Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 53 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 123 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Kane & Lynch 2: Dog Days is a raw and brutal crime shooter designed to take players on an even more intense story experience, following two of gaming's most disturbed criminals, through the gritty Shanghai underworld.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 53
  2. Negative: 9 out of 53
  1. Kane & Lynch 2: Dog Days provides what the original could not - fantastically gory action over a stunning backdrop of mob warfare and careless violence. There are still a few issues carried over that mar the overall package, but both Mr Kane and Mr Lynch now most definitely have our full attention.
  2. You´ll either love it or hate it but there are things about Kane & Lynch 2 that won´t make you forget it. The graphics are refreshingly unique, the characters shine like dark diamonds out of the mass of your-average-videogame-hero and the story will shock you. But please, do not talk about the gunplay, ever.
  3. 71
    The duo is great in this game just like before, but the game is way too short. The graphics are quite unique because of the rough camera and the censor and the voice-acting is genius. The gameplay is fun, but it isn't great. Besides of the singleplayer there is also a coop feature and a pretty funny multiplayer.
  4. Kane & Lynch 2: Dog Days is a homage to the YouTube generation, creatively 'shot' like a B-movie. While its presentation is enough to turn some heads, the mediocre gameplay and lack of level diversity keep this game from having any lasting appeal.
  5. If your preference is single-player or co-op, Dog Days' lack of personality (both in the characters and on the battlefield) results in one of the blandest shooters out there. Given how little the story matters, Mickey Mouse and Donald Duck could have been swapped in as the protagonists and I probably wouldn't have noticed.
  6. A really well written story, enjoyable dialogue and somewhat fun multiplayer is the only thing that makes Kane & Lynch 2 bearable. Other than that, the action is broken, the AI is really bad and the graphics feels outdated. This is only for fans of the first game.
  7. Really Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days is a failure in just about every aspect. While you can enjoy the game, especially the online or Arcade mode, a good bit there's almost nothing to make this game something that anybody should own.

See all 53 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 48
  2. Negative: 23 out of 48
  1. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    Honestly, I rate this game a 9 but considering how much unwarranted vitriol there is out there about this game I have to make up for it byHonestly, I rate this game a 9 but considering how much unwarranted vitriol there is out there about this game I have to make up for it by giving it an extra point. This game is BRILLIANT. The set pieces are on par with Hollywood films and rarely (if ever) have environments been given this level of detail in a videogame. The gunplay does get slightly repetitive but then I'm forced to think about COUNTLESS other games where the gunplay is dull, and the one that springs to mind immediately is Halo. Regardless, this game is a must buy for anybody who is into a mature shooting experience devoid of purple aliens (Halo) or giant lizard men (Gears of War). It's a visceral, awesome shooter and it honestly breaks my heart to see such a uniquely awesome game get such a terrible rap. And yeah, the visual style is unprecedented. Expand
  2. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    Amazing game! I played through the first game and i must say this second K&L is by far better. Intense action, great acting, great story, andAmazing game! I played through the first game and i must say this second K&L is by far better. Intense action, great acting, great story, and a great co-op option... If you like and love action games, then this is a must have in your collection! Pay no attention to the low scores below because you will be missing out on a great game. Expand
  3. Aug 20, 2010
    8
    This game looks fantastic. The graphics are not top-tier, but the weird pastel look of the last game is done away with through a clever filmThis game looks fantastic. The graphics are not top-tier, but the weird pastel look of the last game is done away with through a clever film effect. A shake-cam (which can be disabled) really improves the tension of the action. It is a unique style. The shooting is solid, a major improvement over the previous game. The game is difficult but feels rewarding.

    In addition to the story mode, an "arcade mode" allows one player to play up to ten rounds as members of a heist in different locales. I don't play on Xbox Live, but arcade mode is very cinematic and offers a ranking system similar to online games. It is addicting, even if the lackluster A.I. can't compete well in later rounds.

    The game has some major flaws. The story is quite short (it took me 3 1/2 hours; medium difficulty on split screen). The ending is abrupt. There is a strange problem in late-game that can possibly pause the screen for up to around fifteen seconds whenever a headshot is landed. Despite these problems, the story is definitely worth playing through. While $60 may be a little steep, I am content with where IO is going with this franchise.
    Expand
  4. Aug 28, 2010
    5
    Frankly, there is the stupidity of these are bright in the game in terms of directing
    And the same old style is no Shi enthuses or
    Frankly, there is the stupidity of these are bright in the game in terms of directing
    And the same old style is no Shi enthuses or strengthens the resolve to play!
