• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 13, 2012
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1077 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    ThatGameCompany wanted to delivery something supremely special, and they succeeded in doing that with Journey. The emotional depth of this game goes far beyond that of other contemporary titles. That being said, it is a short game, clocking in somewhere between one and a half to two hours. But packed into this short amount of time lies an experience no one should pass up. Mechanically speaking the game is flawless. For your abilities, you will be honing the ones you do have, and improving them. The moments when you are seamlesslty flying through the air, or riding a sand dune are the parts of the game that are brilliantly executed. It feels so easy, and gives way for the player to truly enjoy themselves. In terms of the game design, beautiful set pieces and changing environments explain the games story without any words needed. There is no dialogue in this game, but it works into the philosophy of ThatGameCompany's idea of Game design and works well with the game. There was no point during journey I was expecting dialogue, and I think it would have taken away from the sense of mystery that shrouds the game, and the journey you are embarking on. You start off not knowing what is going on, but by the end, you will definitely have some ideas. The music and tones used for the game are perfect as well. While you cannot speak, you have the ability to "call out", so to speak, and have another player roaming the world see your call from a distance. Another thing about this game is, there are no lobbies, or being able to play with any friend you want. You will simply be a lonely wanderer, until you see another in the distance, calling to you. You can either journey together, or alone. You will meet many people throughout different levels, and at the end you can know the names of those you've played with, but thats the extent of it. You cannot play the game with whoever you choose, the game does not allow it. INstead, a true bond is formed between the two partners, the two strangers. Overall, journey isn't a game for those who don't want a transcendental experience, because thats what this is. Journey isn't for those who want something less, it is for those who want something more. Expand
  2. Mar 16, 2012
    3
    I really thought I was going to experience something new based on the reviews I read here. I think the reviews were actually written by the team who developed this game! This game is unfinished and feels like a very early alpha rough sketch. I really think this game would have been better off as a .99 cent download for a smartphone or iPad. There is nothing in this journey that is memorable and before you know the journey ends. The idea has a lot of potential but falls far short of the promise and final game play. Also, you do encounter others briefly but you have very limited interaction which again feels like they came up with a cool idea and just abandoned it, it could have been so much more then what the final product is like. I really wish this game had more to offer but just like the desert landscapes you will find very little content, what you see is what you get. Nothing more. I applaud your effort to create something new but next time don't rush to deliver an unfinished product and really focus on the game play. Expand
  3. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    OMG my first review on metacritic! I must work for the company or be part of some conspiracy to sell the game! Before my review I'd also like to point out every positive review has one downvote, so someone is just going through and downvoting all of the positive reviews. Talk about trolling.

