• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 85 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 864 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Killzone 3 is a sequel to the squad-based shooter series from SCEA.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 85
  2. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. Feb 18, 2011
    100
    As good as Killzone 2 was, Killzone 3 tops it in every respect. The excellent PlayStation Move controls and stereoscopic 3D support certainly don't hurt either. So if you're looking for an intense and polished sci-fi first person shooter for the PlayStation 3, then Killzone 3 is obviously your game.
  2. Feb 8, 2011
    94
    Killzone 3 is one spectacular game - sure, it's really only doing the basics in terms of gameplay, but it does it in the balls-to-the-walls, damn-the-expense, ultra-intensity manner that only a top-shelf, big-budget, mega-spectacular can.
  3. Mar 9, 2011
    90
    This third episode is more similar to the classical shooter of this generation than its prequel lacking some of the originality of the saga. It remains a major step from a tachnical point of view.
  4. Mar 30, 2011
    87
    Killzone 3 is ultimately a flawed yet stunning experience. It gets the production values and the intensity just right. If it lacks anything, it would be a bit of character but fans will find it absolutely thrilling while it lasts.
  5. Feb 23, 2011
    83
    There are reasons to choose this game over others in the field-namely the heavier-feeling physics, the visual design, and more thoughtful multiplayer options, but I question if it has a distinct enough identity to hold its own without reference or comparison to other titles.
  6. Feb 21, 2011
    80
    Killzone 2 felt like a landmark event that finally gave the PlayStation 3 a world-class first-person shooter that you couldn't play anywhere else. After two years, Killzone 3 hasn't changed enough to reignite all of those feelings, but it's still a thrilling ride when you're alone and a well-designed multiplayer experience, as well.
  7. Mar 21, 2011
    50
    It's precise, practical, ticks boxes and has been too quick to shed its defining credentials; credentials that made the earlier games a must buy for any enthusiast. Killzone 3 feels generic, rushed and greatly unloved by its creators. A huge, huge disappointment.

See all 85 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 255
  1. May 10, 2011
    10
    this game is actually great people are just saying bad thing because its play station 3 exclusive..
    first play and write a review.
    kill zone 2
    this game is actually great people are just saying bad thing because its play station 3 exclusive..
    first play and write a review.
    kill zone 2 is a great game and kill zone as well.. so just sit back and enjoy the game rather than black ops
    Expand
  2. Feb 25, 2011
    10
    Great game, while campaign could have been done better, the Multiplayer is Incredible and the graphics are stunning, a must buy for FPSGreat game, while campaign could have been done better, the Multiplayer is Incredible and the graphics are stunning, a must buy for FPS lovers! also a good way to get into the FPS genre. Expand
  3. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    kloborgg, kyo1980, and xbox360 users this is how i feel. looking at every fps to hit the market in recent memory ....black ops, battlefield,kloborgg, kyo1980, and xbox360 users this is how i feel. looking at every fps to hit the market in recent memory ....black ops, battlefield, medal of honor.... can killzone3 compete...yes....enough to spend 65$ ...yes.... i don't play fps very well... ok i stink...so botzone is fine by me that make me feel the online experience without getting 1 billion deaths... the game reminds me of halo and halo 2, because of its other world planetary atmosphere...the graphics are awesome, there is junk flying and swirling around you... plus the people big enough i can see and identify what i need to plus the enemies ....the story is as long as everybody else so i really can't mark it down for that.... killzone3 is actually a 9.25 maybe 9.5.... its helped out by being interesting enough to make me want it, and being accessible enough so that even with my suckiness i can play a first person shooter to...and understand what i'm doing ...the little reticule that tells you where you need to go is smart...i'm usually overwhelmed and confused by fps...the GRAPHICS ARE REMARKABLE...explosion and sound are on point... multiplayer connects fine runs fine, loud obnoxious people lol...botzone is sweet...level design is nice... game is 9.25 because i enjoy it 10... it rocks....i am amending my review to add in obvious xbox360 fanboy hatred...metacritic did remove the zero scores however, kloborgg your review bothers me...you only compare killzone 3 to other similar games but seem to forget its its on universe...its not halo, or black ops so if killzone 1 and 2 didn't have 1000 weapons why would killzone 3 ? they also wear bodysuits, black ops and battfield don't maybe that explains the slowness...you have only reviewed 2 games 1 on xbox360 halo you gave a 10... wow on pc. a 10...suddenly your in ps3 giving killzone 3 a 6...your halo review insults halo...your killzone 3 review insults halo yet you gave it a perfect score...you attacked every component of killzone 3 listing it as inferior...that smells of ps3 hatred......like you said at the end of your halo review if you was going to dislike us anyway...hate our game, try and nitpick it, and clown its scores with trash....nobody at sony said its the best fps ever as you claim...like you said leave us alone... killzone 3 is a highly worthy threequel and your reviews along with the three removed 0's is just hatred and spite...nothing you said gives ANY indications you were after any other verdict....botzone is included for people like me...you asked i'm answering Expand
  4. Mar 15, 2011
    9
    killzone 3 is the most complete shooter experience you will find on the playstation 3 to date. with improved controls and graphics over itskillzone 3 is the most complete shooter experience you will find on the playstation 3 to date. with improved controls and graphics over its predecessor, it clearly deserves a place in your game library. Move compatibility, 3D support, online and offline multiplayer, Eye Candy, this game will withstand the test of time.
    the game was built around coop mode but with the disappointing split screen only coop mode, it gives you the impression the game was rushed out. nevertheless killzone 3 is clearly a better choice over 20$ coop games you may find at the bargain bin. its up to the consumer to decide if they want a mediocre experience or a fantastic and adrenalin heart pumping experience with killzone 3.

    be warned the experience might make your head spin.
    Expand
  5. Sep 20, 2011
    8
    KZ3 is a worthy successor to KZ2. The single player campaign is somewhat short but it is solid. Online game play is a definite improvementKZ3 is a worthy successor to KZ2. The single player campaign is somewhat short but it is solid. Online game play is a definite improvement over KZ2. Introduction of ecto skeleton and jet packs makes the online game play more fun. It was good decision on Gorilla games to introduce fixed re spawn points on the maps. This decision makes the game play more balanced compared to KZ2. Good game overall. Expand
  6. Jul 31, 2012
    8
    I don't think the PlayStation 3 has ever had quite such a rounded, satisfactory package as this, with this level of polish, refinement andI don't think the PlayStation 3 has ever had quite such a rounded, satisfactory package as this, with this level of polish, refinement and pure, simple, unpretentious action. This really good firstperson shooter game. Online game, gameplay, visuals and graphics are amazing. But the story aint so good. Expand
  7. May 10, 2011
    0
    perfect example of a developer trying to codify their franchise...KZ2 was EPIC, imo the best shooter on the PS3 to date but this, this is aperfect example of a developer trying to codify their franchise...KZ2 was EPIC, imo the best shooter on the PS3 to date but this, this is a mess, it's half the game that was KZ2, made for noobs played by noobs, awful just bad bad bad...GG hang your head in shame... Expand

See all 255 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.