Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 20
  2. Negative: 6 out of 20
  1. 80
    It's definitely not perfect. With a bit of a slow start, and a build up over the first three episodes that never really pays off in the fourth, the story pacing can be a little off kilter at times. As a whole though, it's a very enjoyable experience that doesn't require an intimate knowledge of the franchise, but rewards those that do.
  2. Nov 28, 2011
    70
    Jurassic Park: The Game gets the licence utterly perfect, offering a thrilling rollercoaster ride (sometimes literally) of dinosaurs, tension and action, but still wise enough to slow down, let you and the characters catch their collective breath, and unwind with a simple puzzle or two.
  3. Jan 23, 2012
    69
    This is Jurassic Park fans only territory. If you are not a die hard fan, you might find the Heavy Rain light gameplay of this episodic title rather underwhelming.
  4. Nov 27, 2011
    65
    Telltale tries to take a new tack with Jurassic Park, and while their forte of creating good narratives shines through once in a while, it isn't nearly often enough to overcome the lack of actual interactivity and decision making in the game.
  5. Jan 17, 2012
    62
    It's worth a short distraction, there may not be enough here to keep an adult occupied and wanting to get to the games finish.
  6. Nov 21, 2011
    60
    Unfortunately, like the cars that shuttle people around the island, this game is on rigid tracks and offers you no control over where it goes or how it gets there. You're just along for the ride.
  7. Nov 17, 2011
    60
    An incredible story the first time through, but aside from some tricky achievements and a second ending, there's really nothing to bring you back for subsequent playthroughs.
  8. Nov 28, 2011
    58
    The whole game trips and stumbles. The puzzles can be fun, control isn't bad, some of the story elements are decent, and the sound is better than average, but that's not enough. The animations and graphics aren't up to snuff, those puzzles are often too easy and even boring, and above all else the incredible spirit that drew so many to the movie theater is missing.
  9. Dec 12, 2011
    55
    Telltale's flawed but entertaining approach to the Back to the Future license left me hopeful for the developer's take on Jurassic Park. Despite some early reservations, I still felt like that goose-bumped 13-year-old boy as the game's opening theme started and Jurassic Park's logo popped on screen. Unlike my younger self, however, I was in for a disappointment. [Jan 2012, p.87]
  10. Nov 25, 2011
    55
    Ultimately, this is probably the worst Telltale game ever, and it is a shame because the license is great. It is interesting to enter again the park and discover the film scenarios, but the game turns out to be boring after a while because of its passive nature.
  11. Nov 17, 2011
    55
    I wouldn't call Jurassic Park a bad game as it works and does take us back to a time when dinosaurs (stiffly) roamed the Earth, but the story, animations and general gameplay keep it from being able to contend with most titles on the market -- and that includes other Telltale titles.
  12. Jurassic Park: The Game is best described as a low-budget Heavy Rain knock-off filled to the brink with quick time events. But where the buttons you had to press in Heavy Rain made more or less sense, they are completely random in Jurassic Park: The Game. [February 2012, p.104]
  13. Every step taken toward creating a cohesive, cinematic adventure is sabotaged by bugs and glitches that thwart the game's attempts at immersion. [Feb 2012, p.85]
  14. Nov 21, 2011
    50
    When met with the game's linear nature and over-reliance on quick-time events, these technical issues tear away at what could have been the perfect tribute to the original film.
  15. All told, Jurassic Park: The Game may be marketed to you as a new-age Dino Crisis and a wild ride, but in reality it plays more like John Hammond's dinosaur tour as it was originally intended. You're locked on a linear track and inelegantly chauffeured through dino dioramas that you'll have close to zero interaction with. The tour grinds to a halt for the occasional toilet break (read: light puzzle moments), but once that business is dispensed with, you're escorted back to your proverbial jeep on a scalextric track and the tour limps on. [January 2012, p.77]
  16. 40
    As it stands now, though, unless you dream of outrunning ferocious dinosaurs or really want to know the ultimate fate of that can of Barbasol, I'd suggest simply watching the movie to get your prehistoric fix.
  17. If you stripped away the beloved license and were left with the barebones mechanics on show here, this would be a [twenty]. It's only the appeal of the iconic leviathans and John Williams' wonderful score which push Jurassic Park ever so slightly above awful.
  18. Nov 25, 2011
    40
    The puzzles are practically non-existant, the quick time events are sloppy and the voice acting sounds like it was written by eight-year olds. It's more like a modern day Dragon's Lair than an exciting adventure game.
  19. Nov 17, 2011
    33
    It seems to be perfectly suited for a casual audience who just wants to push buttons and watch things happen. But those looking for anything more had best look elsewhere.
  20. Jan 25, 2012
    32
    It's a shame to see Telltale Games pump out such drivel. [Feb 2012, p.83]
User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 11 out of 21
  1. Nov 17, 2011
    0
    Since Telltale took to Metacritic to inflate their own user score i thought i'd throw my opinion in too(the 10s here are from TT employees, they were called out on gaming forums for this). I got this terrible game for reupping my PS+ but if i had paid i'd probably be seeking a refund. The "gameplay" is a joke. Imagine if heavy rain ended the game after every mistake rather than change the story to fit what occurred. Now imagine if Heavy Rain gave you no control whatsoever, you simply did quick time events to progress everything, with basically no choices throughout the entire game. Now imagine if Heavy Rains framerate was so bad that you could easily miss a QTE happening (in fact i had an entire scene where no button prompts even showed up, i simply had to restart.)

    I'm not just being rude, its really that bad. It makes a complete mockery of the book/film, the voice acting is horrid ( and seemed to have very little direction in the actors defense), the few throwbacks to JP humor are so poorly presented that you may think its some 4th wall breaking satire. Its not. Its a development house thats used the very last of its creative juices, and long ago at that.

    The framerate isn't the only technical problem. The game hangs on the end of nearly every scene. I actually thought it had crashed a few times only for it to recover and chug along. I can't imagine it EVER reaches 30 fps. When restarting some checkpoints, a QTE will start and never show the button prompt, leaving you to guess while you burn through lives.

    All in all this is an absolute embarrassment for TT, and they should be ashamed. This game would take another 6 months to polish, but the concept is so bad that it wouldn't have been worth it.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 18, 2011
    3
    Wow was looking forward to this game, purely down to nostalgia. However this could be one of the worst games I have ever played.........Ever. Such a waste of money, and tbh, quite lacklustre, and dull. The puzzles are ok, but apart from this, time spent, is time wasted. Shame. Full Review »
  3. Nov 18, 2011
    0
    I don't think the game was THAT bad but since several Telltale employees have made fake accounts to boost the score, I'm giving this a zero regardless. Seems only fair. Full Review »