    Now onto my review. Having played thatgamecompany's other titles on PS3, fl0w and flower, I
    immediately knew what to expect coming into Journey. The games they create are not meant to be played like your typical game. You are not told to do anything, rather you are left to figure things out entirely on your own, this gives the player a much greater sense of immersion imo. All the poor reviews of this title were written by people that I can tell entered this game with a narrow mind and expect certain things out of a game or else it is completely dismissed (ie. HUD, dialogue, objectives, points, etc..). Journey does away with all these typical gaming conventions and I can imagine it to be jarring to some, and that's not necessarily a bad thing, this just isn't your kind of game. For those of you that can completely lose yourself in a games world though you are in for a treat :) Expand
  4. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    Atmosphere, immersion, and enchanting music. You will get goosebumps the whole way through, and see the sparkling desert in your dreams. This game is a work of art, well worth an evening and then some.
  5. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    For those of us who enjoy rich experiences filled with color, beauty, sound, emotion, and companionship...then you my friend can join in on the uplifting experience known a Journey. Connecting you through musical notes in a vast unforgiving world with a random stranger is not only powerful and compelling...but a must. Do. NOT. Play. This. Game. Alone. The magic is finding a traveler to journey with. Short or not, this you can't miss... Expand
  6. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    Journey is a wonderful experience. Nothing I write can justify the kind of feeling I have after finishing it. Somehow, someway the game affected me in more ways that I could imagine. This game makes me want to run to my loved ones and tell them how precious they are to me and thank them for sharing their life journeys with me
  7. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    An amazing game, definitely deserves the praise that it has gotten and will continue to get. Don't be put off by some of the negative reviews. This game is worth every cent of the price of admission. I will agree that the game may be "short" by industry standards, but It felt just right for the content. Add to that the fact that the replay value for this game is very high (several of the trophies actually encourage you to play several times) and you can easily put 20 hours into this game. Expand
  8. Aug 9, 2012
    3
    the gameplay is just not satisfying enough, and the multiplayer element, (where you see another player with no gamertag or identification) while a cool concept, is utterly strange and not used to it's potential
  9. May 10, 2013
    10
    This is without a doubt, one of the best game I've ever played. The audio is amazing, visuals are stunning, and gameplay is almost flawless. The fact that they tell an entire story without using a single word in the actual game is amazing. Definitely needs to be on your To-Play list if you haven't checked it out already.
  10. Apr 3, 2012
    6
    Way too short to justify its price, and I certainly would have given it a higher score if it had just been cheaper. Instead, it's hard to escape the feeling I was ripped off. Still, the game is engaging and original, giving the player an immersive environment in which to explore and come up with their own narrative as to what's going on exactly. And figuring out logic and physics of the game world is a lot of fun the first couple time you play it. Expand
  11. May 23, 2012
    6
    Welcome to Journey, the next world religion if you read some of these reviews. I give it marks for some heart and successfully putting a concept on display. But that's all it is, a $15 demo that gives us all an idea of the fresh direction video games could go in the future. If it were anything more, the developers would have charged more. Simple as that. In and of itself, however, this game isn't really a game. It's like watching a movie with a joystick. You're fooled into thinking it's not absolutely linear because your dude can jump around and climb hills to see views of, uh, more emptiness. It doesn't require skill, the music provides all the emotion, and there is more danger lurking in the first level of Super Mario Brothers than in this entire game. I mean, even Luigi jumping on a flagpole thinks Journey is too easy. The game is a "yeah life is hard, but it's worth it/have hope/enjoy the journey/etc." symbol. So if you just broke up with a significant other or your parents got divorced or whatever, you're going read way too much into this thing and be like, "Yeah, that's me, pushing against the cold wind, hiding from monsters. That is SO just like my life." Well, guess what. That's everyone's life. Way less replay value than people claim. One and done. Heartwarming. Momentarily fun. Innovative. Whimsical. Boring. Nice. Beautiful. Short. Intriguing. Overrated. Save yourself the money and just watch someone else play it on YouTube. Don't tell me you need to personally be the one holding the stick forward for two hours to get what this game is about. Expand
  12. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    Just as Journey does not need any words or dialog to convey your emotions, reviews cannot explain it in mere words. To make this short(like the game), this is one of the most emotional and touching games I have had the pleasure to play. It's a game anyone, even non-gamers, can play and fall in love with. It will hold you untill the very end, and as the credits roll you will realise that you have just played one of the best games of the generation, or probably of all time. Do play this game. Our industry needs more games like this and the developers deserve all the credits we can give them. Expand
  13. Apr 4, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am not going to make a lot of friends with this one but here we go. To me this just isn't worth $15 dollars. I played it once and two of my friends played it once. I would guess we got a total of 3 hours of gameplay out of it and I will most likely never touch it again. Is the music great and touching, yes. Are the graphics beautiful and moving, yes. But I don't understand how you put an orchestral soundtrack running in the background of your game and everyone thinks the story is deep and meaningful (I am looking at your Halo), when the truth is, It isn't. It's about life, it's about death, it's about rebirth. No, it's actually about how if against all logic you decide to chase a shiny object on a hill and believe that it might be a good idea to walk 5 miles in the snow only wearing a burka (which is clearly made for the desert, and misogyny) everything will be ok because the tall white gods in the sky will take you to heaven where you and any idiot that followed you will be burned to death in a golden glowing light. You can say I just didn't get it, but my guess is you didn't get it either and you decided to find meaning in your misunderstanding. I am not saying this game is crap. It is a beautiful piece of interactive art but I want all the people giving this game 10's to ask themselves if Journey is really what the pinnacle of game is. Or if they are just so jaded that a game essentially has to trick them like the emperor and is new clothes that they are the only one who doesn't get it. Expand
  14. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    Think Portal. I could end my review there. Incredibly short? Yes. Worth it? Oh hell yes! As others have said, it's an experience tough to put into words. It's less a "game" than it is an "experience." And I feel that Journey (like Portal) contained more plot, more memorable moments, than most full-length games. If you're the kind of person who shys away at colors other than grey and brown, and cringe at the thought of any story outside of "blow the guy in front of you up" then by all means, skip this one. If you're sick of games that had little to no thought put into it outside of the engine, then this is definitely the game for you. Expand
  15. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    An amazing and beautiful game, and a breath of fresh air. The graphics are jaw-dropping and the ability of the game to tell a story with zero dialogue or text is similarly impressive. Words cannot really describe the emotions I felt as I finished the game. Go buy and play the game yourself. Unless you're a troglodyte, you'll be impressed.
  16. Mar 18, 2012
    9
    Very very good little game. The graphics are top class as is the music which adds some real emotion to the game. Some people could get put off by the lack of narration and clearly defined plot but for me it was a minor inconvenience. You could also argue that £10 is a bit much to pay for a game which lasts for about 45mins approx. Saying that because of how gripping the game was I expect to play it a couple more times at least.
    I also liked the online element, playing with someone added an extra layer to an already very enjoyable adventure.
    It's not going to be everyone's cup of tea but in my opinion Journey has been another excellent release from thatgamecompany and is highly recommended!
    Expand
  17. Feb 24, 2013
    1
    12,99 just to go for a walk for an hour? Graphics look good but everything else is just not there. How anyone can be so amazed about Journey is gonna stay a secret for me.
  18. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    This is easily one of the best interactive experiences crafted. Ever. While some might say it is too short, the game would not have been able to deliver the same emotional impact if it had been any longer. The experience design in this game is flawless, the levels are beautiful and the sound is immersive. Not playing this game would be a real shame.
  19. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    1 hour of gameplay that simply made me love video games even more. Who said video games couldn't be a work of art? True I just played 1 hour but I will definitely go back to play it for who knows how many more times. For those who have played: Limbo, Lost in Shadow and Flower and I don't know if for some but to me maybe a little to Shadow of the Colossus. You won't be dissapointed by this game.
  20. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    Journey could be, but won't be, the beginning of a new type of video game. Every HUD bar, stat number, and dialogue option is replaced by the raw emotions that the game will wring out of intelligent players. It's designed, down to the last grain of sand, to create senses of dread even though you can't die, experience even though you'll only play for two hours, and friendship even though you can only communicate with a whistle. The game's scenery provides the most obvious joys as it switches between golden deserts, kelp forest-like caves, and icy mountains. This is only the surface though, as Journey's most heartfelt joy comes form the multiplayer. Although many may not see it this way, the developers have crated the first troll-proof game. you can play with other humans online but you get no gamer tag, no twelve year old swearing in your ear, and no way to shoot you into the grim reaper's backyard Left 4 Dead style. Anyone who is not interested in bonding with another anonymous human being will simply not play or ignore your character. Journey's intent with multiplayer is clear and brilliant, especially when, at one point int the game, players sticking close to each other will be forced to walk down a narrowing crevice, which eventually turns their two silhouettes into one and symbolizes the new, simple, and strong friendship it has just created. Journey is a joy to all those who see their hearts as crackling fireplaces rather than diesel engines for military vehicles. Expand
  21. Mar 21, 2012
    6
    A good game at first. Strange visuals and a weird way to play. It's nice until you realize how short it is for such a demanding price. The graphics are plain, game play is tedious. The upside is it looks really good. Other than that, I wouldn't suggest its worth the price
  22. Apr 2, 2012
    5
    Journey is a pretty but shallow game. Right from the start you notice that Journey is completely linear and basically on-rails. The collectables make your scarf longer but ultimately aren't worth getting. The only reward you get for doing so are trophies; there's nothing in-game to make it worthwhile. The game was over before I knew it (under 2 hours), and because of the game's painfully short length, there was no time to form any kind of emotional relationship with other players. Replay value is extremely low, since the entire game follows the exact same path. There's no challenge either; the entire game is extremely easy. There's a couple puzzles here and there, but for most of the game you're just sitting there holding the control stick forward. If you're the type of person who likes games that are mildly interactive experiences emphasizing the visuals, then Journey will definitely be for you. Otherwise, you'll quickly find out that the constant high praise is completely unfounded and end up disappointed like me. Expand
  23. Apr 29, 2012
    6
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  24. Mar 18, 2012
    9
    Journey is a mastery of Avante Garde expression. It is short, and simple, but it is something I will never forget as long as Iâ
  25. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    This game is so beautiful, it may be short but at the end you feel like you lived an entire life - with its small triumphs, surprises and pains. I wasn't travelling in a typical "gameworld", it felt real - and at the same time beautiful dreamy (is that an English word - I am Dutch). I was really moved at the end. Pure art.
  26. Mar 29, 2012
    6
    Hugely disapointed and trying hard not to mark the score down to balance the overly high average. I was so looking forward to this game, and having played Flower, I knew what it was going to be about, atmosphere, slow pace, really nice visuals and good music. It is all of the above, but it is also, incredibly short (even at this price point), incredibly ridiculous gameplay in places (I mean, walk into wind, be blown back, walk into wind, repeat and rinse), but the worst crime of all is unfullfilled promise.

    All the way through Journey promises of a bigger puzzle by displaying hieroglyph type icons, it fools the player into thinking the mystery of these shapes and the artwork they display occasionally will have to be cracked, will have to be understood, into order to reveal the games true meanng, and allow the gamer to experience the end game - but no, these are merely momentary eye candy that have no influence on the gameplay at all.

    How much greater could this game have been, if the gamer had to pull together all the images displayed on their "Journey", and figure out some kind of puzzle in order to enjoy some final reward scene. But no, in Journey, you just have to walk, up a hill, into the wind.

