• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 13, 2012
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1132 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 3, 2012
    6
    Way too short to justify its price, and I certainly would have given it a higher score if it had just been cheaper. Instead, it's hard to escape the feeling I was ripped off. Still, the game is engaging and original, giving the player an immersive environment in which to explore and come up with their own narrative as to what's going on exactly. And figuring out logic and physics of the game world is a lot of fun the first couple time you play it. Expand
  2. Apr 8, 2012
    4
    Journey is not bad game, it's not fun, yet still has an appeal to it, but the whole time I played it there was that niggle in the back of my mind saying "I only like this because I've been told how good it is." In truth journey is a fairly linear and boring, and my initial perception was altered by what I had heard of the game. Twenty minutes into the game this wore off and I began to see what Journey really was; a obsessed with it's own self importance that it can't be bothered to tell a coherant story but instead uses pseudoistic imagery to cover up for the non-existant story. Towards the end I did garner something from the game as me and my fellow adventurer which the game had seamlessly connected me too slowly trudged through the snow. It was to say the least brilliant. It was the only real moment me and my companion shared and we'd been together since the start of the game. Marching onward close to death until we fell into the snow unable to continue. It was raw, it was powerful, no thought is as colloasal as that of failure.

    However in the game industry there is a misconception that for a game to be good it must have a happy ending and suddenly the raw emotion and loss I felt from me and my companion dying evaporated as we were miraculously revived and finished out journey. Regardless of how good a game is if that satasfaction only occurs for 15 minutes towards the end of a two hour game and that moment is then stripped away and may as welll never occured then I'm sorry but it's not worth my time or money.
    Expand
  3. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    When I was done playing, I went over to twitter to personally thanked the crew that made this game. I was soooo happy. Finally! This game is going to be at top-5 2012 for sure!
  4. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Journey of any strict attempt cunningly escapes. Even when the surprising conclusion is reached, what remains is more dazzling than factual information â
  5. May 10, 2012
    10
    It is all about experience. This game is absolutely breathtaking to play and probably the best downloadable game on the Playstation Network and one of the best games I have played on the Playstation 3. While only 2 hours in length, these two hours are one of the most reflective experiences you will ever have in any video game. The gameplay is extremely easy so anyone can play, the graphics are one of the best I have ever seen in a video game and in my opinion, might give Uncharted 3's graphics a run for its money and the online cooperative adds more emotional depth into the experience. Buy it, download it, experience it. Expand
  6. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Magical. Inspiring. Beautiful. This one has it all and more. I couldn't stop smiling while exploring the world of Journey. Be warned, though: as a side effect it made me go back and buy the other 2 games from this developer. :)
  7. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    The game is short, but I assure you will live a unique experience, I loved the game, the graphics are excellent, the music is amazing ... the game is linear, but worth the $ 14.99 and more
  8. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    There really nothing I have seen or read that could have prepared me for this experience. Regardless, I don't want to spoil a single inch of this game. This may sound ridiculous, but perhaps after playing it you will understand. This game completely challenges the very concepts of what video games can be and the kinds of long inert emotions we've never known existed. Anyone with an open-mind and taste for exploration and art should be playing this game. Expand
  9. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Journey is truly a work of art. The sounds, the images, the anonymity, the simplicity. This is more than a game. It allows the player to experience emotion in its purest and most primitive forms. It is proof that human nature is to unify. Journey cannot be missed. Every game with 3 too many iterations, every game that tacks on multiplayer to be "relevant," every game that rushes out to retail with too many glitches, every game with day 1 DLC, every "safe" game that doesn't meander from the tried and true, take note. Take many notes. Journey is what you should strive to be. Be humbled. Thank you thatgamecompany for Journey. Thank you Austin Wintory and co. for the intimate soundtrack. This is what gaming should be. Expand
  10. Aug 10, 2012
    9
    An emotional, and creative experience, and not just artistically, but technically. I went into the game nothing, and after becoming attached to my companion I finished the game only to find out I was playing co-op the whole time (I wondered why the AI seemed so intelligent and anxious). The down side being that the game is very short, and very easy.
  11. Mar 15, 2012
    6
    Journey takes less than an hour to complete. It's a worthwhile experience, but for $15 I expected a little more. I will say that this game has a soothing nature to it. It's got tense and bleak moments as well, and there's a sense of fulfillment when completing the game. The concept of multiplayer is interesting in Journey. You will get random people popping into your game (I had 8 total during my playthrough), and they can help you or just be all-around useless. I don't like how some trophies are highly dependent on who you get as a partner in your game, seeing that it's random. In any case, this is a decent game, but it left me wanting more. Expand
  12. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    The game is beautiful and immersive. Mechanics are smooth and wonderfully intuitive. In short, it is a joy to play. The experience stuck with me long after I was away from my PS3. Some have complained about length, but for me, this is non-issue. The replay value is great, especially for the second and even third play through. Also, my time is valuable. I would rather play a great game that lasts an hour an half than a merely good game that lasts much longer. Highly recommend. Expand
  13. May 23, 2012
    6
    Welcome to Journey, the next world religion if you read some of these reviews. I give it marks for some heart and successfully putting a concept on display. But that's all it is, a $15 demo that gives us all an idea of the fresh direction video games could go in the future. If it were anything more, the developers would have charged more. Simple as that. In and of itself, however, this game isn't really a game. It's like watching a movie with a joystick. You're fooled into thinking it's not absolutely linear because your dude can jump around and climb hills to see views of, uh, more emptiness. It doesn't require skill, the music provides all the emotion, and there is more danger lurking in the first level of Super Mario Brothers than in this entire game. I mean, even Luigi jumping on a flagpole thinks Journey is too easy. The game is a "yeah life is hard, but it's worth it/have hope/enjoy the journey/etc." symbol. So if you just broke up with a significant other or your parents got divorced or whatever, you're going read way too much into this thing and be like, "Yeah, that's me, pushing against the cold wind, hiding from monsters. That is SO just like my life." Well, guess what. That's everyone's life. Way less replay value than people claim. One and done. Heartwarming. Momentarily fun. Innovative. Whimsical. Boring. Nice. Beautiful. Short. Intriguing. Overrated. Save yourself the money and just watch someone else play it on YouTube. Don't tell me you need to personally be the one holding the stick forward for two hours to get what this game is about. Expand
  14. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    Despite everything I'd heard and seen of "Journey", no one could have convinced me that I would be close to tears by the end of it -- first of sadness, then of joy. Ninety of the best minutes I've spent holding the PS3 controller. You'd pay twice this price for an incredible ninety-minute film on Blu-Ray -- and consider the support you're giving thatgamecompany to develop more gems like this one.
  15. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Very few games offer an experience that shows so much through the use of so few words. The beautiful art style leads you to see a once beautiful society that only exists fully in the minds of the player. Thank you to thatgamecompany for creating what could possibly be the most thoughtful and thought provoking game of this year.
