Journey PlayStation 3

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1407 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    There's not much to say. And I don't want to repeat what it's being said about it. The beauty, the loneliness, the haunting atmosphere, the anonymous encounters. I'm in awe, speechless, still. "Journey" is not a game. It's a miracle.
  2. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Journey can be summed up in one word: captivating. My experience playing Journey was like no other; no other game has tugged on my emotions in such an eccentric manner. I found myself giggling uncontrollably as I wandered the strange and alien landscapes and observed the strange motions of my companion. I knew nothing of my companion, neither did he know anything of me; however, I learnedJourney can be summed up in one word: captivating. My experience playing Journey was like no other; no other game has tugged on my emotions in such an eccentric manner. I found myself giggling uncontrollably as I wandered the strange and alien landscapes and observed the strange motions of my companion. I knew nothing of my companion, neither did he know anything of me; however, I learned a lot about my partner, and he did the same: we understood our motions, patterns, and goals, something that I have never experienced in a game with no literal communication integrated. It almost seemed we were best of friends from the time we adventured! Journey captures the feeling of adventure and companionship without missing a hitch. In a sense of adventure, I still find myself wide-eyed as I recall the environments I trudged through. The vast landscapes jawed and mantled outward, putting me under the impression that the land was endless, absorbing me further into the adventure. In a sense of companionship, I have never felt so attached to a person I know nothing of. We stayed close, we rushed to each other's aid, and we made sure no one was left behind. I'm sure the developers were yearning for this friendship, but I am still captivated. I will say no more, for I fear I will spoil if I continue. If you are bored and yearn for a new gaming experience, purchase Journey. You will not regret it. I am sure I will be playing it many times, as I wish to meet new companions and aid them on their journey. Expand
  3. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    This game is a wonderful experience all should have. The length is really not a problem. I would rather have a short quality game than a long game that is mediocre. This is a simply fantastic experience.
  4. Mar 13, 2012
    8
    Journey is a great little game. Amazing graphics, great music, and a somewhat unique multiplayer mechanic make it a memorable experience. I especially liked the fact that there was no dialogue so you were forced to use the sounds and body language of your character in order to communicate with your companion. I felt like it could have been just a little bit longer.. maybe another hour orJourney is a great little game. Amazing graphics, great music, and a somewhat unique multiplayer mechanic make it a memorable experience. I especially liked the fact that there was no dialogue so you were forced to use the sounds and body language of your character in order to communicate with your companion. I felt like it could have been just a little bit longer.. maybe another hour or so. All in all, definitely worth $15. Expand
  5. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    Loved everything about this game. As others have said it is short if you only play through once but I have played through several times and will definately be doing several more. Brilliant!
  6. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    People who complain about Journey being short, are just ignorant and can't enjoy the simple games play, environments, and fun of it. This game is beautiful and leaves you in a good mood.
  7. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Triumph of thatgamecompany. Pure masterpiece! The most emotional gaming experience. The bigger your heart the bigger shock and catharsis you will get in the end) Every pixel, camera angle and note form magic nonstop. Deep and yet simple. Genius made multiplayer. Fully confirms statement that games can be art.
    Amazing.
  8. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    The fact that Journey has so effectively condensed the experience into a two-hour interactive poem is an astonishing achievement. It is the evolution of Jason Rohrer's art game Passage, bringing an unmatched humanity to the experience through its multiplayer.
  9. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    I can't understand people who gave a 0 or 1 to this game... they probably did'nt understand it at all... Journey is not really a game... But it's clearly a piece of art as FlOwer did ! It's a interactive "journey"... with poetic and artistic ambiance, I clearly loved it ! It's a game with no violence, just relaxing and tripping !
  10. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    Think Portal. I could end my review there. Incredibly short? Yes. Worth it? Oh hell yes! As others have said, it's an experience tough to put into words. It's less a "game" than it is an "experience." And I feel that Journey (like Portal) contained more plot, more memorable moments, than most full-length games. If you're the kind of person who shys away at colors other than greyThink Portal. I could end my review there. Incredibly short? Yes. Worth it? Oh hell yes! As others have said, it's an experience tough to put into words. It's less a "game" than it is an "experience." And I feel that Journey (like Portal) contained more plot, more memorable moments, than most full-length games. If you're the kind of person who shys away at colors other than grey and brown, and cringe at the thought of any story outside of "blow the guy in front of you up" then by all means, skip this one. If you're sick of games that had little to no thought put into it outside of the engine, then this is definitely the game for you. Expand
  11. Mar 18, 2012
    9
    Very very good little game. The graphics are top class as is the music which adds some real emotion to the game. Some people could get put off by the lack of narration and clearly defined plot but for me it was a minor inconvenience. You could also argue that £10 is a bit much to pay for a game which lasts for about 45mins approx. Saying that because of how gripping the gameVery very good little game. The graphics are top class as is the music which adds some real emotion to the game. Some people could get put off by the lack of narration and clearly defined plot but for me it was a minor inconvenience. You could also argue that £10 is a bit much to pay for a game which lasts for about 45mins approx. Saying that because of how gripping the game was I expect to play it a couple more times at least.
    I also liked the online element, playing with someone added an extra layer to an already very enjoyable adventure.
    It's not going to be everyone's cup of tea but in my opinion Journey has been another excellent release from thatgamecompany and is highly recommended!
    Expand
  12. Mar 18, 2012
    9
    Journey is a mastery of Avante Garde expression. It is short, and simple, but it is something I will never forget as long as Iâ
