Journey PlayStation 3

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1341 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Triumph of thatgamecompany. Pure masterpiece! The most emotional gaming experience. The bigger your heart the bigger shock and catharsis you will get in the end) Every pixel, camera angle and note form magic nonstop. Deep and yet simple. Genius made multiplayer. Fully confirms statement that games can be art.
    Amazing.
  2. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    The fact that Journey has so effectively condensed the experience into a two-hour interactive poem is an astonishing achievement. It is the evolution of Jason Rohrer's art game Passage, bringing an unmatched humanity to the experience through its multiplayer.
  3. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    I can't understand people who gave a 0 or 1 to this game... they probably did'nt understand it at all... Journey is not really a game... But it's clearly a piece of art as FlOwer did ! It's a interactive "journey"... with poetic and artistic ambiance, I clearly loved it ! It's a game with no violence, just relaxing and tripping !
  4. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    Just as Journey does not need any words or dialog to convey your emotions, reviews cannot explain it in mere words. To make this short(like the game), this is one of the most emotional and touching games I have had the pleasure to play. It's a game anyone, even non-gamers, can play and fall in love with. It will hold you untill the very end, and as the credits roll you will realise thatJust as Journey does not need any words or dialog to convey your emotions, reviews cannot explain it in mere words. To make this short(like the game), this is one of the most emotional and touching games I have had the pleasure to play. It's a game anyone, even non-gamers, can play and fall in love with. It will hold you untill the very end, and as the credits roll you will realise that you have just played one of the best games of the generation, or probably of all time. Do play this game. Our industry needs more games like this and the developers deserve all the credits we can give them. Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    Think Portal. I could end my review there. Incredibly short? Yes. Worth it? Oh hell yes! As others have said, it's an experience tough to put into words. It's less a "game" than it is an "experience." And I feel that Journey (like Portal) contained more plot, more memorable moments, than most full-length games. If you're the kind of person who shys away at colors other than greyThink Portal. I could end my review there. Incredibly short? Yes. Worth it? Oh hell yes! As others have said, it's an experience tough to put into words. It's less a "game" than it is an "experience." And I feel that Journey (like Portal) contained more plot, more memorable moments, than most full-length games. If you're the kind of person who shys away at colors other than grey and brown, and cringe at the thought of any story outside of "blow the guy in front of you up" then by all means, skip this one. If you're sick of games that had little to no thought put into it outside of the engine, then this is definitely the game for you. Expand
  6. Mar 18, 2012
    9
    Very very good little game. The graphics are top class as is the music which adds some real emotion to the game. Some people could get put off by the lack of narration and clearly defined plot but for me it was a minor inconvenience. You could also argue that £10 is a bit much to pay for a game which lasts for about 45mins approx. Saying that because of how gripping the gameVery very good little game. The graphics are top class as is the music which adds some real emotion to the game. Some people could get put off by the lack of narration and clearly defined plot but for me it was a minor inconvenience. You could also argue that £10 is a bit much to pay for a game which lasts for about 45mins approx. Saying that because of how gripping the game was I expect to play it a couple more times at least.
    I also liked the online element, playing with someone added an extra layer to an already very enjoyable adventure.
    It's not going to be everyone's cup of tea but in my opinion Journey has been another excellent release from thatgamecompany and is highly recommended!
    Expand
  7. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    This is easily one of the best interactive experiences crafted. Ever. While some might say it is too short, the game would not have been able to deliver the same emotional impact if it had been any longer. The experience design in this game is flawless, the levels are beautiful and the sound is immersive. Not playing this game would be a real shame.
  8. Mar 18, 2012
    9
    Journey is a mastery of Avante Garde expression. It is short, and simple, but it is something I will never forget as long as Iâ
  9. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    A perfect 10 for Journey. This title is a testament to man's ability to create a piece of art to the highest of standards. There's not much I can say that hasn't already been said, nor would I choose to - because Journey simply needs to be played to experience what it offers. It sets the audiovisual standard in the gaming industry, and is the absolute highest calibre of what a developerA perfect 10 for Journey. This title is a testament to man's ability to create a piece of art to the highest of standards. There's not much I can say that hasn't already been said, nor would I choose to - because Journey simply needs to be played to experience what it offers. It sets the audiovisual standard in the gaming industry, and is the absolute highest calibre of what a developer can hope to create.
    thatgamecompany have set a standard which I can only hope their future projects can come close to meeting, I am very thankful I was able to play through their vision and I wish them the best of luck in the future! Journey is my 'Game of the Year' for 2012.
    Expand
  10. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    I just played through Journey and decided it was important enough to make a Metacritic account and give it a 10. It's that impressive. The safest way to come at this would be to look at it like you would a dramatic, Oscar-worthy movie. When you watch a movie in the theaters that blows you away, do you walk out and say, "____ movie was okay, but i wish there was an extra hour of footage."I just played through Journey and decided it was important enough to make a Metacritic account and give it a 10. It's that impressive. The safest way to come at this would be to look at it like you would a dramatic, Oscar-worthy movie. When you watch a movie in the theaters that blows you away, do you walk out and say, "____ movie was okay, but i wish there was an extra hour of footage." No, you just enjoyed it for the artform that it was. It stands alone, just as the director edited it down to a succint experience. It is a beautiful, moving film. This game should be viewed in that light. Everything works perfectly together to create 2 hours of the most moving gaming experience you will probably ever have. It is the most moved i have ever been by a game and i have been playing games consistently since i got Super Mario brothers on the NES when i was in 2nd grade. A single playthrough might take about 2 hours. It did for me. I recommend that you block out 2 hours, dim the lights, throw on some headphones and sit down and really immerse yourself in this game. The score is haunting and beautiful, i would buy the soundtrack just to listen at work. The music matches the scenes effortlessly. The visuals, controls, and music are so perfect that you really forget that you are playing a game. Finally the way that multiplayer is approached may be the greatest single greatest achievement of this game. They have somehow removed the ability for anonymous online shooter tea-baggery by making the only form of interaction a cute little sound note when you press the O button. Your fluid movement through the landscape is enhanced by your proximity to the other person. Secondly, (and importantly), the multiplayer is limited to only 2 people in your world at a time. You and one other; which is an interesting dynamic in this foreign, desolate landscape. The psychology of only ONE other person bonds you with the other anonymous, yet real, person and both of you have to figure out how to get through to the the next area. I can only compare it to travelling in a foreign country. You share a basic bond with this foreign other cloaked person who you can only communicate by bleeping to, or sending off a power orb. Finally, you move and fly better when you help the other anonymous player out, so the incentive is to not be a lone wolf. To sum it all up, i can not think of a bigger gaming return on investment than the $15 you will spend for this experience. This is the kind of game you can show to people who dont "get gamers" and say this is why gaming is an artform. Truly awesome. If you have a PS3, and have read this far, just buy it already. You won't be sorry. Expand
  11. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    This game is awesome, wonderful and inspiring. I think, it's primarily intended for an adult audience, because young and very young gamers will possibly describe it as boring - but it isn't. In fact, it offers a gaming experience, which hasn't seen for a long time. Personally, I was flashed for two hours - that is short, but rather inspiring entertainment for two hours than playing aThis game is awesome, wonderful and inspiring. I think, it's primarily intended for an adult audience, because young and very young gamers will possibly describe it as boring - but it isn't. In fact, it offers a gaming experience, which hasn't seen for a long time. Personally, I was flashed for two hours - that is short, but rather inspiring entertainment for two hours than playing a boring "blockbuster" game like Mass Effect 3 for endless hours. Big shouts to the composer of the game music. Expand
