• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jan 18, 2011
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 559 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 559

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 18, 2012
    9
    This is a rare sort of game, it's the kind of game I can see satisfying any kind of gamer, it's perfect for gamers of any age, kids will love it for it's lighthearted gameplay and older gamers will love it for it's references to games from the past, and surprisingly deep gameplay and level creating system, the game looks gorgeous and has a phenomenal soundtrack, it's a fun and sometimes downright bizarre game, it has a nice story mode that packs a weird story, and while it's mostly a platformer it does shake it up in some surprising ways so it doesn't get stale, the real big thing here is the level creator that has fantastic online support and the things you can do with it is amazing you can create all sorts of different game types and it really lets your creativity soar, and when you create a level you can share it online for others to play, and you can also download other peoples creations, it does have some issues holding it back from true greatness like some questionable platforming and irritating moments, but if you have a PS3 this is a must play game, it's truly unique and outstanding and a must play. Expand
  2. Jul 10, 2012
    8
    the first LBP was a fun game and a nice venture into some thing new . LBP2 is a fun new sequel to the first that lets you do it all over again. The best part of this game is playing the stuff people have come up with . i found myself amazed at some of the levels and movies people put together . The biggest downside is the game doesn't feel like it adds alot of new stuff . the biggest thing i remember the devs saying about this one was how much easier it would be to make your own levels compared to the first and how much faster it would be . well its still a huge chore and if you look at some of the amazing levels people made it took them 100s of hours if not more to put together. which as much as i would like to make some thing like that i don't want to spend that kind of time doing . hopefully LBP3 will streamline this alot more. still its a fun game and if you enjoyed the first you will enjoy this one. Expand
  3. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    Simply superb. This game is so brilliant, It's hard to imagine the developers of this game would've been able to push beyond what the first LBP did. This game is not just a game it's an experience that while it might not be for everyone it is sure to captivate millions. I play with someone and we have a blast but even playing solo is still infinitely entertaining. LBP2 is the first game in a huge list of amazing PS3 exclusives this year. Great times to be a PS3 owner Expand
  4. Feb 24, 2014
    8
    The campaign requires you to think, and is inventive itself.. not just a mindless platformer. The community levels are almost too varied, and leaning towards short multiplayer games. But it has plenty of long platformer levels by the community nonetheless. Creation tools are intuitive and simple, but manage to cover huge ground, and I feel overwhelmed by that part of the game. The campaign is still worth 20$ if you're intrigued, and it's fun to explore the creative capabilities of others (plenty of search options/filters to find some good levels). Examples of small multiplayer games: Basketball, tank war, minigolf, race, pool. Expand
  5. Dec 11, 2013
    0
    The first LBP was the worst game on PS3, not much has changed in the second.
    In case you're wondering why I bought the second, I didn't, a friend did and I played to do him a favor. A huge favor it was and he will never be able to repay it.
  6. Jan 19, 2013
    9
    Expands on what made the original great and, after you have finished with the main story, you have enough multiplayer content to last you the rest of your life. Its the adorable character, hilarious humor and overall outstanding polish that this game delivers that makes it the classic game it is. Also; develop your own video games on it!? Yes please.
  7. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    It's like modern Mario Bros. Seriously but with way better graphics, a hell of lot more time spent and most of all, gameplay that's for everyone. Even the most douchiest of aholes with play this game and enjoy it
  8. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    The best game for your imagination! The best game for making levels! The game with the most levels of all-time! LittleBigPlanet 2 is NEVER ENDING masterpiece! 10/10
  9. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    Unique, Creative, Fun. It's one of the best, if not the best party game out there. Girls just simply love this game especially if they are a non-gamer. The amount of variety in this game is astounding. The main game is platforming, but you can have shooters, fighters, racers, and all sorts in this lovable package. It's a steal.
  10. Mar 7, 2011
    10
    How could anyone really rate or review this game 100% accurate?It's impossible because a game like this is far on and beyond any video games that have ever been created.This has no end and all of the gameplay and fufillment you will encounter will blow you away at all times,it's that good.It is like they said,they gave us the tools the first time around to make custom levels and this time around they gave us the tools to create our own games.Until little big planet 3 comes out you bet I will be enjoying the brilliance of everything this experience,not game,will endow upon me. Expand
  11. Nov 20, 2013
    9
    Una grandisima secuela que supera al un, divertido, que te engancha y te hará pasar horas de verdadera diversión en familia, con los amigos o con desconocidos online, jugandolo solo pierde muchisimo el juego, prácticamente es como la primera entrega, pero con distinto modo historia y eso, si te encanto el Primer LittleBigPlanet, debes comprar este porque también te gustara, no creo que saquen una tercera entrega, pero si lo hacen espero que innoven mas que es esta segunda... Expand
  12. Apr 14, 2011
    10
    I bascially bought this game for the level editor, the unlimited possibilites for creating your own games and sharing them with the world is amazing.
    The one tiff I have with this game is when sometimes you create something, you come back the next day to find it mysteriously broken.. WTF. this happend to me many times and it was frustrating.
    Overall good game.
    Must buy
  13. Apr 12, 2013
    7
    It is what it is. A good game for what it is. I found it as a pretty good stress reliever because how cute it was. I did a little bit of everything main stories, created levels, multiplayer; so I got a pretty good feel for it, except for creating own levels I might do it in the future). However if you're used to blowing people's head off/sports game's/ competitive in general, than this game will get old on you quick. But this game represents what gaming should be, just play it for fun. Expand
  14. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    I gave a 9 to LittleBigPlanet for the simple fact that it doesn't have the sackbots that LittleBigPlanet 2 has, but not just in that aspect LittleBigPlanet 2 beats LittleBigPlanet, it is more challenging, more possibilities, it is a real improvement of game. Perfect 10 because now you can really do everything in this game, including other sackboys.
  15. Feb 7, 2011
    10
    Very excellent game. Loved every second of my time spent on it. Level creator is just as addicting as the first if not more with the amount of new content available you can spend hours end wasting away on this game. One of the must buy's for PS3.
  16. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    OUTSTANDING!

