• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Feb 27, 2009
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1398 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. bt
    Mar 5, 2009
    4
    What a dissapointment. I really looked forward to this game. It would have been about a 7, but the controls SUCKED and ruined the game. It wasnt just that they were sluggish and its incredibly hard to aim (which are major flaws), but everything you do in the game, the controls felt off. Zooming in takes too long and when you hide the zoom automatically zooms back out, meaning everytime What a dissapointment. I really looked forward to this game. It would have been about a 7, but the controls SUCKED and ruined the game. It wasnt just that they were sluggish and its incredibly hard to aim (which are major flaws), but everything you do in the game, the controls felt off. Zooming in takes too long and when you hide the zoom automatically zooms back out, meaning everytime you peak out you have to re zoom which takes time. Zooming is different with every gun and when you aim while your zoomed in it moves way too slow. Other than Zooming being pointless, so is the damn hiding. They failed at the cover system miserably. When you take cover they still manage to shot you and the control when you take cover is astonishingly awful. Plus, when you throw a grenage it only goes like ten feet and it takes a couple seconds to throw it, meaning that you have to stand there and get shot at everytime you throw a grenade and if you turn around too quickly you end up throwing it somewhere else. As cool as the guns are you can only hold one at a time, other than your useless pistol. Why did they decide to do that? Who only wants one gun at a time? I know most people dont agree with me, but the graphics arent good. The levels are repetitive and boring looking. Nothing cool looking like in Gears 2 or Resistance 2. Just factories and hallways. The enemies are all exactly the same too. Not nearly as good as the Gears 2 enemies. The difficulty balance was also way off, and sometimes it would instantly get way harder. The only thing I thought was excellent in this game was the music. Get Gears 2 or Resistance 2 if you want a similar but SUPERIOR game. Hell, you cant even aim in this game and you will want to break your PS3 in frustration repeatedly. Expand
  2. JarydM
    Jun 24, 2009
    3
    This was a game that I had been looking forward to for a long time, the first killzone was great, but this release was a...disappointment. The graphics are great, sure, but the game lacks any depth. The missions are the same thing over and over, and after a couple of hours of gameplay I was just trying to finish it as quickly as possible to see what happened in the end. The multiplayer is This was a game that I had been looking forward to for a long time, the first killzone was great, but this release was a...disappointment. The graphics are great, sure, but the game lacks any depth. The missions are the same thing over and over, and after a couple of hours of gameplay I was just trying to finish it as quickly as possible to see what happened in the end. The multiplayer is also a letdown, as the controls are clunky and unresponsive. Sorry Havok, you've failed to impress me this time. Expand
  3. EdwardM
    Mar 8, 2009
    4
    This game wins an award, but it isn't "Game of the Year", it is "Most-over hyped Game Ever". I bought a PS3 just because of this game and because I love shooters. All of the marketing totally manipulated me into making the purchase (not that I regret it now, the PS3 is a nice system). Like others said, the graphics are awesome but that can't help the other issues. First, single This game wins an award, but it isn't "Game of the Year", it is "Most-over hyped Game Ever". I bought a PS3 just because of this game and because I love shooters. All of the marketing totally manipulated me into making the purchase (not that I regret it now, the PS3 is a nice system). Like others said, the graphics are awesome but that can't help the other issues. First, single player is just completely boring, killzone suffers from Gears of War envy and does it's best to rip off the characters and dialog, but does it with much harsher (and annoying language) and uninspiring generic levels. But who really cares about single player, I buy shooters for the multi-player and here lies the reason I will be trading it in this week, the controls are horrible. Even with the sensitivity tweaked all the way up you constantly feel like you are walking in mud. Trying to aim at someone can be an exercise in not throwing your controller across the room, especially after you go to move the gun and u suddenly pop into a melee strike or out of aim. The lousy controls cause multiplayer games to be stripped of their strategic elements and become large like the invasion of normandy where you are just throwing bodies at one of another. I understand at some level that the developers may have done this on purpose to simulate real life, but it just doesn't work and makes for a frustrating experience. Expand
  4. Jun 9, 2012
    4
    Unfortunately, I am one of those disappointed by the game. I loved the first part, despite the clunky controls, mainly due to the fact that the story was awesome. In this part we partake in an invasion of the Helghan planet. The graphics are very good, but the game, for me, fails miserably in another department - single player game play. Basically, you go from room to room (or fromUnfortunately, I am one of those disappointed by the game. I loved the first part, despite the clunky controls, mainly due to the fact that the story was awesome. In this part we partake in an invasion of the Helghan planet. The graphics are very good, but the game, for me, fails miserably in another department - single player game play. Basically, you go from room to room (or from open-air area to open-air area), getting rid of the baddies and hoping to find a checkpoint before somebody kills you. If they kill you, you will most likely have to redo the last few places. Which results in excruciatingly repetitive gameplay. I'm not a big fan of the checkpoint system, but I also have seen games in which it works perfectly.

