• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Feb 22, 2011
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 810 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 82 out of 810

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 25, 2011
    10
    This is the best FPS I've ever played, and I've played pretty much every FPS ever made. The graphics and animations are superb, the music is awesome and the sound effects make you feel like you really are there in the battlefield.
  2. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    Bravo, Guerrilla. I mean it, you guys have created the best FPS of this gen and one of the best FPS' of all time. Up until today, KZ2 was my favourite game but now it's without a doubt KZ3. Story: I have no idea what the hell the reviewers are talking about, the story in KZ3 is fantastic, especially for an FPS. The writing was slick, the subplots were interesting, and everything fit. What more cold you ask for? Well, maybe a better ending than the half-assed one we got. Endings are something Guerrilla really needs to work on, imo. Gameplay: Better than KZ2 in every single way. I loved the controls, the variety of the vehicles, etc. However, was it just me, or is KZ3 a f*ck ton harder than KZ2? I had no trouble beating KZ2 on Elite, but KZ3 on normal kicked my ***! Voice Acting: Honestly, I consider the new Sev and Narville completely new characters. While I really did like them in KZ3, they certainly were not the same in KZ2, attitude and personality wise. Sev was more of a kid and far less professional while Narville was more pansy and less gun-ho in KZ3. Regardless, I liked them. Rico's voice was very well done. Not better than KZ1's Rico, but much better than KZ2's (Same VA, I know). The real star of the show, to me, is Ray Winstone. Don't get me wrong, Malcolm did an awesome job, but Ray knocked it out of the park!

    Multiplayer: Intense, addicting, action packed, tactical - it's perfect! Well, as soon as they sort out the connection issues. Set-pieces: Epic, epic, epic. That sums up the set pieces and cutscenes in KZ3. EPIC! All in all, I must say, this was quite an experience. Definitely worth $140 and 2 years of waiting.
    Expand
  3. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    Great game! Excellent graphics and gameplay.

    @ps3fanfan: Firstly you obviously don't know s*** about computer graphics (this game pushes the limits of PS3) and secondly I bet you think every shooter out there is a clone of CoD. Pathetic.
  4. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    This game is AMAZING! Kick Ass story mode, great online and fun co-op! A shame they toned down the skills needed for online play compared to Killzone 2, but that doesnt stop it from being a blast! The multiplayer is alot more balanced this time around, made easier to master for the new guys joining the Killzone bandwagon from other shooters such as...you know what :P Buy it, you will not regret it!
    PS. Tactician FTW!
    Expand
  5. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    A MUST HAVE! Pay no attention to the haters leaving a low score for this game (Haters) this game ROCKS! From the very first level to the final stage of the game it does not stop with action.
  6. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    This is my favorite PS3 game of all time. I enjoyed the campaign, but the multiplayer was where it was at for me. It has 8 balanced maps, the dlc maps are also great. THe modes Warzone, Guerilla Warfare, and Operations are all fun to play and original. If you're looking for a game with a amazing story, this game isn't for you. If you're looking for a fun campaign and a fantastic multiplayer experience then this is a game for you. Expand
  7. Jun 7, 2011
    10
    This game is really good! Wonderful graphics, game play smooth, great sound, fun coop campaign e provides to you so many hours os multplayer on line with the possibility of 24 players in the battlefield. This game is a little ta-tics, if you have one group to join Killzone 3 with you, it will be really fun!!
  8. Feb 24, 2011
    10
    I love this game. Everything about it is intense. The graphics are great, the cutscenes are impressive, and I enjoy the gameplay. I've played it with the standard controls and with the sharpshooter. I've been finding myself enjoying it more with the sharpshooter than with the standard controller. Overall I recommend anybody to buy this game.
  9. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Best single player story this gen

    Best multi-player game hands down this gen

    Story line could be longer

    Take no notice of the low scores since anybody can do a self review on ere and most are just 360fanboys.
  10. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    I really liked this game, i dont know why people give it such low scores. the flaws in the multiplayer will be fixed eventually through patches. they really did well with the sensitivity and i like the perk and weapon system. i also thought the brutal melee was a pretty good addition too. it's fun stabbing someone in the neck even though it leaves you open to enemy fire, it's worth it. the maps are huge and the graphics are really good. i also liked the addition of silencers. over all this is a great game i dont know why it got such low scores. Expand
  11. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    Gears of What? Halo Who? You'll be forgetting those games even existed after playing this amazing sci-fi shooter. You cannot compare a buggy console port like Call of Duty: Black Ops to a PS3 exclusive like Killzone 3. If you want to compare the two, It's mostly like a nasal-voiced tween walking into a heavily armored Helghast base dressed in a ghillie suit he bought from Wal-Mart with an Airsoft rifle in hand; Shouting "What fool? You a scrub. I take ya'll Helghast down." The nasal-voiced zit-face tween being Call of Duty: Black Ops. Expand
  12. Mar 2, 2011
    10
    What a great FPS! I am having a hard time understanding some of the complaints about this game. Like any Oscar worthy movie, the story here is not for everybody. I don't think the narrative is bad or the acting for that matter. I really enjoy the story behind Killzone, but understand why some people don't. There are some holes and questions I have about it, but I had similar questions after watching the movie Inception. The point is, I don't think the story is weak, I just don't believe, everyone will love it like me. As far as mechanics are concerned, I think they're great. The controls are tight, the weapons feel great, the level design is solid etc..... Some of the levels run a little linear, but so do most FPS's. It's just that other FPS's hide the linearity a little better. The multiplayer is right up there with COD and other competent shooters, even though it doesn't offer anything new or things you haven't seen before. There are some multiplayer modes that are a little different, but not enough to stand on their own. It's still competetive, addicting and fun. Graphically, the game is a beast. In a good way. From bullets whizzing through the air leaving trails, structures collapsing, explosions showering the air with smoke, dust and debris, heads occasionally exploding, filling the air with a red fog, this game looks amazing and eerily realistic. I found this almost a turn off. There we're moments when I said to mysef, "Holy **** this looks to real!". If put in a real life scenario, I think military vets might actually complain about the realism of the bloodletting. All and all, this is a great game, a great FPS and I personally believe it should be mentioned in the same breath as Halo. I actually like this game better for all the reasons I stated. Which is no knock on Halo. I love the that series too as well as CoD. I just think this game is a slight notch above the rest. It would be like arguing that Peyton Manning is better than Tom Brady. Take your pick. Expand
  13. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    kloborgg, kyo1980, and xbox360 users this is how i feel. looking at every fps to hit the market in recent memory ....black ops, battlefield, medal of honor.... can killzone3 compete...yes....enough to spend 65$ ...yes.... i don't play fps very well... ok i stink...so botzone is fine by me that make me feel the online experience without getting 1 billion deaths... the game reminds me of halo and halo 2, because of its other world planetary atmosphere...the graphics are awesome, there is junk flying and swirling around you... plus the people big enough i can see and identify what i need to plus the enemies ....the story is as long as everybody else so i really can't mark it down for that.... killzone3 is actually a 9.25 maybe 9.5.... its helped out by being interesting enough to make me want it, and being accessible enough so that even with my suckiness i can play a first person shooter to...and understand what i'm doing ...the little reticule that tells you where you need to go is smart...i'm usually overwhelmed and confused by fps...the GRAPHICS ARE REMARKABLE...explosion and sound are on point... multiplayer connects fine runs fine, loud obnoxious people lol...botzone is sweet...level design is nice... game is 9.25 because i enjoy it 10... it rocks....i am amending my review to add in obvious xbox360 fanboy hatred...metacritic did remove the zero scores however, kloborgg your review bothers me...you only compare killzone 3 to other similar games but seem to forget its its on universe...its not halo, or black ops so if killzone 1 and 2 didn't have 1000 weapons why would killzone 3 ? they also wear bodysuits, black ops and battfield don't maybe that explains the slowness...you have only reviewed 2 games 1 on xbox360 halo you gave a 10... wow on pc. a 10...suddenly your in ps3 giving killzone 3 a 6...your halo review insults halo...your killzone 3 review insults halo yet you gave it a perfect score...you attacked every component of killzone 3 listing it as inferior...that smells of ps3 hatred......like you said at the end of your halo review if you was going to dislike us anyway...hate our game, try and nitpick it, and clown its scores with trash....nobody at sony said its the best fps ever as you claim...like you said leave us alone... killzone 3 is a highly worthy threequel and your reviews along with the three removed 0's is just hatred and spite...nothing you said gives ANY indications you were after any other verdict....botzone is included for people like me...you asked i'm answering Expand
  14. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    The game looks great. The campaign has a nice variation of game-play modes, enough so you don't get bored as you make it through the story.

