Killzone 2 PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Feb 27, 2009
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1486 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 27, 2011
    7
    My first time playing a game in the Killzone series, and in my opinion it seems like the PlayStation 3's parody/rip-off of the Xbox 360's Gears of War series, from the focus strictly on action rather then plot, to the annoying overuse of the F word, the graphics are phenomenal managing to be better looking then a lot of games that come out now with only light areas showing age (I'm lookingMy first time playing a game in the Killzone series, and in my opinion it seems like the PlayStation 3's parody/rip-off of the Xbox 360's Gears of War series, from the focus strictly on action rather then plot, to the annoying overuse of the F word, the graphics are phenomenal managing to be better looking then a lot of games that come out now with only light areas showing age (I'm looking at you flamethrower fire trail), and the soundtrack is great, as is the sound of explosions and gunfire, but voice acting is passable at best, you can get used to the controls but I wouldn't really call them good but instead decent, the campaign is pretty good but mediocre compared to some other shooters, and is hindered by a lack of plot and unlikable characters, but like I said it's still pretty good, multiplayer is where it shines, all the issues with controls fade away, it's a blast and addicting and the reason you should pick this up, but with Killzone 3 out the multiplayer is slowly coming to an end, so in the end it's got some issues but it's still a good shooter that you can still have fun with, but there are better options available. Expand
  2. May 27, 2012
    6
    Great graphics, but not much else.
  3. Nov 18, 2015
    7
    A tougher, more complex follow-up to a very popular Playstation exclusive game line. Animation, graphics have improved. Different controls make a little confusing if going right from the original "Killzone" to 2 but not bad. A fun, violent sci-fi combat game exclusive for the PS.
  4. Jan 8, 2011
    6
    thu game had alot of hype on it. i was really hoping for a better game. the story mode is ok bit the plot i couldnt atleast follow or care much about what was going on. the voice acting is pretty good the wepon selection is ok nothing really exciting for wepons. the fact that you get to carry only one main wepon and one pistol type sucked. the Ai enimy is pretty good and they will takethu game had alot of hype on it. i was really hoping for a better game. the story mode is ok bit the plot i couldnt atleast follow or care much about what was going on. the voice acting is pretty good the wepon selection is ok nothing really exciting for wepons. the fact that you get to carry only one main wepon and one pistol type sucked. the Ai enimy is pretty good and they will take cover and use tactics on you. the online starts off great when you play in the rookie rooms every thing feels pretty balanced and spawn camping is hard to do with the turrets ... although once you hit LT. status the online goes to hell . every game turns into a spawn campingfest . the games balance goes to hell as higher levels will just rocket you to death and are far more powerful then you. Expand
  5. Oct 22, 2012
    6
    Coming from well over a decade of FPS experience on PC, I found Killzone 2's controls to be horrible, the AI stupid and annoying and the environments (although nice to look at) just as stupid. Example: Being unable to shoot through cracks in rubble, grenades bounce off the most ridiculous parts of the scenery and your comrades constantly wander into your line of fire or stand behind youComing from well over a decade of FPS experience on PC, I found Killzone 2's controls to be horrible, the AI stupid and annoying and the environments (although nice to look at) just as stupid. Example: Being unable to shoot through cracks in rubble, grenades bounce off the most ridiculous parts of the scenery and your comrades constantly wander into your line of fire or stand behind you preventing you from taking cover. That said, for some reason I enjoyed it, though I did restart the game on its easiest difficulty due to my control pad handicap. There's realism (but little enjoyment) in the dark environments it's difficult to see who's shooting you or what you're supposed to be shooting at, however the game is well designed and looks great and kept me playing until I finished it, not sure whether that's down to OCD on my part though. Expand
  6. Dec 11, 2013
    7
    Good shooter. Like the world created here. Although there is nothing new or special about it. It looks good, it controls well. I don't like the grey worlds though, there should be more color in this game.
  7. Feb 25, 2015
    6
    Could have cared less about the story, I did not feel a connection to any of the characters. Some of the missions are very long and tedious. The shooting itself is fun though so I'm guessing that's what matters.
  8. Oct 24, 2012
    7
    When I first played this game at launch, I stuck the game in played for 20 mins, got sick of it and put it away for over a year. I then was bored one day so I figured I would try it out again. It took me awhile to get into it but I did and it wasn't that bad after all. The people saying that the graphics are the best......hmm no I don't think so. The game is ugly, it only uses a few colorsWhen I first played this game at launch, I stuck the game in played for 20 mins, got sick of it and put it away for over a year. I then was bored one day so I figured I would try it out again. It took me awhile to get into it but I did and it wasn't that bad after all. The people saying that the graphics are the best......hmm no I don't think so. The game is ugly, it only uses a few colors and it's actually very dull to me. The controls were dog crap when I first played this game, but they patched it and that is no longer an issue. The story is as generic as they come. There is nothing unique about this game and there are bigger and better games out there. The game however is quite fun when you get into it, but like I said, been there,done that. Atleast it's better than Call of Duty, I won't go into why Call of Duty sucks, but it does.. Once you finish Killzone 2 you may want to get the trophies, but the campaign has no replayabilty. Multiplayer is alright but nothing that will engage you for too long. But like I said earlier, it's still better than Call of Duty.. Expand
  9. Dec 11, 2011
    7
    This game is massively over hyped. This game may be a graphical milestone for the ps3, but the plot is nil. The mechanics are clunky and not very fun at all. Multiplayer is pretty much exactly what you have been playing since halo 2. Nothing new or interesting here, a lot of rehashed, poorly executed ideas.
  10. Oct 19, 2012
    7
    Not only is Killzone 2 one of the best ps3 exclusives, it is one of the BEST first-person shooters ever made. It is creative, has an amazing story and graphics, and is just a BLAST to play! This is a must-buy for Playstation 3 users.
  11. Oct 28, 2010
    5
    i dont think this game really lived up to its expectations the game play could of been better it meant it isn't the most enjoyable gaming experience. The story was decent enough i liked that wasn't perfect but good
  12. Apr 2, 2012
    6
    This game does have a certain charm to it. Its bleak, dystopian Helghan homeworld is well presented with realistic graphics and great sound. In the whole, you could say, genre of gun-metal grey shooters, Killzone 2 stands out as particularly compelling. It's just too bad this thing is a mess to play. The controls feel like you are constantly moving through mud, and for a first-personThis game does have a certain charm to it. Its bleak, dystopian Helghan homeworld is well presented with realistic graphics and great sound. In the whole, you could say, genre of gun-metal grey shooters, Killzone 2 stands out as particularly compelling. It's just too bad this thing is a mess to play. The controls feel like you are constantly moving through mud, and for a first-person shooter this is a very big problem. The thing is just frustrating to play and kills feel more like strokes of luck than anything else. Too bad, this could have been great. Expand
  13. Oct 29, 2010
    5
    This is a great game on paper, I mean it looks stunning. Unfortunately the gameplay is really sluggish and the controls have been ruined. They removed all secondary fire from the original, which means the weapon designs no longer make sense (one assault rifle still has the grenade launcher from the first game, but it is now inexplicably useless).

