Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 217 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: LIMBO, a black and white puzzle-platforming adventure, puts players in the role of a young boy traveling through an eerie and treacherous world in an attempt to discover the fate of his sister.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Limbo is simply one of the most impressive titles that PSN has to offer, and at $15, it's an experience that no gamer should pass up. [Oct 2011, p.80]
  2. Jul 26, 2011
    100
    If someone ever tells you videogames aren't art, strap them to a chair and make them play Limbo. Yes, it's that perfect.
  3. Jul 27, 2011
    95
    A design masterpiece that is always challenging us in a different way, combining simple platforming, puzzle and action, and with an oustanding visual design.
  4. Jul 19, 2011
    90
    Regardless, LIMBO is an excellent title that PlayDead Studios should be proud of. It's a strong game that hopefully won't be overlooked because it's an "indie" project that doesn't feature a lot of explosions or guns. It's a title that, given half a chance, will both impress and disturb you.
  5. Jul 20, 2011
    90
    An incredible achievement. Very few games are as original, atmospheric, and consistently brilliant. It belongs in everybody's collection. The journey may be over too quickly, but you will be entertained every minute. This is one of my favorite games.
  6. Jul 22, 2011
    88
    It's one of these games that can be instant classics. It's addictive, dying even more motivates you and it's simply one of the best games you can get via PSN.
  7. Jul 27, 2011
    75
    So while Limbo isn't quite the mind-blowing experience others have made it out to be, I think its unique visual style is certainly worth checking out.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Pure genius. This is the most impressive game I have played in years. I was blown away by how creative and varied the puzzles were. ThePure genius. This is the most impressive game I have played in years. I was blown away by how creative and varied the puzzles were. The only complaint I have is that I wish it were longer. It's a bit short, but for a downloadable game that is to be expected. This game represents what video games should be. After being let down by most modern games due to their mindless, button-mashing gameplay...this game gives me hope that someone out there is still interested in making a good game. I was more impressed with this downloadable game than the full-priced games you buy in the store. So much more thought was put into this game than most big-budget modern day games. Most games today try to distract you with big set pieces, explosions, and dialogue...meanwhile their gameplay is dull, mindless, and repetitive. Limbo is the opposite of that. Limbo follows in the tradition of legendary side-scrolling puzzlers like Oddworld, Flashback, and Out of This World. I recently downloaded the original Oddworld: Abe's Odysee from PSN and was blown away by that game....but after finishing Oddworld I was depressed because I though that in today's gaming landscape no one would ever have the balls to make another game like Oddworld. Well the makers of Limbo have proven me wrong. this game is masterfully DESIGNED....every aspect of the environment is carefully designed to force you to use your brain and figure out how to get from point A to point B...Most modern games are not designed thoughtfully - most modern game developers simply create environments that have no purpose but to look cool, then they throw you into the environment and expect you do nothing but mash buttons and shoot things...in most games you are never required to solve problems...but Limbo was designed with care and intent. Someone finally had the guts to make a game that requires you to think....someone finally took the time to design a game with purpose...that game is Limbo. Expand
  2. Jul 29, 2011
    10
    Awesome... I have been waiting for this to arrive on PSN for some time now. Lives up to all the hype! Whatever you do just play through itAwesome... I have been waiting for this to arrive on PSN for some time now. Lives up to all the hype! Whatever you do just play through it without looking at walkthroughs or cheats... believe me, it will make the experience that much better... Collapse
  3. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    In this day and age of frenetic, adrenalized gunplay, twisting and weaving plot-lines, overwrought character development and a bombardment ofIn this day and age of frenetic, adrenalized gunplay, twisting and weaving plot-lines, overwrought character development and a bombardment of on-screen displays, hints and information, LIMBO is truly a breath of fresh air. Or rather, a thick, deeply atmospheric dream-like fog. With no on-screen HUD, no prompts, no introductory cut-scenes and no real idea who this little boy is or why he has just woken up in this eerily beautiful black and white world, we are given no choices but to progress and explore what lies ahead of us, and for him.
    It is a magic, yet slightly disturbing feeling, akin to the confusion one senses for those first brief moments after awaking from a particularly vivid and surreal dream of ones own.

    Death is a part of life, and you'll witness death first hand many times as you traverse the world of LIMBO.
    The deaths are quick, yet quite brutal to witness, and even though there is no significant penalty to dying, you realize after only a few minutes that the boy is indeed very fragile. So your movements become cautious, you want to study the seemingly insignificant ground before you step forth.

    Animations are smooth as silk. As for the sound, if you don't have a surround sound set-up, I recommend headphones, as it can be vital to anticipate what lies ahead via subtle audio cues.
    If you are playing through tv speakers, I guarantee you after 10 minutes you'll catch yourself leaning ever towards the screen- not because of poor audio. Rather, the immersion will pull you in.

    Rarely have I experienced such a game. LIMBO deserves to be recognized as true art. Without the use of quotation marks.
    10/10. The sense of loneliness and despair is very real.
    Expand
  4. Aug 28, 2011
    9
    Limbo is very intriguing from the start, The story is left to the imagination to determine. To some people this may be a bad thing, but ILimbo is very intriguing from the start, The story is left to the imagination to determine. To some people this may be a bad thing, but I personally couldn't wait to delve deeper into this dark, and creepy world. The game is a trial and error puzzle/situation solver. There are plenty of gruesome ways our protagonist can die, and in fact you will do a lot of dying before total success can be achieved, for death awaits around every corner. The world is full of booby traps, and do or die puzzles, and even giant lurking spiders!

    It's very easy to lose track of time while playing this game, the art style and perfect ambiance of sounds around you can easily lull you into a long session of survival. The black and white color scheme doesn't take away from the game at all, in fact I think it helps with the games dark personality.

    The nameless character easily draws you into his world of desperation, and survival. At times you really feel the sense of fight or flight, whether you're running for your life from a giant spider, or you are deep within a pitch black tunnel or hallway.

    Very few games are as unique as Limbo, and when people ask can games be art? I think we all can point a finger at Limbo and say absolutely! This game is captivating and very imaginative with a style all it's own. This is a must play for anybody who truly appreciates when a game brings a little bit of everything to the table. Play and enjoy, it's worth the price!
    Expand
  5. Sep 26, 2012
    8
    Great concept. Although could be longer and have more diversity towards the end.
  6. Jan 15, 2014
    8
    Darkly atmospheric puzzle platformer. Amazing black &white visual/art design, challenging puzzles (but not in the annoying overcomplicatedDarkly atmospheric puzzle platformer. Amazing black &white visual/art design, challenging puzzles (but not in the annoying overcomplicated way) and haunting ambient/noise audio (mostly just sounds, but even music kicks in every once in a while). It's short and the absence of story leaves it up to you and your imagination to create one, but that makes it even more unique. 8/10 Expand
  7. Sep 25, 2011
    2
    Dull and lifeless. Slow and repetitive gameplay, with disparate levels and retreads. Poor, unsaturated, depressing art direction. This is noDull and lifeless. Slow and repetitive gameplay, with disparate levels and retreads. Poor, unsaturated, depressing art direction. This is no mario. Its E-mario (emo mario) and a sad excuse for an indie game. I'm ashamed I played the demo and that this what gaming has become. I'll be playing the much more elegant and exciting Blade Kitten instead of this junk. If this was the only game in hell, I wouldn't play it. Expand

See all 37 User Reviews

Trailers