Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 ReMIX Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 321 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In KINGDOM HEARTS HD 1.5 ReMIX, players can indulge in the KINGDOM HEARTS universe once again with Sora, Riku and the timeless cast of Disney characters, including Mickey, Donald and Goofy. The game marks the first time a KINGDOM HEARTS title has made its way onto the PlayStation 3 system.In KINGDOM HEARTS HD 1.5 ReMIX, players can indulge in the KINGDOM HEARTS universe once again with Sora, Riku and the timeless cast of Disney characters, including Mickey, Donald and Goofy. The game marks the first time a KINGDOM HEARTS title has made its way onto the PlayStation 3 system. The fully remastered HD compilation includes KINGDOM HEARTS FINAL MIX, previously exclusive to the Japanese market, and KINGDOM HEARTS Re:Chain of Memories. The compilation also features HD cinematic story videos from KINGDOM HEARTS 358/2 Days, enhanced gameplay mechanics and PlayStation 3 system trophies. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 49
  2. Negative: 1 out of 49
  1. 95
    There is a certain magic present here that a decade has only made stronger. Newcomers and fans alike will find enjoyment in this collection and you won’t able to help smiling at plenty of moments, even if you’ve seen them play out before.
  2. Oct 7, 2013
    85
    This will be the most complete Kingdom Hearts game ever. And it’s in HD! Finally we can go back and fight with Sora, Donald and Goofy. The disappointing aspect of the package is the lack of Kingdom Hearts II, while 358/2 Days feels a bit strange.
  3. Sep 11, 2013
    84
    Just like in the first go around, there’s a lot to do in this game.
  4. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Sep 8, 2013
    80
    There’s a wealth of new content here, and it’s all been given the love and care this beloved franchise deserves. Whether you’re a veteran, or somebody who doesn’t know the business end of a keyblade, give this a shot. [October 2013, p81]
  5. Sep 19, 2013
    80
    A fantastic collection of three of the earliest Kingdom Hearts games and stories. There isn’t a mountain of must-play new material here, but the updated visuals, bonus content, adjustable difficulty, and trophy support for all three games should make a repeat playthrough of the games as satisfying as the first.
  6. Sep 16, 2013
    75
    Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 Remix offers a great opportunity to live the beginnings of an epic saga. Even if it didn't include Chain of Memories and 358/2, this would be a great experience for all those that missed its launch 10 years ago and for those who did play it and fell in love with its story and characters.
  7. Sep 12, 2013
    40
    Kingdom Hearts 1.5 HD Remix is full of beautifully animated worlds and nostalgic throwbacks to classic Disney movies. Unfortunately, it brings virtually nothing new or fresh to this aging series.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 50
  2. Negative: 4 out of 50
  1. Sep 11, 2013
    10
    Game is everything it was and then some. The updated graphics make everything feel smooth and the overall gameplay feels better with theGame is everything it was and then some. The updated graphics make everything feel smooth and the overall gameplay feels better with the improvements. One of the things I am most happy to see is simply the new action button being triangle like 2 instead of having the attack switch to it. Wish I could actually play 358/2 days but hearing the story was fun too. Hopefully enix will release KH2 final mix with BBS and maybe D3 with it as well. Expand
  2. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    i love kingdom hearts.actually kingdom hearts the most amazing game ever ,everyone should play it ^_^
    thanks to the creatures im so exiting
    i love kingdom hearts.actually kingdom hearts the most amazing game ever ,everyone should play it ^_^
    thanks to the creatures im so exiting for Kingdom hearts 3
    Expand
  3. Jun 9, 2015
    10
    Game: Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 Remix
    Genre: RPG-Action
    Developer: Squareenix/Disney System: Playstation 3 (PS3) Total Score: 97/100
    Game: Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 Remix
    Genre: RPG-Action
    Developer: Squareenix/Disney
    System: Playstation 3 (PS3)
    Total Score: 97/100
    Value Score: 97/10

    • Story: 10/10
    • Characters: 10/10
    • GamePlay: 10/10
    • Graphics: 9/10
    • Sound: 10/10
    • Music: 10/10
    • Length: 10/10
    • Replay Value: 8/10
    • Player Value: 10/10

    Pros
    +Includes Kingdom Hearts 1 Remix, Kingdom Hearts Re:Chain of Memories as two playable games both with trophy support and remastered in HD.
    +Includes the Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days but as a 3 hour movie.
    +Remastered music for all three pieces of content
    +Content never before released in the west are included such as extra cards in Chain of Memories and Final Mix content in Kingdom Hearts 1 which include alternate colors for enemies, new bosses and cutscenes along with changes to items and abilities.
    +Three Playstation 3 themes are included
    +Proud mode difficulty added to both Kingdom Hearts 1 and Chain of Memories

    Cons
    -Some FPS drops in Chain of Memories
    -Pixelation during cutscenes in Chain of Memories
    -The Final Mix cutscenes in the western versions of Kingdom Hearts HD Final Mix do not have voice overs but are instead under subtitles
    Expand
  4. Oct 10, 2013
    8
    I would have rated this higher if the price was at least $10 cheaper. For me, $40 was worth it. I haven’t played KH since the original cameI would have rated this higher if the price was at least $10 cheaper. For me, $40 was worth it. I haven’t played KH since the original came out about 11 years ago, I’ve never played the Final Mix version, never played Chain of Memories of the other game included, and I have small kids who loved watching me play. Others may find the asking price a bit steep considering they mostly sharpened the graphics of a couple of games that were already released.

