User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 799 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 96 out of 799

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 17, 2011
    3
    Highly overrated. Yes it is a solid game but a severe lack of engaging material ruins it. The story telling is sub par. The gravelly voiceover is terrible and instead of drawing you in to the story it just reminds you that you're not. Bad mechanics and subpar gameplay only enhance its failings. The game is as linear as a game can be. Yes you can roam the streets but the game gives you no reason to do so. It is as simple as drive to point A. and pick up an item. Drive to point B. and show the item to someone. Drive to point C. and interrogate someone. Mission over. Yes the interrogations could be fun but they aren't. Especially when you realize that the game will only let it turn out one way. A complete disappointment. The only reason I can see it getting such good reviews is because of the graphics. I'm actually rating the game much lower than I think I should only to counteract the ridiculous amount of high reviews. Oh and P.S. Don't even think about replay valuse. This game has zero. Expand
  2. May 17, 2011
    9
    A revolution in gaming. Feels like youre in a move the entire game. Instead of guns and bullets, you use wits and instinct. Amazing graphics and hollywood level voice acting. Well done Rockstar.
  3. May 17, 2011
    4
    I'll start with the game mechanics. They basically ripped the whole feel of the game including driving, walking, brawls, shooting, etcetera from the GTA engine. While this is okay, they didn't add anything new in innovative gameplay. Unless you count having your camera locked in a specific action as your character does something (searching a dead body for evidence). The cases themselves simply aren't very tough. Having played 5 hours on my 360 and 3 hours on the PS3, I can safely assume that I am out of the tutorial section of the game and that this is the difficulty the cases have. You simply gather evidence, and at first I thought this was nice, there was some dummy evidence that was useless and only meant to throw you off, but it was all scripted. It's not like they just littered the scene with things you'd find at a crime scene or a house, they made everything you can pick up there for a reason. So instead of having to cycle through hundreds of pieces of evidence or objects that I could use to extract information out of people, I basically had maybe a dozen or so items that would appear in my notebook when questioning people. I was hoping for the ability to collect thousands of useless things with only a few being of any relevance to the case and leaving me to sit down and actually THINK which piece of evidence I should use for my situation, rather it be questioning a witness or interrogating someone. The consequences are pretty limited too... I know I'm nitpicking, but this is a serious issue. What happens when you fail a case? You get thrown back to the closest check point before you messed up and failed the case. I was hoping failing a case would simply never let you replay it again in that campaign, thus making people be cautious with their actions before making sudden moves. That or they could have at least have you start over again at the beginning of the case. The witnesses and suspects are way too obvious in their emotions. It basically rolls out like this: Is he innocent? Then he'll be rational when you ask him questions. Is he not innocent? Then he'll act hostile and irrational to the slightest question you ask him. There are times when this isn't the case, but it seemed like it was too easy. Intuition points... I am nit picking now, I admit it. They're basically hint cards, and there is nothing wrong with it, but it's just that... the game is so easy. If you have any critical thinking skills, then you won't need the intuition points hardly if at all. The graphics. I know this is the icing on the cake and not anything you should grade the game on (unless it's obviously bad), but the graphics are mediocre. It looks like a game from late 2006. The cut scenes were obsessive. I simply hate cut scenes in games. They remove gameplay and any interaction you have with the scene at all. They could have at least had it scripted, because it was completely unnecessary to take ALL control away from you without letting you at least experience through your controller. They need to stop this, period.

    The sounds were pretty good. There are times in the game where I noticed the sound engineering at work, and I applaud them for it. It's not the greatest in terms of sound engineering, but there is clearly talent in that sector.

    The environment however is lacking. It's very non responsive in general. The civilians don't look up at you when you're chasing a criminal, they don't even make any acknowledgement of you unless you near run them over.

    This is all I can think of for this review, so I'll draw this to an end. The game was certainly a change of heart for Rockstar (they co-developed it and published it, don't you dare tell me this wasn't heavily influenced by Rockstar) and they tried venturing out into unknown territory. I'll give them a "bravo" for going beyond the medium and not simply rehasing GTA over and over, like with GTA 1911, or other wise known as Red Dead Redemption. However, they did not deliver it very well. The cases are too easy, the gameplay mechanics seem very old and not very improved upon, and it just doesn't feel like it's own game. It feels more like an expansion pack or a developers mod for GTA IV. This game will receive 10/10s from many 14 year olds, I assure you, just because it's a Rockstar publication and co-development. I almost feel like giving it a 0 to counteract the perfect scores, but I will not. A 4 seems like an appropriate grade, albeit may be viewed as a bit harsh, for this game. There was so much potential with this game, but it simply failed to bring it out.
    Expand
  4. May 17, 2011
    9
    This isn't a game where you go around killing people. You have to use your brain and be a detective. It's not perfect, but it's immersive and amazing.
  5. May 17, 2011
    10
    This game is truly amazing. Rockstar and Bondi have completely redefined storytelling in gaming with this masterpiece. True, you don't get to go around killing everyone at your leisure, but that's not what this game is all about. It's about being a detective. And boy, does it ever do it well.
  6. Jun 5, 2011
    1
    In what world does a detective game not contain any actual sleuthing gameplay features. This game is completly self working, you have zero input in the solving crimes. Your role is to simply move the character from a to b while the story rolls on. Only stopping to be involved in the pointless monotomy of minigames. These minigames involve picking up clues and interogation but they serve no purpose other get you a good rating when the episode is over. You do not do any detective work, there are no puzzles, no peicing together of evidence and absolutely no deducing killers on your own! The main character does the detective work for you in cutscenes etc So what do you do then? Well, not much to be honest. You drive to locations, sometimes there shootings but only when the game allows. You get to chase criminals across various parts of the map but even that all you do is run, the character auto jumps and dodges obstacles - no skill required. The only thing this game has are graphics and awesome animations but you can only look at a game for so long before you want to play it and be challenged. Sadly, la noire does not offer this. Bland, boring, repetitive, self working awesome looking game. Expand
  7. May 17, 2011
    1
    This isn't a game, it's a C-movie. There's barely any gameplay, and what's there is too easy and boring. If this is the direction gaming is going, I don't want to be there. If you want a game that relies on it's narrative play Planescape: Torment instead.
  8. May 17, 2011
    10
    L.A. Noire is a fantastic game. It's story, presentation and gameplay are all solid. The new motion scan tech is definitely the best part of the game. What it does is bring real life facial animation to L.A. Noire's character using 32 HD cameras. L.A. Noire also has the most meticulously recreated version of Los Angeles to ever appear in a video game.
  9. May 17, 2011
    10
    I do not understand how some people gave this game a zero. I understand some people might not like it but a zero come on people that is ridiculous. This is a thinking game and a new era for gaming all the brain dead shooter type of players need to get a brain.
  10. May 23, 2011
    5
    Having been reserved about this game, and now having had a chance to play it, my reservations were justified. So far I have found the game boring, linear, and nothing more than a glorified point and click move from A to B game. The facial animations are a truly amazing feat unlike any I have seen in a game prior, they don't hide the flaws of the game. Aside from those facial animations, everything else has been very average. I wouldn't call it a bad game, just very very average. I would recommend renting before buying. Expand
  11. May 17, 2011
    9
    This is a fantastic achievement in gaming today. The visuals, the gameplay, are all spectacular. it's refreshing to have a game that doesn't rely on senseless, inane, childish violence to provide an entertaining experience. I'm guessing most of the negative reviews are coming from butt-hurt fanboys who haven't actually played the game and are disappointed it's not a game relying on killing innocent civilians. How predictable. Expand
  12. May 17, 2011
    1
    The hype machine in full effect here. This is a re-skinned GTA with over done face animation that is apparently the only selling point of this game. It is redundant game style as it feels and plays 100% like GTA. The atmosphere is extremely boring as you would expect it to be from GTA: Dick Tracy. Also a game with no sort of multiplayer offered should be half price. 60 dollars for a lame "been there done that" story mode that you have played before is a bit of a rip off. The fact that they need to shill DLC on day one tells you this is a hacky title that can't stand on it's own two legs. The facial animations are impressive but are a shear novelty, so if you are buying for that you might just want to consider watching all the cut scenes on youtube and save your cash. Expand
  13. May 17, 2011
    10
    This game doesn't deserve 8 negative ratings. You don't have to shoot or beat the sh!t out of people for a game to be fun. If you don't wanna think in a game and are looking for a game that just brainlessly shoots other sh!ts to win, go play MW or something and stay away from this. Thank you. Shortly put, it's fun and innovative, and great graphic, great story, great voice acting. Replay value is slim to none, however, but you finish this game fully in around 20 hours. Expand
  14. May 23, 2011
    0
    L.A. Noire could have been a wonderful game, but this game does so much wrong that it's hard to enjoy myself. The whole game feels like a waste of time, considering that I've yet to have any fun while playing it. The interview system is terrible and doesn't add much other than a frustrating mini-game. I wanted the crime-solving aspect of this game to be engaging and interesting, but it just falls flat. I played interactive movies back on the Sega CD, and they weren't any good then either. Rockstar is officially on my 'Rent before Buying' list thanks to L.A. Noire. I wish I could get a refund on this game!!! Expand
  15. May 17, 2011
    10
    First off. If you are expecting GTA 5 than please spare yourself the pain and don't play it. So far I am 13 hours in and have only shot 36 people.This game is not about shooting up LA it is a game about intense investigation. This is my 2nd favorite game I have EVER played. I was honestly shocked when I saw the scores that this game got. It is the most immersive game I have ever played (except possibly bioshock). The new face technology is flat out amazing. You can really see every movement in the characters faces. If you are looking for a game that requires REAL thought, and doesn't require you to mindlessly kill people this is the only place to look. Amazing game through and through. Also I think the car physics are fine. Everyone needs to keep in mind that these are 1940's cars, not a lamborghini. Expand
  16. May 27, 2011
    7
    Allow me to be the one to say, this game is not for everyone. The story is relatively linear and the story moves slower than any other rockstar game go date. I found myself questioning if inshould have rented brink instead on many occasions. After about 6 hours of gameplay and still not having Played brink I can safely say this game is ok. On one hand I truly felt like a criminal investigator, asking my wife to quiet down because I was on a case. On the other I literaly fell asleep during a long period of dialogue. The facial animations are a neat distraction but do they make the game? Let me leave on this note, I no longer purchase video games but I am an avid renter of the art. It is games like this that make me glad to adhere to this standard, I do not regret the playthrough but i would not need this game in my library. Expand
  17. May 17, 2011
    10
    This game oozes atmosphere. It throws in enough of the GTA engine to feel like your in control but still has enough point & click elements. It has more depth than GTA or RDR but isnt as blatant in regard to action or free roaming. The characters are believable and likeable ( unlike some earlier rockstar games) . The game is not restrictive in your progress. You can go steaming through a case pretty quick and finish it or be precise in every action you take. This in turn will lead you inevitably to a different conclusion. Each new mission however isn't always connection to your previous progress which can be vexing. Overall it's a fantastic achievment in video gaming. An interactive movie that genuinly keeps you involved and has you gripped from start to finish. It's not GTA or RDR and doesnt try to be. Superb. Expand
  18. May 17, 2011
    10
    What a stunning achievement for gaming. When people tak about games as art this is the sort of thing they'll point to. Easily the most immersive experience I've had with a videogam. Bondi and Rockstar did a wonderful job at crafting the investigative elements into something addicting and surprisingly intelligent. And there's of course the revolutionary facial animation tech. The ability to capture an actor's true performance gives the game's story and characters an incredible amount of believability and emotional weight.

