Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 40 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assume the role of young father and husband Davis Russell who is thrust into war when his tranquil city is invaded by an unknown enemy. With his daughter unaccounted for and conventional weapons and tactics useless, this typical cop and his partner Leo Delgado step up to heed the call of duty, master the fundamental forces of gravity and save the world. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 23
  2. Negative: 6 out of 23
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    75
    Inversion won't win any awards for innovation, but once you push past the rubble and get into the meat of the experience, it's built on a surprisingly strong foundation that gets more right than wrong-more than I can say for several of this year's more polished action titles.
  2. Jul 26, 2012
    70
    Inversion might not be innovating in its field with the Gravlink mechanic, but get past the start of the game and you'll open up to a rather enjoyable and good enough shooter that fans of the genre should give a chance before writing it off as a poor man's Gears of War.
  3. Aug 15, 2012
    65
    The campaign is a solid adventure that is best enjoyed with another person (rather than the AI!) and the game offers a certain level of "surprise" with some of its unique gameplay elements. It's just a shame that some of these unique elements are not incorporated better or injected more frequently in the campaign. While I wouldn't pay full price for the game, it's definitely worth checking out once the price goes down.
  4. Jun 11, 2012
    58
    Inversion had a neat idea, but the execution is lackluster at best. For genre connoisseurs, it's worth a look, but most can safely pass this one up.
  5. Jun 5, 2012
    55
    It's not a terrible game, but it's in those moments in which you glimpse it's unrealised potential that really brings it down.
  6. Jul 2, 2012
    50
    It's a decent enough shooter, but the lack of ideas and fiddly controls - especially through zero-gravity sections - make this a dead cert for the bargain bin. [Aug 2012, p.102]
  7. Jun 19, 2012
    40
    Inversion isn't terrible - its main obstacle is how many other games on the market handle this stuff much, much better.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Mar 25, 2013
    9
    it's a game very interesting with good graphics, sound and a new stuff collest I ever seen this year. gravity control. it's very cheap game and fun!!!
  2. Jun 9, 2012
    8
    Pretty cool game , Inversion is bringing shooter+gravity game style . its fun and it has brought something new to a shooter game.
    Here's the
    game's strength , gravity control is awesome , and the shooting actually feels solid , multiplayer is lots of fun and modes are unique .the weapons are fun too.
    The story isn't perfect ,but it is still fun to play, the character design is ok not the best and not the worst it would just have been a better game if they included co-op in story mode. So over all the game is fun and cool but the story isn't that good and there's no co-op.
    an 8 for me.
    Expand
  3. Jul 10, 2012
    7
    This is a cool game. Its major problem is the fact that many other games have done this before - and better. I could list dozens of games here; Gears of War being the most obvious, of course, but there's also Uncharted and the recent Binary Domain. It's the standard (and average) 3rd person shooter. From the reviews (both critics' and users') we have the (false) impression that Inversion is a bad game. It's not, trust me. It is a functional, fun, engaging game that will keep you hooked, specially with the whole gravity gimmick it involves. It's a shame that it's not as inspired as it could be - due to obvious lack of budget and production values. But unlike many other mediocre titles out there, this one really deserves a look. I had a lot of fun with it and, last time I checked, this is what games are all about. Collapse
  4. Sep 20, 2012
    6
    It's good, but it needs a little bit of chemistry when it comes to decent shooter games like Homefront. I felt that "Inversion" just can't touch SEGA's "Vanquish" or "Binary Domain." The gravity-shooting concept looks fun and all, but there's one problem: Is it worth it? Maybe, but Namco made a good but paltry decision to make this a "gravity-themed" shooter. Remember what happened to the "Splatterhouse" remake? That didn't quite fare well to the critics and fans because of the poor acting, gameplay, and the whole plot of the game. Well, I should rent the "Inversion" game, but I'll not be playing it for long. Expand
  5. Apr 7, 2013
    5
    Just finished it and i have to say that as a 3rd person shooter it delivers decent fun. But the rest unfortunately is not at the same level. The story is absolutely lame and uninteresting. The characters are totally forgetable and that affects the whole experience. The campaign is unbalanced alternating decent shooting with forced low gravity platforming that doesn't bring anything to the game. And the multiplayer has absolutely no community therefore is unexisting, i couldn't even try it! Decent shooter but immediatley fogotten. A missed shot. Expand
  6. Jul 19, 2012
    5
    I bought Inversion on a whim because it was cheap and I was bored. Overall, the game isn't awful, it's just a waste. Everything about it is boring and unoriginal. Expand
  7. Jun 28, 2013
    3
    This game is a boring slog. Too tedious for me to finish. The world spinning thing seemed like it might be cool but it doesn't really become interesting. The story takes it self way too seriously for being stupid. Binary Domain is a much better B grade third person shooter. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews