Kung Fu Rider PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Sep 7, 2010
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 45
  2. Negative: 38 out of 45
Buy On
  1. Oct 21, 2010
    50
    Most people will have a laugh at the mere sight of the game, but if they actually play it, and want to be good at it, a lot of frustration is in store.
  2. Oct 21, 2010
    62
    It's fun in spots, but the gameplay is extremely repetitive, and there's no incentive for you to get better. Feels like a tech demo haphazardly turned into a full game.
  3. Oct 21, 2010
    60
    The game tries to mix things up by throwing in tightly-placed bonus gates, hidden branching routes and aerial grind-rails, but the game never really flows fast or smoothly enough to properly invoke the spirit of SSX that it's clearly trying to recreate.
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    50
    Kung Fu Rider is definitely not as funny as it thinks it is, and not really much fun either.
  5. Oct 21, 2010
    55
    For such a strange game, I was really hoping that this title would showcase the potential of the move technology but in actual fact, it's a rather ho-hum experience that we've already seen on the Wii.
  6. Play UK
    Oct 21, 2010
    65
    The problem is that it doesn't last very long before you get bored. [Issue#196, p.93]
  7. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Oct 21, 2010
    60
    We have other complaints; the action is too abrupt to hold any momentum, hazards appear too suddenly, and although branching paths and gravity-mocking grind rails pay homage to SSX, things never flow well enough to complete the tribute. [Nov 2010, p.70]
User Score
3.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Nov 1, 2010
    1
    I couldn't get passed the tutorial it was so tedious and frustrating to control. Well, I can give it one thing, it had semi-decent graphics...I couldn't get passed the tutorial it was so tedious and frustrating to control. Well, I can give it one thing, it had semi-decent graphics... And that's being generous. Full Review »
  2. Aug 17, 2013
    5
    This game has a worse rep than it deserves. There is nothing inherently wrong in creating a game over a simple premise, as long as it's funThis game has a worse rep than it deserves. There is nothing inherently wrong in creating a game over a simple premise, as long as it's fun and the game knows its place. Unfortunately, KFR suffers from a "corporate mandate" problem, it has been mandated to be many things it could not be. But all is not lost, lets see.

    You probably know the premise (calling it a story would be generous) you're a hapless detective (or his assistant) escaping from the mafia by riding chairs and one inappropriate objects downhill on busy streets. Its that kind of offbeat Japanese humour we don't get too often. There's a element of watching the characters suffer, which is reinforced by a close up of their faces so you don't miss their pain expressions as they ragdoll after a crash. That should make up for a short whacky fun romp, but then the corporate mandate rears its ugly head.

    First there's the controls. This game was mandated to be a PS Move game. You'd think that by now developers would know that replacing button presses with controller waggle a good game does not make, and you'd be wrong, for that's what Studio Japan did. Acceleration, braking, steering, jumping all is mapped to move gestures. There is nothing is this game that could not have controlled better with a regular dualshock 3. Having said that, the controls are not as broken as some have suggested. I never really had problems directing the action. It would have been better with a regular control, but its not a train wreck. I was able to complete all the levels without feeling that I was not in control.

    Second, level design. The premise does not allow for much, but the game has been mandated to be a full-ish retail game. So in an attempt to give it longevity, the difficulty curve is skewed towards the hard side. This is a problem other Move games such as The Shoot share. With such a simple premise, the difficulty spikes come up as cheap shots.

    As far as graphics go, its adequate, nothing to write home about. The graphics do have a charming "old Sega arcade" feel to them that I find endearing. The only problem is with character design, specifically Karin. the female protagonist. The first time you see her, you will probably notice her weird proportions, her hips seems too wide for her frame. Once the game starts, it becomes obvious why, she'll be waggling her behind at you the whole way through. I guess its supposed to be comedic but it's actually embarrasing enough to propel the game into the "games I would not want my mum/wife catch me playing" category.

    Bottom line, a game stretched and priced beyond its merits, but not a total loss. The control is less than ideal but functional. It does deliver on its simple promise of whacky fun, just stick with the male character. These days, now that it can be had for$10 or less it becomes a much more palatable proposition.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 20, 2010
    9
    This is a good game. I can control the character easy. The environment is nice. Path is long enough. This game show the power of PlayStationThis is a good game. I can control the character easy. The environment is nice. Path is long enough. This game show the power of PlayStation Move. I like this game. Full Review »