  13. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    A perfect 10 for Journey. This title is a testament to man's ability to create a piece of art to the highest of standards. There's not much I can say that hasn't already been said, nor would I choose to - because Journey simply needs to be played to experience what it offers. It sets the audiovisual standard in the gaming industry, and is the absolute highest calibre of what a developerA perfect 10 for Journey. This title is a testament to man's ability to create a piece of art to the highest of standards. There's not much I can say that hasn't already been said, nor would I choose to - because Journey simply needs to be played to experience what it offers. It sets the audiovisual standard in the gaming industry, and is the absolute highest calibre of what a developer can hope to create.
    thatgamecompany have set a standard which I can only hope their future projects can come close to meeting, I am very thankful I was able to play through their vision and I wish them the best of luck in the future! Journey is my 'Game of the Year' for 2012.
    Expand
  14. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    I just played through Journey and decided it was important enough to make a Metacritic account and give it a 10. It's that impressive. The safest way to come at this would be to look at it like you would a dramatic, Oscar-worthy movie. When you watch a movie in the theaters that blows you away, do you walk out and say, "____ movie was okay, but i wish there was an extra hour of footage."I just played through Journey and decided it was important enough to make a Metacritic account and give it a 10. It's that impressive. The safest way to come at this would be to look at it like you would a dramatic, Oscar-worthy movie. When you watch a movie in the theaters that blows you away, do you walk out and say, "____ movie was okay, but i wish there was an extra hour of footage." No, you just enjoyed it for the artform that it was. It stands alone, just as the director edited it down to a succint experience. It is a beautiful, moving film. This game should be viewed in that light. Everything works perfectly together to create 2 hours of the most moving gaming experience you will probably ever have. It is the most moved i have ever been by a game and i have been playing games consistently since i got Super Mario brothers on the NES when i was in 2nd grade. A single playthrough might take about 2 hours. It did for me. I recommend that you block out 2 hours, dim the lights, throw on some headphones and sit down and really immerse yourself in this game. The score is haunting and beautiful, i would buy the soundtrack just to listen at work. The music matches the scenes effortlessly. The visuals, controls, and music are so perfect that you really forget that you are playing a game. Finally the way that multiplayer is approached may be the greatest single greatest achievement of this game. They have somehow removed the ability for anonymous online shooter tea-baggery by making the only form of interaction a cute little sound note when you press the O button. Your fluid movement through the landscape is enhanced by your proximity to the other person. Secondly, (and importantly), the multiplayer is limited to only 2 people in your world at a time. You and one other; which is an interesting dynamic in this foreign, desolate landscape. The psychology of only ONE other person bonds you with the other anonymous, yet real, person and both of you have to figure out how to get through to the the next area. I can only compare it to travelling in a foreign country. You share a basic bond with this foreign other cloaked person who you can only communicate by bleeping to, or sending off a power orb. Finally, you move and fly better when you help the other anonymous player out, so the incentive is to not be a lone wolf. To sum it all up, i can not think of a bigger gaming return on investment than the $15 you will spend for this experience. This is the kind of game you can show to people who dont "get gamers" and say this is why gaming is an artform. Truly awesome. If you have a PS3, and have read this far, just buy it already. You won't be sorry. Expand
  15. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    This game is awesome, wonderful and inspiring. I think, it's primarily intended for an adult audience, because young and very young gamers will possibly describe it as boring - but it isn't. In fact, it offers a gaming experience, which hasn't seen for a long time. Personally, I was flashed for two hours - that is short, but rather inspiring entertainment for two hours than playing aThis game is awesome, wonderful and inspiring. I think, it's primarily intended for an adult audience, because young and very young gamers will possibly describe it as boring - but it isn't. In fact, it offers a gaming experience, which hasn't seen for a long time. Personally, I was flashed for two hours - that is short, but rather inspiring entertainment for two hours than playing a boring "blockbuster" game like Mass Effect 3 for endless hours. Big shouts to the composer of the game music. Expand
  16. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    There really nothing I have seen or read that could have prepared me for this experience. Regardless, I don't want to spoil a single inch of this game. This may sound ridiculous, but perhaps after playing it you will understand. This game completely challenges the very concepts of what video games can be and the kinds of long inert emotions we've never known existed. Anyone with anThere really nothing I have seen or read that could have prepared me for this experience. Regardless, I don't want to spoil a single inch of this game. This may sound ridiculous, but perhaps after playing it you will understand. This game completely challenges the very concepts of what video games can be and the kinds of long inert emotions we've never known existed. Anyone with an open-mind and taste for exploration and art should be playing this game. Expand
  17. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    The game is beautiful and immersive. Mechanics are smooth and wonderfully intuitive. In short, it is a joy to play. The experience stuck with me long after I was away from my PS3. Some have complained about length, but for me, this is non-issue. The replay value is great, especially for the second and even third play through. Also, my time is valuable. I would rather play a greatThe game is beautiful and immersive. Mechanics are smooth and wonderfully intuitive. In short, it is a joy to play. The experience stuck with me long after I was away from my PS3. Some have complained about length, but for me, this is non-issue. The replay value is great, especially for the second and even third play through. Also, my time is valuable. I would rather play a great game that lasts an hour an half than a merely good game that lasts much longer. Highly recommend. Expand
  18. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    Despite everything I'd heard and seen of "Journey", no one could have convinced me that I would be close to tears by the end of it -- first of sadness, then of joy. Ninety of the best minutes I've spent holding the PS3 controller. You'd pay twice this price for an incredible ninety-minute film on Blu-Ray -- and consider the support you're giving thatgamecompany to develop more gems like this one.
  19. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    This game is truly amazing, its not often games live up to the hype but this one does. It is the most beautiful game I have ever played and if your playing this with a good stereo im sure you would agree. The music is as much a part of the game as the gameplay itself. The experience is so beautiful that I am going to be booking sessions for my friends so they can experience the game in myThis game is truly amazing, its not often games live up to the hype but this one does. It is the most beautiful game I have ever played and if your playing this with a good stereo im sure you would agree. The music is as much a part of the game as the gameplay itself. The experience is so beautiful that I am going to be booking sessions for my friends so they can experience the game in my theater. I personally wasnt bothered by the short length, I thought it was appropriate and well worth the price considering the quality. This is yet another to have get a ps3 if you dont have one. Expand
  20. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    Not so much a game as a work of art come to life. During the closing sections of this title, I burst into tears. It moved me like no other game has. I don't know why, exactly... But if you are looking for true catharsis in a video game, look no further. People sometimes mention that the game is too short. Yes... It is very short, but every second you hold the controller is wonderful. It'sNot so much a game as a work of art come to life. During the closing sections of this title, I burst into tears. It moved me like no other game has. I don't know why, exactly... But if you are looking for true catharsis in a video game, look no further. People sometimes mention that the game is too short. Yes... It is very short, but every second you hold the controller is wonderful. It's a perfectly formed and executed game and the fact that you can finish it in just one sitting merely adds to the cohesive, unique atmosphere that Journey offers... And it is a Journey that I plan to take quite a few more times. Expand
  21. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    This is by far one of the best gaming experiences I've ever had since 1984 when I started playing games. But you need to know what your getting yourself into first. There are no bullets, no nudity, no spoken words and no blood and gore. This is a game about beauty, religion, life, and death. There is truly nothing else like it. This is for the intellectual crowd. Longtime gamers whoThis is by far one of the best gaming experiences I've ever had since 1984 when I started playing games. But you need to know what your getting yourself into first. There are no bullets, no nudity, no spoken words and no blood and gore. This is a game about beauty, religion, life, and death. There is truly nothing else like it. This is for the intellectual crowd. Longtime gamers who have seen and done everything and feel jaded with the market. The people who require more than a gun and a target to be entertained. It's true the game can be completed in about two hours but it's made to be replayable and I promise you those two hours are more entertaining than games at $60 that last 80 hours. In other words you will be blown away by this experience. It's that good! There is no filler material in here and everything here is all top notch. Don't bother calling yourself a gamer if you don't play this game...GAME OF THE YEAR material no doubt!! Expand
  22. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    i loved flower and was already interested in buying this as soon as i found out it was from thatgamecompany. i was not dissapointed. there are little elements of flower like the way there are mini little tornados of cloth swirling around. but the game is much different. much more different than anything ive played. its a fantastic game that deserves recognition just for breaking away fromi loved flower and was already interested in buying this as soon as i found out it was from thatgamecompany. i was not dissapointed. there are little elements of flower like the way there are mini little tornados of cloth swirling around. but the game is much different. much more different than anything ive played. its a fantastic game that deserves recognition just for breaking away from the pack. then a whole other level of respect for just being damned good. the game is short but worth playing several times. its a game i want to show to all of my friends. the graphics are beautiful with a unique art style and the soundtrack is flawless. some people are saying it took less than an hour to finish the game. if thats the case, they just rushed through it without exploring and finding the secret temples and other things that make the game so fun. im pretty sure i read Gaea say that he expects an hour of gameplay for every dollar spent... thats absurd. god of war 3 and the uncharted games werent 60 hours a piece, yet im completely happy with them. Expand
  23. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    A very refreshing game. I've already played through it 4 times and plan on having a couple more goes at it. Good games are hard to come by now a days. It seems too often that I buy a game only for it to sit on my shelf for months without being beaten because after a couple hours of game play it becomes a chore to continue playing the game. This was not the case with Journey. JourneyA very refreshing game. I've already played through it 4 times and plan on having a couple more goes at it. Good games are hard to come by now a days. It seems too often that I buy a game only for it to sit on my shelf for months without being beaten because after a couple hours of game play it becomes a chore to continue playing the game. This was not the case with Journey. Journey is everything I could have asked for in a perfect game: simple, compelling, visually mesmerizing, and short. The anonymous multiplier was a welcomed twist. Journey was wonderful from beginning to end and I'd gladly work an hour or two to pay for this inexpensive and awesome game. Expand
  24. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    This is what I play video games for! No other medium could make me feel like Journey just did. A truly unique experience anybody should give a try! The anonymous cooperative play works fantastic and you really bond with your partner despite the minimal interaction with each other.
  25. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    This game is beautiful. The environments are stunning. The music is haunting. The best PSN game I have ever purchased and I haven't felt this good since Dear Esther on the PC. Buy this game, it is better if you do not know much about it before playing it. Go BUY IT.
  26. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    i suppose this is a short product if you like to finish games as fast as you can. if you're like me and enjoy searching every nook and cranny it will last much longer. soaking in the visuals and ambiance is a must, and you will want to replay it. if you have bad taste, and enjoy the michael bay style of in your face moremoremore, it is not for you. the people giving this game badi suppose this is a short product if you like to finish games as fast as you can. if you're like me and enjoy searching every nook and cranny it will last much longer. soaking in the visuals and ambiance is a must, and you will want to replay it. if you have bad taste, and enjoy the michael bay style of in your face moremoremore, it is not for you. the people giving this game bad scores are the same people who give god of war games "10's" even though it is a $60 game that lasts 5 hours. Expand
  27. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    I've used metacritic for years, but have never felt compelled to actually write any reviews... until now.