    Fees are good and bad but they hit the open shot and very primitive.
    Thanks
    by / adil khojah - saudi arabia jedah city
    Expand
  5. Jan 27, 2012
    4
    The following are my scores on graphics, controls, gameplay, story, and fun factor for Dog Days. First, I will address the positives.The following are my scores on graphics, controls, gameplay, story, and fun factor for Dog Days. First, I will address the positives. [GRAPHICS: 9/10]. Compared to the first game, this one definitely improves on graphics. Everything looks grimier and more realistic. [CONTROLS: 8.5/10] A little tighter and easier to handle this time around. Now onto the BAD: [GAME PLAY: 5/10] With Dog Days, Eidos really tried to fix a lot of the issues that were noted in the first one. However, at the same time, they took out a lot of elements that made the first game so unique and fun. The game plays with mechanics similar to Gears Of War; you press X to take cover, and while pointing your L stick left or right and pressing X, you can make your character dash around to the opposite wall or low cover. You also have the choice of blind firing without aiming. The list of similarity goes on. All of this makes maneuvering through the stages a lot smoother compared to Dead Men's Freedom Fighter-like mechanics. But, what's been removed is the ability to conduct silent take downs. Instead, now you can hold people like human shields. But if you want to execute anyone, it's going to be a loud gunshot through their skull, and everyone is going to hear it. But that doesn't really make a difference in this game, because you can't ever take on any situation with stealth, because once you walk past an invisible line, all the enemies in that section just automatically know where you are. Enemy snipers are also much less intimidating, because they removed the enemy sniper scope indicator (which use to pop up and show you the enemy sniper's point of view). Enemy snipers use to kill the player with one shot, but in this game snipers have no intimidation factor. Kane can yell "Sniper!" all day long but I couldn't give two sh*ts, because they aren't any deadlier than the usual grunt. Another change is that there is no longer the need to watch out for your partner and heal him, causing the urgency level of this game to really suffer. In Dead Men, players had to ensure the safety of their teammates, because if they went down, then you would have to approach them and inject them with adrenaline to revive them. And your teammates would do the same for you if you went down. However, the catch was, that if anybody got injected more than a few times within a few minutes, than that character would overdose and die, so health regenerations weren't unlimited. In Dog Days, there is no need to heal anybody. If you go down the first few times, you have the option of crawling around and firing at opponents, and then pressing X to stand back up and continue the fight. And if you were playing the story mode by yourself with Kane as the AI, you wouldn't need to worry about him at all because this man is more bullet proof than Terminator. The last difference I want to address is that unlike the first game, in Dog Days, you can no longer give orders to your teammates. Now they just run around and do whatever they see fit. [STORYLINE: 1/10]: This part is where the game suffers the most. The "story mode" is almost absent of any story what so ever. Basically Kayne goes to China to meet Lynch. Lynch is involved in a deal gone bad. Bad guys hunt down Lynch's girlfriend. Lynch and Kane try to save the girl. Girl got killed. Kane and Lynch got mad, and decided to kill everything in their path. And for the next 5 hours it is the same damn gunfight, over and over and over again, just in different locations. The storyline was so lacking, that most times I didn't even know how or why I got from point A to point B. All I knew was I been shooting for the last 5 hours, and I couldn't wait to reach the ending so I can stop shooting and end this terrible story just to say that I beat the game. [FUN FACTOR]: The only fun you're gonna get out of this game is the interesting multiplayer modes it offers. That's about it. But these days, it would be a surprise to find anyone online still playing this awful game. Expand
  6. Oct 1, 2012
    3
    You'd be mistaken at first for thinking your GPU has failed when the pink, blurry flickering makes everything look hideous and not as itYou'd be mistaken at first for thinking your GPU has failed when the pink, blurry flickering makes everything look hideous and not as it should be. But believe me, the graphics really are THAT BAD. Not only is the camera hideously shaky and badly angled, but the darkness and pink blur filter makes it unplayable at times- especially in the darker areas. It does however run at 60 frames per second, but to a huge cost. The weapons' sounds seem to have been directly copied and pasted from Hitman Codename 47 (after all, it is running on the same ugly & dated engine). Controls could definitely be worse, but they do not deserve any praise whatsoever. Gameplay is very repetitive, with little variation other than shooting enemies. Levels don't seem to change. It's a pretty standard shooter. Could be worse. I would not recommend this game to anyone. Expand