    Multiplayer is somewhat improved with custom class unlocks and new "Operations" mode.
    Highly recommended for any fan of the series.
  15. Mar 3, 2011
    10
    Wow this is what I'm talking about,Killzone3 is by far one of those Must have games if your a PS3 owner.Great story Very good Multi-player and By far the best Graphics I've seen so Far in a fps Game to date..
  16. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    Killzone 3 graphics-10 (10 says it all) story-7 (6 if you don't have a splitcreen buddy) gameplay-10 (runs smoothly and the guns are varied this time) sound - 10 (what more do you want?) replay/enjoyment- 10 (atleast rent the game before you dis it, if you don't like it okay, but first try it) Overall: 10 The fun I had playing this with my brother, graphics, gameplay, all out weigh the meh campaign story. Expand
  17. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    killzone 3 is a brilliant game!the graphics are amazing much more intresting than killzone 2 which dwelled on dark places and ruined buildings killzone 3 has arctic plains,jungles and other interesting settings.the story is better which the last game fell short on.oh and the gameplay which made me dislike the killzone 2 has been tweaked for the best possible playing experiance,sorry some people might argue that was killzone 2s strong point fine then they can change the settings in the game.quite simply the best game ive played for a while. Expand
  18. Feb 24, 2011
    10
    Great game, a must-have for all PS3 owners. Graphics are A+ as always, and multiplayer is active.

    If you have already played Killzone 2, it's very very similar. Though some will argue with me, I am just a casual Killzone player, it's basically an upgrade as far as multiplayer goes. I purchased this on release, and so far there are a few loading issues and bugs, but I'm sure in a week
    or two they will be sorted out. Other than that, every thing is great. Expand
  19. Apr 4, 2011
    10
    Man WHAT A GAME. Its superb. Visceral, raw, tactical , beautiful and above all fun. It brings back teamwork. Players are encouraged to work in teams using different classes. A high KD doesnt benefit anyone and indeed there arent any chopper gunners to bolster your score. I am genuinly blown away. One player isnt perfect and has some cheesy moments and plot faults , but the inclusion of a co-op mode is a boon and it takes quite a few hours to finish. Multiplayer is a breath of fresh air. Long live the new best FPS KZ3. Expand
  20. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    This is without a doubt the best looking first person shooter on the market, every step oozes with glorious detail, from simple things like distant mountain ranges to beautiful space views from interstellar space ships. This game is outstanding it plays slightly slower in pace than most modern shooter but this all fits in nicely with the gameplay and graphics, its a much meatier game than most fps's and is in a class of its own Expand
  21. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    I am really impressed with this game, it is simply amazing great graphics, story mode and multiplayer . i feel this is a game i will be playing for a long time to come.
  22. Mar 8, 2011
    10
    To me no game is perfect, however with that said, Killzone 3 is a definite improvement over Killzone 2. I would give this a 9.5 but Metacritic doesn't allow a score like that so I chose a 10. Firstly, let me say that I loved Killzone 2. The multiplayer for it was addicting and the singleplayer was awesome with great firefights and a decent story. Killzone 3 expands on that game. As of now, I've only played maybe 2 hours of the single player campaign but from what I gather so far, the campaign has a nice pace to it and the gun fights are just as good. Enemies flank you and are intelligent. The game doesn't feel cheap in any way. Your teammates will be targeted by the helghast if they can't find you. The story is decent so far but this was never Killzone's strength in any way. It is the gameplay that is the strength. Controls are more responsive and the weight of the controls is still there. Lots of people I know will complain about the controls and how they are casualized but I believe these are the controls that Guerilla wanted in the first place with Killzone 2. In comparison, Killzone 2's controls were laggy and unresponsive. It took a while to get used to but there is no denying that. The visuals in the single player campaign are once again impressive. Textures seem more detailed on the gun models as well as the characters. Environments are varied and provide a ton of detail. There is just so many things going on in the game that it makes you wonder what else can Guerilla do on the PS3. On to the multiplayer side of things. This is where most of my time has been. You have 3 modes. Guerilla Warfare, Warzone and Operations. Guerilla Warfare is your typical team deathmatch. It's just the one type of gameplay which is called body count. The first team to fill their kill bar on the screen wins. This was a popular lobby in KZ2. I remeber seeing many that just contained body count compared to the typical warzone game. Warzone is the heart and soul of Killzone. One match takes you through various objective based games. You have demolition, assassination, body count, capture and hold and a capture the flag type mode with the propaganda speaker. Demolition and assassination consist of one team attacking and one defending and gives both teams a chance to be the attacker and defender. This game mode requires alot of coordination among teammates and strategy. You have spawn points that must be captured and maintained to give your team the advantage. Failure to do this results in total domination. It's a must in this game mode. The last game mode available is called Operations. You 2 teams and he ISA are always on the offensive and the Helghast are always on the defensive. Teams will flip every match between the 2. This game mode is exciting as it really requires even more teamwork to win than in Warzone. A mic is a must in this game mode to succeed in my opinion. In multiplayer, there are a variety of classes with each one having their own perks. Marksman can cloak themselves to be invisible and jam enemy radar, Infiltrators can disguise themselves as the other team, Tacticians can capture spawn points for strategic advances and recon to see where enemies are lurking, Engineers can spawn turrets and repair ammo crates, and Medics can revive teammates. Each class has 3 different primary weapons and 3 secondary weapons. It's important to have a variety of these as each has an essential role to win the battle. There is a nice leveling system available to that gives you unlock points once you make the next level. You use the points to unlock guns or special abilities for your favorite class or classes.