    The AI is another peeve. You'll hear them yell that they'll cover you, which is a synonym for "I'll get shot ASAP", "I'll ignore that guy with the turret", and "I'll stay here and watch the baddies kill you while doing the objective, so you can do the last 2 rooms again". Adds to repetitiveness and destroys immersion completely. Just as bad as games in which your team is virtually indestructible, so that you don't even have to shoot a shot to win a level.

    Controls aren't great either. It could be me, but the proximity of the grenade throw and the shoot button were irritating.

    The game has potential, but fails.
    Expand
  5. Jan 16, 2011
    0
    Very unimpressed. I played this game for about 6 hours split over 2 different sessions, and absolutely can not stand the controls. I have quite a lot of experience in FPS's, and I would certainly rather play Golden Eye than this game. The controls are slow and unresponsive, the use of automatic weapons is a joke, and accuracy is of all weapons in general is like using a red rider BB gun asVery unimpressed. I played this game for about 6 hours split over 2 different sessions, and absolutely can not stand the controls. I have quite a lot of experience in FPS's, and I would certainly rather play Golden Eye than this game. The controls are slow and unresponsive, the use of automatic weapons is a joke, and accuracy is of all weapons in general is like using a red rider BB gun as a sniper rifle. Over all, I would say that this game is not even worth getting used. Expand
  6. JohnP
    Mar 3, 2009
    1
    OMG!! What a worthless mediocre game. There are so many flaws with this game that I wonder what is with the high ratings. 1) The characters are so shallow. Garza's interpretation of Macbeth was ok, however it didn't make me stand and applause. Shame.. 2) The game lacks a genuine well written story. As with every other fps, I was expecting the twist and plot of a movie like "the OMG!! What a worthless mediocre game. There are so many flaws with this game that I wonder what is with the high ratings. 1) The characters are so shallow. Garza's interpretation of Macbeth was ok, however it didn't make me stand and applause. Shame.. 2) The game lacks a genuine well written story. As with every other fps, I was expecting the twist and plot of a movie like "the usual suspects" blending into the game rather than just the "walk and shoot" formula. Disappointing.. 3) Unbelievable. The game has the nerve to pause on me for a split second when it loads new areas. Last time it happened I lost my trigger happy mood to continue. 4) Frame drops. I noticed a significant amount of frame dropping by a whole(!) 2,97fps at some points. Nope. This is not the fps of our dreams. The one where we can stop shooting at a certain point, get some rest and play pool mini-games with our comrades. Lacks originality indeed. Expand
  7. Aug 26, 2010
    3
    It baffles me how a game like Killzone 2 can be considered so great, the graphics are amazing, everything else is terrible. STORY: Pretty standard sci-fi story Space Marines kill bad guys, decent voice acting but can get corny at times. Annoyances abound when you figure out that apparently you're the ONLY Space Medic left so you're left to be the only person that can revive your teammateIt baffles me how a game like Killzone 2 can be considered so great, the graphics are amazing, everything else is terrible. STORY: Pretty standard sci-fi story Space Marines kill bad guys, decent voice acting but can get corny at times. Annoyances abound when you figure out that apparently you're the ONLY Space Medic left so you're left to be the only person that can revive your teammate and when you die, your teammates cannot revive you, in single player, hearing "ZEV, I NEED HELP ZEEEEVVVVVV" gets old very quickly. CONTROLS: Mushy "realistic" controls which make the multiplayer in this game feel so terribly unbalanced and sluggish, I think this is actually supposed to be a "feature" but the acceleration on the sticks is insanely high, but the sensitivity is low leading to unecessary . coming from gaming on PC with mouse and keyboard using analog sticks with a ton of accelleration seems so frustratingly inaccurate it's a deal breaker right there. GRAPHICS: As I said earlier, the graphics are great, same with the sound design. Aesthetically it's a well made game, but control and story wise it's terribly disappointing. Expand
  8. BarryP
    Apr 11, 2009
    3