    If you consider yourself at all a fan of the art of good storytelling then it'd be a complete disservice to not play this game.
    Expand
  19. May 17, 2011
    10
    This is a great game and a must buy for the thinker. This is a defining moment in the industry of gaming as this game has broadened the gaming horizon and has made gaming more appealing to all types of people.
  20. May 22, 2011
    6
    On the surface La Noire seemed intriguing; a detective game that combines investigation with combat , driving, and interrogation set in the seedy/glamorous setting of 40's LA. Despite its grand ambitions it fails on almost every level, because the whole thing is a mere illusion. The main crux of the game is - as it should be - about detecting. Scouring crime scenes for clues, talking to witnesses, experts, and adding up the evidence. But all of this is very shallow and limited. Whilst the searching for clues is handled well, how you are able to use them in interrogation is frustrating, and in many instances plain illogical, reminding me of the old point 'n' click adventures, where rather than using logic and the clues in a 'real world' way, you had to second guess what the developers were thinking. There were many instances during the game that if it were for real, i would have shoved a slew of damning evidence in the face of a witness to intimidate and get them to spill, but the game will only allow you to ask a very narrow set of questions, where there is only one 'correct' answer. This renders much of the info stuffed in your notebook utterly useless. As a result interviews - whilst there is no denying the stunning nature of the facial tech - leave you feeling deeply unfulfilled, as do the end of many cases It gives you a whole beautiful city, but nothing to do in it (and no i wasn't expecting it to, nor wanting it to, be gta). The foot chases are simply a case of holding the sprint button and directing which way to run - you dont even have to press a button to time jumps. Also, in some chases you can't draw your weapon (because the game needs you to have the perp taken alive), whilst in others where the game wants you to kill them, it sets up a clunky cover-shoot scenario. And this really sums up the game. Where it should be a game of intellect and choices that have consequence, La Noire never takes off the handcuffs and lets you 'play'. You can't, for example, just go back to interview a suspect you've arrested, you have to wait until the game wants you to. You can't go back to re-interview people - again unless the game wants you to. You can't go and discuss things with forensic pathologist or your captain unless...you get the idea. Everything you do feels like you're being pushed - sometimes forced - down paths to arrive at the next cut scene or the 'correct' conclusion. This is never more clear than at the end of a case where you have gotten many of the questions 'wrong' but still automatically end up solving the case. For all it's faults the game is actually quite engrossing. It pulls no punches in crime scenes and the acting is generally superb. I can only hope that team bondi get another chance to deliver a game of more substance rather than this alluring fraud. Expand
  21. May 17, 2011
    0
    dont really like this game,it has really boring gameplay,yeh the graphics are good and the technology behind it is good,but at the end of the day if the game is not fun then its not worth my time and this game was certainly not fun
  22. May 17, 2011
    10
    L.A. Noire makes me feel spoiled. It wasn't until I started playing this game two days ago that I realized how accustomed we've all become to the stagnancy in games today. I can't remember the last time I played something this fresh. It's really reinvigorated my love for the art of video games. Every thing about L.A. Noire just oozes detail and as I get further into the game it's becoming more and more evident that really is the product of the utmost love and care from Rockstar and Team Bondi. And more than the presentation and polish, the actual mechanics are a total blast. Something about the investigation elements is so damn satisfying, partly because they're truly unlike anything I've done in games before. Gaming's vocabulary when it comes to activities for its audience for so long has been mostly "punch, hit, shoot, kill, blow up" etc. But now, thanks to L.A. Noire, we can expand that vocabulary a little bit. Intelligent and mature gamers the world over rejoice. Something special has arrived. Expand
  23. May 17, 2011
    8
    +Graphics/sound +Story -Control -Gameplay //////// +Amazing visuals, SFX, music and voice overs. +Story and characters really draw you in -Same GTA controls -Lacks the free roaming fun of GTA or even RDR -Poor saving system -Some frame rate issues //////// I will start off by saying I have always been a big Rockstar fan, from the top down GTA to Red Dead Redemption. So naturally I had very high hopes for LA Noire. Going into Noire one should expect certain restraints from what they have experienced in past Rockstar titles (setting, time, being for the other side of the law). That being said, something is really lost being a cop instead of a criminal. Gone are the killing sprees of GTA, but you can still take whichever car you want. Expect the same GTA style chunky controls for walking, fighting and driving. My biggest issue with the game is the saving system. Imagine playing GTA or Fallout 3 from start to end of a mission without saving. When I play games I have to get the best possible outcome every time, so this meant having to redo entire cases over just to get correct questions at the end. Seriously, you can only auto save, no save slots, no going home to save, only when the games wants to save. I even had to redo missions just because of auto save confusion. I have many problems with this game, but I still am having some fun with it. Ultimately, it's a step back from GTA/RDR, with better graphics. If you're hoping for GTA craziness, you will be very disappointed. If you're hoping for a nice story with some puzzles in between, here you go. Expand
  24. May 18, 2011
    1
    The awesome thing about games is the sense of freedom and off script action that can happen. I think the acting was great in this game, but that hardy gives it the GotY potential. I want a little more game in my video game and less video. It aint fer me.
  25. May 20, 2011
    5
    + Voice acting, writing, animation, music, investigation aspects are appealing
    -- Lack of saving, clunky controls, generic side assignments, flawed interrogation logic, driving system
  26. May 17, 2011
    6
    As a longtime fan of the old Police Quest series back on PC years ago, I anxiously awaited L.A. Noire. So, what is L.A. Noire? Simply put, it's a beautiful, story driven, game that involves investigating and some action sequences. The real nitty-gritty behind L.A. Noire is the open world investigations, not the action like the GTA series or even Red Dead Redemption. The problem, however, is that none of these traits are particularly new. Many games this generation are beautifully crafted and rendered and have well fleshed out stories. The investigation aspect of the game, while novel, isn't new either, as I previously alluded to; Anyone who remembers the old Police Quest series on PC years ago will immediately know how to play L.A. Noire, if not feel like it's a knockoff. --- L.A. Noire is a lot like a person you think is hot and want to get to know, only to find out when you get to know them that there's little long term substance. The game itself is terribly short, with very few side quests to speak of. There's zero replay value to it because once you've finished the story, well, you've finished the story. There's no way to go about completing the story a different way for a different result, a la Heavy Rain or even Fable 2 or Fable 3. Once you've finished the game, all there is to do is find newspapers, cars and locations, which barely qualifies as legitimate replay value. The fighting, shooting and driving sequences are, for all intents and purposes, directly copied from the GTA franchise/engine. I remember hearing people complain that Red Dead Redemption, compared to the GTA franchise, was too short and I can't imagine those folks will be happy, at all, with L.A. Noire which is substantially shorter than either. Essentially, the game consists of: follow the path, investigate (which is made trivial by audio and controller queues), interrogate and repeat along a fairly linear path until the game ends. --- In short, it's worth a play, but I really don't believe it's worth $60 because after you've finished it, you're not going to touch it again unless VERY compelling, decent-length DLC comes out for it. I would strongly encourage people to rent it first before deciding to put down $60 on a game you MAY get 10-12 hours on and then not touch again. I give them a 3/5 (6/10) for effort, but as far as games go, this one simply doesn't live up to its own hype, and will ultimately be forgotten about within a month after everyone has beaten it and has no reason to pick it up again. Expand
  27. May 17, 2011
    10
    This is the next level for video game graphics. Hopefully this style becomes the standard for future games. Fun, thought provoking, and entertaining. Everything a great game should be.
  28. May 17, 2011
    10
    The most beautifully crafted game since Heavy Rain, an immediate Game of the Year contender and the most ambitious title Rockstar have ever produced. So far this year it is equal only to Portal 2 in terms of ground-breaking game mechanics and it's sheer brilliance.
  29. Jun 26, 2011
    6
    Although the facial animations and the recreation of 1940's L.A is impressive, the game play isn't. Finding clues consists of tapping the "x" button to find interactive objects and wait for the game to tell you which ones are clues. You can then check your notebook to see if you have seen every clue (if the location is crossed out you have found everything). The chase sequences consist of holding the sprint button until you are within a certain range to hit "x" for a tap tackle or shoot your weapon if it is available. The fight sequences can be won by mashing x and square without any thought. The interrogations are the most interesting part and I enjoyed using the clues to back up my accusations, but on quite a few occasions I was confused about the context of the questions (what I was accusing them of or what I thought was the truth or what I was doubting). I enjoyed the decisions of who to convict for a case, but in each of the desks the story would conclude that your decisions didn't really matter. You feel like your input as a player doesn't matter when you realise that you could get every question wrong and convict the "wrong" person and still receive the same conclusion in the end. Expand
  30. May 17, 2011
    10
    This game is Great!!! This games has cars, races, guns, chases, but it is not only about this. It is about using your brain. If you like just shooting and crashing everything you see, this is not for you, here you need to think. Graphics is very good, facial animation is AMAZING!
  31. May 17, 2011
    10
    This game is the best game made in a long time it is not like the same old shooters that drown the gaming industry with repetitiveness and and no uniqueness. This is a leap forward for man kind and a step backwards for brain dead individuals.
  32. May 17, 2011
    10
    Starting from now, we have a new generation of cinematic & detective games. L.A. Noire is not a game for everyone, it's true. In some ways, this is a weird game for Rockstar & their fans, but it's a genuine masterpiece. Viva, Rockstar and Team Bondi, well done!
  33. May 17, 2011
    9
    This game is suffering the "portal 2" effect, where morons are lying about the game and **** that it's a full game for full game price. Let's start off by saying that this game has one real flaw: The controls. It's easy to get over, however. Beyond that we have Hollywood level voice acting and script (quality Hollywood anyway), competent (but not stunning, save for the facial animations) graphics, an interesting story, and a satisfying interrogation system that relies on YOU the player. Expand
  34. May 17, 2011
    5
    Played it thru in 13 hours. Driving and gameplay is horrible. No replay value. The interriogatins are fun, and some of the cases are interesting and challenging others quite boring. I think Red Dead Redemption and GTA 4 are much better games. Also graphic-wise. The faces of the characters look like in a movie kind of, but it doesn´t quite support the gameplay in any way. I hate the hype about this game and how they didn´t allow early reviews yet they did release 3 reviews early all with perfect scores. Those reviews didn´t even include actual gameplay photos. It was clearly the intention by Rockstar Games to trick the general public into believing the Cutscenes are actual Gameplay. How else can you explain a review of a game with not one In-Game Screenshot? For this I rate this game 5/10 while without the hype I would have given it 6 or 7. Rent it, it´s not worth to buy as nobody would play this again. It´s a good start for a new franchise but to make L.A. Noire 2 a better or even perfect game, Rockstar has a lot of work to do. Expand
  35. May 25, 2011
    10
    LA Noire, is set in a gloriously convincing depiction of Los Angeles in 1947. The controls are similar to GTA, the game style is very different to GTA. You are a LAPD detective, question suspects and witnesses, solving cases. You have to analyze facial responses and bodily twitches, just like in real life. Overall it is an outstanding game, very fun, well worth the money. Breathtaking camera work, well done rockstar and Team Bondi for producing an outstanding game. Very addictive Expand
  36. May 21, 2011
    6
    Yawwwwn!! Wow, what is this? L.A. Noire had so much potential, but ends up being a snore-fest. It makes me really miss Red Dead Redemption. The graphics are amazing, yes. Everything else though is Linear and boring. Not to mention that the controls are terribly sluggish and "clunky". I'm really disappointed. I guess for what it is, L.A. Noire is pretty good, just don't expect anything nearly as engaging and entertaining as Red Dead Redemption or GTA, for that matter. If anything, I hope that the graphics and the facial animation tech gets adopted for future games and if they make more of this game in the way of sequels, they come up with a way to keep me from falling asleep at the wheel (which I literally did a few times while playing this game!) Expand
  37. May 19, 2011
    0
    Buggy glitched out **** fest this game is. Buyers remorse started setting in hard after the first day or 2. The game is boring, the world is devoid of any emotion or life, It plays exactly like GTAIV only its not fun, the interviewing sucks. Awful game. It bricked my PS3, so I played it on Xbox and it has graphical glitches everywhere. Shame on you rockstar. Never buying another one these titles again. Expand
  38. May 22, 2011
    2
    It's a Police Quest movie for console gamers, obsessed on huge maps and fancy graphics. 'Investigation' games are not new, neither are 'games that play like movies'. Metal Gear Solid, anyone? Rockstar has somehow tapped into a hype pool of people that have apparently never played video games before, and are fascinated by the movie quality of some aspects. Really, would you pay $60 to see a movie? It's not the best movie, but it is decently polished. However, there is this sector of society that believes video games should be movies; high quality, interactive, but always one ending. Because that's how this is. Once you beat it, there's not really an alternate take you can do. Grind through more of the map and collect achievements, and put it back on the shelf. That's not fun. And games, despite what movie fanatics may tell you, are supposed to be fun. Contrary to the belief of many of these hype-fans, many games can provide fun, intelligent action without pushing violence. Metal Gear, Myst, Oddworld, Braid, Portal, Civilization, Lara Croft... that's just a few that come to mind. All games that are far cheaper, and most have more gameplay depth, replayability, and mental challenge. This game will not test your investigative skills, and for that, it's a fraud. It's like singing Karaoke with auto-tune. Expand
  39. May 18, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Before playing LA Noire I was unsure if Rockstar could live up to its previous titles such as Red Dead Redemption and Grand Theft Auto 4. However, I'm pleased to report that they have once again created a, very, very good game. Solving the crime cases in LA Noire is alot of fun and an engrossing experience. Finding the clues needed to solve the case felt challenging but it was never frustrating. Conducting interviews was very fun and there were obvious consequences for choosing the right and wrong dialogue options. In fact, I have never had so much talking to characters in a videogame. This is due to a mixture of Team Bondi's stellar new visual technology and very clever diolauge.

    LA Noire has lots of side cases, and collectibles that help to flesh out an atmosphere allready made vivid by detailed buildings,and a wonderful music score.

    LA Noire felt very reminiscent of classic film noir such as Chinatown and is all the better for it. I have thoroughly enjoyed every moment of it so far. I recommend LA Noire to everyone but Transformer fans.
    Expand
  40. May 19, 2011
    6
    There's no doubt that visually this game is lovely, and that the subject material and basic storyline ideas are different and interesting. The problem comes with the actual gameplay, which is long-winded, repetitive and rather dull after the first couple of levels. These are some of my issues with LA Noire;
    1. the character movement is clunky and cumbersome, and often you have to keep
    moving the character backwards and forwards just trying to get into the right position to investigate a clue.
    2. there's a huge amount of lag between pressing buttons in certain investigation modes, and the character actually responding.
    3. you're supposed to interrogate suspects, basing your responses on their facial expressions, but these swing from being laughably obvious and silly to inscrutably stoney-faced, with no real middle-ground.

    The final straw for me is the completely linear gameplay, whereby even if you don't get everything you need from a suspect the plot takes you on another route to the same conclusion. There's no real option for failure, or experimentation. At least, not based on my six hours of playing so far.

    LA Noire has received a huge amount of positive reviews, but I think it's one of those games that will split the audience down the middle. Overall I found myself enjoying the look of the game, but not really caring about the characters, and sadly not wanting to play anymore. I'll be trading it in straight away.
    Expand
  41. Jun 12, 2011
    0
    DO NOT BUY THIS GAME! A revolution in gaming?? A revolution in tedium. This is without doubt one of the most boring games I have played. The first crime you solve is almost interesting. If you like walking about a room and waiting for the controller to vibrate then this may be the game for you! This game is so samey- Basically- you drive to the crime scene, then move the controller about until it vibrates- Hey presto, you've found a clue! Now imagine doing this for every crime scene that you're sent to. It does not bear thinking unless you have some kind of OCD. Granted the cut scenes have great animation and this may be the games only saving grace- but the story they tell is uninteresting and un-engaging. Until the gaming industry gets good story writers and I mean Wireesque writers, then all this facial animation may as we be etch a sketch.

    Luckily for you I have bit the bullet and tried this game for you, let no other man buy this game and the world will be a happier place. Guaranteed.

    By the way anybody want to buy a copy of L.A Noire?
    Expand
  42. May 18, 2011
    8
    This is one of many games that appears to be one thing before its released, then turns out to be something else once you play it. A lot of time and effort went into the mechanics for realistic facial expressions. In my opinion, its what really holds this game together. This is the most linear, sandbox game out there. There isn't much reason to explore. That doesn't mean it is a bad game. It just means the Story needs to be THAT much better. What this game does do is put you into the mind of a detective, and it does it well. This game is very original and fresh. It is a nice change in pace and I think you should give it a shot. Expand
  43. Jun 21, 2011
    5
    I'm not sure why this game is rated so incredibley. Yes there are some great things going on--but it seems pieced together in a way that doesn't make sense...the best way a friend put it is this---LA Snoire...yes SNORE...I have been trying and trying to get into this game but the interest is slow--the clue searching thrown together...just walk around and wait for your controller to vibrate...the lead role is bi-polar--and you never know how truth, lie or doubt are goin to turn out--there is some great tech behind the facial features..and the open world is great..but the implementation of either of them is poor. There is no need for the open world...and when you read their faces you can doubt them or tell that they are lying but it has no effect because Cole Phelps is probably just going to flip out in a roid rage. I really really want to/wanted to like the game..but it's boring compared to many other games...yeah you have the occasional shoot out...yeah you can drive wherever---but they should have just made this a linear game...dropped the open world..and really told a real story. I know rockstar loves their open worlds..but in this case it just doesnt feel right. PS they spent so much time on facial features that they forgot to spend some time of the rest of the characters....its like real heads on plastic/unreal bodies. I will give it another whirl..but I'm not sure I am going to solve all the cases....I may just be sleeping"...SNoooiiiree" Expand
  44. May 19, 2011
    8
    Not the greatest game ever, but a revolution in story telling and graphical engineering in video games. Sure, it's not GTA, but it's not trying to be. Rockstar has gone with a much more linear storyline than GTA. The game isn't perfect, but really, what game is? This game stands on it's own merits. Who cares that there's no online mode? This game wasn't made for online. L.A. Noire wasn't made for your average gaming crowd. It wasn't made for everybody. It was made for those who would appreciate it. Expand
  45. Aug 16, 2011
    4
    BORING!!!

    Wow. I can't believe that this game isn't getting trashed a lot worse than it is. I don't mind slow paced games but there is no excitement in this game at all. It's way too easy and there don't seem to be any consequences if you make a mistake. What a waste of a weekend this was...
  46. May 18, 2011
    10
    Really a breath of fresh air. The shooting and driving is a lot like GTA 4 but the remaining gameplay is amazingly intricate. When I first saw this game I though it would be gimmicky but it turned out to be exactly what it promised and that is a legitimate detective game that isn't as boring as watching paint dry. Also it must be noted that, although not at all a part of gameplay directly, the voice acting is unparalleled. It's not something I thought I would care about but seriously there are moments in the game where I literally feel like I am playing an interactive movie which is really what this game is. Expand
  47. May 17, 2011
    10
    Hate all you want but i thoroughly enjoyed this game. If you are looking for a brainless walk around and shoot stuff game then go play COD. This game is like if Heavy Rain and GTA had a child then that child was adopted and raised by John Alton and Michael Curtiz (and if you are too young or socially inept to get that reference then go play a nice lego game) Overall, its an amazing experience. Worth all of my $60. If you have the time, patience and mental capacity to comprehend that its about being a DETECTIVE then its well worth yours as well!. Expand
  48. May 17, 2011
    10
    Thank you Team Bondi. Thank you. Seriously. Thank you for realizing that some of us out there want more. That we've shot enough people in the head, captured enough flags, and performed more than our fair share of super combos that this industry is long overdue for something new. Something new is precisely what comes to mind when I think of this game. I'm 14 hours in and not once have I been able to directly relate this to other games I've played. It's just so damn unique. The closest thing would probably be old school adventure games, but even those are left in the dust by L.A. Noire. I don't really know where to even begin. I could talk about the downright gripping narrative, the unmatched facial technology, the palpable atmosphere, the vibrantly recreated and supremely beautiful city of Los Angeles or the thrilling investigative elements. Maybe it sounds crazy, but yeah, finding clues and interrogating witnesses? Actually a hell of a lot of fun. Especially those interrogations. I seriously did not think they were going to be able to pull it off. That "talking" to someone would actually end up being interesting. Now that I have the full thing it's my favourite part of the game! The mechanics are great, but what really tops it off is the technology. The way L.A. Noire is able to capture an actor's performance makes it feel like you're actually engaging in a conversation with a real person, instead of all the lifeless, dead-eyed video game characters of the past. You truly have to read their faces and find out whether or not they're simply scared, or hiding an ocean of guilt. I could go on and on in similar fashion for just about every facet of the game, but I unfortunately don't have the space here. To sum it up, this is truly a new frontier for interactive storytelling. I feel lucky to be witnessing it firsthand and I can only hope that other developers take notice and will similarly strive to push the medium forward the way Bondi and Rockstar have. An absolutely spectacular achievement that feel lucky to be able to experience. Expand
  49. May 17, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I have experienced in a long time. Gaming is heading in the right direction. Game is one of the best titles made all year, this is a game for puzzle solvers not shooters.
  50. May 17, 2011
    10
    There are allot of brain dead gamers as to give this game a zero is absurd. Even if you do not like the game how could you rate this game a zero when it does so much that other games have never done before. This shows that the gaming industry still has some low IQ players who just like the same shooter games with different names. This is a leap in the right direction for gamers.
  51. May 17, 2011
    10
    I love this game because it is very different than other games. Even though it is not a perfect game I am given a 10 to counter the absurd scores of zero given by a couple of people. Even though some people might find this game boring it does not merit a zero as the graphics and innovation that the game brings alone should score this game a 4 at least. It is quite shocking that some people can score a game a zero and plain dumb. Expand
  52. May 17, 2011
    10
    I love this game but it does have flaws like no multiplayer which would of made the game more fun once you where done with it. There is allot that they could have added but overall im really happy with the game.
  53. May 18, 2011
    9
    Very good game, the city is awesome and I´ve just played a few cases but there are so engaged, the art, faces and cars look so realistic. I think rockstar will change the manner to make games
  54. May 22, 2011
    4
    L.A. Noire can´t live up to all the buzz surrounding it. The game mechanics are solid but if you dindn´t like driving in GTA IV you will probably not like driving through L.A. Luckily you have the choice to have your partner drive but then the game becomes even more like an interactive cutscene which it seems to be most of the time. The interviews, one of the supposed highlights of this game, turn out to be dialogs worse executed than in classic Lucas Arts games like Day of the Tentacle, the Monkey Island series or Zack McCracken. Only the didn´t have the amazing facial animations of L.A. Noire. Even so I can´t tell from them wether the suspect is lying or not. When others argue this is the first time you are supposed to use your wits and brain in a game I´m inclined to refer them back to the nineties and have them play some of titels above mentioned or even Police Quest, which in it´s time was a great game. The Crime solving is extremely repetitive and the whole game is linear to a point where I was reminded of titles like Uncharted. On finishing one assignment the next mission begins seamlessly not a chance to drive around in-between and discover the graphically well executed sandbox of L.A. The whole backdrop feels not like an actual open world and more like a canvas which offers different ways to get from the central station to the crime scenes. The sights are a pity excuse for players to drive around and discover it. The highly anticipated Film noire atmosphere does not engulf the player as one would expect. The game stays entirely on the screen unlike for example heavy Rain or even Red Dead Redemption where the prairie atmosphere struck me like lightning. The overall graphics are solid, the facial animation as mentioned before are truly amazing, nevertheless L.A. Noire lacks the luster other games brought along. The way in which Ezio moves in Assassins Creed looks way more natural than any move Cole Phelps ever does. On the upside the voice over is superb and the overall acting is impressive. One nice touch is the option to play the game in black and white. In the end there´s nothing to save this title and make it exceptional.