    Media Molecule are on fire, LittleBigPlanet2 has all the best things from the first game but brings over a LOT more for what you can do, from your costumes, building levels and even making a whole game.
    Such fun online and please play the street fighter 4 game on the community levels OMG i played it on launch day and still cant stop laughing.
    Replay value 100% i cannot
    get bored of this, best value for money for the best game in the shops, its like a guy selling you a bugatti for the price of a saxo you cant beay it!!!


    One or two issues however, why did england get the game last as Media Molecule are an english company??


    and for those of you who play online and get a loading screen, press you guide button on and off or go to send someone a message and cancel it and it should be fine.

    Appart from this, this is a review for the game and the game is near perfect, best game i have played in a LONG time. 10
    Expand
  17. Dec 9, 2012
    10
    This is a "create your own" type of game that has an excellent storyline, improving greatly over the original title. You can also play online in other people's creations with tons of different people. This game definitely deserves a ten out of ten
  18. Feb 4, 2014
    10
    This is probably one of the greatest games ever created. This charming puzzle platformer has sooo much going for it. It has great visuals, improved gameplay over the original, and there is just so much more to do. Perfect game.... 10/10
  19. May 21, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An amazing game. It's fun, clever, deep, engaging and great to try out with friends. The only issue is that some of the same frustrations from the last game are still present. Still, the ability to make games and not just levels outweighs any con. Expand
  20. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    Purely sublime. It builds on all the previous games acomplishments and goes the next level. It may not look that much different and doesn't play that much different. But it has more levels, more power up & and attachments, as well as AI helper bots. The campaigh ( as with LBP1) is solid , but it's the scope for making levels that make this game a notch above any other. Like its predecessor it requires patience , but that patience pays off in the long run. Its also compatible with all old LBP levels. Overall if you havent played LBP1 This is a must . If you have played LBP1 this is STILL a must. Expand
  21. Jun 14, 2011
    8
    Little Big Planet 2 was something that was needed, something fresh, that i havent played before but is not without its faults. The story is unimpressive and is just a distraction to show what can be done in the game. I also didnt like the fact that the game forces one to play the story mode in order to collect important collectibles for the editor. The fun of the game is creating your own levels( which makes use of ones brain which is less and less evedent in games nowadays ) and seeing what other people can create with their imaginations. The game faults are the limitations that limit the creator in sense of size that a creator wants to create his or her game ( The gauge overheats very easily and a very annoying thing i often see is "the shape is getting too complicated aswell as you cannot put any more stickers" which somewhat puts me off quite alot make me want to stop playing the game, also the fact that i must buy costume dlc really pisses me of( I HATE DLC) but besides that the game is very fun and good value for money as long as you dont lack imagination, are lazy or are lazy to think. 7.5/10. Expand
  22. Jan 30, 2012
    9
    To call this a platformer would be an understatement. As you probably, LBP doesn't only give you a bunch of levels to hop through, but also gives you the powerful tools to create your own and share them with the world or simply play those others have created. Play, Create, Share â
  23. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    Still manages to retain the excellence of the first game, adding a few new features, new levels which make this one of the best on the platform and of all time. It's definitely on my shortlist for game of the year 2011.
  24. Jan 19, 2011
    9
    You can try to play this game without a silly little grin on your face and a giggle here or there... but i doubt you will succeed. It has to be one of the most amusing games on the market and without a doubt, is a crowed pleaser for any age!
  25. Nov 8, 2014
    6
    I have enjoyed this game, and i liked it, but i think there are some boring levels on Littlebigplanet 2. The good part are the community levels, and you can customize own levels.