    I cannot stress enough what an amazing experience this game was. I sat in my room, eye level to my tv, turned out all the lights and let the game take me away. I beat the game in less than two hours, yet I know my adventure will forever be a part of me. This game was incredibly
    I've used metacritic for years, but have never felt compelled to actually write any reviews... until now.

    I cannot stress enough what an amazing experience this game was. I sat in my room, eye level to my tv, turned out all the lights and let the game take me away. I beat the game in less than two hours, yet I know my adventure will forever be a part of me. This game was incredibly powerful and moving.

    I don't want to ruin anyone's experience by providing too much information. I just want to argue that this game, this masterpiece, is a direct rejection of Roger Ebert's unfaltering stand that video games can never be art. After playing this game, I can honestly say, he is incredibly wrong in his assessment.

    This game is beautiful and I cannot recommend it enough. Play. This. Game.

    Maybe I'll run into some of you out there :)
    Expand
  28. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    If you're at all skeptical about this game, especially regarding its 2-hour storyline and pricetag, forget your concerns - because this game is worth it.

    This is not a game, but an experience that is well worth playing. I cannot stress just how absorbing it is; the graphics (whilst simple and minimalist) work beautifully with the lighting used. There is one particular scene in which
    If you're at all skeptical about this game, especially regarding its 2-hour storyline and pricetag, forget your concerns - because this game is worth it.

