• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Feb 27, 2009
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1398 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 29, 2010
    5
    This is a great game on paper, I mean it looks stunning. Unfortunately the gameplay is really sluggish and the controls have been ruined. They removed all secondary fire from the original, which means the weapon designs no longer make sense (one assault rifle still has the grenade launcher from the first game, but it is now inexplicably useless).

    Also, the cover system is terrible,
    This is a great game on paper, I mean it looks stunning. Unfortunately the gameplay is really sluggish and the controls have been ruined. They removed all secondary fire from the original, which means the weapon designs no longer make sense (one assault rifle still has the grenade launcher from the first game, but it is now inexplicably useless).

    Also, the cover system is terrible, totally unecessary in game like this- I can see what they tried to do, but it ends up being very awkward an unsatisfying trying to lean, scope and aim all at the same time... Beautiful game, disappointing gameplay. Hopefully Killzone 3 will address these issues.
    Expand
  2. MattJ
    Oct 5, 2009
    10
    I love this game great action great story and the battle feel like real battles even tho i love this game some people wont cuz how the shooting is it not like COD4 or Resistance those game are fast pace shooter this is kinda more slow pace your guy dont move as fast as you wud in COD4 of Resistance but i love this game if you have a PS3 give this game a shot you might like it still.
  3. ColinP
    Dec 27, 2009
    5
    This game was the biggest letdown of the year for me. I heard it was good the reviews mirrored that image but when i played i was anything but impressed. The game was horribly made. Your teamate is a waste of spac and never gets killed and only hinders your progress, For some reason you have a partner but you can't do co-op. The aiming is terrible and its too hard to hit people This game was the biggest letdown of the year for me. I heard it was good the reviews mirrored that image but when i played i was anything but impressed. The game was horribly made. Your teamate is a waste of spac and never gets killed and only hinders your progress, For some reason you have a partner but you can't do co-op. The aiming is terrible and its too hard to hit people especially with the crappy sniper rifle. The worst part is the difficulty. Each guy is stronger than you. You die way too much. I've been playing FPS games all my life and i spent over 5 hours on 1 checkpoint in this game. I had it on "hard" difficulty which it said "is for skilled FPS players" and it was soo stupid and a waste of time. The graphics are good. Expand
  4. Aug 26, 2010
    3
    It baffles me how a game like Killzone 2 can be considered so great, the graphics are amazing, everything else is terrible. STORY: Pretty standard sci-fi story Space Marines kill bad guys, decent voice acting but can get corny at times. Annoyances abound when you figure out that apparently you're the ONLY Space Medic left so you're left to be the only person that can revive your teammateIt baffles me how a game like Killzone 2 can be considered so great, the graphics are amazing, everything else is terrible. STORY: Pretty standard sci-fi story Space Marines kill bad guys, decent voice acting but can get corny at times. Annoyances abound when you figure out that apparently you're the ONLY Space Medic left so you're left to be the only person that can revive your teammate and when you die, your teammates cannot revive you, in single player, hearing "ZEV, I NEED HELP ZEEEEVVVVVV" gets old very quickly. CONTROLS: Mushy "realistic" controls which make the multiplayer in this game feel so terribly unbalanced and sluggish, I think this is actually supposed to be a "feature" but the acceleration on the sticks is insanely high, but the sensitivity is low leading to unecessary . coming from gaming on PC with mouse and keyboard using analog sticks with a ton of accelleration seems so frustratingly inaccurate it's a deal breaker right there. GRAPHICS: As I said earlier, the graphics are great, same with the sound design. Aesthetically it's a well made game, but control and story wise it's terribly disappointing. Expand
  5. BarryP
    Apr 11, 2009
    3
    Summary of my play time for Killzone 2: Inserted the disc into PS3 at 6.34pm. Watched the unskippable prologue. Commenced to gameplay. 6.50pm took the game out of the dsc drive. It obviously has some dazzling graphics but that really is all. The control presets are terrible and do not cater for everyone's mapping playstyle. It feels incredibly combersome and even having the Summary of my play time for Killzone 2: Inserted the disc into PS3 at 6.34pm. Watched the unskippable prologue. Commenced to gameplay. 6.50pm took the game out of the dsc drive. It obviously has some dazzling graphics but that really is all. The control presets are terrible and do not cater for everyone's mapping playstyle. It feels incredibly combersome and even having the sensitivity of both x&y axis set to maximum it still feels horrible. Forgot to mention the front end menu made my eyes water a bit, with its pointless blur effect. I will never be playing this again and I'm so relieved I only had to borrow it from a family member and not give Sony/Guerilla any portion of my hard earned cash for such a basic and dull game that is painted over by (needless to say) superb visuals. Expand
  6. Jul 2, 2011
    0
    everyone to their own, Killzone 2 (whilst looking nice) is a clumsy,awkward controlled FPS with perhaps the worst and most irritating characters I've ever seen in a video game.
    I don't like the term 'overrated', so won't label this so. I know many like the game and I'm in the minority, but wasn't my cup of tea.
  7. Jan 23, 2014
    3
    I have been playing this game for awhile now and the more I play it the more I don't like it. the controls are terrible. There's is so much lag when you turn its almost impossible to kill someone.on top of that every gun is extremely inaccurate, there's is no point aiming down sights. Multiplayer is descent , the controls are a little better but most of time enemy camps outside your spawn,I have been playing this game for awhile now and the more I play it the more I don't like it. the controls are terrible. There's is so much lag when you turn its almost impossible to kill someone.on top of that every gun is extremely inaccurate, there's is no point aiming down sights. Multiplayer is descent , the controls are a little better but most of time enemy camps outside your spawn, killing you every time you spawn. They are a lot better because of the unlocked abilities they have and you don't have anything. Expand
  8. guywhohateskillzone
    Jun 11, 2009
    0
    cause it sucks major ballz i hate the shitty graphics, i mean c'mon people lets b serious, it looks like friggin pack man and the gameplay is like putting an elephant dick in your throut, impossible, no i do not have a ps3, and this doesn't help me, i,m glad with my 360, ps3 sucks major balzzzzzz
  9. Aug 16, 2010
    4
    I am disappointed by Killzone 2. Even though it has received rave reviews by the critics, i have to say, i find it quite difficult to come up with positive things to say about it.
    The graphics are pretty nice yes, but unfortunately, games like Uncharted 2 and God of War 3 are available on PS3 and they have much more eye candy. The graphics of Gears of War 3 on Xbox 360 (I own both
    I am disappointed by Killzone 2. Even though it has received rave reviews by the critics, i have to say, i find it quite difficult to come up with positive things to say about it.
    The graphics are pretty nice yes, but unfortunately, games like Uncharted 2 and God of War 3 are available on PS3 and they have much more eye candy. The graphics of Gears of War 3 on Xbox 360 (I own both consoles) are almost on par.
    And, well, that's about all the positive things i have to say about this game.

    The story is a total fail. From the start i couldn't understand what we were doing on Helghan and why we were doing it. I couldn't even understand why we were supposed to be the good guys. Sure, the enemies looked menacing with all the nazi-like styling, but apart from that, the gamer doesn't have a clue what is going on, because the story is non existent.
    Just like the story, the characters and their conversations are completely disappointing as well. I can't say much because i just don't remember anything. My brain has immediately deleted any relevant information because it considered it junk i guess... Uncharted's story and script is light years better.

    The controls are adequate. I didn't like the covering mechanism -there were times that even though i was supposed to be covering, the enemies could still see me and shoot me dead- and the unimaginative way the developers chose to use the dualshock's accelerometer.

    Overall, a mediocre game, way worse than Gears of War series, Call of Duty, Crysis or Half Life.
    Certainly the biggest disappointment of all the ps3 exclusives.
    Expand
  10. F*ckKillzone2
    May 6, 2009
    0
    What the fuck are people doing comparing this to ANY other FPS. Call of Duty 1 is better. People go on and on and on about the graphics, their so "good" because about all the level designers did is use 4 or 5 colours and spent the rest of their time on the level. So their only doing the lest amount of work possible, yes i know the colours arent there because thats the mood of the game but What the fuck are people doing comparing this to ANY other FPS. Call of Duty 1 is better. People go on and on and on about the graphics, their so "good" because about all the level designers did is use 4 or 5 colours and spent the rest of their time on the level. So their only doing the lest amount of work possible, yes i know the colours arent there because thats the mood of the game but that idea that their graphics are awesome is because they had nothing else to work on, I mean after playing it it didn't feel like they put work into the multiplayer system. Expand
  11. sdogjdog
    Nov 9, 2009
    5
    This game was one of the most anticipated games of 2009.*negative buzzer*.It isn't that good.Yeah the graphics are amazing.Yeah the animations are awesome.But gameplay?It is heavy,clunky and it is what makes the game unplayable.It is so bad you can't have fun.Now about the online.It sucks too.Bad spawning system.Evey enemy needs like 20 pounds of bullets to die.It sucks in This game was one of the most anticipated games of 2009.*negative buzzer*.It isn't that good.Yeah the graphics are amazing.Yeah the animations are awesome.But gameplay?It is heavy,clunky and it is what makes the game unplayable.It is so bad you can't have fun.Now about the online.It sucks too.Bad spawning system.Evey enemy needs like 20 pounds of bullets to die.It sucks in general.Oh lets not forget the boring story.Just two armies fighting for some random reason.And in the end you find out there is no point in fighting!!!5 just because of the graphics. Expand
  12. tommyg
    Nov 13, 2009
    5
    i cant believe how disappointed i was with this game. i mean i bought it seeing all these great reviews about it being the best FPS ever, only to be greeted by this uninspiring shooter. Its not bad, but i cant get myself to like it. maybe its just not me, but the controls could seriously use more work. and the environments are all bland, gears of war was bland but its levels had quite i cant believe how disappointed i was with this game. i mean i bought it seeing all these great reviews about it being the best FPS ever, only to be greeted by this uninspiring shooter. Its not bad, but i cant get myself to like it. maybe its just not me, but the controls could seriously use more work. and the environments are all bland, gears of war was bland but its levels had quite some variety, which killzone lacks. ofcourse the multiplayer was the main reason to get it, but no further impulse is present to play it, the unlocks are really not worth playing through for such a long time. They dont improve your chances anyhow. Expand
  13. mikeb.
