I have a bit of a love/hate relationship with Infamous 2. I love the open world, I love the controls, and I love the powers. Moving around this open world is a blast. Unfortunately, that's about the only good thing about this game.
    Expand
  88. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    In a few words, that game is amazing. Effects are great, control are great, graphics are very good and control feel almost perfect.

    The power you get are awesome, very addictive game.

    Verdict: get that game asap, this game deserve at least to be looked at as a goty contender
  89. Oct 29, 2011
    10
    I was a great fan of the first inFamous and completed it twice (once good, once bad of course), and I am not at all disappointed with inFamous 2. The gameplay is basically the same, but now set in a city where even more things are climbable (pretty much everything is, actually), and which is more diverse and colourful than ever. There is a great array of new powers, some which are basically upgrades of original powers, some which are completely new and help you get around the city. Some really put a smile on my face using them to zoom around the city, which is a great thing to do. There is a lot to do in the city, especially now user-created missions are implemented. The characters are good, and there is even some rivalry around Cole which makes him more human. If you enjoyed the first one, you're going to have a lot of fun playing this one. If you haven't played the first one, go to that now and play this one right after that. Everything in New Marais is great to do, whether that is zooming and grappling around town with your electric players, combatting mutants and ice soldiers with electricity and rockets, saving innocent civilians from the evil Militia or rule the town with an iron fist yourself. Expand
  90. Oct 22, 2011
    9
    infamous 2 : Great story , the gameplay is amazing , i loved new cole ,graphics and environments are great , strong step after infamous 1 , the multiplayer is good idea and amazing soundtrack and voice acting .
  91. Oct 21, 2011
    8
    the first infamous game was a pretty solid game the second is just the same . if you played the first one you will know what to expect . the game doesnt feel any differnt then the first outside of your in a new city , some new powers , and a new story. i wish they could have kicked it up a knotch but what we got is still a fun game. there are some fun boss fights.. the game is about 20 hours long which i think was actaully abit shorter then the first.. the nice thing is the story ends with this game so if you where worried this was gona be a series that dragged on for years no worries . i wish they would have made going good or evil abit more entertaining .still infamous 2 is worth buying if you liked the first. Expand
  92. Oct 8, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best game I've ever played. It takes the flare of the first game and perfects it. It has a experience like no other. And a sad ending.(I'm still crying.) That's how good the game was Expand
  93. Sep 29, 2011
    9
    People usually say that the sequel isn't as good as the original, but this sequel is bigger and better. It's nothing less than what I've come to expect from games developer sucker punch.The story is just as interesting as the first game and features a surprising twist that few will see coming. You have a new environment, new characters, new enemies and amazing new powers. They even added an amazing new creative tool allowing you to create your own levels and let people play them online. You can't really fault this game. the only reason i didn't give it a ten is because of some glitches that occurred (although there will probably be a patch to fix this). Overall this is great for fans of the first game and for fans of action games and sandbox games. Expand
  94. Sep 25, 2011
    9
    i'll be honest. i did not like the first Infamous. gameplay was boring and bleak. and the sewer levels were annoying and melee was clunky. but in Infamous 2 every thing is improved especially with melee as we are introduced to the awesome AMP and the acting/story/cutscene is top notch. with the single-player reaching around 15 hours first time on normal and both GOOD/BAD endings are completely great. recommend this game as the new powers are incredibly fun Expand
  95. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    I was absolutely blown away by the first inFamous actually in many ways it was the main reason I bought a Playstation 3 and when inFamous 2 came out I bought it day one but finished it way too quickly and when I did finish the game on Hard I was refused the hard trophy which was a bit disappointing but the game, story and the new powers are really good looking forward to the new DLC I do love it when a game changes up the standard DLC affair new weapons and a few new mission but the Festival of Blood DLC looks to be quite exciting I cannot wait. Expand
  96. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is very well made and is even better than its prequel. The gameplay is very lively and intense, and has great replay value. Although at times the story may seem slightely weak. It completes the story on Cole McGrath. The only disappointment is the devastating ending which is the death of cole McGrath Expand
  97. Sep 20, 2011
    8
    Infamous 2 was an up and down hill of a story, it started off fantastically and then it dropped off, til the point where i didn't even want to finish the game anymore, but then the game got incredible again... it followed this patter throughout the entire game, however the story itself is quite good, but even better is the fantastic array of powers that will surely make you feel "badass"
  98. Sep 20, 2011
    8
    Decent game; the only problem I had was the fact that you could only use the Tesla missile when transferring electricity to another generator, it should've been a powerup.
  99. Sep 15, 2011
    9
    Better than the first one in every single way. A must play for any comic fan or any sandbox fan. The story line is a little weak. The missions on the Evil side are not as imaginative as in the first one. At times it feels a little repetitive but other than that is a fantastic game like no other in this generation.
  100. Sep 8, 2011
    9
    I thoroughly enjoyed my experience with the game so far, I'm a mission or two away from beating the evil campaign and the powers have been greatly enhanced, making getting around a lot more swift and just flat out fun. The new powers are definitely impressive and it gives you more freedom on combos to performed during combat. The connection with Cole is satisfying throughout the story. Being able to choose his destiny gives more of a connection for sure. The story is also captivating and well thought out. The scenery is wonderful, the city looks great, textures are more than decent. Very satisfied with the money spent towards this game and the developers. I always like what Sucker Punch produces, I would highly recommend picking this title up. Expand
  101. Jun 17, 2011
    0
    Liked it but didn't like it.. I is an improvement over Infamous but it lacked the excitement that the first did. I found I spent more time collecting shards and unlocking powers than actually playing the game. Having the militia, monsters, and ice soldiers fighting all at once around you really slowed down the game play. The damage counter was also aggravating to say the least.. Instead of taking away energy, u had to recover from combat for a few minutes. So you could almost get one shotted by a shotgunner Collapse
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 90 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 90
  2. Negative: 0 out of 90
  1. Nov 28, 2011
    80
    inFamous 2 doesn't make many missteps. It may lack the polish and big name license of the recent Batman games, but for a solid and dependable superhero videogame, there aren't many more enjoyable and more consistent than this excellent superpowered romp.
  2. Nov 14, 2011
    90
    Whether you're a fan of the first inFAMOUS or new to the series, the amount of gameplay and riveting story should please all. A few small tweaks to the Move controls would go a long way in improving the overall feel of the game but an absolutely fantastic and worthwhile title nonetheless.
  3. Oct 19, 2011
    88
    A very good superhero's sandbox. There's a lot fighting, but it's good fighting. A lot of replay potential. The level editor is a worthy bonus, too. [Aug 2011]