Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    94
    LEGO The Lord of the Rings takes the charm of the LEGO games and mashes it up with the brilliance of Tolkien's beloved masterpiece in a way that does justice to both. This is a refreshing, from-the-ground-up rebuilding of the LEGO formula, making this perhaps the best LEGO game to date.
  2. 90
    A fantastic tribute to The Lord Of The Rings franchise and one of the best LEGO games to boot.
  3. Dec 23, 2012
    88
    Deep, hilarious, and simply brilliant fun. [Jan 2013, p.98]
  4. Dec 3, 2012
    88
    LEGO The Lord of the Rings is, hands down, the best entry in the beloved TT Games' franchise. Filled with content and absolutely trustful to the movies, it's a true gift to fans of Tolkien and videogames alike.
  5. Jan 23, 2013
    85
    Somehow this template still feels far from stale. [Issue#227, p.72]
  6. Nov 20, 2012
    85
    Traveller's Tales has crafted a wonderful platformer that stands on its own – though the Lego charm and a great license make it even better.
  7. It takes some time getting used to the LEGO-aesthetic, but the use of the original music and voices even succeeded in giving us goosebumps when the LEGO-version of Gandalf cried out to the rest of the Fellowship to "Fly, you fools!". [January 2013, p.80]
  8. Mar 6, 2013
    80
    In addition to the excellent musical score from Jackson’s trilogy playing while you smash stone as Gimli or conjure blocks as Gandalf, LEGO LOTR is the first of the LEGO games to use the voices and acting from the films.
  9. Feb 4, 2013
    80
    LEGO Lord of the Rings is easily one of my favorite LEGO games. I’m not sure if it’s just the source material or the fact that the game is actually really fun and evolves the LEGO franchise in significant ways, but this is definitely worth playing for any fan of the previous LEGO games or Lord of the Rings films.
  10. Though the formula hasn't exactly been built from the green ground piece up, Telltale has gone above and beyond our expectations. Take, for example, the fact that Middle-earth is one gigantic, seamless hub world that can be be trodden across (or fast traveled through) from one end to the other. [January 2013, p64]
  11. Dec 7, 2012
    80
    Can't get enough of LEGO games even after tons of "blocky" Star Wars, Indies, Sparrows and Dark Knights? Well, The Lord of the Rings will be your most "precious" game for the holiday season.
  12. Dec 4, 2012
    80
    With some new good ideas, like the opportunity to explore freely Middle Earth, great characters and a nice settings, Lego Lord of the Rings is clearly the best LEGO game so far.
  13. Nov 27, 2012
    80
    The LEGO series reach new heights with this LOTR game. Open World, RPG, exploration, humor and fidelity at the same time, TT Games put a real effort in this new adaptation with the LEGO Twist.
  14. A surprisingly faithful adaptation of an unforgettable fantasy journey: you're likely to fall in love in the time it takes to get there and back again.
  15. Jan 6, 2013
    70
    LEGO: LOTR does enough to be interesting and is a recommended title for anyone who is in the process of a Middle-earth binge.
  16. Nov 26, 2012
    68
    Fans of the other LEGO games will certainly enjoy it; just don't expect anything you haven't seen before.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 3 out of 17
  1. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    I am dumbfounded as to why there are no reviews by any critics of this game as of today. I know there was an issue of a mislabeled demo disc on the Xbox 360...but still. My 10 year old loves the lego games, till now I have been a watching bystander. This game changed all that. This game hit's on all cylinders. I loved how the creators have managed to bring out the kid in me again. Granted I am a Lord of The Rings fan, so the that was the hook in me...but how they managed to make it feel like you were playing the film was truly magical. The first battle scene just hints at what this game will do...and once you enter Hobbiton...well the artistry and magic shines through. Yes it is simplistic in controls, but none-the-less, it is a game play that works..and works well. Sound lifted from the film cleverly pitted with site gags is the icing on the cake of this winning ps3 game. Congrats! Full Review »
  2. Jan 28, 2013
    3
    Being an avid fan of all the past Lego games, I was surprised when I picked this one up and found that the standard Lego game recipe got old really quickly. I've heard other people make this remark about previous games, but I could run through Lego Star Wars, Indiana Jones, Batman, and Pirates over and over without losing interest. The biggest difference in this case is humour. it just doesn't have it. There are a few spots where I'll chuckle to myself about what a character has done, but most of the opportunities to make a funny joke or poke at the scene go unnoticed. Some of the great lines in the movies are cut out of the video game, of course to allow you to play through the three movies in less than 9 hours (near 11 or 12 for extended I believe).

    On the positive side, there are still some core mechanics that are there from previous Lego games where you bust bricks, take control of other characters, lots of unlocking of characters and extras, and amazing animation. Every game that TT comes out with keeps getting more amazing to look at. Even the textures and lighting are amazing allowing me to believe I'm playing the movies.

    As great as the game may look and as amazing as the animation is they don't live up to the fact that the core Lego game experience feels off. The game does feel like Middle Earth, but unfortunately, in the end, it makes me want to actually watch Lord of the Rings instead of playing this game.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    Being a fan of the LEGO video game series and a fan of The Lord of the Rings films, I find this game to be amazing. It sticks to the story of the films while adding the humor and feel of a LEGO game. As with any LEGO game, the amount of playable characters are jaw-dropping. Many people complained about how LEGO games 'don't feel the same' with voice acting ever since LEGO DC: Super Heroes, but I personally believe that the voices helped the game more than hurt it. Without voicing it would have been extremely difficult for the developer's to portray the entire story and make it feel like the movies. Overall one of the best games I have played this year so far. I HIGHLY recommend it to everyone. Full Review »