    As far as gameplay visuals goes, the gunplay is some of the best this generation. Guns sound realistic and really pop when firing them. The hit detection is much better than other games (cough BO cough). Assassinations are also a nice addition. There are different ones that range from neck snapping to slicing the throat of an enemy, to stabbing an enemy in the eye with a knife etc. The visuals are top notch. The only complaint I'd have is some framerate issues in the multiplayer. Sometimes the framerate can come to a crawl. Overall, Killzone 3 is everything I thought it would be. More responsive controls, phenomenal visuals for a console game, and a great multiplayer experience that will sure keep you busy for hours. If your are looking for a change from the Call of Duty's of the world, then Killzone 3 is it.
    Expand
  23. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    Even Better than killzone 2( which I put 250 hours into multiplayer). Killzone 3 just out classes every other fps in every way and form. I would recommend this to all. And to the reviewers saying the campaign isnt that great there full of it!, The campaign is full of all action and I couldnt stop playing it. 10/10 from me.
  24. Jul 1, 2011
    10
    Pretty but boring.
    The designers obviously sat down & decided we have 2 have a stealth mission, a shooting from tank mission, a mech mission... & built the game from there & it cums across as a melding of parts rather than a coherent whole (always a problem with FPS excepting Halo 1, Half Life 1) but that's probably the RPGer in me.
    Graphics do not a good game make.
  25. Feb 24, 2011
    10
    i didnt want to write a review for kz3 because i feel biased towards it. it is my favorite franchise of all time. this game is innovative. every one wants to compare it to bfbc2 and cod and other shooters. but this series started in 2004. it created weigted controls. this game was made to take people who werent good at shooters and still make them apart of a team, and they can still contribute, unlike cod where its survival of the glitchiest. not gettin many kills? be a medic and keep the killing machines on your team alive! cant find pesky snipers? be the tactician and show all your team mates where they are. there is a counter for everything and a place for everyone. people are forgetting games were made to be fun and enjoyable, and this is a game made for the fans, it has a great story line (the whole story is on youtube) the gameplay is innovative, move works awesome on this. the gametypes are a blast, and warzone is still the best gametype around. if your not sure about it rent it, and if your having a tough time remember its different but thats why you play killzone, for something new, something good. and dedicated servers means no annoying host migration! Play it enjoy it love it because it really is an amazing game Expand
  26. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    Game is like the old one KZ 2 but improved very much over graphics and gameplay. Many says it lacks story but who wants it when you can have fun killing the helgans.Move adds the next dimension to the game and really enjoyed playing it.
  27. Feb 25, 2011
    10
    Great game, while campaign could have been done better, the Multiplayer is Incredible and the graphics are stunning, a must buy for FPS lovers! also a good way to get into the FPS genre.
  28. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    AMAZING! simply a must buy for ps3 owners. It has tweaked killzone 2 in every way from the controls to the weapons. Tweaking killzone 2 is all this game needed and the multiplayer is so addictive and satisfying that you won't put your controller down. The reasons why you should but this game is because of: graphics, great multiplayer maps, awesome weapons, awesome multiplayer classes and controls that have a nice balance of killzone 2 and battlefield bad company 2. 10/10. Expand
  29. Feb 24, 2011
    10
    i love this game, this isn't really a review, but i just can't help but comment to the people who keep comparing this to COD and calling it a ripoff. if this is a ripoff of COD, then COD is a ripoff of wolfenstein 3d, doom, quake, heretic, hexen, rise of the triad, duke nukem 3d, system shock, i could go on and on. the point being, first person shooters were around long before the COD games came along. just because COD is the first FPS you ever played doesn't mean it's the first one to ever exist, and certainly doesn't mean that every FPS to come after it is a ripoff. if anything, it's a ripoff of wolfenstein 3d, which was the first FPS and it came out like 20 years ago. you kids and your ignorance is highly amusing. Expand
  30. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    Despite some of the recent reviews ive read, where the game gets basically called a cod ripoff with no originality, and a horrible storyline, I must say that I just cant agree with any of those reviews, I was about to leave gaming as a whole because i was just tired of playing the same games all the time. Killzone 2 brought me back to gaming all of a sudden, it was very original, with an awesome multiplayer and the best graphics ive ever seen (not technically, but still it has the best mapping and characters ive ever seen in a game). Then killzone 3 arrives and it gets insulted by some reviewers and fans. But what are the contents of this game? Basically, this game improves killzone 2 on everything, it has many more weapons, BIGGER weapons infact (miniguns, rocket launchers, tanks, laser guns, heavy machine guns, etc), better multiplayer,better storyline (although still preety poor), co-op gameplay, even better graphics and sound, preety much all of the things which ruined in some ways killzone 2, are fixed in killzone 3. The multiplayer on the other hand should have something fixed, and thats the amount of recoil in the weapons, it removed a lot from the recoil in killzone 2 which made the weapons back then feel extremely realistic and powerful. At the same time the multiplayer is much more addictive than before and has even better maps. My favourite fps of all times, 10/10 Expand
  31. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    A game with a fun and adictive multiplayer, with literally no unbalanced weapon and awesome maps where teamplay is a big and decisive factor? One of the best singleplayer experiences which lasts from 7 to 8 hours in easy/normal mode 8 to 10 hours in hard mode? A revolutionary cover system, now upgraded with a sliding and climbing ability? Best graphics on console? Yes thats killzone 3, and I dont think it deserves that 8.5 metascore. While other games like modern warfare 2 have a 9.5 with an unplayable multiplayer, average graphics and boring lineal singleplayer, killzone 3 in the other hand with one of the most funniest experiences ever just has an 8.5. PROS:: Everything. CONS. BEING EXTREMELY NITPICKY:: Storyline, facial expressions on secondary characters, we want more! Expand
  32. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    Killzone 2 was a great game and I would give it around a 8.8, but Killzone 3 is better in every aspect and deserves a 9.8. It has more action packed singleplayer, better graphics, better controls, and the multiplayer... well lets just say it's banana insane! If your a FPS fan and have been playing games like COD, Halo, Battlefield, Medal of Honor, etc. Killzone 3 is a MUST BUY. It has everything you would expect from a multilayer experience: unlocks, customization, varied gametypes, bot-mode, insane graphics, perfect hit detection, and most of all it is fun to play. I've been playing the full game since release time and I also played the Open and Private betas they had earlier this year, so I've got a lot of gametime with this game. On top of that I've played over 15 days of Black Ops 12 days of Bad Company 2, 8 days of Medal of Honor and almost every other FPS on the market. So trust me when I say... Killzone 3 is amazing! Expand
  33. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    Killzone 3 is to Killzone 2 what Resistance 2 was to Resistance: FOM, or what Modern Warfare 2 was to Call of Duty 4: a unique, tightly crafted shooter experience thrown into the Michael Bay-athon converter in the name of larger set pieces, more explosions and a larger number of enemies to kill. Also, like the Resistance series, Killzone 3 has taken a lot of cues from COD, which unfortunately does far more bad than good to a game that already had a strong and unique identity. Killzone 2 was a game that understood the unrelenting and chaotic nature of battle, and incorporated it into every aspect of its gameplay. Aiming was unforgiving and weighty, as the developers deliberately included input lag in the controls. Enemies were smart and resilient, utilizing cover and shooting blindly at you so as not to expose major body parts. Weapons had a real feeling of recoil, yet a satisfying sense of power. Killzone 2 was as close as any FPS had come to showing that shooting guns and aiming is actually very hard, and its core action distinguished it from other FPSs. For those who have not, take yourself to a gun range one day, and try shooting a target from about 20 meters back; you'll be surprised how bad a shot you actually are and how much longer it takes to line up a good shot than you would expect. Unlike in COD, just because your iron sights look like they're perfectly lined up, they probably are not, as the slightest deviation of even a fraction of a milimeter really throws your shot off; those milimeters really add up over the course of full on meters and screw the trajectory of your shot. Killzone 3 has stomped all over that to cater to the criticisms of a million crying sheep who want to play the same game (COD) over and over again. In Killzone 3, the weighty controls are mostly gone, the enemies take fewer hits to go down, are less intelligent, and there is far too much reliance on mind numbingly boring "on-rails" set piece sequences, which while pretty, from a visual perspective, have you doing nothing but holding down the fire button nonstop while your vehicle moves down a predetermined path and you watch lots of pretty explosions
    that result if a bullet of yours so much as grazes an enemy object. The level design just isn't there when the game relies on its core shooting mechanics rather than gimmicks (jet pack, etc.). In trying to add variety and cater to the more casual FPS crowd (how much more casual can you get?), Guerrilla games has abandoned the very gravitas and realistic military identity it established in KZ2. While I love COD Blackops, I bought Killzone 3 to ensure a different FPS experience, not to play its flashier, but goofier attention whore cousin.
    Expand
  34. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    If you dont like this game you are probably just a mindless fanboy, its got everything you want from an fps and more: vehicle battles (singleplayer and multiplayer), awesome sniping, cover system, sliding, big/medium/small weapons, awesome storyline and the greatest antagonists ever, Mcdowell you rule!
    Btw In this metacritic site PS3FanFan is an xbox fanboy and TLS21 is stupid enough to
    not play the game and still review it :P Expand
  35. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    This game is simply amazing. The single player campaign is not bad as others will tell you. If you played any FPS within the last decade, you are use to not having a detailed story like an RPG. The Move controller with this game fits extremely well. It's an awesome experience and isn't gimmicky. The graphics wasn't what I liked the most, the game-play is strong. I didn't wanted to give it a 10 because people won't take this review seriously. I'm a HUGE Halo fan, but this is just way more fun to play. I wish this game had an XBOX port so I can play with more of my friends. Yes, it's that good. Expand
  36. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    Sweet game, these other reviewers who give it negative scores, probably suck at the game. I am not saying I'm good at the game. The multi player is very tough and competitive. The campaign is pretty fun to. Kinda linear but still a good time.
  37. May 5, 2011
    10
    This is truly one of the best online FPS experiences I have ever played with. This game is gorgeous. People trash the story mode, but I like it better then Halo's or anything COD has done. The game in single player does feel different as opposed to multiplayer. It has more weight but it's a great feel. Online, for me, for any FPS, is what it's about. I don't buy FPS to go thru the story mode, I buy them for online play. It's the more addicting part versus having to feel the pressure to finish the game. I have Bad Company 2 and have never touched single player b/c the multiplayer is so good. The leveling up system on this game is great. The maps are huge on Warzone and Operations, but some are smaller on guerilla warfare. You will take a beating early on but once you fully level up, you can start leveling up other classes to full, and start dominating. The overall experience is great. Online, there's really no lag, runs smooth, and rooms are generally full of enough players. The classes are unique, you just have to find what you like to use. I started with the Engineer and moved on to the marksman. There can be a lot of time invested in this game and enjoyed. Best FPS on the PS3. Expand
  38. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    I am really impressed with this game, it is simply amazing great graphics, story mode and multiplayer . i feel this is a game i will be playing for a long time to come. (2)
  39. Feb 24, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing from the begining to the end of the single player campain.The pacing and varaity has improved substantially from killzone2 wich was a one trick pony.The ghraphics are unparralled in a consol fps from the textures to the visaul affects you will be amazed also no loading helps the game progress from one amazing scene to the next.Gameplay has also had a touchup not changing the feel of killzone but adding and improving on it.I have a move controller and nav and this is where I personaly think this has changed the way we will be playing fps on the ps3 it takes some time but once you get it you wont want to play another fps without move support.In conclussion killzone3 has smashed my expectations in every regard well done guirrella games. Expand
  40. Feb 24, 2011
    10
    Wow!! i just finished playing KZ3 last night and i must say that i am very impressed indeed. KZ3 leaves its predessor in its dust, as Gorilla takes the franchise to whole new level of awesome.
    From the engaging story, to the relentless bombardment of graphical goodness. its nice to see that Gorilla put more cut scenes in there too, thus allowing the gamer to actualy breathe easy for a bit
    before thrusting them back into another epic battle. the game also manages to do a good job of making you feel what it would be like to be out numbered and out gunned on an alien planet.
    From the very begining to the absolutely epic end, KZ3 will have you hooked............now, who's up for some mulit player :0)
    Expand
  41. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    KZ3 and CoD4, are best FPS games for current-gens. Different shooters, but both are pefect. Killzone have amazing single and multiplayer. This game makes PS3 best console for online shooters. 10/10
  42. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    After picking up Killzone 3 I felt compelled to write my first review on this site. I am an avid FPS fan and to be honest I picked this game up just for a bit of fun to pass the time. I played Killzone 2 and thought it was a decent game but nothing particularly exciting and I honestly expected more of the same from this game, but I was pleasantly surprised. I'll split this review into single and multiplayer, but before that I want to discuss the controls. Any good FPS fan wants to know how a game controls as it can make or break an FPS, well I'm happy to say the control are great. It's very smooth and the sensitivity controls allow you to find a nice setting you will be comfortable with. I play COD:MW2 with sensitivity 10 and whilst the controls aren't quite as smooth as MW2, they are still easy to use and a VAST improment over KZ2 in my opinion, in which I found aiming to be sluggish and 'weighted'. Single Player

