Killer Is Dead PlayStation 3

Killer Is Dead Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 216 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Killer Is Dead is a title from the demented mind of celebrated game creator, SUDA51, serving as a spiritual successor to his previous cult favorites, No More Heroes and Killer 7.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 39
  2. Negative: 3 out of 39
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 5, 2013
    85
    Killer is Dead is yet another Suda masterpiece! Or is it just a childish misogynist slayfest? [Sept 2013]
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    80
    Killer is Dead is a hymn to the multifaceted creativity of a game designer still capable of enhancing the vision of the Japanese video game industry.
  3. Sep 11, 2013
    75
    Killer is Dead has an excellent technical department, but it's short duration, alongside certain graphic issues, prevent it from sticking out of the crowd. Fans of Suda 51 will love it, while the rest may very well hate it or just be overwhelmed by it's particular gameplay.
  4. Sep 1, 2013
    60
    Killer is Dead is playable, but it commits a far worse sin than being awkward or glitchy. It takes the fantastic and makes it boring.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 24, 2013
    60
    Stylish and most of the time entertaining as well, this carnage from the mind of a well known weirdo designer Suda 51 doesn't bring anything new to the table, except for its bizarre aesthetics that may or may not suit you. [Issue#234]
  6. Sep 3, 2013
    54
    Killer is Dead has a lot going for it. The foundation is there. But the positives are mired beneath a poor gameplay mechanic that makes even simple control a chore. The story isn’t allowed to shine due to simplistic writing and stereotypical characters, the difficulty can be very erratic, and too many deaths feel cheap and unfair.
  7. Sep 1, 2013
    40
    Between the tedious levels, incoherent story and offputting gigolo missions, I found very little to appreciate about Killer is Dead. I grew quite tired of the shallow game design and weak attempts to distract me from its vacuous lack of substance, and put the game down before rolling credits.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 44
  2. Negative: 2 out of 44
  1. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    Killer is Dead is really a good game. It surely excels in the field of artwork, I've never seen such beautiful work in may years. The gameplayKiller is Dead is really a good game. It surely excels in the field of artwork, I've never seen such beautiful work in may years. The gameplay and it gameplay mechanics is really unique. Totally fun and crazy story as we can expect from Suda51. This game is for those who like to try new things and search for load of good art works and also for the people with anime minds (Otaku) only they can understand the actual story of this game.
    Those who are telling this was a waste game. They may be right but only from their point of view. If they tell you not to play this game then they are telling you wrong things.
    It is you who are to decide that the game is good or bad as you are to play the game. Not they. So i urge everyone to enjoy this as much as you can.

