Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 49
  2. Negative: 1 out of 49
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    70
    The Kingdom Hearts series has aged and this just doesn't feel as much fun as it used to do. But if you're a fan, this is still worth checking out.
  2. Oct 11, 2013
    70
    While Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 ReMIX is certainly not the perfect introduction to the series that newcomers may have expected, it does a decent job of recapturing the magic of the original release in glorious high-definition.
  3. Sep 29, 2013
    70
    This HD remake offers a lot of bang for your buck with hours upon hours of gameplay. Although it's just the main game that truly delivers a good combination of story, fan service and combat. The other two titles doesn't even come close to the level of the original, which is a shame.
  4. Sep 18, 2013
    70
    Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 Remix offers a wide look at the first chapters of the series and, even if the collection doesn’t cover the whole saga, it’s worth playing. Nevertheless the lack of extra content makes the game mostly directed to those that haven’t played the saga yet and want to catch up.
  5. Sep 10, 2013
    70
    This compilation is an excellent opportunity for those wishing to explore the series without missing a beat of the script, in addition to providing first titles never released in Europe. The port is of good quality and we appreciate being back in the world of Kingdom Hearts, in HD and with reworked music and various improvements to the gameplay.
  6. Sep 10, 2013
    70
    The three experiences complement one another with unique elements and welcome context that is a treat for longtime fans and newcomers alike; plus, there's enough variety to keep everyone engaged for the 50 or 60 hours it can easily take to absorb everything.
  7. Dec 12, 2013
    60
    Kingdom Hearts 1.5 HD Remix will probably not convince non-fans of the series. It’s the same type of cozy Disney/Square-Enix mix as always but also with the same type of bad controls and unbalanced difficulty level as the original.
  8. Sep 13, 2013
    60
    It just about passes muster as a stopgap release to tide fans over until the long-awaited Kingdom Hearts 3, but those looking to rekindle fond memories may find nostalgia's bubble all too easily pricked.
  9. Nov 4, 2013
    50
    The nostalgia present in the Disney worlds is a treat for all, and it's easy to get attached to the cast. However, there's very little about the gameplay that impresses, and those bits that do try and get away from the uninteresting battles are frequently interrupted or still have issues plaguing them.
  10. Oct 8, 2013
    50
    Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 ReMIX is, without question, the best version of Kingdom Hearts to date. But it also serves as an excellent reminder that the things we love aren't always built to last.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 278 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 45
  2. Negative: 4 out of 45
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    9
    HD and Nostalgia? What else could you want.... The love and passion in the story is breathtaking. Sure the game has some things that couldHD and Nostalgia? What else could you want.... The love and passion in the story is breathtaking. Sure the game has some things that could have been modernized a bit, or added in in the CGI area but it's nothing short of spectacular. Full Review »
  2. Sep 13, 2013
    2
    Love Kingdom Hearts....best fantasy for gamers....of course if we could go anywhere or be anything this game covers it. The only problem isLove Kingdom Hearts....best fantasy for gamers....of course if we could go anywhere or be anything this game covers it. The only problem is it's outdated; granted the HD helps brighten it up, but trying to get through this game on proud mode with the camera issues (esp during boss levels) is a joke and an atrocity. Two hits and done, you don't manually keep the camera where you want and you are done. 11 years is a long time because I was very excited but after three frustrating days with a luck based inconsistent hard mode and camera issues, I'm just waiting for GTA V to surpass the time until the PS4. Sadly enough, for me, Kingdom Hearts doesn't do it anymore. Full Review »
  3. Sep 14, 2013
    4
    Coming into this series as a new player. I was rather disappointed. While the game's use of Disney characters and themes is charming,Coming into this series as a new player. I was rather disappointed. While the game's use of Disney characters and themes is charming, everything else feels really dated and obsolete.

    Gameplay wise you have a bad camera, awkward movement, terrible platforming sections, a completely boring travel mini-game and uninspired combat. Equipping basic items is a chore, there is no way to compare weapons when you purchase them and many in game decisions are made without any context. I find myself running away from the awful combat a lot because of all the back and forth between level sections caused by the game's inherent lack of direction or guidance. The levels themselves are very small and feel cramped; especially when you're constantly being jumped by a ton of small enemies.

    Story wise, I'm sad to say that the Disney characters completely outshine the Square Enix characters. The protagonist is boring, there are plenty of plotholes, and the game's pacing seems really off. The voice acting is superb for the Disney characters but again, terrible for the Square Enix ones. The music is really jarring and repetitive, which is a shame when you consider that Disney has this huge library of musical scores from all these different franchises to fall back on.

    Graphically, the game is a mix of good and bad. Most character models look really nicely done, but when the camera zooms in on faces and the blur comes into play you can really tell it's an old game. While the enemy models look really polished,a lot of the backgrounds and items in the background seem to have low resolution textures.

    All in all, I think this game relies way too much on nostalgia, as is evident by the majority of reviews on metacritic. This is a mediocre game at best, and the fact that Square Enix wants $40 for what seems like a rather minor graphical update makes me feel a little bit sad.
    Full Review »