LittleBigPlanet 2 PlayStation 3

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
LittleBigPlanet 2 Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 669 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Media Molecule and Sony Europe are already working on a follow-up to their critically acclaimed platformer.
Buy On
  • Developer: Media Molecule
  • Genre(s): Action, Platformer, Platformer, 3D, 2D, 3D
  • # of players: 4 Online
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: E
  • Special Controllers: Move Compatible
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Little Big Planet 2 Grappling Hook Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 24, 2011
    100
    All games you ever liked mixed together into one huge colored gaming orgy. Even so, it is not all chaos but a catchy and fascinating game which makes you thrilled to the end. [Issue#200]
  2. 100
    LittleBigPlanet 2 is a special game that entertains effectively, and does nothing less. Playing together with friends, and enjoying the unrestrained power of man's creativity is a sight to behold.
  3. Play UK
    Jan 24, 2011
    96
    An amazing game that will ultimately only be limited by the imaginations of the people who play it. [Issue#201, p.86]
  4. Jan 4, 2011
    90
    If you're looking for a platform game LBP2 is a great one, although not as good as Super Mario Galaxy 2, Donkey Kong Country Returns or even Super Meat Boy. But if you're looking for an extremely powerful set of tools to unleash your creativity, LittleBigPlanet 2 has no rival.
  5. Feb 23, 2011
    90
    Littlebigplanet 2 is a triumph in user generated content that expands the original in ways previously thought to be impossible.
  6. Jan 19, 2011
    90
    The sheer amount of content and improvements more than warrants the price tag and you would be crazy to pass up this delightful package.
  7. Jan 24, 2011
    70
    Its depth can be terribly intimidating.

See all 86 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 138
  1. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    The first Little Big Planet was my maiden voyage into the PS3, and I've stuck with it ever since. Very rarely is a game's sequel not only aThe first Little Big Planet was my maiden voyage into the PS3, and I've stuck with it ever since. Very rarely is a game's sequel not only a great improvement, but also a carrier of amazing additions that make it feel like a fresh new game. I can hardly contain my fanboy madness at the new gadgets, tools, tweaks and CONTROLLER MAPPING!! The ability to create games that are no longer stuck on the platformer genre, but open the world to everything from RPG's to FPS's. This game redefines the custom builder mechanism that is slowly becoming more popular. A king of creation, Little Big Planet 2 is truly limited to your capacity for creativity!! Expand
  2. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Amazing game,its really for kids n teenages and people wanting to make their own game since u can make any game you feel like and if not justAmazing game,its really for kids n teenages and people wanting to make their own game since u can make any game you feel like and if not just play the single player n online user created levels.

    There is no end tot his game since u can just make n do what you want,do not listen to the low scores since they are just 360fanboys who mark down every ps3 game.
    Expand
  3. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    This is an absolute gem of a game and something every gamer should own. You don't need me to tell you what it's like because if you don't ownThis is an absolute gem of a game and something every gamer should own. You don't need me to tell you what it's like because if you don't own it now, you probably never will. What you do need is me to tell you that you're wrong to not revere this game and allow it to extract every drop of creativity from your surprisingly inventive mind. Expand
  4. Feb 9, 2011
    10
    LittleBigPlanet is a good game. Anyone who doesnt like it shouldn't be so negative. It is beautifully made with amazing graphics and superbLittleBigPlanet is a good game. Anyone who doesnt like it shouldn't be so negative. It is beautifully made with amazing graphics and superb gameplay. The Story in my opinion, is fantastic and very enjoyable. The extra features, which i wont say, keep you coming back loads of times. The Creating is much easier and even me, a rubbish creator, can make something ever so simple, but good. I think this game is amazing. Expand
  5. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    Still manages to retain the excellence of the first game, adding a few new features, new levels which make this one of the best on theStill manages to retain the excellence of the first game, adding a few new features, new levels which make this one of the best on the platform and of all time. It's definitely on my shortlist for game of the year 2011. Expand
  6. Jan 21, 2011
    9
    I just got my ps3 about 2 months ago. It came with little big planet (1) game of the year addition. Well my roommate talked it up and honestlyI just got my ps3 about 2 months ago. It came with little big planet (1) game of the year addition. Well my roommate talked it up and honestly I hated it for the first month. I think my problem was that I've never played a game like this. Its sort of like mario but Mario is all about dodging enemies and this is all about puzzles and level design. Plus don't even attempt to play it solo, you need at least 3 players.

    Anyways, I beat little big planet 1 and based on the critic reviews wasn't expect much more from LPB2. They have added a lot more to the game besides just making creating levels easier. The story is much more in depth, the cut scenes actually add a lot to the game. I don't really like the grappling hook but it can be fun and you wonder how they even made levels before without the new bounce pads. You can customize your planet now, importing your old character worked perfect, new tower defense levels are pretty cool.

    I have the move but haven't seen where the move levels are yet. I'll update later on that i guess.

    The reason i give it a 9 is because #2 is backwards compatible with #1 and they really haven't fixed any of the problems that existed in LPB1. When you playing multiplayer and doing a race I hate how you just die if you get left behind. Also jumping forward and backward can still be frustrating. If you didn't like the first LPB you probably won't like this one either.

    All in all great game, if you liked the first its well worth it.
    Expand
  7. Dec 11, 2013
    0
    The first LBP was the worst game on PS3, not much has changed in the second.
    In case you're wondering why I bought the second, I didn't, a
    The first LBP was the worst game on PS3, not much has changed in the second.
    In case you're wondering why I bought the second, I didn't, a friend did and I played to do him a favor. A huge favor it was and he will never be able to repay it.
    Expand

See all 138 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.