  12. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    There really nothing I have seen or read that could have prepared me for this experience. Regardless, I don't want to spoil a single inch of this game. This may sound ridiculous, but perhaps after playing it you will understand. This game completely challenges the very concepts of what video games can be and the kinds of long inert emotions we've never known existed. Anyone with anThere really nothing I have seen or read that could have prepared me for this experience. Regardless, I don't want to spoil a single inch of this game. This may sound ridiculous, but perhaps after playing it you will understand. This game completely challenges the very concepts of what video games can be and the kinds of long inert emotions we've never known existed. Anyone with an open-mind and taste for exploration and art should be playing this game. Expand
  13. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    The game is beautiful and immersive. Mechanics are smooth and wonderfully intuitive. In short, it is a joy to play. The experience stuck with me long after I was away from my PS3. Some have complained about length, but for me, this is non-issue. The replay value is great, especially for the second and even third play through. Also, my time is valuable. I would rather play a greatThe game is beautiful and immersive. Mechanics are smooth and wonderfully intuitive. In short, it is a joy to play. The experience stuck with me long after I was away from my PS3. Some have complained about length, but for me, this is non-issue. The replay value is great, especially for the second and even third play through. Also, my time is valuable. I would rather play a great game that lasts an hour an half than a merely good game that lasts much longer. Highly recommend. Expand
  14. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    Despite everything I'd heard and seen of "Journey", no one could have convinced me that I would be close to tears by the end of it -- first of sadness, then of joy. Ninety of the best minutes I've spent holding the PS3 controller. You'd pay twice this price for an incredible ninety-minute film on Blu-Ray -- and consider the support you're giving thatgamecompany to develop more gems like this one.
  15. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    This game is truly amazing, its not often games live up to the hype but this one does. It is the most beautiful game I have ever played and if your playing this with a good stereo im sure you would agree. The music is as much a part of the game as the gameplay itself. The experience is so beautiful that I am going to be booking sessions for my friends so they can experience the game in myThis game is truly amazing, its not often games live up to the hype but this one does. It is the most beautiful game I have ever played and if your playing this with a good stereo im sure you would agree. The music is as much a part of the game as the gameplay itself. The experience is so beautiful that I am going to be booking sessions for my friends so they can experience the game in my theater. I personally wasnt bothered by the short length, I thought it was appropriate and well worth the price considering the quality. This is yet another to have get a ps3 if you dont have one. Expand
  16. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    Not so much a game as a work of art come to life. During the closing sections of this title, I burst into tears. It moved me like no other game has. I don't know why, exactly... But if you are looking for true catharsis in a video game, look no further. People sometimes mention that the game is too short. Yes... It is very short, but every second you hold the controller is wonderful. It'sNot so much a game as a work of art come to life. During the closing sections of this title, I burst into tears. It moved me like no other game has. I don't know why, exactly... But if you are looking for true catharsis in a video game, look no further. People sometimes mention that the game is too short. Yes... It is very short, but every second you hold the controller is wonderful. It's a perfectly formed and executed game and the fact that you can finish it in just one sitting merely adds to the cohesive, unique atmosphere that Journey offers... And it is a Journey that I plan to take quite a few more times. Expand
  17. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    This is by far one of the best gaming experiences I've ever had since 1984 when I started playing games. But you need to know what your getting yourself into first. There are no bullets, no nudity, no spoken words and no blood and gore. This is a game about beauty, religion, life, and death. There is truly nothing else like it. This is for the intellectual crowd. Longtime gamers whoThis is by far one of the best gaming experiences I've ever had since 1984 when I started playing games. But you need to know what your getting yourself into first. There are no bullets, no nudity, no spoken words and no blood and gore. This is a game about beauty, religion, life, and death. There is truly nothing else like it. This is for the intellectual crowd. Longtime gamers who have seen and done everything and feel jaded with the market. The people who require more than a gun and a target to be entertained. It's true the game can be completed in about two hours but it's made to be replayable and I promise you those two hours are more entertaining than games at $60 that last 80 hours. In other words you will be blown away by this experience. It's that good! There is no filler material in here and everything here is all top notch. Don't bother calling yourself a gamer if you don't play this game...GAME OF THE YEAR material no doubt!! Expand
  18. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    i loved flower and was already interested in buying this as soon as i found out it was from thatgamecompany. i was not dissapointed. there are little elements of flower like the way there are mini little tornados of cloth swirling around. but the game is much different. much more different than anything ive played. its a fantastic game that deserves recognition just for breaking away fromi loved flower and was already interested in buying this as soon as i found out it was from thatgamecompany. i was not dissapointed. there are little elements of flower like the way there are mini little tornados of cloth swirling around. but the game is much different. much more different than anything ive played. its a fantastic game that deserves recognition just for breaking away from the pack. then a whole other level of respect for just being damned good. the game is short but worth playing several times. its a game i want to show to all of my friends. the graphics are beautiful with a unique art style and the soundtrack is flawless. some people are saying it took less than an hour to finish the game. if thats the case, they just rushed through it without exploring and finding the secret temples and other things that make the game so fun. im pretty sure i read Gaea say that he expects an hour of gameplay for every dollar spent... thats absurd. god of war 3 and the uncharted games werent 60 hours a piece, yet im completely happy with them. Expand
  19. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    A very refreshing game. I've already played through it 4 times and plan on having a couple more goes at it. Good games are hard to come by now a days. It seems too often that I buy a game only for it to sit on my shelf for months without being beaten because after a couple hours of game play it becomes a chore to continue playing the game. This was not the case with Journey. JourneyA very refreshing game. I've already played through it 4 times and plan on having a couple more goes at it. Good games are hard to come by now a days. It seems too often that I buy a game only for it to sit on my shelf for months without being beaten because after a couple hours of game play it becomes a chore to continue playing the game. This was not the case with Journey. Journey is everything I could have asked for in a perfect game: simple, compelling, visually mesmerizing, and short. The anonymous multiplier was a welcomed twist. Journey was wonderful from beginning to end and I'd gladly work an hour or two to pay for this inexpensive and awesome game. Expand
  20. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    This is what I play video games for! No other medium could make me feel like Journey just did. A truly unique experience anybody should give a try! The anonymous cooperative play works fantastic and you really bond with your partner despite the minimal interaction with each other.
  21. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    This game is beautiful. The environments are stunning. The music is haunting. The best PSN game I have ever purchased and I haven't felt this good since Dear Esther on the PC. Buy this game, it is better if you do not know much about it before playing it. Go BUY IT.
  22. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    i suppose this is a short product if you like to finish games as fast as you can. if you're like me and enjoy searching every nook and cranny it will last much longer. soaking in the visuals and ambiance is a must, and you will want to replay it. if you have bad taste, and enjoy the michael bay style of in your face moremoremore, it is not for you. the people giving this game badi suppose this is a short product if you like to finish games as fast as you can. if you're like me and enjoy searching every nook and cranny it will last much longer. soaking in the visuals and ambiance is a must, and you will want to replay it. if you have bad taste, and enjoy the michael bay style of in your face moremoremore, it is not for you. the people giving this game bad scores are the same people who give god of war games "10's" even though it is a $60 game that lasts 5 hours. Expand
  23. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    I've used metacritic for years, but have never felt compelled to actually write any reviews... until now.

