Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Apr 22, 2013
    90
    An excellent 'western' fighter that is more about accessibility and fun than mastering techniques and detailed strategies.
  2. A promising story mode gets smothered under a heap of weighty confrontations mired with incredibly melodramatic dialogues. DC Comics has always had a thing for brooding heroes, but some light at the end of the tunnel would have been fun. [May 2013, p.70]
  3. May 31, 2013
    80
    Being a NetherRealm Studios production, it has a tendency to flirt with the superfluous, but there’s tasty meat to be found in the core combat even if not all of its mechanics mesh perfectly together.
  4. May 27, 2013
    80
    A wonderful treat for comic book fans and a pretty decent fighting game to boot. [Issue#231, p.70]
  5. May 27, 2013
    70
    Truly, what could have been a phoned-in Mortal Kombat doppelganger is an entertaining, if occasionally imbalanced, fighter, and NetherRealm deserves an amiable pat on the back for taking the risks necessary to satisfy their persnickety audience while executing their plans with confidence.
  6. May 23, 2013
    60
    The fighting system isn’t bad, it seems perfectly balanced, I just didn’t particular care for the way the game moved. If the movement had been more fluid, I think I would have really liked this game a lot.
  7. For hardcore nerds, it’s a wet dream made real; for everyone else, it’s a spectacle like no other. [June 2013, p72]
  8. May 13, 2013
    80
    In terms of gameplay mechanics Injustice closely resembles Netherrealm’s previous work – Mortal Kombat – but fails to outshine it. Still it’s a great fighting game, especially if you’re into comic books. [CD-Action 06/2013, p.60]
  9. May 6, 2013
    75
    Injustice can be considered as a "popular" fighting game, which strives above all to please the general public and to propose an overall well-structured gameplay.
  10. 85
    Injustice: Gods Among Us does a lot of things right. From a fantastic storyline, to a plethora of content, but minor balance and online bugs stop it from being the best it can be. Regardless, Injustice offers just about anything from the hardcore fighter to the beginner.
  11. Apr 29, 2013
    85
    Fighting fanatics and comic lovers alike should love the effort and attention to detail. The control is fast and reliable, the production values are high throughout, there’s appreciated accessibility combined with great depth, and experimenting with each character is awesome.
  12. Apr 28, 2013
    80
    Injustice: Gods Among Us takes the best elements of 2011's excellent Mortal Kombat reboot and fuses them with a faithful superhero setting, resulting in a solid fighting game with a likeable cast. The online multiplayer may not always be consistent, but this is still a heroic effort that's more than fit for the Gods.
  13. Apr 26, 2013
    86
    One of the best fighting games during these last moments of the present console generation. The DC universe atmosphere adds to a very nice play style, creating a product of a very high quality. Its only shortcomings are subpar graphics and some minor unbalances between characters, but otherwise it's a title every fan of the genre should try.
  14. Apr 25, 2013
    80
    In 2013 Injustice is not as groundbreaking as Mortal Kombat was back in 2011, but it remains a solid and enjoyable fighter with tons of content to keep you occupied for weeks.
  15. Apr 25, 2013
    80
    This welcome focus on spectacle – and the highly recognisable cast – makes Injustice more accessible than most modern fighting games, but there’s plenty to appeal to seasoned players.
  16. Apr 24, 2013
    80
    I really loved the character design and the make-up of the interactive stages. Plus, it's without a doubt the most interesting story mode I ever had the fortune playing in a beat 'em up, and I would have loved have gotten a few more hours out of it. Even if the rest of the package can be a bit workmanlike, everything works splendidly.
  17. Apr 23, 2013
    80
    There's plenty to love about Injustice: Gods Among Us, especially if you are a comic book fan. The game combines a compelling story with polished fighting mechanics and some genuine innovation.
  18. Apr 22, 2013
    80
    Anyone who enjoyed Mortal Kombat 9 is going to enjoy this game, and fans of DC Comics will also like the great representation of heroes and villains. It is a shame that the fatalities that made Mortal Kombat so popular aren’t here, but I think that was one of the problems with Mortal Kombat VS DC Universe. You can’t really show Superman ripping off Batman’s head, so leaving half-arsed fatality attempts out of the game is probably a good thing.
