Jak and Daxter Collection PlayStation 3

Jak and Daxter Collection Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 192 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Jak and Daxter Collection includes the dynamic duo's first three adventures: Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy, Jak II and Jak 3.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Jax and Daxter Trilogy HD Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    94
    The Jak and Daxter Collection is probably going to be one of the easiest releases for me to recommend to everyone this year; definitely a great addition to any PS3 library.
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    90
    For just a bit over $13 a game you're getting the best version of three PS2 classics, each packed with tight platforming, great characters, hilarious dialogue, and a huge range of gameplay styles. And with the HD and 3D upgrades, these games have never looked better.
  3. 90
    This is an absolutely fantastic rerelease, and even though the games are marked by the passing of time, they are so versatile that they definitely deserve a revisit. If you have played these games before, you are in for a wonderfully nostalgic reunion, and if you haven't, now is the time to pick them up.
  4. Apr 3, 2012
    82
    When will developers learn that it's not cool to keep forcing us to shut down the entire game if we want to switch titles? Other than that – and maybe the often annoying camera – these are still the great platform games we've come to know and love, only prettier.
  5. Mar 15, 2012
    80
    Considering three games in a single package makes for a difficult reviewing process. Those who consider themselves fans of the previous games, but who missed an installment, or those who sold or lost the games ought to consider this collection closely. Similarly, gamers who enjoy 3D platformers will find something to love in these PlayStation 2 pillars of the genre.
  6. Feb 16, 2012
    80
    No series has been so willing to switch gameplay styles with such reckless abandon, and The Jak and Daxter Trilogy represents a shining example of what happens when a capable developer takes a huge risk. There's nothing else quite like it.
  7. Jul 30, 2012
    46
    The Jak and Daxter Trilogy doesn't hold up very well as a remastered version of the original games.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 50
  2. Negative: 1 out of 50
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    While the games themselves may be rather old, and some of the features quite dated, it is still a romp and is as great as it was roughly tenWhile the games themselves may be rather old, and some of the features quite dated, it is still a romp and is as great as it was roughly ten years ago. Fans of the series won't be disappointed, with all the new features including 3D, Trophies and much more. Also, new players will also get a blast out of it as they will be able to see what Naughty Dog used to do before Uncharted. One, if not the best Collection out there for the PS3. A must buy for any nostalgic gamer, or new ones looking for a thrill.
    Gameplay: 10
    Graphics: 8.5
    Sound: 9
    Presentation: 9.5
    OVERALL: 9.7/10
    Collapse
  2. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    Ah my sweet Childhood game series on ps3 I really missed playing these since my ps2 games were scratched up (not by me) I had great memoriesAh my sweet Childhood game series on ps3 I really missed playing these since my ps2 games were scratched up (not by me) I had great memories playing these 3 games, the HD collection graphics are amazing and hardly any bugs it was worth every penny. Expand
  3. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    I will always love this series. This is my childhood remastered in HD, For the 20 dollars i spent it was a steal to play these three amazingI will always love this series. This is my childhood remastered in HD, For the 20 dollars i spent it was a steal to play these three amazing games. I can't say anything else but play these games you will not regret it. Expand
  4. May 17, 2012
    9
    Was very excited about this series getting an HD release. I never did keep my PS2 but did keep my games due to the backwards compatibility ofWas very excited about this series getting an HD release. I never did keep my PS2 but did keep my games due to the backwards compatibility of the PS3. However, my version only has an emulator which can make some of the games not run properly, IE: Jak & Daxter. Back in the day I loved these games so for sure I was getting them for the HD release. Though graphically part 1 isn't as sharp as 2 or 3, its still the better game IMO. The first game is a true platformer; fun, exciting, balanced difficulty and even different endings based on how much you explored. The lip snycing for that time was incredible!! Parts 2 and 3 added more of the 3rd person shooter aspect to the game, still really well done, but changed the feel of the first game. Don't get me wrong, part 2 and 3 are still amazing, but part 1 gives you that fun classic platform that you expect from that genre. As an HD release, I'm happy. I didn't expect any additionals, videos, pictures, etc. I just expected to be able to experience the 3 Jak games, (in widescreen), all over again. And thats what I got. Expand
  5. Jan 8, 2014
    9
    This trilogy not only shoves nostalgia down the throats of people who played it on the PS2, but it also does so in amazing 60 FPS and HDThis trilogy not only shoves nostalgia down the throats of people who played it on the PS2, but it also does so in amazing 60 FPS and HD Graphics. Although the FPS is dropped to 30 if you play the game in 3-D, this does not take away from the beautiful experience that you shall encounter playing these Classics.

    The controllers have not been altered in any way, but the game feels more tighter in control to my understanding. This may be because of the 60 FPS that the game has. The trophies of these 3 games are also relatively easy to get, so it appeals to the trophy hunter within people.

    To sum it all up, if you never played this game when you had a PS2, I recommend getting this game right now because of how much you get for your money's worth.
    Expand
  6. Mar 12, 2015
    8
    A good series that obviously has the bang for the buck being three complete games and all. A quick summary of each game.
    The original Jak and
    A good series that obviously has the bang for the buck being three complete games and all. A quick summary of each game.
    The original Jak and Daxter clearly shows its age in both the gameplay and graphics department, nonethless I enjoyed it for more of the emphasis on unique platforming over the action in this game. 8/10
    I felt like Jak 2 was by far the best of the series, it was pretty much an adolescent gta game for me, I actually loved traversing through the city and the characters/story/ great mix of platforming and action was very fun to me. The only downsides were probably the brutal difficulty, but if you can forgive that, then you will truly love this game, very fresh ideas and gameplay. 9/10
    Jak 3 to me was a big disappointment and a BIG meh for me. It just felt uninspired, including the characters/story.gameplay. Driving through the desert with the three cars were frustrating and felt broken. They used the same city as in Jak 2, and that was a disappointment. The difficulty spikes from copy and paste missions from prior jak and daxter's to annoying and unnecessarily hard. Light Jak was pretty much useless, and the gun additions were way too overpowered to the fact that I think I might've used Dark Jak less than five times the entire game. It's more of the same but honestly felt like an Jak 2 dlc. 6/10
    That being said, this trilogy is pretty good if you like some action mixed in with some platforming with some open world, but I must say jak 3 almost ruined this series for me. Overall I enjoyed this series, but just wished Jak 3 would've been better.
    Expand
  7. Apr 7, 2013
    3
    Jak 2 is literally the single worst game I have ever had the displeasure of playing in over 25 years of gaming. And I've played Superman 64.Jak 2 is literally the single worst game I have ever had the displeasure of playing in over 25 years of gaming. And I've played Superman 64. Poor camera controls, plot that takes itself too seriously, mandatory vehicle sections (and those controls are about as responsive as a tank), and tedious missions totally ruin this game. Only reason it gets a 3 instead of a 1 is because the first game is good. Expand

See all 50 User Reviews

Trailers