    Also, the cover system is terrible,
    This is a great game on paper, I mean it looks stunning. Unfortunately the gameplay is really sluggish and the controls have been ruined. They removed all secondary fire from the original, which means the weapon designs no longer make sense (one assault rifle still has the grenade launcher from the first game, but it is now inexplicably useless).

    Also, the cover system is terrible, totally unecessary in game like this- I can see what they tried to do, but it ends up being very awkward an unsatisfying trying to lean, scope and aim all at the same time... Beautiful game, disappointing gameplay. Hopefully Killzone 3 will address these issues.
    Expand
  14. Nov 9, 2011
    7
    I've always thought that graphics shouldn't define a gaming experience, however, with a title like Killzone 2 it's not hard to be persuaded for glitz over gameplay. Killzone 2 is one of those titles where the graphics and effects have a direct influence on the overall experience. The level of detail is absolutely amazing and when combined with the fairly competent shooting style and levelI've always thought that graphics shouldn't define a gaming experience, however, with a title like Killzone 2 it's not hard to be persuaded for glitz over gameplay. Killzone 2 is one of those titles where the graphics and effects have a direct influence on the overall experience. The level of detail is absolutely amazing and when combined with the fairly competent shooting style and level design, it ends up being a thoroughly engaging and downright intense experience. Futuristic shooting has never been done so well and it's worth a play if only to ogle over the incredible visuals even if the story itself does sometimes reduce itself to laughable cliches and stock characters. Expand
  15. Jul 19, 2014
    7
    the 7 goes only for the single player, Im not into online play, so I dont know how it performs in multiplayer. What I do know is, that while the controls ,characters, voice acting, graphics and almost anything is great in this game one thing bothered me : the level design id awfully repetitive and boring, with the same colorsheme trough-out the entire game. The levels didnt seemed to end,the 7 goes only for the single player, Im not into online play, so I dont know how it performs in multiplayer. What I do know is, that while the controls ,characters, voice acting, graphics and almost anything is great in this game one thing bothered me : the level design id awfully repetitive and boring, with the same colorsheme trough-out the entire game. The levels didnt seemed to end, they just kind of extend. only once in a while comes a breath of fresh air, when you get to drive a vechicle. but other than that, the game is really monotone after a while. Expand
  16. Dec 28, 2011
    7
    Killzone 2 is pretty good and now have a very cheap price, its must have for every user PS3. Graphic is good and available to use a 1080p - but still worser than KZ3. Campaign i'ts ok, with very good history. I found for me one negative is booring.
    SinglePlayer - Yes. / Multiplayer - No.
    Finally score: 7
  17. Dec 27, 2011
    7
    -Excellent tech (animation, AI, renderer) and visual elements (textures, models). Music: excellent. Sound: some good & bad. Story: mediocre. Gameplay: somewhat bland and repetitive (there are some good sequences though). Difficulty: some very frustrating sequences in the latter half (even on "easy"). Your weapons are underpowered. The controls feel sluggish (probably due to perceptible-Excellent tech (animation, AI, renderer) and visual elements (textures, models). Music: excellent. Sound: some good & bad. Story: mediocre. Gameplay: somewhat bland and repetitive (there are some good sequences though). Difficulty: some very frustrating sequences in the latter half (even on "easy"). Your weapons are underpowered. The controls feel sluggish (probably due to perceptible input latency) and the cover system works but is too clunky. My campaign clocked at just under 8 hours. Includes multiplayer offline bots which is a bonus. Multiplayer: not played. I finished it only to see all the visuals--they are that good. This could have been a great single-player game with some needed changes. For its 2011 price, I'd call it a good value. Expand
  18. Jul 14, 2015
    7
    The game is interesting, but more suitable for hardcore fans of shooters. The game is somewhat similar to Quake 2 in style. In my opinion, the game has some serious flaws: not a good storyline, bad settings of aiming, too hardcore walkthrough. Sometimes you just cant pass the level. The final battle with Radek became the talk of the town.
  19. Nov 26, 2010
    5
    This game is not very good at all, and is generic as hell. I'm not even a Halo fan but any of those games are far better than this for an FPS, not even to mention Battlefield, Call of Duty, Team Fortress, Metroid, Half-Life, etc... There is absolutely nothing redeeming about this game. The story/characters SUCK, and there is far better multiplayer experiences out there, and the controlsThis game is not very good at all, and is generic as hell. I'm not even a Halo fan but any of those games are far better than this for an FPS, not even to mention Battlefield, Call of Duty, Team Fortress, Metroid, Half-Life, etc... There is absolutely nothing redeeming about this game. The story/characters SUCK, and there is far better multiplayer experiences out there, and the controls are AWFULLL. Expand
  20. Oct 19, 2013
    5
    I came late to the party on this game. I'll admit I did enjoy it a little bit. The graphics are cool, gameplay is solid even though the controls are a bit clunky.

    I got about half-way through and just ended up bored so I never finished it. To me it's just an average FPS, nothing special about it. There seemed to be more focus on the graphics than fun game play.
  21. Oct 12, 2010
    7
    While Killzone 2 is by no means a bad game, boasting a great online system, excellent visuals, and high-action single-player levels, it is by no means revolutionary to its genre. The controls aren't very fluid and will often leave one frustrated, the single-player story features a done-to-death Space Marine theme, and the characters are boring and hard to grow on (not to mention that theWhile Killzone 2 is by no means a bad game, boasting a great online system, excellent visuals, and high-action single-player levels, it is by no means revolutionary to its genre. The controls aren't very fluid and will often leave one frustrated, the single-player story features a done-to-death Space Marine theme, and the characters are boring and hard to grow on (not to mention that the acting is decent at best). Killzone 2 is a good game, but it isn't a must-have title, as Sony would have you believe. Pick it up if you're a fan of shooters, but don't expect too much from it. Expand
  22. Nov 5, 2013
    6
    I can't believe this game has earned such high rankings. The story is a catastrophe and the campaign is boring. I give a six because the multiplayer is better.
