Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Knytt Underground, the sequel to the massively popular Knytt and Knytt Stories, is the next stage in the well-liked series, with the original boasting over 1 million downloads globally. The exciting platform game offers gamers exploration in an infinitely breathtaking atmosphere and will be available on PlayStation 3 and PlayStation Vita later this year. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Dec 26, 2012
    76
    This is a very interesting title that many people will not play because its characters are quite ugly. As simple as that. But if you can get past those, let say, not appealing protagonists, you'll find a deep platformer full of surprises.
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    75
    Exploring Knytt Underground's vast world and learning about the eccentric cast of characters and surprisingly deep lore can be fun – just don't expect any kind of rewarding conclusion to be awaiting you at the end of your adventure.
  3. It's the biggest project ever coming from indie-guru Nicklas Nygren (Nifflas) and it's a well-designed, riveting platformer with a ton of things to do, but unfortunately also with a not so riveting story. Which is kind of a bummer. [February 2013, p.91]
  4. Dec 30, 2012
    70
    Overall, Knytt Underground is a promising start for Nifflas in the realm of console gaming.
  5. It might look simple but prepare to have your brain tickled and tested. [March 2013, p78]
  6. Jan 13, 2013
    65
    Knytt Underground starts of very slowly and hardly convinces with its simple gameplay and a monotonously constructed adventure. It's also quite grating that the narrative context forms a departure in style from its otherwise pretty visualized levels. But in the third chapter of the game, developer Nifflas's creation comes into its own. It turns out to offer a wonderfully balanced challenge by letting players explore a huge world filled with inventive puzzles and fun platfoming action.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    Frente a los numerosos "New" que, no nos engañemos, acaban ofreciendo básicamente lo mismo en el género de las plataformas, Nifflas vuelve a la carga con el Knytt más grande y transgresor que ha programado hasta la fecha. Los amantes de los dos anteriores títulos tal vez echemos en falta el amoroso pixelado de Juni o muy especialmente la posibilidad de cargar niveles de los usuarios, pero este Knytt Underground es todo lo que un aficionado de las plataformas, de la exploración y de los retos puede esperar: "bigger, better and more badass". Llevo jugándolo toda una semana y aún me quedan muchos rincones del mapeado por descubrir. Recomiendo a cualquier jugador que evite los perjuicios hacia los gráficos de ciertos personajes: los fondos, el diseño de niveles y la música son sencillamente maravillosos, transmitiendo una atmósfera de melancolía y surrealismo que se apoya en el trasfondo de las muchas historias que pueblan este mundo subterráneo. En el aspecto netamente jugable es para mí el mejor metroidvania en años, pero es que además, como todo buen vino, está lleno de matices. Collapse
  2. Jan 10, 2013
    4
    I should note that I use full spectrum of marks, with 5 being "Neutral".

    This is certainly not my type of game, but I guess I'm also pretty
    average in taste, thus I can represent objective gamer opinion. I didn't find exploration to be much fun in Knytt, comparing to Terraria (on PC, and soon it will be on PSN) for example. Dialogs are fun, but there is no real immersion to the game for me. So I've spend no much time exploring it, and, unfortunatelly, I have no wish to try it more. But I guess for some gamers it can be fun, because this game is rather original, which is good, so I still advise you to check it out, if you have time. Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2013
    4
    I loved Knytt. The levels were vivid, complex, engaging. The foregrounds and backgrounds show emotions. You were a simple grey alien looking to fix your spaceship; no words, no nonsense. In Knytt Underground though you play a little Indian girl named Mia. There's dialog text breaking the flow of exploration. The foreground is just black. No color, not brown rocks, not purple crystals, not green fields. BLACK. The backgrounds are forgettable; just cutout pictures of fruits and plants and such, arranged bizarrely. With Underground I want a bigger, bolder Knytt; I got a very subpar experience. With an M rating you think it would be ballsier, but this is timid and bland. Expand