• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jan 18, 2011
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 561 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 561

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 20, 2011
    5
    A solid if derivative platformer with a beautiful aesthetic, and a great editor: not a huge leapo from its predecessor, it will be interesting to see if this one can keep a large community over a long period. And more importantly, will the tools allow people to create anything actually worth playing? A few people making half-baked versions of better games for consumption via Youtube is notA solid if derivative platformer with a beautiful aesthetic, and a great editor: not a huge leapo from its predecessor, it will be interesting to see if this one can keep a large community over a long period. And more importantly, will the tools allow people to create anything actually worth playing? A few people making half-baked versions of better games for consumption via Youtube is not a revolution. Expand
  2. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    The first Little Big Planet was my maiden voyage into the PS3, and I've stuck with it ever since. Very rarely is a game's sequel not only a great improvement, but also a carrier of amazing additions that make it feel like a fresh new game. I can hardly contain my fanboy madness at the new gadgets, tools, tweaks and CONTROLLER MAPPING!! The ability to create games that are no longer stuckThe first Little Big Planet was my maiden voyage into the PS3, and I've stuck with it ever since. Very rarely is a game's sequel not only a great improvement, but also a carrier of amazing additions that make it feel like a fresh new game. I can hardly contain my fanboy madness at the new gadgets, tools, tweaks and CONTROLLER MAPPING!! The ability to create games that are no longer stuck on the platformer genre, but open the world to everything from RPG's to FPS's. This game redefines the custom builder mechanism that is slowly becoming more popular. A king of creation, Little Big Planet 2 is truly limited to your capacity for creativity!! Expand
  3. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    Very good game. Very fun to play with friends casually. The game is also fun to play and create with massive amount of content. Yes, that's right, it's fun to create. Sounds, odd, but try it yourself. It's kind of addicting.
  4. Jan 27, 2011
    10
    For any real gamer, the notion of progress is a double edged sword when it comes to justifying our belief in or appreciation of games as a medium. We raise one hand protesting the need for change, while crossing our fingers on the other, in hope that those things we loved before are still present. This tension is no more telling than when a sequel is developed. Especially when then its theFor any real gamer, the notion of progress is a double edged sword when it comes to justifying our belief in or appreciation of games as a medium. We raise one hand protesting the need for change, while crossing our fingers on the other, in hope that those things we loved before are still present. This tension is no more telling than when a sequel is developed. Especially when then its the sequel to one of the most imporant games in or any generation. From its humble beginnings, it is clear that LittleBigPlanet 2 feels like a more polished article, like a band making the second album, with more money, resources and technical capabilities at their disposal. In the same respect though, some of the charm has been lost. Sackboy seems less an archetype for personalisation in character identification and more of an objective entity. The cut and paste levels of the first games, with their brilliant imperfections have been replaced with a more contextual narrative. With cut scenes, technical feats, musical direction and item trickery offering a more holistic experience. Despite this, some charm has been lost, as the cracks that allowed you to see the majesty of the first games parts have been glazed over. The pre-designed levels still serve as a inticing anicdote of the new horizons that LBP2 could offer. The variety of new items, stage devices, AI charcters and visons into the realm of future possibilities replaces charm with a self recognition that this is only the first chapter in the story. Media Molecules faith in its userbase is unparalled. For they know it is up to us to keep constantly re-writing its narrative. Which is where, as we all know, the point at which LBP2 we live or die. It is an extension of an idea that is suprisingly profound, that gaming can in fact be an organic process, being shaped and reshaped over time. The most important element therefore, is the tools that are given at our disposal. It is here, that LBP2 transcends its predecessor in everyway. The most imporant element of all, being that of combination. Whereas in LBP there were a limited number of items at your fingertips, the wealth of riches at your disposal raises the challenge of creation, and the wonder of discovery ever more. It seems unncessary to list them, but special must be given to the creatinator. A device that allows you to create any functioning mechanical device you so wish. Within a short time there has been a wealth of 2d retro replicas, nods of nostalgic reminisence and attempts at genres that it didn't seem possible to produce (i.e. type in Zelda and see for yourself). More than anything though, the realm of possibiity has evolved anew. Seemingly raising the bar in terms of faith in the gaming community and what is possible. Who knows what the future will hold. Im just glad Im part of the story. Expand
  5. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    LittleBigPlanet 2 is brilliant. It's much more in-depth in every way from the first game. There's a variety of things to do and see, it never gets old. It's Gameplay and Presentation is amazing, the story is great, and creating has never been more fun. Honestly, i have no regrets or complaints after buying this game.