    I cannot stress enough what an amazing experience this game was. I sat in my room, eye level to my tv, turned out all the lights and let the game take me away. I beat the game in less than two hours, yet I know my adventure will forever be a part of me. This game was incredibly
    I've used metacritic for years, but have never felt compelled to actually write any reviews... until now.

    I cannot stress enough what an amazing experience this game was. I sat in my room, eye level to my tv, turned out all the lights and let the game take me away. I beat the game in less than two hours, yet I know my adventure will forever be a part of me. This game was incredibly powerful and moving.

    I don't want to ruin anyone's experience by providing too much information. I just want to argue that this game, this masterpiece, is a direct rejection of Roger Ebert's unfaltering stand that video games can never be art. After playing this game, I can honestly say, he is incredibly wrong in his assessment.

    This game is beautiful and I cannot recommend it enough. Play. This. Game.

    Maybe I'll run into some of you out there :)
    Expand
  24. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    If you have enjoyed FLOW and FLOWER this game will truly please and surprise you. It is unadulterated joy. If you want to settle the endless debate whether games are art than this game should convince anyone that disagree withe the above statement that games can be art.
    Journey is an experience. It is very difficult to say anything about it without spoiling the experience. However one
    If you have enjoyed FLOW and FLOWER this game will truly please and surprise you. It is unadulterated joy. If you want to settle the endless debate whether games are art than this game should convince anyone that disagree withe the above statement that games can be art.
    Journey is an experience. It is very difficult to say anything about it without spoiling the experience. However one thing can be said: if you manage to connect to the experience you will feel emotional by the time the end credit will appear on the screen. Your would want to meet the people that shared the Journey with you, for some of them you will be a mentor and for some others you will be a mentee. The only downside to this game is that the experience will only last an average of 2 hours. I know, it is a short time for a game that cost a tenner but please remember that the journey does not have to end and ca be restarted again and again. Jenova Chen is a visionary developer and if Sony does not renew the contract for 3 more games I will personally go to Santa Monica to make them see sense.
    Expand
  25. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Journey is a rare breed, a game that's a refreshing breath of originality and that's all about the experience, rather than score-chasing. Journey tells a strong story which I wont spoil, but I was not expecting it to grab me the way it did. And it does so using only visuals and music. And the musical score of this game is among the best of the best. It envelopes the player in the settingJourney is a rare breed, a game that's a refreshing breath of originality and that's all about the experience, rather than score-chasing. Journey tells a strong story which I wont spoil, but I was not expecting it to grab me the way it did. And it does so using only visuals and music. And the musical score of this game is among the best of the best. It envelopes the player in the setting and sets the mood perfectly. The audio in Journey really is as important as the visuals, which are fantastic. This game has some of the best use of colour you can find in videogames and the animations are fluid. All adding up to an emotional connection with the player. The game occasionally has minor framedrops, but they are and few and far inbetween. The people saying this game is too short are wrong. Yes, I'm sure you can finish it in an hour, if you just rush through it instead of taking your time, and in the process going against everything this game is about; The journey, not the endpoint, the clue lies in the name. I personally took my time with the game during my first playthrough, I tried to explore everyting, collect everything and interacted with and helped other players. Doing so took me over two hours (according to Raptr), I belive I was close to three. These other caped random travellers remain anonymous until the end of the game, making for a great online experience where you either cooperate or ignore other players. No annoying shouting kids with microphones to ruin your experience here! The only form of communication you have is your character making a sound with a "speechbubble" in an alien language. It's simple and weird at first, but it works perfectly. The game is designed to be played in one sitting, like a film (movie), which is why it's not the longest game ever, but there's also no needless filler and there's nothing stopping you from replaying it. Expand
  26. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    I literally just created a Metacritic account, whilst listening to the soundtrack of this game, just so I could review it.. Don't listen to some of the poor reviews.. They are all valid points, yes the game is short, yes the game is simplistic.. But the simple nature of the game is what makes it so amazing.. The online goes hand and hand with this.. The music, the visuals.. There areI literally just created a Metacritic account, whilst listening to the soundtrack of this game, just so I could review it.. Don't listen to some of the poor reviews.. They are all valid points, yes the game is short, yes the game is simplistic.. But the simple nature of the game is what makes it so amazing.. The online goes hand and hand with this.. The music, the visuals.. There are points in this game that will make your jaw drop.. Make you want to cry.. And even make you feel a bond.. All you have to do is go into the game with an open mind.. You're going on a Journey, make the best of it. Expand
  27. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    First off let me say that if you go into this with any kind of expectation you're doing it wrong. Don't buy this game thinking you'll be doing any extreme platforming or monster hunting. That aside, this game is a work of art. I went into this with my suspicions but take my word for it, this game is breathtaking. I have never experienced anything that exudes so much raw emotion. Without aFirst off let me say that if you go into this with any kind of expectation you're doing it wrong. Don't buy this game thinking you'll be doing any extreme platforming or monster hunting. That aside, this game is a work of art. I went into this with my suspicions but take my word for it, this game is breathtaking. I have never experienced anything that exudes so much raw emotion. Without a single spoken word you can take this journey both alone and from time to time with other people who happen to be playing and you can almost feel a connection with the other person. In a gaming society of nerdrage and hatred that crops up pretty much anywhere there's multiplayer, Journey manages to make you feel good inside as you explore the gorgeous scenery with someone whom you can't speak to or even know their name. The only flaw is its length and even that isn't as bad as it seems because it allows you to take an entire journey in one sitting. I can not recommend this game more. Expand
  28. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    Just had the most Unique, touching and amazing gaming experience ever. I must applaud ThatGamCompany and Santa Monica studios for sculpting a game with a radical inception and builds to a glorious finale. Art and Music weave this story flawlessly, without Dialogue or any sort of narrative. All I have to say is at the center of this game there is a beating heart... and of course this gameJust had the most Unique, touching and amazing gaming experience ever. I must applaud ThatGamCompany and Santa Monica studios for sculpting a game with a radical inception and builds to a glorious finale. Art and Music weave this story flawlessly, without Dialogue or any sort of narrative. All I have to say is at the center of this game there is a beating heart... and of course this game is no other than JOURNEY. Expand
  29. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    After 10 minutes, I couldn't put the controller down until I finished the game. Many artsy-games stray too far into art and fall into confusing, messes of frustration. Journey, on the other hand, is one of the best examples of artistic expression and story-telling through the video game medium. If the art style, wordless narrative, or discovery don't grab you, the anonymous multiplayerAfter 10 minutes, I couldn't put the controller down until I finished the game. Many artsy-games stray too far into art and fall into confusing, messes of frustration. Journey, on the other hand, is one of the best examples of artistic expression and story-telling through the video game medium. If the art style, wordless narrative, or discovery don't grab you, the anonymous multiplayer will. You communicate by "sing-shouting" to one another, which quickly becomes familiar and delightful. There's something humbling about exploring a world with a stranger while having a vocabulary that's been reduced to one word and I felt more connected with my anonymous companions in Journey than any other gamers I've met in public online gaming sessions. Journey is an amazing story-telling experience that didn't lose its video game hat. Expand
  30. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    Journey is one of the best looking games on PS3 both technically and artistically. Music is amazing. And multiplayer suites it very well. Yes, it's about two hours long, but this game, I think, was meant to be finished in one sitting. And if you liked previous titles from thatgamecompany, you will find plenty of re-playability in Journey. Plus, there are collectibles, few interestingJourney is one of the best looking games on PS3 both technically and artistically. Music is amazing. And multiplayer suites it very well. Yes, it's about two hours long, but this game, I think, was meant to be finished in one sitting. And if you liked previous titles from thatgamecompany, you will find plenty of re-playability in Journey. Plus, there are collectibles, few interesting secrets and a bunch of trophies. Journey offers a unique experience for a fair price of $15 and it's worth it. BEYOND! Expand
  31. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    This is just an amazing game. Something new, beautiful, emotional and creative. The co-op is such an amazing idea, and it suits the game perfectly. ThatGameCompany have found gold. If you have a PS3, go to the PS Store to buy Journey. If you don't have a PS3, buy one!
  32. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    Can somebody please get these intellect-lacking users giving 0s and 1s off this site?!

    Anyways, this is now officially the greatest downloadable title of ALL TIME.
    No game will touch you on the high subliminal, emotional, and intellectual level that Journey does.
    When you get the game, you'll realize how high the production values are, and you'll see why 15 dollars may even be too low.
  33. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    We were walking through the snow, fighting the wind. We had spent the whole chapter staying as close together as possible to keep ourselves from freezing, and we were constantly signaling to encourage one another. I saw it coming and got under the nearest cover and frantically signalled for my partner to join me, but it was too late. He had been spotted and we were both thrown back. WeWe were walking through the snow, fighting the wind. We had spent the whole chapter staying as close together as possible to keep ourselves from freezing, and we were constantly signaling to encourage one another. I saw it coming and got under the nearest cover and frantically signalled for my partner to join me, but it was too late. He had been spotted and we were both thrown back. We landed near each other, and both gave a short signal. I knew mine was out of frustration, but I can only assume that my partner was apologizing. We carried on, and soon the creature had circled back. We both sat under cover, but my partner was too exposed and we were attacked once more. This time we were thrown in separate directions. When I got up, I saw the creature circling my partner and in that moment I knew I had to leave him. As I ran for the safety of the gate ahead, I actually felt sadness and shame for abandoning a complete stranger that had, over the course of a few minutes, become my companion. When I reached the gate, I lingered and looked into the thick snow to see if my partner could make it through. A few seconds later I saw him emerging from the white and was overcome with joy. I let out a large signal as he approached, and when he reached me he did the same. I knew mine was of excitement, but I can only assume his was out of frustration for being left. As we both ran ahead, though, we continued with our signals of encouragement, and in that moment I knew he had forgiven me. That is what Journey is to me. It's experiencing fear, sadness, uncertainty, joy, wonder, and even grief in a very short time, and sharing this experience with a completely anonymous stranger. The game's ability to convey these different emotions without a single word, combined with its simply beautiful aesthetics makes this game a true work of art. Expand
  34. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Journey reminds us that long ago we came to "see" art as something far deeper than photo-realism.
    Like a beautiful dream, this experience though brief. . . is hauntingly memorable.Playful yet purposeful
    gaming elements create moments of joy, originality, and emotion not to be missed!
  35. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    If you're at all skeptical about this game, especially regarding its 2-hour storyline and pricetag, forget your concerns - because this game is worth it.

    This is not a game, but an experience that is well worth playing. I cannot stress just how absorbing it is; the graphics (whilst simple and minimalist) work beautifully with the lighting used. There is one particular scene in which
    If you're at all skeptical about this game, especially regarding its 2-hour storyline and pricetag, forget your concerns - because this game is worth it.

    This is not a game, but an experience that is well worth playing. I cannot stress just how absorbing it is; the graphics (whilst simple and minimalist) work beautifully with the lighting used. There is one particular scene in which you're 'sand surfing', which is so beautifully done that it could literally take your breath away. Normally, poor music could distract you from such an engaging backdrop. However, it's beautfully composed, well written, and fits into each part of the game seamlessly. Whether it's a particularly stressful part of the game or if it's conveying doom/gloom, it works.

    Co-op doesn't have chat, avatars, names (until you complete the game), but while playing this game, you realise how little those things matter. I completed the game with one person - never said a word. And yet, for the entirety of the game, we stuck together like two brothers, helping one another through each step of the way. Even when I was knocked back and hurt, he came back for me. This accentuates what co-operative gaming is all about and how it should be.

    All in all, this game, despite the fact I had to buy a Playstation Plus membership to buy this game and it only took me 2 hours at most to complete it, buy this game. It was worth the hassle. This is one of the most engaging, stunning, touching gaming experiences that I have been lucky enough to play in my lifetime, and I only hope this is not the last we hear of thatgamestudio.
    Expand
  36. Jhe
    Mar 15, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In most games, is easy to say "Is like this, this and that; you will enjoy this; you will hate that, etc etc"
    Not for this one.This is a game that you HAVE to play to pass judgement on... All i can tell you ( if you "beat" it already), is that If it only took you an hour to "finish", and you are not at peace....then you did not understand the game. You have...HAVE to think about the path you take in the game. Do you linger? or do you head straight through?
    Do you finish all the pieces of the puzzle? or just enough to get by?
    Which way do you go?
    and why?