  16. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    Just as Journey does not need any words or dialog to convey your emotions, reviews cannot explain it in mere words. To make this short(like the game), this is one of the most emotional and touching games I have had the pleasure to play. It's a game anyone, even non-gamers, can play and fall in love with. It will hold you untill the very end, and as the credits roll you will realise that you have just played one of the best games of the generation, or probably of all time. Do play this game. Our industry needs more games like this and the developers deserve all the credits we can give them. Expand
  17. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    This game is truly amazing, its not often games live up to the hype but this one does. It is the most beautiful game I have ever played and if your playing this with a good stereo im sure you would agree. The music is as much a part of the game as the gameplay itself. The experience is so beautiful that I am going to be booking sessions for my friends so they can experience the game in my theater. I personally wasnt bothered by the short length, I thought it was appropriate and well worth the price considering the quality. This is yet another to have get a ps3 if you dont have one. Expand
  18. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    One of the greatest experiences I've ever had playing a video game. The music and graphics are absolutely beautiful. So simple yet overwhelming. Even after I collected all of the trophies and collectibles I continued playing it just for fun. Highly recommended.
  19. May 28, 2012
    10
    Lovely game. Starts out slow, but draws you into the "journey" as you progress. Visuals are beautiful. The musical scores is the thing that really sets the tone. Meeting other players online is a nice experience. Being helped along by friendly souls felt so nice. While there's not much of a story or action, this gaming experience is touching and unique. Worth every cent!
  20. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    Not so much a game as a work of art come to life. During the closing sections of this title, I burst into tears. It moved me like no other game has. I don't know why, exactly... But if you are looking for true catharsis in a video game, look no further. People sometimes mention that the game is too short. Yes... It is very short, but every second you hold the controller is wonderful. It's a perfectly formed and executed game and the fact that you can finish it in just one sitting merely adds to the cohesive, unique atmosphere that Journey offers... And it is a Journey that I plan to take quite a few more times. Expand
  21. Mar 16, 2012
    9
    Lots of people are complaining about this because it was fifteen dollars and less than two hours. That is true, but fifteen dollars really isn't much for a video game. A movie ticket cost almost as much and doesn't give the sense of mystery and exploration this does. People need to understand that THE PEOPLE MAKING THESE GAMES HAVE TO MAKE MONEY. It's not something they do for fun alone. The game is beautiful and fun. Don't be cheap. Expand
  22. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    Journey defines a beautiful game. It's a short game, designed to be played through in one sitting and then repeatedly played in order to give the player the feel of a different journey. The world in which Journey is based is so beautifully designed that you will find yourself stopping to look around and admire the scenery. One of the games core aspects is its take on multiplayer - another companion can join your journey at any time; you can travel together but communication is limited the a single action of emitting a whale-like call. Journey is a lovely little game, that anyone who appreciates ingenuity and art will enjoy. Expand
  23. Nov 6, 2012
    10
    So far the best art game I've played. So simple and achingly beautiful. A game that gives you just enough story so you create your own narrative as you go. Every play through really is a Journey that you'll remember. It's short but you won't find a more perfect and beautiful game experience out there. Game of the year.
  24. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    After 10 minutes, I couldn't put the controller down until I finished the game. Many artsy-games stray too far into art and fall into confusing, messes of frustration. Journey, on the other hand, is one of the best examples of artistic expression and story-telling through the video game medium. If the art style, wordless narrative, or discovery don't grab you, the anonymous multiplayer will. You communicate by "sing-shouting" to one another, which quickly becomes familiar and delightful. There's something humbling about exploring a world with a stranger while having a vocabulary that's been reduced to one word and I felt more connected with my anonymous companions in Journey than any other gamers I've met in public online gaming sessions. Journey is an amazing story-telling experience that didn't lose its video game hat. Expand
  25. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I've spent 4 out of the last 5 nights playing this game. I'm just floored. That first time was magical as the "experience" people talk about, but on the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th run-through it occurred to me that aside form being an incredible experience, this is also a fun game. I went around until I found every single glyph, and now I've earned myself a white robe. Now I fly around helping others out. It's actually super fun on the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th run through as well. I mean, I don't see myself spending 50 hours playing this game like I did with Red Dead Redemption, or 100+ hours I've played in Uncharted multiplayer, but I most definitely don't agree with the people who say this game has little replay value. This is one of those games I'll definitely go back to on a lazy night time after time. Expand
  26. Apr 4, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am not going to make a lot of friends with this one but here we go. To me this just isn't worth $15 dollars. I played it once and two of my friends played it once. I would guess we got a total of 3 hours of gameplay out of it and I will most likely never touch it again. Is the music great and touching, yes. Are the graphics beautiful and moving, yes. But I don't understand how you put an orchestral soundtrack running in the background of your game and everyone thinks the story is deep and meaningful (I am looking at your Halo), when the truth is, It isn't. It's about life, it's about death, it's about rebirth. No, it's actually about how if against all logic you decide to chase a shiny object on a hill and believe that it might be a good idea to walk 5 miles in the snow only wearing a burka (which is clearly made for the desert, and misogyny) everything will be ok because the tall white gods in the sky will take you to heaven where you and any idiot that followed you will be burned to death in a golden glowing light. You can say I just didn't get it, but my guess is you didn't get it either and you decided to find meaning in your misunderstanding. I am not saying this game is crap. It is a beautiful piece of interactive art but I want all the people giving this game 10's to ask themselves if Journey is really what the pinnacle of game is. Or if they are just so jaded that a game essentially has to trick them like the emperor and is new clothes that they are the only one who doesn't get it. Expand
  27. May 28, 2012
    10
    More a work of art than a game.Incredibly beautiful but short at barely 2 hours long.There is a slight replay value but it's expensive for what you get,so caveat emptor.
  28. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    Think Portal. I could end my review there. Incredibly short? Yes. Worth it? Oh hell yes! As others have said, it's an experience tough to put into words. It's less a "game" than it is an "experience." And I feel that Journey (like Portal) contained more plot, more memorable moments, than most full-length games. If you're the kind of person who shys away at colors other than grey and brown, and cringe at the thought of any story outside of "blow the guy in front of you up" then by all means, skip this one. If you're sick of games that had little to no thought put into it outside of the engine, then this is definitely the game for you. Expand
  29. Dec 7, 2012
    10
    It's hard to describe exactly what Journey is. As a game it's incredibly shallow. As the name implies it is nothing more then a Journey, a trip from point "A" to point "B". You won't be fending off countless hoards, you won't be saving the princess, and you won't be competing for the high score. You will be walking, sometimes jumping, and occasionally you will be wishing you could run. But if you think of it as something other then a game you find something amazing. So to say this is a game doesn't really quite grasp it's full essence. It is... a Journey. (Curse them and their perfect naming)