    Now, story in this game isn't its strong point, however, I never expect storys in FPS games to be good. It's full of cheesy dialogue and a predictable story line, however, I still enjoyed the ride. The graphics are second to none and the sound is probably the best I've heard, you can hear every bullet as they whiz past your head and the explosions and background noise is brilliant. The game is surprisingly varied for this type of game, you never get chance to get bored before the game changes the pace up. Between normally duck and cover gameplay, the vehicular getaways, stealthy action all keep you entertained as you make your way through the game. As a side note, I am not a sci-fi fan and am not a fan of 'mech' style vehicles, however, the ones in this game not feel awkward, they are fluid moving (they even run) so even not being a fan of this type of play normally, I was surprised how much I enjoyed it. It's not a very long game, but it's pretty standard size for shooters nowadays.

    Multiplayer

    If you are new to the Killzone series, I highly suggest going into Bot mode whilst you learn the way the classes work, I didn't really play KZ2 online cause I wasn't a fan of the controls, so I was new to it and was a bit overwhelmed at first. There are 3 types of matchs, your basic team deathmatch, warzone which constantly changes the objective of the game every 5 minutes, and a classic battlefield type match. All play as you would expect, apart from Warzone, which played alot better than I anticipated. At the start of each game you pick a class, each starts with very little, but as you play and level up, you unlock new guns, perks, etc. Each class plays quite differently, but all have their advantages without any feeling overpowered. For example, a medic can have a medi-droid with him that can help shoot at enemies and revive you when you die (only once per life and only if not fatally wounded) and Marksman can turn invisable for short periods of time. It's all well balanced and nothing feels cheap. There isn't a massive selection of maps, but what is there, is solid, they are well thought out and a joy to play in. Guns feel deadly when used correctly, SMG's and Shotguns are powerful up close but at range leave alot to be desired, Assault Rifles are a nice mid range weapon and Sniper rules the roost at range. Killstreaks give you extra XP but no air support, radar, etc, which really doesn't stop you having alot of fun. I haven't had any problems with lag, bugs, crashes, etc, so nothing to complain about there.