    Mar 30, 2009
    1
    Repetitive repetitive repetitive non stop repetitive redundant repetitive implausible repetitive pointless repetitive mundane repetitive action, that's really repetitive. Plus bad guys that don't die when you shoot them in the head. Instead they get woosy and lose their helmets, but with the helmets off, you can hit them in the head again, and this time severely wound them... Repetitive repetitive repetitive non stop repetitive redundant repetitive implausible repetitive pointless repetitive mundane repetitive action, that's really repetitive. Plus bad guys that don't die when you shoot them in the head. Instead they get woosy and lose their helmets, but with the helmets off, you can hit them in the head again, and this time severely wound them... But if you unload an entire clip in on their heads, they'll eventually die.. So remember, unload entire clip, take their gun and repeat. Expand
  14. Nov 9, 2010
    1
    This game is not good the only thing good about it is the graphics the frame rate is not good and gameplay isn't good neither. And the multiplayer just isn't fun.
  15. KenTran
    Mar 9, 2009
    0
    Wow! Talk about an average game with great graphics. While the game is not actually a zero game, the way people are hyping it with 10's is most likely because of the wow factor of the graphics so I have to give it a zero to even it out. lol
  16. SebastienM.
    Apr 6, 2009
    6
    Graphics are the best ever and presentation is top notch, but main campaign is over in 6 hours. it was nice, but nothing really special, very cliched. The controls are sluggish and the multiplayer gets boring after a couple of days when you unlock everything. Only 8 maps and everybody are using the same tactics: spawn, enter a room, throw a missile and a grenade, kill 2-3 enemies, get Graphics are the best ever and presentation is top notch, but main campaign is over in 6 hours. it was nice, but nothing really special, very cliched. The controls are sluggish and the multiplayer gets boring after a couple of days when you unlock everything. Only 8 maps and everybody are using the same tactics: spawn, enter a room, throw a missile and a grenade, kill 2-3 enemies, get killed and repeat. Rent before you buy, I traded my copy after 3 weeks. Last game that I will buy based on hype alone. Expand
  17. KayN
    Mar 5, 2009
    6
    I liked Killzone 2 at first, but my initial feelings for it didn't last. The graphics are unquestionably up there with the likes of MGS4. No question, these graphics are mindblowing. Possibly better than Gears 2, but I need to see both games next to eachother to be sure. The gameplay is something you would expect from a shooter with as much hype as KZ2 got. It's intense. I liked Killzone 2 at first, but my initial feelings for it didn't last. The graphics are unquestionably up there with the likes of MGS4. No question, these graphics are mindblowing. Possibly better than Gears 2, but I need to see both games next to eachother to be sure. The gameplay is something you would expect from a shooter with as much hype as KZ2 got. It's intense. However, even with all of these good points I still can't help but be disappointed. The story is crap and the characters are worse. Most of the time you wont even care about what they are saying. The fact that only a fraction of people playing KZ2 would have played KZ1 (which was really awful) makes the story even more meaningless. The final boss is actually harder than the whole of single player, which I hate. The controls are shaky and a bit delayed at times, the aiming is inconsistent which will then become frustrating, it hampers the experience. You can get used to the controls with time but they need to be fixed. Multiplayer is pretty good but there aren't many levels to play in. Not to say that the levels are bad, but there are only 8 maps. The multiplayer can be a joyful experience, but again the controls sometimes ruin it, on FPS's I usually play on the highest sensitivity but with KZ2 the higher you increase the sensitivity the worse it gets. Overrated, but not as bad as some games have been. Now, is this game better than Call of Duty WaW and Halo? Maybe. Is it better than Call of Duty 4? No. Expand
  18. asides
    May 6, 2009
    1
    1 point for the graphics which are while artistically abysmal, dull and brown with endless identical enemies (all with the same silhouette more or less) hiding away some quite technically impressive stuff, but that's it. The game just isn't fun. Online is a camp and 'nade fest, SP is a bad joke with underwheling AI and terrible controls and camera with one of the worst 1 point for the graphics which are while artistically abysmal, dull and brown with endless identical enemies (all with the same silhouette more or less) hiding away some quite technically impressive stuff, but that's it. The game just isn't fun. Online is a camp and 'nade fest, SP is a bad joke with underwheling AI and terrible controls and camera with one of the worst cover systems going. About on a par with resistance 2 as more dull slog than the sunday afternoon dishes. What makes this very sad is the amount of time and money wasted to make this title, and that so many "profesional" reviewers were taken in by the hype to not see past the marketing lingo to the dull slow game that lies at the heart of this. Expand
  19. AndrewLittle
    Sep 4, 2009
    5
    My god, i got a ps3 for this game and then look at it, im not a fanboy of any console but after that let down.... 360 is better this gen... Multiplayer is ok. A bit laggy.. Story is short ( good work there blu ray ) and the glitches are unbelievable, nearly as bad as Gears 2 ! I mean, come on, this game is way too over rated !
  20. PaulB
    Dec 19, 2009
    5
    After playing many other FPS's I come away from this game with mixed feelings. The graphics are stunning for sure, but this is like putting shinny new rims on a Chevy Celebrity. The controls are terrible. The fire fights in multiplayer are based off of luck due to the fact that the aiming is sub par. I cannot stress enough that the controls are so bad, that playing Call of Duty (any After playing many other FPS's I come away from this game with mixed feelings. The graphics are stunning for sure, but this is like putting shinny new rims on a Chevy Celebrity. The controls are terrible. The fire fights in multiplayer are based off of luck due to the fact that the aiming is sub par. I cannot stress enough that the controls are so bad, that playing Call of Duty (any of them) after playing this, I felt super human. I gave the game a 5 based off of the fact that the concept and graphics are great. If they got the controls down better in this game, it would have been a 10 for sure. You would have to wonder if any of the developers ever played an FPS prior to making this game. Expand
  21. BrandonF
    Mar 13, 2009
    6
    I would have given this game a higher score, but in real life when you steal ideas, or use old ones, you're not usually given a pat on the back. This game takes old ideas removes good controls that came with those ideas and supplants them onto new graphics. It's a decent game, but nothing to run home about, and definitely not worth buying a console for if you don't already I would have given this game a higher score, but in real life when you steal ideas, or use old ones, you're not usually given a pat on the back. This game takes old ideas removes good controls that came with those ideas and supplants them onto new graphics. It's a decent game, but nothing to run home about, and definitely not worth buying a console for if you don't already own the PS3. Sony's going to have to keep looking for a console selling game, this isn't it. All these glowing reviews will be forgotten when the next "GREAT" game comes out. Killzone 2 will not have a life in memory. We'll be waiting for an FPS to match HL2 (ORIGINAL STORY) for a longggggg time. Expand
  22. Gav
    Mar 1, 2009
    5
    Wow - what an epic shame. This game was a fun - if rather repetitive & unimaginative - shooter, right up until the last boss. I always hate it when you sail through a game, then crash into a point where you get totally stuck - and for me that point in Killzone 2 has been the final boss battle. I've spent two thoroughly angering 1/2 hour sessions trying to beat him, and can't Wow - what an epic shame. This game was a fun - if rather repetitive & unimaginative - shooter, right up until the last boss. I always hate it when you sail through a game, then crash into a point where you get totally stuck - and for me that point in Killzone 2 has been the final boss battle. I've spent two thoroughly angering 1/2 hour sessions trying to beat him, and can't even tell if I've hurt him at all. I can only presume that whatever I'm doing (shooting him with bullets) is pointlessly wrong. This has actually retrospecively ruined the whole game for me, which would have otherwise got 8 from me - as it is, I really wish I hadn't bought it. Well done Havok / Sony / whoever - that's quite an accomplishment! Expand
  23. OC
    Mar 14, 2009
    6
    For the sheer visceral thrill this game bestows on it's player Killzone2 deserves great admiration. Wonderful graphics, physics and atmosphere lend Killzone it's talking points, which will no doubt be discussed for some time. However this is all people will be talking about; unfortunatly the game suffers from terrible Deja Vu. You have been here before, and you most certainly For the sheer visceral thrill this game bestows on it's player Killzone2 deserves great admiration. Wonderful graphics, physics and atmosphere lend Killzone it's talking points, which will no doubt be discussed for some time. However this is all people will be talking about; unfortunatly the game suffers from terrible Deja Vu. You have been here before, and you most certainly have done that. Space Marine games, lets face it are more saturated more than a large slab of lard and whilst the game attempts to lend some sort of emotional resonance it fails miserably at enrapturing it's audience; with more than just big arms and big guns needed to liven up this party. If Killzone had made me feel as though I was part of an actual conflict I may have felt differently. As it is, Killzone2 represents the cheerleader of games: Pretty to look at but hardly worth waiting for the personality. Expand
  24. justink
    Mar 18, 2009
    2