    To comprehend this a bit better I think of what Jesse Schell writes in his book "The Art of Game Design" on the topic of what a Game Designer does he has this to say: "Ultimately, a game designer does not care about games....When people play games, they have an experience. It is this experience that the designer cares about. Without the experience, the game is worthless." And this is what Journey has done. They created a truly unique experience, that while being interactive is not necessarily a game. Game Designers for years have tried to tell story through interactive mediums, ever since the first MUDs, and text based adventures. And while we've gotten some truly spectacular games out of these attempts, we rarely see a truly spectacular story. The stories we do see could be better told through book or film. But Journey has proven that it can be done through an interactive medium , and not only that but they can make it amazing. They've crafted something between game, book, and movie and it's fantastic. The real trick now is to see if they can do it again, or to see if anyone can ever do it again. This may just be a beautiful fluke, a nice bit of intrigue that will eventually be nothing more then a footnote in gaming history. Something that people will read about and say, "Sounds interesting." And then will never think about again. Can't wait to see if it takes us somewhere new.
    Expand
  30. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    An amazing and beautiful game, and a breath of fresh air. The graphics are jaw-dropping and the ability of the game to tell a story with zero dialogue or text is similarly impressive. Words cannot really describe the emotions I felt as I finished the game. Go buy and play the game yourself. Unless you're a troglodyte, you'll be impressed.
  31. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Journey is the closest thing to meditation for gamers that has ever existed. It is stunningly beautiful and utterly enchanting from start to finish. Don't let the shortness put you off as this game delivers in emotion in its 2 hr span, more than any 10 hr + game that i have played.

    I cannot stress enough how good this game is. Starting alone as a nameless stranger with mere jumping and singing at your disposal, to sand surfing and flying and meeting fellow travelers (also nameless) on your quest to the mountain. Everything and anything this game does is something you simply must experience. Please stop reading this now and go and play Journey.
    Expand
  32. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    This is probably the first downloadable game that I'd ever consider winning game of the year. First let's get this out of the way, the game is only 2 to 3 hours long, but I can guarantee you that those few hours will be an experience like none other. The gameplay is simplistic, only being able to sing and jump and float around. It is fairly linear, but the setting felt vast at moments. The game is a work of art. Period. The emotion and story that is conveyed is powerful, despite there being no dialog. The painting like art style and gorgeous environments really suck you into the game. I actually sat my controller down at moments just to look at what was on my screen, it was that amazing.The music is also beautiful and truly fits the feel of the game. Prior to playing this game, I decided to beat this game in one sitting. I have played it multiple times and I highly recommend playing it this way, because the impact of the game is all the more powerful that way. Also, despite this game being playable offline, you will want to play it online. The emotional connection that you create with a person that you never talk to once is so mind boggling strong that I literally cried a bit when I had to depart from my newly made comrade. If you have $15, just waiting to be spent, look no further than Journey to fill any gaming desire you have. Thatgamecompany should be applauded for adding something new and beautiful to our gaming lives. Despite it's shortness, I fail to find any other flaws in the game, and the all around experience is something every gamer should try. Journey gets a 10/10. Expand
  33. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    If there's an afterlife I want it to be exactly like this game. It's art. It's love. It's human compassion and trust and beauty and peace. It is what humanity would be if it lost the power to hate. It isn't a game. It's..... God!
  34. Jun 19, 2012
    9
    The game is incredibly simple and there really isn't much to it. You really just walk around, occasionally use a chirping noise to activate things and avoid contact with some rare enemies. That being said the game is visually stunning and even though no words transpire it easily becomes an emotional experience. I won't give it away but you will get to a point where you'll be thinking to yourself, "This isn't possible and I won't let it happen!" The amazing thing is that throughout your journey you will see another individual and you'll assume it's the same person but you'll discover at the end your adventure was shared with many others. I was unable to stop this game until I finished it and I've gone back several times as this is a relaxing game that you experience not play. Understand that there isn't any action and it's not some brain teaser, it's a very simple game but it does simplicity better than anything I've ever played. Expand
  35. Apr 14, 2012
    4
    I do not understand these reviewers, it's as if we played a different game. I encourage you to read this before you spend the steep 15 dollars on this game. In short, Journey had so much potential and was initially so intriguing but by the end your journey is for nothing; there is no pay off, no explanation, and if you really made a bond with your SIX (or more) random pals may I introduce you to my wall? Really.

    I enjoy artsy games and movies. I love a good and a simple storyline because generally games like those have one or two profound things to say. On the surface Journey seems to have that. When you meet your "partner" for the first time it's exciting: here's someone who can help me along in this place. But in the end it's a solo experience. At first, I thought it might be important to wait for my partner as they bounded this way and that, so I did. Then I lost them. Then I forged ahead and determined there was no need for them. You literally have no need for the other person and in fact they slow you down.

    Then things get more intense and you're faced with an enemy.... who hits you hard and does basically nothing to you, so there's no danger and nothing a partner could have done anyway. Things get more intense, you're fighting against the elements but while you're freezing nothing is really happening to you. I found another partner and they just ran from me, there was no reason for us to be together.

    You get to the end and you expect some epiphany, something as touching as these reviewers claim there is but there is NOTHING. You walk into a white light and it literally says "Thank you for playing Journey!" ...really? You leave the game as clueless as you entered it. The description promises you'll uncover or learn something and that is just a flat lie.