    To sum up, I love this game, I honestly didn't except it to be this good, but I'm actually stopping playing MW2 and Black Ops to enjoy this gem online. I really hope this game gets the attention it should, because it seriously deserves it.
    Expand
  43. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    To keep things simple and short: Awesome! Guerrilla did a fantastic job this time around. I remember enjoying Killzone 2, and thought the multiplayer to be really fun and addicting. I've always preferred the Campaign modes, and thought that Killzone 2 was really good. This one blows it out of the water. The pacing, story, and variety are all fantastic. Also, the multiplayer maps that I've played so far are also way better and more balanced. Well done fellas. P.S. I'm using the sharpshooter to play through the SP story a second time now and it is a totally different experience. Really good job. Expand
  44. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    Great title and a even better exclusive. Lots of modes, realistic shooting, awesome graphics, the story it's nothing to brag about but it's still better than CoD: Black Ops, it has 3D and move, jetpacks and mechs in multyplayer. it's just the best shooter you can and should be playing right now .thank you guerrilla. keep up the good work!
  45. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    Totally awesome, especially for us somewhat tired of the same games beeing sold over and over again with slightly different stories and mechanics but mostly the same weapons. Yes, Call of Duty, Modern Warfare and Medal of Honor, im looking at you. Better story and multiplayer than kz2, and it just keeps on getting better!
  46. Feb 28, 2011
    10
    Online multiplayer is great. You feel like you are really in the middle of a war.... One of the best shooters i have ever played. Graphics are fantastic! They are really pushing boundaries there. Guerrilla has done it again!
  47. Mar 2, 2011
    10
    Wonderful game, im really impressed with the improvements they made from killzone 2, making that game look obsolete compared to this one, even though the multiplayer in kz2 was far more original, but at the same time this one is more balanced and way more addictive and fun.
  48. Mar 2, 2011
    10
    I dont think this game deserves a 10 because of the ending, the fact that they nerfed the gunplay experience and that Rico gets turned into a hero instead of just putting a bullet in his brains... But at the same time considering that its way superior to killzone 2 in every single way, and i mean, every single way : story, character development, weapons, fun, addictiveness, mp experience, sp time spam, etc, i think ill give it the maximum score, this game is golden grahams for me Expand
  49. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Mind-blowing graphics, Amazing gameplay, superp story. One of the best online multiplayers out there. What else can I say? BUY IT! I need to say more so...Stop being fanboys you pather people rating below a 7. Just grow up you pathetic jelous people. Best games ever: Uncharted 3 Killzone 3 Gran Turismo 5 Infamous 2 Little Big Planet 2 Heavy Rain... So I don't see how people can be so pathetic.
    Rant over, Teraah!
    Expand
  50. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What a tour de force! This game is absolutely fantastic in so many ways. First off the control is way better than KZ2. It is more responsive and precise. I am a CoD gamer and I can tell you this controls better. I am more accurate in KZ3 than other games. The graphics are tremendous and shouldn't be ignored. When they are this good we should applaud the developer GG for their great work. Once you play KZ3 and then go play Black Ops it is glaring and frightening how above and beyond the detail in KZ3 is compared to Black Ops. The detail really immerses you into the ISA/Helghan universe. The sound is deafening! No other game has been able to put you into the middle of a war through sound like KZ3. From the booming of explosions to the very authentic gun fire which sounds like you are shooting a gun just inches away from your ear. The story is not Pulitzer Prize worthy by any means but it doesn't have to be. To funny how some reviewers actually grade a game base solely on the story. There are so many moving parts to a great game and KZ3 has them all. The story does a good job of moving the plot along. After KZ2 I really cared about Sev and Rico. To my joy they are back and better than ever. Sev is a great character that doesn't run from a fight. He will go into the most dire of situations because that is just who he is. The characters are fleshed out more and I, the gamer benefit from it. The Single Player Campaign is outstanding with many memorable chapters. Right now I am thinking about the Mawlr! Yes, this monstrosity is very memorable. One of the many highlights that the SP has to offer. The SP is an adrenaline rush that keeps moving along at a nice pace. Even when it slows down to a stealth like area it doesn't last for long. You'll see what I mean when you get to the Helghan Jungle. There is a good variety of gameplay in the SP portion. There is the Exo which allows you take control of a Exo Mech that has machine guns and rockets. You can run and jump the same way you run as a soldier. The Exo was a lot of fun and I am glad they added it to the SP and MP. There are rail portions of the game that lead you on a predetermined path. These allow you take control of mini guns and unleash lead fury on the Helghast. One of the largest additions is the Jet Pack. This allows you to select put on a Jet Pack and select it like a weapon. Once selected it allows you to jump up high and hover. While hovering the X button gives you a boost of speed that you will need in a few areas. Thankfully the Jet Pack makes an appearance in the MP as well. I found the Jet Pack tricky to control at first but got the hang of it fairly quickly. The Multiplayer is where is where KZ3 excels. There are 6 classes to choose from, Engineer, Marksman, Tactician, Infiltrator and Field Medic. They all have their specialties and enhance the MP. For instance the Engineer, my favorite, allows you to construct a Turret which when fully leveled up has a machine gun and rocket. Also, the Engineer has the repair ability that is nice. You can repair Ammunition Stashes, Exo Mechs and your own Turret. Being an Engineer also gives you the ability to hack an enemies Turret making it fire on the enemy. However, you have to get right next to the Turret if you want to hack it and that can be difficult. The Marksman is the sniper class. This class is one of the best sniper classes I have played in any FPS. The Marksman has the ability to cloak so you are invisible and line up those tough sniper shots. The Tactician allows you to take control and capture spawn areas. The Tactician can also call in a Sentry Droid that floats along side for protection. The Infiltrator, oh man, the most frustrating class in KZ3. This class allows you to disguise yourself to look like your enemy. At it's highest level the disguise can fool your enemy up until they are very close to you. There are ways to see through the disguise however, but I won't ruin it for you. The Field Medic has been done unceremoniously wrong in many MP FPS. However, KZ3 nailed the Field Medic. The Field Medic can revive a fallen comrade. However, once they level up more they can call on a Medi-Droid to protect the Field Medic on the battlefield. The Medi-Droid has guns and can save your life. If you are brought down and bleeding out the Medi-Droid gives you the opportunity at the end of the respawn timer the option to respawn where you fell with full health and ammunition. I have played all the classes and they are all fantastic. KZ3 has a long MP life ahead of it. There are many modes to play as well. You have your typical Death Match called Guerrilla Warfare. There is the phenomenal Warezone which returns from KZ2. This mode mixes many MP game types into one. Rounded off by Operations. KZ3 is by far the best FPS I have played to date. I highly recommend it to anyone. I got my first Platinum with KZ3! Expand
  51. Mar 14, 2011
    10
    This game was a beautiful upgrade from kz2, they made the game play much smoother with an complete addition of story from kz2. Only one tiny problem with this game was how abrupt the game ended.
  52. Mar 14, 2011
    10
    You cannot argue with the storyline and graphics,Incredible.I liek how it starts right after the aftermath of the second game.In effort all the Killzone games are epic and good.I give it a 10 for one of the best sequels of 2011.
  53. Apr 1, 2011
    10
    not sure why the acclaimed "critics" gave this sequel a score lower than 90, i think it is great. i bought dead space 2 and played it but i like Killzone 3 much better. it has great cut-scenes, a decent storyline, a beefy (length) campaign game, cool arsenal of weaponry--including sniper rifles, and many different battle tactics. hope they continue with some nice add-on missions!
  54. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    PROS:
    Awesome multiplayer, stunning graphics (the best seen on console), more settings variations, an enjoyable and not so short single players, with peaks of excellence, and a well made offline coop. The best FPS you can buy on PS3

    CONS:
    maybe the game lacks the feeling of heavy weapons on your arms, and the war is less dirty and a bit more similar to what we have seen in CoD, and it has
    less personality than Killzone 2. Bad finale. Expand
  55. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    KillZone 3 is possibly the best multiplayer FPS I have played. Being a bit of a Call of Duty fan for the past few years and one that only plays Team Deathmatch, KillZone 3 is refreshing and really makes you think. Most FPS have a class system and the difference is usually just a limit to the type of weapon you can use, yes some perks allow for faster movement and silent footsteps etc, but KillZone 3 has 5 very specific classes each with their own unique abilities.

    You will have your favourite and there are many that like to sit invisibly with a sniper rifle picking off runners, but there is some much more to this game than racking up kills. Capturing tactical spawn points can provide you with some extra firepower, jet packs or air strikes and only 1 class can do this the Tactician. The Medic class has the ability to revive fallen comrades but also has a support drone that acts as an early warning system and can hover over your body adding fire power and support.

    The weapons feel great, the maps are fantastic with huge vistas and scenery that takes you to Helghast and makes the multiplayer feel like part of the single player game.

    The single player campaign is great also - much is said these days about the length of a campaign in a shooter but we all know its the online that matters. That said I have found the single player mode just long enough and suitably difficult and varied to keep me challenged and interested in what is coming next.

