Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 109 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Kane & Lynch: Dead Men is a dark and gritty drama featuring two men, one is a flawed mercenary and the other a medicated psychopath. Forced together on a violent and chaotic path of redemption and revenge, no action is considered too harsh as this volatile partnership is pushed beyond reasonKane & Lynch: Dead Men is a dark and gritty drama featuring two men, one is a flawed mercenary and the other a medicated psychopath. Forced together on a violent and chaotic path of redemption and revenge, no action is considered too harsh as this volatile partnership is pushed beyond reason in this brutally realistic, character-driven third person action shooter. [Eidos Interactive] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Rough edges aside, Kane & Lynch is still a solid squad-based shooter with plenty of action, great characters, tight story and a slew of cinematic influences so brazenly clear you can't help but smirk at them.
  2. 73
    Kane & Lynch probably has the most mature application of cinematic conventions in an action game yet, and it brims with original ideas. However, it's let down by dodgy AI, a poor cover system and a variety of glitches. [Issue#160, p.84]
  3. If you enjoy games with decent plots, developed characters and brilliant dialogue, this violent, offensive and witty action game is probably worth your attention, and if you're a shooting game purist, try not to expect too much and you'll still have plenty to enjoy.
  4. 65
    Sadly, the positives don’t outweigh the negatives, with the clunky gameplay, poorly structured missions and woeful AI making this game more of a chore to play than a joy.
  5. Kane & Lynch: Dead Men has a lot of promise, but nothing in this game works out nearly as well as you'd hope.
  6. Sadly, IO Interactive wasn’t up to their standards in this production, and we can say that we stand before one of the biggest disappointments of the year.
  7. If it had been given the proper treatment, budget, and amount of time, Kane & Lynch would have easily been an A-/90% game. As it was released, it feels like a preview build that somehow hit retail shelves.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 30
  2. Negative: 13 out of 30
  1. kylew
    Jun 19, 2008
    9
    A very Fun action game. great 2 player co-op just don't look to deep into it and you and your buddy should have a smile on your face .
  2. ChrisH.
    Dec 22, 2007
    8
    Although the single player campaign is horribly short and easy, even on the hardest setting, the multiplayer mode more than makes up for the Although the single player campaign is horribly short and easy, even on the hardest setting, the multiplayer mode more than makes up for the single players shortcomings. Every match is different, despite their only being 4 different maps, and everyone you play with has different habits - letting the rest of the team taking out the police, then coming in from the back and betraying everyone, then running with the cash, or being and the front and taking out the cops, allowing everyone else to easily grab the money and then sharing it out. Your always on edge as you play, and endlessly spinning the camera around to watch your back. Expand
  3. Aug 19, 2010
    7
    If you look past the clunky controls and the sometimes stupid AI, you'll find a pretty decent action game here. The story is very mature andIf you look past the clunky controls and the sometimes stupid AI, you'll find a pretty decent action game here. The story is very mature and the lead characters are great. Definitely worth at least a try. Collapse
  4. HitmanAgent47
    Nov 27, 2007
    6
    Kane and Lynch: Dead Men is a game created by the Hitman team therefore should have been something special. However the game falls flat and Kane and Lynch: Dead Men is a game created by the Hitman team therefore should have been something special. However the game falls flat and is not worth its asking price. This game is not what I expected from a gritty crime cim from the developers of the Hitman series. I mean you don't even get to play the game in solo mode as the psycotic man Lynch. Expand
  5. benjyx
    Feb 29, 2008
    3
    Yes, this is a very weak game. The hype that surrounded this made me want it. It showed a lot of promise and could have been really good, but Yes, this is a very weak game. The hype that surrounded this made me want it. It showed a lot of promise and could have been really good, but no it was spoiled completely. However the same can be said for io's last big game (Hitman) after a poor first game the series has gotten a lot better, so Kane and Lynch 4 could be more worthy of your money! Expand
  6. Mar 26, 2011
    1
    i got this game for free and i am glad i did not waste money on buying it because it is not a good game at all. first off ill start with thei got this game for free and i am glad i did not waste money on buying it because it is not a good game at all. first off ill start with the story it does not make sense in the begining and it is altogether very stupid and im pretty sure it has been done before but as a couple movies (minus the stupid sidekick that is) and this is not counting the dificulty, at some points it is so easy but then it becomes extreamly hard the next mission and they drop the F bomb in almost every sentence like a little kid who just found the word. CO-OP this is not very good either since you get almost no room to see anything and it makes it hard to play the game and i found myself fighting with my partner over what to do because we could not see anything in full which is important. have not played online so no comment. the graphics were ok i guess for the time it came out but does not make up for the clunky controls, the bugs, the awful voice acting, horrible co-op and horrible story. stay away and do not let this game anywhere near your PS3 Expand
  7. JaxJ.
    Dec 3, 2007
    0
    Phail. Absolute phail. The game is just... Very bad. There is no depth in both the singleplayer and multiplayer. Eidos used very much time on Phail. Absolute phail. The game is just... Very bad. There is no depth in both the singleplayer and multiplayer. Eidos used very much time on this game, and we can see that it didn't help. The controls are lousy, and the game is not warm. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.