    Very disapointed with this game, sadly.
    Expand
  27. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    A perfect 10 for Journey. This title is a testament to man's ability to create a piece of art to the highest of standards. There's not much I can say that hasn't already been said, nor would I choose to - because Journey simply needs to be played to experience what it offers. It sets the audiovisual standard in the gaming industry, and is the absolute highest calibre of what a developer can hope to create.
    thatgamecompany have set a standard which I can only hope their future projects can come close to meeting, I am very thankful I was able to play through their vision and I wish them the best of luck in the future! Journey is my 'Game of the Year' for 2012.
    Expand
  28. Mar 15, 2012
    6
    Journey takes less than an hour to complete. It's a worthwhile experience, but for $15 I expected a little more. I will say that this game has a soothing nature to it. It's got tense and bleak moments as well, and there's a sense of fulfillment when completing the game. The concept of multiplayer is interesting in Journey. You will get random people popping into your game (I had 8 total during my playthrough), and they can help you or just be all-around useless. I don't like how some trophies are highly dependent on who you get as a partner in your game, seeing that it's random. In any case, this is a decent game, but it left me wanting more. Expand
  29. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    Journey defines a beautiful game. It's a short game, designed to be played through in one sitting and then repeatedly played in order to give the player the feel of a different journey. The world in which Journey is based is so beautifully designed that you will find yourself stopping to look around and admire the scenery. One of the games core aspects is its take on multiplayer - another companion can join your journey at any time; you can travel together but communication is limited the a single action of emitting a whale-like call. Journey is a lovely little game, that anyone who appreciates ingenuity and art will enjoy. Expand
  30. Mar 25, 2012
    5
    Journey is great to look at, but not fun to play. All you get to do is walk and after you get passed the sand levels walking becomes annoying. It wouldn't be so bad if it was only five dollars, but there just isn't enough to do in this game to justify paying fifteen dollars for it.
  31. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    This game has clearly gone over the head of a lot of people. I'd rank this among the top 5 games I've ever played, and I'm basing this on two things. Sheer beauty and the feeling it leaves you with.

    The social tools at your disposal are as simplistic as they come, either through sound and a visual effect, or through movement. It works surprisingly well, as you're forced to boil the
    elements of the social networking into it's basic elements and improvise to get your meaning across.

    I met another traveler at the beginning of my story, and then lost him/her after getting into the dark caves, and I actually felt a strong sense of sadness at the loss of my newfound friend. That's without even saying a word, which is testament to the emotions this game sets in motion. I went for several levels without seeing the other traveler again (I met others, recognizable by their unique symbol, but it wasn't the same).

    Then, right before the end of the second to last mission, we found each other again, and we danced around for a little while, both ecstatic. We then proceeded to finish the game together, helping each other through the hardship, until finally reaching the end goal. I've never been this emotionally tied to a game before.

    Luckily, you get a little summary of the people you met during your travels, showing their PSN ID next to their unique symbol, and we both gained another friend that day.

    More than anything else, this game gives me hope in humanity, because after all is said and done, and all preconceptions are gone from the equation, we're all human after all.


