Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 78 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 829 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: L.A. Noire is a next generation crime thriller developed by Team Bondi, a new Australian based studio founded by Brendan McNamara, of "The Getaway." L.A Noire is an interactive detective story set in the classic noir period of the late 1940's. It blends action, detection and complex storytelling and draws players into an open-ended challenge to solve a series of gruesome murders. Set in a perfectly recreated Los Angeles before freeways, with a post-war backdrop of corruption, drugs and jazz, L.A. Noire truly blends cinema and gaming. [Rockstar Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 78
  2. Negative: 0 out of 78
  1. Jun 10, 2011
    100
    Although L.A. Noire is great on both systems, it's best on the PlayStation 3. With improved performance, better frame rate and an added case, this is certainly the version of the game to get. The strong cast of characters, compelling storyline and ambitious sense of scope makes this one of Rockstar Games' best products yet. Just remember to switch to black and white!
  2. May 16, 2011
    100
    This is vastly different from the countless first- and third-person shooters and all the "me too" open-world games sitting on store shelves. All the things I've only read about in Dashiell Hammett novels, or seen in film classics like Double Indemnity, have all come to interactive life in L.A. Noire.
  3. May 16, 2011
    95
    L.A. Noire is a revolution in videogaming, both in technological and narrative terms. Its peculiar structure won't make it accessible to everyone though, as the more action oriented players will have to comprehend its sometimes cryptic and episodic structure to fully appreciate the mix. It's still largely recommended to every player out there, since ignoring it would mean losing a fundamental step forward for videogaming as a rich and noble entertainment form.
  4. May 16, 2011
    90
    The content isn't much more graphic than your average TV cop drama (apart from the occasional nudity), but it's heavy subject matter for a game, and Noire plays it surprisingly straight, with very little of the wry humor that characterizes most Rockstar releases.
  5. 90
    L.A. Noire's intriguing character profile, deep interrogation and investigation system, and impeccably detailed facial technology puts this detective thriller in a class of its own.
  6. Jun 13, 2011
    85
    It's hard to shake the feeling that they narrowly missed the lofty mark they've set for themselves. A great game? Sure. An instant classic? Not quite.
  7. May 21, 2011
    58
    Despite how accurate it looks and feels for the time period, it still ends up being little more than a 3D cardboard cut-out most of the time. Also, while the detective aspect is pretty well realized, all of the action sequences I was involved in felt far too planned out, and eliminating any sort of random element from them makes them a little too sterile for my taste.

See all 78 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 284
  1. May 17, 2011
    10
    This game is truly amazing. Rockstar and Bondi have completely redefined storytelling in gaming with this masterpiece. True, you don't get to go around killing everyone at your leisure, but that's not what this game is all about. It's about being a detective. And boy, does it ever do it well. Expand
  2. May 22, 2011
    10
    The review under green don't like videogames anymore, don't like inovations anymore. L.A. Noire is the best game of the year and Rockstar proved that sandbox is a kind of game that you can enjoy FOREVER. Expand
  3. May 17, 2011
    9
    This is a fantastic achievement in gaming today. The visuals, the gameplay, are all spectacular. it's refreshing to have a game that doesn't rely on senseless, inane, childish violence to provide an entertaining experience. I'm guessing most of the negative reviews are coming from butt-hurt fanboys who haven't actually played the game and are disappointed it's not a game relying on killing innocent civilians. How predictable. Expand
  4. Jul 22, 2014
    8
    This is a really good game in my opinion. I loved how accurate the facial expressions were. La Noire is different from other games, which I really like. Solving cases(and getting rated) and searching for clues is an A+ in my book. You have to watch some cut-scenes which I am not used to but, they are a must if you want to do well on the cases(who doesn't, right?) Story telling isn't the best but this game is a must play for any gamer. Expand
  5. Aug 5, 2013
    7
    First of all I loved the concept. L.A. Noire was definitely something I hadn't seen in gaming before. Motion capture was absolutely awesome and at the first couple of desks it was great in interrogations, too. However towards end of the game it became much harder to read suspects facial expressions. Maybe (and probably) I was just bad but honestly it was just one big tragicomic fiasco. My boss gave me so much negative feedback that if I was a detective in 1940's LA he probably would've just shot me. And I'm not even exaggerating. At the ending he said after every case I did something wrong. The game was pretty repetitive and boring as well without any replay value. Complete it once put it to shelf. Overall I enjoyed the game at very beginning but it became, honestly, boring after couple of first cases. Expand
  6. Sep 9, 2011
    6
    Even if the facial animation was pretty nice, the game had a huge lack of diversity. The game was a point and click + some third-person shooting part. The ambiance of the world was nice, but the game didn't have something that keeps you playing it. There wasn't any challenge nor multiple endings. I think that we should have had different consequences depending on how we resolve all the investigation. I think this should have been a movie and not a game, it was just a big linear game in an open world to make you thing it is letting you do anything you want.

    I think this game was overrated. It was a big disappointment for me. I was hoping for something new in the industry such as Heavy Rain. Finally, there is no replay value at all. (Except for Trophies and Achievements)
    Expand
  7. May 27, 2011
    0
    L.A. Noire is great...if you have no soul maybe. Red Dead Redemption was OK for the single player feature only (don't even get me started about the multiplayer), but this game is utter garbage. Wow motion captured facial animations? **** They just keep pushing technology in the wrong direction. There's been realer looking faces in video game before. Try Ultimate Mortal Kombat 3. It's just an excuse for Rockstar Games to deliver yet another hackneyed turd bucket. But I just wanna play with guns instead of my penis for change!ââ Expand

See all 284 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.
  2. L.A. Noire: Inside the Reviews

    L.A. Noire: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: May 19, 2011
    The newest original game concept from "Grand Theft Auto" creator Rockstar Games arrived in stores this week after months of hype. How good did it turn out to be? We take a closer look at the critical response to detective thriller "L.A. Noire."