    I am not a graphics whore so I gave this game a 2 based on it's multiplayer aspect. Controls are awkward and slow and as a friend of mine put it, slinging a wet noodle around would be more accurate than trying to kill someone with one of the KZ2 weapons. Movement basically feels as if you are wading through molasses. Thick molasses. With quicksand in it... The guns are useless and I am not a graphics whore so I gave this game a 2 based on it's multiplayer aspect. Controls are awkward and slow and as a friend of mine put it, slinging a wet noodle around would be more accurate than trying to kill someone with one of the KZ2 weapons. Movement basically feels as if you are wading through molasses. Thick molasses. With quicksand in it... The guns are useless and the cover system WISHES it were as intuitive and responsive as in Gears. If you are a fan of Halo 1-3, any of the COD games, Gears of War or Resistance don't bother buying this game: it will just frustrate you for it's lack of precision and speed. I want to love this game (the graphics and menu art are second to none) but gameplay is what it's all about in the end and this game just doesn't deliver. I highly recommend you try the demo before buying (I didn't and basically tossed $60 in the toilet.) Expand
  25. tb
    Mar 5, 2009
    5
    AWFUl controls completely ruin the game. even aiming or throwing a grenade is hard and tedious. it has the most over rated graphics I've ever seen. everything is so plain and boring looking and lacks the art direction of Gears 2. the enemies are incredibly repetitive too. the story doesn't make sense and the characters suck. on the plus side there's a lot of weapons and itAWFUl controls completely ruin the game. even aiming or throwing a grenade is hard and tedious. it has the most over rated graphics I've ever seen. everything is so plain and boring looking and lacks the art direction of Gears 2. the enemies are incredibly repetitive too. the story doesn't make sense and the characters suck. on the plus side there's a lot of weapons and it has awesome music. Expand
  26. Felix
    Apr 11, 2009
    1
    I hate this bloody game. No, it's not to hard, the controls simply don't work and make you die all the time. Sure, the game looks great, and it really does. But gameplay-wise it's just repetitive shooting, strange gunplay (enemies seem to take looooooads of bullets), and bad, really bad controls (it seems like the game is lagging.. in singleplayer). The story is completely I hate this bloody game. No, it's not to hard, the controls simply don't work and make you die all the time. Sure, the game looks great, and it really does. But gameplay-wise it's just repetitive shooting, strange gunplay (enemies seem to take looooooads of bullets), and bad, really bad controls (it seems like the game is lagging.. in singleplayer). The story is completely uninteresting. The only thing great about this game is it's music. Even if its not really rememberable, it still sounds great. Fix the controls! Expand
  27. AH
    Feb 28, 2009
    3
    I was seriously stoked about this one, I was. Played it online and off and I must say, what the he** is up with all these glowing, perfect reviews? THE GAME IS BROKEN! Not broken from a technical standpoint, but the controls are absolutely, 100%, astonishingly terrible. It's like trying to play a pretty, well funded, flashy first person shooter game where the person you are playing I was seriously stoked about this one, I was. Played it online and off and I must say, what the he** is up with all these glowing, perfect reviews? THE GAME IS BROKEN! Not broken from a technical standpoint, but the controls are absolutely, 100%, astonishingly terrible. It's like trying to play a pretty, well funded, flashy first person shooter game where the person you are playing is fighting under water or some sort of invisible molasses. On countless occasions in multiplayer, I will have someone run directly in front of me spanning maybe 20 yards or so but I can't aim on him to kill him and he gets away... Not acceptable. I'm selling my PS3 in disgust. And before you scream xbox fanboy, I didn't like Gears or Halo either. Expand
  28. LukeM
    Mar 1, 2009
    6
    First thing, my overall comment on the game is that its an average shooter, not a excellent one, not a bad one. A average one (my score would have been 6.5 if i was able to put half points) I have played both the multi and the SP , the multi only has 1 new thing on it (the switching of game types as the map plays is a good idea) , other than that, its not much more than other shooters out First thing, my overall comment on the game is that its an average shooter, not a excellent one, not a bad one. A average one (my score would have been 6.5 if i was able to put half points) I have played both the multi and the SP , the multi only has 1 new thing on it (the switching of game types as the map plays is a good idea) , other than that, its not much more than other shooters out there at the moment. Yes it has classes, as unlockables, but that is a bad idea for the future of the game. In a months time any newcomers are going to have a hell of a time due to eveyrone else having bonuses and better equipment. Single player wise 3 missions in and i didn't know why i was invading this planet, i was told that these people are bad, that they invaded somewhere else, but why are they bad enough for the player to become like them by invading them, am i the bad guy? There is no explaination and i had to read the manual to understand why i was on the planet, that is bad storytelling. Also the description given to us by sony should not be the entire plot of the game, if it can be summed up that easily then theres something wrong! Gunplay is ok, again average, only being able to hold 2 guns makes it more realistic but if you do that, do not make the player pick up a rocket launcher just to open up a gate or something then have to swap back, its annoying.Other than that guns pretty generic (see the pattern here!) the gun with a dot scope, the single shot accurate gun etc, the cover system works quite well in single player, dunno why it doesn;t seem to be in multi or it is and I just havn;t spotted it Yes it has tacked on motion controls, and I am yet to figure out why reviewers are ok with ps3 tacked on motion controls when wii tacked on motion controls make them foam at the mouth and drop the score by 2 points. All in all a average shooter, kudos to the developer they did a good job, but with other shooters out there they really needed to do something different! (oh also why not 1080p? how long before developers can get the true power of the machine out of it). Expand
  29. MatthewM
    Mar 22, 2009
    6
    Good Graphics. That said, the single player campaign is monotonous and uninspired. The multiplayer is fun for a while, but the relative ease with which you kill your enemies leaves you wanting more after about an hour. The class system in multiplayer is useless because you get the best AR in the game right off the bat, and the game takes very little real skill to be good at. Look to Call Good Graphics. That said, the single player campaign is monotonous and uninspired. The multiplayer is fun for a while, but the relative ease with which you kill your enemies leaves you wanting more after about an hour. The class system in multiplayer is useless because you get the best AR in the game right off the bat, and the game takes very little real skill to be good at. Look to Call of Duty 4, Halo, and Fallout 3 if you want Superb Shooters. Expand
  30. HorribleGame
    May 24, 2009
    1
    Personally, I can't believe how much everyone is loving this game? Moreover, I can't believe that the well respected Edge magazine gave it a 8-out-of-10 verdict! I am so annoyed to see Killzone 2 littering the "No1" shelf space in all the stores! WTF??? --in-game graphics which just simply could have been SO MUCH BETTER IN EVERY WAY. --Bland, Stodgy, forgettable gameplay. --And Personally, I can't believe how much everyone is loving this game? Moreover, I can't believe that the well respected Edge magazine gave it a 8-out-of-10 verdict! I am so annoyed to see Killzone 2 littering the "No1" shelf space in all the stores! WTF??? --in-game graphics which just simply could have been SO MUCH BETTER IN EVERY WAY. --Bland, Stodgy, forgettable gameplay. --And an online gaming experience that'll make you want to put a brick through the window of whatever shop you purchased this game from. The above 3 elements comprise the eagerly awaited Killzone 2. I'd say that the gameplay and graphics excell at disappointment especially when it comes to the Online gaming side of things where Killzone 2 is concerned. I LOVED Call of Duty 4 and 5 to the extent where I knew that I would subsequently find it hard to resist using Call of Duty 4/5 as a tool for measuring ANY future shooters. So how did Killzone 2 measure up?...well...All I'll say is "Thank you Infinity Ward, and thank you Activision...you gave all gamers and Shooter-lovers a reason to live, and a reason not to go get depressed about the TOTAL WASTE that is killzone 2. --To anyone looking to buy Killzone 2: RENT IT OUT FIRST! --To everyone praising Killzone 2, I'm both glad and envious that you're so pleased with the game...I've spent ages lookin forward to Killzone 2 and I really hope that I will warm to it in some way at some point. Expand
  31. Gamer01G
    May 26, 2009
    3
    The game is beautiful looking, the action scenes are well crafted; However, as the nintendo wii has shown, appearance only gets you so far. The controls are weak, so weak that it makes me fail this game. There is nothing more frustrating that trying to shoot someone online, only to find you cannot because the controls are non-responsive.
  32. TonyP
    May 4, 2009
    6
    Visuals-9 very good with slight framerate problems at times Sound-7 Shut your mouth Garza Gameplay-3 in an FPS aim lag breaks games and because of it KZ2 is a huge let down. When i move the stick their should be NO DELAY. All and all PS3 fans were looking for a halo killer but this isnt it, unfortunately KZ2 is average and the real thing that keeps gamers coming back is the amazing and Visuals-9 very good with slight framerate problems at times Sound-7 Shut your mouth Garza Gameplay-3 in an FPS aim lag breaks games and because of it KZ2 is a huge let down. When i move the stick their should be NO DELAY. All and all PS3 fans were looking for a halo killer but this isnt it, unfortunately KZ2 is average and the real thing that keeps gamers coming back is the amazing and visceral gameplay, and with KZ2 broken aiming it will never rise above the likes of Half life, COD, or Halo. Sony will get it right one day I believe but not this time. Expand
  33. SashaH
    Jun 12, 2009
    10
    I used to think that Call of Duty 4/5 were the revolutuion of shooters, but, as most gamers do, they get bored. Then Killzone 2 came prancing along. The graphics are brilliant. The gameplay i would give 9.9 and the Story 9.5. Here we get to the multiplayer. It is superb on many levels and so i would give it one of the best games this year.