    As a general notion (if you haven't played it, yet):

    Imagine waking up in the middle of the desert....


    what do you do?
    and why?
    Expand
  37. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    I was a fan of thatgamecompany's previous efforts such as flow and flower, But journey is definitely my favourite of their games and one of the best psn games ever made. Its more 'gamey' than flow and flower so if you were put off by their simplistic control this could change your mind around. Describing journey is difficult as its basically a work of art, You play an undescribed cloakedI was a fan of thatgamecompany's previous efforts such as flow and flower, But journey is definitely my favourite of their games and one of the best psn games ever made. Its more 'gamey' than flow and flower so if you were put off by their simplistic control this could change your mind around. Describing journey is difficult as its basically a work of art, You play an undescribed cloaked wanderer who wakes up upon the desert and see a light from the mountain and through the games 3 hour length you work closer and closer to your destination with a quick sing with the circle button to interact with other players and the X button to jump/fly. Its a game I highly recommend to my highest degree and for anyone who says that video games can't be art, this game will certainly change your mind. Expand
  38. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    I could go into great, nonsensical, detail on the many reasons as to why you should play this simply magnificent game but I will only give you one; you will have never played anything like it before, and I doubt you ever will again. Unique, emotional, brilliant and enjoyable. The only way to understand how good this game is is to organically experience itself, not by reading the words ofI could go into great, nonsensical, detail on the many reasons as to why you should play this simply magnificent game but I will only give you one; you will have never played anything like it before, and I doubt you ever will again. Unique, emotional, brilliant and enjoyable. The only way to understand how good this game is is to organically experience itself, not by reading the words of other critics. Expand
  39. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    i was so moved by this game, i signed up to metacritic just to give this a 10. my favourite gaming experience since demon's souls, and easily the most a video game has affected my emotions.
  40. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    The game is short, but totally worth it! It has to be said, it's very short, I finished it in about 2 hours, but IMO it has good replay value so don't worry about it. Oh and I really recommend playing through it in one go, it was truly a fantastic thing to experience the journey together with the same companion, even if you have no idea who it was.

    Actually, I found out later that I had
    The game is short, but totally worth it! It has to be said, it's very short, I finished it in about 2 hours, but IMO it has good replay value so don't worry about it. Oh and I really recommend playing through it in one go, it was truly a fantastic thing to experience the journey together with the same companion, even if you have no idea who it was.

    Actually, I found out later that I had played with two seperate people, but I had still played through a majority with one, and it showed. It's hard to explain, but you build up this trust with the other companion, I don't wanna say to much but know this... This journey will be somewhat challenging if you intend to do it the "right way" instead of just rushing through, and doing this with another player gives that "we fight together, we die together"-bond. I was expecting actually to do travel mostly by myself but this was indeed a welcome surprise.

    I say that not only is this an unique and fantastic game worth every penny... It's also really beautiful, and then I'm talking not only about the visuals which themselves are absolutely outstanding, the music is also really amazing. It's simply a very complete package. It was fun, the game is... Well, the best word to describe it is playful.

    "Journey" might not be for everyone, but for anyone wanting a break from all the games about shooting or slashing different creatures, even if it's only 2 or 3 hours, should really look into this game. Seriously, go get it if you haven't already, that is if you have access to a Ps3. If that's the case then buy one, borrow one or steal one if needed... BECAUSE THIS GAME IS FRIKKIN' BEAUTIFUL!

    So the price is a bit high, but I still recommend it, it's a truly unique game and I hope to see similar multiplayer in other games in the future. 10/10.
    Expand
  41. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Telling you what happens would do the experience a disservice. This isn't a game to wield skills to triumph over tricky challenges - it's a place to feel wonder, camaraderie, adversity and joy. You've no doubt heard lots of vague over the top claims about it already, but you may even find the meaning of life in this game. It's that profound. It's not an hour - it's 2 or 3 the first timeTelling you what happens would do the experience a disservice. This isn't a game to wield skills to triumph over tricky challenges - it's a place to feel wonder, camaraderie, adversity and joy. You've no doubt heard lots of vague over the top claims about it already, but you may even find the meaning of life in this game. It's that profound. It's not an hour - it's 2 or 3 the first time through. Still, that gives you good odds of encountering another player in the same area and even in the last 10 minutes it made me feel more than a whole box of 60-hour games could.

    It manages to convey more meaning than most games or movies, without using a single word (outside of the clumsy "how to play" overlays at the start...) In fact, it would have lost some impact if it tried to spell things out for you - instead, the moments you encounter may be the same as most other players find, but they are yours. Like life itself, you may be like countless others who went before you, but you are you and this is your story. Everything is fleeting, so just enjoy the moment and push on to what's next.

    Meeting other players, you may not be able to articulate your communication well, but there's a common understanding that the other who is with you is another living person and that changes the nature of the experience knowing that you're sharing it with someone else. It's a beautiful experience and I'd recommend it to anyone who feels some connection to other humans, no matter how little.
    Expand
  42. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    This is more than a game, with games like this you have to be proud to be a gamer, remember your first kiss, how long that was? nonetheless you will remember it forever.
  43. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    I'm new here. While some people are claiming all the reviews are being written by people who worked on the game, I can safely say that most aren't. For some people, this game will fall short of expectations... not because it doesn't achieve something great, but because it doesn't follow the usual conventions of the gaming industry.

    Journey is very different from most games. In spite of
    I'm new here. While some people are claiming all the reviews are being written by people who worked on the game, I can safely say that most aren't. For some people, this game will fall short of expectations... not because it doesn't achieve something great, but because it doesn't follow the usual conventions of the gaming industry.

    Journey is very different from most games. In spite of its mechanics and playstyle being far more akin to conventional games, in many ways, it's less of a typical game than thatgamecompany's previous titles, flOw and Flower.

    The basic premise is simple - you're given an objective to reach, and little else. The controls are simple - you can walk, jump, and sing.

    If that was all there was to the experience, that would be disappointing. If you're disappointed, you missed the point. The game is about emotion, connecting with a stranger, and experiencing beauty.

    The user "aspentitan" has written a "5/10 Buyer Beware" review. I VERY STRONGLY recommend reading it. The game is short, but it's BEAUTIFUL. And it's not just beautiful in the sense of art style, or graphics (although those are beautiful too). It draws on the emotions of the player in ways that very few games do.

    I'm rating the game 10/10. That doesn't mean 100% and doesn't mean the game is perfect. It DOES mean, however, that it's something EVERYONE should experience.

    If you play the game online, and are disappointed, try again without being online. For some people, the solitary experience is more powerful. If you tried it offline first, and it didn't live up to your hopes, sign in and try again. For many, the connection with another Journeyer makes the experience worthwhile.

    There's a reason I keep using the word "experience" in this review - it's because "play" doesn't fit. I've already said this game isn't your usual game. It's barely a game at all, and treating it as nothing more than a game isn't going to do it justice.
    Expand
  44. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    If there's an afterlife I want it to be exactly like this game. It's art. It's love. It's human compassion and trust and beauty and peace. It is what humanity would be if it lost the power to hate. It isn't a game. It's..... God!
  45. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    I'm not a casual gamer but this one intrigued me. it was incredible. Short, but very memorable. I haven't had a gaming experience like Journey. If I had to criticize anything, it would be the length, but it was just long enough that made it came together so well.
  46. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    Best game I have ever played. If ever there was an argument for games as art, this is it. The mechanics are intrinsically tied to the story, and it's just...awesome. Short, yes. But nevermind $15, I could've paid $60 for this and still been happy.
  47. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    this is an amazing experience that everyone must play you're really stupid if you don't buy it you'll be missing out on game of the year. Theres so much more then the videos reviews show and I LOVE THIS GAME
  48. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Journey is a wonderful game that I can not put down, the imagery, the art, everything is here for a gamer like me. As a fan of Ico, SoTC, Portal, and others similar to the eerie yet beautiful gameplay Journey provides, I felt right at home. I Especially love running into another anonymous player while Im wearing my Transcendence cloak and having them revere me as an in game God. Lol Expand
  49. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    I haven't really been playing much games lately because of lack of time so it was nice to finish a game in one sitting. I loved it. Beautiful game I think it its definitely worth the 15 bucks. If you can you should definitely check it out.
  50. Mar 16, 2012
    9
    Lots of people are complaining about this because it was fifteen dollars and less than two hours. That is true, but fifteen dollars really isn't much for a video game. A movie ticket cost almost as much and doesn't give the sense of mystery and exploration this does. People need to understand that THE PEOPLE MAKING THESE GAMES HAVE TO MAKE MONEY. It's not something they do for fun alone.Lots of people are complaining about this because it was fifteen dollars and less than two hours. That is true, but fifteen dollars really isn't much for a video game. A movie ticket cost almost as much and doesn't give the sense of mystery and exploration this does. People need to understand that THE PEOPLE MAKING THESE GAMES HAVE TO MAKE MONEY. It's not something they do for fun alone. The game is beautiful and fun. Don't be cheap. Expand
  51. Apr 2, 2012
    9
    Journey is an artistic game with so much emotion, but has no dialog, which is a great accomplishment, much like ICO and Shadow of the Colossus. Journey is a beautiful game to look at from the Sun reflecting off the sand to the movement of your character. This game proves that video games are art. The game is very simple to play, but since it is simple it makes it relaxing and helps youJourney is an artistic game with so much emotion, but has no dialog, which is a great accomplishment, much like ICO and Shadow of the Colossus. Journey is a beautiful game to look at from the Sun reflecting off the sand to the movement of your character. This game proves that video games are art. The game is very simple to play, but since it is simple it makes it relaxing and helps you enjoy the story. You play a character that is traveling to a high mountain in the distance. On the way you will be walking through a desert then high up in the snowy mountain. There are creatures on the game, which you are tasked with staying out of their sight. The game also has a co-op aspect, which is simple yet helpful. As you make the journey you might meet up with other players that can help you solve puzzles quicker and even help each other regenerate you magic which makes you fly for a brief period. Journey is a simple yet entertaining fun game that proves that video games are art. Expand
  52. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    For those of us who enjoy rich experiences filled with color, beauty, sound, emotion, and companionship...then you my friend can join in on the uplifting experience known a Journey. Connecting you through musical notes in a vast unforgiving world with a random stranger is not only powerful and compelling...but a must. Do. NOT. Play. This. Game. Alone. The magic is finding a traveler toFor those of us who enjoy rich experiences filled with color, beauty, sound, emotion, and companionship...then you my friend can join in on the uplifting experience known a Journey. Connecting you through musical notes in a vast unforgiving world with a random stranger is not only powerful and compelling...but a must. Do. NOT. Play. This. Game. Alone. The magic is finding a traveler to journey with. Short or not, this you can't miss... Expand
  53. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    An amazing game, definitely deserves the praise that it has gotten and will continue to get. Don't be put off by some of the negative reviews. This game is worth every cent of the price of admission. I will agree that the game may be "short" by industry standards, but It felt just right for the content. Add to that the fact that the replay value for this game is very high (several of theAn amazing game, definitely deserves the praise that it has gotten and will continue to get. Don't be put off by some of the negative reviews. This game is worth every cent of the price of admission. I will agree that the game may be "short" by industry standards, but It felt just right for the content. Add to that the fact that the replay value for this game is very high (several of the trophies actually encourage you to play several times) and you can easily put 20 hours into this game. Expand
  54. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    Journey defines a beautiful game. It's a short game, designed to be played through in one sitting and then repeatedly played in order to give the player the feel of a different journey. The world in which Journey is based is so beautifully designed that you will find yourself stopping to look around and admire the scenery. One of the games core aspects is its take on multiplayer - anotherJourney defines a beautiful game. It's a short game, designed to be played through in one sitting and then repeatedly played in order to give the player the feel of a different journey. The world in which Journey is based is so beautifully designed that you will find yourself stopping to look around and admire the scenery. One of the games core aspects is its take on multiplayer - another companion can join your journey at any time; you can travel together but communication is limited the a single action of emitting a whale-like call. Journey is a lovely little game, that anyone who appreciates ingenuity and art will enjoy. Expand
  55. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    This game has clearly gone over the head of a lot of people. I'd rank this among the top 5 games I've ever played, and I'm basing this on two things. Sheer beauty and the feeling it leaves you with.

    The social tools at your disposal are as simplistic as they come, either through sound and a visual effect, or through movement. It works surprisingly well, as you're forced to boil the
    This game has clearly gone over the head of a lot of people. I'd rank this among the top 5 games I've ever played, and I'm basing this on two things. Sheer beauty and the feeling it leaves you with.

    The social tools at your disposal are as simplistic as they come, either through sound and a visual effect, or through movement. It works surprisingly well, as you're forced to boil the elements of the social networking into it's basic elements and improvise to get your meaning across.

    I met another traveler at the beginning of my story, and then lost him/her after getting into the dark caves, and I actually felt a strong sense of sadness at the loss of my newfound friend. That's without even saying a word, which is testament to the emotions this game sets in motion. I went for several levels without seeing the other traveler again (I met others, recognizable by their unique symbol, but it wasn't the same).

    Then, right before the end of the second to last mission, we found each other again, and we danced around for a little while, both ecstatic. We then proceeded to finish the game together, helping each other through the hardship, until finally reaching the end goal. I've never been this emotionally tied to a game before.

    Luckily, you get a little summary of the people you met during your travels, showing their PSN ID next to their unique symbol, and we both gained another friend that day.

    More than anything else, this game gives me hope in humanity, because after all is said and done, and all preconceptions are gone from the equation, we're all human after all.

    From the bottom of my heart, thank you, thatgamecompany! Thank you so much!
    Expand
  56. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    Even though I think 15 dollars is a bit steep for this game it deserves nothing less than a 10. I have never felt so satisfied with a game, so intrigued with my surroundings. I'll never know the people who I met up with on my first playthrough but they helped me finish the game, we were just 2 people with a common goal. If you have a PS3 and 15 dollars to spare go ahead and pick it up,Even though I think 15 dollars is a bit steep for this game it deserves nothing less than a 10. I have never felt so satisfied with a game, so intrigued with my surroundings. I'll never know the people who I met up with on my first playthrough but they helped me finish the game, we were just 2 people with a common goal. If you have a PS3 and 15 dollars to spare go ahead and pick it up, yeah it's only 2 hours max, but it's the most rich 2 hours of gameplay you can pick up on the PSN, Expand
  57. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    A game like none other, anyone who hates it is obviously a short-attention spanned must be shooting stuff kind of player, or you just can't get the emotional depth to it. The graphics are immaculate and are arguably the best looking game on consoles. Same can be said from the music which is the best original score I've ever heard in a game period. Never have I been so hypnotised from aA game like none other, anyone who hates it is obviously a short-attention spanned must be shooting stuff kind of player, or you just can't get the emotional depth to it. The graphics are immaculate and are arguably the best looking game on consoles. Same can be said from the music which is the best original score I've ever heard in a game period. Never have I been so hypnotised from a game ever or applauded the screen when it finished. Many complain about it's short length (only being a few hours) but for such a small amount of money you can't really complain about it. But trust me this is a game you would want to play more than once. Expand
  58. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    A masterpiece of game design, Journey combines a story and emotion-centric experience, that also delivers graphics, personality, and gameplay. The passive co-op, which sounded gimmicky to me when I first heard about it, adds an immeasurable amount to the game. This exemplifies games as art done well. While the game might be too short for some, I found the length perfect: this is a gameA masterpiece of game design, Journey combines a story and emotion-centric experience, that also delivers graphics, personality, and gameplay. The passive co-op, which sounded gimmicky to me when I first heard about it, adds an immeasurable amount to the game. This exemplifies games as art done well. While the game might be too short for some, I found the length perfect: this is a game that should be experienced in one sitting, with no interruptions, and the length allows you to do that. The story doesn't suffer from the shorter length either, and there is definite replayability. I highly recommend this to anyone. Expand
  59. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    Music / sound and presentation are spectacular. This is game is a piece of art. However it is way too short, it is around 3 hours maximum if you look in every corner. Having said that though I came on here for the first time to review this game because it deserves it. The way the game connects players online is great and it doesn't feel like someone messing up your game at any point.
  60. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    This game captures more joy and emotion in 2 hours than most games do in 20.
    It is artistically amazing in every single aspect of the word, and the subtle interactions with other players you meet can create a very emotional bond.
  61. Jun 15, 2012
    8
    A short but ultimately very sweet PSN gaming experience. Awesome, full orchestral music pieces, amazing art direction, innovative mulitplayer action. A unique game that stands out from the endless sea of FPS shooters.
  62. Mar 14, 2012
    8
    It's a great game, it's better then great it could of been one of the BEST games of 2012 if it was an actual 60$ game. bottom line is it shouldn't be called journey, a journey doesn't take 1 hour of gameplay, it was one of the biggest game teases, because i was having so much fun taking my time, admiring the beuty and then Bam the ending hits you and it's a game over. im not sure if iIt's a great game, it's better then great it could of been one of the BEST games of 2012 if it was an actual 60$ game. bottom line is it shouldn't be called journey, a journey doesn't take 1 hour of gameplay, it was one of the biggest game teases, because i was having so much fun taking my time, admiring the beuty and then Bam the ending hits you and it's a game over. im not sure if i would have spent 15 dollars if i knew it was this short, but it does deserve an 8 because of everything else except lasting appeal Expand
  63. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Journey of any strict attempt cunningly escapes. Even when the surprising conclusion is reached, what remains is more dazzling than factual information â
  64. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Like all other thatcompanygame productions Journey is something else. Thou short, the game makes it up with a sublime sound-score and superb visuals. Its surprising how attached you can feel to random travelers you meet along the way. In terms of quantity the game is just right, its meant to be played repeatedly. Its one of those cases of quality over quantity. I had never written a reviewLike all other thatcompanygame productions Journey is something else. Thou short, the game makes it up with a sublime sound-score and superb visuals. Its surprising how attached you can feel to random travelers you meet along the way. In terms of quantity the game is just right, its meant to be played repeatedly. Its one of those cases of quality over quantity. I had never written a review or bothered signing up for metacritic, I felt compelled to honor the game. Expand
  65. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    In 25 years of gaming I never had a gaming experience like this.

    Playing the last two Chapters with a stranger was just incredible. Like many others here said before, you start caring for each other in a way you never experienced before. We tried to stay as close to each other as possible to keep each other warm, we cared for each other if one of us got struck by an enemy and we always
    In 25 years of gaming I never had a gaming experience like this.

    Playing the last two Chapters with a stranger was just incredible. Like many others here said before, you start caring for each other in a way you never experienced before. We tried to stay as close to each other as possible to keep each other warm, we cared for each other if one of us got struck by an enemy and we always waited for the other to catch up.

    There was a moment near the end where the heart warming music got to an emotional peak and I suddenly started crying tears of joy...It was just so incredibly intense.

