Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 137 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Jak and Daxter Collection includes the dynamic duo's first three adventures: Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy, Jak II and Jak 3.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    94
    The Jak and Daxter Collection is probably going to be one of the easiest releases for me to recommend to everyone this year; definitely a great addition to any PS3 library.
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    90
    For just a bit over $13 a game you're getting the best version of three PS2 classics, each packed with tight platforming, great characters, hilarious dialogue, and a huge range of gameplay styles. And with the HD and 3D upgrades, these games have never looked better.
  3. 90
    This is an absolutely fantastic rerelease, and even though the games are marked by the passing of time, they are so versatile that they definitely deserve a revisit. If you have played these games before, you are in for a wonderfully nostalgic reunion, and if you haven't, now is the time to pick them up.
  4. Apr 3, 2012
    82
    When will developers learn that it's not cool to keep forcing us to shut down the entire game if we want to switch titles? Other than that – and maybe the often annoying camera – these are still the great platform games we've come to know and love, only prettier.
  5. Mar 15, 2012
    80
    Considering three games in a single package makes for a difficult reviewing process. Those who consider themselves fans of the previous games, but who missed an installment, or those who sold or lost the games ought to consider this collection closely. Similarly, gamers who enjoy 3D platformers will find something to love in these PlayStation 2 pillars of the genre.
  6. Feb 16, 2012
    80
    No series has been so willing to switch gameplay styles with such reckless abandon, and The Jak and Daxter Trilogy represents a shining example of what happens when a capable developer takes a huge risk. There's nothing else quite like it.
  7. Jul 30, 2012
    46
    The Jak and Daxter Trilogy doesn't hold up very well as a remastered version of the original games.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 45
  2. Negative: 1 out of 45
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    While the games themselves may be rather old, and some of the features quite dated, it is still a romp and is as great as it was roughly tenWhile the games themselves may be rather old, and some of the features quite dated, it is still a romp and is as great as it was roughly ten years ago. Fans of the series won't be disappointed, with all the new features including 3D, Trophies and much more. Also, new players will also get a blast out of it as they will be able to see what Naughty Dog used to do before Uncharted. One, if not the best Collection out there for the PS3. A must buy for any nostalgic gamer, or new ones looking for a thrill.
    Gameplay: 10
    Graphics: 8.5
    Sound: 9
    Presentation: 9.5
    OVERALL: 9.7/10
    Expand
  2. CNS
    Nov 15, 2013
    10
    This HD Collection of some of the PS2's best games still live up to today. in fact i would go as far as to say they are better than most gamesThis HD Collection of some of the PS2's best games still live up to today. in fact i would go as far as to say they are better than most games this generation. with Jak and Daxter's awesome story line, 3D Platforming, Humor, and collectibles this makes this one of the best values you can buy. Expand
  3. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    it was a great collection the games are from when i was young and i loved them. the game had a wonderful story line and made a lot of sense toit was a great collection the games are from when i was young and i loved them. the game had a wonderful story line and made a lot of sense to me the non stop fighting and action packed sense made it fun Expand
  4. May 17, 2012
    9
    Was very excited about this series getting an HD release. I never did keep my PS2 but did keep my games due to the backwards compatibility ofWas very excited about this series getting an HD release. I never did keep my PS2 but did keep my games due to the backwards compatibility of the PS3. However, my version only has an emulator which can make some of the games not run properly, IE: Jak & Daxter. Back in the day I loved these games so for sure I was getting them for the HD release. Though graphically part 1 isn't as sharp as 2 or 3, its still the better game IMO. The first game is a true platformer; fun, exciting, balanced difficulty and even different endings based on how much you explored. The lip snycing for that time was incredible!! Parts 2 and 3 added more of the 3rd person shooter aspect to the game, still really well done, but changed the feel of the first game. Don't get me wrong, part 2 and 3 are still amazing, but part 1 gives you that fun classic platform that you expect from that genre. As an HD release, I'm happy. I didn't expect any additionals, videos, pictures, etc. I just expected to be able to experience the 3 Jak games, (in widescreen), all over again. And thats what I got. Expand
  5. Nov 1, 2013
    9
    The Jak and Daxter HD Collection brings back the classic Jak and Daxter feeling in HD. This is just nostalgia all over again. I really loveThe Jak and Daxter HD Collection brings back the classic Jak and Daxter feeling in HD. This is just nostalgia all over again. I really love the triology (especially The Precursor Legacy) and I still play for hours of these games today. I give this a 9/10 because there are some glitches and bugs in this game. Expand
  6. Feb 9, 2012
    8
    Jak and Daxter are back on the playstation in their new HD collection. some of the greatest platforming gaming you can get and the stories areJak and Daxter are back on the playstation in their new HD collection. some of the greatest platforming gaming you can get and the stories are great and the dialogue is still funny. Its nice to have all 3 games on one disk and trophy support, but i cant tell their in HD unless i had a side by side. Definitely pick this up if you haven't played the ps2 games or if your feeling nostalgic, the games still hold up today Expand
  7. Apr 7, 2013
    3
    Jak 2 is literally the single worst game I have ever had the displeasure of playing in over 25 years of gaming. And I've played Superman 64.Jak 2 is literally the single worst game I have ever had the displeasure of playing in over 25 years of gaming. And I've played Superman 64. Poor camera controls, plot that takes itself too seriously, mandatory vehicle sections (and those controls are about as responsive as a tank), and tedious missions totally ruin this game. Only reason it gets a 3 instead of a 1 is because the first game is good. Expand

See all 45 User Reviews

Trailers