  23. Feb 14, 2016
    5
    This is my first game review... I'm playing KZ2 while my PS4 downloads an update for another game. This game is okay, but I'm not fond of the controls. X/Y sensitivity is sluggish, you cannot turn quickly while sprinting... and I prefer using O to crouch, but that's not an option in this game. The cover system is terrible, as is attempting to melee an enemy. Grenades are slow to toss, theThis is my first game review... I'm playing KZ2 while my PS4 downloads an update for another game. This game is okay, but I'm not fond of the controls. X/Y sensitivity is sluggish, you cannot turn quickly while sprinting... and I prefer using O to crouch, but that's not an option in this game. The cover system is terrible, as is attempting to melee an enemy. Grenades are slow to toss, the pistol is slow to fire. Only being able to carry 1 heavy weapon kinda sucks. Story-wise, I haven't been paying it much attention, I wouldn't call it captivating. Graphics were great. Enemies all sound the same. NPC allies are generally useless. I haven't beaten it yet, actually haven't played it in quite some time, as other games had captured my attention. I'd call it a disappointingly average game, so I'll give it a score that reflects my opinion. 5/10. Expand
  24. Mar 10, 2012
    7
    the only standout feature in K2 is the beautiful graphics and atmosphere. other than that the story is meh and the controls are hard to get used to through the whole game.
  25. Oct 21, 2014
    6
    One of the first if not the first game for PS3. In the beginning of the "new generation" this was the first FPS and the hype was very high. Sadly we were and we are disappointed. The graphic is not so good and there are a lot of "loading" moment, where the screen freeze for a couple of second. They are in some strategic point, so there is no real problem during combat, but they are stillOne of the first if not the first game for PS3. In the beginning of the "new generation" this was the first FPS and the hype was very high. Sadly we were and we are disappointed. The graphic is not so good and there are a lot of "loading" moment, where the screen freeze for a couple of second. They are in some strategic point, so there is no real problem during combat, but they are still annoying. Also you can see a many freeze (for less than a second). The music and the sound effects are also poor. The plot is very thin and there are too many things left out, nothing is explained about the first episode just some hints...
    And the end game? Ahhh... It's better not to speak about it!
    Expand
  26. Feb 19, 2011
    7
    killzone 2 is a good game but there is some room for improvement. You can see the designers put a lot of effort into the enemies movement and AI, but they sometimes go overboard when the helghast die, some even jumping and doing a full 360 degree spin. the graphics are good but not the best I've seen in a PS3 game. the allies are very judging, miss one shot and they start saying stuff likekillzone 2 is a good game but there is some room for improvement. You can see the designers put a lot of effort into the enemies movement and AI, but they sometimes go overboard when the helghast die, some even jumping and doing a full 360 degree spin. the graphics are good but not the best I've seen in a PS3 game. the allies are very judging, miss one shot and they start saying stuff like "C'mon, start shooting them, why do i have to kill them all?" the storyline is a major downfall, they don't explain the war with the helghast enough for people who haven't played the first killzone. good game but could still be a lot better Expand
  27. SebastienM.
    Apr 6, 2009
    6
    Graphics are the best ever and presentation is top notch, but main campaign is over in 6 hours. it was nice, but nothing really special, very cliched. The controls are sluggish and the multiplayer gets boring after a couple of days when you unlock everything. Only 8 maps and everybody are using the same tactics: spawn, enter a room, throw a missile and a grenade, kill 2-3 enemies, get Graphics are the best ever and presentation is top notch, but main campaign is over in 6 hours. it was nice, but nothing really special, very cliched. The controls are sluggish and the multiplayer gets boring after a couple of days when you unlock everything. Only 8 maps and everybody are using the same tactics: spawn, enter a room, throw a missile and a grenade, kill 2-3 enemies, get killed and repeat. Rent before you buy, I traded my copy after 3 weeks. Last game that I will buy based on hype alone. Expand
  28. KayN
    Mar 5, 2009
    6
    I liked Killzone 2 at first, but my initial feelings for it didn't last. The graphics are unquestionably up there with the likes of MGS4. No question, these graphics are mindblowing. Possibly better than Gears 2, but I need to see both games next to eachother to be sure. The gameplay is something you would expect from a shooter with as much hype as KZ2 got. It's intense. I liked Killzone 2 at first, but my initial feelings for it didn't last. The graphics are unquestionably up there with the likes of MGS4. No question, these graphics are mindblowing. Possibly better than Gears 2, but I need to see both games next to eachother to be sure. The gameplay is something you would expect from a shooter with as much hype as KZ2 got. It's intense. However, even with all of these good points I still can't help but be disappointed. The story is crap and the characters are worse. Most of the time you wont even care about what they are saying. The fact that only a fraction of people playing KZ2 would have played KZ1 (which was really awful) makes the story even more meaningless. The final boss is actually harder than the whole of single player, which I hate. The controls are shaky and a bit delayed at times, the aiming is inconsistent which will then become frustrating, it hampers the experience. You can get used to the controls with time but they need to be fixed. Multiplayer is pretty good but there aren't many levels to play in. Not to say that the levels are bad, but there are only 8 maps. The multiplayer can be a joyful experience, but again the controls sometimes ruin it, on FPS's I usually play on the highest sensitivity but with KZ2 the higher you increase the sensitivity the worse it gets. Overrated, but not as bad as some games have been. Now, is this game better than Call of Duty WaW and Halo? Maybe. Is it better than Call of Duty 4? No. Expand
  29. AndrewLittle
    Sep 4, 2009
    5
    My god, i got a ps3 for this game and then look at it, im not a fanboy of any console but after that let down.... 360 is better this gen... Multiplayer is ok. A bit laggy.. Story is short ( good work there blu ray ) and the glitches are unbelievable, nearly as bad as Gears 2 ! I mean, come on, this game is way too over rated !
  30. DarkWing
    Sep 7, 2009
    6
    Killzone 2 certainly has it's moments,but i expected a lot more of a polished title for game that has been in the making for quite sometime,although the multiplayer does make up for the weak campaign it can give you the mix feeling of should i have bough or rented this title?
