Killer Is Dead PlayStation 3

Killer Is Dead Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 207 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Killer Is Dead is a title from the demented mind of celebrated game creator, SUDA51, serving as a spiritual successor to his previous cult favorites, No More Heroes and Killer 7.
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 39
  2. Negative: 3 out of 39
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 5, 2013
    85
    Killer is Dead is yet another Suda masterpiece! Or is it just a childish misogynist slayfest? [Sept 2013]
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    80
    Killer is Dead is a hymn to the multifaceted creativity of a game designer still capable of enhancing the vision of the Japanese video game industry.
  3. Sep 11, 2013
    75
    Killer is Dead has an excellent technical department, but it's short duration, alongside certain graphic issues, prevent it from sticking out of the crowd. Fans of Suda 51 will love it, while the rest may very well hate it or just be overwhelmed by it's particular gameplay.
  4. Sep 1, 2013
    60
    Killer is Dead is playable, but it commits a far worse sin than being awkward or glitchy. It takes the fantastic and makes it boring.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 24, 2013
    60
    Stylish and most of the time entertaining as well, this carnage from the mind of a well known weirdo designer Suda 51 doesn't bring anything new to the table, except for its bizarre aesthetics that may or may not suit you. [Issue#234]
  6. Sep 3, 2013
    54
    Killer is Dead has a lot going for it. The foundation is there. But the positives are mired beneath a poor gameplay mechanic that makes even simple control a chore. The story isn’t allowed to shine due to simplistic writing and stereotypical characters, the difficulty can be very erratic, and too many deaths feel cheap and unfair.
  7. Sep 1, 2013
    40
    Between the tedious levels, incoherent story and offputting gigolo missions, I found very little to appreciate about Killer is Dead. I grew quite tired of the shallow game design and weak attempts to distract me from its vacuous lack of substance, and put the game down before rolling credits.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 42
  2. Negative: 2 out of 42
  1. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    Killer is Dead is really a good game. It surely excels in the field of artwork, I've never seen such beautiful work in may years. The gameplayKiller is Dead is really a good game. It surely excels in the field of artwork, I've never seen such beautiful work in may years. The gameplay and it gameplay mechanics is really unique. Totally fun and crazy story as we can expect from Suda51. This game is for those who like to try new things and search for load of good art works and also for the people with anime minds (Otaku) only they can understand the actual story of this game.
    Those who are telling this was a waste game. They may be right but only from their point of view. If they tell you not to play this game then they are telling you wrong things.
    It is you who are to decide that the game is good or bad as you are to play the game. Not they. So i urge everyone to enjoy this as much as you can.

    Lastly my heartiest respect to Mr. Goichi Suda for bringing us a unique and beautiful game to us. Hope you bring us such good works in future.
    Looking forward for "Lily Bergamo"
    Expand
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    Amazing game. Super underrated game. love love love the art style, combat, story, charaters, music, everything about the game. Give it a shot!!!!!!!!!
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    I had to create an account just to say this: This game is criminally underrated. Critics are bashing it and critisizing it for what it's not.I had to create an account just to say this: This game is criminally underrated. Critics are bashing it and critisizing it for what it's not. This isn't your next DmC or Bayonneta. If you're a Suda 51 fan then you already know you're gonna love it. It is very enjoyable. The story is all kinds of anime style crazy and the gameplay is simple yet very fun.
    This is the type of game that you can just sit back, relax and play the hell of.
    Expand
  4. Aug 31, 2013
    9
    White knight reviewers need to grow up a little bit and stop getting offended for all of us. The gameplay is great whilst not too challengingWhite knight reviewers need to grow up a little bit and stop getting offended for all of us. The gameplay is great whilst not too challenging it provides a lot of depth similar to the Arkham games, the art style is fantastic and the characters ooze personality. The gigolo mode is a little bit of fun and I don't think its something you are supposed to take seriously, if you are so easily offended though just skip them.

    I recommend you pick this up as it is the most fun I have had this year since Hotline Miami was re-released on the Vita.
    Expand
  5. Aug 31, 2013
    8
    Killer is Dead is unmistakably good. Gameplay is the main reason to play, as it is fast-paced and fun with the fantastic accompanyingKiller is Dead is unmistakably good. Gameplay is the main reason to play, as it is fast-paced and fun with the fantastic accompanying soundtrack. Power-ups noticeably enhance the experience and give the player something to work towards.
    The graphics are wonderful and very fitting to the feel of the story. I never noticed any major graphical hiccups besides one or two textures that load late (as is normal with games running on Unreal).
    Where the game falters is story, as it is short and a bit wanting. It's interesting for the most part and has just what you'd expect from Suda51.
    Overall, it's a great game. I definitely recommend buying it, as it is loads of fun to play and replay.
    Expand
  6. Oct 9, 2013
    8
    I really love this game even if my eyes sore because of the graphics, the story of the game is very confusing that i dont know what is theI really love this game even if my eyes sore because of the graphics, the story of the game is very confusing that i dont know what is the climax that ive been waiting to flashed throughout, and the gigolo stuff that not so relevant being in the game Expand
  7. Sep 2, 2013
    3
    I dont care about the sexist stuff. It not feminist but its no more blatantly sexist than the other artless dreck you see in popular culture.I dont care about the sexist stuff. It not feminist but its no more blatantly sexist than the other artless dreck you see in popular culture. But that brings me to the real problem here, I meant it when I said OTHER artless dreck, all the people harping about "liberal" this and "feminist" that, trying to dismiss the scores of negative reviews as only being that way because the reviewer was offended, they should try READING these reviews instead of the cliff notes. ITS ONE BIG ENDLESS MESS, it makes no sense at all, and every single thing that people here love to say is "art" is a poorly executed carbon copy of stereotypical japanese "cool" stolen from some anime that executed it with more skill and originality. Unless thats what you want, the same old garbage, stay away. Expand

See all 42 User Reviews