Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 78 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 916 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: L.A. Noire is a next generation crime thriller developed by Team Bondi, a new Australian based studio founded by Brendan McNamara, of "The Getaway." L.A Noire is an interactive detective story set in the classic noir period of the late 1940's. It blends action, detection and complexL.A. Noire is a next generation crime thriller developed by Team Bondi, a new Australian based studio founded by Brendan McNamara, of "The Getaway." L.A Noire is an interactive detective story set in the classic noir period of the late 1940's. It blends action, detection and complex storytelling and draws players into an open-ended challenge to solve a series of gruesome murders. Set in a perfectly recreated Los Angeles before freeways, with a post-war backdrop of corruption, drugs and jazz, L.A. Noire truly blends cinema and gaming. [Rockstar Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 78
  2. Negative: 0 out of 78
  1. Jun 10, 2011
    100
    Although L.A. Noire is great on both systems, it's best on the PlayStation 3. With improved performance, better frame rate and an added case, this is certainly the version of the game to get. The strong cast of characters, compelling storyline and ambitious sense of scope makes this one of Rockstar Games' best products yet. Just remember to switch to black and white!
  2. May 16, 2011
    100
    This is vastly different from the countless first- and third-person shooters and all the "me too" open-world games sitting on store shelves. All the things I've only read about in Dashiell Hammett novels, or seen in film classics like Double Indemnity, have all come to interactive life in L.A. Noire.
  3. May 16, 2011
    95
    L.A. Noire is a revolution in videogaming, both in technological and narrative terms. Its peculiar structure won't make it accessible to everyone though, as the more action oriented players will have to comprehend its sometimes cryptic and episodic structure to fully appreciate the mix. It's still largely recommended to every player out there, since ignoring it would mean losing a fundamental step forward for videogaming as a rich and noble entertainment form.
  4. May 16, 2011
    90
    The content isn't much more graphic than your average TV cop drama (apart from the occasional nudity), but it's heavy subject matter for a game, and Noire plays it surprisingly straight, with very little of the wry humor that characterizes most Rockstar releases.
  5. 90
    L.A. Noire's intriguing character profile, deep interrogation and investigation system, and impeccably detailed facial technology puts this detective thriller in a class of its own.
  6. Jun 13, 2011
    85
    It's hard to shake the feeling that they narrowly missed the lofty mark they've set for themselves. A great game? Sure. An instant classic? Not quite.
  7. May 21, 2011
    58
    Despite how accurate it looks and feels for the time period, it still ends up being little more than a 3D cardboard cut-out most of the time. Also, while the detective aspect is pretty well realized, all of the action sequences I was involved in felt far too planned out, and eliminating any sort of random element from them makes them a little too sterile for my taste.

See all 78 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 287
  1. May 17, 2011
    10
    This game is truly amazing. Rockstar and Bondi have completely redefined storytelling in gaming with this masterpiece. True, you don't get toThis game is truly amazing. Rockstar and Bondi have completely redefined storytelling in gaming with this masterpiece. True, you don't get to go around killing everyone at your leisure, but that's not what this game is all about. It's about being a detective. And boy, does it ever do it well. Expand
  2. May 21, 2011
    10
    Rockstar does it again! I played this game on my XBOX and i was in awe, so many fantastic, unique characters.... just imagine if all games areRockstar does it again! I played this game on my XBOX and i was in awe, so many fantastic, unique characters.... just imagine if all games are like this! Maybe game was bit short and repetitive, but good far outweights the bad. 9.6/10 Expand
  3. May 18, 2011
    9
    Very good game, the city is awesome and I´ve just played a few cases but there are so engaged, the art, faces and cars look soVery good game, the city is awesome and I´ve just played a few cases but there are so engaged, the art, faces and cars look so realistic. I think rockstar will change the manner to make games Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2011
    8
    I'm so happy this game came. It's the best experiment in videogame since Heavy Rain and it's great pro. With good story and amazing actingI'm so happy this game came. It's the best experiment in videogame since Heavy Rain and it's great pro. With good story and amazing acting it's very important game in this generation. Expand
  5. Jan 28, 2014
    7
    Interesting game, but way too linear for me. It doesn't really matter if you completed the case collecting all the clues and you are accurateInteresting game, but way too linear for me. It doesn't really matter if you completed the case collecting all the clues and you are accurate at the interviews. A couple of cases can change depending on that, but it doesn't affect the plot at all, and you keep advancing without any problem. I think it is a game intended to be re played until perfection, but following a walk-through guide or repeating the arbitrary interviews until I get them right doesn't seem so appealing to me. Expand
  6. Nov 11, 2011
    6
    The quality of the work that has gone into this game far surpasses most others but the story falls just short of expectations. I found myselfThe quality of the work that has gone into this game far surpasses most others but the story falls just short of expectations. I found myself at first in awe with the facial capture system and the sheer quality of the acting in this games but as you progress through the ranks and different divisions I cant help but feel that I have done this before over and over again. Every mission hasthe same grind and by the midway point of the game it becomes unclear who is lying or telling the truth and you feel as if every answer you submit may make or break your case, I know thats part of the acting and shows how good of a job was done here but the difficulty involved in reading a professionaly trained actors emotions or lack of is no easy task for the typical gamer in this case. Overall its is a good solid game with great mechanics and a great new addition to the many games in this genre but it falls just short of being a standout title Expand
  7. May 27, 2011
    0
    L.A. Noire is great...if you have no soul maybe. Red Dead Redemption was OK for the single player feature only (don't even get me startedL.A. Noire is great...if you have no soul maybe. Red Dead Redemption was OK for the single player feature only (don't even get me started about the multiplayer), but this game is utter garbage. Wow motion captured facial animations? **** They just keep pushing technology in the wrong direction. There's been realer looking faces in video game before. Try Ultimate Mortal Kombat 3. It's just an excuse for Rockstar Games to deliver yet another hackneyed turd bucket. But I just wanna play with guns instead of my penis for change!ââ Expand

See all 287 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.
  2. L.A. Noire: Inside the Reviews

    L.A. Noire: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: May 19, 2011
    The newest original game concept from "Grand Theft Auto" creator Rockstar Games arrived in stores this week after months of hype. How good did it turn out to be? We take a closer look at the critical response to detective thriller "L.A. Noire."