  31. PowerS
    Jan 24, 2010
    7
    This game is one of the more uninspiring shooters I've played. I own both XBOX 360 and PS3, so I have played most all action and shooter genre games. I played this after Halo 3, Gears of War 1 & 2, and of course the COD Modern Warfare. The initial cut scenes have some great graphics, but the overall game play is pretty lame. Extremely linear... I played through about half the This game is one of the more uninspiring shooters I've played. I own both XBOX 360 and PS3, so I have played most all action and shooter genre games. I played this after Halo 3, Gears of War 1 & 2, and of course the COD Modern Warfare. The initial cut scenes have some great graphics, but the overall game play is pretty lame. Extremely linear... I played through about half the chapters then realized there wasn't much here to see. Aside from a very lame tank scene it was extremely repetitive, on par with some of the earlier Call of Duty series (COD 3). Expand
  32. sdogjdog
    Nov 9, 2009
    5
    This game was one of the most anticipated games of 2009.*negative buzzer*.It isn't that good.Yeah the graphics are amazing.Yeah the animations are awesome.But gameplay?It is heavy,clunky and it is what makes the game unplayable.It is so bad you can't have fun.Now about the online.It sucks too.Bad spawning system.Evey enemy needs like 20 pounds of bullets to die.It sucks in This game was one of the most anticipated games of 2009.*negative buzzer*.It isn't that good.Yeah the graphics are amazing.Yeah the animations are awesome.But gameplay?It is heavy,clunky and it is what makes the game unplayable.It is so bad you can't have fun.Now about the online.It sucks too.Bad spawning system.Evey enemy needs like 20 pounds of bullets to die.It sucks in general.Oh lets not forget the boring story.Just two armies fighting for some random reason.And in the end you find out there is no point in fighting!!!5 just because of the graphics. Expand
  33. PaulB
    Dec 19, 2009
    5
    After playing many other FPS's I come away from this game with mixed feelings. The graphics are stunning for sure, but this is like putting shinny new rims on a Chevy Celebrity. The controls are terrible. The fire fights in multiplayer are based off of luck due to the fact that the aiming is sub par. I cannot stress enough that the controls are so bad, that playing Call of Duty (any After playing many other FPS's I come away from this game with mixed feelings. The graphics are stunning for sure, but this is like putting shinny new rims on a Chevy Celebrity. The controls are terrible. The fire fights in multiplayer are based off of luck due to the fact that the aiming is sub par. I cannot stress enough that the controls are so bad, that playing Call of Duty (any of them) after playing this, I felt super human. I gave the game a 5 based off of the fact that the concept and graphics are great. If they got the controls down better in this game, it would have been a 10 for sure. You would have to wonder if any of the developers ever played an FPS prior to making this game. Expand
  34. BrandonF
    Mar 13, 2009
    6
    I would have given this game a higher score, but in real life when you steal ideas, or use old ones, you're not usually given a pat on the back. This game takes old ideas removes good controls that came with those ideas and supplants them onto new graphics. It's a decent game, but nothing to run home about, and definitely not worth buying a console for if you don't already I would have given this game a higher score, but in real life when you steal ideas, or use old ones, you're not usually given a pat on the back. This game takes old ideas removes good controls that came with those ideas and supplants them onto new graphics. It's a decent game, but nothing to run home about, and definitely not worth buying a console for if you don't already own the PS3. Sony's going to have to keep looking for a console selling game, this isn't it. All these glowing reviews will be forgotten when the next "GREAT" game comes out. Killzone 2 will not have a life in memory. We'll be waiting for an FPS to match HL2 (ORIGINAL STORY) for a longggggg time. Expand
  35. Gav
    Mar 1, 2009
    5
    Wow - what an epic shame. This game was a fun - if rather repetitive & unimaginative - shooter, right up until the last boss. I always hate it when you sail through a game, then crash into a point where you get totally stuck - and for me that point in Killzone 2 has been the final boss battle. I've spent two thoroughly angering 1/2 hour sessions trying to beat him, and can't Wow - what an epic shame. This game was a fun - if rather repetitive & unimaginative - shooter, right up until the last boss. I always hate it when you sail through a game, then crash into a point where you get totally stuck - and for me that point in Killzone 2 has been the final boss battle. I've spent two thoroughly angering 1/2 hour sessions trying to beat him, and can't even tell if I've hurt him at all. I can only presume that whatever I'm doing (shooting him with bullets) is pointlessly wrong. This has actually retrospecively ruined the whole game for me, which would have otherwise got 8 from me - as it is, I really wish I hadn't bought it. Well done Havok / Sony / whoever - that's quite an accomplishment! Expand
  36. OC
    Mar 14, 2009
    6
    For the sheer visceral thrill this game bestows on it's player Killzone2 deserves great admiration. Wonderful graphics, physics and atmosphere lend Killzone it's talking points, which will no doubt be discussed for some time. However this is all people will be talking about; unfortunatly the game suffers from terrible Deja Vu. You have been here before, and you most certainly For the sheer visceral thrill this game bestows on it's player Killzone2 deserves great admiration. Wonderful graphics, physics and atmosphere lend Killzone it's talking points, which will no doubt be discussed for some time. However this is all people will be talking about; unfortunatly the game suffers from terrible Deja Vu. You have been here before, and you most certainly have done that. Space Marine games, lets face it are more saturated more than a large slab of lard and whilst the game attempts to lend some sort of emotional resonance it fails miserably at enrapturing it's audience; with more than just big arms and big guns needed to liven up this party. If Killzone had made me feel as though I was part of an actual conflict I may have felt differently. As it is, Killzone2 represents the cheerleader of games: Pretty to look at but hardly worth waiting for the personality. Expand