  6. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    Purely sublime. It builds on all the previous games acomplishments and goes the next level. It may not look that much different and doesn't play that much different. But it has more levels, more power up & and attachments, as well as AI helper bots. The campaigh ( as with LBP1) is solid , but it's the scope for making levels that make this game a notch above any other. Like its predecessorPurely sublime. It builds on all the previous games acomplishments and goes the next level. It may not look that much different and doesn't play that much different. But it has more levels, more power up & and attachments, as well as AI helper bots. The campaigh ( as with LBP1) is solid , but it's the scope for making levels that make this game a notch above any other. Like its predecessor it requires patience , but that patience pays off in the long run. Its also compatible with all old LBP levels. Overall if you havent played LBP1 This is a must . If you have played LBP1 this is STILL a must. Expand
  7. Feb 27, 2011
    10
    Amazing game through and through. Way better than LBP1 and the story makes it seem more advanced. I love the new tools and powerups too. Deserves way more than a 10. Also, ignore these 2 ignorant fanboys that gave it a 0. One doesn't have an imagination and is a xbox fanboy, and the other can't even use correct grammar, much less use english well anyways, indicating his intelligence level.Amazing game through and through. Way better than LBP1 and the story makes it seem more advanced. I love the new tools and powerups too. Deserves way more than a 10. Also, ignore these 2 ignorant fanboys that gave it a 0. One doesn't have an imagination and is a xbox fanboy, and the other can't even use correct grammar, much less use english well anyways, indicating his intelligence level. They are both jealous that they can't play such an amazing game. Expand
  8. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    One of the best PS3 exclusives out there, and everything in Littlebigplanet just got better. If you love good games in general and isnt confined into a few genres then this is the game for you. Absolutly brilliant! Also has the best replay value of any console has to offer, with MILLIONS of levels, including everything from Littlebigplanet 1 and so on! Must buy!
  9. Mar 3, 2011
    10
    One of the best PS3 exclusives ever made. Story is not amazing, but lets face it, that's not going to be the reason to buy this game. The real reason is the create mode and community features. If you can dream it, you can make it. The create mode has expanded in so many ways that it really is possible to make what you plan. It is single handedly the best create mode in all of gaming. ThenOne of the best PS3 exclusives ever made. Story is not amazing, but lets face it, that's not going to be the reason to buy this game. The real reason is the create mode and community features. If you can dream it, you can make it. The create mode has expanded in so many ways that it really is possible to make what you plan. It is single handedly the best create mode in all of gaming. Then there is the community. It is ever expanding and it is amazing what some people make. It is flat out one of the best games of 2011. A well deserved 10/10. Expand
  10. Jul 10, 2012
    8
    the first LBP was a fun game and a nice venture into some thing new . LBP2 is a fun new sequel to the first that lets you do it all over again. The best part of this game is playing the stuff people have come up with . i found myself amazed at some of the levels and movies people put together . The biggest downside is the game doesn't feel like it adds alot of new stuff . the biggest thingthe first LBP was a fun game and a nice venture into some thing new . LBP2 is a fun new sequel to the first that lets you do it all over again. The best part of this game is playing the stuff people have come up with . i found myself amazed at some of the levels and movies people put together . The biggest downside is the game doesn't feel like it adds alot of new stuff . the biggest thing i remember the devs saying about this one was how much easier it would be to make your own levels compared to the first and how much faster it would be . well its still a huge chore and if you look at some of the amazing levels people made it took them 100s of hours if not more to put together. which as much as i would like to make some thing like that i don't want to spend that kind of time doing . hopefully LBP3 will streamline this alot more. still its a fun game and if you enjoyed the first you will enjoy this one. Expand
  11. Mar 7, 2011
    10
