Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 226 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In KINGDOM HEARTS HD 1.5 ReMIX, players can indulge in the KINGDOM HEARTS universe once again with Sora, Riku and the timeless cast of Disney characters, including Mickey, Donald and Goofy. The game marks the first time a KINGDOM HEARTS title has made its way onto the PlayStation 3 system. The fully remastered HD compilation includes KINGDOM HEARTS FINAL MIX, previously exclusive to the Japanese market, and KINGDOM HEARTS Re:Chain of Memories. The compilation also features HD cinematic story videos from KINGDOM HEARTS 358/2 Days, enhanced gameplay mechanics and PlayStation 3 system trophies. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 49
  2. Negative: 1 out of 49
  1. 95
    There is a certain magic present here that a decade has only made stronger. Newcomers and fans alike will find enjoyment in this collection and you won’t able to help smiling at plenty of moments, even if you’ve seen them play out before.
  2. Oct 7, 2013
    85
    This will be the most complete Kingdom Hearts game ever. And it’s in HD! Finally we can go back and fight with Sora, Donald and Goofy. The disappointing aspect of the package is the lack of Kingdom Hearts II, while 358/2 Days feels a bit strange.
  3. Sep 11, 2013
    84
    Just like in the first go around, there’s a lot to do in this game.
  4. There’s a wealth of new content here, and it’s all been given the love and care this beloved franchise deserves. Whether you’re a veteran, or somebody who doesn’t know the business end of a keyblade, give this a shot. [October 2013, p81]
  5. Sep 19, 2013
    80
    A fantastic collection of three of the earliest Kingdom Hearts games and stories. There isn’t a mountain of must-play new material here, but the updated visuals, bonus content, adjustable difficulty, and trophy support for all three games should make a repeat playthrough of the games as satisfying as the first.
  6. Sep 16, 2013
    75
    Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 Remix offers a great opportunity to live the beginnings of an epic saga. Even if it didn't include Chain of Memories and 358/2, this would be a great experience for all those that missed its launch 10 years ago and for those who did play it and fell in love with its story and characters.
  7. Sep 12, 2013
    40
    Kingdom Hearts 1.5 HD Remix is full of beautifully animated worlds and nostalgic throwbacks to classic Disney movies. Unfortunately, it brings virtually nothing new or fresh to this aging series.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 37
  2. Negative: 3 out of 37
  1. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    Starting to play now I was waiting for the last game on ps3 cd then realise was a story...but starting to play number 1 till 2...merry Christmas everyone Expand
  2. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    I have never played Kingdom Hearts before, but now it was an incredible experience on Ps3. If you have a playstation, then it is (and the 2.5 remix) a must-have. I'm really happy, that they've released this game for the current gen. Expand
  3. Sep 11, 2013
    10
    Game is everything it was and then some. The updated graphics make everything feel smooth and the overall gameplay feels better with the improvements. One of the things I am most happy to see is simply the new action button being triangle like 2 instead of having the attack switch to it. Wish I could actually play 358/2 days but hearing the story was fun too. Hopefully enix will release KH2 final mix with BBS and maybe D3 with it as well. Expand
  4. Sep 27, 2013
    9
    Kingdom Hearts holds up very well. This game was amazing back when it came out, now that it is updated with HD textures and more moves and weapons have been added, it is even better today. This game is a must have for everyone! Expand
  5. Nov 22, 2013
    8
    Its so fun! Story is huge! Combat is better! Looks gorgeous! Just play it.

    Not a fan of playing as a kid, though I understand why.
    Platforming is iffy. Expand
  6. Sep 18, 2013
    8
    compared to the original its way better but the jumping is still weird. graphic are good the hack and slash game play is still as awesome. and we got rechain of memories along with it so its definitely better Collapse
  7. Dec 18, 2013
    2
    I tried the first game and never got to the other games/videos on the disc.
    I rarely buy new games but this one I bought new from day one,
    that's how excited I was. But after a while a noticed the gameplay is pretty boring and repetitive, it's just slow button bashing (you can bash fast but the character won't swing the giant key any faster). And what's worse is that the camera is pretty bad, it's supposed to be better then the original but it's still pretty annoying and I couldn't control it properly.
    I especially expected the story to be more interesting and engaging but I was disappointed. It was very slow movies, a cliché and pretty boring to be honest.
    Big disappointment.
    Expand

See all 37 User Reviews