    Summary of my play time for Killzone 2: Inserted the disc into PS3 at 6.34pm. Watched the unskippable prologue. Commenced to gameplay. 6.50pm took the game out of the dsc drive. It obviously has some dazzling graphics but that really is all. The control presets are terrible and do not cater for everyone's mapping playstyle. It feels incredibly combersome and even having the Summary of my play time for Killzone 2: Inserted the disc into PS3 at 6.34pm. Watched the unskippable prologue. Commenced to gameplay. 6.50pm took the game out of the dsc drive. It obviously has some dazzling graphics but that really is all. The control presets are terrible and do not cater for everyone's mapping playstyle. It feels incredibly combersome and even having the sensitivity of both x&y axis set to maximum it still feels horrible. Forgot to mention the front end menu made my eyes water a bit, with its pointless blur effect. I will never be playing this again and I'm so relieved I only had to borrow it from a family member and not give Sony/Guerilla any portion of my hard earned cash for such a basic and dull game that is painted over by (needless to say) superb visuals. Expand
  9. Jul 2, 2011
    0
    everyone to their own, Killzone 2 (whilst looking nice) is a clumsy,awkward controlled FPS with perhaps the worst and most irritating characters I've ever seen in a video game.
    I don't like the term 'overrated', so won't label this so. I know many like the game and I'm in the minority, but wasn't my cup of tea.
  10. Jan 23, 2014
    3
    I have been playing this game for awhile now and the more I play it the more I don't like it. the controls are terrible. There's is so much lag when you turn its almost impossible to kill someone.on top of that every gun is extremely inaccurate, there's is no point aiming down sights. Multiplayer is descent , the controls are a little better but most of time enemy camps outside your spawn,I have been playing this game for awhile now and the more I play it the more I don't like it. the controls are terrible. There's is so much lag when you turn its almost impossible to kill someone.on top of that every gun is extremely inaccurate, there's is no point aiming down sights. Multiplayer is descent , the controls are a little better but most of time enemy camps outside your spawn, killing you every time you spawn. They are a lot better because of the unlocked abilities they have and you don't have anything. Expand
  11. guywhohateskillzone
    Jun 11, 2009
    0
    cause it sucks major ballz i hate the shitty graphics, i mean c'mon people lets b serious, it looks like friggin pack man and the gameplay is like putting an elephant dick in your throut, impossible, no i do not have a ps3, and this doesn't help me, i,m glad with my 360, ps3 sucks major balzzzzzz
  12. Aug 16, 2010
    4
    I am disappointed by Killzone 2. Even though it has received rave reviews by the critics, i have to say, i find it quite difficult to come up with positive things to say about it.
    The graphics are pretty nice yes, but unfortunately, games like Uncharted 2 and God of War 3 are available on PS3 and they have much more eye candy. The graphics of Gears of War 3 on Xbox 360 (I own both
    I am disappointed by Killzone 2. Even though it has received rave reviews by the critics, i have to say, i find it quite difficult to come up with positive things to say about it.
    The graphics are pretty nice yes, but unfortunately, games like Uncharted 2 and God of War 3 are available on PS3 and they have much more eye candy. The graphics of Gears of War 3 on Xbox 360 (I own both consoles) are almost on par.
    And, well, that's about all the positive things i have to say about this game.

    The story is a total fail. From the start i couldn't understand what we were doing on Helghan and why we were doing it. I couldn't even understand why we were supposed to be the good guys. Sure, the enemies looked menacing with all the nazi-like styling, but apart from that, the gamer doesn't have a clue what is going on, because the story is non existent.
    Just like the story, the characters and their conversations are completely disappointing as well. I can't say much because i just don't remember anything. My brain has immediately deleted any relevant information because it considered it junk i guess... Uncharted's story and script is light years better.

    The controls are adequate. I didn't like the covering mechanism -there were times that even though i was supposed to be covering, the enemies could still see me and shoot me dead- and the unimaginative way the developers chose to use the dualshock's accelerometer.