    L.A. Noire fails short of deserving more than 5/10 for the voiceover, acting and nice touches on the graphics.
    Expand
  55. May 22, 2011
    5
    There seems to be a pretty large split between gamers when it comes to what they think of the game. I gave the game a pretty low review in comparison to many others which would put me on the negative side of the fence. I noticed someone posted a comment stating anyone who gave a poor review didn't know what they were talking about, in the same comment he stated that the many outcomes of the investigation was fascinating which, of course, is wrong because there is always only one outcome to the investigation: either you convict the guy, or someone else does.

    The pros to this game: The facial recognition is very impressive!

    The vehicle handling is better than in GTAIV

    Interesting plot and good acting

    Well researched and feels like an authentic 40's experience




    Cons of this game:


    Absolutely zero return value after you've finished the game (15-20 hours worth)

    Irritating lag between opening the note book and selecting items from the notebook

    Flawed Map directions (You have to literally find out where you're going or ask your partner for help)

    You cannot buy weapons, clothes, cars or houses (This is what really disappointed me). You're supposed to feel fully engaged with the character but there is absolutely zero personalisation of the character. You have a selection of five outfits and if you don't like them then tough. Red Dead had about 15 outfits.

    Interrogating suspects can be vague (by this I mean you doubt someone for your own ideas only to have them dismissed by the character your play and therefore fail the interview)

    Very very linear storyline. In the Black Dahlia murders I had the temp barman pegged for it from the first murder, he was even mentioned twice by a barman in one of the other murders but the character brushed past questioning him further on the matter.

    The Newspaper's "Behind the scenes" articles can confuse more than they enlighten. I made the mistake of being too sure while questioning a suspect after watching one of the stories that tells you flat out that he's guilty (Ad Vice case).

    There is no real shooting in this game. Many people demonize other gamers for calling this a flaw, stating that they're unintelligent violence addicts and that there are other games to buy for mindless violence but I think they're missing the whole point of action in an action adventure game. By that I mean there is no real action. The shooting camera is also difficult and clumsy. In the human shield situations I first shot them in their pistol hands (it worked in Red Dead!) only for them to clutch their stomach and kill the hostage.

    What I really don't understand is that in GTAIV and Red Dead there are plenty of crimes that you can stop. They appear randomly and provide some sort of rewarding experience for your troubles. In L.A. Noire, a police game, you can only stop 40 crimes and that is the end of it.

    Finally, there is no multiplayer or online game play. In this day in age this is a huge let down. Of course you can ask, what would multiplayer entail? For start there could be online cases added every few months that can be cracked by you and a partner, there could be a "Cops and Robbers" type shoot out game or even better would be a sort of sandbox type Criminals try to commit crimes and Cops try to stop them sort of thing.


    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Overall I found this game very disappointing. I expected so much and got so little. This title has been in the works for 5 years and they've done nothing that hasn't been done better somewhere else. Red Dead Redemption actually holds up as a better crime fighter type game. Although the creators thought that immersing the player into the plot would make them feel more engaged with the title, it made me more distant. There's no point driving anywhere because all you do is cause damage to your car. For all the people who condemn the bad reviews, try and remember that it's a Playstation 3 game that we're talking about. There needs to be a certain amount of control and action to make it an enjoyable game. Most of the time this game just felt like work.
    Expand
  56. Jun 10, 2011
    6
    I went into thinking that when I get my hands on LAN I would end up playing a mix of Grand Theft Auto 4, Mafia and Alfred **** films. I walked away less impressed than I was with the trailer. It's not that the game is bad, it's just not very interesting. Driving physics are poor. Not much to do in the City, or sidequests. It's repetetive. The detective work is limited, but good. The facial animation is amazing. This game just fails to impress me. If it didn't have the awesome facial expressions and animations, this would have been the poor man's Mafia 2, or a GTA1950. I can't recomend this game. Expand
  57. Jul 22, 2011
    4
    CHOO CHOO! Everybody aboard the hype train! I must admit, the hype got me to buy it, but after completing this game.....I feel pretty ripped off.

    The choo choo doesn't stop at the hype station. Nosiree bob. This game is barely a game at all - it's a movie with some small player-controlled segments that have zero impact on the direction the game ends. Zero.

    I couldn't get back to GTA 4
    quickly enough. Expand
  58. May 17, 2011
    9
    A smart game that takes risks and goes places other games haven't. Don't expect to shoot your way through the plot - you have to use your head instead. Kudos to Rockstar and Team Bondi.
  59. Sep 27, 2011
    5
    Team Bondi took a huge risk making this game, it really is unlike anything else on the market. And for the most part, what's good is REALLY good, such as the story, motion captured game models, graphics, and dialogue. I mean, it's very rare that you get a story written this well in any type of video game, and that's gotta be what they worked on the most. But at the same time, there's so much wrong with the game that I can't really recommend it. Some of the vocal performances are perfect, but others are so bad that I actually caught myself laughing a little. The cover mechanic is clunky to say the least, and the controls can lag severely at times. The driving segments of the game are torturous, just another reason why this game shouldn't have been open-world. Cars either don't turn much or flip a 180 by barely turning the wheel. Unlike the GTA games or Red Dead Redemption, you're forced to be the good guy, making it impossible to go on rampages. Many obstacles are made unbreakable, such as picket and chain-link fences and shrubberies (while street lights remain delicate, easily breakable towers of glass), making chases groan worthy and driving sections uninteresting. Hell, you can't even draw your gun unless the game says so. And that's another thing, this game has no freedom, despite being an sandbox game. There's next-to-nothing to do when not on mission aside from sight seeing, there's little replayability considering each case only has one-solution (even if you fail). Too bad, the game could have had lot's of options if you could take the cruel police route a la Bad Lieutenant. The games ending leaves much to be desired, and overall, I had a lot of frustrations with the game. That said, L.A. Noire was a great idea that simply didn't live up to the hype. Was it bad? No, and I hope it does well. Maybe another developer can give the noire genre the game it truly deserves. Expand
  60. May 24, 2011
    0
    VERY PRETTY, unfortuately it is pretty dull, pretty boring, pretty repetitive and pretty predictable. It is , because it is rockstar, also pretty disappointing. the whole thing drags like walking through mud, there is precious little action and the side missions are utterly repetitive. In comparison to Red Dead (yes, thats action based but still sandbox) its a step backwards. Dont get me wrong, i like the use of intuition, i like the thought behind it but in focussing on desperately trying to be different and engaging it has completely missed the fact that it still has to be interesting and fun. Yawn Expand
  61. May 19, 2011
    0
    Worse game ever, no joke, I usually never make a statement like that, however, I am willing to make an exception this time. The good? Fantastic graphics and environment. The bad? Ultra linear gameplay (so linear it sucks all of the fun and emotion out of the game, that is unless you're seeking frustration), Highly limited interactivity, linear, one street responses for the ooh so necessary interviews and interrogation (the type where you constantly need to reference a strategy guide in order to play the game "properly"), and so on. Honestly I could go on and on about everything that disappoints me about this game, but when it really comes down to it, I think that there's no point to go beyond this. What we have here is a perfect, text book example of a game that pretentious critics love that the average consumer hates. Avoid this game unless you're the conceited arthouse type. Expand
  62. May 27, 2011
    5
    This is not an open world game. It has open world elements but since every single one of them can be skipped or failed a couple of times before the game can skip them for you i can't see what is the purpose of them being there at all. I played 4-5 missions and i love the way that you have to base your reactions on the face-sync and basically the acting of the P.O.I.'s. Its the single fresh and truly great thing about this game. And that is why i gave it a 5. Everything else is just. Not present. You see a video of your character in boot camp for WWII and then you get a mission. And then you can tell your partner to drive you there. Oops no open world for you.
    And then the victim is dead and uncooperative, the perps (because if a single person in the 40's new what a P.O.I. is i will self immolate) are trying to **** with you and that is about it. Go solve a case, see video of boot camp, solve case etc. I hope it gets better because i just might forget about getting the driver treatment and going for the mission and just drive around town. As long as i don't kill anyone and i don't bust up the town... What is the point of driving around in a game if you are supposed to obey speed limits and not crushing cars. And that is why i didn't give the game more than 5.
    Expand
  63. Jun 9, 2011
    5
    This another game that falls into the "I wanted to like it more than I actually did" category for me. It's barely a "game" in the modern sense, being a lot closer to an oldschool point and click adventure, than a modern sandbox style game. Sure, there is the pretense of an open world there, there's just no substance to back that vision up. An entire city of nothing to do. The game shoehorning you down the specififc Case corridors with little variety or replay value. And that is this games biggest problem: there is very little wiggle room during the Cases with everything ending up tucked away nicely by the end REGARDLESS of how well you did. The facial animations are groundbreaking, sure, but run the gamut from completely obvious to frustatingly obscured. A neat offering that will hopefully be better implemented in the future. Once the novelty wears off the game is back to being a debilitatingly repetitve GTA clone. Sometimes, the game mechanics they've just taught you to use are arbitrarily turned off so that you can be forced to follow through to the developers desired outcome. There are chase sequences where sometimes you can pull your gun and fire into the air, when the game wants you to, and sequences where you push the button to implement the shoot in the air mechanic, and nothing happens... forcing you to catch the person fleeing in the game the way the game needs... forcing you to attempt to push the buttons during every chase to see if this chase is one where they intend to have you stop them by shooting the gun in the air, or, not have the button action responded to, and wait to see what qte comes up. That, to me, is shiite gameplay. Calling this a game feels a little off. It's about as much a game as the latest Quantic Dream offering. Feeling much closer to a interactive movie than a actual game. I don't know... what can I say? It's worth renting... that's about it. Expand
  64. May 20, 2011
    5
    Great mrs but other then that game is very linear if you skip side quests you won't be using any weapons but just look at the dialogs.. Great rent but not worth 40£!
  65. tam
    May 17, 2011
    10
    Finally a game that is a fresh of breath air from the same old type of games. A game for the person that wants to think and not just shoot and kill.
  66. May 17, 2011
    9
    Total revolution in gaming!! Finally something new and exciting makes you think.. Graphics control sound good job rockstar as always.... Plus its refreshing to have a game that goes back in a significant time in history!!!
  67. May 18, 2011
    10
    Solid game play. Best game out now. If you only could play 5 games this year, this should be one of them. Must love it. The story, the graphic and the acting.
  68. Jun 14, 2011
    4
    LA Noire is a game that lures you in with its technology and promise of a good narrative but then becomes a tightly coiled pile on the front lawn. The game revolves, for the most part, around Cole Phelps, a returning war hero and one heck of a stand up guy. The narrative is broken up into five different sections where you work way up thru the ranks and different crime desks (traffic, homicide, vice and arson). The game opens with Cole as a beat cop and this where you learn the mechanics of the game i.e searching for clues, interrogating suspects and using your weapon. This is where the fun ends and the tedium kicks in. The formula for this game is very simple, somewhere in the city of Los Angles a crime has been committed and you must go investigate the scene, collect clues, interrogate suspects drive to a new location, investigate scene, collect clues, interrogate suspectsâ Expand
  69. May 29, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Like many other people, I really wanted to fall in love with this game. Even though it wasn't pure Rockstar, it showed promise. However, there are many flaws with this game that holds it back.

