• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Killzone HD Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 59 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Killzone HD is a first-person shooter in which players assume the role of elite soldiers defending a colonial planet that has fallen under siege.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Oct 28, 2012
    75
    A just correct remake, with a lot of room for improvement. It does fix some issues present in the original game and improves the textures, but still it feels far from other HD remakes. One way or another, it is indeed the best way to get involved with the beginning of the series.
  2. Oct 29, 2012
    70
    Though there are issues with Killzone HD, it should be remembered that this is an HD port of a last gen title, not a complete remake, so some bugs should be expected. For fans of the Killzone franchise, or FPS fans on a tight budget, this is well worth playing.
  3. Nov 30, 2012
    65
    It's this lack of imagination in environmental design that takes Killzone down a notch. [Issue#225, p.83]
  4. Nov 13, 2012
    60
    Technically speaking, Killzone HD is a good remake. But it's too hard to play such an old FPS with other masterpieces available.
  5. Dec 18, 2012
    60
    Visually underwhelming. [Jan 2013, p.81]
  6. Dec 23, 2012
    58
    Sony's infamous Halo-beater was gorgeous and clunky years ago; now it's just unattractive and clunky, even in HD. [Jan 2013, p.104]
  7. Nov 22, 2012
    30
    A substandard, lazy port only serves to highlight how dated Killzone HD feels. What could have been a brilliant reimagining of the originals dark, futuristic story in a more modern game engine instead brings back memories of yesteryear. Dated shooting mechanics, busted damage models and corridor-layouts with illusions of larger, open environments are only saved by the visual style and the sound engineering. Unfortunately, that's not enough to create an enjoyable gaming experience.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Jul 6, 2014
    10
    There isn't much more for me to say. Read my review on the original release. Kill-Zone H.D. offers less technical problems and a higherThere isn't much more for me to say. Read my review on the original release. Kill-Zone H.D. offers less technical problems and a higher resolution, though there's the obvious that there happens to be no more online support. Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2012
    9
    A great idea remaster a classic as Killzone, was undoubtedly one of the best games for the PS2 and is now in HD on PSN. Just need toA great idea remaster a classic as Killzone, was undoubtedly one of the best games for the PS2 and is now in HD on PSN. Just need to remastericen Resident Evil 2 is a good chance to enjoy this game. No doubt the video quality you have is poor and is about the same as the PS2 version, so I had to increase you a little more quality but should also put some more as more players online or increase you new maps. A classic game for PS3 Collapse
  3. Oct 9, 2013
    8
    When Killzone first released on the PS2, it was known as a game that didn't deliver on its promise of killing the Halo franchise. Believe me,When Killzone first released on the PS2, it was known as a game that didn't deliver on its promise of killing the Halo franchise. Believe me, it didn't. The game was marred by a shaky framerate and terrible AI. However, the was still very enjoyable, with a great storyline and a great selection of weapons. Rather than rehash a review I've already written of the PS2 version, I'm instead going to list what makes this version different (and in some ways, much better).

    The PS2 version obviously looked too good for the hardware, and when you start up Killzone HD, you can see why. The game is beautiful. Sure, it's dated by todays standards, but it still looks damn good. The animations are still as impressive as ever. Gone is a lot of the pop-in, and the game runs at a steady framerate, feeling buttery smooth compared to the original. The textures are crisp, and so are the models. The facial features for Templar, Luger, Hakha, and Rico are outright amazing during the menu selection. You'll probably wonder how this even ran on the PS2 at all (it barely did). The smooth framerate is a HUGE step up from the PS2 version, because not only did it make the game LOOK bad, it also made it PLAY terrible. Now, the aiming is corrected and you don't have to endure slow-motion gunfights and cinematic setpieces.

    The AI is still broken. Most of the guys just stand there, waiting for you to pump bullets into them just as they did in the original. The difficulty spike is still there in the later missions (as in, grenade launcher Helghast out of nowhere killing you right before another checkpoint). The awkward animations are still there for your allies and enemies. It's good that they fixed the problem with the aiming, but the AI still being dumb still hurts the gameplay a lot. Still, nothing is as bad as...

    No Online multiplayer. Yes, you can still splitscreen with a friend and take on the AI, but the AI is so braindead that you'll just be fighting for more kills instead of actually trying to stay alive. Multiplayer servers wouldn't be populated, but at least, if you wanted, you could hop online every now and then and maybe find a game. The multiplayer is impressive because it has a good variety of game modes and maps, but without online, it just seems pointless. After beating the campaign, there just isn't much else to do since online is gone, which kills the replay factor.

    So, overall, the HD improved the visuals, framerate, and aiming, but kept the bad AI and took out the multiplayer. If that sounds like a fair tradeoff for $15, have at it. It's still a good shooter. Great, even. Just held back by the AI and lack of online. I would suggest playing it, definitely, but do expect the problems I have listed. If you can live with bad AI and a game that's over with when you beat the singleplayer for $15, then by all means, get this game.

    +Sharper visuals
    +Less pop-in
    +Smooth Framerate
    +Smooth Aiming
    -AI still sucks
    -No Online Multiplayer

    Overall: 8/10
    Expand
  4. Mar 26, 2013
    7
    The first Killzone was very good at its time, but even then there was some very annoying mistakes. There were bugs everywhere, and the oneThe first Killzone was very good at its time, but even then there was some very annoying mistakes. There were bugs everywhere, and the one player campaign was too monotone, so it got boring really easily. Of course, they couldn't change the gameplay itself, so I don't consider it a mistake, but they should have fixed at least the graphic bugs. Expand
  5. Dec 13, 2013
    7
    Killzone HD is a decent experience. Back when it was made, the game was fun, yet not spectacular. The game is still fun, but just feelsKillzone HD is a decent experience. Back when it was made, the game was fun, yet not spectacular. The game is still fun, but just feels somewhat outdated. Expand
  6. Aug 31, 2013
    7
    This is actually a quite conflicting game to review. So I will simply list the factors I like and don't like, and then you can judge forThis is actually a quite conflicting game to review. So I will simply list the factors I like and don't like, and then you can judge for yourself:

    + Fun Gameplay
    + Good Story
    + Nice Characters
    + Once unlocked, being able to play as ANY character in the next chapter.
    + Button remapping. Not completely custom, but a great feature none the less.
    - Cut-scenes are of poor quality. They appear murky and turbid.
    - Voice acting quality is quite poor too.
    - Voice acting is not great, especially on AI enemies.
    - Boss battles are not special. At all.
    - Missions are repetitive at times.
    - Minor graphical bugs.

    As a game, I give Killzone a 7.3, but as a remake, I give it 6.2.

    But since this is the only way that I've played Killzone, I will give it the collected score of 7 (since gameplay and story outweigh the visuals in my opinion).
    Expand