    Overall, a mediocre game, way worse than Gears of War series, Call of Duty, Crysis or Half Life.
    Certainly the biggest disappointment of all the ps3 exclusives.
    Collapse
  13. F*ckKillzone2
    May 6, 2009
    0
    What the fuck are people doing comparing this to ANY other FPS. Call of Duty 1 is better. People go on and on and on about the graphics, their so "good" because about all the level designers did is use 4 or 5 colours and spent the rest of their time on the level. So their only doing the lest amount of work possible, yes i know the colours arent there because thats the mood of the game but What the fuck are people doing comparing this to ANY other FPS. Call of Duty 1 is better. People go on and on and on about the graphics, their so "good" because about all the level designers did is use 4 or 5 colours and spent the rest of their time on the level. So their only doing the lest amount of work possible, yes i know the colours arent there because thats the mood of the game but that idea that their graphics are awesome is because they had nothing else to work on, I mean after playing it it didn't feel like they put work into the multiplayer system. Expand
  14. mikeb.
    Mar 30, 2009
    1
    Repetitive repetitive repetitive non stop repetitive redundant repetitive implausible repetitive pointless repetitive mundane repetitive action, that's really repetitive. Plus bad guys that don't die when you shoot them in the head. Instead they get woosy and lose their helmets, but with the helmets off, you can hit them in the head again, and this time severely wound them... Repetitive repetitive repetitive non stop repetitive redundant repetitive implausible repetitive pointless repetitive mundane repetitive action, that's really repetitive. Plus bad guys that don't die when you shoot them in the head. Instead they get woosy and lose their helmets, but with the helmets off, you can hit them in the head again, and this time severely wound them... But if you unload an entire clip in on their heads, they'll eventually die.. So remember, unload entire clip, take their gun and repeat. Expand
  15. Nov 9, 2010
    1
    This game is not good the only thing good about it is the graphics the frame rate is not good and gameplay isn't good neither. And the multiplayer just isn't fun.
  16. KenTran
    Mar 9, 2009
    0
    Wow! Talk about an average game with great graphics. While the game is not actually a zero game, the way people are hyping it with 10's is most likely because of the wow factor of the graphics so I have to give it a zero to even it out. lol
  17. asides
    May 6, 2009
    1
    1 point for the graphics which are while artistically abysmal, dull and brown with endless identical enemies (all with the same silhouette more or less) hiding away some quite technically impressive stuff, but that's it. The game just isn't fun. Online is a camp and 'nade fest, SP is a bad joke with underwheling AI and terrible controls and camera with one of the worst 1 point for the graphics which are while artistically abysmal, dull and brown with endless identical enemies (all with the same silhouette more or less) hiding away some quite technically impressive stuff, but that's it. The game just isn't fun. Online is a camp and 'nade fest, SP is a bad joke with underwheling AI and terrible controls and camera with one of the worst cover systems going. About on a par with resistance 2 as more dull slog than the sunday afternoon dishes. What makes this very sad is the amount of time and money wasted to make this title, and that so many "profesional" reviewers were taken in by the hype to not see past the marketing lingo to the dull slow game that lies at the heart of this. Expand
  18. justink
    Mar 18, 2009
    2
    I am not a graphics whore so I gave this game a 2 based on it's multiplayer aspect. Controls are awkward and slow and as a friend of mine put it, slinging a wet noodle around would be more accurate than trying to kill someone with one of the KZ2 weapons. Movement basically feels as if you are wading through molasses. Thick molasses. With quicksand in it... The guns are useless and I am not a graphics whore so I gave this game a 2 based on it's multiplayer aspect. Controls are awkward and slow and as a friend of mine put it, slinging a wet noodle around would be more accurate than trying to kill someone with one of the KZ2 weapons. Movement basically feels as if you are wading through molasses. Thick molasses. With quicksand in it... The guns are useless and the cover system WISHES it were as intuitive and responsive as in Gears. If you are a fan of Halo 1-3, any of the COD games, Gears of War or Resistance don't bother buying this game: it will just frustrate you for it's lack of precision and speed. I want to love this game (the graphics and menu art are second to none) but gameplay is what it's all about in the end and this game just doesn't deliver. I highly recommend you try the demo before buying (I didn't and basically tossed $60 in the toilet.) Expand
  19. Felix
    Apr 11, 2009
    1
    I hate this bloody game. No, it's not to hard, the controls simply don't work and make you die all the time. Sure, the game looks great, and it really does. But gameplay-wise it's just repetitive shooting, strange gunplay (enemies seem to take looooooads of bullets), and bad, really bad controls (it seems like the game is lagging.. in singleplayer). The story is completely I hate this bloody game. No, it's not to hard, the controls simply don't work and make you die all the time. Sure, the game looks great, and it really does. But gameplay-wise it's just repetitive shooting, strange gunplay (enemies seem to take looooooads of bullets), and bad, really bad controls (it seems like the game is lagging.. in singleplayer). The story is completely uninteresting. The only thing great about this game is it's music. Even if its not really rememberable, it still sounds great. Fix the controls! Expand
  20. AH
    Feb 28, 2009
    3
