LittleBigPlanet 2 PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jan 18, 2011
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 667 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 667
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    The first Little Big Planet was my maiden voyage into the PS3, and I've stuck with it ever since. Very rarely is a game's sequel not only a great improvement, but also a carrier of amazing additions that make it feel like a fresh new game. I can hardly contain my fanboy madness at the new gadgets, tools, tweaks and CONTROLLER MAPPING!! The ability to create games that are no longer stuckThe first Little Big Planet was my maiden voyage into the PS3, and I've stuck with it ever since. Very rarely is a game's sequel not only a great improvement, but also a carrier of amazing additions that make it feel like a fresh new game. I can hardly contain my fanboy madness at the new gadgets, tools, tweaks and CONTROLLER MAPPING!! The ability to create games that are no longer stuck on the platformer genre, but open the world to everything from RPG's to FPS's. This game redefines the custom builder mechanism that is slowly becoming more popular. A king of creation, Little Big Planet 2 is truly limited to your capacity for creativity!! Expand
  2. Jul 10, 2012
    8
    the first LBP was a fun game and a nice venture into some thing new . LBP2 is a fun new sequel to the first that lets you do it all over again. The best part of this game is playing the stuff people have come up with . i found myself amazed at some of the levels and movies people put together . The biggest downside is the game doesn't feel like it adds alot of new stuff . the biggest thingthe first LBP was a fun game and a nice venture into some thing new . LBP2 is a fun new sequel to the first that lets you do it all over again. The best part of this game is playing the stuff people have come up with . i found myself amazed at some of the levels and movies people put together . The biggest downside is the game doesn't feel like it adds alot of new stuff . the biggest thing i remember the devs saying about this one was how much easier it would be to make your own levels compared to the first and how much faster it would be . well its still a huge chore and if you look at some of the amazing levels people made it took them 100s of hours if not more to put together. which as much as i would like to make some thing like that i don't want to spend that kind of time doing . hopefully LBP3 will streamline this alot more. still its a fun game and if you enjoyed the first you will enjoy this one. Expand
  3. Feb 9, 2011
    10
    Returning with 2 million levels already created and even more tools at the disposal of all you clever creators out there, this is definitely something to check out. A worth investment, I don't believe I will ever regret buying either of these games as they are a gift that just keep on giving. There has already been some amazing community levels created for this game. And the beauty is theyReturning with 2 million levels already created and even more tools at the disposal of all you clever creators out there, this is definitely something to check out. A worth investment, I don't believe I will ever regret buying either of these games as they are a gift that just keep on giving. There has already been some amazing community levels created for this game. And the beauty is they aren't all platformers! They are ACTUAL games! From a tower defense game to a top down shooter, the diversity is finally there. A must buy for any gaming enthusiast. Expand
  4. Jan 19, 2011
    9
    You can try to play this game without a silly little grin on your face and a giggle here or there... but i doubt you will succeed. It has to be one of the most amusing games on the market and without a doubt, is a crowed pleaser for any age!
  5. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    This game is INSANE. it'll freakin rock your socks off kiddos!!! if you liked the 1st one youll love LBP2. Mario who? Wii what??? they aint got nothin on sackboy
  6. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    Simply superb. This game is so brilliant, It's hard to imagine the developers of this game would've been able to push beyond what the first LBP did. This game is not just a game it's an experience that while it might not be for everyone it is sure to captivate millions. I play with someone and we have a blast but even playing solo is still infinitely entertaining. LBP2 is the first game inSimply superb. This game is so brilliant, It's hard to imagine the developers of this game would've been able to push beyond what the first LBP did. This game is not just a game it's an experience that while it might not be for everyone it is sure to captivate millions. I play with someone and we have a blast but even playing solo is still infinitely entertaining. LBP2 is the first game in a huge list of amazing PS3 exclusives this year. Great times to be a PS3 owner Expand
  7. Feb 7, 2011
    10
    Very excellent game. Loved every second of my time spent on it. Level creator is just as addicting as the first if not more with the amount of new content available you can spend hours end wasting away on this game. One of the must buy's for PS3.