    A beautiful game with a great concept and tons of hype but in the end it could not be less worthwhile.
    Expand
  36. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    There's not much to say. And I don't want to repeat what it's being said about it. The beauty, the loneliness, the haunting atmosphere, the anonymous encounters. I'm in awe, speechless, still. "Journey" is not a game. It's a miracle.
  37. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    It may only last a couple two hours and, aside from a few simple puzzles, there is little actual gameplay but there is no other experience in gaming like playing Journey. Anyone that doubts video games can be an art form must surely change their minds after playing this.
  38. Apr 2, 2012
    9
    Journey is an artistic game with so much emotion, but has no dialog, which is a great accomplishment, much like ICO and Shadow of the Colossus. Journey is a beautiful game to look at from the Sun reflecting off the sand to the movement of your character. This game proves that video games are art. The game is very simple to play, but since it is simple it makes it relaxing and helps you enjoy the story. You play a character that is traveling to a high mountain in the distance. On the way you will be walking through a desert then high up in the snowy mountain. There are creatures on the game, which you are tasked with staying out of their sight. The game also has a co-op aspect, which is simple yet helpful. As you make the journey you might meet up with other players that can help you solve puzzles quicker and even help each other regenerate you magic which makes you fly for a brief period. Journey is a simple yet entertaining fun game that proves that video games are art. Expand
  39. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    I'm not a casual gamer but this one intrigued me. it was incredible. Short, but very memorable. I haven't had a gaming experience like Journey. If I had to criticize anything, it would be the length, but it was just long enough that made it came together so well.
  40. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    For me at least, this is as good as it gets towards an interactive multi-player (2 player only) experience. The music is beautiful and memorable. The environment changes just enough to stay interesting but not so much that the obvious connection between areas is lost and retains the curiosity to explore it further. The limited interaction between players reflects how people from anywhere can still communicate without words and work together, while the length of the game is also ideal because its not so long that you constantly get pulled away from your companion and not too short to feel like nothing more than a preview of a future game. It's well worth the $15 if you want this experience, but probably way overpriced for anyone that wants an actual traditional game. Pac-man has more 'game' than Journey, but this is a much greater experience than any other game I've played. Expand
  41. Jul 20, 2012
    10
    Journey is really beautiful, but if it was a solo experience I'd probably give it an 8. The people you meet along the way are what makes Journey really unique. Your mileage may vary depending on who you run across, but ideally you'll meet at least a couple people who know what they're doing and are willing to stay with you and help you out. When you have a partner, the game is a lot more meaningful, and it makes the times when you don't have a partner that much more emotional. The subtle communication via pinging lets you show a lot, from a large "over here!" burst, to a frantic "help help help help help help", to a simple "thanks for being with me". Expand
  42. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    Great game, great story, great atmosphere, I enjoyed the handling, and the sensation of speed at certain points in the game. What I didn't like were one lengthy part of the game that I found dragged on needlessly long, this is why its a 9/10 for me.
  43. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    Simply incredible, it may be short but what a beautiful ride to the horizon. 10 pounds may seem a little steep but when the visuals and audio are this fantastic who cares. A completely refreshing experience when compared to the modern hum drum by the numbers games that most developers pump out. A perfect example of when a game elevates itself to true art. The imagination that went into this is reason I play video games... To be entertained. Expand
  44. Mar 18, 2012
    9
    Very very good little game. The graphics are top class as is the music which adds some real emotion to the game. Some people could get put off by the lack of narration and clearly defined plot but for me it was a minor inconvenience. You could also argue that £10 is a bit much to pay for a game which lasts for about 45mins approx. Saying that because of how gripping the game was I expect to play it a couple more times at least.
    I also liked the online element, playing with someone added an extra layer to an already very enjoyable adventure.
    It's not going to be everyone's cup of tea but in my opinion Journey has been another excellent release from thatgamecompany and is highly recommended!
    Expand
  45. Feb 24, 2013
    1
    12,99 just to go for a walk for an hour? Graphics look good but everything else is just not there. How anyone can be so amazed about Journey is gonna stay a secret for me.
  46. Mar 13, 2012
    8
    Journey is a great little game. Amazing graphics, great music, and a somewhat unique multiplayer mechanic make it a memorable experience. I especially liked the fact that there was no dialogue so you were forced to use the sounds and body language of your character in order to communicate with your companion. I felt like it could have been just a little bit longer.. maybe another hour or so. All in all, definitely worth $15. Expand
  47. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    How are you people beating this in an hour and a half?!? I'm confused by this. It took me four and a half hours to get through it the first time. I didn't even explore! I just went through the game! I never died. I never slowed down. I simply went through the game. Did I get a longer game or something? Regardless, I do love this game. I don't get the "emotional" aspect of it though...that critics seem to talk about. I honestly think they're just trying to be even more pretentious than all the other critics. It is a phenomenal game, however. Story? No. No story. Characters? Not really. There is no reason to care about your character, the people you meet online, or even about a plot. You are simply taking in the atmosphere and trying to work toward a goal. it is beautiful and, at times, awe-inspiring. Emotional though? No. That is Shadow of the Colossus, Heavy Rain, and Kingdom Hearts territory. Journey is simply an interactive piece of artwork, much like Linger in Shadows, but there is DEFINITELY more interaction in Journey. Flower still remains my favorite game by Thegamecompany, but Journey is never leaving my PS3. Would it kill them to give us a platinum trophy? Seriously... What the frick, guys? Also, can we get a 3D patch? This is a gorgeous game and 3D would really push it over the edge for me. The same goes for Flower. ;) Expand
  48. Mar 21, 2012
    7
    A simple but unique game. I enjoyed it and the sand tech is rather nice. The first time I saw another little person in my world it surprised me. I carefully watched them and wondered what they were doing, I didn't realize this game was drop in coop. Then that person left and many more came and went over the next 90 minutes. The best parts are probably sliding down through the sand and flowing with the wind along with jumping. I wish I could get attached to the game as others, perhaps the minimalistic (non interactive) aspect of the co-op and the simple direction sells itself? Truthfully I just wanted to slide down the huge mountain at the end :( Expand
  49. Aug 19, 2013
    10
    Journey affects you a different way unlike any other video game. Its open to different interpretations on how you see the game itself. Some call it art, some an emotional experience, others hate it for lack of "gameplay" while others love it for the same reason.
    I myself found it to be a really inspiring game to play. It really is a hardcore gamers' game which is ironic.
    All I can say
    is if you let this game pass you by then you're missing the whole point of what video games are all about and why. Expand
  50. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    This is by far one of the best gaming experiences I've ever had since 1984 when I started playing games. But you need to know what your getting yourself into first. There are no bullets, no nudity, no spoken words and no blood and gore. This is a game about beauty, religion, life, and death. There is truly nothing else like it. This is for the intellectual crowd. Longtime gamers who have seen and done everything and feel jaded with the market. The people who require more than a gun and a target to be entertained. It's true the game can be completed in about two hours but it's made to be replayable and I promise you those two hours are more entertaining than games at $60 that last 80 hours. In other words you will be blown away by this experience. It's that good! There is no filler material in here and everything here is all top notch. Don't bother calling yourself a gamer if you don't play this game...GAME OF THE YEAR material no doubt!! Expand
  51. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    Journey is not a game for everyone, if you don't think a game is fun unless you are shooting zombies in the face, its probably best to avoid Journey. As the 10's rush in from open-minded gamers there is bound to be a bunch of 0's from people who find this game 'boring' and are shocked that people actually enjoyed this game.
    This game starts off a bit slow, but by the time its ended you
    have experienced something unlike any other experience. The game only took me 2 and 1/2 hours, but then another hour was spent sitting on the porch looking at the trees in the wind and just reflecting on the experience. This game is a truly meditative zen experience. Flower was just a flight sim in disguise but Journey is unique in almost every way. If you took screenshots randomly throughout the game almost every screenshot would be a work of art worth hanging on your wall.
    The online experience is great, it really feels like you are sharing something special with a stranger. The game is the perfect length, as its certainly not a game that would be good to play with any breaks, you need to sit alone, get comfy, turn up the volume and just chill.
    ThatGameCompany is an amazing developer and I dearly hope Sony renews their contract for another 3 works of art.
    Expand
  52. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    Journey is one of the most memorable games ever made. The goal of the game is very simple: you start at point A and work towards reaching point B. You will do some light platforming and puzzle solving along the way to unravel a mysterious story. The controls are equally simple as you move with the joystick and then use two action buttons, one to jump and the other to communicate. You will likely meet others along the way and this is where the game shows its true power as you learn to communicate and work with your ally (I won't say anymore-- it'll ruin the experience). It's really hard to describe Journey... it is an "artsy" game but one that I think everyone should try. Journey's minimalist concept, simple gameplay, beautiful visuals and tranquil soundtrack create an experience unlike any other. The short adventure, which only lasts about 2 hours, left me with many different thoughts and feelings... but it was an adventure I'll never forget. Expand
  53. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    i loved flower and was already interested in buying this as soon as i found out it was from thatgamecompany. i was not dissapointed. there are little elements of flower like the way there are mini little tornados of cloth swirling around. but the game is much different. much more different than anything ive played. its a fantastic game that deserves recognition just for breaking away from the pack. then a whole other level of respect for just being damned good. the game is short but worth playing several times. its a game i want to show to all of my friends. the graphics are beautiful with a unique art style and the soundtrack is flawless. some people are saying it took less than an hour to finish the game. if thats the case, they just rushed through it without exploring and finding the secret temples and other things that make the game so fun. im pretty sure i read Gaea say that he expects an hour of gameplay for every dollar spent... thats absurd. god of war 3 and the uncharted games werent 60 hours a piece, yet im completely happy with them. Expand
  54. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    Beautifully visceral and vocal in its silence. Journey is a testament to games as a storytelling device without forcing cumbersome dialogue on the player. This game is paced perfectly and is raised to emotional heights never seen in gaming before with its sweeping soundtrack that multiplies any emotion felt by the player. The multiplayer is meaningful because of the bond of companionship between a player will create with a stranger. A great buy, and the pinnacle of thatgamecompany's talent so far. Expand
  55. Apr 2, 2012
    9
    Beautiful game. Still enjoy playing it after having finished it at least 8-9 times. Only fault is that for the significant delay in release date the amount of work put in doesnt seem justifiable. The world is not large enough with all of the exploring finished in a few hours and if set to finishing the game in one continuous session it would not take you more than 1 1/2 hours.
  56. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    There is no doubt this game will become a fundamental part of gaming canon. The art, music, and design are world-class. It's innovative, beautiful, and simply moving. I REALLY enjoyed this one.
  57. May 14, 2012
    10
    Journey is nothing less than an astounding piece of art. The fluid animations and crisp graphics are amazing, if you thought Uncharted 3 looked great you've yet to see Journey. Whilst Journey will have a certain acquired taste and many will say its not a 'game' I thoroughly disagree as at the core of this piece of art is an encapsulating world which is created so wonderfully around you that you'll be absorbed for long stretches. Many make the point that the game is short and doesn't justify a £9.99 price tag and while it could stand to be cheaper, you can see that this is a game with high production values around every corner, there was certainly no cutting corners. Also exciting is the seamless online integration where another random Journey player who is also connected can jump in and out and help you out however to communicate you can only simply use what I call 'beacons' which will look unique to yourself and the other player and make different sounds. Reminding me that the music to accompany the games is nothing short of the most soothing music at times and a wild orchestra at others a masterpiece.