  19. Apr 22, 2013
    80
    The accessibility and sheer amount of content gives Injustice: Gods Among Us a single-player life most fighting games cannot compete with, which makes it more of a shame that the netcode lets the package down.
  20. Apr 21, 2013
    88
    An incredibly fun bit of fantasy fulfilment as you get to test Earth’s mightiest heroes (cough) against each other. It is also a very dark look at these heroes and villains.
  21. Apr 21, 2013
    85
    Injustice Gods Among Us is a superb game if you love the DC Universe as NetherRealm not only pay homage to the world of DC Comics but creates a very sturdy fighting game based on the Mortal Kombat engine.
  22. Apr 20, 2013
    70
    Injustice: Gods Among Us is a typical Netherrealm Studios-game, but not their best. Fighting fanatics will know that this isn't as well done as 2011's Mortal Kombat, but Injustice doesn't rest solely on its fighting system. The true pillars consist of well-known superheroes from the DC-universe, with their absurd powers and a sympathetic amount of fan-service.
  23. Be it throwing chattering teeth with The Joker or hogtieing Doomsday with Green Arrow, there’s a constant playful charm in doling out moves. And unlike Mortal Kombat Vs DC Universe, Injustice boasts a stable netcode, where streamlined matchmaking and lag-free fights make for a solid online offering. A pretty heroic effort all told, then. But one that falls short of super status.
  24. Apr 19, 2013
    80
    If you don't take the genre too seriously, Injustice is likely the most entertaining fighter of all-time. Its witty, tongue-in-cheek humor and blockbuster production are a joy. Duking it out with friends online or on the couch provides hours of fun. Competitive fighting game fans will find a more even and balanced playing field in another game, but patching down the line will likely fix that shortcoming anyway.
  25. Apr 18, 2013
    50
    Do not tell me that true fans of DC Comics would get their money's worth with Injustice. And fighting game lovers either. Love does not mean accepting everything, and we can't be enthusiasts about the pitiful appearance that the Mortal Kombat studio gave to Superman, Wonder Woman and their pals. Yes, the gameplay basics from MK and the being-a-superhero feeling remains cool, as do the destructible stages, but the script and the presentation of the story mode, the stiffness of the animations and the poor art design do not allow Injustice to be mentioned within the good-fighting-games list of this generation.
  26. Apr 18, 2013
    80
    Not as memorable as the Mortal Kombat reboot, but still a worthy successor. A great story complemented by a well-balanced cast of fighters and numerous interesting features - among which highly interactive environments and spectacular special moves - makes the game. Unfortunately, weak cutscenes, some boring minigames and the lack of a tag team mode keeps the game from receiving a higher score.
  27. Apr 17, 2013
    83
    There’s a lot to appreciate here, and many good fights to be had -- Injustice actually does justice to its source material and its players.
  28. 80
    The main problem I see with Injustice, is that it lacks enough differences from Mortal Kombat to truly feel like a unique game, and is instead most of what made the Mortal Kombat reboot shine, packed into a DC Universe wrapper.
  29. Apr 16, 2013
    80
    A great success. It has an original script and, surprisingly, we can be easily dragged into this story. With simple and intuitive gameplay, it’s easy to handle it. Then we can enjoy graphics which benefit from careful modeling. Injustice will please Comics fans but not only this group. With its immersive universe, even those uninitiated to fighting games will find it easy to take their places in the huge universe of superheroes.
  30. Apr 16, 2013
    80
    The fights are flashy and full of personality, making the action stand out, and producing a spectacle worth seeing.
  31. Apr 16, 2013
    70
    Injustice provides a complex fighter with some unique twists, but is found wanting in features that have become commonplace in its contemporaries.
  32. Apr 16, 2013
    96
    Injustice: Gods Among us stands head and shoulders above any other fighting game on the market – it is without flaw.