    How could anyone really rate or review this game 100% accurate?It's impossible because a game like this is far on and beyond any video games that have ever been created.This has no end and all of the gameplay and fufillment you will encounter will blow you away at all times,it's that good.It is like they said,they gave us the tools the first time around to make custom levels and this timeHow could anyone really rate or review this game 100% accurate?It's impossible because a game like this is far on and beyond any video games that have ever been created.This has no end and all of the gameplay and fufillment you will encounter will blow you away at all times,it's that good.It is like they said,they gave us the tools the first time around to make custom levels and this time around they gave us the tools to create our own games.Until little big planet 3 comes out you bet I will be enjoying the brilliance of everything this experience,not game,will endow upon me. Expand
  12. May 16, 2011
    1
    I got this for my kids and they finished it in about 4 sittings. I would say there is about 6-7 hours of game time here, which is pretty pathetic considering how much games cost these days. I know the "create mode" or whatever it's called is great for adults, but not for little elementary school kids! In addition, how much of what is created by other users out there is really worthI got this for my kids and they finished it in about 4 sittings. I would say there is about 6-7 hours of game time here, which is pretty pathetic considering how much games cost these days. I know the "create mode" or whatever it's called is great for adults, but not for little elementary school kids! In addition, how much of what is created by other users out there is really worth playing? 10%? 3%? Very disappointed by this game. Expand
  13. Feb 9, 2011
    10
    Returning with 2 million levels already created and even more tools at the disposal of all you clever creators out there, this is definitely something to check out. A worth investment, I don't believe I will ever regret buying either of these games as they are a gift that just keep on giving. There has already been some amazing community levels created for this game. And the beauty is theyReturning with 2 million levels already created and even more tools at the disposal of all you clever creators out there, this is definitely something to check out. A worth investment, I don't believe I will ever regret buying either of these games as they are a gift that just keep on giving. There has already been some amazing community levels created for this game. And the beauty is they aren't all platformers! They are ACTUAL games! From a tower defense game to a top down shooter, the diversity is finally there. A must buy for any gaming enthusiast. Expand
  14. Feb 24, 2011
    10
    I cant understand, why this game is such popular. I found it boring and one of the worst games that I ever bought on PS. I should knew it, cause also I dont liked first game. I ought to buy Dead Space 2.
  15. Jan 19, 2011
    9
    You can try to play this game without a silly little grin on your face and a giggle here or there... but i doubt you will succeed. It has to be one of the most amusing games on the market and without a doubt, is a crowed pleaser for any age!
  16. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    Not since Uncharted 2 & Resistance 2 have I seen a game be improved on in every way. Astounding, magical, amazing and a whole bunch of positive adjectives Apple normally use to wrongfully to describe there products now have a little sack boy next to them in the dictionary YOU OWE IT TO YOURSELF TO GO BY THIS GAME. NOW.
  17. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    This game is INSANE. it'll freakin rock your socks off kiddos!!! if you liked the 1st one youll love LBP2. Mario who? Wii what??? they aint got nothin on sackboy
  18. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    Simply superb. This game is so brilliant, It's hard to imagine the developers of this game would've been able to push beyond what the first LBP did. This game is not just a game it's an experience that while it might not be for everyone it is sure to captivate millions. I play with someone and we have a blast but even playing solo is still infinitely entertaining. LBP2 is the first game inSimply superb. This game is so brilliant, It's hard to imagine the developers of this game would've been able to push beyond what the first LBP did. This game is not just a game it's an experience that while it might not be for everyone it is sure to captivate millions. I play with someone and we have a blast but even playing solo is still infinitely entertaining. LBP2 is the first game in a huge list of amazing PS3 exclusives this year. Great times to be a PS3 owner Expand
  19. Feb 7, 2011
    10
    Very excellent game. Loved every second of my time spent on it. Level creator is just as addicting as the first if not more with the amount of new content available you can spend hours end wasting away on this game. One of the must buy's for PS3.
  20. Feb 4, 2011
    10
    I enjoyed it more than the first one... And I thought the first one was incredible. The addition of the neat gadgets and more engaging side games (along with the existing LBP brilliance) makes this game absolutely remarkable.