  8. Feb 4, 2011
    10
    I enjoyed it more than the first one... And I thought the first one was incredible. The addition of the neat gadgets and more engaging side games (along with the existing LBP brilliance) makes this game absolutely remarkable.
  9. Jan 21, 2011
    10
    This game is genuinely, one of the best games ever. Firstly, the story is much better with the addition of AI and the new futuristic theme. But, as if we bought the game for story mode. Create is an absolute masterpiece. It takes a while to learn how stuff like movers work, but then it's fine. It's only after a few hours on create that the true genius of the tools is revealed. You can makeThis game is genuinely, one of the best games ever. Firstly, the story is much better with the addition of AI and the new futuristic theme. But, as if we bought the game for story mode. Create is an absolute masterpiece. It takes a while to learn how stuff like movers work, but then it's fine. It's only after a few hours on create that the true genius of the tools is revealed. You can make almost ANYTHING. And I mean that. Just go on community to see what I mean. An absolute masterpiece, with infinite replay value. Expand
  10. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    It has already been said a thousand times but LBP 2 is an incredible game. The sheer capacity for creativity is its main strength and while, at first, I thought that put too much reliance on the community and we'd be left with nothing but mediocrity and boredom the community is showing a lot of promise. The new additions to the level editors are all easy to use and effectively used asIt has already been said a thousand times but LBP 2 is an incredible game. The sheer capacity for creativity is its main strength and while, at first, I thought that put too much reliance on the community and we'd be left with nothing but mediocrity and boredom the community is showing a lot of promise. The new additions to the level editors are all easy to use and effectively used as demonstrated by the myriad levels posted online everyday. The game may still be young but it is showing lots of promise and I am having a blast playing both the story levels and online with all kinds of people. This game, if nothing else, is a great way to spend time with friends and maybe even make a few from around the globe. A great game, hands down. Expand
  11. Feb 1, 2011
    10
    One word: brilliant. Excluding the Assassin's Creed saga, LittleBigPlanet is my favourite game. It is quirky with brilliant game-play and each level may be played over and over again without becoming boring. But the complexity of the level creator is another story. The level creation system has been transformed allowing you to not only make levels but entire games. One of the best games onOne word: brilliant. Excluding the Assassin's Creed saga, LittleBigPlanet is my favourite game. It is quirky with brilliant game-play and each level may be played over and over again without becoming boring. But the complexity of the level creator is another story. The level creation system has been transformed allowing you to not only make levels but entire games. One of the best games on the market. Expand
  12. Mar 18, 2012
    9
    This is a rare sort of game, it's the kind of game I can see satisfying any kind of gamer, it's perfect for gamers of any age, kids will love it for it's lighthearted gameplay and older gamers will love it for it's references to games from the past, and surprisingly deep gameplay and level creating system, the game looks gorgeous and has a phenomenal soundtrack, it's a fun and sometimesThis is a rare sort of game, it's the kind of game I can see satisfying any kind of gamer, it's perfect for gamers of any age, kids will love it for it's lighthearted gameplay and older gamers will love it for it's references to games from the past, and surprisingly deep gameplay and level creating system, the game looks gorgeous and has a phenomenal soundtrack, it's a fun and sometimes downright bizarre game, it has a nice story mode that packs a weird story, and while it's mostly a platformer it does shake it up in some surprising ways so it doesn't get stale, the real big thing here is the level creator that has fantastic online support and the things you can do with it is amazing you can create all sorts of different game types and it really lets your creativity soar, and when you create a level you can share it online for others to play, and you can also download other peoples creations, it does have some issues holding it back from true greatness like some questionable platforming and irritating moments, but if you have a PS3 this is a must play game, it's truly unique and outstanding and a must play. Expand
  13. Jan 19, 2011
    9
    Rarely in gaming am I overtaken by the complete fun of what I'm doing that I burst into laughter regularly. The changes are great without overdoing anything. My girlfriend and I were up into the wee hours of the morning playing.