    I was not disappointed when i played this game. This is a good platform game for the PS3.
  26. Jan 30, 2011
    10
    This game is brilliant! Sure, on the surface it looks like something made for children, and I admit as I plopped it down on the counter to purchase it I felt a little ashamed. " This is way too adorable for someone like me to be playing." I couldn't have been more wrong. This is a very dedicated platformer that ranks up there with the best of them. It is all very whimsical and as I play I find it very hard not to smile, and few games garner that reaction out of me. The actual game itself is quite good, very competent and entertaining, but the best part of LBP2 is the community and creation tools. In the community section you can play thousands of user-created levels, some are terrible, others are amazing. The community is a very friendly one and are very supportive of each other, which is hard to find in today's world of Halo and Call of Duty. Then there are the creation tools, where you can make just about anything you want, from movies and music/videos to your own LBP2 levels, some have even created replicas of other classic and current games that are staggeringly accurate. When you start making your own stuff you might be overwhelmed, but the more you play around with the tools and get the hang of it, you can create some pretty amazing stuff with relative ease. I was wrong about this game. Little Big Planet 2 isn't just for kids, it is for any platforming fan and is a great break in between killing anything that moves in other games. Expand
  27. May 9, 2013
    9
    One of the most enjoyable multiplayer games on the PlayStation console and you can play it with anyone, kids and non-gamers as well. Lots of improvements on the first game as well, many more game types.
  28. Dec 12, 2012
    8
    After having played the first one, which over-exceeded my expectations ten fold, I had a lot more expectations for this one. This improved significantly from the first game, having better pacing, greater level design, extremely fun coop with inventive mini games in between, and it had a more cinematic approach which was a pleasant surprise. All in LBP is a great platformer and great coop game. There are some control issues but you get used to it, especially if you've played the first one, which has the same controls. However, with the introduction of the jetpack it does tend to help out with this limitation. Another big issue for me was the length. It was a bit on the short side, but there are some awesome community levels worth checking out. Expand
  29. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    For the second time, LittleBigPlanet has seemed to have been worth my money. They got it all from me. After my review on the first one, I looked back at the LittleBigPlanet 2 story when I played it, and I was tied to say which one was better. They were both amazing. I highly recommend this game for parents in want to get their kids a "child-friendly" game. This game is completely child-friendly, and user-friendly. It is not all that hard to learn the controls of the game, and it has a very fun story and mulitplayer mode for both a single player, two players, three players, four players! An entire family worth of fun! Take turns battling it out in "tic-tac-toe" with your kids, or with your parents. It is such a fun game to play. Highly recommended. Expand
  30. Feb 1, 2011
    10
    One word: brilliant. Excluding the Assassin's Creed saga, LittleBigPlanet is my favourite game. It is quirky with brilliant game-play and each level may be played over and over again without becoming boring. But the complexity of the level creator is another story. The level creation system has been transformed allowing you to not only make levels but entire games. One of the best games on the market. Expand
  31. Oct 13, 2014
    8
    Like the original, but more refined. Adds more customization, better game-play and co-operative play, however the online is still as dumb as a bag of hammers.
    8/10 - Ben Hazelden
  32. Jul 1, 2012
    10
    Everything that is enjoyable about LittleBigPlanet is present and perfected in LittleBigPlanet 2, the story is a bit convoluted and strange, nothing particularly special, the world is being attacked by this negative force/evil creature thing called the "Negativatron," and you (and any friends you may be playing with) are the sackpeople to save the day. The levels have more interesting puzzles and ways to solve and get through them.

