User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 117 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 117
  2. Negative: 50 out of 117

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 18, 2010
    3
    I don't know how anyone can rate this game higher than a 5, unless it's your cherry-popping introduction to the world of gaming itself. And quite frankly, most the names of the reviewers sound made up, giving me the sketchy digital age undercover corporation vibe that I was hoping dissolved with the original title. When you play this game, you'll slowly realize that everything is broken,I don't know how anyone can rate this game higher than a 5, unless it's your cherry-popping introduction to the world of gaming itself. And quite frankly, most the names of the reviewers sound made up, giving me the sketchy digital age undercover corporation vibe that I was hoping dissolved with the original title. When you play this game, you'll slowly realize that everything is broken, and it's predecessors have done whatever this is trying to accomplish so much better. The online matchmaking is sluggish at best, the "waiting for players..." dialogue in the lobby nearly mocks the player after a painful amount of time. The guns are so imbalanced, I found myself receiving kills from a sniping distance with the shotgun many times over. Either the guns have a spread unheard of in the standard 3PS world, or the cross-hairs really are that unreliable. The shaky camera effect adds a realistic feel to both video games and television shows, but this game takes it to a new, headache inducing level. The voice acting just drove me completely insane!! This game seems to ruin the fun in swearing, too. Hearing someone scream "SO LONG, F****BALLS" after every. single. round. just seems excessive in my mind. I could go on with observations, but giving more attention to this game seems redundant, pointless, and a waste of my time. Hey, this writing this review is a lot like a game I played!! And so forth.. Expand
  2. Sep 19, 2010
    6
    *Update* Having completed almost all modes/campaign, my final more reasonable verdict:
    Short main campaign as you all already guessed and "harsh" connectivity when it comes to playing competitive multiplayer. Gun play could have been better.
    Stylish game, impressive at first & promising but extremely disappointing at the end. The lesson learnt today: never review a game before
    *Update* Having completed almost all modes/campaign, my final more reasonable verdict:
    Short main campaign as you all already guessed and "harsh" connectivity when it comes to playing competitive multiplayer. Gun play could have been better.
    Stylish game, impressive at first & promising but extremely disappointing at the end.

    The lesson learnt today: never review a game before completing it and taking some distance.

    6.5/10
    Expand
  3. Aug 20, 2010
    8
    I was fan of the first, and was excited for this game, and for the most part it has delivered. Good visuals and sound, intense shooting, and adddictive multiplayer are brought down a notch by a muddled story, and still some glaring technical flaws that didn't take it this game to the next level. I enjoyed it, but in the end, this is for Kane and Lynch fans only.
  4. Aug 20, 2010
    8
    This game looks fantastic. The graphics are not top-tier, but the weird pastel look of the last game is done away with through a clever film effect. A shake-cam (which can be disabled) really improves the tension of the action. It is a unique style. The shooting is solid, a major improvement over the previous game. The game is difficult but feels rewarding.

    In addition to the story
    This game looks fantastic. The graphics are not top-tier, but the weird pastel look of the last game is done away with through a clever film effect. A shake-cam (which can be disabled) really improves the tension of the action. It is a unique style. The shooting is solid, a major improvement over the previous game. The game is difficult but feels rewarding.

    In addition to the story mode, an "arcade mode" allows one player to play up to ten rounds as members of a heist in different locales. I don't play on Xbox Live, but arcade mode is very cinematic and offers a ranking system similar to online games. It is addicting, even if the lackluster A.I. can't compete well in later rounds.