  37. RobS.
    Mar 2, 2009
    7
    For all the hype generated for this game, I was fairly disappointed in the game's controls which feel spongy. The controls are not as sharp as you'd expect from a top rated FPS. And why do games insist on "reinventing" control layouts. Why not stick to one layout for all FPSs (COD being familiar to most gamers) I purchased 50 Cent : Blood on the Sand the same day and have For all the hype generated for this game, I was fairly disappointed in the game's controls which feel spongy. The controls are not as sharp as you'd expect from a top rated FPS. And why do games insist on "reinventing" control layouts. Why not stick to one layout for all FPSs (COD being familiar to most gamers) I purchased 50 Cent : Blood on the Sand the same day and have completed 50 Cent twice already while only finishing 3 levels in Killzone so far. Expand
  38. tb
    Mar 5, 2009
    5
    AWFUl controls completely ruin the game. even aiming or throwing a grenade is hard and tedious. it has the most over rated graphics I've ever seen. everything is so plain and boring looking and lacks the art direction of Gears 2. the enemies are incredibly repetitive too. the story doesn't make sense and the characters suck. on the plus side there's a lot of weapons and itAWFUl controls completely ruin the game. even aiming or throwing a grenade is hard and tedious. it has the most over rated graphics I've ever seen. everything is so plain and boring looking and lacks the art direction of Gears 2. the enemies are incredibly repetitive too. the story doesn't make sense and the characters suck. on the plus side there's a lot of weapons and it has awesome music. Expand
  39. ChrisR
    Mar 5, 2009
    7
    Does not live up to the hype! I was really, really looking forward to this game. The graphics are good and that's about all that stands out. Very slow aiming re-action time, 2 second pauses in gameplay every time the game loads, hardly any variation in the enemies and quite a dull story line. I have played for a few hours and not sure I can be bothered to finish the game off. Might Does not live up to the hype! I was really, really looking forward to this game. The graphics are good and that's about all that stands out. Very slow aiming re-action time, 2 second pauses in gameplay every time the game loads, hardly any variation in the enemies and quite a dull story line. I have played for a few hours and not sure I can be bothered to finish the game off. Might just trade it for RE4 or go back to playing COD4! Expand
  40. joeb
    Feb 27, 2009
    6
    Played this for quite a few hours now and still struglling to see why soo many seem to love it. graphics are technically impressive but looks worrying like a tech demo for a new graphics card. imo graphical effects are over used making this look anything but realistic in the face of games like cod4/5. Add to that the short lived and terribly written campaign all this positve feedback has Played this for quite a few hours now and still struglling to see why soo many seem to love it. graphics are technically impressive but looks worrying like a tech demo for a new graphics card. imo graphical effects are over used making this look anything but realistic in the face of games like cod4/5. Add to that the short lived and terribly written campaign all this positve feedback has me worried sony had been making bots again. Expand
  41. SeanC
    Feb 28, 2009
    7
    This game should have been a 9 or a 10, but they made one HUGE mistake. The player movement is pathetic. it's like I am playing in a bowl of sand. Straight maddening. Also you can't scope in close.
  42. LukeM
    Mar 1, 2009
    6
    First thing, my overall comment on the game is that its an average shooter, not a excellent one, not a bad one. A average one (my score would have been 6.5 if i was able to put half points) I have played both the multi and the SP , the multi only has 1 new thing on it (the switching of game types as the map plays is a good idea) , other than that, its not much more than other shooters out First thing, my overall comment on the game is that its an average shooter, not a excellent one, not a bad one. A average one (my score would have been 6.5 if i was able to put half points) I have played both the multi and the SP , the multi only has 1 new thing on it (the switching of game types as the map plays is a good idea) , other than that, its not much more than other shooters out there at the moment. Yes it has classes, as unlockables, but that is a bad idea for the future of the game. In a months time any newcomers are going to have a hell of a time due to eveyrone else having bonuses and better equipment. Single player wise 3 missions in and i didn't know why i was invading this planet, i was told that these people are bad, that they invaded somewhere else, but why are they bad enough for the player to become like them by invading them, am i the bad guy? There is no explaination and i had to read the manual to understand why i was on the planet, that is bad storytelling. Also the description given to us by sony should not be the entire plot of the game, if it can be summed up that easily then theres something wrong! Gunplay is ok, again average, only being able to hold 2 guns makes it more realistic but if you do that, do not make the player pick up a rocket launcher just to open up a gate or something then have to swap back, its annoying.Other than that guns pretty generic (see the pattern here!) the gun with a dot scope, the single shot accurate gun etc, the cover system works quite well in single player, dunno why it doesn;t seem to be in multi or it is and I just havn;t spotted it Yes it has tacked on motion controls, and I am yet to figure out why reviewers are ok with ps3 tacked on motion controls when wii tacked on motion controls make them foam at the mouth and drop the score by 2 points. All in all a average shooter, kudos to the developer they did a good job, but with other shooters out there they really needed to do something different! (oh also why not 1080p? how long before developers can get the true power of the machine out of it). Expand
  43. JoeL
    Mar 1, 2009
    7
    Very little was done very well in this game. The graphics are top-notch but they make up the least important part of enjoying a game (at least for myself). The gameplay felt sloppy (the cover system really wasn't a necessity and often left you more exposed than if you didn't use it), it didn't introduce anything new to the genre (at the best of times its still little more Very little was done very well in this game. The graphics are top-notch but they make up the least important part of enjoying a game (at least for myself). The gameplay felt sloppy (the cover system really wasn't a necessity and often left you more exposed than if you didn't use it), it didn't introduce anything new to the genre (at the best of times its still little more than a shooting gallery). The story feels tacked on, especially when compared to COD 4, I had no emotional investment in the characters and couldn't have cared less if they lived or died. The multiplayer seems pretty solid but it will be tough to truly judge it until most people have unlocked the badges. Not a bad a game, but it could have (and should have) been a lot more. Expand
  44. DanielWhatever
    Mar 17, 2009
    5
    This game looks nice, visual quality is fantastic. But we've seen this gameplay a thousand times and it just doesn't work on a console. First person shooters should be played on PC. Controls are completely handicapped and the story isn't very engaging (which is a must if one is to suffer through the retarded feeling of the joystick controls).