    The minigames are really enjoyable in a simple and fun way. It's a great party game, or to play with friends in a more casual manner. I still play online with friends all the time. And for those who liked LBP, LBP2 really delivers and fixes some of the more annoying, mechanical flaws of the first game.
    Expand
  33. Jul 26, 2014
    9
    First LittleBigPlanet was funny, the second has more possibilities making it even better. Probably not so good in one player but it is perfect game for playing with somebody you know. What a pity the story is mishmash.
  34. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    This is a great game. It has a great story and an even better online multiplayer. There is a endless amount of levels to play. This is a must buy for any PS3 owners.
  35. Feb 4, 2011
    10
    I enjoyed it more than the first one... And I thought the first one was incredible. The addition of the neat gadgets and more engaging side games (along with the existing LBP brilliance) makes this game absolutely remarkable.
  36. Mar 25, 2011
    7
    It's an alright game except when trying to download games people made from PSN, it takes forever then you find out the level is bad and you just wasted a long time downloading that map. The story is good, the costumes are good, and the level design is good. I liked it for the most part.
  37. Apr 1, 2013
    9
    The single player campaign in LBP2 is much improved over the past iteration's attempt. Offering new power ups and a solid narrative added on. The real meat of the game consists of the user created levels, which is also a vast improvement over the original LBP. Not only can you create platformers now, but side scrolling shooters, FPS or virtually anything else you can imagine. As a whole this is a game well worth the cost of admission, that will keep you coming back again and again. Expand
  38. Jun 21, 2014
    9
    85/100: The first LittleBigPlanet for the PS3 was a great game with a fantastic idea but it had its flaws. The same for LittleBigPlanet 2. Some things in the creating levels-part of the game are really improved and playing through the tutorial became a little bit more fun. Media Molecule also created a fun story line with a lot to explore in LittleBigPlanet 2. The only really big flaw is that it becomes repetitive after a while. But since they added 4 DLC Packs to LittleBigPlanet 2 it became fun to play again. This is a great platformer to play alone, cooperative with your friends or online! Expand
  39. Oct 12, 2014
    9
    This is what you expect from a sequel to one of the most creative and alluring platformers of all-time. Gameplay has improved slightly with the addition of new items to use, and the graphics are a bit sharper. Where it really excels, though, is in its array of new editor tools. There are more creative levels to play than the first LittleBigPlanet, and by a large margin.
  40. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    I loved LBP (1) therefore I was really glad to hear that Media Molecule was going to make a sequel. And LBP2 It's a very, very good sequel. But unfortunately the charm of the first game is gone. LBP 2 is a charming game but doesn't have the same look and charm as the first game. But this game is better in any way, it's easier to create your own levels (even make whole new games!) and the graphics are improved. The singleplayer is good and funny, but I have to say that I miss the good old collector. But I'm sure everyone can meet him online. The multiplayer is better and It's easy to get new friends. GO BUY LBP2 IF YOU HAVEN'T! DONE IT YET Expand
  41. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    I say this game is amazing. I couldn't name so many levels , but most of the level were pretty fun. and also i have mothing negative to say about this game. Overall this game is amazing.
  42. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    A very fun platformer and one of the best games on the PS3. You can create levels and it isfun to play the game online with friends. I just love this game!! An overall excellent package! 10/10
  43. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    This is like the original littlebigplanet on steroids. Even more colorful, amazing, and fun in every aspect (not to mention the BEST creation mechanism ever invented), this game is a blank canvas with every tool ever imagined possible. All it wants you to do is get to work.
  44. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    This may be the most enduring game I have ever played. I played LBP1 when I first got my PS3 and loved it, and LBP2 has taken the creation tool to an entirely new level. I bought it when it came out and have since become an accomplished creator and very good with logic. I have been able to create mini battles between sackbots to larger games like a multiplayer turnbased battle game similar to Valkyria Chronicles. It takes time, but I love it. Expand
  45. Sep 18, 2012
    9
    This game is pretty much just like when Mario Bros 2 came out. It was still fun, but when people thought of Mario Bros, they would think about the first one. LBP 2 is mostly a huge DLC of LBP 1. The graphics are slightly improved, but to be honest I think they simply added more contrast and lighting and that's it. I believe this game is still revolutionary even though it is the second opus. The improved logic makes it possible to create almost anything you want. The Sackboys are the second best addition. It is sad, however, that you can't have a pet Sackboy to bring through the various levels to keep you company while other players aren't there with you. The music is pretty much just like LBP 1 - original, refreshing, diversified. This time you can actually compose your own songs as well, and it's a lot less tedious than it's predecessor. This game is a must buy for anyone who has some creative instincts. Do not buy it if you do not have internet access. This game will be easily boring if you play story mode only. You must try to get a touch of the community, then you will realize this game has an infinite content. Lag is still an issue. You can play with people in your continent just fine, but player with people overseas is very difficult. If they want this franchise to become very famous ( right now it is only a little famous ), they will have to add a lot of content for LBP3 or else the fan base will begin to diminish. The fun thing with this game is that it is constantly positive, and it seems to have a positive effect on those who play it. This game is relaxing, I've never met someone raging while playing this game. You will spend most of your time trying to create something you might never finish, but it doesn't matter. Playing this game is pretty much like drawing or painting. it removes your daily frustrations and makes you feel good about yourself. Anybody can play this game and have fun. I play FPS games and I still love LBP2. Expand
  46. Feb 27, 2014
    10
    if wasn't LBP1 is the best you certainly gonna live with it. better gameplay,better music,more content that will want more than you play or afford, like an ferrari.
  47. Feb 27, 2011
    10
    Amazing game through and through. Way better than LBP1 and the story makes it seem more advanced. I love the new tools and powerups too. Deserves way more than a 10. Also, ignore these 2 ignorant fanboys that gave it a 0. One doesn't have an imagination and is a xbox fanboy, and the other can't even use correct grammar, much less use english well anyways, indicating his intelligence level. They are both jealous that they can't play such an amazing game. Expand
  48. Jan 19, 2011
    9
    Rarely in gaming am I overtaken by the complete fun of what I'm doing that I burst into laughter regularly. The changes are great without overdoing anything. My girlfriend and I were up into the wee hours of the morning playing.
  49. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    Love this game so much that I got the platinum in it. So much fun and replay value. You can literally game here for days, weeks and months should you not want to buy any other titles. The story line was funny and the voice acting from Stephen Fry, was once again phenomenal. I am now waiting very impatiently for LBP3 so I can continue to enjoy and relax in the little big place known as Craftworld. Expand
  50. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    Not since Uncharted 2 & Resistance 2 have I seen a game be improved on in every way. Astounding, magical, amazing and a whole bunch of positive adjectives Apple normally use to wrongfully to describe there products now have a little sack boy next to them in the dictionary YOU OWE IT TO YOURSELF TO GO BY THIS GAME. NOW.
  51. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    Will this game cause a revolution in user generated content... maybe...

