Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 213 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: LIMBO, a black and white puzzle-platforming adventure, puts players in the role of a young boy traveling through an eerie and treacherous world in an attempt to discover the fate of his sister.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Limbo is simply one of the most impressive titles that PSN has to offer, and at $15, it's an experience that no gamer should pass up. [Oct 2011, p.80]
  2. Jul 26, 2011
    100
    If someone ever tells you videogames aren't art, strap them to a chair and make them play Limbo. Yes, it's that perfect.
  3. Jul 27, 2011
    95
    A design masterpiece that is always challenging us in a different way, combining simple platforming, puzzle and action, and with an oustanding visual design.
  4. Jul 19, 2011
    90
    Regardless, LIMBO is an excellent title that PlayDead Studios should be proud of. It's a strong game that hopefully won't be overlooked because it's an "indie" project that doesn't feature a lot of explosions or guns. It's a title that, given half a chance, will both impress and disturb you.
  5. Jul 20, 2011
    90
    An incredible achievement. Very few games are as original, atmospheric, and consistently brilliant. It belongs in everybody's collection. The journey may be over too quickly, but you will be entertained every minute. This is one of my favorite games.
  6. Jul 22, 2011
    88
    It's one of these games that can be instant classics. It's addictive, dying even more motivates you and it's simply one of the best games you can get via PSN.
  7. Jul 27, 2011
    75
    So while Limbo isn't quite the mind-blowing experience others have made it out to be, I think its unique visual style is certainly worth checking out.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Pure genius. This is the most impressive game I have played in years. I was blown away by how creative and varied the puzzles were. The only complaint I have is that I wish it were longer. It's a bit short, but for a downloadable game that is to be expected. This game represents what video games should be. After being let down by most modern games due to their mindless, button-mashing gameplay...this game gives me hope that someone out there is still interested in making a good game. I was more impressed with this downloadable game than the full-priced games you buy in the store. So much more thought was put into this game than most big-budget modern day games. Most games today try to distract you with big set pieces, explosions, and dialogue...meanwhile their gameplay is dull, mindless, and repetitive. Limbo is the opposite of that. Limbo follows in the tradition of legendary side-scrolling puzzlers like Oddworld, Flashback, and Out of This World. I recently downloaded the original Oddworld: Abe's Odysee from PSN and was blown away by that game....but after finishing Oddworld I was depressed because I though that in today's gaming landscape no one would ever have the balls to make another game like Oddworld. Well the makers of Limbo have proven me wrong. this game is masterfully DESIGNED....every aspect of the environment is carefully designed to force you to use your brain and figure out how to get from point A to point B...Most modern games are not designed thoughtfully - most modern game developers simply create environments that have no purpose but to look cool, then they throw you into the environment and expect you do nothing but mash buttons and shoot things...in most games you are never required to solve problems...but Limbo was designed with care and intent. Someone finally had the guts to make a game that requires you to think....someone finally took the time to design a game with purpose...that game is Limbo. Expand
  2. Jul 29, 2011
    10
    Awesome... I have been waiting for this to arrive on PSN for some time now. Lives up to all the hype! Whatever you do just play through it without looking at walkthroughs or cheats... believe me, it will make the experience that much better... Expand
  3. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    In this day and age of frenetic, adrenalized gunplay, twisting and weaving plot-lines, overwrought character development and a bombardment of on-screen displays, hints and information, LIMBO is truly a breath of fresh air. Or rather, a thick, deeply atmospheric dream-like fog. With no on-screen HUD, no prompts, no introductory cut-scenes and no real idea who this little boy is or why he has just woken up in this eerily beautiful black and white world, we are given no choices but to progress and explore what lies ahead of us, and for him.
    It is a magic, yet slightly disturbing feeling, akin to the confusion one senses for those first brief moments after awaking from a particularly vivid and surreal dream of ones own.

    Death is a part of life, and you'll witness death first hand many times as you traverse the world of LIMBO.
    The deaths are quick, yet quite brutal to witness, and even though there is no significant penalty to dying, you realize after only a few minutes that the boy is indeed very fragile. So your movements become cautious, you want to study the seemingly insignificant ground before you step forth.

    Animations are smooth as silk. As for the sound, if you don't have a surround sound set-up, I recommend headphones, as it can be vital to anticipate what lies ahead via subtle audio cues.
    If you are playing through tv speakers, I guarantee you after 10 minutes you'll catch yourself leaning ever towards the screen- not because of poor audio. Rather, the immersion will pull you in.

    Rarely have I experienced such a game. LIMBO deserves to be recognized as true art. Without the use of quotation marks.
    10/10. The sense of loneliness and despair is very real.
    Expand
  4. Jul 22, 2011
    9
    It's a puzzle platformer representing videogame as art, ala Braid. And although I found Braid slightly more consistent and enjoyable, LIMBO is a fantastic game. The game's atmosphere is amazing. Its lack of a soundtrack, and film grained black and white imagery, creates an eerie depression I found quite unique, and the violent recurring deaths add to the bleak environment. The mechanics are very simple, but never feel simple, as the game forces you to discover how the world operates, and how to interact with it, completely on your own. I found the second half, of an albeit very short game, to be less interesting, as the game shifts from the genuine creepiness of the forest setting and into an industrial one where the platforming takes center stage. This is where LIMBO develops into a more typical video gaming experience. However, this is a minor concern, and I think the ending makes up for any momentum lost during this period of the game. If you're strictly a button masher, or feel that for $10 - 15 you should have more than a couple hours of gaming, you might want to shy away. But if you're an avid gamer who wants to experience something genuinely different in a game, I guarantee you won't be disappointed. Expand
  5. Aug 7, 2011
    8
    Turning the limitations of a small Indy game into a strength, Limbo is short but fun, has a memorable art style and is a must play downloadable game. The visuals of Limbo are simple and effectively create an eerie atmosphere better than most AAA video games. The game play is simple but adequately fun, the game physics are great and there are some memorable little game moments found in Limbo. Less can be more which is a lesson that the rest of the industry should learn. Recommended. Expand
  6. Jun 24, 2012
    8
    Every now and again you come across a game that sets itself apart from other games like heavy rain.enter limbo a surprisingly delightful puzzle yet easy to play game! Its simple gameplay like run and jump are teamed up with some very clever puzzles puts players in a very engaging game! It just reels you in with simplicity which I thought was impossible to do in games. Now lets talk about the problems..no true story your just dropped in a forest without reason or explanation..gameplay..or lack there of is almost non-existant because you can only run and jump! Graphics...well its not even on par with other downloaded games! Its a very straight forward no reason as to what your doing type of game...so why did I give it a high score?well despite what it lacks vs all these big budget game is the fact that its addicting to..the puzzles are well thought out and the gameplay isn't hampered by useless items or weapons! Its a good game and should not be missed!! Expand
  7. Sep 25, 2011
    2
    Dull and lifeless. Slow and repetitive gameplay, with disparate levels and retreads. Poor, unsaturated, depressing art direction. This is no mario. Its E-mario (emo mario) and a sad excuse for an indie game. I'm ashamed I played the demo and that this what gaming has become. I'll be playing the much more elegant and exciting Blade Kitten instead of this junk. If this was the only game in hell, I wouldn't play it. Collapse

See all 36 User Reviews