    So if you own a PS3, buy this game, make yourself comfortable, turn up the volume and turn down the light. I'm pretty sure you won't regret it.
    Expand
  66. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    For me at least, this is as good as it gets towards an interactive multi-player (2 player only) experience. The music is beautiful and memorable. The environment changes just enough to stay interesting but not so much that the obvious connection between areas is lost and retains the curiosity to explore it further. The limited interaction between players reflects how people from anywhereFor me at least, this is as good as it gets towards an interactive multi-player (2 player only) experience. The music is beautiful and memorable. The environment changes just enough to stay interesting but not so much that the obvious connection between areas is lost and retains the curiosity to explore it further. The limited interaction between players reflects how people from anywhere can still communicate without words and work together, while the length of the game is also ideal because its not so long that you constantly get pulled away from your companion and not too short to feel like nothing more than a preview of a future game. It's well worth the $15 if you want this experience, but probably way overpriced for anyone that wants an actual traditional game. Pac-man has more 'game' than Journey, but this is a much greater experience than any other game I've played. Expand
  67. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    Journey is not a game for everyone, if you don't think a game is fun unless you are shooting zombies in the face, its probably best to avoid Journey. As the 10's rush in from open-minded gamers there is bound to be a bunch of 0's from people who find this game 'boring' and are shocked that people actually enjoyed this game.
    This game starts off a bit slow, but by the time its ended you
    Journey is not a game for everyone, if you don't think a game is fun unless you are shooting zombies in the face, its probably best to avoid Journey. As the 10's rush in from open-minded gamers there is bound to be a bunch of 0's from people who find this game 'boring' and are shocked that people actually enjoyed this game.
    This game starts off a bit slow, but by the time its ended you have experienced something unlike any other experience. The game only took me 2 and 1/2 hours, but then another hour was spent sitting on the porch looking at the trees in the wind and just reflecting on the experience. This game is a truly meditative zen experience. Flower was just a flight sim in disguise but Journey is unique in almost every way. If you took screenshots randomly throughout the game almost every screenshot would be a work of art worth hanging on your wall.
    The online experience is great, it really feels like you are sharing something special with a stranger. The game is the perfect length, as its certainly not a game that would be good to play with any breaks, you need to sit alone, get comfy, turn up the volume and just chill.
    ThatGameCompany is an amazing developer and I dearly hope Sony renews their contract for another 3 works of art.
    Expand
  68. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    natural progression from flow thru to flower and now journey. That Game Company once again comes up shining with yet another new experience. If you could convey the feeling you get while playing journey to the human race the world would be a more peaceful place. Journey manages to create/convey an almost spiritual feeling of peace/ wonderment/ relaxation and beauty all rolled into one fornatural progression from flow thru to flower and now journey. That Game Company once again comes up shining with yet another new experience. If you could convey the feeling you get while playing journey to the human race the world would be a more peaceful place. Journey manages to create/convey an almost spiritual feeling of peace/ wonderment/ relaxation and beauty all rolled into one for the experience that is journey. That game company do this by using some clever minimalistic design concepts. Of minimal interaction and communication with other players while at the same time the game promotes and plays better if you journey together searching and investigating or later as a spirit guide for the newer players helping them achieve the final hidden gems. Although short at just over 3-hours on my first playthru. Journey requires multiple playthrus to see everything and for it to reveal its secrets. So you can at least triple the game-time. another different idea is you never know how many people you actually met or interacted with until completion of the run thru it could be 1 player or more usual multiple players. A must play if you want to play a totally new concept game instead of the stale shooter genre Expand
  69. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    Journey is a fantastic game. It took me approximately 3 hours to complete it, and for the experience it gave me, it was well worth the $15. I compare it to the The Artist, the Oscar 2011 Best Picture. Journey has no dialogue, but the amazing music composed by Austin Wintory is just splendid. Any true gamer should purchase this diamond, created by the same company that brought flOW and Flower.
  70. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Journey is a perfect example of what can happen when a developer decides to try something different. The game features stunning visuals and a great soundtrack. The multiplayer aspect of the game is unique in a great way. The game is about 2 hours long which may sound short to some at first but after playing the game I can say that 2 hours is just the right amount of time and I can also sayJourney is a perfect example of what can happen when a developer decides to try something different. The game features stunning visuals and a great soundtrack. The multiplayer aspect of the game is unique in a great way. The game is about 2 hours long which may sound short to some at first but after playing the game I can say that 2 hours is just the right amount of time and I can also say without a doubt that it was probably the best 2 hours of gaming I've ever experienced. Journey is truly a work of art that should be experienced by everyone can't wait to start my second playthrough. Expand
  71. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I paid close attention to Journey since its development, intrigued by thatgamecompany's previous offerings and eagerly anticipating their next project. Journey retains Flow and Flower's inimitable style and visual brilliance, while simultaneously blowing them out of the water. Journey is above and beyond everything I expected. I did not expect to to gasp at moments of cinematic sublimity. I did not expect to feel compassion towards bits of floating cloth. I did not expect to suffer incredible loss only to be lifted up to euphoric highs. And most of all, I did not expect to enjoy the entire experience with a nameless stranger. The final moment of the game articulated what I had been feeling for the previous two hours: That the journey is not about your final destination, but what and who you discover along the way. So much has never been said with so little words. Expand
  72. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Oh my god I cannot believe some of you people are giving the game a low score because it's short. Are you honestly serious? Games do not need to be long to be a good experience. It was worth every penny.
  73. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    I have never played a game more emotionally satisfying. Journey sets out to achieve something beautiful, memorable and accessible and it does it. Somehow it pulls everything off perfectly. I have thought and thought about it and there is nothing at all wrong with this game. Nothing it tries to do fails. Multiplayer is seamless and beautiful, there is literally no lag or glitches and theI have never played a game more emotionally satisfying. Journey sets out to achieve something beautiful, memorable and accessible and it does it. Somehow it pulls everything off perfectly. I have thought and thought about it and there is nothing at all wrong with this game. Nothing it tries to do fails. Multiplayer is seamless and beautiful, there is literally no lag or glitches and the download space is tiny. Gameplay is smooth, music and visuals are unmatched. No game is like this, so it sets itself apart. There is nothing else left to say. Go, play and feel the amazement for yourself. Expand
  74. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    This is what games should be. A book describes, a film shows and a game lets you experience. Now we know for sure that games can be art. Truly wondrous.
  75. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    Many people ask "can games be art?" This bite-sized piece of entertainment answers this question with an emphatic "YES!" with unbelievable particle effects, haunting music and gorgeous visuals . More often than not games constantly bark orders at the player and tell them what to do all the time. Journey has one goal. From the beginning of the game you see a huge mountain in the farMany people ask "can games be art?" This bite-sized piece of entertainment answers this question with an emphatic "YES!" with unbelievable particle effects, haunting music and gorgeous visuals . More often than not games constantly bark orders at the player and tell them what to do all the time. Journey has one goal. From the beginning of the game you see a huge mountain in the far distance, and without any prompting you instantly know you must get your little pointy-legged thingy there safely. The lack of heads up display accentuates the biting solitude, making you feel blissfully alone. The finale of this all too short trek leaves you with a genuine sense of accomplishment and wonder. Thatgamecompany has yet again surpassed itself and delivered a mini masterpiece which needs to be played by everyone. Trust me, this is the best ten pounds you will ever spend! Expand
  76. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    Journey could be, but won't be, the beginning of a new type of video game. Every HUD bar, stat number, and dialogue option is replaced by the raw emotions that the game will wring out of intelligent players. It's designed, down to the last grain of sand, to create senses of dread even though you can't die, experience even though you'll only play for two hours, and friendship even thoughJourney could be, but won't be, the beginning of a new type of video game. Every HUD bar, stat number, and dialogue option is replaced by the raw emotions that the game will wring out of intelligent players. It's designed, down to the last grain of sand, to create senses of dread even though you can't die, experience even though you'll only play for two hours, and friendship even though you can only communicate with a whistle. The game's scenery provides the most obvious joys as it switches between golden deserts, kelp forest-like caves, and icy mountains. This is only the surface though, as Journey's most heartfelt joy comes form the multiplayer. Although many may not see it this way, the developers have crated the first troll-proof game. you can play with other humans online but you get no gamer tag, no twelve year old swearing in your ear, and no way to shoot you into the grim reaper's backyard Left 4 Dead style. Anyone who is not interested in bonding with another anonymous human being will simply not play or ignore your character. Journey's intent with multiplayer is clear and brilliant, especially when, at one point int the game, players sticking close to each other will be forced to walk down a narrowing crevice, which eventually turns their two silhouettes into one and symbolizes the new, simple, and strong friendship it has just created. Journey is a joy to all those who see their hearts as crackling fireplaces rather than diesel engines for military vehicles. Expand
  77. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    An experience like none other. One of the most beautiful and appealing games to grace gaming in a long time. The game is short, but was created to play in one sitting. The game simply places you in the shoes of a mysterious robbed figure who, for some reason, is on a Journey across the desert to a Mountain Top in the distance. The game features some of the most visually stunningAn experience like none other. One of the most beautiful and appealing games to grace gaming in a long time. The game is short, but was created to play in one sitting. The game simply places you in the shoes of a mysterious robbed figure who, for some reason, is on a Journey across the desert to a Mountain Top in the distance. The game features some of the most visually stunning landscapes, flawless and easy to navigate controls that are fluid and easy to get through, as well as some of the most mesmerizing music that syncs up perfectly with everything you do on your adventure. Journey includes a new twist on the co-op gameplay, walking around the desert landscapes are actually really fun, and this other figure following you, or leading you around will become one of your best friends, even with no way to communicate (other than musical chirps), on top of that it displays no name.

    This game is an artistic and emotional experience that most people will love, while some who would rather like explosions or gun play may get tired of it. Keep an open mind to a new experience and expect something completely different, because this game features not only that, but an emotional Journey that will be remembered for years to come. Simply amazing, and deserves to be played by anyone.

    10/10.
    Expand
  78. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    If Terrence Malick and Hayao Miyazaki had gotten together to make a game, this would be it. Journey is an amazing, haunting experience. Yes, it is short, but that is also the point; it's supposed to be played in 1 sit, like watching a movie. Don't be fooled though; it's short, but VERY re-playable. I play it at least once a day, so that should tell you something. I've payed $60 bucks forIf Terrence Malick and Hayao Miyazaki had gotten together to make a game, this would be it. Journey is an amazing, haunting experience. Yes, it is short, but that is also the point; it's supposed to be played in 1 sit, like watching a movie. Don't be fooled though; it's short, but VERY re-playable. I play it at least once a day, so that should tell you something. I've payed $60 bucks for games that are much much longer, but ultimately got boring and repetitive, and I ended up ditching them. It's sad that Journey is only available for PS3, because EVERYBODY should experience this at least once. Thatgamecompany has crafted one of the most beautiful games on any platform. Expand
  79. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    Journey is a game that makes you smile the entire way through. Which is, unfortunately short, yet each chapter is different visually, and constantly impresses. The journey to the mountain is excellent, with a clear sense of progression.
    If you happen to stumble upon another traveller, this game begins to shine brighter than the sand. It's exhilarating to travel with someone you do not know
    Journey is a game that makes you smile the entire way through. Which is, unfortunately short, yet each chapter is different visually, and constantly impresses. The journey to the mountain is excellent, with a clear sense of progression.
    If you happen to stumble upon another traveller, this game begins to shine brighter than the sand. It's exhilarating to travel with someone you do not know at all (their psn name only appears upon finishing the game) and you have no way of properly communicating, which somehow bonds you to this unknown person, as you guide each other through.
    To this point, it is a truly sad experience if your journey is interrupted, and you must communicate the fact that you have to leave to your companion, and as you quit the game, your traveller dissipates like sand in the wind.

    The game also has enough variation in the short span, with collectibles and secret areas. Buy this game, play through it, once, twice, doesn't matter, you won't regret it.

    ps. sand dune sliding is the most pleasurable
    Expand
  80. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    If you judge Journey as just a game, it's not that great. It's short, it's easy, there's not even all that much to it, in terms of gameplay. However, thinking of it in broader terms, as unique form of entertainment, that just happens to use the PS3 as a medium, it's incredible. More enjoyable than just a game, more of an experience, and giving it a 10 doesn't even seem adequate.
  81. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    Thatgamecompany definitely knows how to attract such gamers like me. Gamers who are interesting in art. Who like outstanding design and unusual approach to gameplay. Who enjoy meditations and feel so comfortable to relax while playing. Who like beauty.

    Journey is that game. It is beautiful. Short though, but I felt like I was born again when the game is over.
  82. Mar 16, 2012
    9
    A short, but sweet serene adventure. The simplistic art style is absolutely gorgeous, and you'll never look at video game sand the same again. Bumping into fellow wanderers and helping them along the way is a highlight, and the limited communication is in end a thing of beauty. No screaming children or disgruntled neck-bearders. Just a quiet companion to join you.

    The only thing I could
    A short, but sweet serene adventure. The simplistic art style is absolutely gorgeous, and you'll never look at video game sand the same again. Bumping into fellow wanderers and helping them along the way is a highlight, and the limited communication is in end a thing of beauty. No screaming children or disgruntled neck-bearders. Just a quiet companion to join you.

    The only thing I could ask for is for even more play area to explore. I've attained platinum already!
    Expand
  83. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    There is no doubt this game will become a fundamental part of gaming canon. The art, music, and design are world-class. It's innovative, beautiful, and simply moving. I REALLY enjoyed this one.
  84. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Wow. I am shocked, I expected a good game but this is truly beyond compare. Very few games such as these exists and I must say I am speechless. I just can't describe how glorious game it is, sure it might be short, but it is better to spend 1 hour and something of this rather than mindlessly shooting the same Russian, Nazi, whatever constantly for 4 hours.

    Graphics: 10 Sounds and music:
    Wow. I am shocked, I expected a good game but this is truly beyond compare. Very few games such as these exists and I must say I am speechless. I just can't describe how glorious game it is, sure it might be short, but it is better to spend 1 hour and something of this rather than mindlessly shooting the same Russian, Nazi, whatever constantly for 4 hours.

    Graphics: 10
    Sounds and music: 10
    Game-play: 10
    Environments: 10
    Attention to detail: 10
    Originality: 10

    overall: 11/10 !!!!
    Expand
  85. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    ThatGameCompany wanted to delivery something supremely special, and they succeeded in doing that with Journey. The emotional depth of this game goes far beyond that of other contemporary titles. That being said, it is a short game, clocking in somewhere between one and a half to two hours. But packed into this short amount of time lies an experience no one should pass up. MechanicallyThatGameCompany wanted to delivery something supremely special, and they succeeded in doing that with Journey. The emotional depth of this game goes far beyond that of other contemporary titles. That being said, it is a short game, clocking in somewhere between one and a half to two hours. But packed into this short amount of time lies an experience no one should pass up. Mechanically speaking the game is flawless. For your abilities, you will be honing the ones you do have, and improving them. The moments when you are seamlesslty flying through the air, or riding a sand dune are the parts of the game that are brilliantly executed. It feels so easy, and gives way for the player to truly enjoy themselves. In terms of the game design, beautiful set pieces and changing environments explain the games story without any words needed. There is no dialogue in this game, but it works into the philosophy of ThatGameCompany's idea of Game design and works well with the game. There was no point during journey I was expecting dialogue, and I think it would have taken away from the sense of mystery that shrouds the game, and the journey you are embarking on. You start off not knowing what is going on, but by the end, you will definitely have some ideas. The music and tones used for the game are perfect as well. While you cannot speak, you have the ability to "call out", so to speak, and have another player roaming the world see your call from a distance. Another thing about this game is, there are no lobbies, or being able to play with any friend you want. You will simply be a lonely wanderer, until you see another in the distance, calling to you. You can either journey together, or alone. You will meet many people throughout different levels, and at the end you can know the names of those you've played with, but thats the extent of it. You cannot play the game with whoever you choose, the game does not allow it. INstead, a true bond is formed between the two partners, the two strangers. Overall, journey isn't a game for those who don't want a transcendental experience, because thats what this is. Journey isn't for those who want something less, it is for those who want something more. Expand
  86. May 23, 2012
    7
    With pleasant graphics and a stylish gameplay, Journey seems to be the last sensation in independent games. Honestly, it is a good game, and it will specially appeal the most "Japanese" players with its unique atmospheres, reminiscent of Shadow of the Colossus. So why does the game get only a 7 from an European like me ? In one word: depth. Apart of the graphics/music and atmosphere theWith pleasant graphics and a stylish gameplay, Journey seems to be the last sensation in independent games. Honestly, it is a good game, and it will specially appeal the most "Japanese" players with its unique atmospheres, reminiscent of Shadow of the Colossus. So why does the game get only a 7 from an European like me ? In one word: depth. Apart of the graphics/music and atmosphere the game itself is quite simple and small, in fact the action takes place in small playing areas where physical enigmas will keep you busy.. for maximum two hours (yes, the whole gameplay takes a couple hours).
    Worth the money for its dream-like touch and the original approach to multiplayer (reduced interactivity with random-picked players) but not the life-changing experience some reviewers claim it is.
    Expand
  87. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I've spent 4 out of the last 5 nights playing this game. I'm just floored. That first time was magical as the "experience" people talk about, but on the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th run-through it occurred to me that aside form being an incredible experience, this is also a fun game. I went around until I found every single glyph, and now I've earned myself a white robe. Now I fly around helpingI've spent 4 out of the last 5 nights playing this game. I'm just floored. That first time was magical as the "experience" people talk about, but on the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th run-through it occurred to me that aside form being an incredible experience, this is also a fun game. I went around until I found every single glyph, and now I've earned myself a white robe. Now I fly around helping others out. It's actually super fun on the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th run through as well. I mean, I don't see myself spending 50 hours playing this game like I did with Red Dead Redemption, or 100+ hours I've played in Uncharted multiplayer, but I most definitely don't agree with the people who say this game has little replay value. This is one of those games I'll definitely go back to on a lazy night time after time. Expand
  88. May 14, 2012
    10
    Journey is nothing less than an astounding piece of art. The fluid animations and crisp graphics are amazing, if you thought Uncharted 3 looked great you've yet to see Journey. Whilst Journey will have a certain acquired taste and many will say its not a 'game' I thoroughly disagree as at the core of this piece of art is an encapsulating world which is created so wonderfully around youJourney is nothing less than an astounding piece of art. The fluid animations and crisp graphics are amazing, if you thought Uncharted 3 looked great you've yet to see Journey. Whilst Journey will have a certain acquired taste and many will say its not a 'game' I thoroughly disagree as at the core of this piece of art is an encapsulating world which is created so wonderfully around you that you'll be absorbed for long stretches. Many make the point that the game is short and doesn't justify a £9.99 price tag and while it could stand to be cheaper, you can see that this is a game with high production values around every corner, there was certainly no cutting corners. Also exciting is the seamless online integration where another random Journey player who is also connected can jump in and out and help you out however to communicate you can only simply use what I call 'beacons' which will look unique to yourself and the other player and make different sounds. Reminding me that the music to accompany the games is nothing short of the most soothing music at times and a wild orchestra at others a masterpiece.