    The editor is simple enough for anyone to create basic levels. The tutorials are there to help people to learn... the game is there to show what is possible. And I think most importantly people can link there levels together to create a geography...

    The question is whether there are a. enough people out there who
    want to create a world and b. enough people who will care if they do... Expand
  52. Nov 22, 2011
    7
    A good 4-Player-Coop, but still disappointing controls. The leveldesign is beautiful, the ideas well integrated, but the game is overall a little big short, if you don't want to find everything hidden.

    The level editor is impressive, but I think, I'm not talendet enough to create really good levels.
  53. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    LittleBigPlanet 2 is brilliant. It's much more in-depth in every way from the first game. There's a variety of things to do and see, it never gets old. It's Gameplay and Presentation is amazing, the story is great, and creating has never been more fun. Honestly, i have no regrets or complaints after buying this game.
  54. Apr 29, 2011
    10
    This game is cute, fun and addictive. There are so many levels to play with. Community levels are made every week. It's a non-stop having fun platformer game! Another thing is that, if you played online multiplayer or couch with your siblings or friends, it's an amazing experience. You can laugh and have lots of fun with them. You'll never stop playing it. Making levels are also lots of fun, like the 1st LBP, but better! I think everyone should buy this, It's amazing, especially the younger kids. I give it a 10! Expand
  55. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    This is the best game in existence. I never stop playing this game, after 2 years of Little Big Planet 2, i'm still not bored, that's saying something, that's saying it's impossible to get my hands off this game, whether it's from the great story mode, or to the brilliant creations modes, Little Big Planet 2 instantly moves you towards it with all this great content. Just get this game, because it's too good not to. Expand
  56. May 16, 2011
    1
    I got this for my kids and they finished it in about 4 sittings. I would say there is about 6-7 hours of game time here, which is pretty pathetic considering how much games cost these days. I know the "create mode" or whatever it's called is great for adults, but not for little elementary school kids! In addition, how much of what is created by other users out there is really worth playing? 10%? 3%? Very disappointed by this game. Expand
  57. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    If you've ever liked to make or play simple video games (called 'levels) that do not necessarily have huge complexity, LittleBigPlanet 2 should be enough for every single gamer EXCEPT those demoniacally attached first-person shooter children. While 60% of the multiplayer portion of the game features complete uncreative content, you shouldn't be alarmed- there ARE things in there everyone should be willing to try. Expand
  58. May 15, 2011
    10
    Amusing, boisterous, convivial, diverting, enjoyable, entertaining, lively, merry, pleasant, witty and amazing. What else can I say? This game is an absolute masterpiece. The developers have evolved so much on the first game and the integrated levels are amazing. The campaign was awesome and each level made sense. The end was great and all else followed. Mind-blowing.
  59. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    It has already been said a thousand times but LBP 2 is an incredible game. The sheer capacity for creativity is its main strength and while, at first, I thought that put too much reliance on the community and we'd be left with nothing but mediocrity and boredom the community is showing a lot of promise. The new additions to the level editors are all easy to use and effectively used as demonstrated by the myriad levels posted online everyday. The game may still be young but it is showing lots of promise and I am having a blast playing both the story levels and online with all kinds of people. This game, if nothing else, is a great way to spend time with friends and maybe even make a few from around the globe. A great game, hands down. Expand
  60. Jun 9, 2011
    9
    LittleBigPlanet 2 has been heavily criticised, and has been critically named LittleBigPlanet 1.5; however, the leaps taken in LittleBigPlanet 2 have furthered the gameplay and creation abilities a hundredfold - with users able to create whole new games - rather than just simply new, platformer levels. This is a big leap for LittleBigPlanet and Media Molecule, and this is simply an awesome, awesome game - one that any PS3 user should be proud to have in his/her collection. Expand
  61. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    this is the pinnacle of the platforming genre. it can be argued that this game is a rip off of mario and other games of this nature. but to be honest what game isn't. all i can say is that this game melds so many awesome things into one very enticing formula. i gave this game a ten because i got it for next to nothing and have been enjoying the content it has to offer to this very day, that's 6 months and counting. the online integration also makes it unbelievably easy to make new friends over the psn. in closing this game is a wonder that is truly ahead of its time and i look forward to this game's successor in the years to come. Expand
  62. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I could play this game with everyone! My non-gamer friends and family could just come over and pick it up and play. What's even better about this game is how it can actually be challenging as well. The atmosphere is great and all around fun.
  63. Aug 30, 2012
    9
    The original LittleBigPlanet was of the best PlayStation 3 games that I've ever played; it's sequel does not disappoint. I really enjoyed the levels in this one and enhanced creativity. Everything about it, from the consistent updates with fixes for common issues to the spectacular level community, makes this game one I'd recommend to any first-time PS3 gamer.
  64. May 25, 2013
    10
    The funniest part of this game is creating. I have made in total around 70 levels with almost 2 hours of gameplay on each one. You can create almost any kind of 2D level as you want and you can play on them online or offline with your friends up to 4 players or maby both of them together if you want. In total, the players created over 4 million levels together and every one of them are stored in the huge community available for you to play. The story are fun and sometimes hard. If you are an creative person or know one this is the ultimate game for you. Expand
  65. May 23, 2011
    10
    If LittleBigPlanet 2 doesnâ
  66. Dec 10, 2011
    10
    Though there isn't a huge amount of additions, from the first one, I find Little Big Planet 2 to be leagues ahead of it's predesessor. Maybe it's the addition of top down view and custom music and such, seems to allow the community to make much more interesting and entertaining levels.
  67. Jun 15, 2012
    5
    Despite the enhancements in graphics, level design and the potential of the create and share mode, the game still suffers from hard to use controls in the create mode and a repetitive singleplayer campaign that lacks the creative structure found in the online play.
  68. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Amazing game,its really for kids n teenages and people wanting to make their own game since u can make any game you feel like and if not just play the single player n online user created levels.