    Presentation: 10 Graphics: 10
    Gameplay: 10
    Sound: 10
    Lasting Appeal: 8.0
    Value for money: 10
    Expand
  58. Mar 24, 2012
    9
    A short, but tasty, meal of a game. This game differs so many from the ones around it, although something of this type and caliber is to be expected from thatgamecompany. The game works so well in its minimalist framework. You find yourself depending and supporting the other character in the game, forming an altruistic relationship with a stranger. It does become frustrating when the support is not mutual, which may be due to a lack of explanation of the controls and the capabilities of the character. Expand
  59. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    I usually don't review games on Metacritic. And no, that's not because I'm affiliated with thatgamecompany (I have actually reviewed Bastion before), but I won't blame anyone for thinking so. The reason I'm writing this review, as opposed to other games, is that I actually think Journey is delivering something I have never before experienced in gaming. I have read people complain about the two hours, arguing that the game "is not worth it". That's all fair, but for me $15 (or 115 SEK as I paid here in Sweden) is in my opinion a reasonable price. We pay almost the same price for a movie ticket here, and in my book the two hours Journey take to "finish" one time is by far a better time to spend than most films. But enough of arguing about price and length. The main reason for writing this review is that I really hope people give this game a chance (whether you buy it or play it at some friends house). As someone here hinted at, this is not what I would call a "game" per se, as much as en experience. It's not for everyone, I get that, but I felt more joy, wonder and excitement while sliding on sand dunes and slowly exploring the different areas, than I have done with any media product before. What made me really take to it was when I stumbled upon another character in game (or she/he stumbled upon me). At first I didn't know what to do - should I follow her/him, can we communicate in some way, do I even want to play this with someone? We ended up joining each other, and started exploring. As we solved puzzles, traversed beautiful landscapes and faced some dangers together, I grew more and more attached to this stranger I was travelling with. Whoever it was, I felt that we were in this together, that despite our not being able to speak we connected and wanted to experience this world together. When we got lost from each other, both tried to find our way back together. We always waited for the other, and when one of us found something of interest, we would try to get the other's attention to go look at it together. I have never felt this connection with another player in any other game - I genuinely cared for my friend, and in some way hoped that we would - on another playthrough - happen upon each other and somehow recognize one another. There are of course other factors that make this game such a unique experience - the incredibly intuitive and unobtrusive feeling of control, the fantastically realized vistas and halls, the emerging musical score - but the "multiplayer" aspect is what really struck home with me. It is not a flawless product: the openness of the areas are mostly illusory, and I would enjoy some way of playing this without having to worry about the length of the scarf. But it doesn't have to be flawless (and what is?) when it enable me to feel and enjoy things I have never before done. If more games tried to do what Journey does, I would have a less pessimistic view of the gaming industry than I do now. Make what you will of this review, but do not dismiss the game simply on questions about Metacritic's system, the potentially **** practice of some reviewers, or the length of the game. Dismiss it because you've tried it and it's not your thing, if something. But at least give it a shot, these types of games does not come often enough to afford skipping them. Expand
  60. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    This is easily one of the best interactive experiences crafted. Ever. While some might say it is too short, the game would not have been able to deliver the same emotional impact if it had been any longer. The experience design in this game is flawless, the levels are beautiful and the sound is immersive. Not playing this game would be a real shame.
  61. May 14, 2012
    10
    Although this game is fairly short, clocking in at about 2 hours, the experience of this game will stay with you for days, months, after that. Whether it be the wordless story, the perfectly tuned jumping mechanic, or the beautifully simple yet detailed graphics, so many components of the game have been done right. This game is truly a piece of art and everyone should do a service to themselves and play this game. Expand
  62. Mar 25, 2012
    5
    Journey is great to look at, but not fun to play. All you get to do is walk and after you get passed the sand levels walking becomes annoying. It wouldn't be so bad if it was only five dollars, but there just isn't enough to do in this game to justify paying fifteen dollars for it.
  63. Nov 27, 2012
    9
    Beautiful game. Best played in one sitting, if you can do that. Otherwise, try to take fewer breaks. That's my only regret playing this game. I was interrupted too many times, which caused a disruption in the overall flow of the game.