  14. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    I've been playing LittleBigPlanet since it's release several years ago. I've been playing LittleBigPlanet 2 since the beginning of the beta. This is, IMO, one of the greatest video game accomplishments I've seen. The creation mode is so incredibly deep, your imagination is the only thing holding you back. Not a fan of LittleBigPlanet platforming? No problem! The tools this game givesI've been playing LittleBigPlanet since it's release several years ago. I've been playing LittleBigPlanet 2 since the beginning of the beta. This is, IMO, one of the greatest video game accomplishments I've seen. The creation mode is so incredibly deep, your imagination is the only thing holding you back. Not a fan of LittleBigPlanet platforming? No problem! The tools this game gives you to create are capable of creating just about any experience. As a game content player, or a platform to share your ideas with the world.... this is the greatest user-generated-content game ever created. If you own a PS3, you MUST have this game. You will still be playing it several years from now. Fantastic! Expand
  15. Feb 11, 2011
    10
    Very nice and fun game for family: gameplay, models, sounds, music, new colors and stages, i like it realy.
    game mechanic is fantatic. go and buy it for your childs, mammies and daddies!
  16. Jan 30, 2011
    10
    This game is brilliant! Sure, on the surface it looks like something made for children, and I admit as I plopped it down on the counter to purchase it I felt a little ashamed. " This is way too adorable for someone like me to be playing." I couldn't have been more wrong. This is a very dedicated platformer that ranks up there with the best of them. It is all very whimsical and as I play IThis game is brilliant! Sure, on the surface it looks like something made for children, and I admit as I plopped it down on the counter to purchase it I felt a little ashamed. " This is way too adorable for someone like me to be playing." I couldn't have been more wrong. This is a very dedicated platformer that ranks up there with the best of them. It is all very whimsical and as I play I find it very hard not to smile, and few games garner that reaction out of me. The actual game itself is quite good, very competent and entertaining, but the best part of LBP2 is the community and creation tools. In the community section you can play thousands of user-created levels, some are terrible, others are amazing. The community is a very friendly one and are very supportive of each other, which is hard to find in today's world of Halo and Call of Duty. Then there are the creation tools, where you can make just about anything you want, from movies and music/videos to your own LBP2 levels, some have even created replicas of other classic and current games that are staggeringly accurate. When you start making your own stuff you might be overwhelmed, but the more you play around with the tools and get the hang of it, you can create some pretty amazing stuff with relative ease. I was wrong about this game. Little Big Planet 2 isn't just for kids, it is for any platforming fan and is a great break in between killing anything that moves in other games. Expand
  17. Feb 1, 2011
    9
    I was so excited for Little Big Planet 2 that I pre-ordered the collector's edition. Which by the way was worth the extra 20 bucks. With that being said I was a little dissapointed in the campaign. The cut scenes and storyline seem like an afterthought by media molecule. The end boss is also uninspired and looks like something a fifth grader would've made. Don't get me wrong, I don't hateI was so excited for Little Big Planet 2 that I pre-ordered the collector's edition. Which by the way was worth the extra 20 bucks. With that being said I was a little dissapointed in the campaign. The cut scenes and storyline seem like an afterthought by media molecule. The end boss is also uninspired and looks like something a fifth grader would've made. Don't get me wrong, I don't hate the game but I guarantee most users could create a better villian. I'm sure there will be plenty of user created levels soon enough that will blow the main campaign away. On the plus side, there are 10x's the amount of creation tools in LBP2 than it's predacessor. For talented creators the possibilities are endless. While some tools are more streamlined, there still aren't enough hand holding tutorials for more technologically challenged users like myself. Little Big Planet 2 would be hard to review right out of the gate, given the fact that it's replay value rests on the shoulders of the user created content. But since I've seen thousands of jawdropping levels that were created by users with the limited tool set from L.B.P.1 I can safely assume that I along with millions of other sackboys and girls will be playing this game until we see Little Big Planet 3. Expand
  18. Feb 9, 2011
    10
    LittleBigPlanet is a good game. Anyone who doesnt like it shouldn't be so negative. It is beautifully made with amazing graphics and superb gameplay. The Story in my opinion, is fantastic and very enjoyable. The extra features, which i wont say, keep you coming back loads of times. The Creating is much easier and even me, a rubbish creator, can make something ever so simple, but good. ILittleBigPlanet is a good game. Anyone who doesnt like it shouldn't be so negative. It is beautifully made with amazing graphics and superb gameplay. The Story in my opinion, is fantastic and very enjoyable. The extra features, which i wont say, keep you coming back loads of times. The Creating is much easier and even me, a rubbish creator, can make something ever so simple, but good. I think this game is amazing. Expand
  19. Apr 29, 2011
    10
    This game is cute, fun and addictive. There are so many levels to play with. Community levels are made every week. It's a non-stop having fun platformer game! Another thing is that, if you played online multiplayer or couch with your siblings or friends, it's an amazing experience. You can laugh and have lots of fun with them. You'll never stop playing it. Making levels are also lots ofThis game is cute, fun and addictive. There are so many levels to play with. Community levels are made every week. It's a non-stop having fun platformer game! Another thing is that, if you played online multiplayer or couch with your siblings or friends, it's an amazing experience. You can laugh and have lots of fun with them. You'll never stop playing it. Making levels are also lots of fun, like the 1st LBP, but better! I think everyone should buy this, It's amazing, especially the younger kids. I give it a 10! Expand
  20. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    An absolute delight to play that I regularly return to. LittleBigPlanet 2 keeps all the charm of the original game while adding a whole host of new creation tolls which really expand the scope of levels which can be created. The single-player is once again short but sweet, but the community content will keep you coming back for a long, long time.
  21. Apr 6, 2012
    9
    This is the reason I choose a PS3 over an Xbox 360: for exclusives such as this. LittleBigPlanet 2 takes the original concept of LittleBigPlanet and turns it up a notch. I was actually quite surprised how much more this game was capable of by adding only a few new features. Many complain there is not enough to do in this game, but those are mainly the people that do not have a veryThis is the reason I choose a PS3 over an Xbox 360: for exclusives such as this. LittleBigPlanet 2 takes the original concept of LittleBigPlanet and turns it up a notch. I was actually quite surprised how much more this game was capable of by adding only a few new features. Many complain there is not enough to do in this game, but those are mainly the people that do not have a very good imagination. The fact that this game allows you create your very own game without all that frustrating coding and such make LittleBigPlanet 2 a great game for people with big ideas. Expand
  22. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    This may be the most enduring game I have ever played. I played LBP1 when I first got my PS3 and loved it, and LBP2 has taken the creation tool to an entirely new level. I bought it when it came out and have since become an accomplished creator and very good with logic. I have been able to create mini battles between sackbots to larger games like a multiplayer turnbased battle game similarThis may be the most enduring game I have ever played. I played LBP1 when I first got my PS3 and loved it, and LBP2 has taken the creation tool to an entirely new level. I bought it when it came out and have since become an accomplished creator and very good with logic. I have been able to create mini battles between sackbots to larger games like a multiplayer turnbased battle game similar to Valkyria Chronicles. It takes time, but I love it. Expand
  23. Aug 30, 2012
    9
    The original LittleBigPlanet was of the best PlayStation 3 games that I've ever played; it's sequel does not disappoint. I really enjoyed the levels in this one and enhanced creativity. Everything about it, from the consistent updates with fixes for common issues to the spectacular level community, makes this game one I'd recommend to any first-time PS3 gamer.
  24. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    This is a great game. It has a great story and an even better online multiplayer. There is a endless amount of levels to play. This is a must buy for any PS3 owners.
  25. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    Will this game cause a revolution in user generated content... maybe...

    The editor is simple enough for anyone to create basic levels. The tutorials are there to help people to learn... the game is there to show what is possible. And I think most importantly people can link there levels together to create a geography... The question is whether there are a. enough people out there who
    Will this game cause a revolution in user generated content... maybe...

    The editor is simple enough for anyone to create basic levels. The tutorials are there to help people to learn... the game is there to show what is possible. And I think most importantly people can link there levels together to create a geography...

    The question is whether there are a. enough people out there who want to create a world and b. enough people who will care if they do...