    I was seriously stoked about this one, I was. Played it online and off and I must say, what the he** is up with all these glowing, perfect reviews? THE GAME IS BROKEN! Not broken from a technical standpoint, but the controls are absolutely, 100%, astonishingly terrible. It's like trying to play a pretty, well funded, flashy first person shooter game where the person you are playing I was seriously stoked about this one, I was. Played it online and off and I must say, what the he** is up with all these glowing, perfect reviews? THE GAME IS BROKEN! Not broken from a technical standpoint, but the controls are absolutely, 100%, astonishingly terrible. It's like trying to play a pretty, well funded, flashy first person shooter game where the person you are playing is fighting under water or some sort of invisible molasses. On countless occasions in multiplayer, I will have someone run directly in front of me spanning maybe 20 yards or so but I can't aim on him to kill him and he gets away... Not acceptable. I'm selling my PS3 in disgust. And before you scream xbox fanboy, I didn't like Gears or Halo either. Expand
  21. HorribleGame
    May 24, 2009
    1
    Personally, I can't believe how much everyone is loving this game? Moreover, I can't believe that the well respected Edge magazine gave it a 8-out-of-10 verdict! I am so annoyed to see Killzone 2 littering the "No1" shelf space in all the stores! WTF??? --in-game graphics which just simply could have been SO MUCH BETTER IN EVERY WAY. --Bland, Stodgy, forgettable gameplay. --And Personally, I can't believe how much everyone is loving this game? Moreover, I can't believe that the well respected Edge magazine gave it a 8-out-of-10 verdict! I am so annoyed to see Killzone 2 littering the "No1" shelf space in all the stores! WTF??? --in-game graphics which just simply could have been SO MUCH BETTER IN EVERY WAY. --Bland, Stodgy, forgettable gameplay. --And an online gaming experience that'll make you want to put a brick through the window of whatever shop you purchased this game from. The above 3 elements comprise the eagerly awaited Killzone 2. I'd say that the gameplay and graphics excell at disappointment especially when it comes to the Online gaming side of things where Killzone 2 is concerned. I LOVED Call of Duty 4 and 5 to the extent where I knew that I would subsequently find it hard to resist using Call of Duty 4/5 as a tool for measuring ANY future shooters. So how did Killzone 2 measure up?...well...All I'll say is "Thank you Infinity Ward, and thank you Activision...you gave all gamers and Shooter-lovers a reason to live, and a reason not to go get depressed about the TOTAL WASTE that is killzone 2. --To anyone looking to buy Killzone 2: RENT IT OUT FIRST! --To everyone praising Killzone 2, I'm both glad and envious that you're so pleased with the game...I've spent ages lookin forward to Killzone 2 and I really hope that I will warm to it in some way at some point. Expand
  22. Gamer01G
    May 26, 2009
    3
    The game is beautiful looking, the action scenes are well crafted; However, as the nintendo wii has shown, appearance only gets you so far. The controls are weak, so weak that it makes me fail this game. There is nothing more frustrating that trying to shoot someone online, only to find you cannot because the controls are non-responsive.
  23. localcelebrity
    Apr 17, 2009
    4
    I bought a PS3 solely for Killzone 2, as a kind of methodone drug to tide me over till Modern Warfare 2 comes out. Ruddy hell, is it overhyped. The multiplayer feels so dated. Not only is it slow, but aiming is nigh on impossible in this game. It's just spray and pray, all the way. COD4 feels like a precision art next to this. The much-vaunted graphics aren't all that either. I bought a PS3 solely for Killzone 2, as a kind of methodone drug to tide me over till Modern Warfare 2 comes out. Ruddy hell, is it overhyped. The multiplayer feels so dated. Not only is it slow, but aiming is nigh on impossible in this game. It's just spray and pray, all the way. COD4 feels like a precision art next to this. The much-vaunted graphics aren't all that either. Well art directed, absolutely. But technically, the Guerilla team haven't broken any new boundaries. This is supposed to be a flagship title, but I kept noticing frame-rate drops at the slightest bit of action. Expand
  24. JonL
    Apr 25, 2009
    4
    This game does not live up to the hype. The controls are poor - ruining a lot of gunplay - it shouldn't be the case that you are *less* accurate aiming with ironsights, than when you shoot from the hip. The maps are large, but badly designed. The engine does them a lot of favours because the environments look great with blowing wind and dust and visibility varies in locations, which This game does not live up to the hype. The controls are poor - ruining a lot of gunplay - it shouldn't be the case that you are *less* accurate aiming with ironsights, than when you shoot from the hip. The maps are large, but badly designed. The engine does them a lot of favours because the environments look great with blowing wind and dust and visibility varies in locations, which is all great. But moving around the maps is very boring and straightforward. There aren't really alternate routes - like players had with movement in CoD4, going over walls, or through crawlspaces. The single player is largely an exercise in patience - fighting the same footsoldiers over and over again, and using the same basic weapons with the same problems (only sniper rifle benefitting from you aiming carefully with it). The cover system is implemented reasonably well - but it is a bit too clunky. Also - the cover system does not apply in multiplayer - so it doesn't matter if it's well done if it's absent. This game doesn't know what it wants to be. Gunplay is worse than CoD4 (a LOT worse) - ranking up wasn't implemented correctly (in a lot of cases in CoD4 you got the best guns at lower classes - mp5, ak47 from start etc), and unlocked cool features that kept the game interesting as you ranked up. In KZ2, you start with crap guns you won't go back to after you rank up, if you bother to stick with the game. I feel like I've wasted my money on this game - it was totally overhyped, and it's inferior to titles from last year. Also, the storyline is terrible, the settings for levels very repetitive, the range of game modes in MP is fine but none of them are fun - none are fast and furious, you'll do well by strategic camping - if you're good enough to play a game that rewards reactions and accuracy, you'll get penalised for that in this game. It's the PS3's Halo 3 - a dumbed down lowest common denominator shooter - but with a lot less variety in terms of weapons, a lot less speed in terms of gameplay, no local multiplayer on split screen. Expand