    This is not a game, but an experience that is well worth playing. I cannot stress just how absorbing it is; the graphics (whilst simple and minimalist) work beautifully with the lighting used. There is one particular scene in which you're 'sand surfing', which is so beautifully done that it could literally take your breath away. Normally, poor music could distract you from such an engaging backdrop. However, it's beautfully composed, well written, and fits into each part of the game seamlessly. Whether it's a particularly stressful part of the game or if it's conveying doom/gloom, it works.

    Co-op doesn't have chat, avatars, names (until you complete the game), but while playing this game, you realise how little those things matter. I completed the game with one person - never said a word. And yet, for the entirety of the game, we stuck together like two brothers, helping one another through each step of the way. Even when I was knocked back and hurt, he came back for me. This accentuates what co-operative gaming is all about and how it should be.

    All in all, this game, despite the fact I had to buy a Playstation Plus membership to buy this game and it only took me 2 hours at most to complete it, buy this game. It was worth the hassle. This is one of the most engaging, stunning, touching gaming experiences that I have been lucky enough to play in my lifetime, and I only hope this is not the last we hear of thatgamestudio.
    Expand
  29. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    If you have enjoyed FLOW and FLOWER this game will truly please and surprise you. It is unadulterated joy. If you want to settle the endless debate whether games are art than this game should convince anyone that disagree withe the above statement that games can be art.
    Journey is an experience. It is very difficult to say anything about it without spoiling the experience. However one
    If you have enjoyed FLOW and FLOWER this game will truly please and surprise you. It is unadulterated joy. If you want to settle the endless debate whether games are art than this game should convince anyone that disagree withe the above statement that games can be art.
    Journey is an experience. It is very difficult to say anything about it without spoiling the experience. However one thing can be said: if you manage to connect to the experience you will feel emotional by the time the end credit will appear on the screen. Your would want to meet the people that shared the Journey with you, for some of them you will be a mentor and for some others you will be a mentee. The only downside to this game is that the experience will only last an average of 2 hours. I know, it is a short time for a game that cost a tenner but please remember that the journey does not have to end and ca be restarted again and again. Jenova Chen is a visionary developer and if Sony does not renew the contract for 3 more games I will personally go to Santa Monica to make them see sense.
    Expand
  30. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Journey is a rare breed, a game that's a refreshing breath of originality and that's all about the experience, rather than score-chasing. Journey tells a strong story which I wont spoil, but I was not expecting it to grab me the way it did. And it does so using only visuals and music. And the musical score of this game is among the best of the best. It envelopes the player in the settingJourney is a rare breed, a game that's a refreshing breath of originality and that's all about the experience, rather than score-chasing. Journey tells a strong story which I wont spoil, but I was not expecting it to grab me the way it did. And it does so using only visuals and music. And the musical score of this game is among the best of the best. It envelopes the player in the setting and sets the mood perfectly. The audio in Journey really is as important as the visuals, which are fantastic. This game has some of the best use of colour you can find in videogames and the animations are fluid. All adding up to an emotional connection with the player. The game occasionally has minor framedrops, but they are and few and far inbetween. The people saying this game is too short are wrong. Yes, I'm sure you can finish it in an hour, if you just rush through it instead of taking your time, and in the process going against everything this game is about; The journey, not the endpoint, the clue lies in the name. I personally took my time with the game during my first playthrough, I tried to explore everyting, collect everything and interacted with and helped other players. Doing so took me over two hours (according to Raptr), I belive I was close to three. These other caped random travellers remain anonymous until the end of the game, making for a great online experience where you either cooperate or ignore other players. No annoying shouting kids with microphones to ruin your experience here! The only form of communication you have is your character making a sound with a "speechbubble" in an alien language. It's simple and weird at first, but it works perfectly. The game is designed to be played in one sitting, like a film (movie), which is why it's not the longest game ever, but there's also no needless filler and there's nothing stopping you from replaying it. Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 78 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 78
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 78
  3. Negative: 1 out of 78
  1. Mar 22, 2013
    100
    An ethereal, innovative, emotional cooperative experience, thatgamecompany’s Journey is one that any PlayStation 3 owner should take.
  2. Sep 20, 2012
    95
    If there was ever a game deserving of the word beautiful in it's description, it's Journey. The game is stunning to look at, satisfying to play and oozes atmosphere from every angle of its dynamic story and immersive world. Sure it's short by regular game standards but Journey is not a regular game. If your ready for an experience that will surprise you, move you and stick with you for many years after its done, then maybe this is the Journey for you.
  3. Hyper Magazine
    May 14, 2012
    90
    Clever, emotive, and easily the best downloadable game so far this year. [June 2012, p.58]