    Still, I enjoyed the Final Mix version of the first Kingdom Hearts a great deal. I like the tweaks to the gameplay, I like the changes to the synthesis shop and I like the new villains they added to each world that give you rare drops and require some strategy to beat. Farming for items to use in synthesis did not feel like an unbearable chore and I did things in this version that I never did in the original, like make the Ultima Weapon and beat Phantom. And the Sephiroth fight is still one of the most memorable boss fights ever, IMO. He’s tougher here than he was in FF7.

    That being said, I’m not a fan of Re: Chain of Memories. The gameplay is confusing and lame. I read it was card-based and thought that meant some sort of turn-based or strategic system, but you still have to run Sora around a 3-D plane as in the first game and hit the attack button, only now you also have to pay attention to what card in your deck is selected. So your basic keyblade attacks are now cards and have different values that have to be higher than the enemy’s attack card, and there are also tons of other cards you keep getting, which requires you to manage your card deck since you can only take a limited of cards into battle, etc. It’s tedious and makes you wish you were playing the first game.

    Still, some people will like it and it’s a whole extra game included with the package, so I won’t fault Square for it being there. Likewise with the third game, which isn’t actually a game but essentially a cutscene viewer of movies from the third game in the series. From what I hear, the third game was not very good and we’re not missing much by it not being included. I still haven’t watched the movies b/c at some point I plan of forcing myself to finish Chain of Memories, but hey, it’s an extra provided in the package.

    Bottom line is, if you were a fan of the first game and have never played Final Mix, you should get this. If you’re new to the series, you should probably rent, get a used copy or wait for a sale. KH:FM is not a perfect game by any means, but overall it is a lot of fun and something I think any ARPG fan can enjoy if they can get past the Disney characters.
    Expand
  5. Nov 18, 2014
    8
    Amazing game but not very exciting for KH Fans. 1 reason is because there's only 1 game of interest which is KH1FM and even though its a greatAmazing game but not very exciting for KH Fans. 1 reason is because there's only 1 game of interest which is KH1FM and even though its a great game there's not much here to be excited about other than just to replay the game for the nostalgic memories and to fight the secret boss. My personal reason for playing this is for nostalgia for the story for the fun Boss Battles and the extras Final Mix has to offer but also because I love getting trophies.

    Gameplay - If you've played Kingdom Hearts before its exactly the samething. The difference is you get new Keyblades new abilities and you get to fight new Heartless as well as a secret boss. If you haven't played KH before you might love this game.The gameplay is good for a 2002 game. KH358/2 Days has no gameplay you just watch 2 hours worth of cutscenes for the Games Story but you get 6 Trophies in the process I don't know about you but those 6 trophies makes me feel accomplished.

    Story - Maybe I'm being bias but I love the story for Kingdom Hearts I newcomers might think its cliche but I love it. I can't say the same for Kingdom Hearts Re:Chain of Memories I think Sora was way too dramatic and his voice was annoying in this game. The story was okay because Riku was in it and so was the badass group called OrganizationXIII but Sora Donald & Goofy with their friendship speeches annoyed the hell out of me. 358/2 Days has a very good story buy a DS and play the original game you'll love it.

    Graphics - Kingdom Hearts 1 looks amazing love the new HD Graphics but Re:COM I felt didn't really need HD Graphics it already looked amazing in the PS2 Version but the HD Graphics are welcome. KH358/2 Days is also great in HD.

    Replay Value - Moderately Low the only reason to replay the game is for the change in difficulty and to get certain trophies or for just plain nostalgia. Final Mix Expert Mode is hard really hard I give them points for adding that difficulty. Its not like Dante Must Die Mode where 1 hit=death its not impossible to beat I beat it myself and the secret boss as well so try it if you want some challenge in this game.

    Overall - Great for the fans KH358/2 Days was a huge disappointment since there was no gameplay in it but I guess I forgive them for it. KH1FM doesn't have that many changes but it does add a little improvement on the gameplay and the Secret Boss is fun and challenging. KHRe:COM is pretty much the samething as its PS2 version except you get Trophies and better graphics. I expected this game to be like this so I'm not all that disappointed. The game I've been waiting on KH2.5 is coming soon and its better KH2FM has so much more improvements to the game than KH1FM has which makes it more exciting so see you when that comes out.
    Expand
  6. Jan 21, 2016
    7
    An HD version of Kingdom Hearts final mix and Chain of Memories. If you don't know Final Mix is just Kingdom hearts with more optional bosses,An HD version of Kingdom Hearts final mix and Chain of Memories. If you don't know Final Mix is just Kingdom hearts with more optional bosses, items, and weapons. Where as Chain of Memories is a card battle type game. Would be way more worth it if 358/2 days got a remaster in stead of just the cut scenes, or if the clunky movement and camera controls were fixed. If your a fan you'll probably buy this but if not this game will not win you over. Expand
  7. Dec 18, 2013
    2
    I tried the first game and never got to the other games/videos on the disc.
    I rarely buy new games but this one I bought new from day one,
    I tried the first game and never got to the other games/videos on the disc.
    I rarely buy new games but this one I bought new from day one, that's how excited I was. But after a while a noticed the gameplay is pretty boring and repetitive, it's just slow button bashing (you can bash fast but the character won't swing the giant key any faster). And what's worse is that the camera is pretty bad, it's supposed to be better then the original but it's still pretty annoying and I couldn't control it properly.
    I especially expected the story to be more interesting and engaging but I was disappointed. It was very slow movies, a cliché and pretty boring to be honest.
    Big disappointment.
    Expand

See all 50 User Reviews