    The game has some major flaws. The story is quite short (it took me 3 1/2 hours; medium difficulty on split screen). The ending is abrupt. There is a strange problem in late-game that can possibly pause the screen for up to around fifteen seconds whenever a headshot is landed. Despite these problems, the story is definitely worth playing through. While $60 may be a little steep, I am content with where IO is going with this franchise.
    Expand
  5. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    I have a hard time finding out why peaple hate this game so much. The entire style was centered around reality capture from home/security cams. That reality TV style merges over to the fact that nudity and grotesque scenes would be blured. Yes its short but I've come to aprreciate shorter games so I actually finish them. The long drawn out campaigns rarely hold my interest to the end andI have a hard time finding out why peaple hate this game so much. The entire style was centered around reality capture from home/security cams. That reality TV style merges over to the fact that nudity and grotesque scenes would be blured. Yes its short but I've come to aprreciate shorter games so I actually finish them. The long drawn out campaigns rarely hold my interest to the end and often don't get completed. I've fallen into comfort with games eight to fifteen hours in length. The online modes are interesting enough for me to want to continue on through them. Most of the game is based in Shanghai so the level design does not suprise me. Its cramped and uncomfortable at times, but its designed how most slums and highly urban areas are. Sephyboy (see the 360 review section) needs to talk to his therapist about his apparent need for over the top violence in his leisure. The execution is a little sloppy, but the game itself is exactly what I expected it to be based on the demo and the previous version. And I'm happy with it. The story itself is fun to watch unfold, the characters play off eachother well, the voice acting is great, the atmosphere is bleak but with some awesome backsplashes of neon from signs, the gunplay is what I've come to expect from all games and the visual style was a nice change of pace for me. I'm not sure what these negative buyers were expecting, but I'm quite happy with it. Expand
  6. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    Honestly, I rate this game a 9 but considering how much unwarranted vitriol there is out there about this game I have to make up for it by giving it an extra point. This game is BRILLIANT. The set pieces are on par with Hollywood films and rarely (if ever) have environments been given this level of detail in a videogame. The gunplay does get slightly repetitive but then I'm forced to thinkHonestly, I rate this game a 9 but considering how much unwarranted vitriol there is out there about this game I have to make up for it by giving it an extra point. This game is BRILLIANT. The set pieces are on par with Hollywood films and rarely (if ever) have environments been given this level of detail in a videogame. The gunplay does get slightly repetitive but then I'm forced to think about COUNTLESS other games where the gunplay is dull, and the one that springs to mind immediately is Halo. Regardless, this game is a must buy for anybody who is into a mature shooting experience devoid of purple aliens (Halo) or giant lizard men (Gears of War). It's a visceral, awesome shooter and it honestly breaks my heart to see such a uniquely awesome game get such a terrible rap. And yeah, the visual style is unprecedented. Expand
  7. Air
    Aug 27, 2010
    5
    I had been truly hoping for Kane & Lynch 2 to be something special, become the crime thriller video game that everybody had always wanted. I had not played the original Kane & Lynch, so I came into this not knowing quite what to expect. Well, first impressions were quite... nauseating. The filters and camera movement they put in this game can really give you a headache, and I've got toI had been truly hoping for Kane & Lynch 2 to be something special, become the crime thriller video game that everybody had always wanted. I had not played the original Kane & Lynch, so I came into this not knowing quite what to expect. Well, first impressions were quite... nauseating. The filters and camera movement they put in this game can really give you a headache, and I've got to say, this is the first time in my entire history of gaming that I had gotten a headache while playing a game. However, I seem to be a rare case, because other publications love it and even herald it as one of the best looking games of the year. In short, I disagree. But now that we've covered its aesthetics, somewhat, let's move on to the game itself. Dog Days is a pretty average third-person shooter. They do very little to change the cookie-cutter formula that I have already seen in so many games before. There are a couple cool additions such as the ability to limp to cover when you are downed, and there is one single sequence that has your shooting from a helicopter, but everything inbetween is average and often repetitive. However, even if all this was enjoyable (which I assume some game journalists found it to be), the game won't even last you five hours, not including the mediocre arcade mode and dime-a-dozen multiplayer modes (with the exception of Fragile Alliance, which I found to be actually intriguing), and that is what really hurts this game. The gameplay itself is tolerable, and some new mechanics could have been embraced more thoroughly if the developers wished for a better game, but selling a game that can literally be beaten in one sitting just hurts. Luckily I only rented it, because $60 for this "experience" would have really stung. Overall, Kane & Lynch 2 is an ordinary shooter with a truly bizarre hit-or-miss visual filter, which stands as one of its few unique elements. Dog Days true merits come from its Fragile Alliance multiplayer mode and some cool co-op moments, but all in all, Kane & Lynch still has stooped down to mediocrity despite all my hopes. The story is gruesome, cynical, and thrilling, but was still very derivative in many areas, and a number of other design flaws make Dog Days hard to recommend. Expand
  8. Aug 19, 2010
    7
    I'm several levels in and this game is far from broken as at least one user and some reviewers have suggested. In fact I think it's a decent shooter with an audacious presentation that raises the experience from standard to good. While the faux videocamera perspective will irritate some who don't have the stomach for it, I love it and think it immerses the gamer in this title more thanI'm several levels in and this game is far from broken as at least one user and some reviewers have suggested. In fact I think it's a decent shooter with an audacious presentation that raises the experience from standard to good. While the faux videocamera perspective will irritate some who don't have the stomach for it, I love it and think it immerses the gamer in this title more than most. Admittedly some foes, such as armored ones, take several bullets to put down, but then so do the protagonists. In that way it's fairly balanced. Run of the mill foes like patrolmen and gangsters take a few body shots or one headshot, others like SWAT type police necessarily require more. And no, they're not perfect marksmen. Plenty of shots miss when one on one, it's just that when swarmed by foes you do take a beating. Plus bullets do pass through cover, but only cover that's logically destructible like non-load-bearing walls or containers. Also they exhibit mostly clever AI, advancing and shooting behind cover, and flanking. Yes, some foes, and even Kane, LOL, will charge into the open at times. And while locales are pretty standard, there's a nice variety and they're designed well with opportunities for both sides to flank the opposition. Yes, the story so far is meager, but it's competent and keeps the action moving, as does the dialog and voice acting. Bottom line, play the demo. If you loved it, you'll love the game; if you hated it, don't bother even renting. I haven't tried online yet, but if it's like the demo, I know I'll like it. Expand
  9. Aug 19, 2010
    0
    Trust this review. Skip. This. Game.