    This is my favourite shooter at the moment and 2011 has many to come, but for now Black Ops has been relieved of duty.
    Expand
  56. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    Admittedly, I have barely cracked the SP Campaign, as I tend to play either the Single Player OR the Multiplayer component of the First Person Shooters I buy. In this case, I bought KZ3 expressly for the Multiplayer component, and I could not be more satisfied. Having played the previous 2 installments of COD, I grew tired of BlackOps far more quickly than I anticipated. I guess I got my fill of COD online MP with Modern Warfare 1 & 2.. and found myself craving an online multiplayer FPS I could sink my teeth into. I'd finally played KZ2 shortly before KZ3 was released, and in the end, enjoyed it far more than I thought I would, and once I played the Multiplayer beta for KZ3 I was hooked. the KZ3 multiplayer has 8 large and diverse maps, in addition to the 2 extras that came with my pre-order. The maps are generally very large, and encourage different play styles, which is a nice change from the COD style of play for me. Probably closer to the Battlefield series, but I have never managed to get into those for some reason.

    the game sports 5 well balanced classes with a pretty awesome and diverse range of special skills, each of which is essential for successful team based play. I find that most people gravitate towards Marksman (invisi-sniper) or Infiltrator (shotgun runner), leaving the more team-minded to man the Tactician, Engineer and Medic posts. Once I unlocked the 2nd Primary Weapon perk, I found myself more willing to play these support roles, which turn out to be very satisfying. I particularly love the tactician, as without spawn points, you can pretty much say goodbye to any hope of victory in Warzone mode, which is my favorite (though I enjoy them all) Spawn points sometimes come equipped with extra gear such as mortar beacons, jetpacks and exo's, all of which are mad fun and add alot to the gameplay.

    all in all, I can't speak for the Single Player, but KZ3 Multiplayer is my game right now. I'm loving it!
    Expand
  57. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    not quite the complete, amazing package that killzone 2 is, killzone 3 is still awesome fun for multiplayer and the graphics are ridiculously great. easily my favorite of the early 2011 shooters.
  58. Apr 10, 2011
    10
    it's a very special game for the fans of this great game, if you don't like killzone 2, you can give an opportunity to killzone 3 cause is better and the PS move is very exciting, and also one of the greatest FPS multiplayer's
  59. Apr 12, 2011
    10
    Well, I'm a big fan of FPS games. So, Killzone 3 is an awesome game. Although it's the first game in the series that I've played, but it's really fun. The graphics are amazing, storyline is interesting and the gameplay is fantastic with the Brutal Melee feature added. Another thing that I like about the game is mainly the multiplayer. It's becoz you can play with various abilities and guns. This game promises replayability for sure! I think gamers and FPS fans should buy this for their PS3 console. I give it a 10! Expand
  60. Apr 12, 2011
    10
    KZ3 in my opinion is the best FPS ever. The online, the game play, graphics, sound, everything is great. The story mode is a little short but however is the best shooter!!!. This game will be epic I know. This game is something that u must have on your ps3.
  61. May 10, 2011
    10
    this game is actually great people are just saying bad thing because its play station 3 exclusive..
    first play and write a review.
    kill zone 2 is a great game and kill zone as well.. so just sit back and enjoy the game rather than black ops
  62. May 14, 2011
    10
    Get this game! Incredible single player with exciting set-pieces and characters that come to life with the amazing graphics and animations, it does however get a little confusing towards the end of the story. In terms of multiplayer, this stands up with the big dogs like Battlefield and Call Of Duty (which is very poor compared to Killzone 3), the classes and abilities balance the gameplay very well and everything feels fair. You no longer feel like your walking around in a tin can full of oil which was a big complaint in Killzone 2, every weapon feels great and all are meatily satisfying to fire. There is also an option to play the single player in splitscreen co-op which is a lot of fun when you get used to the reduced screen size, however this is not available to play co-op online which would have been a nice touch. Splitscreen online is absent too which was one of the best parts of games like Black Ops and Motorstorm Apocalypse; here's hoping that they will include it in Killzone 4! Overall this is a fantastic A++ game that deserves to be played and appreciated by everyone. Expand
  63. May 19, 2011
    10
    The campaign has a solid story with here and there the predictable storylines. It's a bad vs. good story with some twists in it but it never gets bored. The guns arent so much different for the second part. Big points I give to the graphics and sound: they are just amazing! A real enjoyment for the eyes and ears! This game is just great and so much fun to play with a friend! A must-have in your ps3 collection! Expand
  64. May 22, 2011
    10
    Killzone 3 has, in my opinion, the best muti-player on ps3, much better than Black ops or Home front and better graphics as well. A totally different leveling up system which lets you add unique perks to the class of your choice and very well designed maps with a individual feel to them. If you enjoy online gaming and have a ps3 then this is a must have game...without doubt the most fun i have ever had online! Expand
  65. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    forget all the reviews you have read about this game that gave it below a 9/10. forget all the biased nitpicking and downright prejudice that has been directed at this game. this game is an FPS that is surpassed by none.

    Where do I even begin with this game. I will say, right off the bat, that there is not a single significant flaw in this game. I cannot, by any stretch of the
    imagination, find an issue within this game that is worth mention. this is a purely positive review, not because I have forgotten or neglected the issues, but because there really are none worth focusing on. I will just leave you with 10 things about this game that make it one of the most fantastic FPS games this gen and a game that is definitely worth your time.

    1) the controls. At first I was skeptical about them changing the controls to a more COD like fluidity. I liked the weighty, realistic feel of KZ2. However, these controls do make the game alot more fast paced. Thankfully the realism isnt entirely lost. It has a perfect balance.

    2) the visual and cinematic presentation of the campaign. Killzone 2's campaign was a masterpiece. it brought you to amazing locations, had great atmosphere, lots of action, lots of things going on around you, good pacing, lots of grit, weather effects, and a breathtakingly massive scale. KZ3 manages to improve upon it, making it the most visually impressive game so far this gen. it combines diverse locations, lavishing level design, massive scale, harsh environments, and everything that was amazing about the previous installment. With the 3d aspect added to the mix, this game blows everything out of the water. I guarantee that it will stun you.

    3) The enemy AI. The helghast in this game are very tactical and presents a very authentic, challenging aspect to the game.

    4) the campaign story. Forget all the negative nonsense you have heard about it. The story is well paced and has some memorable, well acted villains. Stahl, played by the legendary Malcolm McDowell, is probably the best new villain I have seen in a game the gen. Every second he is on screen is an immense pleasure. Rico and Sev, characters that many people seem to dislike, have really come into their own and they are really fleshed out in this game. they are pretty likable. The story isn't deeply moving by any means, but it is presented well, paced well, well acted, original, filled with numerous twists, filled with memorable scenes, and it is enjoyable to sit through. It works more as a political/war drama than a character study and it is effective in its job. 5) the "kill moves." The brutal melee attacks in this game not only add a very cool, visceral feel to the campaign; they also allow for some very satisfying kills in the online multiplayer. It is alot more fair, in my opinion, for melee attacks to kill in 1 hit, and I also think its fair that you can't just whip out your knife and make a kill-stab in a matter of a second (yes im referring to you, COD). You are able to kill in one hit, but you must remember that you leave yourself open. I think that this is how all melee should generally be handled in FPS games.

    6) If you recall, the music in KZ2 was brilliant. once again, the score is superb. definitely one of the best this gen.

    7) the destructible environments are even more detailed and dynamic than they were in the last entry.

    8) the online multiplayer. it takes everything that people liked about KZ2's multiplayer and builds upon it. The "operations" missions are something that we havent seen before. there really isnt anything else like them. The leveling system has also been improved, the class system is more balanced, the level design is more intricate, and there are tons of other little improvements here and there.

    9) the campaignâ
    Expand
  66. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    This is the beat game ever made. A Blu Ray rollercoaster of phenomenal graphics and feel of guns . unlike anything ever made. MUah .... this is the bar !
  67. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best game ever! Graphics, physics, shooting, everything! Very highly recommend ! This game has everything, playing in her pleasure. Multiplayer is a mega playable, . Expand
  68. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Годно. Expand
  69. Jul 23, 2011
    10
    Please, do yourself the favor of purchasing this game, beating it 3 times (once on normal difficulty, then in co-op, and once on elite), playing it online for ten hours straight, and then read the reviews on this site. What a load of crap! This game has some of the best action sequences, environments, graphics, gun load outs, and sound of any game that has came out this gen. Better yet, play this game for an hour and then pick up Black Ops and ATTEMPT to play that for an hour. The character movements, animation, fun factor, all of that stuff that is important in a shooter is much more prevalent in KZ3 than it is in COD:BO or any other FPS around today. Now, that is my opinion of course. I do play lots of shooters, but I get burnt out on them extremely quickly. This game, along with Borderlands, is one of the few that I can pick up and play even 5 months after it's release and still enjoy it. The story is the obvious week point as it with most shooters, but don't let that deter you from enjoying this one of many great PS3 exclusives. 9.3/10 Expand
  70. Jan 9, 2012
    10
    Online multiplayer is really fun. The only problem is that their is only 3 modes. It's fantastic to play around with the different classes. Single player is creative enough with action and memorable moments everywhere.
  71. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    So far, as good as many games have been this year, this is the game I had the most "FUN" playing and beating! Solid FPS, Move support is shaky at first but once you get used to it is a lot of fun, definitely worth a play through!
  72. Sep 30, 2011
    10
    Killzone 3 is definitely one of the best fps games on the PS3. The graphics are excellent, the gameplay is awesome and the music is top notch. The single player cleverly loads segments during cutscenes for a seamless experience, and manages to mix things up a bit. There is traditional infantry combat, exoskeletons, jetpacks, space ships which range from frozen tundras to strange green forests. The sluggish controls of killzone 2 have been changed to be more responsive as well, and this works great.