  34. michaelk
    Oct 21, 2009
    7
    wow this is one of those games that really brings up debate with its army of fanboys and just as many others who cant understand why everyones so excited about what is really just a quite pretty but avarage shooter, as for me i sit somewhere in the middle i really like the game but feel it was rushed out before it was finnished the lack of a co-op in the main story seems like a crazy wow this is one of those games that really brings up debate with its army of fanboys and just as many others who cant understand why everyones so excited about what is really just a quite pretty but avarage shooter, as for me i sit somewhere in the middle i really like the game but feel it was rushed out before it was finnished the lack of a co-op in the main story seems like a crazy thing to leave out when it weas obviously originally designed for two players so many of the set peices have two sentry guns to mount or things like the tank having two seats just screams that it was intended for two people plus your shadowed for the whole story by an ai partner it makes me wish that the game spent that extra time in development so that things like this wasn't left on the cutting room floor and these faults carry over to the multi player aswell, things like the cover system that you used all the way through the campaign suddenly not being active like they didn't have time to work it into the multi player maps ??? Expand
  35. localcelebrity
    Apr 17, 2009
    4
    I bought a PS3 solely for Killzone 2, as a kind of methodone drug to tide me over till Modern Warfare 2 comes out. Ruddy hell, is it overhyped. The multiplayer feels so dated. Not only is it slow, but aiming is nigh on impossible in this game. It's just spray and pray, all the way. COD4 feels like a precision art next to this. The much-vaunted graphics aren't all that either. I bought a PS3 solely for Killzone 2, as a kind of methodone drug to tide me over till Modern Warfare 2 comes out. Ruddy hell, is it overhyped. The multiplayer feels so dated. Not only is it slow, but aiming is nigh on impossible in this game. It's just spray and pray, all the way. COD4 feels like a precision art next to this. The much-vaunted graphics aren't all that either. Well art directed, absolutely. But technically, the Guerilla team haven't broken any new boundaries. This is supposed to be a flagship title, but I kept noticing frame-rate drops at the slightest bit of action. Expand
  36. JonL
    Apr 25, 2009
    4
    This game does not live up to the hype. The controls are poor - ruining a lot of gunplay - it shouldn't be the case that you are *less* accurate aiming with ironsights, than when you shoot from the hip. The maps are large, but badly designed. The engine does them a lot of favours because the environments look great with blowing wind and dust and visibility varies in locations, which This game does not live up to the hype. The controls are poor - ruining a lot of gunplay - it shouldn't be the case that you are *less* accurate aiming with ironsights, than when you shoot from the hip. The maps are large, but badly designed. The engine does them a lot of favours because the environments look great with blowing wind and dust and visibility varies in locations, which is all great. But moving around the maps is very boring and straightforward. There aren't really alternate routes - like players had with movement in CoD4, going over walls, or through crawlspaces. The single player is largely an exercise in patience - fighting the same footsoldiers over and over again, and using the same basic weapons with the same problems (only sniper rifle benefitting from you aiming carefully with it). The cover system is implemented reasonably well - but it is a bit too clunky. Also - the cover system does not apply in multiplayer - so it doesn't matter if it's well done if it's absent. This game doesn't know what it wants to be. Gunplay is worse than CoD4 (a LOT worse) - ranking up wasn't implemented correctly (in a lot of cases in CoD4 you got the best guns at lower classes - mp5, ak47 from start etc), and unlocked cool features that kept the game interesting as you ranked up. In KZ2, you start with crap guns you won't go back to after you rank up, if you bother to stick with the game. I feel like I've wasted my money on this game - it was totally overhyped, and it's inferior to titles from last year. Also, the storyline is terrible, the settings for levels very repetitive, the range of game modes in MP is fine but none of them are fun - none are fast and furious, you'll do well by strategic camping - if you're good enough to play a game that rewards reactions and accuracy, you'll get penalised for that in this game. It's the PS3's Halo 3 - a dumbed down lowest common denominator shooter - but with a lot less variety in terms of weapons, a lot less speed in terms of gameplay, no local multiplayer on split screen. Expand
  37. RyanO
    Sep 29, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing. I have never played a more immersive FPS. In some parts of the single player, you are literally fighting for every inch, and sometimes you get pushed back. It feels like a real world. And the online mode is superb. The class system works great with plenty of unlockables. This game will last you for hours on in.
  38. Jan 8, 2011
    6
    thu game had alot of hype on it. i was really hoping for a better game. the story mode is ok bit the plot i couldnt atleast follow or care much about what was going on. the voice acting is pretty good the wepon selection is ok nothing really exciting for wepons. the fact that you get to carry only one main wepon and one pistol type sucked. the Ai enimy is pretty good and they will takethu game had alot of hype on it. i was really hoping for a better game. the story mode is ok bit the plot i couldnt atleast follow or care much about what was going on. the voice acting is pretty good the wepon selection is ok nothing really exciting for wepons. the fact that you get to carry only one main wepon and one pistol type sucked. the Ai enimy is pretty good and they will take cover and use tactics on you. the online starts off great when you play in the rookie rooms every thing feels pretty balanced and spawn camping is hard to do with the turrets ... although once you hit LT. status the online goes to hell . every game turns into a spawn campingfest . the games balance goes to hell as higher levels will just rocket you to death and are far more powerful then you. Expand
  39. Oct 28, 2010
    5
    i dont think this game really lived up to its expectations the game play could of been better it meant it isn't the most enjoyable gaming experience. The story was decent enough i liked that wasn't perfect but good
  40. Apr 25, 2011
    2
    Killzone 2 was one of the most hyped and anticipated games for PS3 when it was being developed, and in many ways it lived up to that hype. The graphics are the highlight here; the story, characters and game play are not the best I've ever seen, nor are they the worst, but they're not great. I didn't play the first game, so perhaps I was at a disadvantage with the story but I struggled toKillzone 2 was one of the most hyped and anticipated games for PS3 when it was being developed, and in many ways it lived up to that hype. The graphics are the highlight here; the story, characters and game play are not the best I've ever seen, nor are they the worst, but they're not great. I didn't play the first game, so perhaps I was at a disadvantage with the story but I struggled to keep interest in it almost from the start. Bad guys come, you kill them, you move on. It's been done many times before and this game does it uninspired from start to finish. The characters are hard to like, one of them including profanities a couple of times in each sentence, although the main antagonist is easy to dislike he is not a memorable one. The control system is something I had trouble getting to grips with, and I felt there was a delay between my button press and the gun on-screen shooting. I changed the controls and it became easier, so if you're struggling try this too. Killzone 2 is a hard game to like, but I did complete it in 10-11 hours. 1/5. Expand
  41. Nov 26, 2010
    5
    This game is not very good at all, and is generic as hell. I'm not even a Halo fan but any of those games are far better than this for an FPS, not even to mention Battlefield, Call of Duty, Team Fortress, Metroid, Half-Life, etc... There is absolutely nothing redeeming about this game. The story/characters SUCK, and there is far better multiplayer experiences out there, and the controlsThis game is not very good at all, and is generic as hell. I'm not even a Halo fan but any of those games are far better than this for an FPS, not even to mention Battlefield, Call of Duty, Team Fortress, Metroid, Half-Life, etc... There is absolutely nothing redeeming about this game. The story/characters SUCK, and there is far better multiplayer experiences out there, and the controls are AWFULLL. Expand
  42. Feb 19, 2011
    7
    killzone 2 is a good game but there is some room for improvement. You can see the designers put a lot of effort into the enemies movement and AI, but they sometimes go overboard when the helghast die, some even jumping and doing a full 360 degree spin. the graphics are good but not the best I've seen in a PS3 game. the allies are very judging, miss one shot and they start saying stuff likekillzone 2 is a good game but there is some room for improvement. You can see the designers put a lot of effort into the enemies movement and AI, but they sometimes go overboard when the helghast die, some even jumping and doing a full 360 degree spin. the graphics are good but not the best I've seen in a PS3 game. the allies are very judging, miss one shot and they start saying stuff like "C'mon, start shooting them, why do i have to kill them all?" the storyline is a major downfall, they don't explain the war with the helghast enough for people who haven't played the first killzone. good game but could still be a lot better Expand
  43. May 9, 2012
    4
    Unfortunately that game isn't even as good as its prequel. It is a dumb enemy-respawn-action-failure with no mentionable story and the simple quintessence: it needs more than some outstanding graphics to create a good game.
    But after all, it fits... in these times it seems only games with a lot boom boom and permanent thill can bring kids to the screen. Must be some concession to the
    Unfortunately that game isn't even as good as its prequel. It is a dumb enemy-respawn-action-failure with no mentionable story and the simple quintessence: it needs more than some outstanding graphics to create a good game.
    But after all, it fits... in these times it seems only games with a lot boom boom and permanent thill can bring kids to the screen. Must be some concession to the attention deficit hyperactivity disorder age...
    Expand
  44. Feb 4, 2011
    10
    One thing I do hate about this website is that spotty teenage Xbox fanboys who did not get enough pocket money from their mommy to buy a proper console for grown ups, spend their time slagging off Killzone. Get a PS3, get a life, grow some balls and hair on them, before you both to comment on ANYTHING in life, let alone a proven AAA game like Killzone 2 ... !!! Muppets !!!
  45. Jun 26, 2013
    4
    Although I'm playing this game 4 years after it's release I am gobsmacked that it got such stellar reviews. It's so generic that it hurts. I could best describe this game as a Call of Duty clone. It could probably make it as a Black Ops title if the controls weren't so and slow. So what makes it's so terrible you say? The level design is uninspiring to say the least shades of brown andAlthough I'm playing this game 4 years after it's release I am gobsmacked that it got such stellar reviews. It's so generic that it hurts. I could best describe this game as a Call of Duty clone. It could probably make it as a Black Ops title if the controls weren't so and slow. So what makes it's so terrible you say? The level design is uninspiring to say the least shades of brown and grey, claustrophobic, & repetitive. Checkpoints that lead you forward to yet another wave of enemies. Bland weaponry. The voice acting is cringe worthy, and the lip syncing looks like something you'd see in a game pre-2000. Maybe I'm spoiled by recent releases, but this PS3 exclusive has been a let down. Expand
  46. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    Great PS3 game absolutly beautiful short but intense and fun single player that will make you want more with some of my favorite multiplayer some of the best classes in a multiplayer with the great graphics makes this a must play
  47. Sep 16, 2011
    8
    It's definitely gorgeous show od PS3 power, but not only - despite of weak storytelling and heroes, you can find fantastic mechanism of shooting and large mulitplayer.
  48. Feb 18, 2012
    9
    This game is great. I am not sure if I like killzone 2 or 3 better. The graphics look amazing for an early title and I feel the story keeps you going. Great atmosphere and set pecies leave this as a great package and a must own for ps3 owners. Just remember that the controls do take a little getting used to but once you get it down you won't put this down till its complete.
  49. Feb 26, 2012
    4
    This game was nothing more than sparkling graphics and realistic guns. The game play eventually become boring and all too familiar. The story is not engaging, and neither are the characters. I was disappointed to see Jan Templar be replaced by this "Sev" character. Everything good about the plot and characters of Killzone 1 vanished as the entire focus came down to graphics and gameplay.This game was nothing more than sparkling graphics and realistic guns. The game play eventually become boring and all too familiar. The story is not engaging, and neither are the characters. I was disappointed to see Jan Templar be replaced by this "Sev" character. Everything good about the plot and characters of Killzone 1 vanished as the entire focus came down to graphics and gameplay. Although those are greatly important, if I am not engaged by a story I won't play the game. The plot seemed predictable and even cliche. It very much felt like I was playing a cheap rip off of what Killzone should have been. This game is simply overrated. Killzone 1 was much better. The game overall is very dark and blan, not very motivating, and not worth a second playthough. Expand
  50. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    BES FPS EVER!!! , I CANT believe how some people gave this game such low scores! Its a **** AWESOME! game.. I recommend this game to every "REAL" gamer out there.