    There is no end tot his game since u can just make n do what you want,do not listen to the low scores since they are just 360fanboys who mark down every ps3 game.
  69. Jan 21, 2011
    9
    I just got my ps3 about 2 months ago. It came with little big planet (1) game of the year addition. Well my roommate talked it up and honestly I hated it for the first month. I think my problem was that I've never played a game like this. Its sort of like mario but Mario is all about dodging enemies and this is all about puzzles and level design. Plus don't even attempt to play it solo, you need at least 3 players.

    Anyways, I beat little big planet 1 and based on the critic reviews wasn't expect much more from LPB2. They have added a lot more to the game besides just making creating levels easier. The story is much more in depth, the cut scenes actually add a lot to the game. I don't really like the grappling hook but it can be fun and you wonder how they even made levels before without the new bounce pads. You can customize your planet now, importing your old character worked perfect, new tower defense levels are pretty cool.

    I have the move but haven't seen where the move levels are yet. I'll update later on that i guess.

    The reason i give it a 9 is because #2 is backwards compatible with #1 and they really haven't fixed any of the problems that existed in LPB1. When you playing multiplayer and doing a race I hate how you just die if you get left behind. Also jumping forward and backward can still be frustrating. If you didn't like the first LPB you probably won't like this one either.

    All in all great game, if you liked the first its well worth it.
    Expand
  70. May 1, 2011
    9
    Very good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  71. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    This game is almost perfect!!!
    Some important thing are lacking for it to be a true perfect platformer.
    Jumps needs to be adjusted and ladders needs to be added.