  25. Apr 25, 2011
    2
    Killzone 2 was one of the most hyped and anticipated games for PS3 when it was being developed, and in many ways it lived up to that hype. The graphics are the highlight here; the story, characters and game play are not the best I've ever seen, nor are they the worst, but they're not great. I didn't play the first game, so perhaps I was at a disadvantage with the story but I struggled toKillzone 2 was one of the most hyped and anticipated games for PS3 when it was being developed, and in many ways it lived up to that hype. The graphics are the highlight here; the story, characters and game play are not the best I've ever seen, nor are they the worst, but they're not great. I didn't play the first game, so perhaps I was at a disadvantage with the story but I struggled to keep interest in it almost from the start. Bad guys come, you kill them, you move on. It's been done many times before and this game does it uninspired from start to finish. The characters are hard to like, one of them including profanities a couple of times in each sentence, although the main antagonist is easy to dislike he is not a memorable one. The control system is something I had trouble getting to grips with, and I felt there was a delay between my button press and the gun on-screen shooting. I changed the controls and it became easier, so if you're struggling try this too. Killzone 2 is a hard game to like, but I did complete it in 10-11 hours. 1/5. Expand
  26. May 9, 2012
    4
    Unfortunately that game isn't even as good as its prequel. It is a dumb enemy-respawn-action-failure with no mentionable story and the simple quintessence: it needs more than some outstanding graphics to create a good game.
    But after all, it fits... in these times it seems only games with a lot boom boom and permanent thill can bring kids to the screen. Must be some concession to the
    Unfortunately that game isn't even as good as its prequel. It is a dumb enemy-respawn-action-failure with no mentionable story and the simple quintessence: it needs more than some outstanding graphics to create a good game.
    But after all, it fits... in these times it seems only games with a lot boom boom and permanent thill can bring kids to the screen. Must be some concession to the attention deficit hyperactivity disorder age...
    Expand
  27. Jun 26, 2013
    4
    Although I'm playing this game 4 years after it's release I am gobsmacked that it got such stellar reviews. It's so generic that it hurts. I could best describe this game as a Call of Duty clone. It could probably make it as a Black Ops title if the controls weren't so and slow. So what makes it's so terrible you say? The level design is uninspiring to say the least shades of brown andAlthough I'm playing this game 4 years after it's release I am gobsmacked that it got such stellar reviews. It's so generic that it hurts. I could best describe this game as a Call of Duty clone. It could probably make it as a Black Ops title if the controls weren't so and slow. So what makes it's so terrible you say? The level design is uninspiring to say the least shades of brown and grey, claustrophobic, & repetitive. Checkpoints that lead you forward to yet another wave of enemies. Bland weaponry. The voice acting is cringe worthy, and the lip syncing looks like something you'd see in a game pre-2000. Maybe I'm spoiled by recent releases, but this PS3 exclusive has been a let down. Expand
  28. Feb 26, 2012
    4
    This game was nothing more than sparkling graphics and realistic guns. The game play eventually become boring and all too familiar. The story is not engaging, and neither are the characters. I was disappointed to see Jan Templar be replaced by this "Sev" character. Everything good about the plot and characters of Killzone 1 vanished as the entire focus came down to graphics and gameplay.This game was nothing more than sparkling graphics and realistic guns. The game play eventually become boring and all too familiar. The story is not engaging, and neither are the characters. I was disappointed to see Jan Templar be replaced by this "Sev" character. Everything good about the plot and characters of Killzone 1 vanished as the entire focus came down to graphics and gameplay. Although those are greatly important, if I am not engaged by a story I won't play the game. The plot seemed predictable and even cliche. It very much felt like I was playing a cheap rip off of what Killzone should have been. This game is simply overrated. Killzone 1 was much better. The game overall is very dark and blan, not very motivating, and not worth a second playthough. Expand
  29. Nov 22, 2013
    4
    I'm really disappointed with the second game in this series. I loved the 1st killzone, in particular because the settings looks both realistic and futuristic, and because the story was engaging. Frankly, I can't tell you what the story in number 2 is like, because I can't get over how mediocre the game mechanics are. Firstly, the aiming is slow and clunky, the crosshairs are nearI'm really disappointed with the second game in this series. I loved the 1st killzone, in particular because the settings looks both realistic and futuristic, and because the story was engaging. Frankly, I can't tell you what the story in number 2 is like, because I can't get over how mediocre the game mechanics are. Firstly, the aiming is slow and clunky, the crosshairs are near invisible, the particle effects (whilst pretty) make spotting anything in the entirely brown grey environment a pain, death happens randomly, enemies fluctuate between insane bullet sponges, to flimsy cardboard cutouts, the AI is a bit special, and the combat is just not fun. I put the aiming sensitivity to full, and it still takes several seconds to pan from one side of the screen to the other, which in a game where enemies can essentially one shot you, and the hit indicator is non-existent, makes surviving each fire fight tedious at best.