    Lastly my heartiest respect to Mr. Goichi Suda for bringing us a unique and beautiful game to us. Hope you bring us such good works in future.
    Looking forward for "Lily Bergamo"
    Expand
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    Amazing game. Super underrated game. love love love the art style, combat, story, charaters, music, everything about the game. Give it a shot!!!!!!!!!
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    I had to create an account just to say this: This game is criminally underrated. Critics are bashing it and critisizing it for what it's not.I had to create an account just to say this: This game is criminally underrated. Critics are bashing it and critisizing it for what it's not. This isn't your next DmC or Bayonneta. If you're a Suda 51 fan then you already know you're gonna love it. It is very enjoyable. The story is all kinds of anime style crazy and the gameplay is simple yet very fun.
    This is the type of game that you can just sit back, relax and play the hell of.
    Expand
  4. Aug 30, 2013
    9
    In my opinion this is Suda51's first real must play title since the "No More Heroes" series. Acting as a spiritual successor to Suda51 andIn my opinion this is Suda51's first real must play title since the "No More Heroes" series. Acting as a spiritual successor to Suda51 and Grasshopper Manufacture 's previous works, "Killer is Dead" really does feel like an expansion and an improvement upon the gameplay and style that Suda51 is known for. The gameplay is tight and responsive, managing to be one of the best hack n' slash titles to come out recently. If you've ever played a game made by these guys you know to expect a crazy, weird, and humorous story. This is all true here, but I have to say that out of all the games I've played made by Suda this ones story is the zaniest and the hardest to follow. I was able to understand everything right up until the bizarre ending that still makes no sense to me. Despite its flaws the story still managed to entertain thanks to its characters and sense of humor. As far as gameplay modes go, outside of the story mode you have various side missions, challenge rooms, and something called "Gigolo Missions". No doubt you've heard the controversy surrounding these "Gigolo Missions", as far as I'm concerned yes they are perverted and somewhat immature, but most of the bad things you're hearing about it have been blown out of proportion. It's not nearly as sexist as the people are making it out to be, as a matter of a fact it's downright tame compared to a lot of what is out there in video games nowadays. I mean look at the "Witcher" series that comes complete with full blown naked sex scenes, and what about the "God of War" series that had sex mini-games! Did we hear anything about how sexist and perverted they were? No. So it's not as bad as people are making it out to be, but it's still a little inappropriate. The core gameplay in this mode consists of trying to woo a woman whom you are on a date with. You do this by filling up your "Guts gage" so that you can give her presents and she will sleep with you. Here's where the controversy comes in, to fill up your guts you have to look at the ladies breast and other private areas with ex-ray glasses (there is no nudity in this game) when she is not looking. Yes it is perverted and awkward, but again tame when compared to all the games that want you to look at women's naked breasts and watch them have sex. Overall this mode is awkward, but it's also boring and the only reason I recommend playing this mode is to unlock the sub-weapons. The only other reason to play this mode is to unlock some trophies. Overall it's a small portion of an otherwise excellent game. The action is fast, addictive, and packs that lovable Suda51 charm. So if you're a fan of Suda51 and Grasshopper Manufacture 's previous works than I recommend "Killer is Dead". Even if you aren't a fan this game is good enough to recommend, especially when you consider how so many other hack n' slash action games that have come out this year have disappointed *cough* dmc *cough*. Expand
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    8
    Forgetting about it's lackluster mini game and absurd confusing story Killer Is Dead can actually be entertaining from time to time. ThoughForgetting about it's lackluster mini game and absurd confusing story Killer Is Dead can actually be entertaining from time to time. Though the beginning of the game feels shallow and slow things take a turn for the better, gameplay becomes more intense, up to speed, and upgrades make the game more enjoyable. The amount of bonus missions is a nice touch since the story is about 8 hours. It doesn't stand well with other Suda51 games such as No More Heroes or Killer 7 but it is still worth mentioning. Expand
  6. Jan 13, 2014
    8
    Killer is Dead has a memorable art and cool combat mechanics that will make SUDA 51 fans enjoy the game.

    Depending on how the game is
    Killer is Dead has a memorable art and cool combat mechanics that will make SUDA 51 fans enjoy the game.

    Depending on how the game is rendered, we can have a different point of view. This game uses a shader that looks like a blend between realism and cel shading, which is pretty different from what we see on other games and it accentuates special effects in a mixing of lights, blood spill and contrasts. It's just beautiful.

    The story is interesting, but has nothing special to be highlighted. In fact, it doesn't follow a linear timeline and makes you interpret some things in a subjective way like viewing dreams and the past memories of the protagonist. All the characters have traits that belong to the japanese culture, which may not be attractive to the western culture.

    Combat is very fun made with simple combos. The evade and guard features make the experience even better as they challenge your reflexes. Skills can be unlocked and upgraded.

    The main story can be finished in a short time, but there's a lot of content to be explored too, like side missions and quick challenges. If you're looking for a cool action game or if you simply trust on SUDA's games, Killer is Dead is a good choice.
    Expand
  7. Sep 2, 2013
    3
    I dont care about the sexist stuff. It not feminist but its no more blatantly sexist than the other artless dreck you see in popular culture.I dont care about the sexist stuff. It not feminist but its no more blatantly sexist than the other artless dreck you see in popular culture. But that brings me to the real problem here, I meant it when I said OTHER artless dreck, all the people harping about "liberal" this and "feminist" that, trying to dismiss the scores of negative reviews as only being that way because the reviewer was offended, they should try READING these reviews instead of the cliff notes. ITS ONE BIG ENDLESS MESS, it makes no sense at all, and every single thing that people here love to say is "art" is a poorly executed carbon copy of stereotypical japanese "cool" stolen from some anime that executed it with more skill and originality. Unless thats what you want, the same old garbage, stay away. Collapse

See all 44 User Reviews