    I am a HUGE fan of this game... it never gets old. :)
  72. May 21, 2012
    10
    This game is outstanding! Who cares about the story! The creation mode is the star.
    You can make anything from sackbots that do your bidding, to armoured mechs of mass destruction, to even a calculator!
    7 or 70, you can enjoy this game a lot!
  73. Apr 6, 2012
    9
    This is the reason I choose a PS3 over an Xbox 360: for exclusives such as this. LittleBigPlanet 2 takes the original concept of LittleBigPlanet and turns it up a notch. I was actually quite surprised how much more this game was capable of by adding only a few new features. Many complain there is not enough to do in this game, but those are mainly the people that do not have a very good imagination. The fact that this game allows you create your very own game without all that frustrating coding and such make LittleBigPlanet 2 a great game for people with big ideas. Expand
  74. Dec 27, 2012
    8
    You just can't hate Sackboy! He is just so cute and adorable. We loved him in the first game, which brought a unique experience to the PlayStation 3, and LittleBigPlanet 2 does that even better by giving you the ability not just to create platformer games, but anything you can think of. The tools and stickers from the first game are all transferred here, which makes you feel like home when you return to the game again. With a buzzing community, with all types of different levels being published every day, it is impossible to say you are done with this game! There is something new to do everyday. The story mode is more developed this time around, but create mode can still be tricky to newcomers. The Move support is also appreciated as it can show that Sony's motion controller can be easily used in a game like this. If you liked the previous game or you want a unique experience on the PlayStation 3 that all the family can enjoy, then you should definitely try this one. Expand
  75. Aug 30, 2013
    5
    The game itself is not bad, but when it comes to online mode, this is awful. LBP2 has the worst community I've ever seen in my life. It's so painful to see how retarded the immature users are. The community consists mainly of copiers, tryhard trolls, emos and Thus, most of the here players are social rejects, and all they do is play LBP day and night. Oh, yeah, and the moderation team is also disgusting. You can get banned for literally nothing. If you're going to play this game, I recommend you not getting in touch with the community at all costs. Thanks. Expand
  76. Nov 27, 2014
    9
    LittleBigPlanet 2 is one of my favourite games of all time and with good reason. The game has an astounding amount of personality and it really pushes your creativity. The story levels are lots of fun to play and the design is pretty crazy. The best of all are the community levels and the creative mode. First off the community levels: it's amazing what people can come up with. From retro remakes, to puzzles, and platformers galore. They'll keep you busy. The creative mode!? I hear you cry. It's the best thing ever. Like I said about the community levels, you can create almost anything. It's all up to you. Expand
  77. Feb 9, 2011
    10
    Returning with 2 million levels already created and even more tools at the disposal of all you clever creators out there, this is definitely something to check out. A worth investment, I don't believe I will ever regret buying either of these games as they are a gift that just keep on giving. There has already been some amazing community levels created for this game. And the beauty is they aren't all platformers! They are ACTUAL games! From a tower defense game to a top down shooter, the diversity is finally there. A must buy for any gaming enthusiast. Expand
  78. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    Very good game. Very fun to play with friends casually. The game is also fun to play and create with massive amount of content. Yes, that's right, it's fun to create. Sounds, odd, but try it yourself. It's kind of addicting.
  79. Mar 15, 2011
    9
    Such a fun game!! Beautiful graphics, humorous characters and addictive! Love this game! I started it and couldn't put it down. Very in-depth - more so than the first. Very fun story. Very high re-playability.
  80. Mar 15, 2011
    8
    I can't say I'm a particular fan of the series... but my girlfriend absolutely loved it and I did have a good time playing this game with her. I'd recommend it for any couple looking for something to do together, and anyone who likes cute stories and fun-easy going adventures.
  81. Apr 5, 2011
    10
    Great game with lots of replay value. There are some really tough spots that really make you and your friends band together to get through it. And if you can't do that well, at least they will try to cheer you on if you are the last one alive.
  82. Jul 14, 2011
    10
    To all those people who complain because of the complex logic, WHAT do you think this game was made for? to make horrible levels to the community? before you PLAYED littlebigplanet 2, I bet your imagination was like an empty bag, after getting used to the logic, YOUR IMAGINATION IS JUST A FULL BAG! A FULL BAG! playing 6-4 hours in the single player, you wasted your time, you should have taken advice, noone ever told you that YOU need to play the singleplayer to get used to the logic, no no, maybe the tutorials, but IF YOU keep on playing with the logic, a brilliant idea that is stuck on a light bulb will pop out your head, share it to the community, that was a piece of cake now isn't it?! Expand
  83. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Awesome game. this is one of the funnest games to play this year without a doubt. Another amazing ps3 exclusive to add to all the other amazing ones out this year. This game should not be overlooked by anyone. In my opinion this one of the games of the year
  84. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    Negative comments probably come from people who do not understand what's going on in this game. It is possible that the amount of experience that brings this game simply frightened some people. Or overwhelmed. The game is absolutely for everyone. For children and adults. For those with imagination and for those who give everything on the tray, because they have no imagination. Why I gave only 9 / 10? Because this has not yet created a game that would be ideal. But LittleBigPlanet 2 is a game dangerously close to the ideal:). Expand
  85. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    little big planet rent or buy my verdict...buy! why? because little big planet 2 is a very fun and rewarding game.That being said do not shy away from this game because you think it's for little kid's.At heart i think this game is for everyone parent's should buy this for their children.And buy this if you have friend's who play it i promise you will have a great time.Well i guess i haven't told you much about the game or the gameplay.I guess we will start with the gameplay this is a cooperative game at heart the more friend's the more enjoyable the game is it's just that simple.Okay you jump with the x button grab with R1 and you move with the left analog stick very simple but fun.the story i won't ruin but basically you must stop a monster from destroying the world.Thus leading to a collection of fun,unique,and colorful level's.Now don't get me wrong this is a great game but it fell short of being perfect like it's predecessor and that is why i am rewarding little big planet 2 a merely perfect 9/10. Expand