    I really wanted to enjoy this game, but Its one of the few games where I cannot stand to play it because the mechanics of it are terrible.
    Expand
  30. JohnDoelor
    Mar 6, 2009
    1
    I give this game credit for looking sharp, but it relies too heavily on delivering a multiplayer experience that the whole single player campaign was just thrown together. Multiplayer is a big component of first person shooters; but when the single player doesn't deliver (or when there are other games that do multiplayer much better), you realize that this game is not worth theI give this game credit for looking sharp, but it relies too heavily on delivering a multiplayer experience that the whole single player campaign was just thrown together. Multiplayer is a big component of first person shooters; but when the single player doesn't deliver (or when there are other games that do multiplayer much better), you realize that this game is not worth the purchase (or the hype). Expand
  31. Sep 5, 2013
    4
    Disappointing, Mediocre and repetitive, those are the emotions and feelings that Killzone 2 evoke on my conscious mind while playing it.

    It amazes me how some people can foolishly get hyped for just a couple of nice graphical effects, i said it before and i said it again, graphics, don't make a game, good. It's the combination of the different departments that work in the game itself
    Disappointing, Mediocre and repetitive, those are the emotions and feelings that Killzone 2 evoke on my conscious mind while playing it.

    It amazes me how some people can foolishly get hyped for just a couple of nice graphical effects, i said it before and i said it again, graphics, don't make a game, good.
    It's the combination of the different departments that work in the game itself in a well thought way, with heart, and intelligence put into it.

