Inversion PlayStation 3

Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 23
  2. Negative: 6 out of 23
Buy On
  1. Jul 10, 2012
    49
    Inversion flirts with the idea of having ideas, but then gives up all pretence of inventiveness and settles for being a bland and forgettable third-person shooter. [Issue#220, p.80]
  2. Jul 30, 2012
    45
    Inversion has a great premisse, an interesting story and an overall solid control scheme. This, however, isn't enough to save the game from mediocrity. Its biggest crime isn't the short campaign or the graphical flaws, but the fact that fooling around with gravity - supposedly the game's big hook - isn't at all necessary.
  3. Jun 11, 2012
    42
    Overall I don't think it's a game that's really worth your time, unless you've literally nothing better to play within this particular genre. Worth a rental, maybe, but certainly not a purchase.
  4. Oct 27, 2012
    40
    Inversion is the epitome of uninspired game design, as even it's core elements never manage to be anything but mediocre. On top of that it does nothing to set itself apart from every other third person shooter on the market, and even the slightly entertaining gravity-powers doesn't do it much good.
  5. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Jul 16, 2012
    40
    Welcome to brown town, ladies and gents. Escape is impossible. [August 2012]
  6. Jun 19, 2012
    40
    Inversion isn't terrible - its main obstacle is how many other games on the market handle this stuff much, much better.
User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Jun 9, 2012
    8
    Pretty cool game , Inversion is bringing shooter+gravity game style . its fun and it has brought something new to a shooter game.
    Here's the
    Pretty cool game , Inversion is bringing shooter+gravity game style . its fun and it has brought something new to a shooter game.
    Here's the game's strength , gravity control is awesome , and the shooting actually feels solid , multiplayer is lots of fun and modes are unique .the weapons are fun too.
    The story isn't perfect ,but it is still fun to play, the character design is ok not the best and not the worst it would just have been a better game if they included co-op in story mode. So over all the game is fun and cool but the story isn't that good and there's no co-op.
    an 8 for me.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 10, 2012
    7
    This is a cool game. Its major problem is the fact that many other games have done this before - and better. I could list dozens of gamesThis is a cool game. Its major problem is the fact that many other games have done this before - and better. I could list dozens of games here; Gears of War being the most obvious, of course, but there's also Uncharted and the recent Binary Domain. It's the standard (and average) 3rd person shooter. From the reviews (both critics' and users') we have the (false) impression that Inversion is a bad game. It's not, trust me. It is a functional, fun, engaging game that will keep you hooked, specially with the whole gravity gimmick it involves. It's a shame that it's not as inspired as it could be - due to obvious lack of budget and production values. But unlike many other mediocre titles out there, this one really deserves a look. I had a lot of fun with it and, last time I checked, this is what games are all about. Full Review »
  3. Mar 25, 2013
    9
    it's a game very interesting with good graphics, sound and a new stuff collest I ever seen this year. gravity control. it's very cheap game and fun!!!