    It is not even worth a rental. Industry people are writing fake user reviews giving it 9 and 10. Its a desperate joke. I have been gaming since 1994, mostly shooters and I know when I see a 0.
  10. Aug 20, 2010
    5
    Showcases whats wrong with video games. To call it "the Transformers 2 of video games" it a bit harsh, whoever worked on the graphics and heroless story deserves their next meal.
  11. Aug 20, 2010
    1
    I loved the original Kane and lynch because I connected well to the story. The game play of the origninal was not that great for a PS3 generation game but the story in coop mode was simply great. Breaking into jail, the night club scenes were epic. Dog Days simply had no story. The guns seemed better and the game play better, but from scene to scene, the story was incoherent and I lostI loved the original Kane and lynch because I connected well to the story. The game play of the origninal was not that great for a PS3 generation game but the story in coop mode was simply great. Breaking into jail, the night club scenes were epic. Dog Days simply had no story. The guns seemed better and the game play better, but from scene to scene, the story was incoherent and I lost interest. When the game ends, me and my friend said "what...that was it?" The campaign was short like real short. I know some will like this game but I felt cheated out of $60. I will say this, the game is real hard this time around on extreme. I mean you die with two bullets. The multiplayer is entertaining. Fragile alliance gets you paranoid that one of your fellow gamers are going to kill you for the money. However, it's not my style and I am not a fan of the gameplay of this game. What hooked me was the origninal's story line, which Dog Days lacked. I just called GameStop to ask how much the game was worth (within the first week of purchase) and it was $22 with edge called. That ought to tell you something because most games like Bad Company 2 was $40 credit months after release. I do not recommend this as a purchase but maybe a rent. Expand
  12. Aug 18, 2010
    3
    If you've played third-person action games before, you've played Kane & Lynch 2. This game has an interesting "Cops" theme but it's layered with everything you've seen in action games today and ten years ago.
  13. Aug 22, 2010
    0
    This game is absolutely awful. It is pathetically short at only five hours long, the cover system is crap, the A.I. is cheap, the camera is broken and the multiplayer just plain sucks. The worst part about it is that it is being sold as a $60 game when it isn't even complete. The main menu has menus and items that are locked which require you to purchase the upcoming DLC. That means thatThis game is absolutely awful. It is pathetically short at only five hours long, the cover system is crap, the A.I. is cheap, the camera is broken and the multiplayer just plain sucks. The worst part about it is that it is being sold as a $60 game when it isn't even complete. The main menu has menus and items that are locked which require you to purchase the upcoming DLC. That means that this content is already on the disk and they expect you to pay more for it on top of the $60 that you already paid for this miserable excuse of a game. Don't make the same mistake I did. Keep far away from this game at all costs. Your wallet will thank you. Expand
  14. Aug 24, 2010
    2
    Probably one of the worst games I have ever played, and thank god it is so mercifully short. Twist_of_Cain87 said that he had fallen into comfort with 8-15 hour games...but this game is only 4 hours, and 5 hours long if you're lucky. Thank god you can turn off the shaky cam, but the annoying effects are still there. The game looks like a VHS tape that's been copied over too many times,Probably one of the worst games I have ever played, and thank god it is so mercifully short. Twist_of_Cain87 said that he had fallen into comfort with 8-15 hour games...but this game is only 4 hours, and 5 hours long if you're lucky. Thank god you can turn off the shaky cam, but the annoying effects are still there. The game looks like a VHS tape that's been copied over too many times, and random grainy streaks of light will pop up all over the screen. Things like head shots get blurred out with annoying pixelation. They still have not refined the shooting or cover mechanics...you'll be blind firing most of the time against what seems like 100s of enemies in such cramped environments. I enjoyed the first Kane and Lynch despite it's flaws...The great locals and situations such as a bank robbery, a prison rescue, and breaking into the side of a sky scarper dressed as a high-rise window cleaner was awesome. Kane and Lynch 2, however, seems to ditch all of the great things that made Dead Men great. Taking the awesome places you went to a cramp Shanghai, and the fact that they do not flesh out the characters at all in this game makes it very un-enjoyable. The most annoying thing for me besides the camera was the down but not out feature. It wouldn't be so annoying if you're cover wasn't blown to smithereens every 2 seconds leaving you vulnerable, nor if you could peek you're head out from cover without being immediately downed. If you like blind firing from cover and an eye-sore of a camera for an entire game, well I guess you'd enjoy it. If not, don't even give this I rent. Expand
  15. Aug 20, 2010
    0
    THE SINGLE WORST camera I have ever seen in a game, AI with perfect aim, characters you couldn't care less about, broken contols. You can't see 10 feet ahead of you because of the terrible lighting blurs! People who rate this highly are gaming industry people in disguise or have never played a good game in their life. If I wanted to watch a heist gone wrong, I'll watch Resevoir Dogs!
  16. Sep 12, 2010
    7
    This is a tough one to review. I can understand why some hate it and some love this game. If your a TF2, CoD, FPS etc hardcore junkie you will not like this game most likely. If you enjoy RE4-5 and like to immerse yourself in the ambiance of a game; you are more likely to like this game. This game is fun for small spurts with friends but becomes a bit one-dimensional with the hide andThis is a tough one to review. I can understand why some hate it and some love this game. If your a TF2, CoD, FPS etc hardcore junkie you will not like this game most likely. If you enjoy RE4-5 and like to immerse yourself in the ambiance of a game; you are more likely to like this game. This game is fun for small spurts with friends but becomes a bit one-dimensional with the hide and shoot aspect. To call that an aspect is a bit of understatement because it is 90% of the game. There are some tactics and you do have to work as a team to constantly outflank the enemy but overall it's the same thing over and over and over again. I would recommend this as a rental if you have time to blow through the story. I haven't tried this on multi-player yet and can't even begin to think on how frustrating that would be, because I already forgot to previously mention that your PoV is like Blair Witch shaky I'm gonna puke camera work. It helps for the feeling of the game but totally hinders your control of your actions. Putting aside all the negative things to me this game is fun but not $54.95 dollars fun. The voice acting is good, the graphics are good not great, and feels as polished as it could be but this is a game that could be so much better. Expand
  17. Aug 24, 2010
    9
    I'm not quite sure why this game has recieved such ill reviews. I had preorded the game, but because of shipping choices, recieved it just yesterday--I was all bummed out because of how it was getting beat on. So I haven't completed single player yet, but I am all a go for this game. The story is some what thin, but still intriquing and pushing you to want more. Its a story ofI'm not quite sure why this game has recieved such ill reviews. I had preorded the game, but because of shipping choices, recieved it just yesterday--I was all bummed out because of how it was getting beat on. So I haven't completed single player yet, but I am all a go for this game. The story is some what thin, but still intriquing and pushing you to want more. Its a story of misdeeds, misundertanding and revenge at this point, and thats real cool with me. The characters communicate throughout, which is quite entertaining--opposed to the mute characters of most games--the difficulty slowly increases to push you more--AI can be a bit retarted sometimes--but that happens all games--but the thing that makes me most intriqued about the game is the incredible art style-the shaky camera--the fuzzed out explicit images--the color schemes--the non-impenetrable cover(breakable/weak cover), the knockdown before death--and the gun powers and aiming--some guns are stronger than others...and aiming is perfect--some guns you get a hairpin aim others are a bit messy--kinda like real guns...