  45. MatthewM
    Mar 22, 2009
    6
    Good Graphics. That said, the single player campaign is monotonous and uninspired. The multiplayer is fun for a while, but the relative ease with which you kill your enemies leaves you wanting more after about an hour. The class system in multiplayer is useless because you get the best AR in the game right off the bat, and the game takes very little real skill to be good at. Look to Call Good Graphics. That said, the single player campaign is monotonous and uninspired. The multiplayer is fun for a while, but the relative ease with which you kill your enemies leaves you wanting more after about an hour. The class system in multiplayer is useless because you get the best AR in the game right off the bat, and the game takes very little real skill to be good at. Look to Call of Duty 4, Halo, and Fallout 3 if you want Superb Shooters. Expand
  46. Anthonyg
    Apr 14, 2009
    5
    Very dissapointed. Why is this game so highly rated? At best its average shooter. This game is no different than any other run of the mill shooter that has come out. The controls are horrible. The weapons are what really makes this game suck. They just fill wrong and boring. Sony, quit trying to make shooters its just not you. The graphics don't look that special "hey look a cool Very dissapointed. Why is this game so highly rated? At best its average shooter. This game is no different than any other run of the mill shooter that has come out. The controls are horrible. The weapons are what really makes this game suck. They just fill wrong and boring. Sony, quit trying to make shooters its just not you. The graphics don't look that special "hey look a cool crate!" RE5 graphics put these to shame. Expand
  47. JoshB
    May 14, 2009
    5
    killzone was a big disapointment. Yeah its looks good.. I had to turn the brightness of my Tv way up to appreaciate many elements of this though to compensate for the browns blacks and so on. No real story line.. guns were useless.. how many years in to the future and your still facing enemeys with a standard pistol ?!no secondary weapons?Whattt?!! and it was way too short!.. oh did I killzone was a big disapointment. Yeah its looks good.. I had to turn the brightness of my Tv way up to appreaciate many elements of this though to compensate for the browns blacks and so on. No real story line.. guns were useless.. how many years in to the future and your still facing enemeys with a standard pistol ?!no secondary weapons?Whattt?!! and it was way too short!.. oh did I mention the very linear aspect to gameplay too? ..developers have to stop relying on the multiplayer function to boost the game.. it should only ever be an additional part of the game not half of it as the the percentage complete rolled near 50 when I had completed the game suggests. 80% of games I play on my ps3 leave me with a warm glow after completing them.. be it through the story element.. pure funky amazing graphical content (bioshock, deadspace)etc etc Kilzone sadly fell in to the latter percentage.. it was just one bland environment after bland environment. fps have elvoved greatly in days gone past.. with tactical prowess a deep part of such as well as a hugh array of guns pickups etc.. killzone ..sadly lacks any such quaility and relied on its opening cinemanic to suck in a hugh proportion of unsuspecting gamers. Expand
  48. TomO
    May 15, 2009
    7
    Although the game was great in graphics and control, ultimately it was a short game. I accomplished the entire game in less then a few days of just casual play. Not to mention the online play is although somewhat interesting the maps are too large for what players are on it and you spend most the time running around trying to find an opponent. Definitely not worth the cost if you wish to Although the game was great in graphics and control, ultimately it was a short game. I accomplished the entire game in less then a few days of just casual play. Not to mention the online play is although somewhat interesting the maps are too large for what players are on it and you spend most the time running around trying to find an opponent. Definitely not worth the cost if you wish to get your moneys worth then wait till this baby is on sale. Expand
  49. MichaelF
    May 27, 2009
    7
    Graphics (10/10) - Some of the best I have ever seen in video game history. Sound (8/10) - Explosion's and some gun fire sound great. Too bad that's really it. Gameplay (6/10) - Apart from the sluggish controls which were implemented into the game for realism. This is incredibly bland in every aspect of a shooter. The cover system was really the only interesting thing to the Graphics (10/10) - Some of the best I have ever seen in video game history. Sound (8/10) - Explosion's and some gun fire sound great. Too bad that's really it. Gameplay (6/10) - Apart from the sluggish controls which were implemented into the game for realism. This is incredibly bland in every aspect of a shooter. The cover system was really the only interesting thing to the entire summary of it. Story (6/10) - ...There really wasn't a story to this. Just "We're invading their planet because they invaded us." Content (5/10) - 20 guns. 11 of which are in multiplayer. 8 maps (10 if you spend $6.99). 10 ranks which are almost pointless except for unlocking classes. 7 or 8 different specs to play as. A badge system where half of the badges are completely useless to get by the time you hit rank 10. And then a total of 5 game modes. This game has an EXTREME lack of content compared to many shooters out there. Final Verdict: This game is beautiful. Absolutely gorgeous. But that's it's saving grace. Every other aspect of this game is bland. Call of Duty killer? No. Halo killer? Not in the least bit. Maybe if this game had the extreme amount of content that most people expect from shooters, it would be up there. The weapons are nice, but they all fall under the same class. Firing the rifle is the exact same as firing the Helghast rifle. 2 Rocket launchers with different sights. 1 sniper rifle. etc. This game is a rental. Expand
  50. TonyP
    May 4, 2009
    6
    Visuals-9 very good with slight framerate problems at times Sound-7 Shut your mouth Garza Gameplay-3 in an FPS aim lag breaks games and because of it KZ2 is a huge let down. When i move the stick their should be NO DELAY. All and all PS3 fans were looking for a halo killer but this isnt it, unfortunately KZ2 is average and the real thing that keeps gamers coming back is the amazing and Visuals-9 very good with slight framerate problems at times Sound-7 Shut your mouth Garza Gameplay-3 in an FPS aim lag breaks games and because of it KZ2 is a huge let down. When i move the stick their should be NO DELAY. All and all PS3 fans were looking for a halo killer but this isnt it, unfortunately KZ2 is average and the real thing that keeps gamers coming back is the amazing and visceral gameplay, and with KZ2 broken aiming it will never rise above the likes of Half life, COD, or Halo. Sony will get it right one day I believe but not this time. Expand
  51. StuartL
    May 7, 2009
    7
    Visuals: 8/10 The post processing and particle effects are fantastic, and the lighting is just incredible. everything else though.......texture detail is horrible, character models are lacking, not enough variety as the same textures are reused all over the place in obvious places (the cracked walls being a big offender). Sound: 8/10 Excellent apart from the characters dialogue. Tried to Visuals: 8/10 The post processing and particle effects are fantastic, and the lighting is just incredible. everything else though.......texture detail is horrible, character models are lacking, not enough variety as the same textures are reused all over the place in obvious places (the cracked walls being a big offender). Sound: 8/10 Excellent apart from the characters dialogue. Tried to make it too macho, just comes across as painful. Gameplay: 6/10 The input lag just absolutely kills any hope this game had at being the 'halo killer' everyone wanted it to be. Deny it all you want, but there IS input lag and its NOT a design decision. At a guess I'd say that the PS3 simply cannot handle all that is going on while maintaining instant input response - think of it like playing Crysis on a PC on High settings, when your PC is only really capable of playing it on Medium. Also the campaign is far too short, especially for a game thats been in development as long as this. 5 hours MAXIMUM on anything but the hardest difficulty just doesn't cut it these days. The actual gameplay is as generic as it comes too. If you've played any FPS game in the last decade you've played Killzone 2. The single weapon + pistol system is a HUGE gamebreaker, as it discourages the use of the heavy weapons such as a rocket launcher since if you carry that around and come across a bunch of enemies you've only got 2 shots then what? A pistol. Horrible decision. Multiplayer: 7/10 Warzone mode is great, as is the Client Side Hit Detection, but some dubious classes and not enough levels let the game down. Lag is also a problem in 99% of matches (even on 8mb ADSL2+) due to the location of the dedicated servers, and the ranking system is so shallow and weak that youll be done with it in 15-20 hours, leaving you with nothing more to gain from further play. And again, the input lag ruins it. Having to fight with the controls constantly to get the character to do what you want WHEN you want it is beyond forgiveness. Being a HUGE fan of the original, I so wanted Killzone 2 to be the best game I've ever played. It's not though, it's nowhere near it to be honest. Halo killer? Not a chance. Call of Duty killer? Nope. Haze killer maybe. Better luck next time Sony/Guerrilla. Expand