    From the bottom of my heart, thank you, thatgamecompany! Thank you so much!
    Expand
  32. Mar 14, 2012
    6
    Brilliant visuals, perfect music, amazing gameplay.
    £10 for 1 hour of gameplay is way too much to ask though.
    I can get more fun and value out of a tenner in a red light district.
  33. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    Even though I think 15 dollars is a bit steep for this game it deserves nothing less than a 10. I have never felt so satisfied with a game, so intrigued with my surroundings. I'll never know the people who I met up with on my first playthrough but they helped me finish the game, we were just 2 people with a common goal. If you have a PS3 and 15 dollars to spare go ahead and pick it up, yeah it's only 2 hours max, but it's the most rich 2 hours of gameplay you can pick up on the PSN, Expand
  34. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Journey is the best example of how most simple of a game can be it opens up an endless amount of stories to be told and experience!
    I beg to differ on how someone said it's a short game well,the concept of journey is the meaning of life itself.
    The truth is life IS short but are you going to make it a good journey till' the end?
    The concept behind Journey cannot be beat you start off on
    the Journey of your life you meet people,some just comes and go some are there to guide you or helping get past all the obstacles in the end you know that you are never a loner.
    It's the game that cannot be describe by words just play it and if you feel warm deep inside after the credits roll you know it's QUITE a Journey. No numbers can properly rate this "game" just the way the meaning of life is,it cannot be measured!
    Expand
  35. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    A game like none other, anyone who hates it is obviously a short-attention spanned must be shooting stuff kind of player, or you just can't get the emotional depth to it. The graphics are immaculate and are arguably the best looking game on consoles. Same can be said from the music which is the best original score I've ever heard in a game period. Never have I been so hypnotised from a game ever or applauded the screen when it finished. Many complain about it's short length (only being a few hours) but for such a small amount of money you can't really complain about it. But trust me this is a game you would want to play more than once. Expand
  36. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    A masterpiece of game design, Journey combines a story and emotion-centric experience, that also delivers graphics, personality, and gameplay. The passive co-op, which sounded gimmicky to me when I first heard about it, adds an immeasurable amount to the game. This exemplifies games as art done well. While the game might be too short for some, I found the length perfect: this is a game that should be experienced in one sitting, with no interruptions, and the length allows you to do that. The story doesn't suffer from the shorter length either, and there is definite replayability. I highly recommend this to anyone. Expand
  37. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    Music / sound and presentation are spectacular. This is game is a piece of art. However it is way too short, it is around 3 hours maximum if you look in every corner. Having said that though I came on here for the first time to review this game because it deserves it. The way the game connects players online is great and it doesn't feel like someone messing up your game at any point.
  38. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    This game captures more joy and emotion in 2 hours than most games do in 20.
    It is artistically amazing in every single aspect of the word, and the subtle interactions with other players you meet can create a very emotional bond.
  39. Mar 21, 2012
    9
    Ever since Thatgamecompany made a big splash with 2009 Flower, the company made big plans with its follow up Journey. I found it hard at first to believe that Thatgamecompany could strike yet another emotional chord after doing so with Flower. However Thatgamecompany proved me wrong and I was not only convinced that they have successfully created another hit but they have created their best game to date.
    Journey places you in a beautiful world where the ambiguous character, the environments, and the goal created an ambiance that lifts the core theme of Journey to a climax throughout the whole game. If Flower was a poem within the industry, then Journey is more of an experience of loneliness. Everything from the music being on cue to the silence itself helped bring Journey to a different level. The lack of direction is also a fresh concept since many modern games tend to hold your hand now and days. So being left in the dark to figure out what to do is part of the experience. Out of all of these amazing features however there is one feature that claims itself to bring the most important factor of the game, the chance that you may encounter another wanderer.
    Within an industry that has only improved because of the inclusion of the internet. It is a little hard to adjust being alone. When signed into PSN however you may find yourself traveling with another as you both experience the world for the first time. With no way to actually communicate (other than a single button within the game) the idea of joining one another to reach the mountain is an emotional journey. After beating the game with a partner I can say that this gives Journey a whole new feel than beating it alone. Because the game was meant to give off the sense of being alone though I also suggest that you beat the game unplugged so that you have no chance to meet another person. Sounds a little harsh but the end result is an amazing one.
    I highly suggest that you get and play this game. I can easily say that there is now other game out there that does what Journey does. If youâ
    Expand
  40. May 23, 2012
    7
    With pleasant graphics and a stylish gameplay, Journey seems to be the last sensation in independent games. Honestly, it is a good game, and it will specially appeal the most "Japanese" players with its unique atmospheres, reminiscent of Shadow of the Colossus. So why does the game get only a 7 from an European like me ? In one word: depth. Apart of the graphics/music and atmosphere the game itself is quite simple and small, in fact the action takes place in small playing areas where physical enigmas will keep you busy.. for maximum two hours (yes, the whole gameplay takes a couple hours).
    Worth the money for its dream-like touch and the original approach to multiplayer (reduced interactivity with random-picked players) but not the life-changing experience some reviewers claim it is.
    Expand
  41. Jun 15, 2012
    8
    A short but ultimately very sweet PSN gaming experience. Awesome, full orchestral music pieces, amazing art direction, innovative mulitplayer action. A unique game that stands out from the endless sea of FPS shooters.
  42. Jul 20, 2012
    2
    Well, this was a dissapointing game. I mean, if you're into art games like thatgamecompany's previous games, "Flower" and "Flow", you'll love this. Otherwise, don't bother paying the outrageous price of 15.00 for this hour-long game. Also, while the art style and music make up the 2 points i am giving this game, i have to say that the gameplay is just not satisfying enough, and the multiplayer element, (where you see another player with no gamertag or identification) while a cool concept, is utterly strange and not used to it's potential. Overall, one of the most dissapointing games of the year. I quite enjoyed Flower, but this was just another overhyped game that as another reviewer said on here "seems like a religion". Collapse
  43. Nov 11, 2012
    1
    I went into journey by way of ps3 console which said u will be auto joined to a mini game. At least 20 tries at finding anything new to advance the progress of the game has failed. I am an avid gamer and not in the least dumb at solving puzzle games but this is ridiculously either the most impossible game to find answers to or it is made to be unsolved from the ps3 online direction. I see many avatars wandering around and obvioulsy doing the same thing and finding no answers. It wouldnt be so obtuse if I could interact with another player in any way. The game is either made to be unachieved or I am a moron looking for a clue that isnt there. If standing in a sandpit waiting and hoping something happens is the new game genre for ppl who may like the sights and waiting for anything to happen while sand blows up ur nose and music gets boring from lack of anything new, I must be actually a fool for going into the game so many times looking for a new clue. You have really made whatever experience we are supposed to find frustratingly sad. If I am supposed to buy the game and play it, that is one thing, but it is offered on the ps3 homesite for gameplay...Hello! there is no gameplay on it. It's a tease of some unknown proportion that has made me never want to go further or buy the game at all. If it's only a 2 hour game anyway, and there is a journey art book out for sale of this game, what is the point of ever continuing in this farce of a game? Yes, I may sound angry, it is true, and angry because you took a game i may have tried and made it into an art that is unplayable. Thank you for destroying my want for art from this game company, because if I could play it for the art, now I wouldnt bother... Expand
  44. May 10, 2012
    10
    It is all about experience. This game is absolutely breathtaking to play and probably the best downloadable game on the Playstation Network and one of the best games I have played on the Playstation 3. While only 2 hours in length, these two hours are one of the most reflective experiences you will ever have in any video game. The gameplay is extremely easy so anyone can play, the graphics are one of the best I have ever seen in a video game and in my opinion, might give Uncharted 3's graphics a run for its money and the online cooperative adds more emotional depth into the experience. Buy it, download it, experience it. Expand
  45. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Magical. Inspiring. Beautiful. This one has it all and more. I couldn't stop smiling while exploring the world of Journey. Be warned, though: as a side effect it made me go back and buy the other 2 games from this developer. :)
  46. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Journey is truly a work of art. The sounds, the images, the anonymity, the simplicity. This is more than a game. It allows the player to experience emotion in its purest and most primitive forms. It is proof that human nature is to unify. Journey cannot be missed. Every game with 3 too many iterations, every game that tacks on multiplayer to be "relevant," every game that rushes out to retail with too many glitches, every game with day 1 DLC, every "safe" game that doesn't meander from the tried and true, take note. Take many notes. Journey is what you should strive to be. Be humbled. Thank you thatgamecompany for Journey. Thank you Austin Wintory and co. for the intimate soundtrack. This is what gaming should be. Expand
  47. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I've spent 4 out of the last 5 nights playing this game. I'm just floored. That first time was magical as the "experience" people talk about, but on the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th run-through it occurred to me that aside form being an incredible experience, this is also a fun game. I went around until I found every single glyph, and now I've earned myself a white robe. Now I fly around helping others out. It's actually super fun on the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th run through as well. I mean, I don't see myself spending 50 hours playing this game like I did with Red Dead Redemption, or 100+ hours I've played in Uncharted multiplayer, but I most definitely don't agree with the people who say this game has little replay value. This is one of those games I'll definitely go back to on a lazy night time after time. Expand
  48. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Journey is the closest thing to meditation for gamers that has ever existed. It is stunningly beautiful and utterly enchanting from start to finish. Don't let the shortness put you off as this game delivers in emotion in its 2 hr span, more than any 10 hr + game that i have played.

    I cannot stress enough how good this game is. Starting alone as a nameless stranger with mere jumping and singing at your disposal, to sand surfing and flying and meeting fellow travelers (also nameless) on your quest to the mountain. Everything and anything this game does is something you simply must experience. Please stop reading this now and go and play Journey.
    Expand
  49. Jul 20, 2012
    10
    Journey is really beautiful, but if it was a solo experience I'd probably give it an 8. The people you meet along the way are what makes Journey really unique. Your mileage may vary depending on who you run across, but ideally you'll meet at least a couple people who know what they're doing and are willing to stay with you and help you out. When you have a partner, the game is a lot more meaningful, and it makes the times when you don't have a partner that much more emotional. The subtle communication via pinging lets you show a lot, from a large "over here!" burst, to a frantic "help help help help help help", to a simple "thanks for being with me". Expand
  50. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    How are you people beating this in an hour and a half?!? I'm confused by this. It took me four and a half hours to get through it the first time. I didn't even explore! I just went through the game! I never died. I never slowed down. I simply went through the game. Did I get a longer game or something? Regardless, I do love this game. I don't get the "emotional" aspect of it though...that critics seem to talk about. I honestly think they're just trying to be even more pretentious than all the other critics. It is a phenomenal game, however. Story? No. No story. Characters? Not really. There is no reason to care about your character, the people you meet online, or even about a plot. You are simply taking in the atmosphere and trying to work toward a goal. it is beautiful and, at times, awe-inspiring. Emotional though? No. That is Shadow of the Colossus, Heavy Rain, and Kingdom Hearts territory. Journey is simply an interactive piece of artwork, much like Linger in Shadows, but there is DEFINITELY more interaction in Journey. Flower still remains my favorite game by Thegamecompany, but Journey is never leaving my PS3. Would it kill them to give us a platinum trophy? Seriously... What the frick, guys? Also, can we get a 3D patch? This is a gorgeous game and 3D would really push it over the edge for me. The same goes for Flower. ;) Expand
  51. Mar 21, 2012
    7
    A simple but unique game. I enjoyed it and the sand tech is rather nice. The first time I saw another little person in my world it surprised me. I carefully watched them and wondered what they were doing, I didn't realize this game was drop in coop. Then that person left and many more came and went over the next 90 minutes. The best parts are probably sliding down through the sand and flowing with the wind along with jumping. I wish I could get attached to the game as others, perhaps the minimalistic (non interactive) aspect of the co-op and the simple direction sells itself? Truthfully I just wanted to slide down the huge mountain at the end :( Expand
  52. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    Journey is one of the most memorable games ever made. The goal of the game is very simple: you start at point A and work towards reaching point B. You will do some light platforming and puzzle solving along the way to unravel a mysterious story. The controls are equally simple as you move with the joystick and then use two action buttons, one to jump and the other to communicate. You will likely meet others along the way and this is where the game shows its true power as you learn to communicate and work with your ally (I won't say anymore-- it'll ruin the experience). It's really hard to describe Journey... it is an "artsy" game but one that I think everyone should try. Journey's minimalist concept, simple gameplay, beautiful visuals and tranquil soundtrack create an experience unlike any other. The short adventure, which only lasts about 2 hours, left me with many different thoughts and feelings... but it was an adventure I'll never forget. Expand
  53. Apr 2, 2012
    9
    Beautiful game. Still enjoy playing it after having finished it at least 8-9 times. Only fault is that for the significant delay in release date the amount of work put in doesnt seem justifiable. The world is not large enough with all of the exploring finished in a few hours and if set to finishing the game in one continuous session it would not take you more than 1 1/2 hours.
  54. Mar 24, 2012
    9
    A short, but tasty, meal of a game. This game differs so many from the ones around it, although something of this type and caliber is to be expected from thatgamecompany. The game works so well in its minimalist framework. You find yourself depending and supporting the other character in the game, forming an altruistic relationship with a stranger. It does become frustrating when the support is not mutual, which may be due to a lack of explanation of the controls and the capabilities of the character. Expand
  55. Nov 27, 2012
    9
    Beautiful game. Best played in one sitting, if you can do that. Otherwise, try to take fewer breaks. That's my only regret playing this game. I was interrupted too many times, which caused a disruption in the overall flow of the game.