    Although it has all these cool things included--I could see how its not something for everyone. And as for shooting it doesn't do anything for innovation---but what games have? Individuals will point to Gears--but I didn't find much differnce in game play between this and Gears--its a shooter--its got cover--(only disappointment is that there is no Mele attack) which for the purpose of the game doesnt make sense--though you can use someone as a sheild and execute or throw them--which is mele to some extent. It just makes the way you play a bit different--long distance and a bit of sneaking

    Overall I give the game a 9--it doesnt deserve the crap that reviewers have given--it goes far ahead of many games out there that have recieved better scores--and the sheer look of the game pushes it into a whole new range of game quality. Its distrubing to see so many gamers and reviewers **** on a game just because it doesnt fit the norm-
    -PSS--The game is gritty as hell...its awesome.
    Expand
  18. Aug 25, 2010
    10
    I'd normally give this an 8 but it think i need to give it a 10 to balance out the negative reviews. But I'm having a hard time finding why people to don't like the game. It's actually pretty good
  19. Aug 25, 2010
    10
    i think the general consensus on this proves the reviewers are full of **** if i doubted em before, this proves it - Dog Days is a visceral rated mature shot in the arm especially after the barren release wilderness of the past summer, the game looks amazing. sounds amazing, plays amazing.. feels like a launch title on a new console to me, very refreshing. n actually justifies its 18 certi think the general consensus on this proves the reviewers are full of **** if i doubted em before, this proves it - Dog Days is a visceral rated mature shot in the arm especially after the barren release wilderness of the past summer, the game looks amazing. sounds amazing, plays amazing.. feels like a launch title on a new console to me, very refreshing. n actually justifies its 18 cert - extreme mode is essential, adds to the gritty realism remember when you hear folk complaining of bad AI, theve probably got an easier setting on. this mode adds to the sense of realism. Kane n Lynch are all to easy to loathe, n the reviewers fell for it hook line n sinker. though judging by sales, its not bn affected. n it seems the large amount of folk who purchased it are too busy enjoying to leave any web feedback, as theres almost nothing but negativity based on the waay unjust scores. Collapse
  20. Aug 28, 2010
    5
    Frankly, there is the stupidity of these are bright in the game in terms of directing
    And the same old style is no Shi enthuses or strengthens the resolve to play!
    Fees are good and bad but they hit the open shot and very primitive.
    Thanks
    by / adil khojah - saudi arabia jedah city
  21. Oct 1, 2010
    6
    I don't really know what to say about this game. There are lots of glitches the story is poor and the game-play a bit monotonous. However there are some redeeming features such as the interesting filter that creates a documentary feeling throughout the game as though you're following two psychopaths doing their daily business of killing people. Even though this makes it look really cool II don't really know what to say about this game. There are lots of glitches the story is poor and the game-play a bit monotonous. However there are some redeeming features such as the interesting filter that creates a documentary feeling throughout the game as though you're following two psychopaths doing their daily business of killing people. Even though this makes it look really cool I believe it was only added to distract and veil the games mediocre graphics. Expand
  22. Oct 28, 2010
    10
    I dont think this game really think this game lived up to its expectations it was partially enjoyable but i was expecting a lot more. The multi player was alright however there wasn't as much variety to it
  23. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    Amazing game! I played through the first game and i must say this second K&L is by far better. Intense action, great acting, great story, and a great co-op option... If you like and love action games, then this is a must have in your collection! Pay no attention to the low scores below because you will be missing out on a great game.
  24. Aug 23, 2010
    8
    As far as third person shooters go the game play is average its a cover shooter so its going to play the same as a gears or uncharted. The enemy is tough to kill which I think is a good thing. Whats wrong with tougher enemies and the accuracy could be better but that is a minor thing it ads to the realism. The one problem I can understand people having is the filter they use over theAs far as third person shooters go the game play is average its a cover shooter so its going to play the same as a gears or uncharted. The enemy is tough to kill which I think is a good thing. Whats wrong with tougher enemies and the accuracy could be better but that is a minor thing it ads to the realism. The one problem I can understand people having is the filter they use over the graphics but I don't think its that big of a deal. The story is good and arcade mode is great. Its a good game overall and plus there is slim pickings right now as far a good new games go so I recomend it Expand
  25. Aug 25, 2010
    8
    I just finished playing this game for the past 3 hours and i can honestly say its not as bad as i was expecting! after reading reviews i decided to have a go myself, its exactly what it says on the tin, its a fast paced action shoot em up! the story line may not be oscar award winning but who cares your main objective is to blow crap up, i also like how tough this game is and how rewardingI just finished playing this game for the past 3 hours and i can honestly say its not as bad as i was expecting! after reading reviews i decided to have a go myself, its exactly what it says on the tin, its a fast paced action shoot em up! the story line may not be oscar award winning but who cares your main objective is to blow crap up, i also like how tough this game is and how rewarding it is when you get past a certain level Thats why i giving it an 8 cos its god but could be better! Expand
  26. Aug 25, 2010
    2
    By all means skip this game rented it last week and was as disappointed as i was when i played the first one there's to many problems to list so i will just list my main one. the Fing guns don't hit **** its like the guy you are controlling arm is made out of spaghetti. I shot 90 bullets from an uzi from 10 feet at a guy to only land 3 bullets i mean come on whats the point just broken.By all means skip this game rented it last week and was as disappointed as i was when i played the first one there's to many problems to list so i will just list my main one. the Fing guns don't hit **** its like the guy you are controlling arm is made out of spaghetti. I shot 90 bullets from an uzi from 10 feet at a guy to only land 3 bullets i mean come on whats the point just broken. the game is crap so just skip it your not missing anything Expand
  27. Sep 2, 2010
    9
    I honestly don't know what is all this bad water surrounding the game. True, it falls short of being a great game, but it certainly doesn't deserve this kind of a witch hunt. Solid gameplay, interesting multiplayer, very decent visuals and a bold new art direction make this a definite 8. Sure, the story isn't what you would expect after playing through the original, but it's thereI honestly don't know what is all this bad water surrounding the game. True, it falls short of being a great game, but it certainly doesn't deserve this kind of a witch hunt. Solid gameplay, interesting multiplayer, very decent visuals and a bold new art direction make this a definite 8. Sure, the story isn't what you would expect after playing through the original, but it's there nonetheless.

