• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Killzone 3 Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 85 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 972 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Killzone 3 is a sequel to the squad-based shooter series from SCEA.
Buy On
  • Developer: Guerrilla
  • Genre(s): Action, Shooter, Shooter, First-Person, Sci-Fi, Sci-Fi, Arcade
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: M
  • Special Controllers: Move Compatible
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Killzone 3 Official Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 85
  2. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. Feb 18, 2011
    100
    As good as Killzone 2 was, Killzone 3 tops it in every respect. The excellent PlayStation Move controls and stereoscopic 3D support certainly don't hurt either. So if you're looking for an intense and polished sci-fi first person shooter for the PlayStation 3, then Killzone 3 is obviously your game.
  2. Feb 8, 2011
    94
    Killzone 3 is one spectacular game - sure, it's really only doing the basics in terms of gameplay, but it does it in the balls-to-the-walls, damn-the-expense, ultra-intensity manner that only a top-shelf, big-budget, mega-spectacular can.
  3. Mar 9, 2011
    90
    This third episode is more similar to the classical shooter of this generation than its prequel lacking some of the originality of the saga. It remains a major step from a tachnical point of view.
  4. Mar 30, 2011
    87
    Killzone 3 is ultimately a flawed yet stunning experience. It gets the production values and the intensity just right. If it lacks anything, it would be a bit of character but fans will find it absolutely thrilling while it lasts.
  5. Feb 23, 2011
    83
    There are reasons to choose this game over others in the field-namely the heavier-feeling physics, the visual design, and more thoughtful multiplayer options, but I question if it has a distinct enough identity to hold its own without reference or comparison to other titles.
  6. Feb 21, 2011
    80
    Killzone 2 felt like a landmark event that finally gave the PlayStation 3 a world-class first-person shooter that you couldn't play anywhere else. After two years, Killzone 3 hasn't changed enough to reignite all of those feelings, but it's still a thrilling ride when you're alone and a well-designed multiplayer experience, as well.
  7. Mar 21, 2011
    50
    It's precise, practical, ticks boxes and has been too quick to shed its defining credentials; credentials that made the earlier games a must buy for any enthusiast. Killzone 3 feels generic, rushed and greatly unloved by its creators. A huge, huge disappointment.

See all 85 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 253
  1. May 10, 2011
    10
    this game is actually great people are just saying bad thing because its play station 3 exclusive..
    first play and write a review.
    kill zone 2
    this game is actually great people are just saying bad thing because its play station 3 exclusive..
    first play and write a review.
    kill zone 2 is a great game and kill zone as well.. so just sit back and enjoy the game rather than black ops
    Expand
  2. Feb 28, 2011
    10
    Online multiplayer is great. You feel like you are really in the middle of a war.... One of the best shooters i have ever played. Graphics areOnline multiplayer is great. You feel like you are really in the middle of a war.... One of the best shooters i have ever played. Graphics are fantastic! They are really pushing boundaries there. Guerrilla has done it again! Expand
  3. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    kloborgg, kyo1980, and xbox360 users this is how i feel. looking at every fps to hit the market in recent memory ....black ops, battlefield,kloborgg, kyo1980, and xbox360 users this is how i feel. looking at every fps to hit the market in recent memory ....black ops, battlefield, medal of honor.... can killzone3 compete...yes....enough to spend 65$ ...yes.... i don't play fps very well... ok i stink...so botzone is fine by me that make me feel the online experience without getting 1 billion deaths... the game reminds me of halo and halo 2, because of its other world planetary atmosphere...the graphics are awesome, there is junk flying and swirling around you... plus the people big enough i can see and identify what i need to plus the enemies ....the story is as long as everybody else so i really can't mark it down for that.... killzone3 is actually a 9.25 maybe 9.5.... its helped out by being interesting enough to make me want it, and being accessible enough so that even with my suckiness i can play a first person shooter to...and understand what i'm doing ...the little reticule that tells you where you need to go is smart...i'm usually overwhelmed and confused by fps...the GRAPHICS ARE REMARKABLE...explosion and sound are on