  51. Nov 22, 2013
    4
    I'm really disappointed with the second game in this series. I loved the 1st killzone, in particular because the settings looks both realistic and futuristic, and because the story was engaging. Frankly, I can't tell you what the story in number 2 is like, because I can't get over how mediocre the game mechanics are. Firstly, the aiming is slow and clunky, the crosshairs are nearI'm really disappointed with the second game in this series. I loved the 1st killzone, in particular because the settings looks both realistic and futuristic, and because the story was engaging. Frankly, I can't tell you what the story in number 2 is like, because I can't get over how mediocre the game mechanics are. Firstly, the aiming is slow and clunky, the crosshairs are near invisible, the particle effects (whilst pretty) make spotting anything in the entirely brown grey environment a pain, death happens randomly, enemies fluctuate between insane bullet sponges, to flimsy cardboard cutouts, the AI is a bit special, and the combat is just not fun. I put the aiming sensitivity to full, and it still takes several seconds to pan from one side of the screen to the other, which in a game where enemies can essentially one shot you, and the hit indicator is non-existent, makes surviving each fire fight tedious at best.

    I really wanted to enjoy this game, but Its one of the few games where I cannot stand to play it because the mechanics of it are terrible.
    Expand
  52. louisd
    Sep 11, 2009
    10
    Many people claim they know the best fps but this is what everyone knows is the best fps. this game IS THE BEST forget halo that sucked you want action, atmosphere, violence this game is the ultimate. it grabs you and pulls you in to it's marvelous ways. The a.i. is best seen in a game the graphics speak for themselves there a portrait of beuty. the gameplay is perfect feels great Many people claim they know the best fps but this is what everyone knows is the best fps. this game IS THE BEST forget halo that sucked you want action, atmosphere, violence this game is the ultimate. it grabs you and pulls you in to it's marvelous ways. The a.i. is best seen in a game the graphics speak for themselves there a portrait of beuty. the gameplay is perfect feels great orgasmic if you will. let me end by saying this if the first killlzone disappointed WHICH IT DIDN'T. this writes those wrongs and brings justice to a great game series. Expand
  53. TobyK
    Sep 23, 2009
    10
    I got this game as a birthday gift. I'd been up all night so when I installed it it was about 1 in the morning. By t he time I managed to unplug myself it was almost 8:00 AM. that should speak volumes about how compelling this game is. A mixture of unbelievable graphics, gameplay that manages to feel somehow heavy and visceral and an utterly believable scene and storyline combined to I got this game as a birthday gift. I'd been up all night so when I installed it it was about 1 in the morning. By t he time I managed to unplug myself it was almost 8:00 AM. that should speak volumes about how compelling this game is. A mixture of unbelievable graphics, gameplay that manages to feel somehow heavy and visceral and an utterly believable scene and storyline combined to prodecu my personal favourite game from the current PS3 range. Expand
  54. TyeS
    Dec 4, 2009
    9
    They told us that this game would look amazing. They were right. What we forgot about is that it would also be an incredibly responsive FPS with a great online component. Oh and it looks amazing.
  55. kevinb.
    Feb 27, 2009
    8
    Graphics look great, a bit blurry at times but very impressive overall. The main problem I have with this game is the sluggish controls, aiming is a bit of an effort unlike in Call of duty 4&5 where it seems much more responsive. Picking out your target can be a pain and this is a massive let down when you have up to 32 players in a multiplayer game. Could have been better, I feel its Graphics look great, a bit blurry at times but very impressive overall. The main problem I have with this game is the sluggish controls, aiming is a bit of an effort unlike in Call of duty 4&5 where it seems much more responsive. Picking out your target can be a pain and this is a massive let down when you have up to 32 players in a multiplayer game. Could have been better, I feel its another disappointment, I think its time that Sony bring out a game which shows us what they can really do. Expand
  56. WillM
    Feb 27, 2009
    10
    Where it lacks in an indepth and gripping story it makes up for in beautifull visuals, The Enemies AI is incredibl tactfull in their approach at war while your allies AI is less so it still manages to pull the attention of your enemies from you making it a nice change from the norm where you the player are not always walking around with a target on your forehead. Other then that the Where it lacks in an indepth and gripping story it makes up for in beautifull visuals, The Enemies AI is incredibl tactfull in their approach at war while your allies AI is less so it still manages to pull the attention of your enemies from you making it a nice change from the norm where you the player are not always walking around with a target on your forehead. Other then that the Gameplay is much of what we've seen from other great fps Its just been done better and extroadinarly so by killzone2. The Multiplayer is a beautifull hybrid of Battlefield badcompany, call of duty and team fortress 2 and it works amazingly so class systems and levellng up strategically make it one of the most enjoyable online experiences to date. A mustbuy for ps3 owners and people on the fence for the ps3 should check it out this lbp and mgs4 are what make the ps3 such a unique gaming experience. Expand
  57. Jay
    Feb 27, 2009
    10
    I was pretty skeptical based on the mixed reviews, but this game is actually pretty astounding. Once you get the hang of the controls, the gameplay becomes immensely satisfying. It's definitely a gritty, down-to-earth shooter and feels very much different from the arcade feel that Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare has. If you're a hardcore gamer and felt Modern Warfare didn't I was pretty skeptical based on the mixed reviews, but this game is actually pretty astounding. Once you get the hang of the controls, the gameplay becomes immensely satisfying. It's definitely a gritty, down-to-earth shooter and feels very much different from the arcade feel that Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare has. If you're a hardcore gamer and felt Modern Warfare didn't get it "just right", this is the missing link. Expand
  58. MichalG.
    Feb 27, 2009
    10
    I do not personally interested in the fact that the game does not make practically nothing new to the topic. Finally, in the case of FPP game plan goes further, because the calculation of the efficiency of this is not short. At 9h game, which I was to spend for this type of game. Multiplayer is great, maps are huge, slightly more precise control of which is a plus. Defects that indicate I do not personally interested in the fact that the game does not make practically nothing new to the topic. Finally, in the case of FPP game plan goes further, because the calculation of the efficiency of this is not short. At 9h game, which I was to spend for this type of game. Multiplayer is great, maps are huge, slightly more precise control of which is a plus. Defects that indicate some reviewers dare me personally, because in the case of FPP game evaluate other aspects to be taken into account, the efficiency of the counts the most. And this game really gives a large kick. Sorry for the spelling, but I am not Englishman. Expand
  59. joeb
    Feb 27, 2009
    6
    Played this for quite a few hours now and still struglling to see why soo many seem to love it. graphics are technically impressive but looks worrying like a tech demo for a new graphics card. imo graphical effects are over used making this look anything but realistic in the face of games like cod4/5. Add to that the short lived and terribly written campaign all this positve feedback has Played this for quite a few hours now and still struglling to see why soo many seem to love it. graphics are technically impressive but looks worrying like a tech demo for a new graphics card. imo graphical effects are over used making this look anything but realistic in the face of games like cod4/5. Add to that the short lived and terribly written campaign all this positve feedback has me worried sony had been making bots again. Expand
  60. TristanC.
    Feb 27, 2009
    10
    This is by far the best FPS ever to grace a gaming console. Never before have i played a game where you feel so much in the middle of complete and utter chaos. The enermy AI is brilliant, making the game even more realalistic.
  61. AlexL.
    Feb 27, 2009
    10
    The controls are tight and the multi-player is sick. Even the story, contrary to what all of the critics are saying, is somewhat decent. The ONLY downfall is no co-op. Oh this game could've been perfect-- I'll give it a 10 even though it's deserving of a 9.5.
  62. accukrak
    Feb 27, 2009
    8
    Excellent campaign (single player mode). But CONTROL, CONTROL, CONTROL is an issue. If you're used to the smooth and tight feel of Call of Duty 4 and 5 (WaW), then the KZ2 controls would definitely feel a bit sluggish. This becomes an issue during multiplayer games. Thankfully, everyone's suffering from the same sluggishness. Also, character rendering and movement during Excellent campaign (single player mode). But CONTROL, CONTROL, CONTROL is an issue. If you're used to the smooth and tight feel of Call of Duty 4 and 5 (WaW), then the KZ2 controls would definitely feel a bit sluggish. This becomes an issue during multiplayer games. Thankfully, everyone's suffering from the same sluggishness. Also, character rendering and movement during multiplay isn't as photo-realistic as the CoD games. Expand
  63. Chad
    Feb 27, 2009
    10
    Propobly the best 1st person shooter ever and one of the best games to come out. Jaw dropping visuals, amazing sound and awesome gameplay. The reviews given by Absolute games, edge magazine and teletext gamecentral are in my opinion sickening and should be taken right off metacritic. They are obviously biased against ps3 expecially absolute games. I cant even believe they are saying it Propobly the best 1st person shooter ever and one of the best games to come out. Jaw dropping visuals, amazing sound and awesome gameplay. The reviews given by Absolute games, edge magazine and teletext gamecentral are in my opinion sickening and should be taken right off metacritic. They are obviously biased against ps3 expecially absolute games. I cant even believe they are saying it would only look good against games like medal of honor. They didnt even mention a ps3 game in the list they gave. Its much better than all of the games they gave. I bet any amount of money that if killzone had come out for 360 they would of gave it 100's. Expand
  64. SeanC
    Feb 28, 2009
    7
    This game should have been a 9 or a 10, but they made one HUGE mistake. The player movement is pathetic. it's like I am playing in a bowl of sand. Straight maddening. Also you can't scope in close.