    And please metacritic.com, at least try to be fair and take GameTrailers.com review score into account. This game doesn't deserve a 64! It's good enough to at least be "in the green".
    Expand
  28. Sep 7, 2010
    9
    Excellent game and finally somebody has the balls to try something new in the shooter genre and IO has done a great job. Kane & Lynch 2: Dog Days is a very violent game, but combined with the very raw artistic style in the game and great effects, it fits perfectly in. As always in IO games the music is great and the voice acting is very good.

    I understand why some would not like this
    Excellent game and finally somebody has the balls to try something new in the shooter genre and IO has done a great job. Kane & Lynch 2: Dog Days is a very violent game, but combined with the very raw artistic style in the game and great effects, it fits perfectly in. As always in IO games the music is great and the voice acting is very good.

    I understand why some would not like this game, because of it's very special style, but giving this game 1/10 and 4/10 is ridiculous and a cheesy way to attract hits.

    The single-player can be played both alone and in co-op with friends or random strangers and both modes are highly recommended, great fun. Also included is some great multiplayer modes, but also an arcade mode, which is played against the AI.
    Expand
  29. Sep 9, 2010
    10
    I still think that Kane and Lynch, the characters, sell the franchise alone, despite its game play shortcomings. Still, it is undeniable how the grittiness that was sought by the first game to mixed results is finally captivated in the sequel. I'll wait for the third game, Io/Eidos/Square.
  30. Nov 13, 2010
    4
    I wanted to love this game I really did; just like the England Football team I am sorely disappointed, on paper it looks great but when it comes to match day - awful, hackneyed and over-hyped. The scenery is dark and grey and feels samey- same old warehouse, street, car park etc. The collision detection is questionable and the whole game stank of mediocrity.
  31. Nov 22, 2010
    0
    JackyBeans updated his review after somebody mentioned that he gave it a 9/10 lol

    This game is aweful it really is, the graphics are worse then the first game. When you shoot someone the picture go's blured as it would on t.v if someone was naked. The game is very short also probally 5 hours at most on hard mode. Online is just as bad, and the view of the game cam wobbles as you
    JackyBeans updated his review after somebody mentioned that he gave it a 9/10 lol

    This game is aweful it really is, the graphics are worse then the first game.
    When you shoot someone the picture go's blured as it would on t.v if someone was naked.
    The game is very short also probally 5 hours at most on hard mode.
    Online is just as bad, and the view of the game cam wobbles as you run...cool? NO!!

    avoid at all costs, if your friend offers it to you for free, tell him you will have the game case and not the game as its that bad and you want an extra case for a loose blu-ray lying around somewhere.
    Expand
  32. Dec 29, 2010
    2
    So, I'm in beginning of the game. I'm chasing this guy. I'm running after him, he stops, I continue to run and have nowhere to go. He's staring at me. I try to shoot him. Nope. So, I go on. The game is glitched. We're in 2010. This isn't supposed to happen. Enough said. Also, the game is boring. Story-less.
  33. Mar 24, 2011
    4
    Kane and Lynch was a disappointment and unfortunately Dog Days isn't much better. At first it seems like it could be onto something special but sadly it turns out to be nothing more than an intense shooter that ends up leaving you feel robbed and blinded by the blatant obvious truth: Dog Days sucks!
    The biggest disappointment is that K&L 2 has the potential but that is all it has because
    Kane and Lynch was a disappointment and unfortunately Dog Days isn't much better. At first it seems like it could be onto something special but sadly it turns out to be nothing more than an intense shooter that ends up leaving you feel robbed and blinded by the blatant obvious truth: Dog Days sucks!
    The biggest disappointment is that K&L 2 has the potential but that is all it has because you slowly but surely begin to realise this game is a catastrophe. Visually it is just poor, the camera can move all over the place leaving you both frustrated and in need of a couple of asperin! As for the story/campaign it is just plain and straightforward appaling. It is far to short and being brutally honest there is no story. And that's the problem the original wasn't a classic but it had substance and a decent story to hold together an otherwise average game but Dog Days severley lacks and in the end it just falls apart infront of you. Gameplay is nothing more than average at best. The shooting system fails to inspire and the same old pathetic lines after each shot fired eventually wears thin. In the end it comes boring and repetitive. Multiplayer is ambitious and at times works the problem is the connectivity! It spoils things. Fragile Alliance is the best part of the full game in all honesty as the rest of multiplayer is hardly revolutionary. All in all Dog Days is nothing more than an average shooter at most. Graphics aside the story is non-existent and spoils any slight enjoyment you might have the chance of gaining as you fail to connect. Hugely disappointing!
    Expand
  34. Nov 21, 2012
    1
    4 HOURS. You'll finish this game in 4 HOURS. Bland story, bland mechanics, **** video filters that hurts your eyes...all the people here who have given it scores of above 7 are liars or corporate sock puppet accounts.

