• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 69 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 126 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Race through your favourite themes from the world of LittleBigPlanet, using a variety of gadgets to bounce, grapple or grab your way into 1st place. Battle your friends online via PSN or in split-screen mode, complete challenges or dive into the community to discover new player-created tracks.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 69
  2. Negative: 3 out of 69
  1. Nov 6, 2012
    94
    The stupid grins on our faces, the uncontrollable laughs and the humming of the music long after the race was over, show that his game is fun right through to its adorable little core.
  2. Nov 9, 2012
    85
    LittleBigPlanet Karting is the first racer in the LBP universe and it's immediately a success. The game is varied, filled with fun races and other gameplay aspects. The level editor works great, increasing the score even more. The only negative point we could find was the lack of challenge in the single-player, which is fortunately the only negative point.
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    80
    Despite the fact the developer only uses three different concepts and truly creative and innovative levels rarely race you by, LitteBigPlanet Karting is still a very fun game. The diversity of worlds is impressive and using gadgets of the LittleBigPlanet world make the game feel refreshing. On top of that the creation mode is an absolute joy to play around with.
  4. Nov 6, 2012
    79
    United Front Games has done a phenomenal job of re-creating the look and feel of the Craftworld while applying its kart racing expertise with imaginative tracks and responsive controls. And the Create mode is nothing short of stunning, even if I don't have the patience for it. Depending on how the community of players respond, it might be the only kart racing game you'll ever need.
  5. Nov 25, 2012
    70
    Fans of LittleBigPlanet will surely enjoy LittleBigPlanet Karting, as it manages to take the essence of Media Molecule's platforming joy and translate that into a solid and enjoyable kart racer, with all the charm you would expect. It's a shame the developers felt that they needed to take every aspect of LittleBigPlanet and use that as a base to create this game, as it has hurt it in some regards and has made the online multiplayer an awkward mode to participate in.
  6. Nov 6, 2012
    70
    If you can look past the fact that it's essentially ModNation Racers with a Sackboy-colored coat of paint, LittleBigPlanet Karting is an enjoyable enough vehicular romp. Still, it's hard to shake the sense that United Front has already made this game once-and they did it better the first time.
  7. Jan 24, 2013
    40
    Clunky, unpolished and altogether flimsy. [Feb 2013, p.73]

See all 69 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 41
  2. Negative: 8 out of 41
  1. Nov 12, 2012
    10
    [PT-BR] Quem curte os jogos da franquia LittleBigPlanet e quem se divertiu muito com ModNation Racers do PS3 com certeza não irá se arrepender, o jogo segue a mesma mecânica, praticamente nada foi mudado na engine do MNR, mas a imersão no mundo LBP é enorme, personagens conhecidos e a fórmula pra criar e compartilhar que só LBP tem, estou adorando o jogo, nota 10... Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    I expected this to be just ok, but now that I've got my hands on it, I'm really very impressed! As an LBP fan, I really appreciate all their attention to detail, the revitalization of prior LBP motifs, and how versatile they made the editor. The game seems more fun than the beta had been. And the brilliant player made levels already popping up are a good sign that the community is already getting revved up! Collapse
  3. Nov 6, 2012
    10
    I was really skeptical about this game at first. I didn't think that it would have the look and feel of an authentic LBP game. Boy was I wrong. The narration, music, and style is all authentic LBP. Once I played the beta that this game would deliver and it did. Expand
  4. Nov 25, 2012
    8
    This is a great karting game... So this is Sony's attempt to make a karting game like mario kart or any other karting game. I say they did a good job on it with great campaign, awesome soundtrack every soundtrack for every karting race I play is always great with a wonderful tune. I played this with my two friends and they thought this game was great fun and I did too with customizing your kart and your sackboy. This game is great go play this with your friends and you'll have a good time with playing this game. Expand
  5. Feb 3, 2014
    6
    If you can get this for free in Playstation Plus, sure, give it a whirl with a friend. But don't pay for it, since it's not as good as either of the actual LBP games, and it's a fairly dull karting game in its own right. Expand
  6. Nov 8, 2012
    5
    When I heard the creators LittleBigPlanet and ModNationRacer were teaming together to make a kart racer, I was hyped. My expectation instantly skyrocketed to the sky! Sad thing, however, is that these expectation weren't met. Don't get me wrong, LittleBigPlanet Karting is a good game, but if you buy this game thinking it's gonna be an upgrade from the ModNationRacer engine, like I was thinking, you're gonna be very disappointed.
    The racing engine is simple. You get all your classic racing game accelerate/break/turn command. you can drift for better turns, go on rocket panel to get a brief boost of speed and collect item to send them to your opponent or protect yourself from the one they send to you. It's basic, too basic. There not enough variety in the weapon you can collect and, while the tracks are well decorated, they feel kind of empty. There's an occasional boost panel and weapons, that's it. After a while, it becomes boring. The problem with the depth of the racing engine in LittleBigPlanet Karting is that it's not even comparable to the one in ModNationRacer. There you had a nitro bar that you could build up by making drift or attacking your competitors and then use it for a shield or a speed boost. They also had several levels of items, which mean if you collected more you had better items, with a risk of losing it all if you get blasted. All in all, these little feature added a layer of strategy that is very rare to see in a racing game. LittleBigplanet Karting on the other hand decided to remove the nitro bar and leave the boost panel the job of speed boost and the job of the shield to items. Also, items don't level-up or stack, which eliminate a lot of options or choices a limit the strategy factor. You could say that they took a simpler approach to the engine, but to anyone who played ModNationRacer, this is a clear downgrade.
    There is however a redeeming factor: customization. You can build your racing tracks, customize your karts behaviors and looks, dress-up your sackboy. But this is not something new, ModNaitonRacer also had a deep customization system. Both has their shortcoming and strength. My final comment is: Not a bad game at all, but it could be better. ModNationRacer Fanboys, stay away from this game. For others, rent it first, it might save you some dollars.
    Expand
  7. Apr 12, 2013
    0
    Would be a decent game if the online-play with a friend would work without causing multiple freezing and booting issues. This was NOT worth $60 when i bought it day one which irks me to give this a 0, which is something i will rarely do.

    The creator was just okay, many on here are over reacting to it. It's pretty generic after awhile as everyone's courses have started to look the same. And the story is bland and boring.
    Expand

See all 41 User Reviews