• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 69 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 134 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Race through your favourite themes from the world of LittleBigPlanet, using a variety of gadgets to bounce, grapple or grab your way into 1st place. Battle your friends online via PSN or in split-screen mode, complete challenges or dive into the community to discover new player-created tracks.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 69
  2. Negative: 3 out of 69
  1. Nov 6, 2012
    94
    The stupid grins on our faces, the uncontrollable laughs and the humming of the music long after the race was over, show that his game is fun right through to its adorable little core.
  2. Nov 9, 2012
    85
    LittleBigPlanet Karting is the first racer in the LBP universe and it's immediately a success. The game is varied, filled with fun races and other gameplay aspects. The level editor works great, increasing the score even more. The only negative point we could find was the lack of challenge in the single-player, which is fortunately the only negative point.
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    80
    Despite the fact the developer only uses three different concepts and truly creative and innovative levels rarely race you by, LitteBigPlanet Karting is still a very fun game. The diversity of worlds is impressive and using gadgets of the LittleBigPlanet world make the game feel refreshing. On top of that the creation mode is an absolute joy to play around with.
  4. Nov 6, 2012
    79
    United Front Games has done a phenomenal job of re-creating the look and feel of the Craftworld while applying its kart racing expertise with imaginative tracks and responsive controls. And the Create mode is nothing short of stunning, even if I don't have the patience for it. Depending on how the community of players respond, it might be the only kart racing game you'll ever need.
  5. Nov 25, 2012
    70
    Fans of LittleBigPlanet will surely enjoy LittleBigPlanet Karting, as it manages to take the essence of Media Molecule's platforming joy and translate that into a solid and enjoyable kart racer, with all the charm you would expect. It's a shame the developers felt that they needed to take every aspect of LittleBigPlanet and use that as a base to create this game, as it has hurt it in some regards and has made the online multiplayer an awkward mode to participate in.
  6. Nov 6, 2012
    70
    If you can look past the fact that it's essentially ModNation Racers with a Sackboy-colored coat of paint, LittleBigPlanet Karting is an enjoyable enough vehicular romp. Still, it's hard to shake the sense that United Front has already made this game once-and they did it better the first time.
  7. Jan 24, 2013
    40
    Clunky, unpolished and altogether flimsy. [Feb 2013, p.73]

See all 69 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 43
  2. Negative: 8 out of 43
  1. Nov 12, 2012
    10
    [PT-BR] Quem curte os jogos da franquia LittleBigPlanet e quem se divertiu muito com ModNation Racers do PS3 com certeza não irá se arrepender, o jogo segue a mesma mecânica, praticamente nada foi mudado na engine do MNR, mas a imersão no mundo LBP é enorme, personagens conhecidos e a fórmula pra criar e compartilhar que só LBP tem, estou adorando o jogo, nota 10... Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    I expected this to be just ok, but now that I've got my hands on it, I'm really very impressed! As an LBP fan, I really appreciate all their attention to detail, the revitalization of prior LBP motifs, and how versatile they made the editor. The game seems more fun than the beta had been. And the brilliant player made levels already popping up are a good sign that the community is already getting revved up! Expand
  3. Nov 6, 2012
    10
    I was really skeptical about this game at first. I didn't think that it would have the look and feel of an authentic LBP game. Boy was I wrong. The narration, music, and style is all authentic LBP. Once I played the beta that this game would deliver and it did. Expand
  4. Nov 25, 2012
    8
    This is a great karting game... So this is Sony's attempt to make a karting game like mario kart or any other karting game. I say they did a good job on it with great campaign, awesome soundtrack every soundtrack for every karting race I play is always great with a wonderful tune. I played this with my two friends and they thought this game was great fun and I did too with customizing your kart and your sackboy. This game is great go play this with your friends and you'll have a good time with playing this game. Expand
  5. Apr 18, 2014
    7
    Never played any of the Little Big Planet stuff, nor would I ever buy a kiddie karting game like this, but since it was released on PS plus I gave it a try and had loads of fun with it. It's funny how these crazy little karting games are usually so much more entertaining than a serious racing material. Don't expect a masterpiece here, but for purely fun purposes this is very good, the gameplay feels fluid, the music and songs are really cool, so when Devo's "Fresh!" starts to rock out and you're drifting the corners of some crazy turtle beach or whatever with your handmade customized sackboy and shooting rockets at your friends, you know you're having a good time. 7/10 Expand
  6. Nov 26, 2012
    6
    LBP Karting enters the ever broadening arena of arcade racing games. The combined efforts of LBP developers Media Molecule and Modnation Racers creators United Front Games- is an ambitious game, which tries to push the create, play and share montra into a highly imaginative and fun racer for single player and multiplayer races alike. The end result is one that stuffs Sackboy into the tyre wall. The major problem is with the AI, they fling projectiles everywhere constantly, especially at the latter end of the story. The environment design of the story circuits are classic LBP. Everything from dreamy disco based races to Wipeout homage circuits, there are plenty of inspired levels on show here. Destruction based events are a nice novelty and juxtapose the slightly more friendlier racing approach, where the objective is to score as many points as possible until the time expires. The problem is the arenas are far too big for arena battles. Racing around to find a competitor to blast with your charged weapons feels pointless and boring at times. As with games of this nature, it's going to have a large and exponential multiplayer field. In this area LBP Karting doesn't disappoint, there are brilliant options for creating, though still difficult to create something exactly as you planned. Generally though, the low score is contributed to its quibbles and problems which crop up that detract from the enjoyment of the racing exerience. There are arcade racers such as Modnation and Blur which are still perfectly fun, whilst still being a genuine challenge. This racer tends to frustrate the player rather than rewarding them with exciting gameplay. A good choice for multiplayer, but alone it falls flat. Expand
  7. Apr 12, 2013
    0
    Would be a decent game if the online-play with a friend would work without causing multiple freezing and booting issues. This was NOT worth $60 when i bought it day one which irks me to give this a 0, which is something i will rarely do.

    The creator was just okay, many on here are over reacting to it. It's pretty generic after awhile as everyone's courses have started to look the same. And the story is bland and boring.
    Expand

See all 43 User Reviews