    Story - The story starts off quite nice. A war veteran (or hero) joins the ranks of the LAPD to continue giving back to the country and preventing wrongs or bringing justice to them. However, the story hits the brakes and comes to a screeching halt about halfway through on the homicide desk. There are five "cases" that deal with homicides but they are all the same. Every single case is virtually a repeat of the first. Not only is this frustrating in that it's repetitive and boring but also that the player is forced to knowingly put innocent people in jail despite the bigger criminal at hand. Then the last desk deals with arson, except only 40% of the story on that desk is actual arson. The user is forced to play as a different character to end the game after the twist that completely goes against what the user knows. There is no history or reasoning for the main character to commit adultery. What was meant to be surprising comes off as a skeptical way to keep the story moving. The story/case aspect is also incredibly linear - this is only one way to do anything. Street crimes and certain story scenes are pre-meditated. No matter how much you try to chase down a suspect, it will always adjust to end at Point A with a hostage. This is another negative against the game. For the long time in development, the story is incredibly disappointing.

    Gameplay - First off, the signature Rockstar controls of holding a button to sprint was a bad decision. Second, after an initial playthrough, all cut scenes should be skippable. Unfortunately this is not the case and what was already repetitive becomes agonizing on any replay. The street crimes are similar in fashion in that they are all virtually the same. The collectibles add replay value but in the end can only do so much.

    Graphics - While I'm sure many will disagree, especially those on the other console, the facial animations are the only truly impressive graphical aspect of this game. The rest are no better than Red Dead Redemption, from the weather effects, to the way the characters walk to the overall environment. That being said, there are some colorful and nice aspects of the open world but they are not groundbreaking in the slightest manner, just aesthetically pleasing.

    The game certainly has its flaws, but it does have appealing and enjoying aspects to it. It certainly deserves a play if you are into it but by no means does it deserve a purchase. What brings the game down the most is the combination of a repetitive gameplay aspect that discourages replay and a story that falls flat on its own face halfway through. Team Bondi had a good idea, but for the time they spent, they needed more variety in the gameplay and a better story. Instead we got a mediocre game with incredible faces. I prefer the former. Many media outlets praise the game, and while some do, it seems to be a hype effect more than anything else. The gameplay here isn't groundbreaking nor is the fact that it is an interactive narrative. These have been done before, and arguably better. The groundbreaking aspect here is the motion scan technology for the facial animations. However, this requires hours of an actor's time to put in and is an incredibly inefficient and costly way of animating faces. Personally, I feel it is not worth the time, especially since the bodies in comparison feel a bit robotic and look too different.
    Expand
  70. May 31, 2011
    5
    Great graphics, boring game play. Here's the game in a nut shell: Get new case, investigate crime scene, question people, follow leads, question more people, fin the culprit, chase, kill. Rinse and repeat.
  71. Jun 1, 2011
    4
    If I can choose 1 word to sum up the game it is 'disappointing'. That's sad for me to say as I am a huge Rockstar fan and have been for a decade since GTA hit the scene. LA Noire does a lot really well but it left a tonne of potential on the table. Like all users I am sure I am not alone with the expectation that this game may have had some resemblance to the game play that we have come to expect from Rockstar. My impression was that we would be getting the most advanced visual brilliance in facial recognition as well as the awesome scenery of LA in the 1940s along with what open features we know from the Red Dead Redemption and GTA Series games. I guess I set myself up for a higher expectation or just assumed too much. LA Noire is visually brilliant and for sure they have done an amazing job but it's frustrating as hell in the interview process, not rewarding and you get the bad guy anyways so whats the point! Why not have made the game in the same style as the GTA games with all the sights of LA and given it a little more of a human face to the cases. It seems to me to be too robotic like in solving crimes in that no matter what way you turn you'll get t here anyways. Is it challenging? No. Is it visually awesome? YES. Would I play it over and over like I do the other Rockstar Games? NO. Sorry guys but you had a captive audience during pre-game and I think you missed an opportunity here. Let's hope the next GTA makes up for it. I'm off now to play Red Dead Redemption. Expand
  72. Jun 11, 2011
    4
    Once you get part way through the 2nd desk, you've seen all this game has to offer. Setups for searching homes, chasing criminals and crime scenes are recycled with very little variation outside of the story. The faces usually look good, but considering they're plastered on below par bodies, it becomes more distracting than engrossing. The world is accurate but largely dead, there's next to no point for the open world. The behavior of characters often makes little sense. I'd rather play Police Quest than this sad excuse for a game. Expand
  73. Aug 7, 2011
    3
    3 out of 10. Persevered with this very weekend for a few weeks. Points for: motion capture (gets 3 points as it kept me at it for longer than otherwise). Points against: Writing and subplot. For a game that relies heavily on interrogation mechanics to keep the game engaging - theirs no consequence for poor choices. For this type of game to work, it needs to have REAL consequences for your actions.

    Wanted to love this game but alas it's time to head to EB games and pre order Uncharted.
    Expand
  74. May 18, 2011
    10
    LA Noire is simply put, the game we didn't even know we wanted. It is revolutionary in so many areas, from the MotionScan tech to the way you interact with the game. Mess something up, you are going to spend longer trying to get the facts straight. This is an outstanding game of logic and ingenuity with the Rockstar charm added to it. I credit Rockstar with crafting a new path, and getting a lot of it right. Additionally, I credit Rockstar for not ruining details of building like in GTA4 to save memory. The whole 1947 Los Angeles is amazing. Do note, this is no GTA, you can't just decide to go bad cop on the world, if you can accept that and don't mind using your brain, LA Noire is a game for you. Highly recommend it. Expand
  75. Jul 7, 2011
    5
    What is it with game journalists on web sites these days? Every time some thing slightly different from the norm comes out they laud it with praise and give it near perfect review scores. Poor old games buyers rush out to buy what the press says it the best game ever invented and find an interesting concept for a game that lacks that something that journos seem to forget about - FUN!.

    The city looks fine only very little happens, all the interviews are basically the same and the driving is poor and the shooting pathetic - Kane and Lynch 2 was much more fun.