point... multiplayer connects fine runs fine, loud obnoxious people lol...botzone is sweet...level design is nice... game is 9.25 because i enjoy it 10... it rocks....i am amending my review to add in obvious xbox360 fanboy hatred...metacritic did remove the zero scores however, kloborgg your review bothers me...you only compare killzone 3 to other similar games but seem to forget its its on universe...its not halo, or black ops so if killzone 1 and 2 didn't have 1000 weapons why would killzone 3 ? they also wear bodysuits, black ops and battfield don't maybe that explains the slowness...you have only reviewed 2 games 1 on xbox360 halo you gave a 10... wow on pc. a 10...suddenly your in ps3 giving killzone 3 a 6...your halo review insults halo...your killzone 3 review insults halo yet you gave it a perfect score...you attacked every component of killzone 3 listing it as inferior...that smells of ps3 hatred......like you said at the end of your halo review if you was going to dislike us anyway...hate our game, try and nitpick it, and clown its scores with trash....nobody at sony said its the best fps ever as you claim...like you said leave us alone... killzone 3 is a highly worthy threequel and your reviews along with the three removed 0's is just hatred and spite...nothing you said gives ANY indications you were after any other verdict....botzone is included for people like me...you asked i'm answering Expand
  4. Mar 5, 2011
    9
    THE MOVE IS THE FUTURE !
    For me the ability to point at the enemy and take a perfectly aimed shot using the move controller is the most
    THE MOVE IS THE FUTURE !
    For me the ability to point at the enemy and take a perfectly aimed shot using the move controller is the most realistic, satisfying and fun way to shoot the enemy, sure it takes some practice at first but it soon feels like second nature. The game took me about 7 or 8 hours to complete and every moment was impressive from the excellent story line and best quality scripting and voice acting I've ever heard in a game of this type and believe me I've pretty much played them all.
    The graphics are sublime and easily give the present top end pc games a run for their money, the controls have been made to feel much more responsive and intuitive and when you need to run you move faster than you would in any of the COD games. The weapons in the game all feel solid and the close quarters combat is really brutal and the best yet for any fps that I've seen.
    It's been a while since I played a game which I enjoyed as much as this and if I had anything negative to add it would be that I didn't want the campaign to end but I'm looking forward to multi-player regardless.
    Any rational fps fans of should get this game. Graphics=10 Story=8 Game-play=9 Overall=9
    Expand
  5. Apr 11, 2011
    8
    this game series is one of the reasons why i think PS3 is better than Xbox i mean they have Halo and we have killzone the story is lacking butthis game series is one of the reasons why i think PS3 is better than Xbox i mean they have Halo and we have killzone the story is lacking but the online and skirmish mode is where this game really shines with amazing graphics fluid controls and a mode for those that dont want to get destroyed online can just play against bots, not sure about everyone else but the PSmove feature in this game does not appeal to me. this game has flawless graphics and is a must buy for anyone and you will not be dissapointed Expand
  6. Mar 16, 2011
    8
    Killzone 2 is one of my favorite all-time games. Thankfully Killzone 3 passes the torch nicely with even better shooting mechanics andKillzone 2 is one of my favorite all-time games. Thankfully Killzone 3 passes the torch nicely with even better shooting mechanics and gameplay. The story and characters are still mediocre and I would've preferred to get the story through progressive gameplay rather than watching a cutscene but they serve the game well (and there's less laughable cursing). Unlike KZ2 unfortunately the campaign is only about 6 hours (HALF the time of KZ2's campaign) which still makes this a more worthwhile purchase for multiplayer fans rather than single=player fans. Single player gamers should still rent it, but it's disappointing to have what was such a great paced campaign end so abruptly. Expand
  7. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    This game just copies CoD in many ways. The crosshair is completely copied from CoD. And in my opinion, the guns look very bad. Never ever buyThis game just copies CoD in many ways. The crosshair is completely copied from CoD. And in my opinion, the guns look very bad. Never ever buy this game, ever. Of course, I don't play it but I have seen gameplay. The graphics are terrible. In short, never EVER buy or play this game, even if your friend wants you to play it or recommends you. Expand

See all 253 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.