  7. Mar 31, 2015
    0
    This isn't a new game by any means.. but my friend and I originally bought this back in 2010 on a black Friday sale, we got it cheap, it was aThis isn't a new game by any means.. but my friend and I originally bought this back in 2010 on a black Friday sale, we got it cheap, it was a new release, and at that time, we lived on the edge.. we didn't need to look into trailers or watch game play, its 2010, why would games lie to us! we heard about it, lets take a shot.. Never again.. never.. again.. from that point forward, it was painfully obvious that companies would only compile trailers and art to adhere to to an audience, and completely forsake game play, plot, and any beta testing (2015 hasn't changed much guys, has it? probably got worse) .. Having a ps4 now, I chuckle at this mess.. and my friend and I decided to pop it into are dusting ps3's and take a stroll down memory lane.. Maybe are memories were blurred, could we have been too quick to judge? What if this was a hidden gem that we didn't give credit to where.... NO!.. NO NO NO! It's literally the worst freaken game I have ever played. There is no plot.. unless you count the annoying guy always wearing sunglasses (Kane?) yelling "What the fu*k is going on?"..."What's happening?" every 7 seconds.. you'll 'run' through linear path after path, with countless block looking objects shooting at you.. i mean mob guys or cops... the graphics seriously look more like psp.. and if you don't turn off the camera, have fun trying to see anything! even with it off, the 'motion blur' blurs everything when you turn the camera and the blue lens flair down the entire middle of the screen? Wow! it's like it really is being shot from a camera.. SO REAL! .. so we've forced are way through a few levels (which apparently in a matter of an hour or two, we are half way through this pile of donkey crap), not only are the shooting mechanics some of the worst I've ever seen.. half of the time you can literally run straight up to an enemy (are they really my enemy? these characters are empty, they probably deserve to get shot) and shoot them point blank - hit probably 80% of the time because, why would accuracy matter - and they'll take it! their a bullet sponge! a clip later, they'll probably fall over. If not, the enemies will run sporadically around the map, usually right past you and take cover.. or not.. they'll probably glitch through the cover or straight across open terrain. Beyond that.. my favorite part, half of the city is destroyed! never explained why.. nothing is explained. Why do the Chinese want you dead? Why are cops after you? Why can i shoot every civilian around and there are no repercussions?! BECAUSE YOU BOUGHT THIS GAME! Your life will no longer make sense. Kane and Lynch takes all common sense and throws it to the wayside.. glitches abound, you'll love the CO-OP DOORS! You can't advance unless you and your partner both press square on a door! FUN! Oh, your partner, that annoying fat ass with the sunglasses at night is down?! TAP HIM ON THE BACK BY PRESSING SQUARE! it's a cure all for bullets. But don't worry, one partner will go down when a feather touches him, but I was able to literally run around, nearly bouncing back and forth, spray and pray to every enemy, and not go down.. (maybe I broke the game with my insane tactics?).. Sure, i took a ton of damage, but this game doesn't make sense remember! So I just went rambo and cleared 20 guys who mostly just stood or ran around sporadically, or just shot at my friend, he went 'down' 4 times after a jar of peanut butter fell on him, but I'm good. Sweet. At this point, the inner mechanization's of my mind have become an enigma. This is so terrible, that we're actually enjoying bashing it.. is this what they've set out to do?! Create the best "worst" experience of all time? Because that's what it is.. The cut scenes look like cardboard with terrible voice acting, over the top cursing (we get it, swearing is cool.. when your 11, it add's nothing, especially to this game), ridiculous occurrences like shooting a van in the side a few times makes it go boom, or hey, the same with a magazine shop lol.. and my favorite, hey! a chopper! downtown! no police seem to care it's shooting at you! This has turned into a rambling mess, and I'm certain i've missed 900 reasons to why this game is the worst, but that's what this game does to you.. it melts your brain from how terrible it is.. If goal is to seek out and play the bottom scum of garbage, the stuff the sewer spits up, where no beta testing, graphical improvements, and pix-elated floating neck beards will get you hard.. Then yes, I suggest this to you, that you play this out of sheer irony for what is wrong with the industry.. If you want to play a game, I advise literally anything else.. EVER.. minesweeper from windows 95 is more polished. Or.. just wait till you have diarrhea. Poke at it with a spatula. It'll be better than this. Expand

See all 48 User Reviews