    Expand
  26. Jun 14, 2011
    8
    Little Big Planet 2 was something that was needed, something fresh, that i havent played before but is not without its faults. The story is unimpressive and is just a distraction to show what can be done in the game. I also didnt like the fact that the game forces one to play the story mode in order to collect important collectibles for the editor. The fun of the game is creating your ownLittle Big Planet 2 was something that was needed, something fresh, that i havent played before but is not without its faults. The story is unimpressive and is just a distraction to show what can be done in the game. I also didnt like the fact that the game forces one to play the story mode in order to collect important collectibles for the editor. The fun of the game is creating your own levels( which makes use of ones brain which is less and less evedent in games nowadays ) and seeing what other people can create with their imaginations. The game faults are the limitations that limit the creator in sense of size that a creator wants to create his or her game ( The gauge overheats very easily and a very annoying thing i often see is "the shape is getting too complicated aswell as you cannot put any more stickers" which somewhat puts me off quite alot make me want to stop playing the game, also the fact that i must buy costume dlc really pisses me of( I HATE DLC) but besides that the game is very fun and good value for money as long as you dont lack imagination, are lazy or are lazy to think. 7.5/10. Expand
  27. Jan 24, 2011
    8
    An amazing and complete game. I was not a fan of LBP but LBP2 is like a 2.0 engine upgrade. You can access all the user created content for both games, and have a vast library of new physics controls with the much-improved creator, and even in single player LBP2 offers an improved experience. For those wondering about trophies, they are easier than before. Rent or buy, it's well worthAn amazing and complete game. I was not a fan of LBP but LBP2 is like a 2.0 engine upgrade. You can access all the user created content for both games, and have a vast library of new physics controls with the much-improved creator, and even in single player LBP2 offers an improved experience. For those wondering about trophies, they are easier than before. Rent or buy, it's well worth playing in its entirety. Expand
  28. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    OUTSTANDING!

    Media Molecule are on fire, LittleBigPlanet2 has all the best things from the first game but brings over a LOT more for what you can do, from your costumes, building levels and even making a whole game. Such fun online and please play the street fighter 4 game on the community levels OMG i played it on launch day and still cant stop laughing. Replay value 100% i cannot
    OUTSTANDING!

    Media Molecule are on fire, LittleBigPlanet2 has all the best things from the first game but brings over a LOT more for what you can do, from your costumes, building levels and even making a whole game.
    Such fun online and please play the street fighter 4 game on the community levels OMG i played it on launch day and still cant stop laughing.
    Replay value 100% i cannot get bored of this, best value for money for the best game in the shops, its like a guy selling you a bugatti for the price of a saxo you cant beay it!!!

    One or two issues however, why did england get the game last as Media Molecule are an english company??

    and for those of you who play online and get a loading screen, press you guide button on and off or go to send someone a message and cancel it and it should be fine.

    Appart from this, this is a review for the game and the game is near perfect, best game i have played in a LONG time. 10
    Expand
  29. Jan 28, 2011
    10
    Little big planet 2 is an awesome game....... import your game save from LBP1 and your sackboy + created levels are in your pod and moon for you to tinker with. Play your LBP1 levels on little big planet 2 and the graphical difference is amazing...more smooth, more specular effects and loads more colour to boot. The level creater is in there but this time round there's much more you canLittle big planet 2 is an awesome game....... import your game save from LBP1 and your sackboy + created levels are in your pod and moon for you to tinker with. Play your LBP1 levels on little big planet 2 and the graphical difference is amazing...more smooth, more specular effects and loads more colour to boot. The level creater is in there but this time round there's much more you can do with it from making the usual LBP1 type standard levels to creating a new game altogether...race games, rpg zelda type games, the choice is yours.......is it better than LBP1------oh yes! and then some....10 out of 10 without a doubt. Expand
  30. Jan 23, 2011
    9
    The game is a fantastic platformer with unlimited possibilities and a ton of replayability due to the in-depth level designer that lets you create games of almost any genre. LittleBigPlanet 2 is a sure-fire Game of the Year contender.
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    85
    If you build it, they will come. The only limiting factor in creating new games here is your own mind. Dive into the chaotic beauty of LittleBigPlanet 2.
  2. Apr 12, 2011
    96
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Mar 17, 2011
    90
    Lush, beautifully rendered graphics with amazing particle physics. You'll not see a demonic custard tart explode more realistically... LBP2 is already a contender for game of the year. [March 2011, p74]