  65. ThomasB
    Feb 28, 2009
    10
    Violent, intense and fun. The bar for first person shooters has been raised, not by much, but enough to make the competition that much more important. Killzone 2 doesn't exactly innovate, instead it just makes sure that everything blends together properly to make sure the experience holds your attention. Guerilla Games have delivered on an experience where the gameplay is as good as Violent, intense and fun. The bar for first person shooters has been raised, not by much, but enough to make the competition that much more important. Killzone 2 doesn't exactly innovate, instead it just makes sure that everything blends together properly to make sure the experience holds your attention. Guerilla Games have delivered on an experience where the gameplay is as good as the AI and the AI is as good as the graphics. Expand
  66. MarkW
    Mar 11, 2009
    9
    One of few games that has the potential to be the perfect game but doesn't quite make it. Mainly thought they could have exploited the whole electric compound thing a little further and added in some extra creatures with different electric properties etc just would have been nice to have a few more different things to shoot at. Also don't really like being told by your AI team One of few games that has the potential to be the perfect game but doesn't quite make it. Mainly thought they could have exploited the whole electric compound thing a little further and added in some extra creatures with different electric properties etc just would have been nice to have a few more different things to shoot at. Also don't really like being told by your AI team mates how to complete a task. All in all though I haven't had this much fun playing a campaign since COD4. BRING ON THE MULTIPLAYER!!!!! Expand
  67. Tom
    Mar 11, 2009
    10
    I was in th beta for this game, so when i heard every one on the interweb how good or bad it was going to be, i just laughed. Because this game is not only the best FPS on the PS3, but esely one of the best FPS's on any console. the online was better than i remembered in the beta. And the single player campaign (although nothing uber super good), was very good indeed. and the cover I was in th beta for this game, so when i heard every one on the interweb how good or bad it was going to be, i just laughed. Because this game is not only the best FPS on the PS3, but esely one of the best FPS's on any console. the online was better than i remembered in the beta. And the single player campaign (although nothing uber super good), was very good indeed. and the cover system is a peice of genius. because, it actually works!!! In all, this is on game you should not, and can not miss out on. Expand
  68. JonC
    Mar 11, 2009
    10
    Without one single doubt in my mind, this is the best first-person shooter I have EVER played. The singleplayer has a great story compared to other fps', and I felt that the ending was just magnificent with the help of Rico. Elite mode was sick, and attempting to beat it without losing any lives proved the hardest gaming goal I have ever achieved. Multiplayer, is on par to that of Without one single doubt in my mind, this is the best first-person shooter I have EVER played. The singleplayer has a great story compared to other fps', and I felt that the ending was just magnificent with the help of Rico. Elite mode was sick, and attempting to beat it without losing any lives proved the hardest gaming goal I have ever achieved. Multiplayer, is on par to that of Halo 3 and easily surpasses that of Call of Duty 4. Thanks to the 1.20 patch, there are very fluid controls, and I was amazed to see the level of detail and graphics put even into this part of the game. Throughout my 20 hours of playing the online mode, I have never experienced any lag at all. Warzone mode is the icing on the cake, allowing the game type to be changed in a matter of seconds after one objective complete. Playing Halo 3: $60 Having fun on Half-Life 2: $25 Playing your favorite game for hours on end: Priceless. Expand
  69. [Anonymous]
    Mar 1, 2009
    10
    Epic game indeed. The visuals are outstanding and the intense enemy AI will always keep you on your toes. Using cover in this game is essential to your survival. The class based multiplayer is very intense. The dialog is kinda stale and the story is competent for a first person shooter. The voice acting is good but don't expect oscar worthy performances, its a video game after all.
  70. MattR
    Mar 10, 2009
    8
    One of the first things I noticed about killzone is that there is no aim assist, which obviously makes it harder to aim, but that isn't necessarily a bad thing, just different from most shooters. The story isn't worth mentioning, (basically kill the guys with the red eyes, and capture their leader). And multi-player is great with its classes in in game switches of game type. One of the first things I noticed about killzone is that there is no aim assist, which obviously makes it harder to aim, but that isn't necessarily a bad thing, just different from most shooters. The story isn't worth mentioning, (basically kill the guys with the red eyes, and capture their leader). And multi-player is great with its classes in in game switches of game type. Killzone does lack in that the AI can sometimes get in your way, and that nothing revolutionary is introduced, but when Killzone 2 implements everything so great, it can stand up with other AAA titles such as Halo and CoD. Expand
  71. DanM
    Mar 1, 2009
    10
    I have really enjoyed this game since I bought it. The guns, though inaccurate at times, feel heavy and give that sense of power when you're shooting them. Movement feels much more real as when you sprint, your body carries momentum and it takes a bit longer to stop, turn, and aim. The action is intense, and the gun battles in the SP are just awesome. In those battles, the sounds of I have really enjoyed this game since I bought it. The guns, though inaccurate at times, feel heavy and give that sense of power when you're shooting them. Movement feels much more real as when you sprint, your body carries momentum and it takes a bit longer to stop, turn, and aim. The action is intense, and the gun battles in the SP are just awesome. In those battles, the sounds of bullets whizzing by, soldiers yelling at each other, explosions, it's all well done. This game was one of my reasons to get my ps3, and it did not fail to deliver. Expand
  72. mattbambitch
    Mar 11, 2009
    10
    This is not the most innovative shooter you will find out there, but, everything in the game is fun, and well done.
    the single-player is fun, with great weapons, different locations, and many bosses. The Multiplayer is the best part: very chaotic, strategic, and FUN!
    This game is a must have for any shooter fan.
  73. JoeL
    Mar 1, 2009
    7
    Very little was done very well in this game. The graphics are top-notch but they make up the least important part of enjoying a game (at least for myself). The gameplay felt sloppy (the cover system really wasn't a necessity and often left you more exposed than if you didn't use it), it didn't introduce anything new to the genre (at the best of times its still little more Very little was done very well in this game. The graphics are top-notch but they make up the least important part of enjoying a game (at least for myself). The gameplay felt sloppy (the cover system really wasn't a necessity and often left you more exposed than if you didn't use it), it didn't introduce anything new to the genre (at the best of times its still little more than a shooting gallery). The story feels tacked on, especially when compared to COD 4, I had no emotional investment in the characters and couldn't have cared less if they lived or died. The multiplayer seems pretty solid but it will be tough to truly judge it until most people have unlocked the badges. Not a bad a game, but it could have (and should have) been a lot more. Expand
  74. Randyno
    Mar 1, 2009
    9
    This is an amazing game! when I got the PS3 I really was only looking forward to metal gear solid 4 but when I heard about killzone 2 I was excited, but skeptical. I got this game expecting a slightly above average game instead what I got was a reason to turn on my PS3 for more then media. the story is a 9 out of 10( the reason for this is for little grips such as it drags on a bit and This is an amazing game! when I got the PS3 I really was only looking forward to metal gear solid 4 but when I heard about killzone 2 I was excited, but skeptical. I got this game expecting a slightly above average game instead what I got was a reason to turn on my PS3 for more then media. the story is a 9 out of 10( the reason for this is for little grips such as it drags on a bit and some enemies can be repetitive) and the online is 9.8 out of 10, the reason I gave it that is you can't change the controller layout the way you want and you have to level up to get all your weapons and abilities which is not bad, but at first it's disappointing to see just a basic FPS with only a few weapons. Get past that and it is the best online experience I have ever had. The story is standard fair for a FPS, above average but nothing to keep you playing the story over and over again. overall its a little under a 10 just for the fact that there is little nagging features that are keeping it from a 10. Expand
  75. TheBigmac
    Mar 15, 2009
    9
    To sum it up, Call of Duty 4, Still KIng of multiplayer. This game, best rental ever. First off, best graphics I've ever seen in any system. (And I own them all). I just beat the campaign mode in 9 and a half hours. It was a blast. If you have a good HD set, you're friends will drool at the sight of this game in motion in glorious 1080p. If you own a 120hz set, grab a bucket. To sum it up, Call of Duty 4, Still KIng of multiplayer. This game, best rental ever. First off, best graphics I've ever seen in any system. (And I own them all). I just beat the campaign mode in 9 and a half hours. It was a blast. If you have a good HD set, you're friends will drool at the sight of this game in motion in glorious 1080p. If you own a 120hz set, grab a bucket. Now, the game has 1 big flaw. The controls are clunky and if you're used to play COD4, you will feel like you're playing underwater playing this game. You kind of get used to it during campaign. I tried the multiplayer and it was OK. But the control issue makes you slow at reacting and you just can't move or dispatch enemies as fast as Modern Warfare has accustomed us to. Because of these issues and with the graphics alone as an upside, I just don't see myself popping this game inside my PS3 for a multiplayer session instead of playing COD4, let alone paying 50-60 bucks to keep it after beating my rental copy. If you're a PS3 owner you owe it to yourself to play this game and see what your black shiny beast is capable of doing when the programmers know what they're doing and are competent enough to harness a big chuck of the untapped PS3 power. Now, graphics wise, this game has spoiled me by setting the bar so high that I won't settle for anything inferior from now on. From here on out, every time a new PS3 game is released and does not look like this or better, I will deem the programmers incompetent and undeserving of their salaries. Expand
  76. DanielWhatever
    Mar 17, 2009
    5
    This game looks nice, visual quality is fantastic. But we've seen this gameplay a thousand times and it just doesn't work on a console. First person shooters should be played on PC. Controls are completely handicapped and the story isn't very engaging (which is a must if one is to suffer through the retarded feeling of the joystick controls).