    If you want something similar that is fun try the underrated Mafia2 instead, that is still far from perfect, but is fun which after all is what games are supposed to be about. Personally I'd rather play Saint's Row 2 and watch re-runs of Columbo.
    Expand
  76. May 19, 2011
    8
    I think that this game is pretty decent. It's not meant to be taken too seriously as some may have expected. It has the mechanics of GTA and RDR, but it's clearly a different type of game based on paying attention. The graphics and sound are ridiculous. I have it on PS3 so I can't speak for the 360 version. A perfect 10 may be a stretch, but it's worth an 8 overall. It's not as good storywise or interactivewise as Heavy Rain, and it's not as action packed as RDR, which are both 10's in their own right. Expand
  77. May 18, 2011
    9
    For anyone reading this review, i have a simple fact to point out. Metacritic is a site built on statistical averages, 90 from the critics at the time im writing this and 82 from users. Therefore the game is a brilliant one. Therefore all the negative user review's are from haters, not from people with actual intelligent opinions. Someone commented there isn't much else to do other than the story, this is true but shouldn't be that important. A game's foundation have always been on the story. If you want to go and mindlessly shoot something buy cod, if you want a true sandbox experience where you can muck around and do whatever get gta or red dead. If you want a combination of excellent story telling with revolutionary motion capture and a truly immersive world which plunges you straight into L.A in the 40's then buy this game. Team Bondi and Rockstar have created a masterpiece. Expand
  78. May 18, 2011
    10
    Innovative and gorgeous to behold. Sitting here at work today thinking about how I'm NOT playing it right now has been torture. I'm a huge fan of the adventure genre, and I've never really enjoyed running around as the bad guy in the GTA series (blasphemy, I know) so it's been refreshing to be the cops for once.
  79. Jan 25, 2012
    9
    L.A.Noire is a mature, immersive and very well produced adventure. Don't expect a traditional sandbox or an action game, L.A.Noire is much more close to old (and great) investigative adventures we had on PC years and years ago.
    The environments are extremely detailed and polished, every corner you explore is convincing and rich in details, the city is vast and amazing, cars are also
    impressive. Narrative is mature, deep and capture the "Noir" feeling and mood well. Characters are deep, something rare in video games, and will stay with you long after you finish the game.
    Facial animation is truly outstanding and the voice overs are all great and very expressive, all actors did a good job.
    Action moments are polished and fluid, just a bit repetitive at times, this is why I am not giving this unique game a perfect 10. Driving sequences are pleasant especially because the cars and the city just feel right, real but cinematic.
    L.A.Noire is not for every one, it is a slow pace game, but a immersive, deep, mature, dark and expressive gaming experience.
    Expand
  80. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    i am in love with this game and i cant stop playing it. i honestly cant think of anything bad to say about the game yes it is linear but so are alot of other great games and you would think going over a crime scene to try and find clues would get boring well it doesnt you always feel a sense of accomplishment when ever you piece together a crime and arrest the offender and the game also has a great story that i got sucked into and it kept me wanting to play so i can find out what happens next. this game may not be for everyone since there isnt shooting or car chases every 5 seconds for those that have the atention span of a 5 year old but this game is defenatly worth a try and must be experianced Expand
  81. Jun 20, 2011
    6
    Boring thy name is LA Noire... The tech behind the game is awesome, The game world looks great. Some of the cases are great but overall i am having a hard time finishing this game as i can only stomach having to investigate the same case ie: the case of the generic dead girl so many times. it gets hard to stay invested in game once you become aware of how limited you are by the games setup of the serial killer motif.. oh look we are going to put away another innocent man but its OK its all building up to finding the real killer.. it all begins to feel a bit pointless really. I want to love this game but i just cant Expand
  82. May 24, 2011
    2
    Well where do I start with this game. This is going to be a long one. This game is best described as superficial, lacking in both content and any real character. At first it feels like a whole new experience, both creative and original. However after 'X' amount of hours of game play I can tell you it is anything but.

    The whole focus of the game is on the cut-scenes and story; although
    this is it's greatest triumph it is also it's greatest downfall. For all the innovation they put into this, none of it adds to the game play of the game. The story at times feels familiar and predictable, the cinema-tics although superior to other games I have seen, just don't make for a better gaming experience. If it were a movie I would be saying otherwise.

    The cases are way too easy, practically child-like for what is an adult's game. You go from point A to B and back again, essentially clicking a button whenever the controller vibrates alerting you to a clue. The investigative side of the system just doesn't exist. It's as if the game holds your hand and guides you all the way through. The realistic expressions are good outside of interrogations, but ruined by the fact that they all over-act their expressions - the opposite anyone in a real interrogation would do. Some of the missions are at best said to be grueling and tiresome. One particular missions involves finding excerpts from a killer - but you don't figure them out the AI does. You drive round completely and utterly aimless until the game's hidden timer moves the story along with dialogue from the protagonist.

    The combat is not much better, in a game like this it is far from realistic. You simply can take multiple gun shots without flinching, whilst the AI is as daft as ever practically wanting and embracing death. Melee combat is also overly simplistic - Phelps performs like a professional heavyweight boxer, knocking opponents down yet the AI has the demeanor of a drunkard fighter. Button bashing punches at it's finest. I would also like to point out this game lacks a lot of action and when you do reach it, it is few and far between.

    My next problem with this game is content. Beyond the single player experience of this 'sandbox' game there is nothing. Literally nothing. No incentives what so ever to carry on playing once you have completed the game. The developers have created a fantastic world, but there's no reason to explore it. Unlockables are also at a minimum and are purely awful - worse than team fortress 2 or even the call of duty games. A gigantic world that looks beautiful, but has very, very little to do in it.

    It's almost like the developers took everything that made GTA games a like-able sandbox experience and cut all of the content, beyond the single player experience. The game has zero replay value. There is no reason to replay a case outside of perfectionism. And with a complete lack of multiplayer I have to say this game is truly one of the most over-hyped and overrated games I have experienced my whole life. I simply cannot understand how the reviewers scored this in the '90's zone.

    Superficial. Over-hyped. Overrated.
    Expand
  83. May 25, 2011
    2
    I really wanted to like this game, but then, i didn't. I like all kinds of games, except sports and some simulation games. But no, this is no game for me, sure the graphics were all right on 30 fps, but the game is so damn boring.

    I sure hope Rockstar doesn't mess up Max Payne 3, and please...PRETTY PLEASE...make sure Max Payne 3 runs at 60 fps !!
  84. May 18, 2011
    5
    It's slightly more boring than watching an episode of CSI, Law and Order, NCIS, Bones, or any of those cliché-laden cop dramas that make up TV nowadays.
  85. May 26, 2011
    8
    Great game, not perfect, slightly clunky combat system but the superb voice acting and investigation game play more than make up for it. Can't wait till LA Noire 2!
  86. May 18, 2011
    9
    A welcome alternative to the stereotypical, with a seemingly flawless backdrop and facial expressionism, this has potential to produce a strong branding and lots of happy gamers, and for 247Consoles that's what gaming is all about. Superbly un-rushed and a credit to the Rockstar community supporters.
  87. May 19, 2011
    8
    The positives outweigh the negatives in this game. Definitely worth playing!

    Although I do agree with most critics saying that Phoenix wright and Police quest were more challenging than L.A. N. as this game is relatively easy, I still am having a great time playing it And let's be fair, the last successful detective game to have come out was 20 years ago!

    The atmosphere is superb,
    and the facial animation is really exciting and fresh. The environment, as mentioned before, isn't graphically up to the level of Mafia II & co. but I really like the little details the studios thought of (such as the breaking of shop windows when crashing your car) and the interesting mini-events that occur during pursuits (a garbage truck sometimes park right in front of me before I get a clean shot on my fleeing criminal etc...)

    The notepad idea is brilliant, works great and keeps you in the game. The art work in it is great, I love the pencil sketches and how you set your destination on the map etc. The music is wonderful, the start screen features a full 6 minute tune with 2 solos.

    The interrogations are hard (which is good!) and the clues are well hidden but still very easy to find (which is kinda too bad). I still wish they had polluted the crime scenes with more useless objects to put you off course on occasions. It would have been nice if R* had been more than just producers and put more money in this game to liven up the environment and put more side missions as the game does seem very short. Over all, if you follow the pace of the game, get a nice glass of Jack and smoke a cigar, you will most definitely enjoy this game, and its great music!
    R* have an eye for a great concept and I applaud them for finding the Australian studio that was working on this gem. Hopefully the success of this game will produce a sequel graphically capable of impressing young teenagers as well as us Parents.

