Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Jun 13, 2011
    72
    A Lego game that would have been a great addition to the franchise, but falls short in many areas.
  2. Jun 21, 2011
    70
    There's still plenty of fun inside the good ship, especially in the excellent home base where unlockables are abundant, but the LEGO series seems to be losing its new toy shine. Pirates has its moments, but we're ready to set sail in a new direction.
  3. May 23, 2011
    70
    Another LEGO game with the same old gameplay. The game doesn't do anything new, but it's fun because of Jack Sparrow, who's always funny. The humor of Jack Sparrow combined with the LEGO humor is a great combination. A fun game for everyone.
  4. May 17, 2011
    70
    The formula might be a little overdone, but its charm goes a long way.
  5. May 16, 2011
    70
    The Pirates of the Caribbean license is just perfect for TT Games Lego adventures. But while Lego Pirates of the Caribbean is very entertaining, it is also unpolished and too hard for younger gamers.
  6. May 12, 2011
    70
    It's not quite as whiz-bang as LEGO Star Wars III and feels quite formulaic at times, but there's no denying it has charm and widespread appeal.
  7. May 11, 2011
    70
    Characters are well created and we love the cinematics and funny scenes in the game. We cannot say the same about the gameplay, as it's a bit repetitive and too similar to previous LEGO games, but still accessible for the whole family. You will enjoy it, that's for sure.
  8. May 10, 2011
    70
    A few months ago, I reviewed LEGO Star Wars III: The Clone Wars. That game introduced some light RTS elements to the series, along with loads of vehicle-based missions, and a huge cast of playable characters. LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean falls short of that high mark, delivering a more traditional LEGO experience. That's not to say that Pirates is a bad game – quite the contrary. It's just puzzling to see a series that has struggled to evolve take a step back. Where are the epic ship-to-ship vehicle battles? Why is the pirate-infested port hub so boring?
  9. 70
    A fun game than will quickly steal hours of your life, particularly if you bring along a friend for co-op. There's little news to report on the gameplay front, but LEGO Pirates certainly matches the quality of previous games in the series.
  10. May 19, 2011
    67
    Like previous Lego games, two player co-op is available in this version but splitscreen only. While the game maintains the easy drop-in, drop-out multiplayer the series is known for, the long-desired cooperative online multiplayer remains absent.
  11. May 13, 2011
    67
    Seemingly inaccurate platforming, a lack of direction pertaining to progress and puzzles, mediocre AI, and sluggish pacing. There's a lot of fun to be had and the longevity is high but we have to tolerate more issues…drop that "group" mentality for the next one, Traveller's.
  12. May 10, 2011
    65
    Too many basic flaws hinder the block-bashing fun of Lego Pirates of the Caribbean.
  13. Jul 3, 2011
    60
    An engaging and pacey swashbuckling romp through the highs of an accomplished franchise that will delight Pirates enthusiasts and Lego fans alike. [Issue#110, p.120]
  14. Jun 15, 2011
    60
    LEGO: Pirates of the Caribbean is full of beautiful environments and funny situations. But every time you try to enjoy them, your fun is spoiled by hindering mistakes made while polishing the game. Especially the unclear puzzles and the lacking platforming-sections make the game unnecessarily frustrating.
  15. May 24, 2011
    60
    If you're a Pirates of the Caribbean fan, have a friend, sibling or girlfriend to play it with and aren't yet burnt out on the LEGO series this might be one for you. Everyone else should probably think twice.
  16. May 12, 2011
    60
    Good atmosphere, decent production values, a lot of content and humor, funny puzzles, well implemented platform sequences, light combat : that's a lot of pros to make Traveller's Tales' developers proud. Yes, LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean is a rather fun title. But when will this saga revise its basics and innovate? With more than 5 games in the franchise, it may be time to consider that fans may very well like some new blood.
  17. May 11, 2011
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
  18. May 10, 2011
    60
    Lego Pirates of the Caribbean can be fun, so long as you don't get bored of doing the same things over and over again. The humor of the LEGO series remains, however, so there will be laughs along the way.
  19. May 10, 2011
    60
    The weakest Lego game so far suffers from both a lack of variety and a movie license that fails to build on previous successes.
  20. Jun 23, 2011
    50
    It's not that Lego Pirates of the Caribbean is a worse game than the first Lego game I played. It is, however, the same game, which means that the wonder is gone for me. Pirates of the Caribbean is still magical in a way, but I've seen all these tricks before.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Nov 8, 2014
    8
    Sorry for the mistakes, I'm french and my english is far from perfect.

    Pirates of the Caribbean was my first entry in the lego series and
    Sorry for the mistakes, I'm french and my english is far from perfect.

    Pirates of the Caribbean was my first entry in the lego series and let's say it right now i felt in loved with lego games thanks to it. We've got every single aspect of a great platforming game, great mechanics, appreciable by everyone, a lot of humor, and great replay value (approximately 20 hours if you want to beat the game at 100%). If you've got children the only reason than may get in the way of you buying this game it's if you didn't see the movies (you may be lost in the story).
    Except a few bugs here and there Lego Pirates Of the Caribbean is a model of good platforming games, if you like the genre you can't go wrong with this game.
    Full Review »
  2. May 18, 2011
    9
    I don't understand some critics. What's up with all this hate? LEGO Pirates is, by far, the BEST in the series. And I've played ALL of them.I don't understand some critics. What's up with all this hate? LEGO Pirates is, by far, the BEST in the series. And I've played ALL of them. Some critics are saying that the puzzles are not intuitive enough and that it's difficult to know which characters to use to solve them. What? Isn't this the whole purpose? And, by all means, this is the case here. I've been playing it for some time, now, and I have never been stuck. LEGO Pirates is gorgeous, fun, true to the series and offers countless hours of replayability. If you liked previous LEGO games, this is a MUST HAVE. Full Review »
  3. May 21, 2011
    10
    This game is a blast to play! I have never played a Lego game before so this is coming from someone completely new to the Lego series. I am aThis game is a blast to play! I have never played a Lego game before so this is coming from someone completely new to the Lego series. I am a huge fan of Pirates of Caribbean and the Lego version is so much fun to play and does justice to the movies. It is bounds better then other movie tie in games. The game follows the story near perfectly with some oddities that, mind you, are done on purpose. The animations are spot on, Jack in particular and co-op makes the game twice as fun. In fact its a must to have a friend, to share solving the puzzles and putting on silly masks. The puzzle difficulty has a nice learning curve and each character can do a special ability such as Jacks mask. I cant say much wrong about this game. Great audio, game play. all the varied locations from the film, cannons, Jack Sparrow and Pirates! If your a fan of Pirates of the Caribbean you cant go wrong buying this game! Full Review »