  86. Jun 17, 2012
    10
    Completely straight, this is probably one of the best games in the world. An addicting story mode that is 10 times more fun than that of LittleBigPlanet 1to go along with a create mode that literally lets you create anything makes this game an absolute must buy. Sure, you can make anything you want in this game, but let's face it, not everyone can or wants to create things. But that's okay because there are millions of user-generated levels out there to play. Sure, maybe only 10% of them really are worth playing but keep this in mind. When the game was released on January 18, 2011, there were over 2 million levels already created by the community. By now it has probably doubled to 4 million at least. Even if only 10% of them are worth playing, that's still 400,000 levels to enjoy. Is that only going to take 6-7 hours to play? I don't think so. Expand
  87. Aug 18, 2012
    9
    Great game, had lots of fun playing it. Not sure if this was just me though, but I ran into a fair amount of glitches. Great customization and awesome levels and such. Had fun playing with the family. Will stick to the first LittleBigPlanet though when playing with friends.
  88. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    I think I may have played this game more than any other. Its incredibly addicting, has a gargantuan amount of content, and, thanks to the internet, it has content for every age group. It actually makes you feel like a game designer.
  89. Jan 20, 2011
    5
    A solid if derivative platformer with a beautiful aesthetic, and a great editor: not a huge leapo from its predecessor, it will be interesting to see if this one can keep a large community over a long period. And more importantly, will the tools allow people to create anything actually worth playing? A few people making half-baked versions of better games for consumption via Youtube is not a revolution. Expand
  90. Jan 24, 2011
    8
    An amazing and complete game. I was not a fan of LBP but LBP2 is like a 2.0 engine upgrade. You can access all the user created content for both games, and have a vast library of new physics controls with the much-improved creator, and even in single player LBP2 offers an improved experience. For those wondering about trophies, they are easier than before. Rent or buy, it's well worth playing in its entirety. Expand
  91. Jan 28, 2011
    10
    Little big planet 2 is an awesome game....... import your game save from LBP1 and your sackboy + created levels are in your pod and moon for you to tinker with. Play your LBP1 levels on little big planet 2 and the graphical difference is amazing...more smooth, more specular effects and loads more colour to boot. The level creater is in there but this time round there's much more you can do with it from making the usual LBP1 type standard levels to creating a new game altogether...race games, rpg zelda type games, the choice is yours.......is it better than LBP1------oh yes! and then some....10 out of 10 without a doubt. Expand
  92. Jan 21, 2011
    10
    This game is genuinely, one of the best games ever. Firstly, the story is much better with the addition of AI and the new futuristic theme. But, as if we bought the game for story mode. Create is an absolute masterpiece. It takes a while to learn how stuff like movers work, but then it's fine. It's only after a few hours on create that the true genius of the tools is revealed. You can make almost ANYTHING. And I mean that. Just go on community to see what I mean. An absolute masterpiece, with infinite replay value. Expand
  93. Jan 23, 2011
    9
    The game is a fantastic platformer with unlimited possibilities and a ton of replayability due to the in-depth level designer that lets you create games of almost any genre. LittleBigPlanet 2 is a sure-fire Game of the Year contender.
  94. Feb 11, 2011
    10
    Very nice and fun game for family: gameplay, models, sounds, music, new colors and stages, i like it realy.
    game mechanic is fantatic. go and buy it for your childs, mammies and daddies!
  95. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    One of the best PS3 exclusives out there, and everything in Littlebigplanet just got better. If you love good games in general and isnt confined into a few genres then this is the game for you. Absolutly brilliant! Also has the best replay value of any console has to offer, with MILLIONS of levels, including everything from Littlebigplanet 1 and so on! Must buy!
  96. Mar 3, 2011
    10
    One of the best PS3 exclusives ever made. Story is not amazing, but lets face it, that's not going to be the reason to buy this game. The real reason is the create mode and community features. If you can dream it, you can make it. The create mode has expanded in so many ways that it really is possible to make what you plan. It is single handedly the best create mode in all of gaming. Then there is the community. It is ever expanding and it is amazing what some people make. It is flat out one of the best games of 2011. A well deserved 10/10. Expand
  97. Apr 10, 2011
    10
    If you are looking at whether or not to buy this game, then don't listen to the people who say that this is an extremely childish game. It's not. Its a haven for artists that want to show off their creative side in a video game.
  98. May 6, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the best play station 3 exclusives out there, and everything in Little big planet just got better. If you love good games in general and isn't confined into a few genres then this is the game for you. Absolutely brilliant! Also has the best replay value of any console has to offer, with MILLIONS of levels, including everything from Little big planet 1 and so on! Must buy! Expand
  99. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    An absolute delight to play that I regularly return to. LittleBigPlanet 2 keeps all the charm of the original game while adding a whole host of new creation tolls which really expand the scope of levels which can be created. The single-player is once again short but sweet, but the community content will keep you coming back for a long, long time.
  100. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    This game deserves an 11 for how great it is. The whole idea is amazing and they executed it perfectly. In the first LBP there was some pretty major flaws. MediaMolecule saw these flaws and fixed them, but not in an update, but in a new game. The new addition of Sackbots helped the idea of actual films in the game, which is the beauty of it. You can literally make a game in a game in a game. There have been even Sackified versions of critically acclaimed masterpieces such as Mortal Kombat inside this game. Renditions of Dragon Ball Z, Naruto, Metal Gear Solid, Dead Space, Slender, all of these have been done and have been done greatly. You don't even need to question it, but LittleBigPlanet 2 is easily one of the best games created. Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    85
    If you build it, they will come. The only limiting factor in creating new games here is your own mind. Dive into the chaotic beauty of LittleBigPlanet 2.
  2. Apr 12, 2011
    96
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Lush, beautifully rendered graphics with amazing particle physics. You'll not see a demonic custard tart explode more realistically... LBP2 is already a contender for game of the year. [March 2011, p74]