    SAVE. YOUR. MONEY and go play a BETTER game.
  35. Apr 6, 2012
    3
    Abysmal, repetitive boring and frustrating. These are the words that describe Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days to me. I've played through the 4 hour campaign, which has a one sentence story, with no character development, absolutely no logical sense or anything sensible about it. The gameplay is the worst part of the game, while I agree the shooting, the gun feel is quite heavy and visceral,Abysmal, repetitive boring and frustrating. These are the words that describe Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days to me. I've played through the 4 hour campaign, which has a one sentence story, with no character development, absolutely no logical sense or anything sensible about it. The gameplay is the worst part of the game, while I agree the shooting, the gun feel is quite heavy and visceral, this doesn't negate the fact that you'll be shooting, and only shooting, for four hours straight, this gets boring after about 10 minutes of the game. There are no mini games, no stealth sequences, no bank robbing, NOTHING but shooting at bad guys who pop their heads out of cover every 5 seconds or so through boring factories, slumps, and train stations. I bought this game just because of how it looked, and I believe many did so too, but if you take out the gimmicky visuals, it's an ugly, boring, simple, short game which deserves being in the bargain bin. I do not suggest buying it, or even renting it. Expand
  36. Oct 1, 2012
    3
    You'd be mistaken at first for thinking your GPU has failed when the pink, blurry flickering makes everything look hideous and not as it should be. But believe me, the graphics really are THAT BAD. Not only is the camera hideously shaky and badly angled, but the darkness and pink blur filter makes it unplayable at times- especially in the darker areas. It does however run at 60 frames perYou'd be mistaken at first for thinking your GPU has failed when the pink, blurry flickering makes everything look hideous and not as it should be. But believe me, the graphics really are THAT BAD. Not only is the camera hideously shaky and badly angled, but the darkness and pink blur filter makes it unplayable at times- especially in the darker areas. It does however run at 60 frames per second, but to a huge cost. The weapons' sounds seem to have been directly copied and pasted from Hitman Codename 47 (after all, it is running on the same ugly & dated engine). Controls could definitely be worse, but they do not deserve any praise whatsoever. Gameplay is very repetitive, with little variation other than shooting enemies. Levels don't seem to change. It's a pretty standard shooter. Could be worse. I would not recommend this game to anyone. Expand
  37. Dec 18, 2013
    6
    This game is not as bad as they say. There aren't a lot of good games to play in couch co-op campaign and this one has. The gameplay is good but very limited in size and scope. It's very short and a lot off times we didn't know what to do.
    But it was funny and entertaining to play with a friend and that's what counts. If you find this in the bargain bin, steal it, I mean buy it.
  38. Jan 27, 2012
    4
    The following are my scores on graphics, controls, gameplay, story, and fun factor for Dog Days. First, I will address the positives. [GRAPHICS: 9/10]. Compared to the first game, this one definitely improves on graphics. Everything looks grimier and more realistic. [CONTROLS: 8.5/10] A little tighter and easier to handle this time around. Now onto the BAD: [GAME PLAY: 5/10] With DogThe following are my scores on graphics, controls, gameplay, story, and fun factor for Dog Days. First, I will address the positives. [GRAPHICS: 9/10]. Compared to the first game, this one definitely improves on graphics. Everything looks grimier and more realistic. [CONTROLS: 8.5/10] A little tighter and easier to handle this time around. Now onto the BAD: [GAME PLAY: 5/10] With Dog Days, Eidos really tried to fix a lot of the issues that were noted in the first one. However, at the same time, they took out a lot of elements that made the first game so unique and fun. The game plays with mechanics similar to Gears Of War; you press X to take cover, and while pointing your L stick left or right and pressing X, you can make your character dash around to the opposite wall or low cover. You also have the choice of blind firing without aiming. The list of similarity goes on. All of this makes maneuvering through the stages a lot smoother compared to Dead Men's Freedom Fighter-like mechanics. But, what's been removed is the ability to conduct silent take downs. Instead, now you can hold people like human shields. But if you want to execute anyone, it's going to be a loud gunshot through their skull, and everyone is going to hear it. But that doesn't really make a difference in this game, because you can't ever take on any situation with stealth, because once you walk past an invisible line, all the enemies in that section just automatically know where you are. Enemy snipers are also much less intimidating, because they removed the enemy sniper scope indicator (which use to pop up and show you the enemy sniper's point of view). Enemy snipers use to kill the player with one shot, but in this game snipers have no intimidation factor. Kane can yell "Sniper!" all day long but I couldn't give two sh*ts, because they aren't any deadlier than the usual grunt. Another change is that there is no longer the need to watch out for your partner and heal him, causing the urgency level of this game to really suffer. In Dead Men, players had to ensure the safety of their teammates, because if they went down, then you would have to approach them and inject them with adrenaline to revive them. And your teammates would do the same for you if you went down. However, the catch was, that if anybody got injected more than a few times within a few minutes, than that character would overdose and die, so health regenerations weren't unlimited. In Dog Days, there is no need to heal anybody. If you go down the first few times, you have the option of crawling around and firing at opponents, and then pressing X to stand back up and continue the fight. And if you were playing the story mode by yourself with Kane as the AI, you wouldn't need to worry about him at all because this man is more bullet proof than Terminator. The last difference I want to address is that unlike the first game, in Dog Days, you can no longer give orders to your teammates. Now they just run around and do whatever they see fit. [STORYLINE: 1/10]: This part is where the game suffers the most. The "story mode" is almost absent of any story what so ever. Basically Kayne goes to China to meet Lynch. Lynch is involved in a deal gone bad. Bad guys hunt down Lynch's girlfriend. Lynch and Kane try to save the girl. Girl got killed. Kane and Lynch got mad, and decided to kill everything in their path. And for the next 5 hours it is the same damn gunfight, over and over and over again, just in different locations. The storyline was so lacking, that most times I didn't even know how or why I got from point A to point B. All I knew was I been shooting for the last 5 hours, and I couldn't wait to reach the ending so I can stop shooting and end this terrible story just to say that I beat the game. [FUN FACTOR]: The only fun you're gonna get out of this game is the interesting multiplayer modes it offers. That's about it. But these days, it would be a surprise to find anyone online still playing this awful game. Expand
  39. Feb 26, 2012
    7
    Since the market is saturated with first person shooters, happy to have this as a third person alternative. On the plus side, great shooting, interesting environments, ok graphics. Negative, killing dogs and the short campaign. Definitely worth a play at the discount price you can get it now. Series holds a lot of potential. Gritty. For third person fans, it's a fine escape for a couple hours.
  40. Mar 14, 2013
    3
    This game is short lasting about 3-4 hours. It's levels are very repetitive all you do is go from point A to point B shooting your way through dull levels. K&L 2's arcade mode and multiplayer are fun but only for a while. The cover system feels semi-broken. The voice acting is good however, too bad the story is pathetic. It's not worth a full price purchase because it doesn't feel like aThis game is short lasting about 3-4 hours. It's levels are very repetitive all you do is go from point A to point B shooting your way through dull levels. K&L 2's arcade mode and multiplayer are fun but only for a while. The cover system feels semi-broken. The voice acting is good however, too bad the story is pathetic. It's not worth a full price purchase because it doesn't feel like a full game. Overall it's bad. It could have been worse but not by much. Expand
  41. Jul 13, 2012
    1
    At first i have to say that i really enjoyed the first game, even though it was far from perfect.
    I didn´t have high hopes for the second game, but i thought i would have fun for a couple of hours.
    Since i finished the Singleplayer in less that 2 hours and didn´t even enjoy the time, i wouldn´t recoomend this game to anyone. The Standard Camera is completely horrible.
    At first i have to say that i really enjoyed the first game, even though it was far from perfect.
    I didn´t have high hopes for the second game, but i thought i would have fun for a couple of hours.
    Since i finished the Singleplayer in less that 2 hours and didn´t even enjoy the time, i wouldn´t recoomend this game to anyone. The Standard Camera is completely horrible. It gave me a headache because of the constant shaking. I should have known that i could turn it off, but by the time i found it out, i allready completed the game. The story is boring and tries to hard. Graphics are ok, but nothing special and why would you ever play the multiplayer with all the great multiplayergames out there.