  21. Jan 21, 2011
    10
    This game is genuinely, one of the best games ever. Firstly, the story is much better with the addition of AI and the new futuristic theme. But, as if we bought the game for story mode. Create is an absolute masterpiece. It takes a while to learn how stuff like movers work, but then it's fine. It's only after a few hours on create that the true genius of the tools is revealed. You can makeThis game is genuinely, one of the best games ever. Firstly, the story is much better with the addition of AI and the new futuristic theme. But, as if we bought the game for story mode. Create is an absolute masterpiece. It takes a while to learn how stuff like movers work, but then it's fine. It's only after a few hours on create that the true genius of the tools is revealed. You can make almost ANYTHING. And I mean that. Just go on community to see what I mean. An absolute masterpiece, with infinite replay value. Expand
  22. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    It has already been said a thousand times but LBP 2 is an incredible game. The sheer capacity for creativity is its main strength and while, at first, I thought that put too much reliance on the community and we'd be left with nothing but mediocrity and boredom the community is showing a lot of promise. The new additions to the level editors are all easy to use and effectively used asIt has already been said a thousand times but LBP 2 is an incredible game. The sheer capacity for creativity is its main strength and while, at first, I thought that put too much reliance on the community and we'd be left with nothing but mediocrity and boredom the community is showing a lot of promise. The new additions to the level editors are all easy to use and effectively used as demonstrated by the myriad levels posted online everyday. The game may still be young but it is showing lots of promise and I am having a blast playing both the story levels and online with all kinds of people. This game, if nothing else, is a great way to spend time with friends and maybe even make a few from around the globe. A great game, hands down. Expand
  23. Feb 1, 2011
    10
    One word: brilliant. Excluding the Assassin's Creed saga, LittleBigPlanet is my favourite game. It is quirky with brilliant game-play and each level may be played over and over again without becoming boring. But the complexity of the level creator is another story. The level creation system has been transformed allowing you to not only make levels but entire games. One of the best games onOne word: brilliant. Excluding the Assassin's Creed saga, LittleBigPlanet is my favourite game. It is quirky with brilliant game-play and each level may be played over and over again without becoming boring. But the complexity of the level creator is another story. The level creation system has been transformed allowing you to not only make levels but entire games. One of the best games on the market. Expand
  24. Mar 18, 2012
    9
    This is a rare sort of game, it's the kind of game I can see satisfying any kind of gamer, it's perfect for gamers of any age, kids will love it for it's lighthearted gameplay and older gamers will love it for it's references to games from the past, and surprisingly deep gameplay and level creating system, the game looks gorgeous and has a phenomenal soundtrack, it's a fun and sometimesThis is a rare sort of game, it's the kind of game I can see satisfying any kind of gamer, it's perfect for gamers of any age, kids will love it for it's lighthearted gameplay and older gamers will love it for it's references to games from the past, and surprisingly deep gameplay and level creating system, the game looks gorgeous and has a phenomenal soundtrack, it's a fun and sometimes downright bizarre game, it has a nice story mode that packs a weird story, and while it's mostly a platformer it does shake it up in some surprising ways so it doesn't get stale, the real big thing here is the level creator that has fantastic online support and the things you can do with it is amazing you can create all sorts of different game types and it really lets your creativity soar, and when you create a level you can share it online for others to play, and you can also download other peoples creations, it does have some issues holding it back from true greatness like some questionable platforming and irritating moments, but if you have a PS3 this is a must play game, it's truly unique and outstanding and a must play. Expand
  25. May 15, 2011
    10
    Amusing, boisterous, convivial, diverting, enjoyable, entertaining, lively, merry, pleasant, witty and amazing. What else can I say? This game is an absolute masterpiece. The developers have evolved so much on the first game and the integrated levels are amazing. The campaign was awesome and each level made sense. The end was great and all else followed. Mind-blowing.
  26. Jan 19, 2011
    9
    Rarely in gaming am I overtaken by the complete fun of what I'm doing that I burst into laughter regularly. The changes are great without overdoing anything. My girlfriend and I were up into the wee hours of the morning playing.