    The most intriguing part, for me, was the use of light. I've never experienced a game where light could have such a positive effect. I became happy
    when seeing light and partnering to turn on more lights in this game. It was a very unique experience.

    Highly recommended.
    Expand
  64. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    A very refreshing game. I've already played through it 4 times and plan on having a couple more goes at it. Good games are hard to come by now a days. It seems too often that I buy a game only for it to sit on my shelf for months without being beaten because after a couple hours of game play it becomes a chore to continue playing the game. This was not the case with Journey. Journey is everything I could have asked for in a perfect game: simple, compelling, visually mesmerizing, and short. The anonymous multiplier was a welcomed twist. Journey was wonderful from beginning to end and I'd gladly work an hour or two to pay for this inexpensive and awesome game. Expand
  65. Dec 11, 2013
    3
    I loved flower so much! So I was so excited for this one. But I just didn't get into it. The experience never got to me. The world has almost no color to speak of, and I have no idea what I'm doing in this desert. It's hard to explain what makes a game like this good or bad. It just works for you or it doesn't. this did not work for me. Although there was some enjoyment here and there.
  66. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    In Gaming, there aren't many moments, too just seat, relax and feel apart of an world screaming for adventure. A World almost with no goals, just a path in front of us, that would take the gamers to places that they have never been in any other game or experience. This is Journey, a game that fulfill me so much that i just wanted to play over and over again. I never felt sad, happy, scared at the same time in a game. This was simply amazing. http://moodgamer.blogspot.pt/2012/03/analise-do-jogo-journey-ps3psn.html Expand
  67. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    This game is legendary and is the fastest top-selling game on the Playstation Network store. This is my favorite game of 2012. Thatgamecompany has done it again!
  68. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    1 hour of gameplay that simply made me love video games even more. Who said video games couldn't be a work of art? True I just played 1 hour but I will definitely go back to play it for who knows how many more times. For those who have played: Limbo, Lost in Shadow and Flower and I don't know if for some but to me maybe a little to Shadow of the Colossus. You won't be dissapointed by this game.
  69. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    I simply cannot find any reason to give this game anything less than a full score here.

    The visuals are simply gorgeous, the gameplay is deceptively simple and yet it's very engrossing and the music and sound are as close to perfect as mortal hands could make to the point where it's a very engaging experience and more times than not will leave you with the feeling that you've played
    something that doesn't come around very often.

    That said, it IS an odd-duck and for gamers that are more used to the usual games on offer, this might make them be less impressed. But, if you can step outside of your usual game expectations and just let it take you in, you may find yourself with an experience that will likely leave a lasting impression on you.

    Sure, it's a short game... you can beat it in 2 hours on average... However, in the "Quality vs Quantity" argument, it wins the "Quality" award many times over.

    That said, if you're a gamer that prefers your games to be intense in action and with a fast-paced feel to them, this might not be your cup of joe... the game is (I hate to say it because it will sound incredibly poncy) more a work of art and if you simply cannot stand a game that likes to take it's time you might not find this game as enjoyable as other games you may have in your library.

    Still, if you are willing to give it a chance and are okay letting yourself get swept up in a truly immersive experience then this might be a game that will give you memories that you'll carry with you for a long, long time.
    Expand
  70. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    This game is a pure experience, a masterpiece that should not be missed. The poetic journey has filled every part of my mind when I was flying all around, above the magnificent landscapes. Do not hesitate, immerse yourself into this adventure with an open mind. Perhaps, like me, you will be rewarded with an intense sense of accomplishment. This experience is a gift, and the stranger that you'll meet on your path will become, every time, the best friend you've never had. Expand
  71. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    This is what I play video games for! No other medium could make me feel like Journey just did. A truly unique experience anybody should give a try! The anonymous cooperative play works fantastic and you really bond with your partner despite the minimal interaction with each other.
  72. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    Journey is an amazing experience. To ignore it's brilliance is to be ignorant, and to pass it up would be a shame. From start to finish, it was an amazingly engrossing experience that is absolutely wonderful. And despite the length, I've never become so quickly attached to a world or main character in my gaming career. It's simple; you must play this game.
  73. Jun 5, 2012
    10
    Holy **** first time ive ever been compelled to come onto metacritic and write a review. My only negative is it ended way too soon. I'd heard good things about this game so decided to buy it tonight, what an absolute marvellous experience. I don't even know what genre this fits into and i've played a lot of games in my 34 years. The fact the game is so unconventional, no lives, no energy, no hud. Just the world at your feet and the most beautiful music ever. Hell i didnt even realise i was playing co op until the end credits lol. Even the end credits were a thing of beauty. Best tenner ive spent on PSN period. Do yourself a favour and buy this game. If you have anything negative to say about this game you aren't a real gamer and should go back to your mainstream shovelware. Expand
  74. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    An experience like none other. One of the most beautiful and appealing games to grace gaming in a long time. The game is short, but was created to play in one sitting. The game simply places you in the shoes of a mysterious robbed figure who, for some reason, is on a Journey across the desert to a Mountain Top in the distance. The game features some of the most visually stunning landscapes, flawless and easy to navigate controls that are fluid and easy to get through, as well as some of the most mesmerizing music that syncs up perfectly with everything you do on your adventure. Journey includes a new twist on the co-op gameplay, walking around the desert landscapes are actually really fun, and this other figure following you, or leading you around will become one of your best friends, even with no way to communicate (other than musical chirps), on top of that it displays no name.

    This game is an artistic and emotional experience that most people will love, while some who would rather like explosions or gun play may get tired of it. Keep an open mind to a new experience and expect something completely different, because this game features not only that, but an emotional Journey that will be remembered for years to come. Simply amazing, and deserves to be played by anyone.

    10/10.
    Expand
  75. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    If Terrence Malick and Hayao Miyazaki had gotten together to make a game, this would be it. Journey is an amazing, haunting experience. Yes, it is short, but that is also the point; it's supposed to be played in 1 sit, like watching a movie. Don't be fooled though; it's short, but VERY re-playable. I play it at least once a day, so that should tell you something. I've payed $60 bucks for games that are much much longer, but ultimately got boring and repetitive, and I ended up ditching them. It's sad that Journey is only available for PS3, because EVERYBODY should experience this at least once. Thatgamecompany has crafted one of the most beautiful games on any platform. Expand
  76. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    The game is short, but totally worth it! It has to be said, it's very short, I finished it in about 2 hours, but IMO it has good replay value so don't worry about it. Oh and I really recommend playing through it in one go, it was truly a fantastic thing to experience the journey together with the same companion, even if you have no idea who it was.

    Actually, I found out later that I had
    played with two seperate people, but I had still played through a majority with one, and it showed. It's hard to explain, but you build up this trust with the other companion, I don't wanna say to much but know this... This journey will be somewhat challenging if you intend to do it the "right way" instead of just rushing through, and doing this with another player gives that "we fight together, we die together"-bond. I was expecting actually to do travel mostly by myself but this was indeed a welcome surprise.