    The most intriguing part, for me, was the use of light. I've never experienced a game where light could have such a positive effect. I became happy
    when seeing light and partnering to turn on more lights in this game. It was a very unique experience.

    Highly recommended.
    Expand
  56. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    In Gaming, there aren't many moments, too just seat, relax and feel apart of an world screaming for adventure. A World almost with no goals, just a path in front of us, that would take the gamers to places that they have never been in any other game or experience. This is Journey, a game that fulfill me so much that i just wanted to play over and over again. I never felt sad, happy, scared at the same time in a game. This was simply amazing. http://moodgamer.blogspot.pt/2012/03/analise-do-jogo-journey-ps3psn.html Expand
  57. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    This game is legendary and is the fastest top-selling game on the Playstation Network store. This is my favorite game of 2012. Thatgamecompany has done it again!
  58. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    Journey is an amazing experience. To ignore it's brilliance is to be ignorant, and to pass it up would be a shame. From start to finish, it was an amazingly engrossing experience that is absolutely wonderful. And despite the length, I've never become so quickly attached to a world or main character in my gaming career. It's simple; you must play this game.
  59. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    Journey.....oh dios mio Journey LEJOS lo mejor que he jugado en mucho pero mucho tiempo. Es para aplaudír a la pantalla.

    Mas que por su arte o su musica, es por como las utiliza para la experiencia.
    Eres tu quien esta haciendo la travesia, tu estas superando los obstaculos que se te presentan, y tu estas haciendote de un amigo sin siquiera hablar con el con palabras por la
    seguridad que te brinda viajar con el.
    TODOS DEBERIAN VIVIR ESTA EXPERIENCIA.
    Expand
  60. Apr 11, 2012
    8
    I didn't play Journey. I watched as my best friend played it. But I was simply captivated by this game. Four main reasons for why it's AWESOME: 1. It really feels unique, not just for the gameplay, but also for the setting and the plot; 2. Journey makes you think about thousand things, from ancient civilisations to cartoons you saw in your childhood, but also - why not? - even poses you metaphysical questions. 3. Graphics are stunning! 4. Multiplayer... my God, multiplayer in Journey is a masterpiece! Pinging with a stranger is probably more engaging and socializing (albeit in anonymous way) than many hours I spent in WoW and other "social" games... I give this game 8. I would give it 9 if not for the last part before the ending, which left me a bit disappointed because of being a bit too much arcade... It felt like Sonic or Rayman, not Journey... Expand
  61. Mar 29, 2012
    8
    Journey isn't so much a game (of course I shall continue to contradict myself henceforth by referring to it as a game) as it is an experience in the same vein as Dear Esther. But unlike Dear Esther, Journey is genuinely original and manages to offer just enough interactivity and narrative structure to not be categorised as just another boring artsy non-interactive slide-show. Journey is visually stunning, beautifully constructed and wonderfully compelling. The co-op gameplay adds depth and it's genuinely fun singing at people you meet. I don't want to be spoilerific so I won't go into anymore than that. Only drawbacks are a very short playtime (1-2 hours) and a few parts where the game drags a little - offering nothing visually exciting for minutes at a time in such a short game is kind of a pain. But overall definitely worth a look for anyone. Expand
  62. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    After playing Journey, I can safely say that it is a gaming success. It's minimal, but gives a nice feel to it. You can finish it in 2-3 hours, it delivers the sheer beauty by gameplay, you walk around the desert to reach a mountain, you obtain words to speak to your other person while playing online, the multiplayer is a perfect concept, you can play with 1 other player, it gives a mystery because you don't know who you are playing with and there is no chat boxes. The cost of the game in the GB is GBP 10, but overall, it is a really good game Expand
  63. Mar 24, 2012
    9
    I have no words for this game. It's an experience like no other. Egbert once said that it is impossible for video games to be "art." I disagreed with him then, but this is further proof he is mistaken.
  64. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    Journey is beautiful and involving. I didn't find it moving, but it is fascinating.

    I played online and had a companion for each chapter. I wasn't actually sure whether they were other players or a computer character, because they were integrated into the cut scenes too. It was thrilling.