    Presentation: 10 Graphics: 10
    Gameplay: 10
    Sound: 10
    Lasting Appeal: 8.0
    Value for money: 10
    Expand
  89. Apr 11, 2012
    8
    I didn't play Journey. I watched as my best friend played it. But I was simply captivated by this game. Four main reasons for why it's AWESOME: 1. It really feels unique, not just for the gameplay, but also for the setting and the plot; 2. Journey makes you think about thousand things, from ancient civilisations to cartoons you saw in your childhood, but also - why not? - even poses youI didn't play Journey. I watched as my best friend played it. But I was simply captivated by this game. Four main reasons for why it's AWESOME: 1. It really feels unique, not just for the gameplay, but also for the setting and the plot; 2. Journey makes you think about thousand things, from ancient civilisations to cartoons you saw in your childhood, but also - why not? - even poses you metaphysical questions. 3. Graphics are stunning! 4. Multiplayer... my God, multiplayer in Journey is a masterpiece! Pinging with a stranger is probably more engaging and socializing (albeit in anonymous way) than many hours I spent in WoW and other "social" games... I give this game 8. I would give it 9 if not for the last part before the ending, which left me a bit disappointed because of being a bit too much arcade... It felt like Sonic or Rayman, not Journey... Expand
  90. Mar 29, 2012
    8
    Journey isn't so much a game (of course I shall continue to contradict myself henceforth by referring to it as a game) as it is an experience in the same vein as Dear Esther. But unlike Dear Esther, Journey is genuinely original and manages to offer just enough interactivity and narrative structure to not be categorised as just another boring artsy non-interactive slide-show. Journey isJourney isn't so much a game (of course I shall continue to contradict myself henceforth by referring to it as a game) as it is an experience in the same vein as Dear Esther. But unlike Dear Esther, Journey is genuinely original and manages to offer just enough interactivity and narrative structure to not be categorised as just another boring artsy non-interactive slide-show. Journey is visually stunning, beautifully constructed and wonderfully compelling. The co-op gameplay adds depth and it's genuinely fun singing at people you meet. I don't want to be spoilerific so I won't go into anymore than that. Only drawbacks are a very short playtime (1-2 hours) and a few parts where the game drags a little - offering nothing visually exciting for minutes at a time in such a short game is kind of a pain. But overall definitely worth a look for anyone. Expand
  91. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    This is truly one of the most beautiful game I have ever played, there was so much emotion without any dialogue making the experience that much more pure. This game is very spiritual in the way it will make you feel by playing. Some may argue about the length of the game, while I agree the game is very short for 15 dollars, it is an experience that you can enjoy over and over. One buyingThis is truly one of the most beautiful game I have ever played, there was so much emotion without any dialogue making the experience that much more pure. This game is very spiritual in the way it will make you feel by playing. Some may argue about the length of the game, while I agree the game is very short for 15 dollars, it is an experience that you can enjoy over and over. One buying this game shouldn't considering it just purchasing a game, its a piece of art. The way i look at it is we generally will easily pay $10 + to see a movie at the theatre and with that comes a lot of advertisements and you only get that experience once. For the price of this game you can get an experience that would rival any movie, there are no advertisements what so ever and you can enjoy it over and over. If all you like to do in games is kill and blow things up; then pass on this game, if however you play games for the deep experience and interactive storytelling and care more than just your kill count this game is a must buy. It is an experience like no other and truly shows the potential games can be. I feel just as comfortable playing this game by myself or my friends as well as when i'm with my priest. A piece of art that everyone can truly enjoy. Expand
  92. Mar 21, 2012
    9
    What an incredible piece of art. The visuals were simply beautiful and so was the music. Rarely does a game comes so close to perfection. I was moved by the beauty and minimalism of the the game but even more so by the companionship and shared experience I had with the other character in the game. Communication and cooperation came so naturally that it was if we had know each other forWhat an incredible piece of art. The visuals were simply beautiful and so was the music. Rarely does a game comes so close to perfection. I was moved by the beauty and minimalism of the the game but even more so by the companionship and shared experience I had with the other character in the game. Communication and cooperation came so naturally that it was if we had know each other for years. This will be one of those games that people will look back on twenty years from now and mention with fondness. Expand
  93. Apr 22, 2012
    10
    Journey is a one-of-a-kind game, as you venture through with strangers, and no communicating whatsoever, except the chirping you have. So far, this is my top 2012 game pick.
  94. Dec 11, 2012
    8
    I truly wanted to love journey, and wished it was going to be the best game ever, but in the end although it was beautiful and had amazing graphics, it was an experience not much of a game, and a short one at that. I wish it was a bit longer, but that is the nature of things. still worth trying I enjoyed it, but couldn't help be disappointed by the length. Which is the main reason iI truly wanted to love journey, and wished it was going to be the best game ever, but in the end although it was beautiful and had amazing graphics, it was an experience not much of a game, and a short one at that. I wish it was a bit longer, but that is the nature of things. still worth trying I enjoyed it, but couldn't help be disappointed by the length. Which is the main reason i haven't played the unfinished swan. Collapse
  95. Apr 10, 2012
    10
    I made an account here just to review this game. I have never been so emotionally invested in any game I've ever played, there isn't any way I can describe it. Honestly if you own a PS3 then this game is a must have. Just go buy it now.
  96. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    If there is something that transcends the definition of game that something is Journey.
    Call the Journey game is something wrong simply because he surpasses himself.
    Getting something so incredible for a game downloaded itself deserves 10, but I would not be disappointed if this game was physical, thus give you a nice round 10.
  97. Aug 23, 2012
    10
    Journey isn't so much a game, as an experience. The fact that it explains NOTHING to you, and gives you no background, is part of the charm. You get into this world, and you don't know why, but you HAVE to get to that mountain. Graphically it blows everything out of the water. Not to mention the multiplayer element is pure genius. You can run into anyone in this world and you don't knowJourney isn't so much a game, as an experience. The fact that it explains NOTHING to you, and gives you no background, is part of the charm. You get into this world, and you don't know why, but you HAVE to get to that mountain. Graphically it blows everything out of the water. Not to mention the multiplayer element is pure genius. You can run into anyone in this world and you don't know who they are, but you have to work together. For all you know, you could be playing with a Nazi, but you feel an emotional connection to them that I haven't felt in a game since Morrowind. Then at the ending (not gonna spoil it) I actually cried. Journey deserves what it gets, and what it gets is a solid 10! Expand
  98. May 14, 2013
    10
    Unusually Journey is a game that lives up to the tremendous hype behind it. The game is astonishingly beautiful not only in the graphics but in the heart felt nature of it's word-less story. While interaction is limited, it never feels lacking like the game has just everything it needs in the right quantity. With enough variation in the places you visit to make you feel like you truly haveUnusually Journey is a game that lives up to the tremendous hype behind it. The game is astonishingly beautiful not only in the graphics but in the heart felt nature of it's word-less story. While interaction is limited, it never feels lacking like the game has just everything it needs in the right quantity. With enough variation in the places you visit to make you feel like you truly have been travelling a long way to get to your destination. It also manages to do something I never thought possible, get online gamers to work together without bickering and fighting. I will never forget the people I travelled with, even if I don't really know them. Expand
  99. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    Journey is beautiful and involving. I didn't find it moving, but it is fascinating.

    I played online and had a companion for each chapter. I wasn't actually sure whether they were other players or a computer character, because they were integrated into the cut scenes too. It was thrilling. However for an experience this immersive it is over far too quickly. Less is more aesthetically, but
    Journey is beautiful and involving. I didn't find it moving, but it is fascinating.

    I played online and had a companion for each chapter. I wasn't actually sure whether they were other players or a computer character, because they were integrated into the cut scenes too. It was thrilling.

    However for an experience this immersive it is over far too quickly. Less is more aesthetically, but I was still exploring after two hours, and was definitely not ready or expecting to have to wrap up so soon. A shame that in the end something so measured ends up feeling attenuated ... Regardless, the game is genuinely stunning, obviously made with love, and it tells a mythic story with a light hand, which I liked. I hope it's a success, as it suggests new directions for what's possible with setting and atmosphere in games.
    Expand
  100. Dec 11, 2012
    0
    I truly wanted to love journey, and wished it was going to be the best game ever, but in the end although it was beautiful and had amazing graphics, it was an experience not much of a game, and a short one at that. I wish it was a bit longer, but that is the nature of things. still worth trying I enjoyed it, but couldn't help be disappointed by the length. Which is the main reason iI truly wanted to love journey, and wished it was going to be the best game ever, but in the end although it was beautiful and had amazing graphics, it was an experience not much of a game, and a short one at that. I wish it was a bit longer, but that is the nature of things. still worth trying I enjoyed it, but couldn't help be disappointed by the length. Which is the main reason i haven't played the unfinished swan. Collapse
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 78 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 78
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 78
  3. Negative: 1 out of 78
  1. Mar 22, 2013
    100
    An ethereal, innovative, emotional cooperative experience, thatgamecompany’s Journey is one that any PlayStation 3 owner should take.
  2. Sep 20, 2012
    95
    If there was ever a game deserving of the word beautiful in it's description, it's Journey. The game is stunning to look at, satisfying to play and oozes atmosphere from every angle of its dynamic story and immersive world. Sure it's short by regular game standards but Journey is not a regular game. If your ready for an experience that will surprise you, move you and stick with you for many years after its done, then maybe this is the Journey for you.
  3. Hyper Magazine
    May 14, 2012
    90
    Clever, emotive, and easily the best downloadable game so far this year. [June 2012, p.58]