  52. tommyg
    Nov 13, 2009
    5
    i cant believe how disappointed i was with this game. i mean i bought it seeing all these great reviews about it being the best FPS ever, only to be greeted by this uninspiring shooter. Its not bad, but i cant get myself to like it. maybe its just not me, but the controls could seriously use more work. and the environments are all bland, gears of war was bland but its levels had quite i cant believe how disappointed i was with this game. i mean i bought it seeing all these great reviews about it being the best FPS ever, only to be greeted by this uninspiring shooter. Its not bad, but i cant get myself to like it. maybe its just not me, but the controls could seriously use more work. and the environments are all bland, gears of war was bland but its levels had quite some variety, which killzone lacks. ofcourse the multiplayer was the main reason to get it, but no further impulse is present to play it, the unlocks are really not worth playing through for such a long time. They dont improve your chances anyhow. Expand
  53. michaelk
    Oct 21, 2009
    7
    wow this is one of those games that really brings up debate with its army of fanboys and just as many others who cant understand why everyones so excited about what is really just a quite pretty but avarage shooter, as for me i sit somewhere in the middle i really like the game but feel it was rushed out before it was finnished the lack of a co-op in the main story seems like a crazy wow this is one of those games that really brings up debate with its army of fanboys and just as many others who cant understand why everyones so excited about what is really just a quite pretty but avarage shooter, as for me i sit somewhere in the middle i really like the game but feel it was rushed out before it was finnished the lack of a co-op in the main story seems like a crazy thing to leave out when it weas obviously originally designed for two players so many of the set peices have two sentry guns to mount or things like the tank having two seats just screams that it was intended for two people plus your shadowed for the whole story by an ai partner it makes me wish that the game spent that extra time in development so that things like this wasn't left on the cutting room floor and these faults carry over to the multi player aswell, things like the cover system that you used all the way through the campaign suddenly not being active like they didn't have time to work it into the multi player maps ??? Expand
  54. RobButler
    Feb 27, 2009
    6
    Pretty pictures, crappy game! Broken handling, repetitive levels, poor online options, very poor skirmish mode. In both on & offline you are limited to 5min rounds, if you want to play a 20min game you have to string together additional 5min game modes to pad out the time (CTF, Zones, etc), so no 20min team death matches for example. Poor hit detection you can't usually tell where Pretty pictures, crappy game! Broken handling, repetitive levels, poor online options, very poor skirmish mode. In both on & offline you are limited to 5min rounds, if you want to play a 20min game you have to string together additional 5min game modes to pad out the time (CTF, Zones, etc), so no 20min team death matches for example. Poor hit detection you can't usually tell where you are being shot from! The maps are too small for tactical gameplay and the handling is too poor for close quater combat. This one will only appeal to those who purchase games based on graphics alone! If you're a serious gamer this is definately not for you! Expand
  55. jedd
    Feb 27, 2009
    7
    This game is just like the rest of them... nothing new. Sweet graphics and perfect for you if you like first person story mode games. No free roam at all, and bad controls. Also the fact that Sony cant come out with a single co op game really pisses me off. Only if you could play this while sitting on the couch with a friend or 2 going through the story line.
  56. charlieF
    Feb 27, 2009
    6
    Pretty visuals, but at the sacrifice of unresponsive controls. MP issues with regard to stat padding through the use of bots. Shallow storyline, and very limited SP. In essance, this game has not lived up to the self proclaimed hype by the developer and platform. Four and half years of developement for a very mediocre result. The positives, nice graphical qualities, and maps.
  57. CodyB
    Feb 28, 2009
    6
    The graphics are great. The sound is great... that is where it stops. First off, the campaign has major glitches. I had to restart a level twice already because of my "comrades" got stuck against a wall. The multiplayer would be awesome if it weren't for one thing. The aiming. It is as loose as hooker covered in motor oil. No matter how hard you try, you can't get a good head The graphics are great. The sound is great... that is where it stops. First off, the campaign has major glitches. I had to restart a level twice already because of my "comrades" got stuck against a wall. The multiplayer would be awesome if it weren't for one thing. The aiming. It is as loose as hooker covered in motor oil. No matter how hard you try, you can't get a good head shot. It's funny how often I hear other people complain about the aiming while in a match. I am completely dissapointed. The only reason I am giving it a 6 is because the story is pretty good so far. If anyone tells you the multiplayer is better than COD4, they are just fan boys. OH!! And as much as I HATE the Xbox 360, it really pains me to admit this, but the graphics in Gears of War 1 and 2 are LIGHT YEARS better. Expand
  58. EvelynX
    Feb 28, 2009
    7
    This game had some real potential, Sony had to deliver after the many glimpses of the game since the PS3 was launched, and from the early reviews from the media it looked like it was going to live up to it. Unfortunately it has so far failed to live up to what we have been led to believe. Gameplay is average, nothing more than the basic tick box FPS affair, remove the red glowing eyes and This game had some real potential, Sony had to deliver after the many glimpses of the game since the PS3 was launched, and from the early reviews from the media it looked like it was going to live up to it. Unfortunately it has so far failed to live up to what we have been led to believe. Gameplay is average, nothing more than the basic tick box FPS affair, remove the red glowing eyes and you could be playing almost any other shooter. Graphics are very good, but then they should be, this is the PS3 after all and Killzone 2 has been one of the flagship titles for a long time in waiting for this console. Re-spawning enemies should have been consigned to the history books long ago but here they are again, very very lazy and it makes some parts of the game amazingly frustrating. The taking cover aspect that has been bolted onto many games since Gears Of War is again present here and has been implemented pretty shabbily, having very little effect unless you choose something the size of a house to hide behind. Another disappointing inclusion in Killzone 2 is the poor AI of the computer controlled characters in campaign mode, developers must think it is excusable to pass this off on the public if they intend to push a title as an "online" experience, why program decent AI if you can let other people make up for shortcomings?... All this adds up to a competent shooter but nothing worth raising it up above the rest of clones out there. Teletext review really is the perfect quote to sum this game up: "One of the best looking games ever, but also one of the least ambitious in terms of anything else". Expand
  59. skyjj
    May 12, 2009
    5
    Half of the war is fought with the controls than the helghast. No memorable SP moments. Repetitive ( read same) environments, unoriginal weapons don't help either. wants to be different from the others, but still is just another FPS. Multiplayer seems to have lasting appeal, but that is an illusion which quickly fades away. First game I've played where you are killed by a person Half of the war is fought with the controls than the helghast. No memorable SP moments. Repetitive ( read same) environments, unoriginal weapons don't help either. wants to be different from the others, but still is just another FPS. Multiplayer seems to have lasting appeal, but that is an illusion which quickly fades away. First game I've played where you are killed by a person whom you had already killed seconds ago. what do they call it? kill lag?? about the graphics which everyone is so excited about, instead of using your physics engine for all its worth in blowing pieces of cloth in a gusty wind, why couldn't they use it to implement bullet penetration ? and graphics don't impress, cause everything is jerky ( some strange 30 fps implementation, resistance 2 feels like 60 fps compared to it !!??) to nullify any sense of immersion! Expand
  60. DS
    Jul 29, 2009
    6
    I waited for four long years and all I got was a mediocre first-person-shooter. This game looks brilliant, no doubts there, but in terms of story, gameplay, and controls... it just doesn't deliver like Call of Duty and other FPS. I bought a PS3 just for this game. It ended up being my first and last game I ever bought for such a fantastic system.