    However for an experience this immersive it is over far too quickly. Less is more aesthetically, but
    I was still exploring after two hours, and was definitely not ready or expecting to have to wrap up so soon. A shame that in the end something so measured ends up feeling attenuated ... Regardless, the game is genuinely stunning, obviously made with love, and it tells a mythic story with a light hand, which I liked. I hope it's a success, as it suggests new directions for what's possible with setting and atmosphere in games. Expand
  65. Jul 1, 2012
    10
    Journey is one of the few games that transcend the medium and becomes something more. In the first few moments of the game I was waiting for the game to really hit me. I was waiting for it to justify all the great reviews. It happened during multiplayer. With no way of chatting I with another gamer you can see more clearly their character. Will they leave you or stay? Will they help you? The symbolism is off the charts. I am on a personal journey through life and so is this other individual. Our paths cross. Maybe, without knowing anything about each other, we can help each other? The journey can be a lonely one, but sometimes all it takes one person....Journey moved me. It moved me in a way that few movies ever have. It may not appeal to the 12 year old Call of Duty junkies (I love CoD btw), but to those of us who have experienced a few things Journey will resonate deeply. A 10 is a huge score, and I was tempted to knock it down to a 9 because the game is so short, but Journey is so much more than a game. Because this dev decided to reach for something more, something greater, and they NAILED IT, I give it a 10. Expand
  66. Apr 7, 2012
    9
    Cons: only one - the price. The game is too short to charge 15 dollars. Games that cost say 60 dollars can last for hundreds of hours of gameplay. This game only lasts a few hours. Maybe 10 bucks would be the top end for value. Pros: the aesthetics alone make this top notch. It is so beautiful to look at and to play and the feeling of playing matches perfectly the look...smooth, fun, clever. I wish the makers would start turning out more games like this, Flower along with this game are wonderful, but more product please. Expand
  67. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    This is truly one of the most beautiful game I have ever played, there was so much emotion without any dialogue making the experience that much more pure. This game is very spiritual in the way it will make you feel by playing. Some may argue about the length of the game, while I agree the game is very short for 15 dollars, it is an experience that you can enjoy over and over. One buying this game shouldn't considering it just purchasing a game, its a piece of art. The way i look at it is we generally will easily pay $10 + to see a movie at the theatre and with that comes a lot of advertisements and you only get that experience once. For the price of this game you can get an experience that would rival any movie, there are no advertisements what so ever and you can enjoy it over and over. If all you like to do in games is kill and blow things up; then pass on this game, if however you play games for the deep experience and interactive storytelling and care more than just your kill count this game is a must buy. It is an experience like no other and truly shows the potential games can be. I feel just as comfortable playing this game by myself or my friends as well as when i'm with my priest. A piece of art that everyone can truly enjoy. Expand
  68. Mar 29, 2012
    9
    Journey is a short, short game, yes. It costs $15 for less than two hours of your time--also yes. With this in mind, I have spent more on movie blu-rays and have never been so moved as I was when I finished Journey. Let me be clear: I wept. I -wept- at the end. Getting me to cry is NO easy task; I am a frigid and unpleasant cynic. And yet... I was so awed by Journey's music, its spectacle, its vague and profound message of light, warmth, and companionship... There is no dialogue in the game, none at all, and it achieves the same powerful result. For me, at least. Obviously, there will be people expecting some kind of mechanical platforming puzzle from Journey, and I suppose that's fair. It -is- a *game* for the PS3. However... if you have a soul, then you're likely to find something much deeper here. Expand
  69. Mar 21, 2012
    9
    What an incredible piece of art. The visuals were simply beautiful and so was the music. Rarely does a game comes so close to perfection. I was moved by the beauty and minimalism of the the game but even more so by the companionship and shared experience I had with the other character in the game. Communication and cooperation came so naturally that it was if we had know each other for years. This will be one of those games that people will look back on twenty years from now and mention with fondness. Expand
  70. Mar 21, 2012
    9
    I bought Journey on impulse after hearing all the buzz and praise it was receiving, and it's safe to say it did not disappoint! Journey is a short and exhilarating breath of fresh air to the gaming world. Throughout your 3 hour long adventure you'll be met with some of the most exquisite graphics and pulchritudinous landscapes you've every seen in a video game. Not to mention the seemingly flawless online play, in which you are connected to other travellers at random and can traverse the landscapes as a duo. No names, no microphones, just co-operative gameplay as it should be. The controls are as fluid and smooth as the game, using only 4 buttons throughout which makes it easy to pick up and play as and when you please. So in summary, Journey is an incredibly enjoyable gaming experience and should not be missed, but it now! Expand
  71. Apr 22, 2012
    10
    Journey is a one-of-a-kind game, as you venture through with strangers, and no communicating whatsoever, except the chirping you have. So far, this is my top 2012 game pick.
  72. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    The art style, music and gameplay are excellent, the atmosphere that journey evokes is so detailed and varied as to remain memorable for a far greater time than many longer games of this generation. Much like the player character, journey sets out with one goal in mind and performs excellently. This is what interactive storytelling should be, a testament to what can be achieved without words or writing. Expand
  73. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    The most amazing experience I have had gaming in a long while. Basically -- the best way to go into this game is knowing nothing about it whatsoever, and if you have a ps3, you must buy it.
  74. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    Never have I played a game that could reach a spiritual level like this game did. The game borrowed inspiration from Ico and Shadow of the Colossus in it's ambiance and large scale--probably even surpassing the mighty giant. Journey was an amazing experience, and should be played through by anyone who's ever asked themselves about their take on the meaning of life and death and their own existence. The game is very much a parable to life, told in a very abstract way--accompanied with: great music, great visual style, great epic scope, amazing sand and snow details coupled with gusting wind climates that only elevate the experience of your hardships trudging up the steep slope of a mountain--good job all around from That Game Company. While it can be debated whether this is a real game, there is no doubt that the player will experience an emotional elation beyond any game they've played when they reach the end of their Journey. Expand
  75. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    I was blown away by this game. Didn't realize that it was technically a multiplayer game and that I was not alone on my quest. Wow, beautiful and stunning. Simple yet challenging gameplay too.
  76. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    Journey is one of the most beautiful games I have ever played. Highly recommended for it's simplistic yet creative art style. They manage to tell the history of an entire people without a single word.
  77. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    Ever since the beautiful work of art, Flower, I have been hooked on thatgamecompany's wonderful work. I was at first skeptical and unsure if Journey would even compare to it't predecessor. But, I found myself pleasantly surprised. Not only did Journey take me beyond what Flower accomplished, it took me well beyond anything that I have expected. I found myself in awe at how powerful Journey is. If you own a PS3, you must buy this, it is by far the best game that I have played to date. Expand
  78. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    I think Journey is an incredible game. It truly engages the player from start to finish and leaves you breathless with satisfaction and understanding. Journey represents the direction we are moving when it comes to games as artistic expression, and I could not be more happy. If you have not, buy this game now. It is definitely worth your time and money.
  79. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    I, for one, am very happy there still are developers willing to take risks and create something unique, instead than a clone of whatever is selling best at the moment, and Journey is exactly this: unique.
    Journey (like the title implies) it's not really a game but more of an experience and a very pleasant one.
    If you start playing it expecting to run around, shoot things or do whatever you
    usually do in other games, you'll be very, very disappointed.
    On the contrary, if you free your mind, play it with the right mindset, you'll be rewarded with an experience very few games can provide nowadays.
    Everything, within this game, is beautifully crafted: the art, the metaphor which is the story, the music, the pace. Yes, it is short (a couple of hours, if you wander a bit) but trust me: you'll want to play it again, just to get absorbed in its beatiful world.
    Expand
  80. Mar 30, 2012
    9
    Journey isn't too much of a game rather than an amazing artistic experience. While playing through I stumbled upon a random traveler and together we completed the game. You get a sense of feeling for the "nobody". I had a few buddies over while I was playing the game and after I had completed it they went home and purchased the game for themselves. The game is short but a lot of fun. With very little games like this out in the world it is a definite recommendation. Expand
  81. Dec 11, 2012
    8
    I truly wanted to love journey, and wished it was going to be the best game ever, but in the end although it was beautiful and had amazing graphics, it was an experience not much of a game, and a short one at that. I wish it was a bit longer, but that is the nature of things. still worth trying I enjoyed it, but couldn't help be disappointed by the length. Which is the main reason i haven't played the unfinished swan. Expand
  82. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    Even though it is a really short game, the experience was incredibly amazing. The graphics are stunning, with impressive vistas and the most realistic sand i've ever seen in a video game. The game is really simple, and that it's why it is such a joy to play. The multiplayer element is brilliant and functions perfectly, not to mention the incredible soundtrack, that fits perfectly with every section of the game. This game is so good that after i finished it I had to keep myself from starting another playthrough simply because it was already 03am. If it had been in the middle of the afternoon, I would have played two playthroughs back to back. Yeah, this is that good. Game of the year for me. Expand
  83. Apr 4, 2012
    9
    I never played Flower, but I may just have to after seeing just how well designed this game was. I just finished Journey in one sitting and I'm about to start my second playthrough. It is quite short, but that is sort of the point and I wonder if it would ruin the experience if it was longer. The game has a very minimalistic approach to its storyline that is defined by the environment rather than dialogue, much like Shadow of the Colossus. The music's absolutely incredible. I recommend the game to everyone, particularly if you can find it on sale for $10 or less. I don't know if it'll be my favorite game at the end of the year, but I guarantee that it'll be on the list. I have no doubt whatsoever that this will be the best downloadable title you play all year, and perhaps this decade. Expand
  84. Apr 10, 2012
    10
    I made an account here just to review this game. I have never been so emotionally invested in any game I've ever played, there isn't any way I can describe it. Honestly if you own a PS3 then this game is a must have. Just go buy it now.
  85. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    If there is something that transcends the definition of game that something is Journey.
    Call the Journey game is something wrong simply because he surpasses himself.
    Getting something so incredible for a game downloaded itself deserves 10, but I would not be disappointed if this game was physical, thus give you a nice round 10.
  86. Apr 22, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Instead of explaining why the game is good like many others have already done, I am actually going to talk about one of my gaming experience with Journey. I believe the real success of this game is based upon YOUR interaction with it, instead of relying so heavily on the game telling you what to do. The game is linear in a way, but with the experience of your Journey being different each time, the replayability of this game is staggering.