  27. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    I've been playing LittleBigPlanet since it's release several years ago. I've been playing LittleBigPlanet 2 since the beginning of the beta. This is, IMO, one of the greatest video game accomplishments I've seen. The creation mode is so incredibly deep, your imagination is the only thing holding you back. Not a fan of LittleBigPlanet platforming? No problem! The tools this game givesI've been playing LittleBigPlanet since it's release several years ago. I've been playing LittleBigPlanet 2 since the beginning of the beta. This is, IMO, one of the greatest video game accomplishments I've seen. The creation mode is so incredibly deep, your imagination is the only thing holding you back. Not a fan of LittleBigPlanet platforming? No problem! The tools this game gives you to create are capable of creating just about any experience. As a game content player, or a platform to share your ideas with the world.... this is the greatest user-generated-content game ever created. If you own a PS3, you MUST have this game. You will still be playing it several years from now. Fantastic! Expand
  28. Feb 11, 2011
    10
    Very nice and fun game for family: gameplay, models, sounds, music, new colors and stages, i like it realy.
    game mechanic is fantatic. go and buy it for your childs, mammies and daddies!
  29. Jan 30, 2011
    10
    This game is brilliant! Sure, on the surface it looks like something made for children, and I admit as I plopped it down on the counter to purchase it I felt a little ashamed. " This is way too adorable for someone like me to be playing." I couldn't have been more wrong. This is a very dedicated platformer that ranks up there with the best of them. It is all very whimsical and as I play IThis game is brilliant! Sure, on the surface it looks like something made for children, and I admit as I plopped it down on the counter to purchase it I felt a little ashamed. " This is way too adorable for someone like me to be playing." I couldn't have been more wrong. This is a very dedicated platformer that ranks up there with the best of them. It is all very whimsical and as I play I find it very hard not to smile, and few games garner that reaction out of me. The actual game itself is quite good, very competent and entertaining, but the best part of LBP2 is the community and creation tools. In the community section you can play thousands of user-created levels, some are terrible, others are amazing. The community is a very friendly one and are very supportive of each other, which is hard to find in today's world of Halo and Call of Duty. Then there are the creation tools, where you can make just about anything you want, from movies and music/videos to your own LBP2 levels, some have even created replicas of other classic and current games that are staggeringly accurate. When you start making your own stuff you might be overwhelmed, but the more you play around with the tools and get the hang of it, you can create some pretty amazing stuff with relative ease. I was wrong about this game. Little Big Planet 2 isn't just for kids, it is for any platforming fan and is a great break in between killing anything that moves in other games. Expand
  30. Feb 1, 2011
    9
    I was so excited for Little Big Planet 2 that I pre-ordered the collector's edition. Which by the way was worth the extra 20 bucks. With that being said I was a little dissapointed in the campaign. The cut scenes and storyline seem like an afterthought by media molecule. The end boss is also uninspired and looks like something a fifth grader would've made. Don't get me wrong, I don't hateI was so excited for Little Big Planet 2 that I pre-ordered the collector's edition. Which by the way was worth the extra 20 bucks. With that being said I was a little dissapointed in the campaign. The cut scenes and storyline seem like an afterthought by media molecule. The end boss is also uninspired and looks like something a fifth grader would've made. Don't get me wrong, I don't hate the game but I guarantee most users could create a better villian. I'm sure there will be plenty of user created levels soon enough that will blow the main campaign away. On the plus side, there are 10x's the amount of creation tools in LBP2 than it's predacessor. For talented creators the possibilities are endless. While some tools are more streamlined, there still aren't enough hand holding tutorials for more technologically challenged users like myself. Little Big Planet 2 would be hard to review right out of the gate, given the fact that it's replay value rests on the shoulders of the user created content. But since I've seen thousands of jawdropping levels that were created by users with the limited tool set from L.B.P.1 I can safely assume that I along with millions of other sackboys and girls will be playing this game until we see Little Big Planet 3. Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    85
    If you build it, they will come. The only limiting factor in creating new games here is your own mind. Dive into the chaotic beauty of LittleBigPlanet 2.
  2. Apr 12, 2011
    96
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Lush, beautifully rendered graphics with amazing particle physics. You'll not see a demonic custard tart explode more realistically... LBP2 is already a contender for game of the year. [March 2011, p74]