  33. As much as the studio has plugged the cinematic nature of the game’s storytelling, I can’t help but feel the story devolves into some groan-worthy comic book tropes. But it’s not enough to diminish the overall enjoyment of the game...Injustice: Gods Among Us will appeal to both those who grew up reading Batman or playing Mortal Kombat.
  34. Apr 16, 2013
    70
    A perfect fighting game for beginners and one of the best uses of the DC universe so far in games, even if it still only feels like the tip of the iceberg in terms of unrealised potential.
  35. Apr 16, 2013
    70
    Despite the unbalanced gameplay, the cinematic, spectacle filled matches make me feel hyped every time I play. I don’t claim to understand every decision NetherRealm made with their new DC inspired fighter, but even with all its flaws, Injustice can’t help but be a crowd pleaser. Even if sometimes it’s more fun to watch than it is to play.
  36. Apr 16, 2013
    82
    It's exactly the kind of glorious fight you expect from the DC Universe's mightiest, and Injustice: Gods Among Us makes it almost as fun and rewarding to watch as it is to play.
  37. Apr 16, 2013
    80
    Solid gameplay combined with superheroes and villains make an interesting and enjoyable fighting game. A surprisingly lengthy and entertaining story makes you feel like you're part of a superhero movie, and the challenges will keep you coming back for more.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 229 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 65
  2. Negative: 4 out of 65
  1. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    For starters, i'm not a huge fan of fighting games or comics. The most i know about superheroes come from movies or from other videogames. Although i never really got into fighting games, Mortal Kombat (2011) was one of the best fighting games i've played in a while. So when i heard that Netherrealms was working on a fighting game with some of the most popular superheroes, some that i've heard of and others that i haven't, i was excited. I picked up the game a few days ago and can say that it's a great fighting game!

    First thing i played was the single player. I didn't really think about the storyline very much as i was awaiting the game, but when i played it i was surprised at how good it was. It asks a very intriguing question, What would happen if the superheroes that needed to protect us, became our enemies? Even worse considering that one of the superheroes is superman. I don't want to spoil the game, so i'll keep most of it a surprise.
    The only issues that i've found with the story line is that it's pretty short. I was able to finish it in 5 hours. And that's after dying several times. Another issue, and it's really not that big of an issue but some might be annoyed, is that the cutscenes don't look very good. It's weird to see a game in which the actually gameplay and fighting has better graphics than the cutscenes.

    The fighting is pretty smooth. If you like the fighting of MK (2011), then this will be very similar. The long crazy combos are possible, but one will have to put a lot of time and effort into practicing. What i did was pick my favorite character and just spent the entire time getting better with them. The reason that picking one character is best is cause each character is completely different. All 24 are broken up to into power and gadget characters. The names are self explanatory. The power characters are slow, but powerful. The gadget characters are quicker and rely on longer range fighting. Although there are two types of fighters, each fighter in one of the groups is different than one another. Flash, a gadget character is very different than joker. Superman is much different than Lex Luthor. Each character also has a "special power". These are unique, although some are similar, and make fighting very exciting. Bane's super power is that he absorbs more Venom into his system, making him temporarily more powerful. Flash has a power in which he slows down time for a short time. So it's easy to see how game play will change depending on who you're fighting.
    Another interesting addition are the supermoves and clashes. When you fill a bar up you have the ability to do a powerful and very violent move that severely damages your opponent. Although some are a bit underwhelming, most are really satisfying. Clashes are pretty simple too. Both you and your enemy wages energy from your bar and whoever wins gains some health and the loser loses health. These change the gameplay up very well. One moment you could have a good lead on you enemy, and the next you're in trouble. This may sound cheap and annoying, but it actually works very well.

    One cool addition is the leveling system. You can level up as you fight. Experience points are gained after every fight. From online, to story. As you level up unlock tokens that unlock many different things. From costumes to music. This keeps the life of the game even longer. Which leads to the next thing, STAR labs. These are a set of 250 mini games. These contain many different kinds of games. Some easy, some pretty hard. I spend a pretty good amount of time on some some of them. So far i've only accomplished 40 three stars accomplishments and i've played for the past day. So you can imagine how much time will be put into the rest of them.

