Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 229 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Injustice: Gods Among Us kicks off a new fighting game series that begins to weave an original tale featuring a cast of favorite DC Comics icons such as Batman, Harley Quinn, Solomon Grundy, Superman, The Flash, Wonder Woman and others. Set in a world where the distinction between good and evil is often unclear, players pit heroes and villains in grandiose battles on a massive scale. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Apr 16, 2013
    96
    Injustice: Gods Among us stands head and shoulders above any other fighting game on the market – it is without flaw.
  2. 85
    Injustice: Gods Among Us does a lot of things right. From a fantastic storyline, to a plethora of content, but minor balance and online bugs stop it from being the best it can be. Regardless, Injustice offers just about anything from the hardcore fighter to the beginner.
  3. Apr 16, 2013
    82
    It's exactly the kind of glorious fight you expect from the DC Universe's mightiest, and Injustice: Gods Among Us makes it almost as fun and rewarding to watch as it is to play.
  4. As much as the studio has plugged the cinematic nature of the game’s storytelling, I can’t help but feel the story devolves into some groan-worthy comic book tropes. But it’s not enough to diminish the overall enjoyment of the game...Injustice: Gods Among Us will appeal to both those who grew up reading Batman or playing Mortal Kombat.
  5. Apr 23, 2013
    80
    There's plenty to love about Injustice: Gods Among Us, especially if you are a comic book fan. The game combines a compelling story with polished fighting mechanics and some genuine innovation.
  6. Apr 18, 2013
    80
    Not as memorable as the Mortal Kombat reboot, but still a worthy successor. A great story complemented by a well-balanced cast of fighters and numerous interesting features - among which highly interactive environments and spectacular special moves - makes the game. Unfortunately, weak cutscenes, some boring minigames and the lack of a tag team mode keeps the game from receiving a higher score.
  7. Apr 18, 2013
    50
    Do not tell me that true fans of DC Comics would get their money's worth with Injustice. And fighting game lovers either. Love does not mean accepting everything, and we can't be enthusiasts about the pitiful appearance that the Mortal Kombat studio gave to Superman, Wonder Woman and their pals. Yes, the gameplay basics from MK and the being-a-superhero feeling remains cool, as do the destructible stages, but the script and the presentation of the story mode, the stiffness of the animations and the poor art design do not allow Injustice to be mentioned within the good-fighting-games list of this generation.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 65
  2. Negative: 4 out of 65
  1. Apr 21, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing. You don't have to be a huge fan of the DC comics or of fighting games to enjoy this title. It has astonishing visuals, a deep combat system, and to top it all off, a great story that you'll love for sure. Collapse
  2. May 4, 2013
    10
    This is hands down the best fighting game that i have ever played! Its got an awesome story, awesome bonus missions, awesome battles and its just a freakin fun game to sit down and play with your buddies! Not only is Injustice a love letter to hardcore Justice League fans like myself but also to superhero fans in general!! So if you fall into either of those, do yourself a favor and go pick this one up!! Expand
  3. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    This is amazing. I am seriously impressed that Warner Bros finally made a great fighting game, especially for DC universe, and no, Warner Bros was never into the fighting (nor any violent) genre. Great job! Expand
  4. Apr 23, 2013
    8
    You can read my review of the PS3 version of "Injustice: Gods Among Us" here http://geektasticfilmreviews.blogspot.com/2013/04/injustice-gods-among-us.html Expand
  5. Apr 17, 2013
    8
    As a gamer who has very seldom played any fighting-style game, I didn't expect much for Injustice: Gods Among Us. However, it delivered both surprisingly fun game-play, and an engaging storyline with characters that comic book fans have come love. Even if you don't know much about DC lore, the story stands alone from the rest of the DC universe and it isn't hard to keep up, especially when a battle is just around the corner from a cut-scene. It keeps the gamer on the edge of their seat wondering "what super-human am I going to be matched up with next?". If you're a fan of the DC universe, or comics in general, the story-mode is a satisfying breath of fresh air that goes to show that the industry still aims to please it's fans, and can still deliver.

    When it comes to the game-play, each fight is satisfying and enjoyable. Each character has it's own strengths and weaknesses, and it's fun to find all of them out. I really liked how each character has it's own animations and voice. It makes it feel like you're in control of the individual, instead of having the same animations and grunts that take away individuality, whether it be with Superman's laser beams or The Joker's laughing gas. I find the controls somewhat clunky and also too challenging for a beginner. Precision is key to landing moves and combos which leads to frustration when I'm trying to land a devastating combo and it doesn't work out. These issues, however, are easily overlooked. When a combo is landed and a chunk is taken out of an enemy's health bar, it is very satisfying.

    Even if you aren't a fan of fighting games or comics, the story for Injustice: Gods Among Us is engaging and fun to follow and the characters are charismatic and easy to fall in love with. I wish I could master every single one. Although the controls are challenging and tough to get used to if you're a beginner, they are easy to work around with everything else the game has to offer. I would definitely recommend this game to anyone who is a fan of comic books and fighting games. If you're not, this is the game that could definitely get you into both.
    Expand
  6. Jun 20, 2013
    8
    This game is not your average fighter. Well..... maybe it is. It's kinda both. It's a lot like Mortal Kombat, but... well, not. It may be developed by Netherrealm, the developers of MK9, but it's a lot more different than you would imagine. It features DC characters that in no way mirror Mortal Kombat characters. There are references to the franchise, such as Batman grappling an enemy and saying 'Get down here', ala Scorpion. This game could have been a copy of the disastrous Mortal Kombat vs. DC Universe, but it isn't, thank god. It's so much better. The graphics and character models are outstanding, and so are the mechanics, though slightly lagging behind Mortal Kombat's mechanics. It has a huge roster of characters, From Superman to Cyborg to Deathstroke to Wonder Woman. There are, however, some downsides to this game. There are a few characters that I would've liked to see in this game that weren't, like Martian Manhunter or Beast Boy. Also, the story isn't as long as Mortal Kombat's story was. Some of the animations get old, like the super moves and outro/intro screens. Another downside is that some of the costumes in the game aren't easy to get. I mean that a lot of the costumes aren't unlocked through challenges. This kinda turned me off. However, if you're a DC comics fan, fighting game fan, or somebody who likes to have a ton of fun with friends, this is the game for you. Fighting with friends in this game is outrageously fun. I recommend this game with pride. Expand
  7. May 28, 2013
    2
    Very slow; - No combos; - 1 animation intro morning, furious; - Super-boring beats boring; + Frame-date in the game; + Arena higher quality than in the MK;
    + Lots of bonuses (but why would they need if fighting disastrous?).
    Expand

See all 65 User Reviews