    Killzone 2 it's you running around in a wide and repetitive stage while shooting the exact same model of a "Helghast" over, and over, and over again, there's no stop into it and when finally is, it can just be summed up into you as the player getting on a mech and shooting the exact same models once again, it's an endless loop of repetition that i can't stand, there where several different times where i felt like i was being forced into played the game.

    The worst problem of the game itself is the incredible lost of potential that "SCEA" demonstrates in this game. the "Helghast" could possibly be one of the most intriguing and interesting characters that someone might play against in a video game, but they get such a poor and mediocre treatment, that you just get upset there isn't a lot more information of them in the game, it's a huge waste of opportunity when it happen.

    The characters that carry along with you throughout the "joyful ride" that "Killzone 2" offers, are one of the most uninteresting, and annoying characters that any game can share to the player, once again, this game just manages to shine when a huge waste of potential shows up.
    But that's not the worst part of "Killzone 2", oh no, it gets much, much worse.
    The gameplay of this game is extremely repetitive, there wasn't even one thing that i can recall being memorable or interesting, or that even shined throughout my boring, and dull experience with it.

    It is disgusting that a game like "KIllzone 2" can be praised so much at a point of being considered, "one of the best shooters for the ps3", pathetic, shallow, uninteresting, boring, repetitive, it's the experience that you're more that likely are going to have while playing "Killzone 2".

    Don't get fooled by the naive and ignorant reviews, of some people that can get surprised with a couple of nice graphical effects, and shadows that pop out, and cover the awful failure that this game is.
    Even then, the cover up doesn't last for a while.
    Expand
  32. Aug 16, 2010
    0
    I am disappointed by Killzone 2. Even though it has received rave reviews by the critics, i have to say, i find it quite difficult to come up with positive things to say about it.
    The graphics are pretty nice yes, but unfortunately, games like Uncharted 2 and God of War 3 are available on PS3 and they have much more eye candy. The graphics of Gears of War 3 on Xbox 360 (I own both
    I am disappointed by Killzone 2. Even though it has received rave reviews by the critics, i have to say, i find it quite difficult to come up with positive things to say about it.
    The graphics are pretty nice yes, but unfortunately, games like Uncharted 2 and God of War 3 are available on PS3 and they have much more eye candy. The graphics of Gears of War 3 on Xbox 360 (I own both consoles) are almost on par.
    And, well, that's about all the positive things i have to say about this game.

    The story is a total fail. From the start i couldn't understand what we were doing on Helghan and why we were doing it. I couldn't even understand why we were supposed to be the good guys. Sure, the enemies looked menacing with all the nazi-like styling, but apart from that, the gamer doesn't have a clue what is going on, because the story is non existent.
    Just like the story, the characters and their conversations are completely disappointing as well. I can't say much because i just don't remember anything. My brain has immediately deleted any relevant information because it considered it junk i guess... Uncharted's story and script is light years better.

    The controls are adequate. I didn't like the covering mechanism -there were times that even though i was supposed to be covering, the enemies could still see me and shoot me dead- and the unimaginative way the developers chose to use the dualshock's accelerometer.

    Overall, a mediocre game, way worse than Gears of War series, Call of Duty, Crysis or Half Life.
    Certainly the biggest disappointment of all the ps3 exclusives.
    Collapse
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 94 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 94
  2. Negative: 0 out of 94
  1. It's true that Killzone 2 is filled with moments that can handily be described as inspiring awe. Each scene is incredibly well detailed, from the gaps in jerry-rigged cover points letting you sneak in a killing headshot to scarred and scratched textures, the planet feels entirely believable... Without a doubt Killzone fans, action and shooter fans of any stripe will instantly tag this sequel as a powerful contender for best game of 2009. [Feb 2009, p.38]
  2. Killzone 2’s secret ingredient is the fluidity in gameplay that we have come to enjoy more than its graphical prowess or jaw-dropping visuals. And that’s what games have always been about... We're surprised to see Killzone 2 blows our expectations out of the water with a memorable SP campaign and a stellar MP component. To put it short, this game makes "Gears of War 2" look like a high school attempt at gaming and that is a HUGE compliment!
  3. Visually it's so far ahead of anything else out there it shatters your expectations...This is a PS3 showing what it's truly capable of and delivering a landmark piece of explosive entertainment you can't afford to miss. [Feb 2009, p.88]