Kane & Lynch: Dead Men PlayStation 3

User Score
3.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 111 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 111
  2. Negative: 66 out of 111

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 26, 2011
    1
    i got this game for free and i am glad i did not waste money on buying it because it is not a good game at all. first off ill start with the story it does not make sense in the begining and it is altogether very stupid and im pretty sure it has been done before but as a couple movies (minus the stupid sidekick that is) and this is not counting the dificulty, at some points it is so easyi got this game for free and i am glad i did not waste money on buying it because it is not a good game at all. first off ill start with the story it does not make sense in the begining and it is altogether very stupid and im pretty sure it has been done before but as a couple movies (minus the stupid sidekick that is) and this is not counting the dificulty, at some points it is so easy but then it becomes extreamly hard the next mission and they drop the F bomb in almost every sentence like a little kid who just found the word. CO-OP this is not very good either since you get almost no room to see anything and it makes it hard to play the game and i found myself fighting with my partner over what to do because we could not see anything in full which is important. have not played online so no comment. the graphics were ok i guess for the time it came out but does not make up for the clunky controls, the bugs, the awful voice acting, horrible co-op and horrible story. stay away and do not let this game anywhere near your PS3 Expand
  2. AlanW.
    Dec 2, 2007
    0
    One of the most dreary and tedious pieces of work I have seen. Maybe OK for masochists.
  3. AndrewT
    May 31, 2008
    6
    This game has some of the dumbest AI ever. The cover system doesnt help at all either, whether its the AI or the player in cover somehow something seems to go horrible wrong. Whether its the player who gets killed by a sniper, or the AI who gets easily blasted away.
  4. benjyx
    Feb 29, 2008
    3
    Yes, this is a very weak game. The hype that surrounded this made me want it. It showed a lot of promise and could have been really good, but no it was spoiled completely. However the same can be said for io's last big game (Hitman) after a poor first game the series has gotten a lot better, so Kane and Lynch 4 could be more worthy of your money!
  5. kylew
    Jun 19, 2008
    9
    A very Fun action game. great 2 player co-op just don't look to deep into it and you and your buddy should have a smile on your face .
  6. ChrisH.
    Dec 22, 2007
    8
    Although the single player campaign is horribly short and easy, even on the hardest setting, the multiplayer mode more than makes up for the single players shortcomings. Every match is different, despite their only being 4 different maps, and everyone you play with has different habits - letting the rest of the team taking out the police, then coming in from the back and betraying Although the single player campaign is horribly short and easy, even on the hardest setting, the multiplayer mode more than makes up for the single players shortcomings. Every match is different, despite their only being 4 different maps, and everyone you play with has different habits - letting the rest of the team taking out the police, then coming in from the back and betraying everyone, then running with the cash, or being and the front and taking out the cops, allowing everyone else to easily grab the money and then sharing it out. Your always on edge as you play, and endlessly spinning the camera around to watch your back. Expand
  7. IanR.
    Jan 28, 2008
    4
    Got this game free with my PS3 and frankly couldn't see a visual difference to the game I'd been playing before (Scarface on original XBOX). So my first taste of "next gen" graphics were some what disappointing. I completed it then swiftly traded it, not completely crap but not far off!
  8. HitmanAgent47
    Nov 27, 2007
    6
    Kane and Lynch: Dead Men is a game created by the Hitman team therefore should have been something special. However the game falls flat and is not worth its asking price. This game is not what I expected from a gritty crime cim from the developers of the Hitman series. I mean you don't even get to play the game in solo mode as the psycotic man Lynch.
  9. Aug 19, 2010
    7
    If you look past the clunky controls and the sometimes stupid AI, you'll find a pretty decent action game here. The story is very mature and the lead characters are great. Definitely worth at least a try.
  10. PetterR
    Feb 16, 2008
    8
    It is a good game, funny and exciting campaign, very funny, but a little buggy online multiplayer. And its got one of the coolest stories ever! I still haven't tried co-op mode!
  11. CarlosF.
    Nov 30, 2007
    1
    This game fails on all major parts, Bad story, bad gameplay, sub par graphics, bad multiplayer. Don buy it.
  12. TRUTHHurts
    Dec 19, 2007
    0
    An aborration of a game. So horrible that it may make you never wat to play games again. A complete fail on every level. Compared to some of the pure artistry coming out at the moment this game SUCKS. They tried to buy reviews which should be warning enough. PURE RUBBISH. Less than 0.
  13. WalterV.
    Dec 10, 2007
    0
    Failed at trying to be original with multiplayer experience. Failed at trying to be "cool" by infesting vulgar expression whenever possible. Failed at great graphics, pre-"next gen" graphics. This is not even worth renting.
  14. KwyjiboJ.
    Dec 6, 2007
    7
    The story is pretty cool, and the characters are more three dimensional than your average. The gameplay has some issues though, and the graphics are exactly PS3 quality.
  15. JasperJ.
    Dec 8, 2007
    7
    Great premise and story. I hope they build upon this with a better engine and manage to iron out the flaws.
  16. MasJ.
    Jan 13, 2008
    8
    Not a bad game, it has some memorable and fun moments. Definitely worth a rental.
  17. VietP.
    Dec 1, 2007
    1
    Poor control, online lack quality, and game say too many F word which may get repetitive.
  18. JaxJ.
    Dec 3, 2007
    0
    Phail. Absolute phail. The game is just... Very bad. There is no depth in both the singleplayer and multiplayer. Eidos used very much time on this game, and we can see that it didn't help. The controls are lousy, and the game is not warm.
  19. KevinT
    Feb 8, 2008
    1
    The only reason I give this game a 1 is because I feel like a zero would be like putting a bagel in my ps3... this was an actual disk that played.. Horribly but it played.. the controls are awful the graphics lacking and I couldnt play long enough to get into the story... rob a bank, you say? sounds fun.. well here is a game that can make that not fun..
  20. AdamP
    Dec 2, 2009
    2
    Pretty terrible. The 3rd person puts your character to the bottom left of the screen and camera movement rotates around your character. Extremely disorienting. The graphics are very bland. Police will die from a foot shot but will remain un-phased from 2 shots in the head. Plot might be good later on, but I just couldn't keep playing it.
  21. IshmaelZ.
    Dec 1, 2007
    1
    And I thought "Deal or No Deal" on the Nintendo DS was bad. This game was downright unplayable. There are so many solid first-person shooters available, there is absolutely no excuse to waste money on this game.
  22. DavidWallace
    Dec 12, 2007
    6
    Don't listen to the naysayers. Walter V has obviously never touched this game, and based all his opinions on the GameSpot backlash.