    I knew that this game was beautiful the moment I took my first step. The sand is so detailed, and every step you make causes a little "splash"; like water. After walking up a large dune and experiencing an incredible piece of cinematography, I slid down the other side, shamefully letting out a little "weeeeeee!" noise going down. I then noticed a twinkle in the distance, a little beacon that screamed "Come Here!" at me. So I followed it, and found out the twinkling ball of light is, in essence, a power-up, giving you a piece of scarf, which allows you to jump (and float). I then noticed a little bit of rubble in the distance, although it was a bit of a detour to where I needed to go,.But, I wanted to explore it and see what was there. I did, and found a strange wall that resonated with my cloth. I then used my "Voice" and let out a big chime, which made strange hieroglyphs on the wall. This was the story of the game, and, in the first 5 minutes of Journey I learnt all that is needed to get me to the end; shining symbols give you more cloth and bigger jumps, using your chiming voice will resonate with various objects, and walking off the beaten path will result in little bonuses that improve the story. From there I was away.

    It didn't take long before I was blessed with a companion. A little figure in the distance, almost skipping along the sand. I let out a huge chime to tell them I was here, and it worked. They stopped and turned around, and waited for me to join them. A little chirp of our voices was made to greet each other, and we were away. I Could feel that they were playing it for the first time, and they probably knew I was the same, as we were generally very cagey when it came to moving forward, especially in the caves. Unfortunately, my companion was attacked, I ran back to help them, and steered them into a little hovel that was safe. Once they felt safe enough to continue, we did so. I could feel that they were a little shaken up by the whole event as they stayed fairly close to me and followed my trail. In the end my companion and I made a decent team, we would keep relatively near each other to avoid separation and pace our chimes together so that we could constantly fly.

    All went well, that is until the mountain climb. The freezing temperature causes your material to become stiff, and the harshness of the wind drains your energy, which causes your movement to become slow and stifled. We stood close together, the warmth of each others body makes a little breathing room, and allows for a little bit of fluidity in your cloth. But, we were again attacked by those flying behemoths, except this time, I was the victim. I was knocked on the floor unconscious and the distance between us was great. But then they left. They didn't return for me, or even wait for my return. I was shocked, almost heartbroken with what just happened. I didn't move, I just stayed on the floor. As the blizzard raged, and started to envelope me in snow, Another companion walked by. I let a very weak chime out of my lifeless body, and they noticed. They walked up and touched me. The warmth gave me energy; enough for me to stand, and I did. We then walked the rest of the journey together, keeping very close. And sure enough we reached the "end" together.

    After the credits, and finding out who it was who saved me, I messaged them, almost as a way of saying thank you. They replied back; in Japanese. Wow. Even though I wasn't playing the game anymore, the whole idea of this good Samaritan, a stranger from another land who, if we talked in real life would never be able to understand each other, was responsible for saving me was just an incredible feeling.

    That is what Journey is all about.
    Expand
  87. Apr 22, 2012
    9
    As authors said: this is not a game, it's an "experience". After completing it many times I can fully agree with this statement. The Journey is an artistic masterpiecie designed to move these tiny rusty gears which remain unused for most of the time inside our hearts. It brings out an unique feeling of longing for the Light: whatever the Light is...
  88. Apr 24, 2012
    10
    I can't say that everyone will love this game but I think everyone should at least give it a chance. Not everyone is into conceptual games, and I can respect that.. but I think as far as conceptual games go, this game is just about as good as it gets. It's short, so your not investing a huge amount of time into it and you also enjoy every second of it. (In lots of other games, you find them going to long and you just playing so you can get to the end, you don't find that in this game). Its beautiful both visually and audibly and is just fun and enjoyable to play though. If you've ever considered trying a conceptual "experience" game.. I would definitely suggest this is a great choice! 10/10 Expand
  89. Apr 27, 2012
    10
    Resumindo minha experiência neste jogo... de tão relaxante me encontrei dormindo no meio da jornada e quando despertei estava sentado, não sei ao certo na espera de algo ou de alguem, apenas adormeci e despertei, como poderia ter feito até o final... porem após o despertar veio a necessidade de termina-lo pois este breve intervalo me serviu apenas ter a certeza que precisava termina-lo e terminei... não sei ao certo se jogarei de novo pois tambem não sei se minha jornada realmente chegou ao fim! To summarize my experience in this game ... so relaxing I found asleep in the middle of the day and when I awoke was sitting, I'm not sure waiting for something or someone, justfell asleep and awoke, as he could have until the end ... however after awakening came the need to finish it for this brief period I served only to make sure that needed to finish itand ended ... I'm not sure if it'll play again also does not really know if my journey is over!