  77. AliAl-H
    Mar 18, 2009
    9
    One thing held back this game from a perfect 10, and that is story. It had great potential for an epic and even moving story. There were moments where you can see the anguish in the main characters face and you wanted to feel for him, but lack of story didn't allow that. Also, the graphics are the top of the line sans Crysis. Even though Crysis looks better still frame, KZ2 takes the One thing held back this game from a perfect 10, and that is story. It had great potential for an epic and even moving story. There were moments where you can see the anguish in the main characters face and you wanted to feel for him, but lack of story didn't allow that. Also, the graphics are the top of the line sans Crysis. Even though Crysis looks better still frame, KZ2 takes the cake in over all animation and technical prowess. While the controls may initially feel odd, it can be easily adapted too. Anyone with a PS3 and that loves a shooter NEEDS to get this game. While it doesn't bring much to the table in terms of "innovation" it sure is the best damn polished game I have played to date. Expand
  78. FrankB.
    Mar 2, 2009
    10
    This must be one of the best fps games I have played in the last couple of years. It is truly amazing. The epicness is the best part of the game. I have never seen a game where so much stuff happens on screen. Its war, and you know it is. You feel like a soldier struggling for his life. Especially in the amzing final level. The final level is the most epic level I have ever played in an This must be one of the best fps games I have played in the last couple of years. It is truly amazing. The epicness is the best part of the game. I have never seen a game where so much stuff happens on screen. Its war, and you know it is. You feel like a soldier struggling for his life. Especially in the amzing final level. The final level is the most epic level I have ever played in an fps. You are litterally struggling for every inch of the battlefield. After this level I had to get some oxygen because I was hyperventalating lol. Shortly said, this game really lives up to its hype and it is a must buy and a system seller. I havent even started on the multiplayer but believe me, it just as good as the singleplayer. Expand
  79. JacksonJ.
    Mar 2, 2009
    10
    Awesome game great graphics awesome a.i. Story may not be the best but it is solid. Controls are hard to get used to. But COD and halo fans avoid this game. Everyone else get it.
  80. BobS
    Mar 20, 2009
    10
    First off, if you hate this game, you most likely suck at it, giving a game a 0/10 just because you are completely horrible at it is just ignorant. The controls take some getting used to but that's because of the weight of the weapons and the lack of an Aim-Assist (in games like CoD and RFOM when your crosshair is close enough to someone it automatically targets them). The story on First off, if you hate this game, you most likely suck at it, giving a game a 0/10 just because you are completely horrible at it is just ignorant. The controls take some getting used to but that's because of the weight of the weapons and the lack of an Aim-Assist (in games like CoD and RFOM when your crosshair is close enough to someone it automatically targets them). The story on normal mode is an 8/10, but on Elite difficulty it's easily a 10. The multiplayer is better than any game this generation. It's deeper than CoD4, CoD5, and Resistance combined. Th graphics and sound are the best console games have to offer. Killzone 2 is the new king of console multiplayer. Expand
  81. bobbyd
    Mar 2, 2009
    10
    Best graphics, AI and multiplayer for this generation of consoles hands down. This isn't your generic shooter like everyone says, and anyone who says that hasn't played it. You have to think (no running and gunning). The cover system is phenomenal, something neither COD4 nor Halo 3 have. 32 player online again something COD4 nor Halo have. Intelligent enemies they play better Best graphics, AI and multiplayer for this generation of consoles hands down. This isn't your generic shooter like everyone says, and anyone who says that hasn't played it. You have to think (no running and gunning). The cover system is phenomenal, something neither COD4 nor Halo 3 have. 32 player online again something COD4 nor Halo have. Intelligent enemies they play better than most people online and that isn't even on the hardest difficulty. Haters need to stop and just play the game. If you like lag free online and quick matchmaking this game is for you. The multiplayer is what makes this game though, it's better than COD4. Must have for anyone with a PS3 and if you dont have a PS3 pick one up because you're probably done L4Dd and Gears like me. Expand
  82. simb
    Mar 24, 2009
    10
    Best game I have played. The graphics are second to none, but it's the gameplay what completes the package, you feel so realistic, you actually feel the weight, you move realisticly, and this is a perfect example of a FPS using a cover system, lean and peak works a treat in this game and is great fun to use. Whilst the demo is great, you need the complete game to get a real feel for Best game I have played. The graphics are second to none, but it's the gameplay what completes the package, you feel so realistic, you actually feel the weight, you move realisticly, and this is a perfect example of a FPS using a cover system, lean and peak works a treat in this game and is great fun to use. Whilst the demo is great, you need the complete game to get a real feel for it, and the multiplayer just adds to the experience, the best multiplayer I have played, incredible. Looking forward to the DLC. Expand
  83. Gklouse29
    Mar 28, 2009
    10
    I felt compelled to write about this game... Sure it's nothing new, but it plays so well. I cant remember the last time I played a game which kept my interest peaked for so long. The campaign is just a balls out action fest, which was good enough to play through more than once. Multiplayer, much better since they fixed the movement acceleration, is constantly evolving as you level I felt compelled to write about this game... Sure it's nothing new, but it plays so well. I cant remember the last time I played a game which kept my interest peaked for so long. The campaign is just a balls out action fest, which was good enough to play through more than once. Multiplayer, much better since they fixed the movement acceleration, is constantly evolving as you level up, and with the new classes, the way you play changes constantly... it rarely feels stale. I think it would be unfair to compare it to Duty or Halo... so take it for face value, it's one more phenomenal game added to the list. Expand
  84. CarlosJ
    Mar 29, 2009
    10
    This game is just the best fps ive ever played its graphics are really the best of any ps3 game around and the gameplay its abit difficult to get use to it at first but youll get them easily in almost no time so if your planing on buying this game, do it its awesome and its one of the best games ive played in a long time.
  85. CarlosJ
    Mar 29, 2009
    10
    This game is just the best fps ive ever played its graphics are really the best of any ps3 game around and the gameplay its abit difficult to get use to it at first but youll get them easily in almost no time so if your planing on buying this game, do it its awesome and its one of the best games ive played in a long time.
  86. ChristopherM
    Mar 3, 2009
    10
    PS3's major Killer App and best candidate for Game of the Year 09! Developers with any complaints about engineering for the PS3 need to go back to stop complaining or quit their jobs and let someone who knows what they are doing take over.
  87. TylerH
    Mar 3, 2009
    9
    This is a great game. Visually stunning in every aspect. Frame rates are not an issue, it is smooth all the way through in both single and multi, but some can lie or be in there own world if it makes them feel better. Controls are also not an issue. If people can remember, games have been around longer than cod4, cod4 was not the first game ever made. Because youve played cod4 online for This is a great game. Visually stunning in every aspect. Frame rates are not an issue, it is smooth all the way through in both single and multi, but some can lie or be in there own world if it makes them feel better. Controls are also not an issue. If people can remember, games have been around longer than cod4, cod4 was not the first game ever made. Because youve played cod4 online for 13 weeks is not an excuse to hate on a game thats controls arent the same. Now these controls can be changed in KZ2, they are not the issue. The only thing that may be at issue here, is the sensitivity, which you just have to get used to because its based off of realistic weight properties. Please carry a gun and tell me how fast you can turn, KZ2 will closer to it than cod4, so those complaining about that need to stop. I rate it a 9 because of some of the AI issues. They dont kill the game, but are irritating, at least to me. The AI can be cheap at times, killing you as you turn a corner (ex, i opened a door which i was suppose to, was killed instantly by a Helgast with a shotgun... lame). Your teammates often stand around, but mostly if its just you and one other guy, when its several they do fine. But mostly they dont seem to help too much. And they story could have been a little more in depth, but its at least solid. Cover system works well, multiplayer is too. up to 32 players with no lag is amazing. This is a very well done game, has some minor issues (as does every game mind you), but shouldn't deter anyone from getting it. Expand
  88. EdC
    Mar 3, 2009
    10
    This is one of the best FPS ever yes its true that the story is not the best..but lets face it..there is not a big amount of fps with good story, and the only good ones are half life, Fear and halo...all the others are just WWII stories that anyone can hear while watching the History Channel if u are reading remember...all those reviewers who give the game a 70...they dont know shit about This is one of the best FPS ever yes its true that the story is not the best..but lets face it..there is not a big amount of fps with good story, and the only good ones are half life, Fear and halo...all the others are just WWII stories that anyone can hear while watching the History Channel if u are reading remember...all those reviewers who give the game a 70...they dont know shit about videogames...Edge magazine always give bad scores to incredible games..and come on...teletext gamecentral ?? what the fuck is that? Any way go buy the game..maybe the single player campaing is kinda boring but the multiplayer is incredible, with so much variation between clases and abilities that no other game have...u just cant miss it if u r a PS3 owner. Expand