    One of the worst games i have played and even a rental isn´t cheap enough. Don´t give these devs money, they really don´t deserve it for this game.
    Expand
  42. Oct 14, 2012
    3
    Kane and lynch 2 is actually a step backwards from the original. It has a 4-5 hour campaign and the same repetitive levels that all look the same. The scenery never looks different. Its just the alleys of shanghai. A company CANNOT give a terrible campaign and just expect multiplayer to make up for it. Especially when there is so much more potential out on the market that a consumer couldKane and lynch 2 is actually a step backwards from the original. It has a 4-5 hour campaign and the same repetitive levels that all look the same. The scenery never looks different. Its just the alleys of shanghai. A company CANNOT give a terrible campaign and just expect multiplayer to make up for it. Especially when there is so much more potential out on the market that a consumer could buy, rather than this garbage. The fact that this game costs a full retail price doesn't help its case. Expand
  43. Nov 20, 2013
    4
    Honestly did not like it and i'm even not upset with the micro-lenght of the campaign. In fact it was a relief when it ended.
    STORY AND CHARACTERS: Boring and confusing storyline, uncharismatic characters, i mean i couldn't care less what would happen to both of them.
    PRESENTATION: Very good. The low colour almost monochromatic gives it a saturated look that only benefits the experience.
    Honestly did not like it and i'm even not upset with the micro-lenght of the campaign. In fact it was a relief when it ended.
    STORY AND CHARACTERS: Boring and confusing storyline, uncharismatic characters, i mean i couldn't care less what would happen to both of them.
    PRESENTATION: Very good. The low colour almost monochromatic gives it a saturated look that only benefits the experience. Sadly it's not enough to save the game.
    GAMEPLAY: As a 3rd person shooter the gameplay is pretty decent. It delivers but it doesn't have it...
    ONLINE: By the time i played it there was no online community so...
    With a different story and a good tweak on the gameplay and it could mean business. But in fact all it meant to me was a waste of 6 hours of my life.
    Expand
  44. Jul 11, 2013
    8
    i really dont see why this game has such a low score,the story is told very well by 2 awesome characters! is this really only because of the "youtube" look? im really not a fan of FPS but i enjoyed playing this game (especially offline coop with my brother) and really enjoyed the story,totally underrated!
  45. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    THE most underrated shooter of all time. I'm convinced that if the "steady cam" camera mode were set to "enabled" at start, the average review for this would be much, much, higher. Like others have mentioned, the shaky camera thing that is on by default was a giant mistake. Had I myself not already seen a review with a tip about turning it off, I probably would have stopped playing afterTHE most underrated shooter of all time. I'm convinced that if the "steady cam" camera mode were set to "enabled" at start, the average review for this would be much, much, higher. Like others have mentioned, the shaky camera thing that is on by default was a giant mistake. Had I myself not already seen a review with a tip about turning it off, I probably would have stopped playing after about ten minutes, and subsequently missed out on what I believe to be one of the most immersive, thematic, well acted, richly evocative, and just plain fun action games of the decade. Bear in mind, I'm talking strictly about single-player here it's now 2013 and the multiplayer game has totally dried up.

    The other reason I think this game gets lower reviews than it deserves: the lead characters are morally ambiguous criminals. And we're not talking about lovable anti-heros like the guys from Oceans Eleven or Heat (although the action sequences from that film were definitely an influence here, which is a great thing..) I can totally understand how the Gears of War crowd might find it challenging to assume the role of a desperate, balding, impulsive, mid-level crook. The world of Gears of War is downright antiseptic compared to the characters, setting, story, and visual aesthetic of Kane and Lynch. In this game, killing innocents who get in your way comes with no penalty. There is no good/bad meter. The game leaves that stuff all up to you. And if you want to fully enjoy this game, you really can't sit in judgement of the characters, you have to embrace them in all their un-redeeming glory. Several times while playing, I had to remind myself that it was okay to be bad, because it is after all, just a game. So I am not surprised that many gamers reacted so harshly to the prospect of playing as someone who is just ugly, physically and morally. I will say that when I did open myself up to what the game challenges you to explore, it was one of the most enthralling experiences I've had sitting in front of a TV. That said, Kane and Lynch are not completely unsympathetic I wont go into story stuff here... suffice it to say, I had a much, MUCH deeper emotional connection to them than anyone in Gears, Halo, Far Cry, whatever...

