Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 175 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Killer Is Dead is a title from the demented mind of celebrated game creator, SUDA51, serving as a spiritual successor to his previous cult favorites, No More Heroes and Killer 7.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 39
  2. Negative: 3 out of 39
  1. Oct 5, 2013
    85
    Killer is Dead is yet another Suda masterpiece! Or is it just a childish misogynist slayfest? [Sept 2013]
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    80
    Killer is Dead is a hymn to the multifaceted creativity of a game designer still capable of enhancing the vision of the Japanese video game industry.
  3. Sep 11, 2013
    75
    Killer is Dead has an excellent technical department, but it's short duration, alongside certain graphic issues, prevent it from sticking out of the crowd. Fans of Suda 51 will love it, while the rest may very well hate it or just be overwhelmed by it's particular gameplay.
  4. Sep 1, 2013
    60
    Killer is Dead is playable, but it commits a far worse sin than being awkward or glitchy. It takes the fantastic and makes it boring.
  5. 60
    Stylish and most of the time entertaining as well, this carnage from the mind of a well known weirdo designer Suda 51 doesn't bring anything new to the table, except for its bizarre aesthetics that may or may not suit you. [Issue#234]
  6. Sep 3, 2013
    54
    Killer is Dead has a lot going for it. The foundation is there. But the positives are mired beneath a poor gameplay mechanic that makes even simple control a chore. The story isn’t allowed to shine due to simplistic writing and stereotypical characters, the difficulty can be very erratic, and too many deaths feel cheap and unfair.
  7. Sep 1, 2013
    40
    Between the tedious levels, incoherent story and offputting gigolo missions, I found very little to appreciate about Killer is Dead. I grew quite tired of the shallow game design and weak attempts to distract me from its vacuous lack of substance, and put the game down before rolling credits.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    I had to create an account just to say this: This game is criminally underrated. Critics are bashing it and critisizing it for what it's not. This isn't your next DmC or Bayonneta. If you're a Suda 51 fan then you already know you're gonna love it. It is very enjoyable. The story is all kinds of anime style crazy and the gameplay is simple yet very fun.
    This is the type of game that you can just sit back, relax and play the hell of.
    Expand
  2. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    I was kinda bummed out by the bad reviews but that really doesn't surprise after Lollipop chainsaw and shadows of the damned both did not receive to well of reviews but those two are some of my favorite video games ever made there both bizarre weird funny as hell and just plays with the fourth wall concept. Suda 51 games are rare nowadays in this industry that's why I had to give Killer is dead a shot and wow I was surprised how amazing this game is truly is best Suda 51 game ever in my opinion don't listen to the reviews if you like any other previous titles from Suda 51 buy it or if your just looking for an awesome fun weird and funny as hell game buy Killer is dead! Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    Great game play, Great Art style and direction, Suda51's newest game has the feel almost of a Tarantino Film. The Game is directed at a niche market such as his other games and it hits the mark. This game was made like all games should be; for the enjoyment of those who made, and the fanbase Suda51 has built over the years on a platitude of titles. Pandering to common denominator to sell to wider audience doesn't create good games, or memorable experiences. Developers who make the games they want to play is something the industry desperately needs nowadays. Expand
  4. Jan 8, 2014
    9
    Another smashing classic from suda51. This game has been unfairly panned by the majority. This is very much in the mould of no more heroes. Instead of mashing a and b and tilting the wii remote you mash the square button. This game has a great timed dodge which takes a bit of mastering and a combo meter which once it hits 5 you can perform gruesome and satisfying qt kills. The story is the big letdown in this game. It is nowhere near as good as nmh. But saying you play a game for the story is like saying you watched jaws for its interactive elements. The graphics are truly stunning with beautiful contrasted colours and a level of colour intensity I have not seen much. All in all a pleasure to play through. I would heartily recommend this game to any lovers of third person fighting games who especially enjoy a timed dodge/block game mechanic. Expand
  5. Sep 3, 2013
    9
    I'm not sure why critics were so mixed about this game. Killer is dead is simply amazing. From start to finish I was immersed in this crazy story. It is no doubt confusing but I am playing through again a second time and noticing things I didn't on my first playthrough. This is a game you must replay to truly understand what is going on. The cell shaded graphics are beautiful, the voice acting is well done (aside from Mika, she is straight up annoying), and the gameplay is simple yet extremely satisfying. The gameplay is not as deep as DmC or Metal Gear Rising but it is still very fun to hack and slash your way through waves of enemies then using your musselback arm to dish out some cool moves to keep the combo going. The game has a very anime style feel to it which I personally loved. The only part I wasn't a fan of was the gigolo missions which detracted from the overall experience. They are just lame but hilarious at the same time. I don't think they were meant to be taken seriously. Once you get all the sub weapons from the "beauties" you don't have to play them anymore if you don't want to.That and only that is the one downfall of Killer is dead. This game is a must play in my opinion. One of the most original yet far out there games I have ever played. Collapse
  6. Oct 29, 2013
    8
    Forgetting about it's lackluster mini game and absurd confusing story Killer Is Dead can actually be entertaining from time to time. Though the beginning of the game feels shallow and slow things take a turn for the better, gameplay becomes more intense, up to speed, and upgrades make the game more enjoyable. The amount of bonus missions is a nice touch since the story is about 8 hours. It doesn't stand well with other Suda51 games such as No More Heroes or Killer 7 but it is still worth mentioning. Expand
  7. Sep 2, 2013
    3
    I dont care about the sexist stuff. It not feminist but its no more blatantly sexist than the other artless dreck you see in popular culture. But that brings me to the real problem here, I meant it when I said OTHER artless dreck, all the people harping about "liberal" this and "feminist" that, trying to dismiss the scores of negative reviews as only being that way because the reviewer was offended, they should try READING these reviews instead of the cliff notes. ITS ONE BIG ENDLESS MESS, it makes no sense at all, and every single thing that people here love to say is "art" is a poorly executed carbon copy of stereotypical japanese "cool" stolen from some anime that executed it with more skill and originality. Unless thats what you want, the same old garbage, stay away. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews