Lair PlayStation 3

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Lair Image
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 231 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In a world ravaged by endless conflict and natural disaster, a call for peace turns into a bloodbath of betrayal and deceit. Playing as a warrior riding a voracious dragon trained for deadly aerial and ground combat, and capable of scorching, clawing and smashing thousands of enemies, gamersIn a world ravaged by endless conflict and natural disaster, a call for peace turns into a bloodbath of betrayal and deceit. Playing as a warrior riding a voracious dragon trained for deadly aerial and ground combat, and capable of scorching, clawing and smashing thousands of enemies, gamers must defeat countless armies to save a civilization. Together, the gamer and the beast will attempt to change the destiny of a world on the brink of extinction. Engage in a struggle on an epic scale as your civilization repels the onslaught of an unrelenting army. A seamless combination of vast battles in air and on the ground, against other beasts, and armies of thousands. Unleash your might through large-scale battles that span both the sky and ground. Turn the tides of war with your ferocious dragon. Scorch the ground with flames and command the skies against vicious enemies. Immerse yourself in a living, breathing world of voracious beasts, a deep storyline and visceral gameplay. Fully supports the Playstation 3 motion sensitive controller. [SCEA] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 55
  2. Negative: 17 out of 55
  1. Play Magazine
    90
    Lair has come together beautifully... With its stunning visuals and incredible soundtrack, Lair may well be the single most powerful experience that a man can share with his $5,000 home theatre system. [Aug 2007, p.64]
  2. Without a workable control scheme (standard analog movement is not an option), I fear most people will find themselves flustered beyond belief with the game like I was.
  3. 62
    Ultimately, Lair is a game of two halves, one half is highly detailed with an imposing soundtrack that engulfs the player into the story (if you're a fan of mediaeval fantasy). The other half is full of predictable, repetitive missions that suffer from the control mechanism being too tricky to use in tight situations.
  4. Play UK
    52
    So pretty, yet so broken. [Issue#158, p.70]
  5. 50
    Lair is a largely average game.
  6. This tedious control system just turns the main focus of the game, the battles, into a task rather than an enjoyment. Not only does the SIXAXIS control scheme not feel comfortable or natural, it just doesn’t work. And the fact that you can’t even turn it off makes it even more of a burden.
  7. HD or no, Lair isn't a film to be watched, it's a game to be played. Therein lies the problem. Lair is nearly impossible to play.

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 79
  2. Negative: 20 out of 79
  1. JadeC.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    Whats wrong with everyone? This game sheer scale is by far the best that has been portrayed on the PS3 and is definitely a worthwhile buy.
  2. AndyK.
    Sep 26, 2007
    9
    Awesome Game, awesome presentation and great gameplay... The low ratings are really not fair!
  3. Jul 28, 2012
    9
    I want to start off by stating this review is based on the game with the patch controls. For me I enjoyed this game a lot. The action isI want to start off by stating this review is based on the game with the patch controls. For me I enjoyed this game a lot. The action is insane, killer sound, a killer story, and the controls are great with the patch. I don Expand
  4. DionysusJ.
    Sep 2, 2007
    8
    I'm not sure what build of the game all these "professional" reviewers are playing, but it's definitely not same game of LAIR that I'm not sure what build of the game all these "professional" reviewers are playing, but it's definitely not same game of LAIR that I'm playing. It seems to me that they all had no patience with this new control scheme. For all of you brave enough to think for yourselves and try this game, I recommend doing ALL the tutorials first...and make sure that you don't exaggerate your movements when playing. The graphics are insane in 1080p with no noticeable drops in framerate, and the story is above average (with absolutely gorgeous cut scenes). The missions are fun and have replayability (due to the medal system & leaderboard), and the action is often intense. My only gripe with the game is that the "object arrow" and camera angles aren't as exact as they could of been. But the bottom line is: I have no idea what all these review are talking about; they're full of sh!t. Don't be a sheep. Try the game for yourself. Expand
  5. FoolyCooly
    Oct 9, 2007
    8
    Excellent underrated game, fun hectic and visually stunning, complaints are just too harsh, with a little patience and exploration this game Excellent underrated game, fun hectic and visually stunning, complaints are just too harsh, with a little patience and exploration this game is very enjoyable the sixaxis controls were perfect for me, i've got all the gold medals already, only the occasional bugs and frame rate drops hurts this game a little and few neglected explanations for example the lock on shouldn't be used unless you want to grab an object, take down or fight a dragon otherwise for the shooting you should rely on auto lock and the sixaxis should be moved smoothly with this in mind this game is excellent. Expand
  6. BrianL.
    Dec 15, 2007
    5
    Game controls absolutely SUCK. The developer tried to make this fast pase game and they did except the controls couldn't keep up Game controls absolutely SUCK. The developer tried to make this fast pase game and they did except the controls couldn't keep up they're clunky... lets say you've taken cover behind a wall or piller the enemy flanks you, and you see the AI and your like TURN damit TURN so you can shoot him NOPE back is glued to the wall and everytime you try and zoom in and shoot the game ASSUME you mean shoot around the piller or shout over the wall. What you really want is to shoot the guy thats flanked you. Picking up ammo... when you've killed a guy they drop ammo ammo and "treasure" sparkle when they are in your field of view no problem, but they only sparkle often enough so when your running and gunning and you need ammo you run to the sparkly item and you expect to auto pick bullets for you guns... NOPE you gotta press triangle... and you literally have to right on top of the item to pick it up if you run over item by a few steps you have to back peddle. This does not work when your in a fire fight. Expand
  7. GregoryG.
    Sep 4, 2007
    0
    The whole concept of the controls are terrible. While it makes sense the whole pulling of the reigns thing actually works but it's just The whole concept of the controls are terrible. While it makes sense the whole pulling of the reigns thing actually works but it's just not intuitive nor is it any fun. Expand

See all 79 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.