    Regarding the story it was so refreshing to not have to sit through tons of exposition. I find it ironic that people complain about the length of the single player campaign here, because where are the complaints for the tons of padding in so many games that have you sit through a deluge of expositional recordings and tedious backstory that doesn't forward the plot or connect you to the plight of the characters in a meaningful way? Even everyone's beloved Bioshock, which I played concurrently with K&L the entire story takes place in the past it doesn't drive the action so much as vary the pace of the game with dialogue that is admittedly less dry than the typical "data discs" or "ancient tomes" scattered throughout most modern video games, but let's face it, the thing that makes Bioshock great is the environment and the overall concept. I can't stress enough how much I dislike having to listen to or read long stretches of exposition in leu of actual forward moving story structure. In K&L the story takes place in the present. No boring cutscenes talking about their past. The story elements happen DURING THE ACTION. Perfect. And the performances are AMAZING. What is the downside to minimal cutscenes and zero expositional text/audio? The game is shorter. Because it figuratively and literally cuts to the chase. As for the reviewer who claimed there is no story... I don't even know how to address that... I can only guess that they are so used to the the trite, overwrought, highly expositional nonsense one finds in most games that they don't recognize good storytelling when they see it. Good storytelling is simple, visceral, and hopefully, invisible. I consider the storytelling in this game masterful. For me it was one of the most cinematic gameplay experiences I've had. To any potential future players, let me say this... when you play through this game, at a certain point you wind up taking refuge in a television store... when that scene happens, think back on what I'm talking about here, and ask yourself is there a story? I think you will agree, the answer is yes. And it is FAR more engaging than your typical shooter.

    Finally, regarding the hit detection. I don't get people's complaints here when you hit the enemies, little x's appear right where you hit them, so you get a very acurate sense of the spread of bullets. If they're not taking hits, it means their cover is too high and you need to think tactically and try to flank. This is not a flaw, this is good gameplay.

    Clearly this game isn't for everybody. But for those willing to go where this game wants to take you, all I can say is... buckle up.
    Expand
  46. Dec 7, 2013
    4
    Kane and Lynch 2 Dog Days Review

    This game is bad it is really bad. To start off the game throws you in Lynch with his girlfriend and then immediately sends you into a loading screen and then into another cut scene. They you see his partner who has arrived from a flight and is now in Shanghai with Lynch. It then shows them going into gang turf because Lynch needs to talk to someone.
    Kane and Lynch 2 Dog Days Review

    This game is bad it is really bad. To start off the game throws you in Lynch with his girlfriend and then immediately sends you into a loading screen and then into another cut scene. They you see his partner who has arrived from a flight and is now in Shanghai with Lynch. It then shows them going into gang turf because Lynch needs to talk to someone.

    At this point I am finally ready to actually play. So you go up to the door kick it in and wait for it………. Another cut scene. It shows them walking into what you presume is a gang lord although you don’t know because they haven’t developed any of the plot yet. So he starts running and then you have to chase him.

    To point out the first flaw of the whole game is the jerking camera. I know it is used for more of a cinematic prospect but it is annoying. So while running the camera is jogging up and down and it makes you not able to focus at all. So while your chasing after him you get introduced to the first set of enemies. Ahhh. This is a joke. You have to shoot them but you cant because the camera is jogging up and down while you trying to aim at enemy that you can barely see. Another problem is that you are getting shot so much that you cant even see because the whole screen is covered with your blood. The worst part of this all is I am playing on Normal.

    So once you get passed these enemies you keep on chasing the guy until your thrown into another group. But before I tell you more I want to talk about the AI in this game. Kane is no help at all. All he does is just shout at you while shooting his gun what feels like just up in the air.

    Know I need to talk about the music, which is one of the only decent parts of this game. It is basically just a standard kind of eerie track that plays while you hear all the gunfire.

    The plot is also kind of a mess because it feels like you are getting thrown into it. Like when you start you don’t even really know what’s going on and then in the next mission you’re a bodyguard for a guy you don’t even know. Another thing to talk about is the graphics. They are decent but not the best that the PS3 or Xbox 360 could handle.

    In conclusion this game deserves a 4 out of 10 for being a waste of everyone’s time.
    Expand
  47. Aug 25, 2010
    0
    i think the general consensus on this proves the reviewers are full of **** if i doubted em before, this proves it - Dog Days is a visceral rated mature shot in the arm especially after the barren release wilderness of the past summer, the game looks amazing. sounds amazing, plays amazing.. feels like a launch title on a new console to me, very refreshing. n actually justifies its 18 certi think the general consensus on this proves the reviewers are full of **** if i doubted em before, this proves it - Dog Days is a visceral rated mature shot in the arm especially after the barren release wilderness of the past summer, the game looks amazing. sounds amazing, plays amazing.. feels like a launch title on a new console to me, very refreshing. n actually justifies its 18 cert - extreme mode is essential, adds to the gritty realism remember when you hear folk complaining of bad AI, theve probably got an easier setting on. this mode adds to the sense of realism. Kane n Lynch are all to easy to loathe, n the reviewers fell for it hook line n sinker. though judging by sales, its not bn affected. n it seems the large amount of folk who purchased it are too busy enjoying to leave any web feedback, as theres almost nothing but negativity based on the waay unjust scores. Collapse
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 53
  2. Negative: 9 out of 53
  1. Kane & Lynch 2 is as much an online grudge generator as it is a video game. [Issue#51, p.120]
  2. Kane & Lynch 2: Dog Days is an interesting beast because it really shouldn't exist. Outside of a unique art style it brings nothing new to the genre and does little to improve over the original game, which I might add, was far from a good game.
  3. Better than the first title, but due to lackluster visuals (lights above can even leave visible bars on the screen), erratic AI, and the frustration level enhanced by foes that never miss and guns that suck, it still falls shy of the "must-try" plateau.