Killzone 2 PlayStation 3

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Killzone 2 Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 94 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1532 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Two years after the Helghast assault on Vekta, the ISA is taking the fight to the enemy's home world of Helghan. The ISA goal is direct: capture the Helghast leader, Emperor Visari, and bring the Helghast war machine to a halt. Assuming the role of Sev, a battle-hardened veteran and a memberTwo years after the Helghast assault on Vekta, the ISA is taking the fight to the enemy's home world of Helghan. The ISA goal is direct: capture the Helghast leader, Emperor Visari, and bring the Helghast war machine to a halt. Assuming the role of Sev, a battle-hardened veteran and a member of the special forces unit known as the Legion, players lead a group of highly trained soldiers on a mission to take out the Helghast threat. For Sev and his squad, the invasion of Helghan is just the beginning. Tasked with securing Pyrrhus, the Capital City, the team quickly discovers that the Helghast are a formidable enemy on their home planet. Not only have they adjusted to the planet's hostile conditions, they have also harnessed a source of power they can now use against the ISA. Sev discovers his squad isn't just fighting enemy forces – their fiercest opponent may be the planet itself. [Sony] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 94
  2. Negative: 0 out of 94
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    100
    It's true that Killzone 2 is filled with moments that can handily be described as inspiring awe. Each scene is incredibly well detailed, from the gaps in jerry-rigged cover points letting you sneak in a killing headshot to scarred and scratched textures, the planet feels entirely believable... Without a doubt Killzone fans, action and shooter fans of any stripe will instantly tag this sequel as a powerful contender for best game of 2009. [Feb 2009, p.38]
  2. Killzone 2 is an exceptional first-person shooter.
  3. Killzone 2 rises from the ashes of the E3 2005 trailer to prove itself as even better; the most outstanding, immersive and technologically advanced first person shooter available for any console on the market. The dark and grim world created by Guerrilla hosts a crude conflict on Helghast soil, divided in 10 acts packed with a variety of situations portrayed with an epic tone. With a polished enemy AI, a huge multiplayer, a well balanced and powerful arsenal, 7.1 sound, great voice acting among some other strong points, few complaints can be made; only the lack of coop and some roughness in the allied AI. The rest is faithful and loyal to the promise Guerrilla made 4 years ago. Mission accomplished.
  4. This is easily the most immersive FPS game you can play now, or anytime in the near future.
  5. Killzone 2's been hyped waaaay, too much, of course. And, no, it doesn't live up to the hype, because if it did it would be the greatest FPS of all time, which it isn't. But it is the best PS3-exclusive to date.
  6. Killzone 2 is a rock solid First Person Shooter, developed with care and essential for the PS3 Line Up. It’s a peculiar title, realistic in the approach, dark and gloomy, conveying a strange perspective about war and obedience. The single player experience is linear and not that long, but the multiplayer is perfect, stressing a tactical aspect that is not so diffused in the other exponents of the genre.
  7. This is an average, generic experience. For all its lofty ambitions and hype it is an unbelievable failure, a real disappointment for all PlayStation 3 owners.

