Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 23
  2. Negative: 6 out of 23
  1. Jun 5, 2012
    55
    It's not a terrible game, but it's in those moments in which you glimpse it's unrealised potential that really brings it down.
  2. Jun 5, 2012
    60
    By the time the final encounter came around, I wasn't looking forward to a satisfying conclusion. I was just ready for the game to conclude.
  3. Jun 20, 2012
    60
    Inversion isn't bad, but it isn't good, either. It's a generic, dull third-person shooter that is competent enough. Aside from some issues with aiming the Gravlink, everything works about as well as it should, but that's the kindest thing one can say about the title. Forgettable enemies, bland locations, boring gunplay and a clichéd story combine into a product that has little entertainment value.
  4. Jun 11, 2012
    42
    Overall I don't think it's a game that's really worth your time, unless you've literally nothing better to play within this particular genre. Worth a rental, maybe, but certainly not a purchase.
  5. Jun 27, 2012
    50
    Inversion is not a good game. It's an unpolished game with a single good idea, the Gravilink, and that's really not enough to carry the entire experience. The multiplayer alone makes Inversion worth a rental, but I suggest skipping the intensely boring campaign.
  6. Aug 15, 2012
    65
    The campaign is a solid adventure that is best enjoyed with another person (rather than the AI!) and the game offers a certain level of "surprise" with some of its unique gameplay elements. It's just a shame that some of these unique elements are not incorporated better or injected more frequently in the campaign. While I wouldn't pay full price for the game, it's definitely worth checking out once the price goes down.
  7. Jun 19, 2012
    40
    Inversion isn't terrible - its main obstacle is how many other games on the market handle this stuff much, much better.
  8. Jul 10, 2012
    71
    Despite being a solid action game and having a good concept Inversion unfortunately fails to impress in nearly all aspects of gameplay and story.
  9. Jul 26, 2012
    60
    Inversion is a decent shooter with some fun gravity-gameplay. Unfortunately it is never memorable and offers no innovation or surprise, offering a mediocre overall experience.
  10. Despite its presentational flaws – the script is married to some deeply underwhelming visuals – and lack of true inspiration, solid implementation of both the basic mechanics and the wannabe game-changer mean it floats our boat, even if we're not flipping out.
  11. Jul 10, 2012
    49
    Inversion flirts with the idea of having ideas, but then gives up all pretence of inventiveness and settles for being a bland and forgettable third-person shooter. [Issue#220, p.80]
  12. Jul 2, 2012
    50
    It's a decent enough shooter, but the lack of ideas and fiddly controls - especially through zero-gravity sections - make this a dead cert for the bargain bin. [Aug 2012, p.102]
  13. Jun 11, 2012
    58
    Inversion had a neat idea, but the execution is lackluster at best. For genre connoisseurs, it's worth a look, but most can safely pass this one up.
  14. Jul 26, 2012
    70
    Inversion might not be innovating in its field with the Gravlink mechanic, but get past the start of the game and you'll open up to a rather enjoyable and good enough shooter that fans of the genre should give a chance before writing it off as a poor man's Gears of War.
  15. On so many levels, Inversion is like a cheesy action movie. Yet just as there's some joy in losing ourselves to the Under Siege movies, Inversion has undeniable charm once we switch our brain to "simple." [Aug 2012, p.82]
  16. Welcome to brown town, ladies and gents. Escape is impossible. [August 2012]
  17. 50
    In the end, you will likely finish the game in about 7-9 hours, but still feel like you didn't play it. It is that forgettable.
  18. Oct 27, 2012
    40
    Inversion is the epitome of uninspired game design, as even it's core elements never manage to be anything but mediocre. On top of that it does nothing to set itself apart from every other third person shooter on the market, and even the slightly entertaining gravity-powers doesn't do it much good.
  19. 55
    Unfortunately, everything that could be used to make Inversion a unique and standout game - if not a sleeper hit - has such a small presence in the game that it just feels like a squad shooter with decent mechanics and some different ideas.
  20. Jul 11, 2012
    60
    Overall, Inversion is a game that feels instantly familiar, and not in a good way. The game lifts heavily from more illustrious sources, while its own unique selling point, gravity powers, never feels fully exploited. But equally, the game is a solid and reasonably well-produced shooter that is fun to play, particularly with other people. As long as you don't expect a revolution, you will have a good time battling this particular alien invasion.
  21. Jun 12, 2012
    75
    Inversion won't win any awards for innovation, but once you push past the rubble and get into the meat of the experience, it's built on a surprisingly strong foundation that gets more right than wrong-more than I can say for several of this year's more polished action titles.
  22. With the Gravlink - an alien, but poorly designed technology that Russ carries around on his back - you can pick up objects and throw them or lift enemies out of cover. Unfortunately the controls are so imprecise it takes ages before you get the right object to levitate. [July 2012, p.86]
  23. Jul 30, 2012
    45
    Inversion has a great premisse, an interesting story and an overall solid control scheme. This, however, isn't enough to save the game from mediocrity. Its biggest crime isn't the short campaign or the graphical flaws, but the fact that fooling around with gravity - supposedly the game's big hook - isn't at all necessary.
User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Jun 9, 2012
    8
    Pretty cool game , Inversion is bringing shooter+gravity game style . its fun and it has brought something new to a shooter game.
    Here's the
    game's strength , gravity control is awesome , and the shooting actually feels solid , multiplayer is lots of fun and modes are unique .the weapons are fun too.
    The story isn't perfect ,but it is still fun to play, the character design is ok not the best and not the worst it would just have been a better game if they included co-op in story mode. So over all the game is fun and cool but the story isn't that good and there's no co-op.
    an 8 for me.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 10, 2012
    7
    This is a cool game. Its major problem is the fact that many other games have done this before - and better. I could list dozens of games here; Gears of War being the most obvious, of course, but there's also Uncharted and the recent Binary Domain. It's the standard (and average) 3rd person shooter. From the reviews (both critics' and users') we have the (false) impression that Inversion is a bad game. It's not, trust me. It is a functional, fun, engaging game that will keep you hooked, specially with the whole gravity gimmick it involves. It's a shame that it's not as inspired as it could be - due to obvious lack of budget and production values. But unlike many other mediocre titles out there, this one really deserves a look. I had a lot of fun with it and, last time I checked, this is what games are all about. Full Review »
  3. Aug 13, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I'm punishing this game for lack of refinement. I quit playing after chapter 5 (of13) because I just have no patience for games which are not adequately play tested. Just off the top of my head armored vehicles were killing me through walls, my AI buddies always got in the way and trapped me on crates constantly. Cover- its like a magnet just running by crates would get you teleported into cover...way too sensitive. Certain portions of the game were very cheap, the first time encountering snipers you are given the treat of finding out the zoom in this game sucks you literally have about 1 second to zoom to each target and hope you find the target by luck because its not really skill. Why do developers give you no place to snipe from when they introduce the sniper gun its comical. What else did I come across...well a lot of cinema there actually was not a lot of enemies. Oh now I'm reminded the enemies you do encounter can be while the game is trying to tell you something so you have to shoot through the message while you play. And another annoying AI thing, just as you are about to line up a head shot guess what, your AI partner thinks its time to send the enemy into the air with the gravlink. So much for plan A. Anyway, the action of the game wasn't brutal however I just gave up because this game is not clean and that just annoys me something fierce. I suppose if I had no choice I'd play it out but considering the motto "so many games, so little time" this one gets the jolly heave-ho Full Review »