    The multiplayer is superb, with multiple game types. The jetpacks and exos are even usable on some maps! It's sure to have you playing for months.

    Overally Killzone 3 is a great game which improves on its predecessor. Highly recommended.
    Expand
  73. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    LMFAO @ xbox fanboys rating this AMAZING game 0 , This is an Amazing game.. Killzone 2,3 are The BEST FPS game this gen, A little underrated too, i mean how can a game like this get an 7 or 8 while a **** game like call of duty gets a 9 or 10 , believe me.. you MUST buy this game.. Its really fun, the story is also AMAZING! You will really like this game, I highly recommend this game to everyone with PS3! Expand
  74. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    WHY THE **** are xbox fanboys rating this AMAZING game 0 , This is an Amazing game.. Killzone 2,3 are The BEST FPS game this gen, A little underrated too, i mean how can a game like this get an 7 or 8 while a **** game like call of duty gets a 9 or 10 , believe me.. you MUST buy this game.. Its really fun, the story is also AMAZING! You will really like this game, I highly recommend this game to everyone with PS3! Expand
  75. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best and balanced fps game online right now... I must admit i love more K2 because it has more unique features that has been removed but this one its a great one too.
  76. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Killzone 3 is the only game I think I've ever played where it felt like an actual war zone during online combat. (Played every Halo, Gears game, and Call of Duty games. And Killzone 1 & 2) This game has aspects improved upon making it more team based and knowing to help out your teammates with the skills you have and the class you've chosen. The campaign is also a blast! Definitely a must buy for PS3 owners. (As for Killzone 2 as well). Expand
  77. Jan 12, 2012
    10
    I'm giving this game a 10 because it takes the FPS and makes it absolutely beautiful and unique at the same time. This game has THE BEST graphics I've ever seen in a video game (I haven't played uncharted 3 yet). I love the set up of this game and I think the maps are incredible. BUY IT!
  78. Feb 10, 2012
    10
    ill make it short , if you haven't played Killzone yet , than your not a FPS gamer yet . Killzone 3 is the reason why i have a ps3 and ill be this game over and over again . this game has a violent and raw soul
  79. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    This is the best looking FPS game and singleplayer FPS experience this generation has to offer. People who claim Halo is a better game, probably haven't even played Killzone 3 and only believe it's better because of the mass marketing for that title.
  80. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    Amazing game! , I cant believe how some people gave this game such low scores! Its an AWESOME! game.. I recommend this game to every "REAL" gamer out there.
  81. May 18, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best FPS games out there. I gave it a 10 because of the amazing graphics, animations, music and sound effect. I never had problems with any glitches I kept hearing about, so I recommend this game to anybody that's interested in FPS games.
  82. May 29, 2012
    10
    Killzone is a mighty game, literally squeezing the last juice of Playstation 3 console Although the campaign is not overly long, it provides a real fun. The single-player mode can manage various types of vehicles, mechami and use the best weapon to defeat the enemy number one, bezlistosnych Helghast. The strength of production is the multiplayer mode, which takes on the division of the ISA or Helghast. A large number of maps, modes, weapons, and the possibility of selecting a class, should satisfy any geek FPP game. Expand
  83. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Never even having heard of the series, I bought Killzone 2 and 3 after getting my PS3 and I must say I had a blast. I played them in chronological order, but I will review 3 here. When compared to its predecessor, Killzone 3 improves upon several aspects, most notably (to me) the controls: They seem much smoother and thus provide a more immersive battle feeling. The sound effects and voices are great for the most part; dialog is a little cheesy, but it's not overdone. The game continues the visual style of the series, artfully combining SciFi and World War 1 elements (trench warfare anyone?) into a nifty package. The enemy Helghast are reasonably evil and pretty OK AI-wise (although I found myself wondering how they could not spot me cowering in the knee-high vegetation that's right in front of them). Killzone 3's single player campaign is enjoyable and incorporates different surroundings and game mechanics, all of them implemented nicely. While not being much of an online gamer, I enjoyed a lot of good online matches, really liked the different modes they built (especially "Operations"). But to me, the best thing about the game is the couch co op support: You can play the entire campaign with a friend at your place and it's a lot of fun. The developers made it even better in the latest patch by giving people with 3d screens the ability to 2d co op fullscreen (both players see their own 2d fullscreen first person view on the same TV). I am rating the game 10/10 because it really felt to me like it is exactly what the PS3 was designed for: Great visuals, great controls, a not very deep but cool story that is presented as a cinematic experience, great co op and very good online multiplayer. Expand
  84. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    I wish it were a longer campaign, because this was a thrill ride from start to finish, the guns just feel great to shoot.. oh, and don't let the back of the box fool you, it IS co-op campaign offline.
  85. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    If you haven't played killzone 2, you will find the story boring. if you did play then you will find it interesting. Playing the campaign is fun, better than most of the games. Online multiplayer is stunning in every aspect. Graphics are PERFECT. The enviroment is well-detailed. FPS fans, this is a must-have. If you really dont care about the campaign, then go buy the multiplayer-only version from the PS Store for 20$. And believe me, its worth the money. In my opinion its better than black ops, MW3 and BF3. Expand
  86. Oct 8, 2012
    10
    This is a perfect example of how to make an awesome FPS, the gameplay was epic, the sounds in game are amazing and the graphics are top of it's class and even tho it lacks a tiny bit in the reasoning of the stories main plot elements it makes up for this by being just so much fun. And when you add a second player it becomes insanely better as everything does when you're playing with a friend. The online play to is hugely addictive and it involves a lot more teamwork then your normal FPS. Personally i think Call of Duty should learn something from this franchise. Expand
  87. Feb 9, 2013
    10
    I actually love this game, the story mode and multiplayer is awesome!
    Also his epic graphics (that are better than ana other FPS)
    I don't understand why are people who gives low scores to this game, its simply AWESOME!
  88. Feb 3, 2014
    10
    Killzone 3 is one of the greatest shooters I have ever played. I am new to the sony side of things and from what I have seen, this game is better than call of duty, rivals halo, and absolutely buries the gears series. This game is almost perfect...
  89. May 6, 2014
    10
    This is purely my personal opinion. Killzone 3 is a fantastic game which i do believe to be better than Call of Duty, especially for single-player. The controls aren't too hard too pick up, the graphics are just stunning and the story is great. I am glad i got this when it was released, Killzone is probably my favourite franchise.
  90. Feb 28, 2011
    9
    Disclaimer: I have only played a few levels of the Single Player. But I've spent about 14+ hours on multi-player so far and it is fantastic. I didn't really like the heavy controls in Killzone 2 and they fixed that in KZ3! Graphics = awesome! Sound = awesome! As for a multiplayer FPS this one is great!!! I heard the campaign itself isn't that entertaining but I really don't care. I would have bought the game just for the online portion. Expand
  91. May 11, 2011
    9
    Ignore YodaCracker's review, if you check his history he gives all PS3 games incredibly low ratings including giving Little Big Planet 2 a 0/10. He's a troll. Killzone 3 his honestly one of the best FPS games I've played in a while. The Move is incredible (once tweaked and after approx 1.5 hrs practice), I can't go back to DS3, analogs feel sluggish and very inaccurate now) - Move is revolutionary for console FPS games. The MP is amazing! I logged about 10hrs each into Reach and Black Ops MP since launch, about 20hrs in BFBC2 and have played over 7 hrs of K3s multiplayer already, the game is that good! It's probably my fav FPS MP this gen so far. I sincerely hope Sony implements Move into all future 1st/3rd party FPS games because I can't go back to standard controls. The SP is a lot more fun that I expected given what the review sites said, definitely a lot better than Black Ops or MW2s SP, but not quite as good as Reach. If you like FPS games this is among the best there is, I definitely recommend buying it. Expand
  92. Mar 27, 2011
    9
    Killzone 3 is an amazing game. Awesome visuals and very appropriate movements based on what you are carrying or doing at the time. The story is fantastic. It is better than the vast majority of the games I have played, and unlike some other FPS games, this story is one you really should be diving into to see the full potential of Killzone 3. The game is rather difficult, and that is something you will either love or hate. Online play is also great. You will experience some of the most chaotic FPS gameplay you have ever seen to date. Explosions distort your vision, and with the Infiltrator class, you will be forced to stay on your toes. Its exhilarating, and the chaos is compounded when the entire battlefield is targeting one location. Killzone 3 is an outstanding FPS, and those with a PS3 should at least try this one out. It is not for everyone, but FPS lovers should get a big kick out of this one. Expand
  93. Aug 23, 2013
    9
    It's a great game. More of the glorious same. Well, not completely. It has stealth, brutal melee and everything that Call of Duty isn't. My only complaint is that it's too short. I beat this within 7 hours.
  94. Mar 23, 2011
    9
    I don't play FPS very much, but I had to say I did enjoy this one. I played it thru using the Move Sharp Shooter attachment. Moving with the sharpshooter attachment took a little getting use to, but aiming was very accurate. Although mu wrist start to get sort after a few hours (maybe I'm boxing too much lately)

