Jak and Daxter Collection PlayStation 3

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 186 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 186
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 19, 2012
    6
    Highly overrated. I did not play these games, back in the day, and decided to give them a chance (mostly because of the Naughty Dog pedigree involved - I'm a huge Uncharted fan and thought it would be nice to give these games a try). I must say I was fairly disapointed and really believe the Jak collection only got a HD revamp because of Uncharted's relevance. The games are Ok, but areHighly overrated. I did not play these games, back in the day, and decided to give them a chance (mostly because of the Naughty Dog pedigree involved - I'm a huge Uncharted fan and thought it would be nice to give these games a try). I must say I was fairly disapointed and really believe the Jak collection only got a HD revamp because of Uncharted's relevance. The games are Ok, but are far, far from being classics. I'm sorry I fell in the hype-trap and glad that, at least, this is not sold for the full retail price. These games are beautiful and occasionaly fun, but really dull. The Ratchet/Clank duo is a way better franchise. Expand
  2. Nov 19, 2013
    7
    Un juego entretenido, pero que si no te van este tipo de juegos te aburres con el tiempo Pros: Es divertido, entretenido como dije, esta doblado al castellano y la historia es buena. Contras: Gráficos nada del otro mundo, aveces es un poco pasable en ciertas zonas y puede volverse repetivo y aburrido. Lo recomiendo solo para amantes de este tipo de juegos, hoy en dia hay mejoresUn juego entretenido, pero que si no te van este tipo de juegos te aburres con el tiempo Pros: Es divertido, entretenido como dije, esta doblado al castellano y la historia es buena. Contras: Gráficos nada del otro mundo, aveces es un poco pasable en ciertas zonas y puede volverse repetivo y aburrido. Lo recomiendo solo para amantes de este tipo de juegos, hoy en dia hay mejores alternativas...los años pasan por todos. Expand
  3. May 1, 2015
    6
    These games are probably a bit dated, I guess. I tried both Jak 1 and Jak 3, but I was not really interested. There was something that drove me away in the first 2-3 hours in both games. I like the Ratched and Clank Future series, and I am rather disappointed here.
  4. May 15, 2013
    7
    Another HD port of a classic sony franchise, Jak and Daxter remind you of the good Old fashioned Gameplay of the PS2 era. The first game is more platform heavy than the others in the series meaning less focus on combat. Jak 2 adds a stack of new features including gunplay but its too ambitious as each gameplay component lacks polish. It tries things with story to but with a time-travelAnother HD port of a classic sony franchise, Jak and Daxter remind you of the good Old fashioned Gameplay of the PS2 era. The first game is more platform heavy than the others in the series meaning less focus on combat. Jak 2 adds a stack of new features including gunplay but its too ambitious as each gameplay component lacks polish. It tries things with story to but with a time-travel twist that was mainly to get to a new location, Haven City (think cartoony, futuristic GTA) its just not great. Jak 3 on the othe hand is what Jak 2 should have been with great gameplay that fixes the mistakes of 2. It looks good in HD thanks to timeless cartoony graphics. Worth a look if you didn't get them on PS2 Expand
  5. Jan 23, 2014
    5
    Seriously, the most overrated games since Super Mario 64 (which I detest). My first problem is that it's boring to play. Just really unappealing design, no memorable (and truly ugly) characters, a world that really doesn't come together or feel special. Further, the gameplay is rather boring. Collect orbs and power cells, really? Nothing more! The story is incredibly unmemorable, and justSeriously, the most overrated games since Super Mario 64 (which I detest). My first problem is that it's boring to play. Just really unappealing design, no memorable (and truly ugly) characters, a world that really doesn't come together or feel special. Further, the gameplay is rather boring. Collect orbs and power cells, really? Nothing more! The story is incredibly unmemorable, and just about nothing at all is fun. The camera is often a big problem, as it often was in PS2 games. Combined with below average controls (the double jump timing, specifically) it made me die many times too often, without it being my own fault really. Other than that, I've seen no bugs and it's a solid port with great framerate. But based on how much I enjoyed the game - 5/10. Really, really average. Expand
  6. May 24, 2015
    7
    This port serves as the best version of the Jak series at the moment with no noticeable issues. The games themselves aren't anything that amazing, but I would say Jak and Daxter and Jak 3 are good games that are worth your time. If you like platforming, driving, and don't mind aiming your body to shoot a gun, this is the game for you.
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Jul 30, 2012
    46
    The Jak and Daxter Trilogy doesn't hold up very well as a remastered version of the original games.
  2. May 7, 2012
    90
    Playing this collection on the big screen TV has left me wanting for more.
  3. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Apr 25, 2012
    90
    Three legendary platformers remade for the power of PlayStation 3 come in one box. They did not lose any of their appeal and its playability is still flawless. [Apr 2012]