    *sorry! translation by google
    Expand
  90. May 2, 2012
    10
    Journey is a short game.But after beating the game , I can feel something different about the game.
    Special multiplayer experience make me feel like i am a wanderer , running and walking just to reach my destination.Graphic is one of the best and the price is cheap. Best downloable game ever !!!
  91. Jun 6, 2012
    10
    I look at all the big franchises of gaming that have millions dropped on their development, many years in the making , and hyped to no end. And then I look at Journey, which isn't a big budget game nor is it a pretentious and small indie game. It's a short game, yet if it was longer then two hours it probably wouldn't have exactly the same impact. Rarely there are games like Journey, if at all, and for more then one reason. Real beauty and art in videogames is something rather rare. There are "those" games that people always mention when there's talk of videogame art, for example: Okami, shadow of the colossus/ico, el shaddai and such. Journey, the short non-big budget game somehow manages to surpass almost all of these popular and familiar games. It's everything; the music, the beautiful landscapes and animations, the unbelivable atmosphere, the fluid unique gameplay, and the charm, simplicity and emotion that the game carries out.All to deliever one of the most important games of this generation. Now, for some people this might be a boring, short and rather weird game. That's understandable, because some people simply like their games with more explotions and action. But even for the cynic and childish of gamers this game can appeal greatly, it all depands if you let it to absorb you and invoke your feelings. Try it, you might end up loving it more then I do :) Expand
  92. May 7, 2012
    10
    Journey was exactly what I expected. Beautiful, elegant, and only takes bout 2 hours to play. To me this game hit me in a far more personal way than many of the games out today ever could. If ya think 2 hrs is too short, walk away from this game. If no voice acting bothers you, or no real general guide on what to do bothers you, again walk away. But if you are looking for that one game that actually dares to be different, pick this game up on the PSN. It truly was a treat and I cannot wait for thatgamecompany to put out another game. Expand
  93. May 13, 2012
    10
    After years just reading Metacritic, I signed up specifically to review this game after playing it this morning. In 30 years of gaming, I have never encountered any game that drew me in as much as this one did. I woke up with a mild hangover and the morning to myself because the kids were out with the wife. Journey had been installed for several months without me ever getting round to playing it, and I remember people posting that the best way to play it was in a single session. I didn't have high expectations, but I thought I'd finally give it a try. During parts of the game I had my mouth wide open staring at the screen I was so engrossed. It just draws you in that much. Although you can;t talk to the people you bump into, you end up caring about them and I can;t work out why. I found myself going back to make sure they were alright and knew which way to go, and I saw others doing the same to me. I'm not ashamed to say that I had a tear in my eye at one point and a massive smile on my face for the rest of the day. Despite the fact that I had been playing for only 2 hours, I genuinely felt like I had been on a journey - it really drew me in that much. I live just outside Edinburgh, and when drove out on an errand later, I had a massive grin on my face when I saw Arthur's Seat, the big volcanic plug in the centre of Edinburgh, looming up on the horizon. Just play it! Expand
  94. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    You see Quarter to Three's review on the left? Quarter to Three are just used to being spoon-fed action, they have no nuance, they have no subtlety or pacing or sense for atmosphere. They're used to roaring guns, massive explosions, and awesome actions sequences. If you want to be spoon-fed action and have more patience for repetitiveness than tosspots, who only care about a competent multiplayer and are only satisfied when they're wielding a gun the size of a car with an alien willy bouncing off your space helmet, I would strongly recommend you to any Triple-A shooter in the past 3 years. If you want a carefully crafted experience, with elegant yet simple gameplay and stunning visuals, and with some of the most meaningful multi-player I've ever played in a game, get Journey. You know that feeling, that feeling you get when you play certain games, the feeling that makes you realize why you started playing games in the first place, and the feeling that reminds you why you still play games? Journey is that feeling. Without one single word of spoken dialogue, it tells a compelling story, a compelling essence that many games fail to convey with pages of script. That's the most impressive aspect of Journey, go buy this game. Maybe in the first playthrough, you might not understand it, but play it again, and you will see. You have to drop pretenses of what a game is, because what is a game? Why do we play games? You have to get that feeling, and for that particular feeling, play Journey. Expand
  95. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    I played Journey for the first time in early 2013. I've owned it since its launch back in March, 2012; but due to varying circumstances, I was never able to sit down and enjoy it. Since its release, I'd never heard anything but positive things about the game; but I was still a little nervous maybe it wouldn't hold up as well as I thought, maybe no-one would be playing and I wouldn't experience its unique online experience, maybe my expectations had been set too high.

    I played through the game with two of my friends watching, and all of us were completely silent and enraptured by the end. Journey is beautiful, Journey is unique, and Journey is amazing. It is by far the best online experience I have ever had with a game, it has some of the most strikingly beautiful scenes I have ever seen in a game (they will stay with me for years), and I adore everything about what Thatgamecompany has done. Nothing I can say will be able to convince you to play it, but I urge you to listen to the overwhelmingly positive response to this game it is NOT overrated. An easy 10/10 (sure it's short, but who cares when the experience is this amazing?)
    Expand
  96. Jun 10, 2013
    10
    I've just purchased the European version of Journey Collector's Edition hence why I'm late coming to the party.

    I used to be an avid gamer but now I'm in my mid-30s now I don't get as much time (growing up is rubbish!). So I now when I play a game I aim to find something special... Journey did not disappoint!

    I was a beautifully crafted masterpiece. The aesthetic, score and
    emotional content is on a par with ICO and Shadow of the Colossus. I actually feel sorry for people who don't "get it". My only guess is that those people are dead inside (or only tend to like FPSs or sports sims).

    Many people have spoken how short the game is, but for me it was epic. I've only completed it once, but I intend to play in again... and again... and again.

    I've not yet had a chance to play online but I will be doing as soon as I can find the time.
    Expand
  97. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    Beautiful game. And this game is a experience! There is no other game like this. This is emotionally engaging adventure from beginning to the epic ending.
  98. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    The best word to describe this game truly is "journey". There is no doubt that this journey feels more like an experience than a game. It's incredible that such a simplistic game can create such an emotional journey. Yes the game is short, but play it all in one sitting, lights off, headphones on, and you will become lost in Journey's beautiful, majestic landscape. Multiplayer with no real way of communication creates such a unique and special bond between players as you both journey together. A video game has never felt more like art. It's hard not to stop and stare at the vast,stunning landscape. While the 2-3 hour game is quite linear everyone seems to have a different experience. If you are reading this with any interest in this game, buy it and experience the journey for yourself. Words cannot do this game justice. Who would have thought a $15, 3 hour game downloadable game would become one of my most memorable, emotional gaming experiences. Expand
  99. Jul 29, 2012
    2
    $15 price tag, 1 hour of game play, no challenge, and no replay value (unless you're a trophy hog). I don't see why so many people overrate this "game". Sure it's pretty, but if I wanted nothing but eye candy, I would've downloaded a screen saver and stared at that. At least it would be free.
  100. Jul 20, 2012
    0
    Well, this was a dissapointing game. I mean, if you're into art games like thatgamecompany's previous games, "Flower" and "Flow", you'll love this. Otherwise, don't bother paying the outrageous price of 15.00 for this hour-long game. Also, while the art style and music make up the 2 points i am giving this game, i have to say that the gameplay is just not satisfying enough, and the multiplayer element, (where you see another player with no gamertag or identification) while a cool concept, is utterly strange and not used to it's potential. Overall, one of the most dissapointing games of the year. I quite enjoyed Flower, but this was just another overhyped game that as another reviewer said on here "seems like a religion". Collapse
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 78 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 78
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 78
  3. Negative: 1 out of 78
  1. Mar 22, 2013
    100
    An ethereal, innovative, emotional cooperative experience, thatgamecompany’s Journey is one that any PlayStation 3 owner should take.
  2. Sep 20, 2012
    95
    If there was ever a game deserving of the word beautiful in it's description, it's Journey. The game is stunning to look at, satisfying to play and oozes atmosphere from every angle of its dynamic story and immersive world. Sure it's short by regular game standards but Journey is not a regular game. If your ready for an experience that will surprise you, move you and stick with you for many years after its done, then maybe this is the Journey for you.
  3. May 14, 2012
    90
    Clever, emotive, and easily the best downloadable game so far this year. [June 2012, p.58]