    I can not comment on multiple player as I don't play one line (because I'll
    get killed), but it was was very enjoyable game, a must for anyone that likes rail shooters. Expand
  95. Feb 28, 2011
    9
    This was a fun game, especially with the sharpshooter gun. It wasn't as challenging as KZ2, nor was it as long. However, the multiplayer makes up for it's short length. By the way the 3D mode is mind blowing. Graphics 10, Sound 10, Difficulty 7, Replayability 8, Overall score 9.
  96. Mar 3, 2011
    9
    The Critic score is 85 and the user score is 8.4 (84) so clearly this is a good game. I give it 9 because for me it is the second best first person shooter available on PS3. Call Of Duty: Modern Warfare is the best in my opinion, because it was original, all the sequels have been brilliant but more samey than any other shooter sequels. Story missions as good as Call Of Duty and online as good as Battlefield: Bad Company 2. Astounding graphics, spot on sound effects, intelligent AI, average plot, average voice acting but an excellent addition too the range of PlayStation 3 exclusives. Must Buy. Expand
  97. Mar 23, 2011
    9
    A multiplayer powerhouse. Killzone 3 boasts arguably the nicest graphics on the Playstation and the mechanics have been sped up to match this slicker image. This leaves some of the games trademark weightiness behind movement intact while giving the game a dynamic multiplayer feel. While the single player campaign is enjoyable, though hardly literary genius, the game was clearly designed with multiplayer gameplay in mind which is undoubtedly it's bread and butter. Highly recommended for people who enjoy player vs. player shooters, the bot mode is a nice plus for those without internet or looking for a slightly easier transition towards the at times cutthroat online gameplay. Expand
  98. Feb 23, 2011
    9
    The best so far. Killzone 3 takes what was good from the second, and keeps that feeling with the third. Taking the graphics one step further, as well as the over all combat. And when you ad in the move, preferably with the Sharpshooter, it takes it up again. And on top of that, add 3-D to those who have made the plunge, and reward them for it. With a story that makes you understand your enemy that much better, it makes the over all feeling worth it. Its no Uncharted, but its a damn close second for the PS3. Expand
  99. Jan 15, 2012
    9
    Killzone 3 is a fantastic game, it blew me away with how amazing it is, and almost every issue the first game had has been fixed, the floaty feeling is gone and the controls are tighter rivaling the Call of Duty and Halo series, the graphics are fantastic making this one of the best looking games I've ever played and you can play it in 3D if you have the right requirements, and the soundtrack is great, and the guns and explosions sound awesome, and voice acting has improved but it's still not the best, the story is more interesting and the characters are a little bit more likable, but they are also still not that great, what is great is the amazing gameplay, the campaign is outstanding with intense firefights and awesome set pieces, and it has more variety this go around, from adrenaline inducing vehicle sections, tense stealth sections, and one of, if not the best jet pack section ever, and it also seems longer than most other shooters out there, it also has Playstation Move functionality but I wasn't able to test it out, and the multiplayer is phenomenal, and some of the most unique I've ever played, and requires more teamwork then most other shooters out there, and features a deep RPG like progression system in which you gain experience for everything you do, and when you level up you gain points to spend so you can unlock abilities in the very unique classes, it's fun and addicting, and with a fantastic campaign, cool features, and deep addicting multiplayer, this game can keep you entertained for hundreds of hours, and this is a must own for PS3 owners, and I'll even go as far as to say if you don't have a PS3 then this is the perfect reason to own one, a near perfect shooter that I highly recommend to any and all gamers, a must play. Expand
  100. Sep 27, 2011
    9
    Campaign is great. You cant stop playing. Its immersive like hell. Awesome game, short though.

    Connecting to multiplayer is slow initially, but when your ps3 is connected to the server, online play is working properly. New: Get into a mech-suit or fly with a jet pack. Controls feels a lot more responsive than Killzone 2. There are many new DLC maps to download too.

    Good game!
  101. Mar 21, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers. Single player short review: Killzone 3 is a disappointment.

    This game has all the ingredients of AAA title and yet it fails to become an amazing classic. Visuals are astonishing, make no mistake about that, but a game needs more to keep me wanting more. Gameplay is smooth, but still feels like a corridor shooter. I didn't feel it was story-driven. Everything felt like a showcase of ideas glued together with cutscenes.

    The biggest disapointment is the lenght of the single player campaign, roughly 5 hours is way too short. The ending is anti-climatic and leaves you thinking "wait, what, was that it?!". On top of that I believe developers made a big mistake of putting Rico in charge most of the time - I want to be the man here, I hated "staying on his six" and felt curiously happy and unwilling to help when he got downed. By no means though, did he stop his annoying chatter...

    Now, to sum it up - I'm on my second play-through and would urge you to get the game, because it's definitely worth playing. You'll have fun. But don't expect a classic, because Killzone 3 hasn't lived up to the hype.
    Collapse
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 85 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 85
  2. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    87
    Is Killzone 3 deep enough to snipe PSN players from the COD: Black Ops fold? Probably not. Is Killzone 3 outstanding enough to warrant single-player awards for its narrative? Nope. But let there be no doubt that when it comes to intense gameplay that gives not one spare second for players to catch their breath or laze their way into a routine, Killzone 3 is near the top of the pack. The fact that it's the best-looking game we've seen and happens to support full stereoscopic 3D is just icing on the cake.
  2. 70
    Although the third part of the entire Killzone series is the weakest one it is still a very above-average piece of entertainment every PS3 owner should have this in their collection. [Mar 2011]
  3. Mar 30, 2011
    87
    Killzone 3 is ultimately a flawed yet stunning experience. It gets the production values and the intensity just right. If it lacks anything, it would be a bit of character but fans will find it absolutely thrilling while it lasts.