  89. ColinM.
    Mar 4, 2009
    9
    Presentation: 9.8/10 The atmosphere in this game is without a doubt the most intense and chaotic of any FPS ever made. Your heart will never stop pounding from the insane action. The only reason I'm not giving it a 10 is because of the cheesy dialogue and useless swearing. Graphics: 10/10 This is unquestionably the most beautiful console game ever made. The technical AND artistic Presentation: 9.8/10 The atmosphere in this game is without a doubt the most intense and chaotic of any FPS ever made. Your heart will never stop pounding from the insane action. The only reason I'm not giving it a 10 is because of the cheesy dialogue and useless swearing. Graphics: 10/10 This is unquestionably the most beautiful console game ever made. The technical AND artistic direction is beautiful. Only MGS4 and Gears 2 come close to its graphics. Sound: 9.4 The background music and yelling of your teammates makes the game all the more intense. Again, its the cheesy dialogue that's holding this category back. Gameplay: 9.8 The campaign mode is so intense and fun. The AI is outstanding, extremely intelligent. The graphics are jaw-dropping. The weapons are fun to shoot and well designed. My only complaint is that the controls are a bit too slow and unresponsive. Especially with the vehicles. Lasting Appeal: 9.6 While the campaign does offer a bit of fun to play through, its the multiplayer that will keep you hooked. Extremely fun and hectic, it's one of the best Multiplayer's out there. Overall: 9.6/10 This game is really brilliant and fun. It's one of the reasons to buy a PS3, alongside MGS4 and LBP. It's the third best game on the PS3, behind LittleBigPlanet and MGS4. But it's still extremely fun and awesome. Expand
  90. PSNNynja
    Mar 5, 2009
    10
    Did the graphics meet the bar set by the E3 trailer from 2005? Absolutely. Is it a solid FPS? Oh yeah. Is the game innovative? In my opinion, Yes. Did it live up to the hype? Try it yourself and you tell me. Let me get to the one gripe of the game first, the Controls: I was not entirely pleased until I found out the problems most people have are caused by a Display setting on their PS3s. Did the graphics meet the bar set by the E3 trailer from 2005? Absolutely. Is it a solid FPS? Oh yeah. Is the game innovative? In my opinion, Yes. Did it live up to the hype? Try it yourself and you tell me. Let me get to the one gripe of the game first, the Controls: I was not entirely pleased until I found out the problems most people have are caused by a Display setting on their PS3s. The controls are fine, work great. It was the complaint about latency (lag) when trying to aim or move. Cross Color Filter Reduction is causing havoc for many gamers. Turn this off and BAM! Problem solved, controls feel more responsive. Graphics: Best in class. Best of the Best. At first, they didn't seem to be that great. In some ways I felt Gears of War 2 and Metal Gear Solid 4 looked better. Until I moved past the first 2 levels. Once you get to the 3rd stage, wow. Unbelievable. Everything really begins to pick up and you are in for an outstanding visual treat. It is truly a stunning game that will amaze anyone with the high level of detail and thumping crisp sound. Oh the sound. It's an overload of the senses. Innovation: Many people say the game did not innovate. I would happily challenge anyone to debate on this topic. Sure many things included are standard FPS features. Level styles, turret and vehicle segments, cover system, destructible environment, online class system, and proximity chat. Yet, not many games have been able include all of this within one title. Actually, I can only think of one game that has done all of these in one installment; Killzone 2. The developers made the cover system work well for the first time in an FPS while remaining in First Person View. F.E.A.R. dabbled at it, but it felt tacked on and weak. Rainbow Six Vegas has a working version, but changes to 3rd person to make it effective. There is far more destructible environments than I initially expected which really adds to the immersion of a great title. Story: Not Oscar winning dialog or story. No. People complain about the fowl language used in the game. To those people who complain about it; How many military branches do you know of where, when they are at war and are in the heat of battle talk like a college professor? If I'm being shot at while on the battlefield of a war, you better be %$#-@#$% #*$^&@#! right I am going to get fowl mouthed. Its your typical macho men war style talk. What do you expect? Dialog found in Driving Miss Daisy? I hope not. Multiplayer: Community. Deep. Addictive. Fast. Chaotic. Everything you want in an online shooter. Class system with customizable options (similar to FFXI sub-jobs) really flesh out the online space and turn it into an FPS/RPG. Leveling up hasn't felt so rewarding since Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. With so many classes, weapons, badges, ribbons, and trophies to unlock. There is plenty there to keep everyone busy for many many months (or years) to come. Complete with leaderboards, stat tracking, Clan system, Join friend/clan options. Doesn't get much better than this. Co-op: Minimal co-op options, but with the option to have online bots what's so different from this and Gears' Horde mode? Sure a co-op story would have been nice, but I am happy the team behind Killzone 2 remained focus on creating one of the best multiplayer experiences on any platform. Besides, I hear the developers are looking into expanding co-op functionality via DLC! Gameplay 9.8 Graphics 10 Sound 10 Presentation 10 Story 9.0 ------------ Overall 9.75 Expand
  91. FacundoA
    Mar 5, 2009
    10
    This game is more like a 9.5 for me. Graphically and technically, it is handsdown the best FPS ever. Unless you know the mythology of the game, there will not be much of a story in it for you. But, I also don't think there is much of a story to COD4, Halo or some of the other shooters out there that are considered "the best". This is an unfair knock at KZ2. The campaign is intense, This game is more like a 9.5 for me. Graphically and technically, it is handsdown the best FPS ever. Unless you know the mythology of the game, there will not be much of a story in it for you. But, I also don't think there is much of a story to COD4, Halo or some of the other shooters out there that are considered "the best". This is an unfair knock at KZ2. The campaign is intense, tout, and can be challenging, given the amazing AI that the Helghast display. Just like other great FPSs, the multi-player is where this game shines. The on-line experience is even more amazing that the campaign, because of the game types, the weapons, the leveling-up, and the map design. All of this made even more incredible by the fact that the visuals are just as stunning and immersive as in the campaign mode. Nothing like this has been achieved previously. The default controls can take some getting used to, but they can be changed for those who need it. The realistic physics and "heavyness" of the character movement are a plus for me, as these have struck me as caroony and unrealistc in some of the best FPS -- yes, I mean COD4. This game will be bested, but it is going to take some time. Regardless of your current console persuasion. It would be a shame to miss playing this game. If for some reason you still don't have a PS#, go buy one if you can afford it. Expand
  92. Geoguzman
    Mar 5, 2009
    10
    this game has 2 b the best 1st person shooter EVER. I brought some friends over to my house 2 play Killzone 2, ( mind u, these friends love Gears Of War 2 ), & they fell in love w| Killzone 2. It is definetedly better than Gears, & anythin else the 360 has to offer (which is all 1st person shooters) I can`t wait till Killzone 3!
  93. JohnDoelor
    Mar 6, 2009
    1
    I give this game credit for looking sharp, but it relies too heavily on delivering a multiplayer experience that the whole single player campaign was just thrown together. Multiplayer is a big component of first person shooters; but when the single player doesn't deliver (or when there are other games that do multiplayer much better), you realize that this game is not worth theI give this game credit for looking sharp, but it relies too heavily on delivering a multiplayer experience that the whole single player campaign was just thrown together. Multiplayer is a big component of first person shooters; but when the single player doesn't deliver (or when there are other games that do multiplayer much better), you realize that this game is not worth the purchase (or the hype). Expand
  94. NJackson
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    The new standard for FPS games. The way the game looks, feels and sounds is all top notch. In so many ways KZ2 is the same as most great FPS games. What KZ2 does is takes the formula and makes it better. Mulitplayer same as most FPS games but done better, Graphics are better, sounds are better, gameplay better. Basically KZ2 is a highly polished game and I love it. KZ2 has made the FPS The new standard for FPS games. The way the game looks, feels and sounds is all top notch. In so many ways KZ2 is the same as most great FPS games. What KZ2 does is takes the formula and makes it better. Mulitplayer same as most FPS games but done better, Graphics are better, sounds are better, gameplay better. Basically KZ2 is a highly polished game and I love it. KZ2 has made the FPS genre exciting again. Expand
  95. DaveP
    Mar 8, 2009
    9
    Story is good not great but the graphics are stunning. I couldn't believe the shadows. The first time I saw my shadow moving along with me I unloaded on it before realizing. Also multiplayer graphics are still outstanding. Unlike COD where you see a slight decline in graphics to multiplayer. The longer I play it the more I like it.
  96. craigsmith
    Mar 9, 2009
    10
    This game plays like a dream and looks fantastic, I have read that some people have had problems with the controls, I have had no such problems, only one sore point, Helghast all have british accents and the hero's all American, movie cliche or what? To sum up, best fps ever.
  97. Anthonyg
    Apr 14, 2009
    5
    Very dissapointed. Why is this game so highly rated? At best its average shooter. This game is no different than any other run of the mill shooter that has come out. The controls are horrible. The weapons are what really makes this game suck. They just fill wrong and boring. Sony, quit trying to make shooters its just not you. The graphics don't look that special "hey look a cool Very dissapointed. Why is this game so highly rated? At best its average shooter. This game is no different than any other run of the mill shooter that has come out. The controls are horrible. The weapons are what really makes this game suck. They just fill wrong and boring. Sony, quit trying to make shooters its just not you. The graphics don't look that special "hey look a cool crate!" RE5 graphics put these to shame. Expand
  98. AlexC
    Apr 24, 2009
    10
    One of the best shooters on the PS3 console today. The controls are solid and the graphics are amazing. You'd have to be a pretty poor gamer to not understand these controls! It took me two minutes to understand the control scheme. I've played alot of next gen shooters, COD4, Halo 3, Gears Of War Series, COD5, Team Fortress, Resistance Series and the list goes on. I'm not a One of the best shooters on the PS3 console today. The controls are solid and the graphics are amazing. You'd have to be a pretty poor gamer to not understand these controls! It took me two minutes to understand the control scheme. I've played alot of next gen shooters, COD4, Halo 3, Gears Of War Series, COD5, Team Fortress, Resistance Series and the list goes on. I'm not a fanboy for any systems, i like them all in there own unique ways and each game shines in it own right, but i'd have to say the set up of killzone multiplayer and the graphics are what makes this game shine a little bit bighter than the rest. Yes Killzone 2 is hard, but its not any harder than any other game on max difficulty. Jeesh a company reinvents the typical A.I. to more than just running out in the open and dying to an A.I. that dodges grenandes, flanks your position and isnt afraid to rush. Killzone 2 draws a line between casual gamers and hardcore gamers, you beat this game on expert, every shooter after it will be a cake walk. This game is a masterpiece and it sets the bar for shooters in the years to come, and like Vinny B said, if you can't figure out the controls or don't like the aiming, stick to COD4, Killzone 2 is out of your league. Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 94 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 94
  2. Negative: 0 out of 94
  1. It's true that Killzone 2 is filled with moments that can handily be described as inspiring awe. Each scene is incredibly well detailed, from the gaps in jerry-rigged cover points letting you sneak in a killing headshot to scarred and scratched textures, the planet feels entirely believable... Without a doubt Killzone fans, action and shooter fans of any stripe will instantly tag this sequel as a powerful contender for best game of 2009. [Feb 2009, p.38]
  2. Killzone 2’s secret ingredient is the fluidity in gameplay that we have come to enjoy more than its graphical prowess or jaw-dropping visuals. And that’s what games have always been about... We're surprised to see Killzone 2 blows our expectations out of the water with a memorable SP campaign and a stellar MP component. To put it short, this game makes "Gears of War 2" look like a high school attempt at gaming and that is a HUGE compliment!
  3. Visually it's so far ahead of anything else out there it shatters your expectations...This is a PS3 showing what it's truly capable of and delivering a landmark piece of explosive entertainment you can't afford to miss. [Feb 2009, p.88]