    Can't wait for the DLC chapters to come out! Keep 'em rolling boys!
    Expand
  88. May 24, 2011
    10
    Beautifully recreated world. The textures and style are amazing and the sound design is incredible. I suspect this game will get people playing it that never gamed before. I'm pretty sure my 64 year old Dad would get into this because of the historical accuracy of the buildings and cars, not to mention all the subtle flavors of the time creeping in through overheard conversations and radio programs. The window displays and billboards are great too. I've heard some people complain that this game isn't action-packed enough...well, you're entitled to your opinion, but I haven't been bored for a second. I'm constantly in awe of this game. Maybe not the best game for little kids that just want to get head-shots over and over. Expand
  89. May 26, 2011
    9
    The game is enjoyable and the new way to play video games. The cases are fun and some remind me of things from movies like LA Confidental. The cases are sometimes straightforward but you have some choice in how you solve them.....All in all it's a great game to kick off the summer and lead us into all the fun that will be arriving later....
  90. May 31, 2011
    6
    I think i came into L.A. Noire expecting to much but i imagined a challenging detective game with great facial animation . Well I got the facial animation but I'm halfway through the game and can't tell any considerable ramp up in difficulty. Also in the interviews sometimes they change the rules between truth and doubt where the guy is telling the truth but in order to get the right answer you have to doubt him which seems kinda cheap. The main character also seems to overreact in some situations when use doubt but then with the next time you ask a question it seems like that outburst never happened. The main thing i can praise this game is on facial animation which is the best at the moment in the industry. I would recommend this as a rent or those that simply like to see new technology used in game and I personally hope they do better with the next game. Expand
  91. Jun 17, 2011
    3
    Played and got bored after awhile. Cole has no personality and seems like he is a straight forward cop which is alright but its like he goes through the game with blinders on and isn't aware of what is going around or care
  92. dz9
    Aug 1, 2011
    2
    The Good: Great graphics, and a few cool innovative ideas. The Bad: Irrelevant side quests, outrageous map, bland world, uninteresting combat, repetitive mechanics, disengaging story, and overall...boring. Yes yes yes... the new face tracking is awesome, the way you investigate crimes is neat, and presentation is through the roof. But you can't help but compare this title to GTA, but in reviewing it, it may be easier to (believe me, i know this game isn't GTA). Imagine in GTA, you have that huge map of stores, missions, cops to kill, buildings to blow up, and mayhem to cause. Now imagine your playing L.A Noire, and it still has the huge map but only thing in it is side missions. Side missions? May be fun...Right? WRONG!! They're repetitive and unimportant, and they represent everything that is wrong with this game...it's simply is just bland and repetitive. One may argue, "but what of the collectibles and hidden cars." And I would respond, "why should I care enough to go look for them." Collectibles are pointless, and after each cutscene, you lose your shiny new car, so whats the point of getting it in the first place. Onto the combat, let's face it, shooting alone... GTA is not the best out there, if you've played GTA, the shooting mechanic is the same in this title... but no ammo, hard to keep the guns you've obtained, and the shooting sequences feel more like a disruption rather than a breath taking experience. The investigations are sort of cool, but like everything else, get repetitive. The hypes for this game was that the new face detection would play an important strategic role in the investigation mechanic. However, it does not.. every person in the game (even the ones who are telling the truth) show signs of lying, and this "important strategic role" holds no weight. Another huge flaw in the game, is the linear feel. If you have played immersive games like Heavy Rain, you understand why this game is so linear. You could be a complete idiot, skip all the cutscenes and have no idea whats going on... just tap some buttons, if you get them wrong... the game will just set you up at a checkpoint right before the investigation so you can keep being an idiot. If you are a person who plays this and tries to immersive themselves in the boring story and wants to be strategic to try out their detective skill, you will be rewarded just as much as the idiot who just taps "X" the whole way through... you may "gain a level," but "gaining a level" means nothing in this game, due to the lack of reward. This game is exactly how South Park put it, "What's so fun about running around, watching people talk and tapping the A button" Expand
  93. Dec 28, 2011
    9
    Now, THIS is a good game. People complain about how easy the game is, just wait for the controller to vibrate and that's it. NO GUYS! This functions can be deactivated whenever you want and you will be for your own! Each case has it's own story, but there is a well-thought and nice main story behind all of those other. Each time you complete a case, something about the main story will be revealed, and in the end you will uncover the past of Cole and that all the small stories are linked, creating a really nice plot. We can't forget the AMAZING atmosphere that the game offers, the AWESOME graphics and the GREAT sounds. A must-have for all of those who enjoy good games. Expand
  94. Feb 11, 2012
    9
    There are flaws: the interview process can get repetitive and tedious, the sledgehammering visual metaphors and foreshadowing ("Look! Someone mentioned "doing God's work!"") go beyond mere homage and become uncomfortably cliched and the shootouts and fistfights are regularly unnecessary and lacklustre.

    But these problems pale in the context of what Rockstar and Team Bondi have created:
    this game requires you to think, to learn and to immerse yourself into their meticulous recreation of Los Angeles. It's not perfect, but it's damned good. Expand
  95. Apr 10, 2012
    8
    There are some idiots who expected this to be GTA or Red Dead. Well, it's definetly not. Most cases are interesting, the plot takes some great twists and turns, and the revolutionary face-animation is really quite amazing. There are some issues with the game though. Some characters don't get the attention they deserve and controlling Cole, the main character, can feel awkward and make it difficult to inspect certain clues.
    It also has a pretty good soundtrack.

    This game isn't for everyone, but if you want a good story, check this game out.
    Expand
  96. May 21, 2011
    7
    Firstly this game does not deserve negative scores, but it doesnt deserve 9 or 10,s also. The technology used in this game is nothing short of ground breaking, it has to be seen to be believed, it truly is amazing. The graphics are just gorgeous, LA in the 40's is stunning the developers have really done a superb job. Now onto the game...It is a breath of fresh air, it is very original, unlike any other game ive played. You must use your wits here rather than brawn and i find that a pleasant change of pace. As you probably know it involves searching crime scenes for evidence interviewing witnesses and suspects to try to deduct what is true and solve the cases. The game also trys to break up those sequences with gun fights car chases , fisticuffs, and chasing down suspects through the streets, all of these things in their own right , are great , the problem comes in that you do those things over and over again. In every cases its more or less the same format, go to the crime scene, gather evidence interview suspects/witnesses, make the arrest, it gets tiresome. The other thing is you cant really fail a case, even if you get the interviews all wrong the case will still progress , its just means your final score wont be as good. There are side missions like foiling robberies etc but again they are repetitive. Despite those things this game will keep you playing as the stories and the animation technology will keep you hooked. Is it worth buying?...thats hard to answer as we all like different things in games I would suggest a rental to start with and see how you go...also the game doesnt offer much in the way of replay value....its a ground breaking game from the techology standpoint. and it is fun in places...but thats about it. Expand
  97. Jan 14, 2012
    0
    This is honestly the worst game I've ever played. It was the more disappointing since everyone gave it glowing reviews.

    First annoyance, none of the pop-up explanations for what to do lasted long enough for me to read them. (E.g. Not even on the second time of running over a pedestrian and being told 'LAPD is supposed to protect citizens" did I finish reading the pop-up and see if there
    was actually a consequence). Hey developers, let us choose when the pop-ups that tell us what to do go away.

    Second, there is not enough explanation for how to conduct interviews (or maybe I didn't finish reading any of the explanations). Being told I only got 1/4 questions right doesn't mean anything when I didn't know what I was doing in the first place.

    These two things ruined the game. After I got shot to death by 'Mexicans' and after only finishing 2 interviews, I'm ready to move on to other, more entertaining, games.
    Expand
  98. May 18, 2011
    9
    First off this game is amazing. The graphics are very good for a sandbox game. Characters look and sound great. Actors were spot on. I was amazed by the facial expressions on everyone during interviews when I first turned the game on but as I played it kind of went away slowly. Everything is top notch. I've noticed a few times where in more populated areas I'll get minor lag but it's to be expected. LA Noire's size feels enormous, but unfortunately it feels like you'll spend most of your time driving around then anything else. One thing that bothered me was the street missions. They will appear at the most random locations. When one pops up all the way across the city it starts to feel a little annoying having to drive back and forth. The story is great and actually it is quite fun solving crimes. I feel like this is a game I can play through a few times and still enjoy. The gun fighting is similar to red dead redemption with the targeting system, its good and works well with LA Noire. Hand to hand combat I'm not sure why but it feels off a tad. I just feel awkward doing it. I would have also liked to see a bit more customization maybe a few more guns too. In closing L.A. Noire is a very good game, Team Bondi did a fantastic job with everything and this game deserves the credit it's getting. Expand
  99. May 18, 2011
    9
    Really, really cool game. No, it's not a first person shooter and it's not GTA IV so understand that up front. Fun, interesting, creative and innovative. The type of game you have to play to understand it. I can't stop playing it. Thumbs up.
  100. May 28, 2011
    10
    This is my Favourite Game of all time (Mainly because im a big Noir Genre fan) it is full of exciting missions and it is a BIG Game! I love the Story, its classic Noir at it's best! The Gameplay is Fresh and unique and the Graphics are Remarkable. Go out and Buy this Game!
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 78 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 78
  2. Negative: 0 out of 78
  1. Oct 19, 2011
    90
    At first L.A. Noire seems a bit too easy, then it gets interesting and reading people's reactions makes for some of the best gaming this year. The atmosphere is spot on and the late 40's LA really feels like an authentic, living place. [June 2011]
  2. Aug 16, 2011
    75
    Team Bondi created a technical masterpiece with L.A. Noire. The problem is that they didn't create an artistic or even entertaining masterpiece.
  3. Jul 26, 2011
    66
    Look past the glitz of technical achievements, richly designed sets, ostensibly interactive environments, and you will see the real L.A. Noire – a vapid adventure with a hole-ridden plot, a boring unsympathetic hero, and rough stitches in places where content should be.