    It's a flawed game, but the story and characters are good. Graphics might not be Unreal engine quality, but they're functional and conveys a sense of style.
  23. AlistairVoigts
    Dec 13, 2007
    6
    It may have been BAFTA nominated, but this isn't GOTY material by far. Whereas the setting and characters show polish and depth, the flaws in gameplay (cover system, aiming etc.) show us that this has been rushed for the Christmas period.

    If only they had held this back 3 months or so, I'd probably be scoring this an 8.
  24. MatthewR.
    Dec 20, 2007
    7
    This is a very fun "action movie" game experience....story is above average...the main characters are not your typical "hero" types....i was excited when i saw the trailer for this game and i wasn't let down....this game would score higher except ,of course, the aiming could use some refining but i strongly urge you not to pass on this game because the controls aren't polished This is a very fun "action movie" game experience....story is above average...the main characters are not your typical "hero" types....i was excited when i saw the trailer for this game and i wasn't let down....this game would score higher except ,of course, the aiming could use some refining but i strongly urge you not to pass on this game because the controls aren't polished to halo3 or rainbow six vegas level...can't finish this review without mentioning co-op play....the game doesn't offer online co-op but if you like to have a friend or brother or girlfriend,etc...over to play splitscreen with you then you can bump the rating up another point because playing thru this game as both kain and lynch together makes this great expericence even better.....and ,last but not least, the online multiplayer portion is a very original idea ....nice to see something fresh. Expand
  25. JamesK.
    Dec 5, 2007
    7
    Strong story and characterization is let down by some shoddy action sequences and frustrations. There's some great scenes and set pieces, but it doesn't yet gel together.
  26. StephenH.
    Dec 17, 2007
    8
    It's confident, brash and cool. With a great roster of characters. The gunplay might not be up to scratch, but its the settings and the plot which really sold this for me.
  27. RyanB.
    Dec 26, 2007
    3
    One word: broken. This game just dosen't feel like a fully polished game. Sounds die out randomly, animations skip about, the AI walks around like chickens with their heads cut off. The only thing this game has going for it is a semi-intreging story and co-op mode. Other wise, do not ever put your hard earned money into this game!
  28. MikeBrett
    Dec 28, 2007
    7
    Decent action game with a strong character led story. The tone of the game is definitely adult, not in a gratuitous sense, but the gritty reality of it really would not appeal to the teenage fantasists.

    If only they had spent a few more months polishing up the gameplay (cover mechanics are a bit iffy), they'd have been onto a winner. Then again, you could just ignore this
    Decent action game with a strong character led story. The tone of the game is definitely adult, not in a gratuitous sense, but the gritty reality of it really would not appeal to the teenage fantasists.

    If only they had spent a few more months polishing up the gameplay (cover mechanics are a bit iffy), they'd have been onto a winner.

    Then again, you could just ignore this comment, and read a 0/10 Metacritic User review, from a guy named "TRUTH Hurts". Great moderation there guys.
    Expand
  29. Dec 18, 2013
    7
    Actually very fun. The 2 main characters are very entertaining, the story is entertaining and the action is good. Great game to play in 2 player co-op. That being said there are technical issues that will even get you killed sometimes. AI is very bad (so don't play alone), graphics aren't very good. Still it's very fun stuff.
  30. Apr 6, 2012
    5
    This game had a lot of potential. The characters were interesting, the story pretty pulp and stealth, squad mechanics had a lot going for them. Well, IO Interactive failed to deliver on almost all of them. The gunplay feels terrible, it's almost as if you're not the one shooting the horrible sounding, inaccurate guns but someone else. The story is okay, but falls flat near the end, puttingThis game had a lot of potential. The characters were interesting, the story pretty pulp and stealth, squad mechanics had a lot going for them. Well, IO Interactive failed to deliver on almost all of them. The gunplay feels terrible, it's almost as if you're not the one shooting the horrible sounding, inaccurate guns but someone else. The story is okay, but falls flat near the end, putting you in the middle of the war, stripping all the heist atmosphere out of it. I give this game a five just because of the skyscraper level, which is stylistically very beautiful and interesting to watch. Expand
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Rough edges aside, Kane & Lynch is still a solid squad-based shooter with plenty of action, great characters, tight story and a slew of cinematic influences so brazenly clear you can't help but smirk at them.
  2. 70
    Frustration should never enter into a game because of the mechanics, but with Kane & Lynch it does. Loose gameplay, a brief campaign, and a single (albeit good) online mode with four maps hurt this title that could have been so much more.
  3. The right combination of gameplay elements and design decisions make Kane and Lynch easy to recommend to crime junkies and anyone who enjoys a little therapeutic videogame violence. A well-executed plot really makes the game, while the multiplayer additions add replay value and variety.