LEGO The Lord of the Rings Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: LEGO The Lord of the Rings retells the story of the Lord of the Rings Trilogy through the visuals of the LEGO universe.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    94
    LEGO The Lord of the Rings takes the charm of the LEGO games and mashes it up with the brilliance of Tolkien's beloved masterpiece in a way that does justice to both. This is a refreshing, from-the-ground-up rebuilding of the LEGO formula, making this perhaps the best LEGO game to date.
  2. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Dec 23, 2012
    88
    Deep, hilarious, and simply brilliant fun. [Jan 2013, p.98]
  3. Play UK
    Jan 23, 2013
    85
    Somehow this template still feels far from stale. [Issue#227, p.72]
  4. Nov 27, 2012
    80
    The LEGO series reach new heights with this LOTR game. Open World, RPG, exploration, humor and fidelity at the same time, TT Games put a real effort in this new adaptation with the LEGO Twist.
  5. Feb 4, 2013
    80
    LEGO Lord of the Rings is easily one of my favorite LEGO games. I’m not sure if it’s just the source material or the fact that the game is actually really fun and evolves the LEGO franchise in significant ways, but this is definitely worth playing for any fan of the previous LEGO games or Lord of the Rings films.
  6. Dec 7, 2012
    80
    Can't get enough of LEGO games even after tons of "blocky" Star Wars, Indies, Sparrows and Dark Knights? Well, The Lord of the Rings will be your most "precious" game for the holiday season.
  7. Nov 26, 2012
    68
    Fans of the other LEGO games will certainly enjoy it; just don't expect anything you haven't seen before.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 3 out of 20
  1. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    I am dumbfounded as to why there are no reviews by any critics of this game as of today. I know there was an issue of a mislabeled demo discI am dumbfounded as to why there are no reviews by any critics of this game as of today. I know there was an issue of a mislabeled demo disc on the Xbox 360...but still. My 10 year old loves the lego games, till now I have been a watching bystander. This game changed all that. This game hit's on all cylinders. I loved how the creators have managed to bring out the kid in me again. Granted I am a Lord of The Rings fan, so the that was the hook in me...but how they managed to make it feel like you were playing the film was truly magical. The first battle scene just hints at what this game will do...and once you enter Hobbiton...well the artistry and magic shines through. Yes it is simplistic in controls, but none-the-less, it is a game play that works..and works well. Sound lifted from the film cleverly pitted with site gags is the icing on the cake of this winning ps3 game. Congrats! Collapse
  2. Jan 30, 2013
    10
    THIS IS A GREAT GAME! There is so much to do AND the kids can play and connect with the whole Lord Of The Rings movie franchise. There isTHIS IS A GREAT GAME! There is so much to do AND the kids can play and connect with the whole Lord Of The Rings movie franchise. There is humour and puzzles. Fighting and over one and a half hours of video footage. It's like an interactive Readers Digest version of the three movies. After you have finished the game there is still so many loose ends to tie up. My children love it and I am happy with them playing it. Probably one of the best Lego games to date, and even one of the best games outright. So much work has gone in to this game. BUY IT! Expand
  3. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    Exceeds your expectations. The sheer amount of things to do, replayability, unlockable items/characters. I spent 2 hours just running aroundExceeds your expectations. The sheer amount of things to do, replayability, unlockable items/characters. I spent 2 hours just running around the village destroying objects to accrue lego money before moving onto missions (and doing the same thing) Its visually sumptuous. Voice work from the actual actors. Music/ambience from the movies.

    I wasnt a big fan of the films but i want to rewatch them now. Lego Marvel Superheroes is just as good.

    I'm 38 years old
    Expand
  4. Dec 30, 2012
    9
    An excelent game with very good graphics. The story is very similar to the movie and the stages are very good builded. A positive point is theAn excelent game with very good graphics. The story is very similar to the movie and the stages are very good builded. A positive point is the lot of hours of the game to need to do 100%. Expand
  5. Jan 7, 2013
    9
    No stranger to the LEGO series and a big LotR fan, I received precisely what I expected when firing up this game. I feel it represents theNo stranger to the LEGO series and a big LotR fan, I received precisely what I expected when firing up this game. I feel it represents the source material in Traveler's Tales' own unique way, including oddball and slapstick humor, interesting puzzle elements and a great blend of visual styles. The scaled-down world offers the tale in short-form, which seems to play a lot like a highlights reel more than a full game but I feel they have done a great job in making an epic story fit into their style. Those unfamiliar with LEGO video games may be put off by the need to replay the game a handful of times in order to unlock all the hidden items, but I didn't mind as it adds to the challenge to figure out which characters are needed for each piece. I'm on the fence about using the actual voices/dialog. I'm rather nostalgic for when LEGO characters just made strange little noises and had over-the-top reactions. On the other hand, something about seeing LEGO Gandalf fighting the Balrog and screaming "YOU SHALL NOT PASS!" was just hilarious and cool at the same time. I'm not really sure this tale COULD be told in the old style.

    I experienced a handful of technical glitches. One forced me to turn off the PS3 when the video locked up. Another had a character fall straight through the ground, through the landscape mesh and into a never ending chasm (I could access the map and teleport out). Some controls do not respond as you'd expect at times, which can (and did, in my experience) add to frustration.

    All in all, if you like Lord of the Rings and LEGO games, this is a win. It has everything you've come to expect from the makers. If you're a fan of the films (but don't take it all too seriously) this is worth checking out.
    Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2012
    8
    If you have liked Lego games in the past, but felt they are too simple... well, this probably won't change your mind too much. The controlsIf you have liked Lego games in the past, but felt they are too simple... well, this probably won't change your mind too much. The controls are still simplistic and the platforming can be frustrating. But let's be honest: the source content for this game is unbelievable. The use of actual sound and voice acting from the movies makes it FUN to relive the stories and the open-concept of this game (which other Lego games have lacked) makes it more enjoyable to explore. If you have a spouse or child who is not into hardcore gaming, this would make a great choice for a fun, local multiplayer game. Expand
  7. Dec 7, 2012
    3
    The PS3 version is riddled with glitches and requires constant backtracking. This makes story mode an annoying slog, as your progress isThe PS3 version is riddled with glitches and requires constant backtracking. This makes story mode an annoying slog, as your progress is constantly lost. The graphics are pretty, but the levels are on the small side, and skip a lot of the cool stuff from the movies. Lego LOTR is okay, but definitely not up with the best. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews