Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 191 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Killer Is Dead is a title from the demented mind of celebrated game creator, SUDA51, serving as a spiritual successor to his previous cult favorites, No More Heroes and Killer 7.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 39
  2. Negative: 3 out of 39
  1. Oct 5, 2013
    85
    Killer is Dead is yet another Suda masterpiece! Or is it just a childish misogynist slayfest? [Sept 2013]
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    80
    Killer is Dead is a hymn to the multifaceted creativity of a game designer still capable of enhancing the vision of the Japanese video game industry.
  3. Sep 11, 2013
    75
    Killer is Dead has an excellent technical department, but it's short duration, alongside certain graphic issues, prevent it from sticking out of the crowd. Fans of Suda 51 will love it, while the rest may very well hate it or just be overwhelmed by it's particular gameplay.
  4. Sep 1, 2013
    60
    Killer is Dead is playable, but it commits a far worse sin than being awkward or glitchy. It takes the fantastic and makes it boring.
  5. 60
    Stylish and most of the time entertaining as well, this carnage from the mind of a well known weirdo designer Suda 51 doesn't bring anything new to the table, except for its bizarre aesthetics that may or may not suit you. [Issue#234]
  6. Sep 3, 2013
    54
    Killer is Dead has a lot going for it. The foundation is there. But the positives are mired beneath a poor gameplay mechanic that makes even simple control a chore. The story isn’t allowed to shine due to simplistic writing and stereotypical characters, the difficulty can be very erratic, and too many deaths feel cheap and unfair.
  7. Sep 1, 2013
    40
    Between the tedious levels, incoherent story and offputting gigolo missions, I found very little to appreciate about Killer is Dead. I grew quite tired of the shallow game design and weak attempts to distract me from its vacuous lack of substance, and put the game down before rolling credits.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 2 out of 41
  1. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    I had to create an account just to say this: This game is criminally underrated. Critics are bashing it and critisizing it for what it's not.I had to create an account just to say this: This game is criminally underrated. Critics are bashing it and critisizing it for what it's not. This isn't your next DmC or Bayonneta. If you're a Suda 51 fan then you already know you're gonna love it. It is very enjoyable. The story is all kinds of anime style crazy and the gameplay is simple yet very fun.
    This is the type of game that you can just sit back, relax and play the hell of.
    Expand
  2. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    I was kinda bummed out by the bad reviews but that really doesn't surprise after Lollipop chainsaw and shadows of the damned both did notI was kinda bummed out by the bad reviews but that really doesn't surprise after Lollipop chainsaw and shadows of the damned both did not receive to well of reviews but those two are some of my favorite video games ever made there both bizarre weird funny as hell and just plays with the fourth wall concept. Suda 51 games are rare nowadays in this industry that's why I had to give Killer is dead a shot and wow I was surprised how amazing this game is truly is best Suda 51 game ever in my opinion don't listen to the reviews if you like any other previous titles from Suda 51 buy it or if your just looking for an awesome fun weird and funny as hell game buy Killer is dead! Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    Great game play, Great Art style and direction, Suda51's newest game has the feel almost of a Tarantino Film. The Game is directed at a nicheGreat game play, Great Art style and direction, Suda51's newest game has the feel almost of a Tarantino Film. The Game is directed at a niche market such as his other games and it hits the mark. This game was made like all games should be; for the enjoyment of those who made, and the fanbase Suda51 has built over the years on a platitude of titles. Pandering to common denominator to sell to wider audience doesn't create good games, or memorable experiences. Developers who make the games they want to play is something the industry desperately needs nowadays. Expand
  4. Feb 23, 2015
    9
    Killer is Dead is insanely underrated. It's almost gut-wrenching to see so many reviews focus all of their negative attention solely on anKiller is Dead is insanely underrated. It's almost gut-wrenching to see so many reviews focus all of their negative attention solely on an apparently "misogynistic" side-game - the controversial Gigolo missions. I should get this out of the way now; the Gigolo missions consist entirely of you staring at lady parts and shoving expensive gifts in women's faces. Personally, I don't see anything to be offended by. It's clearly played for both comedy and satire, and it seems most "professional" critics have forgotten that it's absolutely fine to have characters in fiction (even main characters) that you're not supposed to necessarily relate with or like. You're not actively supposed to approve of Mondo's actions. His narrow views and focus on carnal desires play largely into the story that's told here, and given that these traits indeed do have valid reasons to exist, then I see absolutely no reason to take offense to it, or worse, flat-out condemn it.

    All of this being said, how does the game play? How are the visuals, the sound, etc.? To make a long answer short, it's all fantastic. Killer is Dead is a character action game. As Mondo Zappa, you attack with your sword, Gekkou, and your transforming, biomechanical arm, Musselback. If you've played character action games before, such as most of Platinum's efforts like Bayonetta or Metal Gear Rising: Reveangance, you already have a good idea on how Killer is Dead is going to play. The attacks feel weighty and satisfying (thanks to an intentional frame-skip that happens for every successful attack, ala No More Heroes on Wii), the sound effects for combat, and particularly Mondo's voice work for attacking, all sound top notch, and this mixed with the fluid system of attacking, blocking, dodging, and a number of mechanics tied to these defensive tactics makes the game immensely satisfying to just play.

    While you may go into Killer is Dead knowing how it's going to play, given that this genre has been done many times before and since, it's hard to imagine you'd know how it's going to visually move. Simply put, Killer is Dead is flat-out gorgeous. Overexposed shadows, gorgeous cel-shading and line work, and a general cohesiveness in its style and that style's ability to consistently surprise you on a regular basis make this game a joy to watch, almost as much as it is to play. The visual effects for smoke, alone, are gorgeous to watch. When you watch the game transform into a black and white manga style, with blood flying everywhere paired with intense line effects and a godlike soundtrack from one Akira Yamaoka, you'll likely know you're playing something special.

    The wonderful presentation the game delivers on doesn't end with just the visual style. The story that's crafted here is as odd, trippy, surreal, and fever-deamish as it is thought provoking and smart. If you're willing to read into Killer is Dead's theming and commentaries, no matter how "random" the story initially seemed, you're likely to find well realized, dynamic characters, discussing their way through heavy themes of interpersonal relationships, traumatic childhoods, being used by other people, terrorism, the dark side of James Bond style womanizing, and so on. Killer is Dead's narrative is surprisingly mature, given its background, and the "misogynistic" nature of the Gigolo missions that most tend to focus on in an attempt to berate the entire experience.

    The gameplay is polished, the visual style is slick, the narrative is strong as a surrealist work, the added difficulty levels really do change how the game is largely played, and overall, it's a well designed, intelligent, and most importantly, fun character action title. If you're into the esoteric or odd nature of anything that comes out of the brilliant Grasshopper Manufacture, then you'll likely find a lot to love here. Outside of that level, there's still a lot to love. Killer is Dead is a polished title with gorgeous visuals, an incredible soundtrack, awesome boss fights, and a solid challenge mode. It's easily one of the most underrated games in recent memory, and you really shouldn't pass it up, despite what social-focused journalists have tried to tell you.
    Expand
  5. Sep 3, 2013
    9
    I'm not sure why critics were so mixed about this game. Killer is dead is simply amazing. From start to finish I was immersed in this crazyI'm not sure why critics were so mixed about this game. Killer is dead is simply amazing. From start to finish I was immersed in this crazy story. It is no doubt confusing but I am playing through again a second time and noticing things I didn't on my first playthrough. This is a game you must replay to truly understand what is going on. The cell shaded graphics are beautiful, the voice acting is well done (aside from Mika, she is straight up annoying), and the gameplay is simple yet extremely satisfying. The gameplay is not as deep as DmC or Metal Gear Rising but it is still very fun to hack and slash your way through waves of enemies then using your musselback arm to dish out some cool moves to keep the combo going. The game has a very anime style feel to it which I personally loved. The only part I wasn't a fan of was the gigolo missions which detracted from the overall experience. They are just lame but hilarious at the same time. I don't think they were meant to be taken seriously. Once you get all the sub weapons from the "beauties" you don't have to play them anymore if you don't want to.That and only that is the one downfall of Killer is dead. This game is a must play in my opinion. One of the most original yet far out there games I have ever played. Expand
  6. Aug 29, 2013
    8
    Killer is Dead is a good game. Don't let any reviews that you may find on YouTube or any other gaming website tell you otherwise. To start offKiller is Dead is a good game. Don't let any reviews that you may find on YouTube or any other gaming website tell you otherwise. To start off the game has a really unique and beautiful art style. It really draws you into the game. I did find myself unable to see where I was going in some parts of missions though because the art style did make it hard to navigate through really dark areas. The story is confusing but you're basically a guy named Mondo who is given orders to assassinate certain people around the world. It isn't an amazing story but it isn't a forgettable one. The soundtrack of Killer is Dead is really pleasing to the ears. You'll be fighting enemies and listening to rock music and after the fight it'll cut to a loading screen and you'll be listening to some blues. Surprisingly that made me laugh considering how diverse the soundtrack is. The game play is also very good. Although I found myself doing the same sword attacks in missions and evading attacks constantly, I never got bored of the combat. It's weird but I was always having fun fighting through the level to get to the boss. All in all the game play (although repetitive) was very enjoyable. Some people are complaining about awful camera angles but I don't see why. You control the camera angles. If you can't see most of the action then readjust the camera. Then there are the side missions. You have some random side missions that branch off of the main story's episodes and then there are Gigolo missions. The side missions are fun but can become boring after playing a few times. Gigolo missions are where you basically gawk at a girl you have met in the main story and try to fill up a meter. Once the meter is full you can give her a present. Depending on the girl's taste the love meter will fill up a certain amount. Once that love meter is full you'll go through a cut scene and get a gift in return for your hard work. The gift could be a new sub weapon or crystals to upgrade skills. There are people complaining about the sexist side missions you can go attempt and the Gigolo mode that lets you see through the girls clothes. These missions aren't meant to be taken seriously and I found them really funny. But, those side missions aren't that fun after a while and you will get bored with them after a while. All in all, the game had a pretty good story, a beautiful art style, a diverse soundtrack, and enjoyable game play. The only complaints that I had with the game is that it's a little short in my opinion (takes about 6-8 hours to beat) and that the frame rate seemed to drop in some cut scenes. However, those negatives didn't ruin the experience for me. All that taken into consideration I decided to give the game an 8. There will be more episodes released in the future as downloadable content which will lengthen the story even more. Killer is Dead is not a game that should be passed up. If you enjoyed previous Suda 51 games (let alone action games in general) you'll definitely have fun with this one. Expand
  7. Sep 2, 2013
    3
    I dont care about the sexist stuff. It not feminist but its no more blatantly sexist than the other artless dreck you see in popular culture.I dont care about the sexist stuff. It not feminist but its no more blatantly sexist than the other artless dreck you see in popular culture. But that brings me to the real problem here, I meant it when I said OTHER artless dreck, all the people harping about "liberal" this and "feminist" that, trying to dismiss the scores of negative reviews as only being that way because the reviewer was offended, they should try READING these reviews instead of the cliff notes. ITS ONE BIG ENDLESS MESS, it makes no sense at all, and every single thing that people here love to say is "art" is a poorly executed carbon copy of stereotypical japanese "cool" stolen from some anime that executed it with more skill and originality. Unless thats what you want, the same old garbage, stay away. Expand

See all 41 User Reviews