    I say that not only is this an unique and fantastic game worth every penny... It's also really beautiful, and then I'm talking not only about the visuals which themselves are absolutely outstanding, the music is also really amazing. It's simply a very complete package. It was fun, the game is... Well, the best word to describe it is playful.

    "Journey" might not be for everyone, but for anyone wanting a break from all the games about shooting or slashing different creatures, even if it's only 2 or 3 hours, should really look into this game. Seriously, go get it if you haven't already, that is if you have access to a Ps3. If that's the case then buy one, borrow one or steal one if needed... BECAUSE THIS GAME IS FRIKKIN' BEAUTIFUL!

    So the price is a bit high, but I still recommend it, it's a truly unique game and I hope to see similar multiplayer in other games in the future. 10/10.
    Expand
  77. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    The word "experience" is thrown around a lot in the gaming industry these days, but this game is truly an experience like no other.From start to finish, it is a beautiful, emotionally engaging adventure and a real masterpiece. For anyone who says that video games can't be art, this game might have a few things to say to you.
  78. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    Journey.....oh dios mio Journey LEJOS lo mejor que he jugado en mucho pero mucho tiempo. Es para aplaudír a la pantalla.

    Mas que por su arte o su musica, es por como las utiliza para la experiencia.
    Eres tu quien esta haciendo la travesia, tu estas superando los obstaculos que se te presentan, y tu estas haciendote de un amigo sin siquiera hablar con el con palabras por la
    seguridad que te brinda viajar con el.
    TODOS DEBERIAN VIVIR ESTA EXPERIENCIA.
    Expand
  79. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    This game has clearly gone over the head of a lot of people. I'd rank this among the top 5 games I've ever played, and I'm basing this on two things. Sheer beauty and the feeling it leaves you with.

    The social tools at your disposal are as simplistic as they come, either through sound and a visual effect, or through movement. It works surprisingly well, as you're forced to boil the
    elements of the social networking into it's basic elements and improvise to get your meaning across.

    I met another traveler at the beginning of my story, and then lost him/her after getting into the dark caves, and I actually felt a strong sense of sadness at the loss of my newfound friend. That's without even saying a word, which is testament to the emotions this game sets in motion. I went for several levels without seeing the other traveler again (I met others, recognizable by their unique symbol, but it wasn't the same).

    Then, right before the end of the second to last mission, we found each other again, and we danced around for a little while, both ecstatic. We then proceeded to finish the game together, helping each other through the hardship, until finally reaching the end goal. I've never been this emotionally tied to a game before.

    Luckily, you get a little summary of the people you met during your travels, showing their PSN ID next to their unique symbol, and we both gained another friend that day.

    More than anything else, this game gives me hope in humanity, because after all is said and done, and all preconceptions are gone from the equation, we're all human after all.


    From the bottom of my heart, thank you, thatgamecompany! Thank you so much!
    Expand
  80. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    The fact that Journey has so effectively condensed the experience into a two-hour interactive poem is an astonishing achievement. It is the evolution of Jason Rohrer's art game Passage, bringing an unmatched humanity to the experience through its multiplayer.
  81. Apr 24, 2013
    9
    Beautiful game. Quite the experience! I'm glad I got to play this game, it is unique and charming. My only complaint is it took only an hour to beat.
  82. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    Journey is a game that makes you smile the entire way through. Which is, unfortunately short, yet each chapter is different visually, and constantly impresses. The journey to the mountain is excellent, with a clear sense of progression.
    If you happen to stumble upon another traveller, this game begins to shine brighter than the sand. It's exhilarating to travel with someone you do not know
    at all (their psn name only appears upon finishing the game) and you have no way of properly communicating, which somehow bonds you to this unknown person, as you guide each other through.
    To this point, it is a truly sad experience if your journey is interrupted, and you must communicate the fact that you have to leave to your companion, and as you quit the game, your traveller dissipates like sand in the wind.

    The game also has enough variation in the short span, with collectibles and secret areas. Buy this game, play through it, once, twice, doesn't matter, you won't regret it.

    ps. sand dune sliding is the most pleasurable
    Expand
  83. May 24, 2012
    9
    Lost 1 point because its short, gains the other 9 for its beauty and the joy of playing this experience beginning to end. Don't pick this up looking for a game like most others, this is meant to be an experience, short and beautiful.
  84. May 17, 2012
    10
    15 Dollars may sound a little steep for 1-2 hours game play and that is what I thought too. This could not be any father from the truth this was hands down one of the best experiences I have ever had with and game. Buy it now !
  85. Mar 14, 2012
    6
    Brilliant visuals, perfect music, amazing gameplay.
    £10 for 1 hour of gameplay is way too much to ask though.
    I can get more fun and value out of a tenner in a red light district.
  86. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    Best game I have ever played. If ever there was an argument for games as art, this is it. The mechanics are intrinsically tied to the story, and it's just...awesome. Short, yes. But nevermind $15, I could've paid $60 for this and still been happy.
  87. Mar 26, 2012
    9
    You probably already have heard that Journey is a bit short. And that it's also a fantastic experience. What else is there to add? Well, there is one thing that truly fascinates me. As you slide down sand dunes and glide smoothly in air, and as you solve the (not too difficult) obstacles you encounter other players (if you're online). So what, you say? The beauty of other players in journey is that there is no way to communicate with them. Everyone's anonymous so you can't write to your "partner", there's no voice communication available and you can't decide to invite friends. The only way you communicate is through your actions and an additional "blip" feature (which is acctually a "loading feature", i.e you use it to activate certain environmental objects and/or load up your partners ability to jump and fly further). Togheter you can make the game even more amusing and find new ways to conquer the journey. It's also essential to cooperate in order to attain certain trophies. This means Journey makes the trophy system a bit more interesting than your average game. But are there no cons? Journey is beautiful, relaxing and I've been playing it over and over, as I've already said but it can't be emphasized enough. The only con is that it should've been just a little longer. I want more! Expand
  88. Mar 14, 2012
    8
    It's a great game, it's better then great it could of been one of the BEST games of 2012 if it was an actual 60$ game. bottom line is it shouldn't be called journey, a journey doesn't take 1 hour of gameplay, it was one of the biggest game teases, because i was having so much fun taking my time, admiring the beuty and then Bam the ending hits you and it's a game over. im not sure if i would have spent 15 dollars if i knew it was this short, but it does deserve an 8 because of everything else except lasting appeal Expand
  89. Oct 19, 2012
    10
    Journey is a beautiful, emotional, err journey... Its not your typical game by any means, there's zero combat, almost zero enemies and you don't need fast reflexes or perfect timing to progress. But the game is touching and has a playful and unique vibe. The first time I saw another person in game (who I affectionately refer to as "friends") I felt like a little kid I was so excited to see another person like me, I ran up to them and starting "talking" and jumping around like a dog who just saw another dog at the park. That's probably my favorite aspect of the game, when you see other people and you travel with them. They cannot introll you or ruin the experience they are merely companions who may or may not be with you through the whole game. The game is short, I think it takes roughly 2-3 hours to complete depending on how long you linger in a given area, but the flow is quite good and you won't ever find yourself wondering what to do next. I like short games myself, I don't always want to have to spend 50+ hours to find out what happens, but of course this is a matter of personal opinion. The graphics are great and very fun to look at, and the music is equally wonderful. Playing Journey is obviously not for everyone, no game is, I akin playing Journey to something of an interactive movie or a picture book coming alive. To me it also had an anime vibe but that might just be me. I really enjoyed Journey, it's not for everyone but it's definitely and unique and worth while experience imo. If you think it might be your cup of tea then give it a go you most likely won't regret it. Expand
  90. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    this is an amazing experience that everyone must play you're really stupid if you don't buy it you'll be missing out on game of the year. Theres so much more then the videos reviews show and I LOVE THIS GAME
  91. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    Even though I think 15 dollars is a bit steep for this game it deserves nothing less than a 10. I have never felt so satisfied with a game, so intrigued with my surroundings. I'll never know the people who I met up with on my first playthrough but they helped me finish the game, we were just 2 people with a common goal. If you have a PS3 and 15 dollars to spare go ahead and pick it up, yeah it's only 2 hours max, but it's the most rich 2 hours of gameplay you can pick up on the PSN, Expand
  92. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Journey is the best example of how most simple of a game can be it opens up an endless amount of stories to be told and experience!
    I beg to differ on how someone said it's a short game well,the concept of journey is the meaning of life itself.
    The truth is life IS short but are you going to make it a good journey till' the end?
    The concept behind Journey cannot be beat you start off on
    the Journey of your life you meet people,some just comes and go some are there to guide you or helping get past all the obstacles in the end you know that you are never a loner.
    It's the game that cannot be describe by words just play it and if you feel warm deep inside after the credits roll you know it's QUITE a Journey. No numbers can properly rate this "game" just the way the meaning of life is,it cannot be measured!
    Expand
  93. May 19, 2012
    10
    We've learned to expect some element of exploration, battle, and/or collection in games. Sometimes you can empathize with characters or feel a sliver of happiness or sadness after a cutscene or "moral" decision choice, but for the most part, there is a wall between the player and the character's experience. It's impersonal. Until now.