  61. ColinP
    Dec 27, 2009
    5
    This game was the biggest letdown of the year for me. I heard it was good the reviews mirrored that image but when i played i was anything but impressed. The game was horribly made. Your teamate is a waste of spac and never gets killed and only hinders your progress, For some reason you have a partner but you can't do co-op. The aiming is terrible and its too hard to hit people This game was the biggest letdown of the year for me. I heard it was good the reviews mirrored that image but when i played i was anything but impressed. The game was horribly made. Your teamate is a waste of spac and never gets killed and only hinders your progress, For some reason you have a partner but you can't do co-op. The aiming is terrible and its too hard to hit people especially with the crappy sniper rifle. The worst part is the difficulty. Each guy is stronger than you. You die way too much. I've been playing FPS games all my life and i spent over 5 hours on 1 checkpoint in this game. I had it on "hard" difficulty which it said "is for skilled FPS players" and it was soo stupid and a waste of time. The graphics are good. Expand
  62. Feb 8, 2014
    5
    "Killzone 2" is definitely a major step up from "Killzone 1". The graphics are really good, and the enemy AI provides one heck of a challenge. Unfortunately, the ally AI is so terrible that it made the last boss fight ridiculously unfair. I watched in horror as the final boss riddled Rico with bullets repeatedly, while Rico just stood there facing the opposite direction. Did he run? Did he"Killzone 2" is definitely a major step up from "Killzone 1". The graphics are really good, and the enemy AI provides one heck of a challenge. Unfortunately, the ally AI is so terrible that it made the last boss fight ridiculously unfair. I watched in horror as the final boss riddled Rico with bullets repeatedly, while Rico just stood there facing the opposite direction. Did he run? Did he return fire? No, he stood there, apparently so entranced by the palace architecture that he barely noticed the blood spewing from himself. This happened so often during the course of the game that the only reason I continued playing was I'm OCD and a glutton for punishment. Also, the dialog was terrible, the voice acting was terrible, and the plot had so many points that lacked common sense it was difficult to suspend disbelief. Further, why would you ever put someone as dumb and as wholly worthless as Rico in charge of a squad? Further, the enemy, the Helghast, were far more interesting--well, actually interesting--than the people on your own side. Nothing irritates me more about a video game than when it starts off amazing and slides down the garbage chute the further in you go. It was wholly frustrating and rage-inducing to watch. Expand
  63. Apr 26, 2011
    0
    Killzone 2 can only be described as ''solid'' as it does almost everything right. The problem is that the only thing that's beyond solid is the online and graphics. Being one of the most hyped games on the ps3 anything other then perfection would have brought endless criticism and hate, but this game deserves some of it's praise. As a FPS Killzone 2 is one of the best on the ps3, and IKillzone 2 can only be described as ''solid'' as it does almost everything right. The problem is that the only thing that's beyond solid is the online and graphics. Being one of the most hyped games on the ps3 anything other then perfection would have brought endless criticism and hate, but this game deserves some of it's praise. As a FPS Killzone 2 is one of the best on the ps3, and I usually don't like FPS controlls on consoles, and Killzone 2 does it well enough. I liked the shooting elements and the arsenal of weapons. Shooting off helghast hemets with a pistol is allways awsome. The flamethrower, shotgun and sniper rifle also break up the usual action. The graphics in the game are incredible in a way that few other FPS's could do but it still lacks something. The characters movement is stiff at times and the transitions between cutscenes and gameplay are way too obvious. The dialog is absolutely terrible, the worst part of the game. The story is like world war 2 in the future where the helghast are some kind of space natzis. The online is where the game shines the most, as the core gameplay is at it's best online. The maps aren't huge but they are smartly built. Every part of the map is usefull for tactics and you'l find yourself enjoying these maps a long time. As the third game came out, being almost identical to it's predecessor, it's allways nice to remember this game. Killzone 2 is truly great, it's not incredible nor anything unique, but it does it's job well enough and in the end of the day, I'm not complaining. Collapse
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 94 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 94
  2. Negative: 0 out of 94
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    100
    It's true that Killzone 2 is filled with moments that can handily be described as inspiring awe. Each scene is incredibly well detailed, from the gaps in jerry-rigged cover points letting you sneak in a killing headshot to scarred and scratched textures, the planet feels entirely believable... Without a doubt Killzone fans, action and shooter fans of any stripe will instantly tag this sequel as a powerful contender for best game of 2009. [Feb 2009, p.38]
  2. Killzone 2’s secret ingredient is the fluidity in gameplay that we have come to enjoy more than its graphical prowess or jaw-dropping visuals. And that’s what games have always been about... We're surprised to see Killzone 2 blows our expectations out of the water with a memorable SP campaign and a stellar MP component. To put it short, this game makes "Gears of War 2" look like a high school attempt at gaming and that is a HUGE compliment!
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    90
    Visually it's so far ahead of anything else out there it shatters your expectations...This is a PS3 showing what it's truly capable of and delivering a landmark piece of explosive entertainment you can't afford to miss. [Feb 2009, p.88]