See all 94 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 281
  1. PacoD
    May 4, 2009
    10
    Awesome graphics, this is a showcase for any PS3 and HDTV owner who loves gaming. The best first person shooter game I've ever played in Awesome graphics, this is a showcase for any PS3 and HDTV owner who loves gaming. The best first person shooter game I've ever played in several years, period. Expand
  2. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    Killzone 2....Highly hyped and highly anticipated. Does not disappoint either. From the moment you start this game up it makes you feel likeKillzone 2....Highly hyped and highly anticipated. Does not disappoint either. From the moment you start this game up it makes you feel like it's a real war going on. The game looks beautiful, but it has an awful lot of brown and orange. The controls are loyal to Killzone but it does take some getting used to especially the melee. The story is very well written and shows that the Helgast aren't just alien they're also human. The voice acting is very well done and the sound effects will shatter glass with surround sound on. Shooting gets a little annoying since the crossair dissapears the longer you shoot and your bullets become more inaccuarte but you'll get used to it and that's not a problem in multiplayer. Oh yeah, the multiplayer. When I had my choice of Call of Duty or Killzone 2, I chose Killzone 2. It is just THAT much fun and easy to get into. It has a lot of traditional FPS MP modes only renamed and retweeked. An overall incredible package that no shooter/ps3 fan should dare miss out. Expand
  3. DanielB
    Mar 4, 2009
    10
    While I was part of the minority who thoroughly enjoyed the first Killzone, I have to say that Killzone 2 is a major leap forward for the While I was part of the minority who thoroughly enjoyed the first Killzone, I have to say that Killzone 2 is a major leap forward for the franchise. Guerrilla has taken their FPS & made it a gritty, visceral experience that gave me an honest sensation of uneasiness about entering its fields of combat (yes, I almost felt afraid to enter the game it immersed me that much). They have achieved this not only with incredible graphics & environmental detail (from lingering dust in the air & your rifle scope after close explosions to rebar seen under bullet shattered concrete pillars), but they have succeeded in fleshing out the Helgast enemies. They are no longer just the 2 dimensional cardboard cutouts that pop out in fixed locations for me to shoot. From the opening speech of Helghast leader, Emperor Visari (again masterfully portrayed by Brian Cox) I knew this wasn't going to be any ordinary arcade shooter. Guerrilla has given us an enemy as tenacious & fanatical about fighting off invaders of their homeland as the SS was in the later days of World War II. They run & duck under cover when shot at and they cry out in pain when shot. The have become actual characters for me to know & fear. People who have long forsaken any diplomacy (I say people because I felt like I was fighting people, unlike other games such as COD4 online, while a superior game, still felt more like a game of tag) Alas, there is a little bit on the down side. Some of the in game dialogue did get a bit repetitive (Nice shot! yadda yadda) & somewhat juvenile. But even that wasn't enough for me to drop the score down a whole point. This is a game that deserve every one of its five stars from Playstation Magazine. To me, well worth the new release price. Expand
  4. Cam
    Mar 2, 2009
    9
    Does everything you want in a solid FPS with an addictive multiplayer experience, just wish that there was more depth in the narrative.
  5. GD
    Apr 8, 2009
    8
    I am disappointed. For me Killzone 2 did not live up to the hype. It is not a bad game, but the single player campaign wasn't that I am disappointed. For me Killzone 2 did not live up to the hype. It is not a bad game, but the single player campaign wasn't that impressive. The story is simple, the boss fight just tedious and nothing new. The graphics might be excellent, but I didn't notice with all the motion blur, screen shakes and clutter (smoke, blood, dirt, etc) obscuring the view. I felt that the controls are a bit sluggish compared to other games in the same genre. The multiplayer on the other hand is much more fun. If it wasn't for this solid multiplayer I would have given it a lower rating. It is a nice game but not that revolutionizing IMHO. Expand
  6. DarkWing
    Sep 7, 2009
    6
    Killzone 2 certainly has it's moments,but i expected a lot more of a polished title for game that has been in the making for quiteKillzone 2 certainly has it's moments,but i expected a lot more of a polished title for game that has been in the making for quite sometime,although the multiplayer does make up for the weak campaign it can give you the mix feeling of should i have bough or rented this title? Expand
  7. KenTran
    Mar 9, 2009
    0
    Wow! Talk about an average game with great graphics. While the game is not actually a zero game, the way people are hyping it with 10'sWow! Talk about an average game with great graphics. While the game is not actually a zero game, the way people are hyping it with 10's is most likely because of the wow factor of the graphics so I have to give it a zero to even it out. lol Expand

See all 281 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Games of 2009

    The Best Games of 2009 Image
    Published: December 9, 2009
    Metacritic's Best of 2009 coverage kicks off with Games. We reveal the best-reviewed games of 2009, and rank the performance of each game platform for the year.