    Journey is truly an experience, not simply a game. I
    urge anyone who's become underwhelmed by the typical game formula to try this. I want to ramble on about what makes Journey so profound, but there isn't a perfect way of describing it, you just have to play it.

    I expect to see great things from Thatgamecompany in the future. They've earned my complete respect.
    Expand
  94. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    Journey is a great and touching experience. I loved flower and Journey clearly belongs to the same line of thought. Something different and refreshing, where online encounters are fun and a big part of the game. Online integrates seemingly with the solo experience, enriching it in a subtle yet firm way. It's a game where you can be playful, regardless of the dangerous and poetic journey ahead. Not everyone will get it, like flower, it demands a minimum of sensitivity. Expand
  95. Dec 17, 2012
    8
    Definitely not the best game ever created, but one of the most unique. I have never played a game with such fantastic multiplayer as this one. I found myself questioning whether it was an actual person or not many times throughout the game only to be stunned to see 5 people that I met along the way. I can't emphasize how good that multiplayer is, holy cow. The problem is, besides the multiplayer and beautiful look and feel to it, there isn't much to it. Realistically it would be a 5-6/10 game without this perfect coop play. Is it worth the price? I would say so. Expand
  96. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    A natural progression from flow thru to flower and now journey. That Game Company once again comes up shining with yet another new experience. If you could convey the feeling you get while playing journey to the human race the world would be a more peaceful place. Journey manages to create/convey an almost spiritual feeling of peace/ wonderment/ relaxation and beauty all rolled into one for the experience that is journey. That game company do this by using some clever minimalistic design concepts. Of minimal interaction and communication with other players while at the same time the game promotes and plays better if you journey together searching and investigating or later as a spirit guide for the newer players helping them achieve the final hidden gems. Although short at just over 3-hours on my first playthru. Journey requires multiple playthrus to see everything and for it to reveal its secrets. So you can at least triple the game-time. another different idea is you never know how many people you actually met or interacted with until completion of the run thru it could be 1 player or more usual multiple players. A must play if you want to play a totally new concept game instead of the stale shooter genre. Expand
  97. Sep 9, 2012
    5
    It was pretty, there's no denying that...but I guess it was just a bit too slow-paced and not interactive enough for my tastes. I can't see myself playing it again any time soon, and for a $15 dollar game, that works out to about $7.50/hour of playing time.
  98. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    If you judge Journey as just a game, it's not that great. It's short, it's easy, there's not even all that much to it, in terms of gameplay. However, thinking of it in broader terms, as unique form of entertainment, that just happens to use the PS3 as a medium, it's incredible. More enjoyable than just a game, more of an experience, and giving it a 10 doesn't even seem adequate.
  99. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    It isn't often, these days, when a game inspires you to think. It's even less often that it asks you to consider what is of real importance in life. It's also rare to bring a single, poignant tear to your eye after just a couple of hours. Journey might not do that for you, but it did for me. Games like Heavy Rain have tried, and failed in my view, to merge gaming with cinematic storytelling. Journey tries, and greatly succeeds, at merging gaming and art. Don't miss this one, folks. It isn't about where you're going... Expand
  100. Feb 23, 2014
    9
    Probably the best Indie game I've ever played. It's emotional and moving, even though there isn't any dialogue or combat the entire game. The only weak point for me was the feeling of linearity. The game is called Journey but there are times when it feels like you have absolutely no control over yours.
  101. Mar 14, 2012
    0
    Sure this game is worth 9/10 if you didn't pay for it: I'm looking at you professional reviewers. It would even be 9/10 if it were 5 bucks and I wouldn't be pissed that it is only 1 hour of gameplay. But no, this game is FIFTEEN DOLLARS for a 1 hour game (a good one hour game nonetheless). However it is the very definition of linear, and the art style is just a ripoff of Team ICO games. Save your money and watch on youtube if you are really bored. Collapse
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 78 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 78
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 78
  3. Negative: 1 out of 78
  1. Mar 22, 2013
    100
    An ethereal, innovative, emotional cooperative experience, thatgamecompany’s Journey is one that any PlayStation 3 owner should take.
  2. Sep 20, 2012
    95
    If there was ever a game deserving of the word beautiful in it's description, it's Journey. The game is stunning to look at, satisfying to play and oozes atmosphere from every angle of its dynamic story and immersive world. Sure it's short by regular game standards but Journey is not a regular game. If your ready for an experience that will surprise you, move you and stick with you for many years after its done, then maybe this is the Journey for you.
  3. May 14, 2012
    90
    Clever, emotive, and easily the best downloadable game so far this year. [June 2012, p.58]