    In the end i'm really glad i bought the game. I see me playing with friends and strangers online for a long time. Also adding the fact that there aren't many other competing fighting games releasing this year makes Injustice my "go to fighting game". Anybody who buys the game will also be waiting on the 4 DLC characters being released in the next few months.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 17, 2013
    8
    As a gamer who has very seldom played any fighting-style game, I didn't expect much for Injustice: Gods Among Us. However, it delivered both surprisingly fun game-play, and an engaging storyline with characters that comic book fans have come love. Even if you don't know much about DC lore, the story stands alone from the rest of the DC universe and it isn't hard to keep up, especially when a battle is just around the corner from a cut-scene. It keeps the gamer on the edge of their seat wondering "what super-human am I going to be matched up with next?". If you're a fan of the DC universe, or comics in general, the story-mode is a satisfying breath of fresh air that goes to show that the industry still aims to please it's fans, and can still deliver.

    When it comes to the game-play, each fight is satisfying and enjoyable. Each character has it's own strengths and weaknesses, and it's fun to find all of them out. I really liked how each character has it's own animations and voice. It makes it feel like you're in control of the individual, instead of having the same animations and grunts that take away individuality, whether it be with Superman's laser beams or The Joker's laughing gas. I find the controls somewhat clunky and also too challenging for a beginner. Precision is key to landing moves and combos which leads to frustration when I'm trying to land a devastating combo and it doesn't work out. These issues, however, are easily overlooked. When a combo is landed and a chunk is taken out of an enemy's health bar, it is very satisfying.

    Even if you aren't a fan of fighting games or comics, the story for Injustice: Gods Among Us is engaging and fun to follow and the characters are charismatic and easy to fall in love with. I wish I could master every single one. Although the controls are challenging and tough to get used to if you're a beginner, they are easy to work around with everything else the game has to offer. I would definitely recommend this game to anyone who is a fan of comic books and fighting games. If you're not, this is the game that could definitely get you into both.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 17, 2013
    7
    This game is straight up fan service, boasting an impressive roster of popular as well as lesser known characters from the DC Universe. The good? If you're looking for a fighting game with a comic book bent this year, look no further this is your game. The bad? Well, there are quite a few. The fighting system is fun and accessible, but doesn't feel very deep and I think that in about a week the interest in this title will wane. Second, my biggest gripe about this game is the explanation it gives for how Superman and Batman are able to fight each other fairly. It's absolutely ridiculous. And it's not like this is the first time NetherRealm's had to address it they did an awesome job explaining it away in MK vs DCU by saying that "magic" had levelled the playing field a plot device that had been used before in the comics many times as well. The explanation this time around in Injustice is absurd and doesn't do anything to explain how a guard's bullets can't hurt the joker while Harlequin's, for example, can. If they had used the "magic" explanation this time around, no one would have batted and eye and we could have all gone on our merry way to playing the game and not caring. It's messy and weird. The cinematics in the Story Mode, as well, are also poor both technically and in terms of story telling. They're just hard to watch and it's jarring to see the transition from lower res, lower framerate cinematics to the crisp presentation of the in-game graphics. Almost all of the characters in the game are represented well except for, surprisingly, Superman himself who just kind of looks weird. These are some gaffes that are detracting from the title's quality and definitely a step down from NetherRealm's superb 2011 Mortal Kombat a game that seems to be running on all pistons in practically every department. There's definitely some fun to be had here, but not 60 dollars worth of fun. If you're hell bent on picking up a fighting game this season and don't already have them, check out Super Street Fighter IV Arcade Edition and 2011's Mortal Kombat. And if you already have them, consider picking up their DLC. If you have THOSE, then wait until the summer time to pick up Injustice, but try to find out if anyone is still playing by then it before you do. Full Review »